728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed

50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed

Pinnacle II is a high quality, very dark green, disease resistant perennial ryegrass. It has very fine leaf texture, which makes a very dense turf. Pinnacle II shows extraordinary performance under high, medium and low maintenance conditions. Quick germination and fast establishment make Pinnacle II an excellent choice for overseeding and new turf establishment. Pinnacle II seed is high in endophyte.
Overall rating:
4.581 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product28 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(24)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product28 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed
Review 1 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed
from syracuse,ny
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Grass Seed! Fast growth and super dense and nice to walk barefoot in

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did a ton of research before order my grass seed. Kentucky bluegrass is very dominant in my area. However I believe the ryegrass is actually a better overall grass. It holds up to abuse, grows super fast and has a very nice blade.
Barenbrug Pinnacle II ranks awesome in the national grass competitions. The grass has an incredible amount of actual seed and basically zero weed seed. No fillers just pure seed.
The grass took about a 10 days to establish and I honestly cannot believe it grew as the conditions for growth were horrible. I tried doing 1.3 acres all at once with no water available. I was trying to water it from a neighbors house which had awful pressure. I just couldn't keep it wet. So the seed dried out which I thought would kill it all but this stuff is tough. I let nature take its toll and we had some serious rain on day. It washed some of my seed into low spots so I have to reseed some areas but that isn't the seeds fault. The seed grew like crazy despite the conditions. Impressive.
The grass itself is outstanding. Such a nice grass but I recommend you aren't stingy with the seed. I found the dense areas are the areas will the grass really stands out. I am going to spread some more seed to get the entire lawn super dense. It is such a fine blade grass which I feel requires a bit more seed but the results are so worth it. Incredible turf life grass. Feels awesome under your feet.
Can't recommend this stuff enough. My lawn blows the neighbors away. This stuff is the bomb! Buy it now!
Happy camper!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Sharp, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed
from Lakewood, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW!

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used quite a few different types of seed over the years- mostly blends. The last one I bought was a blend of perennial ryegrass, Italian ryegrass (annual), tall fescue, and Kentucky blue. It was okay, at best. After doing a bunch of research, I came to the conclusion that perennial rye was going to the best fit for our backyard. Pinnacle II Perennial Rye was the first stuff I came across. After I seeded the whole backyard, I still had quite a bit left over for overseeding later on. 4 days later, the seed had already begun to germinate. A week and a half later, I mowed it for the first time. I am amazed at how quickly and uniformly this seed came in. Super thick, and super green! I'm going to buy another bag so I can completely reseed the front yard too! If you want a quick, thick lawn, I would definitely recommend this product.
I also used this with Vigoro Starter Fertilizer, and covered everything up with peat moss.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality, fast growing, hardy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed
from Richmond, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this last fall and planted in October 2012. Aerated and seeded. Did not water and did not post a review as I wanted to see down the road what this could do. I had a lawn full of green grass most of the winter. Now April 2013 and I have a lawn full of nice green grass. Now will it come back next year? I am betting it does. Would and will purchase again. Richmond Va
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed
from syracuse,ny
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good seed, fine blade requires more seed to get a nice dense lawn

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
a decent grass seed and I appreciate the free shipping so thanks home depot on that. What i do notice is that versus a kentucky bluegrass lawn is that you need to seed a little heavier to get a nice dense lawn because of the finer blade structure on ryegrass. Also the first season I noticed once the lawn was established it would yellow out a bit more then the neighbors and the spots that grew faster would be very green. When the grass was a few inches tall it was green and the spots the grew slower was more yellow until it got taller. When i kept it cut at a height i like wasn't as green as i hoped. I think this is because it was a new lawn and the roots weren't real deep yet to keep the grass moist enough during dryer periods. I am on the second season now so we will see. Check out the attached photo and you can see it is much more yellow then the neighbors kentucky lawn. This seed is suppose to be a very dark green genetically and a tolerate a lower mowing height then bluegrass so we will see. If it greens up this year and stays green i'll be happy. If it doesn't i'll be real disappointed. You can also see in the photo that i could use more seed to get a more dense lawn.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed

Excellent Product

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent product. We had to have a new septic tank and leach lines put in which means half of our back yard was dug up. We researched on line and decided this grass seed was the way to go. It started to sprout in about 4 days! This was about a month ago and now a month later we have a gorgeous lush lawn with no weeds. I picked out a few dandelions but that was all. We put down starter fertilizer first, then the seed (two layers), then raked it in, then put a layer of peat moss over it. When the ground puddled after rain, I would add more seed and peat. We watered every day. You have to keep the seed, new grass from drying out. I've already mowed twice.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed
from Kernersville, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Value purchase till this piont

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in the Triad North Carolina. The soil is red clay, very acidic. I've tried every grass seed available. To date this has worked the best. I did NO prep work on my lawn. Seeded the lawn and waited for rain. I did not water the seed either. It took 10-14 days to cultivate. It came in real thick in 80% of the yard. I am pleased with that result considering I did no prep work or watering. My goal is to find a grass seed that requires minimal effort on my part. The only concern I have is if it will withstand the summer temp. My yard only gets the AM sun and is 70% shaded by trees. I also seeded with Pinnacle II Bluegrass seed (50/50 mix) to help in case the Ryegrass does die off and also gives my lawn a more full look.
Pros: miniumal effort
Cons: not sure if it can withstand the summer temps.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed
from Clarkston, WA, USA

Excellent product!!!

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've never started a lawn from seed, so I did my homework... found this stuff on the HD website, it's not available in my store... I checked out this company and found them very reputable, renowned for quality, and they're "local" from just outside my old hometown... they specialize in field turfs and tough, durable grass in pastures and what not... I wanted something that could take some abuse but still be soft and beautiful at the same time... after a hard afternoon's prep work I threw out the seed as instructed and put a thin cover of peat moss over it, then kept it good and moist for a week... I had a full lawn of baby sprouts after one week, it's now been four weeks and it's lush and thick and a beautiful dark green and ready for it's first mowing... I still have a ton of seed with the backyard still to go, but even then I'll have enough left over for any potential patches next Spring... highly recommended!!!
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed
from Palm Desert, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than most! Not foolproof.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Seed germinated in 7 days in nearly perfect conditions. Hoped for quicker "hook" and stem, but most seed sprouted.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Cons: no guide to coverage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed
from Altoona, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for sports fields

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have used this seed for three years on a baseball field after using locally supplied seed previously. This seed has a high germination rate, sprouts quickly, has no clover, and has an extremely low amount of weed seeds.
We overseed the outfield with it and fertilize it, but do nothing else. If it gets water it's because it rains. We figure we get 20 - 30% germination every year which is acceptable to us considering the lack of care after seeding.
In the infield areas we fertilize, mulch bare areas, and irrigate daily. We end up with a very lush, lawn-like, infield in the fall. It's all ready for the little monsters to run around on it with their spikes every spring.
Pros: Durable, fast growing
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed

Great seed!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Really satisfied with this product. Just make sure you keep it watered untill it sprouts.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed
from Iowa, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I cant belive this stuff. Best On Plant

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I tell you what. This grass seed is the best on market. I used it on bare ground water it only twice and within 48 hours grass was showing. Great stuff
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Durable, Strong, Great Quality
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed
from Westford, MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great grass seed.

PostedJune 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Grass came up very well.
Seems to be very hardy!
Good color.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed

Great Results SC

PostedMay 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I seeded and watered and in about 10 days my entire back yard is has sprouted and looks great. The fast results are amazing even in a very shaded back yard with poor soil conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed
from Maplewood, MN, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Price for perennial

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's growing and I will buy more if needed next year
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed
from Lakeland, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the money

PostedJune 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought a house with a lot of pine trees and yard that was neglected for 4+ years. After cleaning up about 6in. worth of accumulated pine needles and trimming up the lower limbs I wanted to grow grass around the pine trees. The first year I put lime down, rented a slit seeder (using S****s grass seed) and and put starter fertilizer down, watered religiously - NOTHING. Last year was very dry. This year I plug aerated, put down fast acting lime, then the Barenbrug grass seed, then the starter fertilizer and topped it off with a thin layer of compost then used a roller and packed it all down. This year we've had an abundance of rain and within ten days grass was coming up. Two weeks after planting I spread Milorganite over the new grass. Its been a little over three weeks and the grass is over four inches and ready for mowing. I'm defiantly sold on this and will overseed this fall with this product again.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed
from Browns Mills, Pemberton Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have never grown grass from seed before, but with this seed, my new lawn sprouted right up. It was very easy to spread out with a garden spreader and with the simple instruction pamphlet, the whole process was a piece of cake. I had pretty little sprouts of grass within 6 days!
Pros: Great Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed

Great Seed

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I would definitely get this seed again. The grass has grown in. The back yard was hydro seeded by landscaper. Sorely disappointed in results considering $$$ spent. So I bought this seed seeing all the great feedback. What you read is true.
I planted beginning of August. It took about 2 weeks before I started to see noticable results and NOTE I was not vigilant on watering. The area is in at least 6 hours of direct sun and fairly hot. Grass grew in thick, however, I will admit I was semi-generous with the seed due to the fact I was so annoyed about the hydro seed dibacle. I still have about 1/2 a bag left (yard size is about 30x60 feet. Also, noticed based on previous seeding experience --the root is deep. Some other seeds seem to be only surface and can be easily pulled up. Not the case with this seed.
Definitely recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great seed that is NOT coated. Grows quickly. But very expensive

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
See is NOT coated and grows quickly compared to the seed that is coated. Coated seed still lying in yard while the un-coated seed is growing!! But, very expensive!!!
Pros: Great Quality
Cons: grows quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed
from NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best seed in years

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Sprouted quickly; deep green color; lack of coating makes seed better than any seed with coating
Pros: Vibrant Color
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 50 lb. Pinnacle II Perennial Ryegrass Seed

Good grass seed

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used product on baseball field; aerated field first, mowed the existing grass very low which broke up the dirt from the aeration, then spread the seed and kept wet,: good results, germinated as advertised and looks good.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>