728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Compressors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

The California Air Tools 10020 Ultra Quiet air compressor is designed to be one of the quietest 2 HP electric air compressors in the industry having only 70 decibels of sound. The powerful 2 HP motor operates at only 1680 RPM creating less noise and less wear. The Oil-Free Dual Piston Pump System is engineered for high performance and durability. The oil-free pump allows you to use in different temperatures and uneven terrains. The 10-gal. steel air tank with wheels is easy to store and move freely. The 10-gal. air tank will fill (from empty to full) in less than 130 seconds. The control panel comes complete with 2-1/4 in. quick release connectors that will allow you to use up to 2 tools at the same time. This air compressor delivers 5.30 CFM at 90 psi allowing you to use larger air tools and more air tools at the same time. Having a low amp draw of only 14-Amps allows you to use normal 15-Amp outlets. Powerful and maneuverable this air compressor is ideal where noise in a shop, garage or work area is a major issue.
Overall rating:
4.587 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product43 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product43 of 45reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
Review 1 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Nacogdoches, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Compact Compressor!!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Finally had to replace my Porter Cable pancake compressor after almost 10 yrs. I choose this California Air Tools 10 gal and I'm very glad I did. I've had the compressor now for a little over a month and it has done everything I've asked it to with ease.
I'm a full time contractor and have already used this compressor to run my framing gun & trim guns (15 ga & 18 ga) as well as my 18 ga stapler. It had no trouble at all. I also build custom furniture and used it to run my gravity feed HPLV spray gun to spray polyurethane and it amazingly kept up quite well. Occasionally I had to pause for a minute to let it catch up but I out performed the Porter Cable 25 gal upright that I used to rent.
The Ultra-Quite feature is more than worth the cost on the California Air Tools compressors, I've never been able to stand next to a compressor of any brand or size and hold a conversation like I can with this compressor. No need to yell to get someone standing six feet way to hear me! That feature alone is worth the slightly higher price of this compressor compared to other ones of its size.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, quite
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Laguna Hills, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't hesitate buying this compressor!

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simply put, it's the best compressor I've used in over 30 years. I can have a conversation with my production crew standing right next to it WHILE it's cycling! Don't skimp on cheap product, get the best the first time!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, super quiet!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Henderson, NV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

10 Gal 2HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This compressor is the largest of my three compressors. I'm currently using it with a gravity- feed HVLP spray gun. It is unbelievably quiet compared to my two smaller compressors - and that is a statement after using it in a garage with overhead doors almost completely closed. The only concern I had was with somewhat contradicting information. The instruction manual tells you to limit an extension to 25' and it must have a rating of at least 14 amps. The warning label on the unit's cord states that you must not use an extension cord. A call to the technical dept. confirmed my suspicions - the company is worried about voltage drop, whether from an extension cord or other devices being used on the same electrical circuit when the unit is turned on or comes on during recycling. I'm not that worried. The video the company shows comparing it to other compressors is for real.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from St. Louis
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Air Compressor

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is everything it is advertised to be. I went from a Porter Cable pancake compressor that screamed at 101 db. This beauty is quiet. In fact I couldn't believe it. I hooked up my air hose and was blowing off air and couldn't hear the thing running over the sound of the rushing air. It is around 70 db in loudness. I have a high velocity fan that is louder.
Get it! If you are even considering this tool, get it! You won't regret it!
Pros: Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, quiet!!!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Duluth, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great quiet compressor.

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The only assembly needed was adding the wheels, foot rest and air filters. It is much quieter that my previous pancake compressor and I really like the dual ports for attaching multiple airlines. However, at 88 lbs, you don't pick it up and place it in the back of a vehicle as easy as the pancake. About 50 lbs heavier.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

product performs flawlessly, suits my needs perfectly. Extremely pleased

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Plenty of power to operate a wide variety of tools. Light weight, portable, fast recovery, solidly built. Exactly what I needed. Couldn't ask for more.
Customer service, is second to none. Had a slight issue in shipping. Called customer service, reported the dent in the dash panel. Received the part me next day!
If your In the market for a compressor, I would put this this one at the top of the list.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Portable, fast air recovery
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Home of Lebron James & SuperMLS
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Compressor, but the wheels are junk

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is great 10 gallon air compressor that has all the bells and whistles. The recover time is great and not to mention its quite. But my only complaint for this product are the wheels! When you un package this unit throw the wheels away they don't roll and will end up making a black rubber mark on concrete or any surface that your transporting on. But overall I am happy with this compressor, but not with the wheels. It seemed the manu. just found the cheapest wheels that they could find and throw it on this unit. Its the cadillac of compressor but donuts for tires.
Pros: Light Weight, quite
Cons: wheels
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

fine compressor

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
id say this twin pump design is as good as it gets in a small oil free shop compressors it fills fast an the heads only get warn filling the tank an little to no condensation. this is a exalt air spaced twin cylinder design for a compressor it is like the BMW Boxer motor too motorcycles. it will top off 90psi to 125psi in 30 sec. you do get what you paid for here
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

Best One Yet

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this after my pancake compressor from Harbor Freight died. Just received it. Everything started up great and the packaging was excellent.
This is really quiet. We live in an HOA community with neighbors that love to complain. So this is perfect.
I am also a car guy and do my own maintenance. This machine has inputs for 2 compressor hoses. Really cool.
The price is high no doubt. You can buy one from Harbor Freight, probably 2 for the price with their 20% coupon. For me, I'd prefer a quality machine.
Would really recommend this product for anyone who appreciates good tools.
Lastly, I would note it is pretty heavy...about 100 pounds, but the wheels are easy to put on.
Pros: Strong
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Louder than I expected

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
would have given 5 stars but louder than I expected .... still quieter than most....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome noise level..poor amount of umph

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
very quiet..so great for small jobs...air ratchet...air brush...just not enough strength to use an impact wrench to remove lugnuts...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great compressor, but make sure you have 20A circuits

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For a number of reasons I decided to purchase this compressor, and in all of those areas it worked great. It was quite, fast, and had a good form factor. I did return mine, but only because I don't have 20A circuits wired through my house.
The description of the compressor states 14 A, so I assumed it would work on my standard 15 A circuits. It turns out that this is 14 A running, but 20 A starting current. After a few emails with the manufacturer, I decided to return the compressor.
They are supposed to have a 1.2 HP model coming out next spring (2014) which will easily meet my needs, while being even quieter, and most importantly running off my 15 A circuits. I intend to buy that when it's released.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Too Heavy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from CS TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sweet Silence

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
SOOO quiet and still completely functional. A pleasure to operate.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from S. Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great little compressor

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this is the quietest compressor i have ever seen I love the air couplings you just push the fitting into. The wheels seem to be our only complaint they don'r roll very well. And if you can call it a complaint we can bearly hear the thing run so if you are a distance away you aren't sure if its running or not untill you are out of air and find the breaker tripped.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Lady's Island, SC 29907, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice & quiet

PostedApril 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I needed to replace my home workshop compressor and wanted to tone it down a bit. This unit delivered! I hardly hear it recycle. My shop is 28'X28''and the unit is in the same room. I can still hear the radio & carry on conversations when it goes off. The best part is that I no longer jump out of my socks when it goes off like I did with my old Sears unit. Also has all of the power that you'll need for airguns, nailguns & other medium duty air tools.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: small air storage tank
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

Quiet and efficient

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I shopped for an air compressor that was quiet and would have the capacity for my workshop.
After reviewing many compressors, I chose the California Air. It is very quiet. I am able to make phone calls within less than a step away and clearly hear a conversation.
The unit is well built and designed. Two connections are a plus. I use this with air nailers, impact tools and grinders with no issues.
I am very happy with the purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quiet
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

QUIET is right

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is ultra quiet. It works like a charm. Dual outlets. Portable if you can lift 80lbs. Nice gauges. All around a super unit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no real cons.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

Worth the extra $$$

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked at a number of options for a home-use compressor. This model ended up at the top of my list and I'm glad I made the purchase. In a home environment, where noise is a concern, having a quiet compressor helps a lot. I considered other brands which offered higher CFM output, but I knew that I'd never use those compressors if I had to be concerned with irritating friends and family. This compressor fits well under my workbench and is very quiet, as advertised. So far my uses have been airing tires and cleaning dust and chips with a blower. I plan to buy some light-weight shop tools and a nail gun or two. A very good investment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Quiet
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

Really is quiet!

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No exaggerations - this is a really quiet, high performance compressor. I have 4 other compressors in the shop of different brands, and the California Air unit is the favorite by a wide margin. Dual outlet ports, quality hardware (especially the tank drain - very important!) and plenty of output. Was worried about shipping damage, but the unit was packaged very well and had no problems. I'm pleasantly surprised how good this is.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Strong, Quiet
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from california
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Quiet oil less compressor as advertised

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I would have to say this 10 gallon oil less air compressor is as quiet as advertised. It's as quiet as my two other 12 gallon belt drive electric motor/pump air compressors. Cuts in a 90 psi and cuts out at 120 psi. Compact and easy to tuck into a corner of your garage. Air lines throughout are similar to air brake line material and piped with push on/pull off fittings. There are a few cons that are minor: No idea what fitting the two supplied air couplers take. Changed out the two couplers with one universal and one A style coupler. The other con is the air will leak down to zero after awhile with the compressor off. Haven't had time to pinpoint the source of leak.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>