728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Compressors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

The California Air Tools 10020 Ultra Quiet air compressor is designed to be one of the quietest 2 HP electric air compressors in the industry having only 70 decibels of sound. The powerful 2 HP motor operates at only 1680 RPM creating less noise and less wear. The oil-free Dual Piston Pump System is engineered for high performance and durability. The oil-free pump allows you to use in different temperatures and uneven terrains. The 10 gal. steel air tank with wheels is easy to store and move freely. The 10 gal. air tank will fill (from empty to full) in less than 130 seconds. The control panel comes complete with 2-1/4 in. quick release connectors that will allow you to use up to 2 tools at the same time. This air compressor delivers 5.30 CFM at 90 psi allowing you to use larger air tools and more air tools at the same time. Having a low amp draw of only 14-Amps allows you to use normal 15-Amp outlets. Powerful and maneuverable this air compressor is ideal where noise in a shop, garage or work area is a major issue.
Overall rating:
4.607 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product53 of 55reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(41)
4
(11)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product53 of 55reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
Review 1 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Shreveport, Louisiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have only had this compressor a couple months so far. I use it for jobs in my garage only, that do not include any commercial type work. Having said that, I really enjoy how quiet it runs and that it can not be heard inside the house during use. I replaced a 25 gallon compressor with this one and find it keeps up with any job I have asked of it so far. It's "footprint" is small and fits into most any place one might want to use. It came on UPS, very well boxed for shipping, arriving within 5 days of when I ordered it from the Home Depot web site. Very little assembly was required ; putting on the wheels, which are solid requiring no air in them.....a plus in my book.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Nacogdoches, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Compact Compressor!!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Finally had to replace my Porter Cable pancake compressor after almost 10 yrs. I choose this California Air Tools 10 gal and I'm very glad I did. I've had the compressor now for a little over a month and it has done everything I've asked it to with ease.
I'm a full time contractor and have already used this compressor to run my framing gun & trim guns (15 ga & 18 ga) as well as my 18 ga stapler. It had no trouble at all. I also build custom furniture and used it to run my gravity feed HPLV spray gun to spray polyurethane and it amazingly kept up quite well. Occasionally I had to pause for a minute to let it catch up but I out performed the Porter Cable 25 gal upright that I used to rent.
The Ultra-Quite feature is more than worth the cost on the California Air Tools compressors, I've never been able to stand next to a compressor of any brand or size and hold a conversation like I can with this compressor. No need to yell to get someone standing six feet way to hear me! That feature alone is worth the slightly higher price of this compressor compared to other ones of its size.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, quite
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Camarillo CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mighty Mouse saves the day

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I actually purchased two of these compressors to replace the noisy units we had from years back.
They are so loud and obnoxious sounding. This compressor is a joy to work with. It will fill up air in my truck tires or power light air tools. I bought one for my brother who has a car collection,and he loves it. It is easy to roll around and the storage of 10 gallons is enough that it doesn't cycle on/off frequently.
I would highly recommend this compressor for anyone who needs a unit for their home, job site, or small shop. It would be perfect in a race car trailer. I cannot impress upon you how quiet and efficient this compressor is. You might be paying a little more than the noisy ones, but it is well worth it.
Like the expression goes; you get what you pay for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Laguna Hills, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't hesitate buying this compressor!

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simply put, it's the best compressor I've used in over 30 years. I can have a conversation with my production crew standing right next to it WHILE it's cycling! Don't skimp on cheap product, get the best the first time!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, super quiet!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

product performs flawlessly, suits my needs perfectly. Extremely pleased

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Plenty of power to operate a wide variety of tools. Light weight, portable, fast recovery, solidly built. Exactly what I needed. Couldn't ask for more.
Customer service, is second to none. Had a slight issue in shipping. Called customer service, reported the dent in the dash panel. Received the part me next day!
If your In the market for a compressor, I would put this this one at the top of the list.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Portable, fast air recovery
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Henderson, NV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

10 Gal 2HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This compressor is the largest of my three compressors. I'm currently using it with a gravity- feed HVLP spray gun. It is unbelievably quiet compared to my two smaller compressors - and that is a statement after using it in a garage with overhead doors almost completely closed. The only concern I had was with somewhat contradicting information. The instruction manual tells you to limit an extension to 25' and it must have a rating of at least 14 amps. The warning label on the unit's cord states that you must not use an extension cord. A call to the technical dept. confirmed my suspicions - the company is worried about voltage drop, whether from an extension cord or other devices being used on the same electrical circuit when the unit is turned on or comes on during recycling. I'm not that worried. The video the company shows comparing it to other compressors is for real.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from St. Louis
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Air Compressor

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is everything it is advertised to be. I went from a Porter Cable pancake compressor that screamed at 101 db. This beauty is quiet. In fact I couldn't believe it. I hooked up my air hose and was blowing off air and couldn't hear the thing running over the sound of the rushing air. It is around 70 db in loudness. I have a high velocity fan that is louder.
Get it! If you are even considering this tool, get it! You won't regret it!
Pros: Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, quiet!!!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Ontario, Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Buy

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Arrived via UPS, no damage all the way from California to Ontario, Canada. Easy assembly and was up and running within 15 minutes.
This California 10 gallon Compressor replaces my 30 Gallon I had. I thought I would miss my oil-lubricated 220V. But, I didn't as I'm very pleased with this one running 110 V with 15Amp breaker fuse. It's a quiet as my old compressor.
For the home owner type usage, it's plenty. Also had to re-purchase a LVLP spray gun that draws between 4-6 CFM with this 10 Gal tank. My old HVLP spray gun draws over 12-16 CFM - it now old, well used and I retired it with 30 gallon compressor.
I spray at 2 Bars ~ 28-30 PSI, slighter higher is better if you have good control of the spray gun.
Next, I can't wait to test out ATD DA sander - I will add my feed back at a later date..
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Home of Lebron James & SuperMLS
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Compressor, but the wheels are junk

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is great 10 gallon air compressor that has all the bells and whistles. The recover time is great and not to mention its quite. But my only complaint for this product are the wheels! When you un package this unit throw the wheels away they don't roll and will end up making a black rubber mark on concrete or any surface that your transporting on. But overall I am happy with this compressor, but not with the wheels. It seemed the manu. just found the cheapest wheels that they could find and throw it on this unit. Its the cadillac of compressor but donuts for tires.
Pros: Light Weight, quite
Cons: wheels
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Duluth, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great quiet compressor.

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The only assembly needed was adding the wheels, foot rest and air filters. It is much quieter that my previous pancake compressor and I really like the dual ports for attaching multiple airlines. However, at 88 lbs, you don't pick it up and place it in the back of a vehicle as easy as the pancake. About 50 lbs heavier.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

fine compressor

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
id say this twin pump design is as good as it gets in a small oil free shop compressors it fills fast an the heads only get warn filling the tank an little to no condensation. this is a exalt air spaced twin cylinder design for a compressor it is like the BMW Boxer motor too motorcycles. it will top off 90psi to 125psi in 30 sec. you do get what you paid for here
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very quiet, capable compressor

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this compressor for about a month now, have used it maybe a half-dozen times. I had it delivered to my local Home Depot, hoping to avoid the 'damaged in transit' problems that others had reported. Turns out it got shipped UPS to the store anyway, rather than via HD freight carrier, however it arrived undamaged.
My last compressor was a Sears 20-gal model, and it was loud. Jackhammer loud. This is so much quieter, and I'm very pleased at that. So far it seems to function very well, though I haven't had the opportunity yet to use it with a sprayer or other HVLP tool. No leaks--I left it filled up overnight, just to see what would happen, and there was zero air leakage. The quarter-turn drain valve is a nice touch, much easier to drain than the old screw-type valves. I am totally satisfied with my purchase.
To those who complain about the wheels rubbing against the frame--check and make sure the wheels are not on backwards. One side of the hub sticks out slightly more than the other, something I barely noticed myself. If you have the short side against the frame, it might indeed rub, but mine rolls along just fine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Quiet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from altoona pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

air compressor

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far, so good. Quiet and meets my needs. Easy transportable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A little pricey but worth it...

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Assembled rather quickly, although the wheels are a bit bowed-in (something may have happened during shipping). This thing is QUIET and totally worth it if you've got your compressor in the house. It's not completely noise-free, but I don't feel bad about it running in the basement while my wife is sleeping. My brother-in-law works for Rol-Air, and explained California Air Tools took the design from their ultra-quiet JC-10 line, but I've not seen any other manufacturer with this quiet a compressor at this capacity. Am I happy with this 10-gallon compressor? Totally. Four hundred dollars happy? Maybe.
Pros: Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Franklin TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great size and performance

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two of these compressors to replace a single bigger one. It worked out. The two compressors are less noisy and more efficient. The majority of the time only one compressor is running, the second kicks on only when demand is high.
The unit is compact and well made. Noticed that in one of the units the tank was welded in a bad angle. This orientation makes the purge valve touch the wheels. Not a big deal but I cannot give an excellent rating . Everything else is working fine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: small manufacturing defects
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from CS TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sweet Silence

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
SOOO quiet and still completely functional. A pleasure to operate.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from S. Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great little compressor

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this is the quietest compressor i have ever seen I love the air couplings you just push the fitting into. The wheels seem to be our only complaint they don'r roll very well. And if you can call it a complaint we can bearly hear the thing run so if you are a distance away you aren't sure if its running or not untill you are out of air and find the breaker tripped.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact
Cons: Too Heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

Great Ultra Quiet Compressor

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I wanted a a large enough compressor that was 110v to run a small grinder and other automotive air tools and also small enough to move around (this compressor is not a feather weight it's almost 100lbs but it's still lite enough for me to lug upstairs),. I found this one and researched it some and watched a video comparing it to other compressors noise levels and I was sold. It really is the quietest compressor I've ever heard and that for me made it worth the extra cost. This compressor is great for intermittent air tool use, if I needed to run a tool non stop I would have went bigger. The compressor itself looks well made and it has bypass valve that lets the motor spin up before it is put under load (Obviously to reduce start up power draw). I suppose the only cheap looking parts are the wheels which are plastic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

Happy

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great little compressor, it will run my AAA spraygun and even a neumatic sander if pause every few minutes. Very happy.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Jay, fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good purchase

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very quiet, quick recovery. However, I resent that I was almost forced to fill out this review. It even told me that it was too short.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>