728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Compressors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

The California Air Tools 10020 Ultra Quiet air compressor is designed to be one of the quietest 2 HP electric air compressors in the industry having only 70 decibels of sound. The powerful 2 HP motor operates at only 1680 RPM creating less noise and less wear. The oil-free Dual Piston Pump System is engineered for high performance and durability. The oil-free pump allows you to use in different temperatures and uneven terrains. The 10 gal. steel air tank with wheels is easy to store and move freely. The 10 gal. air tank will fill (from empty to full) in less than 130 seconds. The control panel comes complete with 2-1/4 in. quick release connectors that will allow you to use up to 2 tools at the same time. This air compressor delivers 5.30 CFM at 90 psi allowing you to use larger air tools and more air tools at the same time. Having a low amp draw of only 14-Amps allows you to use normal 15-Amp outlets. Powerful and maneuverable this air compressor is ideal where noise in a shop, garage or work area is a major issue.
Overall rating:
4.61 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(77 reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product74 of 76reviews
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(55)
4
(17)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product74 of 76reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
Review 1 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Shreveport, Louisiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have only had this compressor a couple months so far. I use it for jobs in my garage only, that do not include any commercial type work. Having said that, I really enjoy how quiet it runs and that it can not be heard inside the house during use. I replaced a 25 gallon compressor with this one and find it keeps up with any job I have asked of it so far. It's "footprint" is small and fits into most any place one might want to use. It came on UPS, very well boxed for shipping, arriving within 5 days of when I ordered it from the Home Depot web site. Very little assembly was required ; putting on the wheels, which are solid requiring no air in them.....a plus in my book.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Camarillo CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mighty Mouse saves the day

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I actually purchased two of these compressors to replace the noisy units we had from years back.
They are so loud and obnoxious sounding. This compressor is a joy to work with. It will fill up air in my truck tires or power light air tools. I bought one for my brother who has a car collection,and he loves it. It is easy to roll around and the storage of 10 gallons is enough that it doesn't cycle on/off frequently.
I would highly recommend this compressor for anyone who needs a unit for their home, job site, or small shop. It would be perfect in a race car trailer. I cannot impress upon you how quiet and efficient this compressor is. You might be paying a little more than the noisy ones, but it is well worth it.
Like the expression goes; you get what you pay for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Nacogdoches, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Compact Compressor!!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Finally had to replace my Porter Cable pancake compressor after almost 10 yrs. I choose this California Air Tools 10 gal and I'm very glad I did. I've had the compressor now for a little over a month and it has done everything I've asked it to with ease.
I'm a full time contractor and have already used this compressor to run my framing gun & trim guns (15 ga & 18 ga) as well as my 18 ga stapler. It had no trouble at all. I also build custom furniture and used it to run my gravity feed HPLV spray gun to spray polyurethane and it amazingly kept up quite well. Occasionally I had to pause for a minute to let it catch up but I out performed the Porter Cable 25 gal upright that I used to rent.
The Ultra-Quite feature is more than worth the cost on the California Air Tools compressors, I've never been able to stand next to a compressor of any brand or size and hold a conversation like I can with this compressor. No need to yell to get someone standing six feet way to hear me! That feature alone is worth the slightly higher price of this compressor compared to other ones of its size.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, quite
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Austin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase,

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simple to assemble, and wow, when I plugged it in and turned it on it was so quiet. I was able to talk with someone right next to me without yelling. I could barely hear it just inside the back door. So much less stress. I own two other compressor that are in various states of repair. A pancake compressor and another older unit. You can hear these all over the neighborhood.
Controls are simple and the tank size is adequate so that it will go for quite a while before it starts to pump back up. When it starts up I don't jump out of my skin from the load noise.
Quick to pressure up. Takes only a half a minute to fill from start up.
Compact and easy to move around.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Limited Features
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Laguna Hills, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't hesitate buying this compressor!

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simply put, it's the best compressor I've used in over 30 years. I can have a conversation with my production crew standing right next to it WHILE it's cycling! Don't skimp on cheap product, get the best the first time!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, super quiet!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

product performs flawlessly, suits my needs perfectly. Extremely pleased

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Plenty of power to operate a wide variety of tools. Light weight, portable, fast recovery, solidly built. Exactly what I needed. Couldn't ask for more.
Customer service, is second to none. Had a slight issue in shipping. Called customer service, reported the dent in the dash panel. Received the part me next day!
If your In the market for a compressor, I would put this this one at the top of the list.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Portable, fast air recovery
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Willmar, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great compressor (The second one anyway)

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered on line. Was delivered. Easy to setup. Put on the 2 wheels, the front support and the two filters and you are ready to go.I think some peoples complaints about the wheels binding may be that they are putting them on backwards? There is a raised shoulder on one side of each wheel and that needs to go to the inside toward the frame. Nice, quiet, plenty or air pressure. Only negative was the first one that came I had to return to the local Home Depot store and then re-order. It had a small leak in the top of the tank in the weld. No such issues with the replacement.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no accesories
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from South Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very quiet, but overall not as good as I hoped

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Good, but not great. It is impressively quiet and reasonably fast to refill the tank. But the included regulator is a piece of junk and came pre-adjusted so far off that I thought I was doing something wrong. It works, but is a hairy wart on an otherwise good product. Unfortunately it won't be easy to replace, either.
The pressure switch was also pre-set incorrectly to a very low 95psi. And adjusting it requires disassembling the chrome panel that the reg and air outlets connect to. The four bolts that hold it on are are tucked into corners and about 1/2" longer than necessary so it seems like you are turning forever to get them off.
Not sure about leakdown yet, seems to leak slowly even with nothing connected to it, but only about 1-2 psi per day, so that's not a deal breaker.
Even with all this, I still like the compressor. I'm just glad I bought it on sale (15% off). At full price I might have returned it and bought a louder (but more capable) Dewalt D55167 or Industrial Air ILA1883054. Either of those would have been overkill for my needs (airing up tires, blowing out filters, occasional 3/8" impact gun or trim nailer)
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Quiet, well-placed connections
Cons: cheesy regulator, difficult to adjust
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

fine compressor

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
id say this twin pump design is as good as it gets in a small oil free shop compressors it fills fast an the heads only get warn filling the tank an little to no condensation. this is a exalt air spaced twin cylinder design for a compressor it is like the BMW Boxer motor too motorcycles. it will top off 90psi to 125psi in 30 sec. you do get what you paid for here
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Columbus, Oh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Verdict still out.

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Overall build quality is fair. Typical Chinese QC. No obvious damage to double wall shipping box but the plastic air inlet screens on each side of the motor cooling fans were damaged (crushed inward). I repaired. Initial attempt to start compressor failed as motor could not develop enough torque. This may be a capacity start motor and needed a few attempts to properly charge the capacitor. I rolled the motor over by hand to assure no binding and on the next attempt started fine. Compressor has started successfully for past two days (10+ starts). Auto shut-off pressure setting indicating too high. Manual says 8 Bar (120psi) but gauge indicates 9 Bar (135psi). I will monitor. Compressor is very quiet. Capacity appears as expected. Hope the reliability is there - time will tell. (yes, I am an engineer)
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very quiet compressor

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This compressor is very quiet in operation, the PC twin tank it replaces made an infernal racket and this one is comfortable to stand next to when running. The build quality seems good and the assembly instructions were reasonably clear. It was very well packed with dual HD boxes and Styrofoam inserts. The only issue I have noted so far is that the pressure regulator seems to drift by 10 psi or so depending on the rate of air being drawn.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: pressure reg
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Henderson, NV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

10 Gal 2HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This compressor is the largest of my three compressors. I'm currently using it with a gravity- feed HVLP spray gun. It is unbelievably quiet compared to my two smaller compressors - and that is a statement after using it in a garage with overhead doors almost completely closed. The only concern I had was with somewhat contradicting information. The instruction manual tells you to limit an extension to 25' and it must have a rating of at least 14 amps. The warning label on the unit's cord states that you must not use an extension cord. A call to the technical dept. confirmed my suspicions - the company is worried about voltage drop, whether from an extension cord or other devices being used on the same electrical circuit when the unit is turned on or comes on during recycling. I'm not that worried. The video the company shows comparing it to other compressors is for real.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Huntington WV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smooth and QUIET!

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I grew tired of my 20gal direct drive air compressor. I was tired of the deafening noise the thing produced. I felt sorry for my neighbors and my family if I needed to start up the air compressor for a project or repair. So I simply did a search for the QUIETEST air compressor and found the California Air Tools line. And to be honest, the videos and research I did was backed up 100% by my first hand experience. The machine is quiet. You can carry on a normal conversation while it runs! No joke... It is smooth. No horrible vibrations associated with direct drive compressors. It is oil free, so no maintenance Iike what is associated with the huge cast iron air compressors. All of this and it fills fast! It takes less than 2 min for my air compressor to fill and shut off. It comes with 2 connections for running tools. It is only a 10 gal so you have to remember than when connecting tools and running them. But it really isn't a slouch of an air compressor 7 CFM @ 40 and 5.3 CFM at 90. It runs my air ratchet, impact wrench and nail guns w/o an issue at all. The knobs are easy to adjust with gloved hands. The tri-cycle style stance has 2 wheels and a rubber bumper allowing easy maneuvering as well as a secure footing when you reach your work location.
Some people really had problems mounting the wheels and complained that they didn't fit. All you have to do is look at each wheel. The hub on each wheel extends farther on one side than it does on the other. The side with the protruding hub goes towards the inside. The directions aren't the best at illustrating the mounting. But it really isn't that hard.
If I were to criticize anything about this compressor it would be the poor owners manual. The small print is hard on the eyes IMHO. And the water drain on the tank is kinda hard to get to. But I can live with it for the quiet smooth operation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Quiet, Powerful, smooth
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Lake Wylie, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Most quiet compressor ever!

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered my compressor on the Home Depot website and had it delivered to the store for me to pick it up. It came in to the store on the day they said it would and was waiting for me when I got there. I came home, unpacked it, screwed on the wheels and it was ready to go. I immediately plugged it in and was shocked at how quiet it actually was! It filled to capacity in about 4 minutes and has worked perfectly every time I have plugged it in. I am very satisfied with this purchase!
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Tulsa, Oklahoma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

10 Gal. 2 HP ultra Quiet Air Compressor

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Cost a little more than the other air compressors but it is well worth the extra money. Very quiet like all the other reviews. Tops off very quickly.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great unit

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best small compressor by far !! I use it in my mobile step van, its so quite . Excellent buy !
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

Quiet Powerful & well made.

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you are looking for a substantial air compressor that is solidly built an extremely quiet look no further. Please note I suggest you plug this into an outlet that nothing else is to be connected to as it draws fairly high current.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Bloomfield, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Quiet

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The lack of sound volume is hard to describe compared to my old compressor. You could easily watch a tv at normal volume while the unit is running. The unit is well packaged, very compact, and well put together, the face plate and gauges are actually beautiful. Also fills the tank very quickly. I did not give it 5 stars because it has a little difficulty running my impact driver which my old compress 4hp/20 gallon ran easily at a third of the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

California air compressor

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Awesome quiet air compressor. The pressure regulator does drift a little and needs to be checked and re-adjusted, but other than that, I love the compressor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

calfornia air compressor

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It's my first air compressor, it's really quiet, used an impact wrench and ratchet with no issues.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>