728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

The California Air Tools 10020 Ultra Quiet air compressor is designed to be one of the quietest 2 HP electric air compressors in the industry having only 70 decibels of sound. The powerful 2 HP motor operates at only 1680 RPM creating less noise and less wear. The oil-free Dual Piston Pump System is engineered for high performance and durability. The oil-free pump allows you to use in different temperatures and uneven terrains. The 10 gal. steel air tank with wheels is easy to store and move freely. The 10 gal. air tank will fill (from empty to full) in less than 130 seconds. The control panel comes complete with 2-1/4 in. quick release connectors that will allow you to use up to 2 tools at the same time. This air compressor delivers 5.30 CFM at 90 psi allowing you to use larger air tools and more air tools at the same time. Having a low amp draw of only 14-Amps allows you to use normal 15-Amp outlets. Powerful and maneuverable this air compressor is ideal where noise in a shop, garage or work area is a major issue.
Overall rating:
4.59 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product79 of 82reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(59)
4
(18)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product79 of 82reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
Review 1 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Shreveport, Louisiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have only had this compressor a couple months so far. I use it for jobs in my garage only, that do not include any commercial type work. Having said that, I really enjoy how quiet it runs and that it can not be heard inside the house during use. I replaced a 25 gallon compressor with this one and find it keeps up with any job I have asked of it so far. It's "footprint" is small and fits into most any place one might want to use. It came on UPS, very well boxed for shipping, arriving within 5 days of when I ordered it from the Home Depot web site. Very little assembly was required ; putting on the wheels, which are solid requiring no air in them.....a plus in my book.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Austin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase,

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simple to assemble, and wow, when I plugged it in and turned it on it was so quiet. I was able to talk with someone right next to me without yelling. I could barely hear it just inside the back door. So much less stress. I own two other compressor that are in various states of repair. A pancake compressor and another older unit. You can hear these all over the neighborhood.
Controls are simple and the tank size is adequate so that it will go for quite a while before it starts to pump back up. When it starts up I don't jump out of my skin from the load noise.
Quick to pressure up. Takes only a half a minute to fill from start up.
Compact and easy to move around.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Limited Features
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Camarillo CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mighty Mouse saves the day

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I actually purchased two of these compressors to replace the noisy units we had from years back.
They are so loud and obnoxious sounding. This compressor is a joy to work with. It will fill up air in my truck tires or power light air tools. I bought one for my brother who has a car collection,and he loves it. It is easy to roll around and the storage of 10 gallons is enough that it doesn't cycle on/off frequently.
I would highly recommend this compressor for anyone who needs a unit for their home, job site, or small shop. It would be perfect in a race car trailer. I cannot impress upon you how quiet and efficient this compressor is. You might be paying a little more than the noisy ones, but it is well worth it.
Like the expression goes; you get what you pay for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Nacogdoches, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Compact Compressor!!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Finally had to replace my Porter Cable pancake compressor after almost 10 yrs. I choose this California Air Tools 10 gal and I'm very glad I did. I've had the compressor now for a little over a month and it has done everything I've asked it to with ease.
I'm a full time contractor and have already used this compressor to run my framing gun & trim guns (15 ga & 18 ga) as well as my 18 ga stapler. It had no trouble at all. I also build custom furniture and used it to run my gravity feed HPLV spray gun to spray polyurethane and it amazingly kept up quite well. Occasionally I had to pause for a minute to let it catch up but I out performed the Porter Cable 25 gal upright that I used to rent.
The Ultra-Quite feature is more than worth the cost on the California Air Tools compressors, I've never been able to stand next to a compressor of any brand or size and hold a conversation like I can with this compressor. No need to yell to get someone standing six feet way to hear me! That feature alone is worth the slightly higher price of this compressor compared to other ones of its size.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, quite
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Laguna Hills, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't hesitate buying this compressor!

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simply put, it's the best compressor I've used in over 30 years. I can have a conversation with my production crew standing right next to it WHILE it's cycling! Don't skimp on cheap product, get the best the first time!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, super quiet!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

product performs flawlessly, suits my needs perfectly. Extremely pleased

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Plenty of power to operate a wide variety of tools. Light weight, portable, fast recovery, solidly built. Exactly what I needed. Couldn't ask for more.
Customer service, is second to none. Had a slight issue in shipping. Called customer service, reported the dent in the dash panel. Received the part me next day!
If your In the market for a compressor, I would put this this one at the top of the list.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Portable, fast air recovery
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from South Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very quiet, but overall not as good as I hoped

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Good, but not great. It is impressively quiet and reasonably fast to refill the tank. But the included regulator is a piece of junk and came pre-adjusted so far off that I thought I was doing something wrong. It works, but is a hairy wart on an otherwise good product. Unfortunately it won't be easy to replace, either.
The pressure switch was also pre-set incorrectly to a very low 95psi. And adjusting it requires disassembling the chrome panel that the reg and air outlets connect to. The four bolts that hold it on are are tucked into corners and about 1/2" longer than necessary so it seems like you are turning forever to get them off.
Not sure about leakdown yet, seems to leak slowly even with nothing connected to it, but only about 1-2 psi per day, so that's not a deal breaker.
Even with all this, I still like the compressor. I'm just glad I bought it on sale (15% off). At full price I might have returned it and bought a louder (but more capable) Dewalt D55167 or Industrial Air ILA1883054. Either of those would have been overkill for my needs (airing up tires, blowing out filters, occasional 3/8" impact gun or trim nailer)
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Quiet, well-placed connections
Cons: cheesy regulator, difficult to adjust
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Rochester, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Now we've got two!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the 2nd unit that we have at our facility. The first one was bought several years ago and has performed flawlessly. So when the compressor on our meal sealing machine threw a rod I didn't hesitate to get another one of these California Air Tools oil-less compressors. The cost was less than the repair parts to fix the older unit. This is a great unit, quiet, low maintenance and just plain works. You can't go wrong with this.
Pros: Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Willmar, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great compressor (The second one anyway)

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered on line. Was delivered. Easy to setup. Put on the 2 wheels, the front support and the two filters and you are ready to go.I think some peoples complaints about the wheels binding may be that they are putting them on backwards? There is a raised shoulder on one side of each wheel and that needs to go to the inside toward the frame. Nice, quiet, plenty or air pressure. Only negative was the first one that came I had to return to the local Home Depot store and then re-order. It had a small leak in the top of the tank in the weld. No such issues with the replacement.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no accesories
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from El Paso, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best compressor I've ever purchased

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed a quiet compressor to replace my old very-noisy oil-less compressor and decided to give this one a try. It turned out to be just as they promised, ultra quiet and efficient. Now I can run my compressor in the evenings to do a little spray painting around my workshop without disturbing my neighbors.
Out of the box you just have to install the wheels and front foot and you are ready to go, make sure to read the instructions for first time use. This is an excellent product, Home Depot should consider it having it as a stock item.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

fine compressor

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
id say this twin pump design is as good as it gets in a small oil free shop compressors it fills fast an the heads only get warn filling the tank an little to no condensation. this is a exalt air spaced twin cylinder design for a compressor it is like the BMW Boxer motor too motorcycles. it will top off 90psi to 125psi in 30 sec. you do get what you paid for here
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very quiet compressor

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This compressor is very quiet in operation, the PC twin tank it replaces made an infernal racket and this one is comfortable to stand next to when running. The build quality seems good and the assembly instructions were reasonably clear. It was very well packed with dual HD boxes and Styrofoam inserts. The only issue I have noted so far is that the pressure regulator seems to drift by 10 psi or so depending on the rate of air being drawn.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: pressure reg
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Selinsgrove, Pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A must have for interior work

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
High quality piece of equipment, actually quieter than advertised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Henderson, NV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

10 Gal 2HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This compressor is the largest of my three compressors. I'm currently using it with a gravity- feed HVLP spray gun. It is unbelievably quiet compared to my two smaller compressors - and that is a statement after using it in a garage with overhead doors almost completely closed. The only concern I had was with somewhat contradicting information. The instruction manual tells you to limit an extension to 25' and it must have a rating of at least 14 amps. The warning label on the unit's cord states that you must not use an extension cord. A call to the technical dept. confirmed my suspicions - the company is worried about voltage drop, whether from an extension cord or other devices being used on the same electrical circuit when the unit is turned on or comes on during recycling. I'm not that worried. The video the company shows comparing it to other compressors is for real.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Baltimore Maryland.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great buy,

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Does eveything I have asked it to do and very Quiet. Easy to assemble and was packed well. Fits perfect under my workbench and guages are easy to read.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight, quick recovery time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

Very quiet

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The only downfall to this compressor is it has a short handle and that makes it hard to pull. The compressor is so quiet you can talk to someone while standing beside it. Very happy so far
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
Cons: short handle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

Excellent Compressor

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did some comparisons and this California Air Tools compressor works perfect for my needs. All I use it for is small projects in the garage and this unit will even run my 1/2 drive impact to remove wheels from cars. Can easily talk and hear with it running while standing right next to it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Columbus, Oh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Verdict still out.

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Overall build quality is fair. Typical Chinese QC. No obvious damage to double wall shipping box but the plastic air inlet screens on each side of the motor cooling fans were damaged (crushed inward). I repaired. Initial attempt to start compressor failed as motor could not develop enough torque. This may be a capacity start motor and needed a few attempts to properly charge the capacitor. I rolled the motor over by hand to assure no binding and on the next attempt started fine. Compressor has started successfully for past two days (10+ starts). Auto shut-off pressure setting indicating too high. Manual says 8 Bar (120psi) but gauge indicates 9 Bar (135psi). I will monitor. Compressor is very quiet. Capacity appears as expected. Hope the reliability is there - time will tell. (yes, I am an engineer)
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

Disappointed

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not nearly as quiet as advertised, missing parts, shipping damage, significant manufacturing flaws will likely force return.
Cons: No Instructions, manufacturing flaws, expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Lady's Island, SC 29907, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice & quiet

PostedApril 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I needed to replace my home workshop compressor and wanted to tone it down a bit. This unit delivered! I hardly hear it recycle. My shop is 28'X28''and the unit is in the same room. I can still hear the radio & carry on conversations when it goes off. The best part is that I no longer jump out of my socks when it goes off like I did with my old Sears unit. Also has all of the power that you'll need for airguns, nailguns & other medium duty air tools.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: small air storage tank
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>