728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Compressors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

The California Air Tools 10020 Ultra Quiet air compressor is designed to be one of the quietest 2 HP electric air compressors in the industry having only 70 decibels of sound. The powerful 2 HP motor operates at only 1680 RPM creating less noise and less wear. The oil-free Dual Piston Pump System is engineered for high performance and durability. The oil-free pump allows you to use in different temperatures and uneven terrains. The 10 Gal. steel air tank with wheels is easy to store and move freely. The 10 Gal. air tank will fill (from empty to full) in less than 130 seconds. The control panel comes complete with 2-1/4 in. quick release connectors that will allow you to use up to 2 tools at the same time. This air compressor delivers 5.30 CFM at 90 psi allowing you to use larger air tools and more air tools at the same time. Having a low amp draw of only 14-Amps allows you to use normal 15-Amp outlets. Powerful and maneuverable this air compressor is ideal where noise in a shop, garage or work area is a major issue.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product97 of 101reviews
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(68)
4
(25)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product97 of 101reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
Review 1 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Shreveport, Louisiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have only had this compressor a couple months so far. I use it for jobs in my garage only, that do not include any commercial type work. Having said that, I really enjoy how quiet it runs and that it can not be heard inside the house during use. I replaced a 25 gallon compressor with this one and find it keeps up with any job I have asked of it so far. It's "footprint" is small and fits into most any place one might want to use. It came on UPS, very well boxed for shipping, arriving within 5 days of when I ordered it from the Home Depot web site. Very little assembly was required ; putting on the wheels, which are solid requiring no air in them.....a plus in my book.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Camarillo CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mighty Mouse saves the day

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I actually purchased two of these compressors to replace the noisy units we had from years back.
They are so loud and obnoxious sounding. This compressor is a joy to work with. It will fill up air in my truck tires or power light air tools. I bought one for my brother who has a car collection,and he loves it. It is easy to roll around and the storage of 10 gallons is enough that it doesn't cycle on/off frequently.
I would highly recommend this compressor for anyone who needs a unit for their home, job site, or small shop. It would be perfect in a race car trailer. I cannot impress upon you how quiet and efficient this compressor is. You might be paying a little more than the noisy ones, but it is well worth it.
Like the expression goes; you get what you pay for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Nacogdoches, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Compact Compressor!!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Finally had to replace my Porter Cable pancake compressor after almost 10 yrs. I choose this California Air Tools 10 gal and I'm very glad I did. I've had the compressor now for a little over a month and it has done everything I've asked it to with ease.
I'm a full time contractor and have already used this compressor to run my framing gun & trim guns (15 ga & 18 ga) as well as my 18 ga stapler. It had no trouble at all. I also build custom furniture and used it to run my gravity feed HPLV spray gun to spray polyurethane and it amazingly kept up quite well. Occasionally I had to pause for a minute to let it catch up but I out performed the Porter Cable 25 gal upright that I used to rent.
The Ultra-Quite feature is more than worth the cost on the California Air Tools compressors, I've never been able to stand next to a compressor of any brand or size and hold a conversation like I can with this compressor. No need to yell to get someone standing six feet way to hear me! That feature alone is worth the slightly higher price of this compressor compared to other ones of its size.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, quite
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Austin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase,

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simple to assemble, and wow, when I plugged it in and turned it on it was so quiet. I was able to talk with someone right next to me without yelling. I could barely hear it just inside the back door. So much less stress. I own two other compressor that are in various states of repair. A pancake compressor and another older unit. You can hear these all over the neighborhood.
Controls are simple and the tank size is adequate so that it will go for quite a while before it starts to pump back up. When it starts up I don't jump out of my skin from the load noise.
Quick to pressure up. Takes only a half a minute to fill from start up.
Compact and easy to move around.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Limited Features
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Belmont, NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Useful and Quiet Unit

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
An average of three stars for two separate compressors I purchased. Not the quality you would expect, but then it is made in China.
My first order of this compressor scores a 1 star. It was shipped double boxed and arrived in really good shape. Unfortunately when I first tried to start it, the motor growled a little and there was no rotation. I used a screw driver through the LH motor fan guard and tried to rotate it CCW to no avail. I then tried to rotate it CW and moved it about 1/4 inch. I then went back to the switch and the compressor started, but made some really rude metallic noises that slowly leveled out to a small clatter. The compressor did pump up to the advertised 120 psi and shut off by design. Lowering the air pressure by draining did make the unit restart as advertised. But the little metallic clatter continued. I removed the motor LH fan guard and found a small amount of metal that was magnetic. I then removed both of the inlet filters and found metal shavings (magnetic) around an air hole in the top plate of the LH cylinder. I removed what I could with a magnet. I used the tank blown down valve and had metal fragments flying out everywhere. Not liking these findings and the continued noise in one or both cylinders, I classified it as unacceptable and returned it.
I give the 2nd unit purchased 4 stars. The unit came in a single box but was never-the-less well protected and in excellent condition. I assembled this 2nd unit and inspected both the motor armature and the inside of the cylinder intakes for foreign material and it was clean. It started just fine, pumped to 120 psi as advertised and restarted when the pressure was lowered. The operating noise is indeed impressively low. Overall the design and apparent construction is acceptable. I like the way the unit presents the gauges, pressure control knob, pressure bleed and air couplers on a "dashboard" at belt level. The pressure relief for motor start works great and helps reduce the motor starting torque requirement. I have to laugh, however, at the workmanship of the wheel mounting on the tank. As you can see by the photograph I provide, the steel bracket for the wheels must have been installed by the wife or child of the assembler, as the wheels are well out of alignment with the unit as a whole. My camera is perfectly square with the front of the compressor and the wheels are pitched to the right. It still rolls around easily and I don't really mind the poor attachment. Everything else is really good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor craftmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Laguna Hills, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't hesitate buying this compressor!

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simply put, it's the best compressor I've used in over 30 years. I can have a conversation with my production crew standing right next to it WHILE it's cycling! Don't skimp on cheap product, get the best the first time!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, super quiet!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

product performs flawlessly, suits my needs perfectly. Extremely pleased

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Plenty of power to operate a wide variety of tools. Light weight, portable, fast recovery, solidly built. Exactly what I needed. Couldn't ask for more.
Customer service, is second to none. Had a slight issue in shipping. Called customer service, reported the dent in the dash panel. Received the part me next day!
If your In the market for a compressor, I would put this this one at the top of the list.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Portable, fast air recovery
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

fine compressor

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
id say this twin pump design is as good as it gets in a small oil free shop compressors it fills fast an the heads only get warn filling the tank an little to no condensation. this is a exalt air spaced twin cylinder design for a compressor it is like the BMW Boxer motor too motorcycles. it will top off 90psi to 125psi in 30 sec. you do get what you paid for here
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from South Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very quiet, but overall not as good as I hoped

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Good, but not great. It is impressively quiet and reasonably fast to refill the tank. But the included regulator is a piece of junk and came pre-adjusted so far off that I thought I was doing something wrong. It works, but is a hairy wart on an otherwise good product. Unfortunately it won't be easy to replace, either.
The pressure switch was also pre-set incorrectly to a very low 95psi. And adjusting it requires disassembling the chrome panel that the reg and air outlets connect to. The four bolts that hold it on are are tucked into corners and about 1/2" longer than necessary so it seems like you are turning forever to get them off.
Not sure about leakdown yet, seems to leak slowly even with nothing connected to it, but only about 1-2 psi per day, so that's not a deal breaker.
Even with all this, I still like the compressor. I'm just glad I bought it on sale (15% off). At full price I might have returned it and bought a louder (but more capable) Dewalt D55167 or Industrial Air ILA1883054. Either of those would have been overkill for my needs (airing up tires, blowing out filters, occasional 3/8" impact gun or trim nailer)
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Quiet, well-placed connections
Cons: cheesy regulator, difficult to adjust
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Florida
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet enough for indoors, easy to use, no leaks

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got this compressor a month ago and its working well so far. It arrived in good shape, double boxed with Styrofoam inserts protected it well. The wheels were easy to put on, as another reviewer noted the longer axle faces toward the tank. I needed a really quiet compressor to use inside the house for my bench top sandblasting cabinet. Blasting depletes the tank in a few minutes and it refills quietly enough to talk right next to it while its running, with zero noise complaints from the family. No leaks so far, draining the air out is rather noisy for the few minutes that takes. The tank water drain is easy to reach and operate. The handle is low but I don't need to move it very far. Very happy I got this compressor and hope it lasts a long time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, very quiet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Willmar, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great compressor (The second one anyway)

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered on line. Was delivered. Easy to setup. Put on the 2 wheels, the front support and the two filters and you are ready to go.I think some peoples complaints about the wheels binding may be that they are putting them on backwards? There is a raised shoulder on one side of each wheel and that needs to go to the inside toward the frame. Nice, quiet, plenty or air pressure. Only negative was the first one that came I had to return to the local Home Depot store and then re-order. It had a small leak in the top of the tank in the weld. No such issues with the replacement.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no accesories
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Rochester, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Now we've got two!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the 2nd unit that we have at our facility. The first one was bought several years ago and has performed flawlessly. So when the compressor on our meal sealing machine threw a rod I didn't hesitate to get another one of these California Air Tools oil-less compressors. The cost was less than the repair parts to fix the older unit. This is a great unit, quiet, low maintenance and just plain works. You can't go wrong with this.
Pros: Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Tennessee
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Little Compressor on the market!

PostedMay 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this compressor professionally in my finishing business. It is used with my HVLP spray gun and keeps up very well. The 2HP motor is superb and the 10 gallon capacity works very well for the air that I need. I had the smaller 4.6 gallon version of this compressor at one point and this 10 gallon model is much quieter than the smaller one was. It will power pretty much any tool you hook up besides an air sander since those require huge 5 HP compressors. I am extremely happy with this air compressor and would buy another one in the future. California Air Tools customer service is exceptional as well. I have called them before with questions and George their customer service manager always calls me back and answers every question I have.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, can be used with a hvlp spray gun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This compressor is amazing!! Super quiet and super fast at getting up to pressure and keeping it.

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy to assemble. really well built unit. I really like the tank drain valve,it is so easy to open with just a 1/4 turn(I release the pressure everytime I use it by opening the valve instead of the pressure release pop off valve). the unit is so quiet that I can talk on my cell phone right next to it. The compressor comes preset from the factory and it was right on(comp shut off at exactly 120). If you are thinking about purchasing a compressor,don't think any longer and get one of these California air units
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, drain valve
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from El Paso, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best compressor I've ever purchased

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed a quiet compressor to replace my old very-noisy oil-less compressor and decided to give this one a try. It turned out to be just as they promised, ultra quiet and efficient. Now I can run my compressor in the evenings to do a little spray painting around my workshop without disturbing my neighbors.
Out of the box you just have to install the wheels and front foot and you are ready to go, make sure to read the instructions for first time use. This is an excellent product, Home Depot should consider it having it as a stock item.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Henderson, NV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

10 Gal 2HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This compressor is the largest of my three compressors. I'm currently using it with a gravity- feed HVLP spray gun. It is unbelievably quiet compared to my two smaller compressors - and that is a statement after using it in a garage with overhead doors almost completely closed. The only concern I had was with somewhat contradicting information. The instruction manual tells you to limit an extension to 25' and it must have a rating of at least 14 amps. The warning label on the unit's cord states that you must not use an extension cord. A call to the technical dept. confirmed my suspicions - the company is worried about voltage drop, whether from an extension cord or other devices being used on the same electrical circuit when the unit is turned on or comes on during recycling. I'm not that worried. The video the company shows comparing it to other compressors is for real.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very quiet compressor

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This compressor is very quiet in operation, the PC twin tank it replaces made an infernal racket and this one is comfortable to stand next to when running. The build quality seems good and the assembly instructions were reasonably clear. It was very well packed with dual HD boxes and Styrofoam inserts. The only issue I have noted so far is that the pressure regulator seems to drift by 10 psi or so depending on the rate of air being drawn.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: pressure reg
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Cooke TWP, Cumberland Co. PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As advertised...

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Amazingly quiet yet powerful enough for most pneumatic tools. Ideal for the home. Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from howell mi
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedMay 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
ready to use right out of the box. no problems setting up to use air tools.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 Gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Hothckiss, CO.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice shop compressor

PostedJuly 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is less noisy than most small compressors and so far it is low maintenance. This is not a job site compressor. The wheels are not made for rough movement and the tank is rather cumbersome. This compressor will fit nicely in the corner of a small shop and volume and pressure should be sufficient for most hobby projects .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>