728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Compressors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

The California Air Tools 10020 Ultra Quiet air compressor is designed to be one of the quietest 2 HP electric air compressors in the industry having only 70 decibels of sound. The powerful 2 HP motor operates at only 1680 RPM creating less noise and less wear. The oil-free Dual Piston Pump System is engineered for high performance and durability. The oil-free pump allows you to use in different temperatures and uneven terrains. The 10 gal. steel air tank with wheels is easy to store and move freely. The 10 gal. air tank will fill (from empty to full) in less than 130 seconds. The control panel comes complete with 2-1/4 in. quick release connectors that will allow you to use up to 2 tools at the same time. This air compressor delivers 5.30 CFM at 90 psi allowing you to use larger air tools and more air tools at the same time. Having a low amp draw of only 14-Amps allows you to use normal 15-Amp outlets. Powerful and maneuverable this air compressor is ideal where noise in a shop, garage or work area is a major issue.
Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product62 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(47)
4
(14)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product62 of 64reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
Review 1 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Shreveport, Louisiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have only had this compressor a couple months so far. I use it for jobs in my garage only, that do not include any commercial type work. Having said that, I really enjoy how quiet it runs and that it can not be heard inside the house during use. I replaced a 25 gallon compressor with this one and find it keeps up with any job I have asked of it so far. It's "footprint" is small and fits into most any place one might want to use. It came on UPS, very well boxed for shipping, arriving within 5 days of when I ordered it from the Home Depot web site. Very little assembly was required ; putting on the wheels, which are solid requiring no air in them.....a plus in my book.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Nacogdoches, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Compact Compressor!!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Finally had to replace my Porter Cable pancake compressor after almost 10 yrs. I choose this California Air Tools 10 gal and I'm very glad I did. I've had the compressor now for a little over a month and it has done everything I've asked it to with ease.
I'm a full time contractor and have already used this compressor to run my framing gun & trim guns (15 ga & 18 ga) as well as my 18 ga stapler. It had no trouble at all. I also build custom furniture and used it to run my gravity feed HPLV spray gun to spray polyurethane and it amazingly kept up quite well. Occasionally I had to pause for a minute to let it catch up but I out performed the Porter Cable 25 gal upright that I used to rent.
The Ultra-Quite feature is more than worth the cost on the California Air Tools compressors, I've never been able to stand next to a compressor of any brand or size and hold a conversation like I can with this compressor. No need to yell to get someone standing six feet way to hear me! That feature alone is worth the slightly higher price of this compressor compared to other ones of its size.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, quite
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Camarillo CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mighty Mouse saves the day

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I actually purchased two of these compressors to replace the noisy units we had from years back.
They are so loud and obnoxious sounding. This compressor is a joy to work with. It will fill up air in my truck tires or power light air tools. I bought one for my brother who has a car collection,and he loves it. It is easy to roll around and the storage of 10 gallons is enough that it doesn't cycle on/off frequently.
I would highly recommend this compressor for anyone who needs a unit for their home, job site, or small shop. It would be perfect in a race car trailer. I cannot impress upon you how quiet and efficient this compressor is. You might be paying a little more than the noisy ones, but it is well worth it.
Like the expression goes; you get what you pay for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Laguna Hills, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't hesitate buying this compressor!

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simply put, it's the best compressor I've used in over 30 years. I can have a conversation with my production crew standing right next to it WHILE it's cycling! Don't skimp on cheap product, get the best the first time!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, super quiet!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

product performs flawlessly, suits my needs perfectly. Extremely pleased

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Plenty of power to operate a wide variety of tools. Light weight, portable, fast recovery, solidly built. Exactly what I needed. Couldn't ask for more.
Customer service, is second to none. Had a slight issue in shipping. Called customer service, reported the dent in the dash panel. Received the part me next day!
If your In the market for a compressor, I would put this this one at the top of the list.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Portable, fast air recovery
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Henderson, NV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

10 Gal 2HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This compressor is the largest of my three compressors. I'm currently using it with a gravity- feed HVLP spray gun. It is unbelievably quiet compared to my two smaller compressors - and that is a statement after using it in a garage with overhead doors almost completely closed. The only concern I had was with somewhat contradicting information. The instruction manual tells you to limit an extension to 25' and it must have a rating of at least 14 amps. The warning label on the unit's cord states that you must not use an extension cord. A call to the technical dept. confirmed my suspicions - the company is worried about voltage drop, whether from an extension cord or other devices being used on the same electrical circuit when the unit is turned on or comes on during recycling. I'm not that worried. The video the company shows comparing it to other compressors is for real.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Bloomfield, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Quiet

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The lack of sound volume is hard to describe compared to my old compressor. You could easily watch a tv at normal volume while the unit is running. The unit is well packaged, very compact, and well put together, the face plate and gauges are actually beautiful. Also fills the tank very quickly. I did not give it 5 stars because it has a little difficulty running my impact driver which my old compress 4hp/20 gallon ran easily at a third of the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

fine compressor

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
id say this twin pump design is as good as it gets in a small oil free shop compressors it fills fast an the heads only get warn filling the tank an little to no condensation. this is a exalt air spaced twin cylinder design for a compressor it is like the BMW Boxer motor too motorcycles. it will top off 90psi to 125psi in 30 sec. you do get what you paid for here
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

Excellent Compressor

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did some comparisons and this California Air Tools compressor works perfect for my needs. All I use it for is small projects in the garage and this unit will even run my 1/2 drive impact to remove wheels from cars. Can easily talk and hear with it running while standing right next to it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

Excellent air compressor

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this air compressor to move a label machine press and it's a enough powerful to the press. I'm so happy with the compressor because it's extremely quiet it's sound like aquarium pump. I use it every day no more than 5 hours a day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Sonoma County, CA.
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good and bad- A balanced review

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The Good- By handling this compressor you can tell it's high quality and built very well. The motor cycles on and your first impression is how quietly it runs; not as quiet as advertised in the video, but pretty quiet if you compare it to just about any other compressor on the market. The tank fills quickly and you can get up to 125 PSI in approximately 90 seconds from an empty tank; which is ridiculously fast.
The Bad- Although the unit comes with wheels, I wouldn't exactly call it portable. This thing weighs a ton (over 90 pounds) and the weight and cheap wheels make it hard to move around on even a smooth garage type surface. Another compliant I have is that the unit leaked air from the first time I turned it on. I have read other reviews where the units are damaged during shipping, but mine didn't have any damage during shipping so I think it was just a faulty part. A quick email to the manufacturer and a replacement part was shipped to me that day at no cost, which was really nice.
End result- I would recommend this unit based on quality, performance, and features. I think you would be hard pressed to find something better. However, the thing is as nimble as a tank and it weighs a ton, so if you plan to shlep it around to various job sites you might want to look elsewhere. Mine will take up permeant residence in my garage, and for that it is a great machine.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, extremely quiet
Cons: Too Heavy, not maneuverable, cheap wheels
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Yorktown
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Love it what a great air compressor very quiet wish I would've found it earlierI would definitely recommend it to anyone for a shop air compressor
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from St. Louis
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Air Compressor

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is everything it is advertised to be. I went from a Porter Cable pancake compressor that screamed at 101 db. This beauty is quiet. In fact I couldn't believe it. I hooked up my air hose and was blowing off air and couldn't hear the thing running over the sound of the rushing air. It is around 70 db in loudness. I have a high velocity fan that is louder.
Get it! If you are even considering this tool, get it! You won't regret it!
Pros: Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, quiet!!!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

Very Quiet Unit

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am very happy with the compressor. It was quick to get up and running. Make sure to order the accessory kit though. It does not come with any airline or fittings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Tucson Az
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Machine

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great Machine. Came with broken motor guard from shipping ,called company,they sent new part right away.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

Quality

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very impressed with the quality and quietness. Very easy to assemble the wheels, filters and rubber stopper. Need better way to pack for shipment, one of the fan screens was almost completely broken, nothing a little super glue can't fix. The delivery company has a lot to be desired, they left the box upside down at my door, go figure something broke during transit. Other than that it runs my impact wrench and other air tools with no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Home of Lebron James & SuperMLS
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Compressor, but the wheels are junk

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is great 10 gallon air compressor that has all the bells and whistles. The recover time is great and not to mention its quite. But my only complaint for this product are the wheels! When you un package this unit throw the wheels away they don't roll and will end up making a black rubber mark on concrete or any surface that your transporting on. But overall I am happy with this compressor, but not with the wheels. It seemed the manu. just found the cheapest wheels that they could find and throw it on this unit. Its the cadillac of compressor but donuts for tires.
Pros: Light Weight, quite
Cons: wheels
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Lady's Island, SC 29907, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice & quiet

PostedApril 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I needed to replace my home workshop compressor and wanted to tone it down a bit. This unit delivered! I hardly hear it recycle. My shop is 28'X28''and the unit is in the same room. I can still hear the radio & carry on conversations when it goes off. The best part is that I no longer jump out of my socks when it goes off like I did with my old Sears unit. Also has all of the power that you'll need for airguns, nailguns & other medium duty air tools.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: small air storage tank
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor
from Duluth, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great quiet compressor.

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The only assembly needed was adding the wheels, foot rest and air filters. It is much quieter that my previous pancake compressor and I really like the dual ports for attaching multiple airlines. However, at 88 lbs, you don't pick it up and place it in the back of a vehicle as easy as the pancake. About 50 lbs heavier.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 gal. 2 HP Ultra Quiet and Oil-Free Air Compressor

Best One Yet

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this after my pancake compressor from Harbor Freight died. Just received it. Everything started up great and the packaging was excellent.
This is really quiet. We live in an HOA community with neighbors that love to complain. So this is perfect.
I am also a car guy and do my own maintenance. This machine has inputs for 2 compressor hoses. Really cool.
The price is high no doubt. You can buy one from Harbor Freight, probably 2 for the price with their 20% coupon. For me, I'd prefer a quality machine.
Would really recommend this product for anyone who appreciates good tools.
Lastly, I would note it is pretty heavy...about 100 pounds, but the wheels are easy to put on.
Pros: Strong
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>