728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

The Black & Decker LPHT120 22 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion cordless pole hedge trimmer is perfect for those difficult, hard to reach hedges. The pole hedge trimmer has 180 degree pivoting head that adjusts and locks into five different positions for cutting high hedges. The LPHT120 has 18 in. dual action cutting blades with a 7/16 in. cut capacity. This unit is easy to store and only weighs about 7 lbs.
Overall rating:
4.262 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product39 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(18)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product39 of 40reviews
Customer reviews for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Review 1 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Haze
from Lakeland, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Couldn't go wrong with this...

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I received this product I was so impressed with it. I fully charged the battery and then went right to work with it in my yard. I was able to do all 10 of my bushes with ease.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: no cons
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Everbloom
from Park Forest, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good trimmer

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I actually bought this hedge trimmer for my 77 year old mother. She has some tall shrubs and some shrubs on a hill which make it hard to use a ladder. She loves the fact that she doesn't have to get out the extension cord to do some trimming. She can trim as little or as much as she wants and then just put it away. It's not too heavy, not any more than a regular trimmer and she can use two hands since she doesn't have to hang on to a ladder. It trims well and so far, the battery seems to hold a charge for a long time. Also, the head swivels from horizontal to vertical.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
bill
from indiana
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good for my specific purpose

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the hedge trimmer to cut decorative grasses at ground
level to prepare for the upcoming growing season.
The long handle and rotating head allowed me to use the trimmer much like a string trimmer.
It performed perfectly for this application.
The battery was powerful and the run-time was adequate for this job.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
RBTR8R
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing is designed for hard-to-reach trimming. It does that well. Reserve it for that purpose.

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pros: 6.5 feet tall, Can reach out sideways while on a ladder, to that distance from my navel. Can reach 10 feet vertically. Nobody else can beat those numbers that I could find.
Light-weight enough to let a 70-year guy do everything it's designed to do, for 30 minutes minimum, stretchin on an 8-foot ladder.
Cuts 1/4" live branches swath-style. Can cut single branches up to 3/8 or 7/16, depending on which info you look to. Tough, dead stuff would not be as easy.
Cons: Battery. It takes several hours to do a total charge. To work continuously, you would need at least two batteries, but I doubt 2 would be enough. Would be reluctant to use the tool that heavily.
The battery is light, compact, housed in tough plastic. However, it is fairly awkward to manipulate without dropping the battery. Inserting the battery into the charger is easy. It is held there by friction, but that's no problem. Inserting the battery into the tool is similarly easy, and there is an actual catch to hold it in place.
Removal of battery from either connection without dropping the battery is tricky. You just tug it loose from the charger, but there is little to hang onto and it releases abruptly.
To release from the tool, you have to push the stiff catch "up" with your thumb, via a little recess, while simultaneously pulling the battery "out" . I think one could be trained to perform this without dropping the battery, before you managed to kill it. Fortunately the case appears so far to be quite sturdy, and bounceable. You could handle this weakness by first placing the tool on a solid support - like a table or maybe the ground - allowing better usage of both hands.
Check battery temperature limitations for storing, charging and using, esp. in a hot climate.
Stalls if load is too tough. Fairly easy to clear. The tool will admit up to 1/2" diameter, but won't cut that much.
Bottom Line: A tool that will perform it's limited intended job, within limits. It has to be light-weight, and that typically affects any tool's overall strength. Don't abuse it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Terry
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great overall, a little on the heavy side, but still great

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great overall, a little on the heavy side, but still great
Pros: All In One
Cons: Too Heavy
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
IceCase88
from Fernandina Beach, FL 32034, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Does everything I ask and more

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have long, leafy, vine plants on the hill in my backyard. These plants grow very fast, very long, and very high. The pole trimmer makes the job a million times easier. Before I would have to get on a step ladder to get the tall vines. Now I can do it safely on the ground. The trimmer easily powers through the vines. The battery last a long time! Great tool!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
9t86
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for weekend warrior

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product for the DIY. Has a enough power to do you entire yard and get through tough hedges. I would recommend this to anyone.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
George
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lightweight and cuts great!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is so much better than the gas trimmer my friend has. Gas is more power but it is MUCH more weight. This lithium battery is light and has plenty of power. Plus there's no gas, oil or cranking to deal with. I have the B&D blower, line trimmer, pole chainsaw pruner and the hedge trimmer. They all use the same battery and they all work fine. They are all lightweight and easy to use.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Bill
from Winchester, NH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked fine

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I only used it once. It was fine for what I did. It seems to do the job okay. Batteries don't last very long, maybe twenty minutes. The down side is that it takes 8 hours to fully charge them so if you have a large job, you will need a lot of batteries. Black & Decker sells a battery charger for an additional $40 that charges the batteries in 40 minutes. I know they can provide it with the unit, but they want to make more money so they make you buy it separately. I wish they would offer you the option of paying a little more to buy it with the unit.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
Cons: batteries only last twenty minutes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
uglypug
from Hurst, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It did what it said the one time I used it.

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a specific tool for a specific job and it worked well the only time I used it. I will use my regular trimmer for everything I can reach but this extension helped with the high 10 foot stuff and it kept me off a ladder (ladders and old men do not go well together).
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Karen
from 98221
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great double sided blade.

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Love the battery operation, cuts well. Product could use a handle at center of balance for easier manuevering. Holding onto the foam grip provided puts me into an uncomfortable position. Even a harness would help. As far as function, this product lived up to my expectations. I have used it to cut brush, weeds, thistles, with good results. customer service and shipping were great! .
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
terrrymac
from Wake Forest, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like the product it ran well. Wish it was a little longer

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like the product wish the extension was longer and the you could rune the trimmer without the extension
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Oldster
from Delaware, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product saves climbing on a ladder to trim difficult bushes.

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I liked this product for the convenience it provides in trimming bushes on a slope which otherwise requires set ting up a ladder and precarious reaching out. It would be better if the angles available were more variable as some configurations are awkward.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
mrsmajbaptist
from Valdosta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Still hopeful!

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This trimmer is strong and should do the job. However I had to return the one I bought due to the fact that it only would work when held horizontally. It kept cutting out as I turned it to the vertical position. It seemed as though the whole cutting head was loose and wobbly after only one day of work. After reading other reviews, I think I just got a defective trimmer. I have returned it and will buy another to give it a try. I am hoping this was the case because the extended length and being able to adjust the angle are great features. I love it being cordless even though it does feel heavy after a while. The battery life was great for what I needed. I shaped several knock out roses, pruned 2 large ornamental olives, 2 huge jasmine, cut dozens of suckers from a half dozen crepe myrtle trees, and pruned and shaped a 60-70 foot hedge of soft touch holly before the battery ran out. I was thrilled to be able to do all this in one day! I really hope that the next one I try continues to work after just the first use.
Pros: Cuts Well
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
1YardNut
from SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great yard tool!

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It reaches just as I hoped and is was easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Rich
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

All around a great product

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far the only regret is that I did not buy a second battery. I love this trimmer.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
FONZ
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DOES WHAT IT IS SUPPOSED TO DO

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
TOP HEAVY MAKES IT DIFFICULT TO USE AND CAN BE USED FOR SHORT PERIODS ONLY
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Topper
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice not having to drag around cord . With battery go where you want with no stopping

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good trimmer easy to use and reach taller landscape bushes & holly trees to shape as needed.
Really like to storage bag that comes with trimmer.
I like to keep my tools clean and in there place.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
POPS
from Nottingham, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does all it I need it for.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am 77 years old and I can reach the top of my evergreen trees to trim them with ease. The battery lasts a reasonable time. Well worth it.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Retiree
from Monroe, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product has exceptional features and easy to use.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is working out as expected! It is great!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>