728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

The BLACK & DECKER LPHT120 22 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion cordless pole hedge trimmer is perfect for those difficult, hard to reach hedges. The pole hedge trimmer has 180 degree pivoting head that adjusts and locks into five different positions for cutting high hedges. The LPHT120 has 18 in. dual action cutting blades with a 7/16 in. cut capacity. This unit is easy to store and only weighs about 7 lbs.
Overall rating:
4.268 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product53 of 54reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(26)
3
(6)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product53 of 54reviews
Customer reviews for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Review 1 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

Works well, but could use a little more power

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I needed to be able to reach the top of 2 10' holly bushes. The pole trimmer does reach the high points but does not have quite the power I would like. I have to make a number of passes to get it trimmed to my satisfaction. All the other features are fine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: not enough power
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Lakeland, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Couldn't go wrong with this...

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I received this product I was so impressed with it. I fully charged the battery and then went right to work with it in my yard. I was able to do all 10 of my bushes with ease.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: no cons
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Good choice for High/Harder to reach Hedges

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Trimmer worked very well for my property with some higher hedges and some hard to reach. Seems to be a bit less vibration than the last trimmer I had. The only thing I am not crazy about is the battery pack- as I did not see a plug-in model offered. While the battery pack eliminates fumbling with a cord, it only lasts around 2 hours, which meant I had to split up the job. If you had another B&D appliance and had another battery pack to plug in it would probably be best.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from White Hall, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hedge Trimmer Made Easier

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a corded hedge trimmer so using a cordless model that has many different head positions made the job a lot easier. I ordered extra batteries (2 giving me 3 total) and original battery out of the box provided enough power to almost finish the job. May never use the extra batteries as didn't realize they would last so long. Having multiple positions for the head really helps.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Rochester, Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good value - can trim most jobs without a ladder.

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The trimmer is easy to use - a bit too heavy when reaching out to trim for 5 minutes or more.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Syracuse NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Trimmer, Unbelievable Battery

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My only complaint is that the motor – the heaviest part of this tool – is closer to the blades than the end I'm holding, making it somewhat unwieldy. But I don't see any way to have built it differently. The batter is fantastic: small enough to fit in your pocket, extremely light, charges reasonable quickly, lasts longer than I thought was possible and the charger takes up almost no space on your work bench. If you need to trim hedges more than a foot above your head, you need one of these trimmers.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

solution to a problem

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the added reach and freedom from a cord gave me the ability to trim bushes that had always been a serious effort and danger. product works well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works well!

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A fig ivy ate my house. Curb appeal is great, if someone else is doing the work. This trimmer has good reach and the pivoting head is very helpful. It handles the thicker stuff with ease. I haven't hit anything it couldn't cut. Battery life is better than I expected. It's a little unwieldy in a crowded garden, but hey it's a pole hedge trimmer.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Park Forest, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good trimmer

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I actually bought this hedge trimmer for my 77 year old mother. She has some tall shrubs and some shrubs on a hill which make it hard to use a ladder. She loves the fact that she doesn't have to get out the extension cord to do some trimming. She can trim as little or as much as she wants and then just put it away. It's not too heavy, not any more than a regular trimmer and she can use two hands since she doesn't have to hang on to a ladder. It trims well and so far, the battery seems to hold a charge for a long time. Also, the head swivels from horizontal to vertical.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Long Isand, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Taming Tall Hedges

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Trying to maintain hedges at 6' tall is made much easier with this product. Great back saver and don't need to climb up on a ladder.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Auburn, Alabama
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excerllent product!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Reaches tough and hard to reach spots.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from rochester, ny
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big Trimmer

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A bit heavy and awkward but needed the reach. Quality product. Easy to assemble...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Pittsburgh PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Gardening Tool

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have a bank of evergreens that were difficult to trim in the middle. This trimmer is not too heavy, extends far, and cuts like a knife thru butter. Makes the job so much easier. Very pleased with the purchase. Charges up quickly.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Gulfport, MS
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It did everything I needed

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble and performed exactly as I expected.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing is designed for hard-to-reach trimming. It does that well. Reserve it for that purpose.

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pros: 6.5 feet tall, Can reach out sideways while on a ladder, to that distance from my navel. Can reach 10 feet vertically. Nobody else can beat those numbers that I could find.
Light-weight enough to let a 70-year guy do everything it's designed to do, for 30 minutes minimum, stretchin on an 8-foot ladder.
Cuts 1/4" live branches swath-style. Can cut single branches up to 3/8 or 7/16, depending on which info you look to. Tough, dead stuff would not be as easy.
Cons: Battery. It takes several hours to do a total charge. To work continuously, you would need at least two batteries, but I doubt 2 would be enough. Would be reluctant to use the tool that heavily.
The battery is light, compact, housed in tough plastic. However, it is fairly awkward to manipulate without dropping the battery. Inserting the battery into the charger is easy. It is held there by friction, but that's no problem. Inserting the battery into the tool is similarly easy, and there is an actual catch to hold it in place.
Removal of battery from either connection without dropping the battery is tricky. You just tug it loose from the charger, but there is little to hang onto and it releases abruptly.
To release from the tool, you have to push the stiff catch "up" with your thumb, via a little recess, while simultaneously pulling the battery "out" . I think one could be trained to perform this without dropping the battery, before you managed to kill it. Fortunately the case appears so far to be quite sturdy, and bounceable. You could handle this weakness by first placing the tool on a solid support - like a table or maybe the ground - allowing better usage of both hands.
Check battery temperature limitations for storing, charging and using, esp. in a hot climate.
Stalls if load is too tough. Fairly easy to clear. The tool will admit up to 1/2" diameter, but won't cut that much.
Bottom Line: A tool that will perform it's limited intended job, within limits. It has to be light-weight, and that typically affects any tool's overall strength. Don't abuse it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from indiana
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good for my specific purpose

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the hedge trimmer to cut decorative grasses at ground
level to prepare for the upcoming growing season.
The long handle and rotating head allowed me to use the trimmer much like a string trimmer.
It performed perfectly for this application.
The battery was powerful and the run-time was adequate for this job.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great overall, a little on the heavy side, but still great

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great overall, a little on the heavy side, but still great
Pros: All In One
Cons: Too Heavy
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Palm Coast, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Safety switch a little cumbersome to use with gloves on

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
What I wanted in a seasonal tool. The same type of tool in gasoline engine would have been three times more expensive and difficult to justify the purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, adjustable cutting head
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EASY OF USE

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Battery life lasts a long time. Very light weight. Highly recommend for home owner use!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Fernandina Beach, FL 32034, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Does everything I ask and more

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have long, leafy, vine plants on the hill in my backyard. These plants grow very fast, very long, and very high. The pole trimmer makes the job a million times easier. Before I would have to get on a step ladder to get the tall vines. Now I can do it safely on the ground. The trimmer easily powers through the vines. The battery last a long time! Great tool!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>