728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

The BLACK & DECKER LPHT120 22 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion cordless pole hedge trimmer is perfect for those difficult, hard to reach hedges. The pole hedge trimmer has 180 degree pivoting head that adjusts and locks into five different positions for cutting high hedges. The LPHT120 has 18 in. dual action cutting blades with a 7/16 in. cut capacity. This unit is easy to store and only weighs about 7 lbs.
Overall rating:
4.253 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product66 of 69reviews
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(31)
3
(6)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product66 of 69reviews
Customer reviews for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Review 1 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

Not great power

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had 18volt BD hedge trimmer in the past. Now have 20 volt. Bought this to reach talker shrubs without ladder. Cutting capability is less per specs but expected it to have as much power as 20 volt hedge trimmer but it doesn't. Operates more like 18 volt product line using a weak battery. Also, unless you accustomed to lifting weights over your head, it is very difficult to use a tool that is this heavy for long periods of time while applying required pressure to cut branches. I didn't think it would be too heavy from the specs and it didn't even feel heavy until I used it for a long time. Since power is weak, you have to apply more pressure to cut through.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Palm Harbor, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great job, but a bit too heavy

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
As is true with many cordless tools, this is quite heavy on the business end - the blade end - so it becomes cumbersome to handle after a while. Clipper does a good job and head adjustment is easy. Battery life is adequate to complete most jobs. Quality looks good - time will tell about durability.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Powerful, Long-Lasting
Cons: Too Heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Lakeland, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Couldn't go wrong with this...

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I received this product I was so impressed with it. I fully charged the battery and then went right to work with it in my yard. I was able to do all 10 of my bushes with ease.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: no cons
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

Works well, but could use a little more power

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I needed to be able to reach the top of 2 10' holly bushes. The pole trimmer does reach the high points but does not have quite the power I would like. I have to make a number of passes to get it trimmed to my satisfaction. All the other features are fine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: not enough power
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

Cordless Pole Trimmer

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great, let's me reach as high as I need and cuts large branches easily. The charge lasts longer than I need. I cut all the bushes in my yard on a full charge. I only wish it came apart to use as a regular trimmer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from St. Paul, MN.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for hard to reach areas.

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Light weight, but if working over your head for extended period it starts to feel heavier. Worked great for getting to the top of my Arbervities. Does not work for close up trimming.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Clarkston, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

pole hedge trimmer

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a female buying and using this product, I found it to be just what I needed to help my 87 year old father
trim the hedges that surround his property on three sides. If I didn't have this product, I don't know if this project would be possible. I was concerned about the weight, but it was lightweight but powerful.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Park Forest, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good trimmer

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I actually bought this hedge trimmer for my 77 year old mother. She has some tall shrubs and some shrubs on a hill which make it hard to use a ladder. She loves the fact that she doesn't have to get out the extension cord to do some trimming. She can trim as little or as much as she wants and then just put it away. It's not too heavy, not any more than a regular trimmer and she can use two hands since she doesn't have to hang on to a ladder. It trims well and so far, the battery seems to hold a charge for a long time. Also, the head swivels from horizontal to vertical.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing is designed for hard-to-reach trimming. It does that well. Reserve it for that purpose.

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pros: 6.5 feet tall, Can reach out sideways while on a ladder, to that distance from my navel. Can reach 10 feet vertically. Nobody else can beat those numbers that I could find.
Light-weight enough to let a 70-year guy do everything it's designed to do, for 30 minutes minimum, stretchin on an 8-foot ladder.
Cuts 1/4" live branches swath-style. Can cut single branches up to 3/8 or 7/16, depending on which info you look to. Tough, dead stuff would not be as easy.
Cons: Battery. It takes several hours to do a total charge. To work continuously, you would need at least two batteries, but I doubt 2 would be enough. Would be reluctant to use the tool that heavily.
The battery is light, compact, housed in tough plastic. However, it is fairly awkward to manipulate without dropping the battery. Inserting the battery into the charger is easy. It is held there by friction, but that's no problem. Inserting the battery into the tool is similarly easy, and there is an actual catch to hold it in place.
Removal of battery from either connection without dropping the battery is tricky. You just tug it loose from the charger, but there is little to hang onto and it releases abruptly.
To release from the tool, you have to push the stiff catch "up" with your thumb, via a little recess, while simultaneously pulling the battery "out" . I think one could be trained to perform this without dropping the battery, before you managed to kill it. Fortunately the case appears so far to be quite sturdy, and bounceable. You could handle this weakness by first placing the tool on a solid support - like a table or maybe the ground - allowing better usage of both hands.
Check battery temperature limitations for storing, charging and using, esp. in a hot climate.
Stalls if load is too tough. Fairly easy to clear. The tool will admit up to 1/2" diameter, but won't cut that much.
Bottom Line: A tool that will perform it's limited intended job, within limits. It has to be light-weight, and that typically affects any tool's overall strength. Don't abuse it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from indiana
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good for my specific purpose

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the hedge trimmer to cut decorative grasses at ground
level to prepare for the upcoming growing season.
The long handle and rotating head allowed me to use the trimmer much like a string trimmer.
It performed perfectly for this application.
The battery was powerful and the run-time was adequate for this job.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Good choice for High/Harder to reach Hedges

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Trimmer worked very well for my property with some higher hedges and some hard to reach. Seems to be a bit less vibration than the last trimmer I had. The only thing I am not crazy about is the battery pack- as I did not see a plug-in model offered. While the battery pack eliminates fumbling with a cord, it only lasts around 2 hours, which meant I had to split up the job. If you had another B&D appliance and had another battery pack to plug in it would probably be best.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the Job!

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When I first turned it on the trimmer sounded as though it hardly had any power. I was quite surprised at the cutting power when I began to use it. Great for small jobs that you need that extra reach for. Doesn't have the power for the "big" jobs. Run time on battery is average,picked up an extra battery to have on hand. Only down side is the trimmer does get heavy.
Pros: Cuts Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great overall, a little on the heavy side, but still great

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great overall, a little on the heavy side, but still great
Pros: All In One
Cons: Too Heavy
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

Dennis

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as expected to!! Awesome cutter does a excellent job trimming box hedges and such, battery life is great!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Hingham, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality tool for high and low

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Recently purchased a new home with mature bushes and ornamental trees that are about 10 feet tall or planted on a grade that makes accessing them quite difficult. I tried a pole saw and extended handle cutters but the branches were too thin for a pole saw (clogged the blade) and the cutters were just frustrating and tedious. This was just the trick to prune them back and keep them from growing any higher. Cuts well and the battery charge lasted well beyond the point where my arms wore out (about 60-90 minutes). There is some weight to the trimmer, but it's not overly heavy and best of all it's not awkward to hold (there's good balance to both ends). The adjustable head allows you to get just the right angle to reach where you need to get to.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Sea Girt NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent performance - as expected from other review comments

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The extendable handle was a little short; the unit's weight was more noticeable the longer I used it, but overall it performed as expected, and as needed. The cutting speed for this battery driven unit is certainly not matching that of a engine driven unit - but for the common homeowner's needs - it did well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from new jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good purchase

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to assemble ,light enough to be comfartable in operation,long to reach far edges or corners of my ceder fence . the battery gave apx 2 hrs of intensive operation until to be charged again
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Long Battery Life and Cuts well

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Performed as described. Battery life was surprisingly long. Adjustable positions a big plus also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Kennesaw, Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Throw away the cords

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Hedge trimmer operated as stated, a little heavy but cuts much better than I expected from a battery operated device. Great for hard to get to places and rotating/swivel capabilities allows greater use. Very satisfied with this purchase...
Pros: Cuts Well
Cons: little heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from yonkers, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

just the thing

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is very easy to use. I have a lot of hedges and the regular trimmer is a hassle with the cord and all. This one your ready to go . Holds the charge for quite a while. Really glad I got it......
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>