728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

The BLACK & DECKER LPHT120 22 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion cordless pole hedge trimmer is perfect for those difficult, hard to reach hedges. The pole hedge trimmer has 180 degree pivoting head that adjusts and locks into five different positions for cutting high hedges. The LPHT120 has 18 in. dual action cutting blades with a 7/16 in. cut capacity. This unit is easy to store and only weighs about 7 lbs.
Overall rating:
4.266 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product60 of 62reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(28)
3
(6)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product60 of 62reviews
Customer reviews for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Review 1 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from St. Paul, MN.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for hard to reach areas.

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Light weight, but if working over your head for extended period it starts to feel heavier. Worked great for getting to the top of my Arbervities. Does not work for close up trimming.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Lakeland, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Couldn't go wrong with this...

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I received this product I was so impressed with it. I fully charged the battery and then went right to work with it in my yard. I was able to do all 10 of my bushes with ease.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: no cons
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

Works well, but could use a little more power

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I needed to be able to reach the top of 2 10' holly bushes. The pole trimmer does reach the high points but does not have quite the power I would like. I have to make a number of passes to get it trimmed to my satisfaction. All the other features are fine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: not enough power
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Sea Girt NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent performance - as expected from other review comments

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The extendable handle was a little short; the unit's weight was more noticeable the longer I used it, but overall it performed as expected, and as needed. The cutting speed for this battery driven unit is certainly not matching that of a engine driven unit - but for the common homeowner's needs - it did well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Long Battery Life and Cuts well

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Performed as described. Battery life was surprisingly long. Adjustable positions a big plus also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Hingham, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality tool for high and low

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Recently purchased a new home with mature bushes and ornamental trees that are about 10 feet tall or planted on a grade that makes accessing them quite difficult. I tried a pole saw and extended handle cutters but the branches were too thin for a pole saw (clogged the blade) and the cutters were just frustrating and tedious. This was just the trick to prune them back and keep them from growing any higher. Cuts well and the battery charge lasted well beyond the point where my arms wore out (about 60-90 minutes). There is some weight to the trimmer, but it's not overly heavy and best of all it's not awkward to hold (there's good balance to both ends). The adjustable head allows you to get just the right angle to reach where you need to get to.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Kennesaw, Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Throw away the cords

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Hedge trimmer operated as stated, a little heavy but cuts much better than I expected from a battery operated device. Great for hard to get to places and rotating/swivel capabilities allows greater use. Very satisfied with this purchase...
Pros: Cuts Well
Cons: little heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from yonkers, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

just the thing

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is very easy to use. I have a lot of hedges and the regular trimmer is a hassle with the cord and all. This one your ready to go . Holds the charge for quite a while. Really glad I got it......
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1939

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Pole Trimmer was very easy to put together and very quiet in its use. Charging the battery before storage is a breeze. What I really like is that the whole unit put together is lighter than I thought it would be. I use it to shape my Bottle Brush tree.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features, switch from pole to hand trimmer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Good choice for High/Harder to reach Hedges

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Trimmer worked very well for my property with some higher hedges and some hard to reach. Seems to be a bit less vibration than the last trimmer I had. The only thing I am not crazy about is the battery pack- as I did not see a plug-in model offered. While the battery pack eliminates fumbling with a cord, it only lasts around 2 hours, which meant I had to split up the job. If you had another B&D appliance and had another battery pack to plug in it would probably be best.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Park Forest, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good trimmer

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I actually bought this hedge trimmer for my 77 year old mother. She has some tall shrubs and some shrubs on a hill which make it hard to use a ladder. She loves the fact that she doesn't have to get out the extension cord to do some trimming. She can trim as little or as much as she wants and then just put it away. It's not too heavy, not any more than a regular trimmer and she can use two hands since she doesn't have to hang on to a ladder. It trims well and so far, the battery seems to hold a charge for a long time. Also, the head swivels from horizontal to vertical.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from White Hall, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hedge Trimmer Made Easier

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a corded hedge trimmer so using a cordless model that has many different head positions made the job a lot easier. I ordered extra batteries (2 giving me 3 total) and original battery out of the box provided enough power to almost finish the job. May never use the extra batteries as didn't realize they would last so long. Having multiple positions for the head really helps.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

Disappointed

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product was shipped damaged. Never had a chance to use it.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Syracuse NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Trimmer, Unbelievable Battery

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My only complaint is that the motor – the heaviest part of this tool – is closer to the blades than the end I'm holding, making it somewhat unwieldy. But I don't see any way to have built it differently. The batter is fantastic: small enough to fit in your pocket, extremely light, charges reasonable quickly, lasts longer than I thought was possible and the charger takes up almost no space on your work bench. If you need to trim hedges more than a foot above your head, you need one of these trimmers.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Rochester, Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good value - can trim most jobs without a ladder.

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The trimmer is easy to use - a bit too heavy when reaching out to trim for 5 minutes or more.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

solution to a problem

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the added reach and freedom from a cord gave me the ability to trim bushes that had always been a serious effort and danger. product works well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works well!

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A fig ivy ate my house. Curb appeal is great, if someone else is doing the work. This trimmer has good reach and the pivoting head is very helpful. It handles the thicker stuff with ease. I haven't hit anything it couldn't cut. Battery life is better than I expected. It's a little unwieldy in a crowded garden, but hey it's a pole hedge trimmer.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Long Isand, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Taming Tall Hedges

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Trying to maintain hedges at 6' tall is made much easier with this product. Great back saver and don't need to climb up on a ladder.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Auburn, Alabama
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excerllent product!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Reaches tough and hard to reach spots.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from rochester, ny
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big Trimmer

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A bit heavy and awkward but needed the reach. Quality product. Easy to assemble...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>