728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

The BLACK & DECKER LPHT120 22 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion cordless pole hedge trimmer is perfect for those difficult, hard to reach hedges. The pole hedge trimmer has 180 degree pivoting head that adjusts and locks into five different positions for cutting high hedges. The LPHT120 has 18 in. dual action cutting blades with a 7/16 in. cut capacity. This unit is easy to store and only weighs about 7 lbs.
Overall rating:
4.203 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product67 of 72reviews
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(32)
4
(31)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(1)
Features 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product67 of 72reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Review 1 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Lakeland, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Couldn't go wrong with this...

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When I received this product I was so impressed with it. I fully charged the battery and then went right to work with it in my yard. I was able to do all 10 of my bushes with ease.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: no cons
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Hampton Ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These clippers work but are heavy and poorly balanced. On/off switch is at the lightest end of pole which means the HEAVY end with clippers are at arms length. If the switch was in the center of the pole it would be much easier to manage. I could only trim the tops of a few bushes then use regular clippers on the rest. Battery life seems ok. Would have worked better with the heavier 18V battery.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

Not great power

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had 18volt BD hedge trimmer in the past. Now have 20 volt. Bought this to reach talker shrubs without ladder. Cutting capability is less per specs but expected it to have as much power as 20 volt hedge trimmer but it doesn't. Operates more like 18 volt product line using a weak battery. Also, unless you accustomed to lifting weights over your head, it is very difficult to use a tool that is this heavy for long periods of time while applying required pressure to cut branches. I didn't think it would be too heavy from the specs and it didn't even feel heavy until I used it for a long time. Since power is weak, you have to apply more pressure to cut through.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Springfield, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Trimmer has a Long Reach

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The trimmer allowed me to prune a shrub that was about a 12 foot reach from one side. The long reach + angled head adjustment offer great reach and flexibility. It does take some arm strength to reach this height but it sure beats paying a tree service to do this.
I have a lot or ornamental grasses which I will cut down next spring. I'm curious to see if the power is sufficient to hack through them. I will update my review when I find out.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Berkeley, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inadequate Battery Time On charge

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This hedger works, but only lasts about an hour of working time. If you have a lot of trimming to do, you have to stop, recharge it, and resume your work later. That is not sufficient for ordinary purposes in my book.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
Cons: inadequate battery, must be charged often
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

Works well, but could use a little more power

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I needed to be able to reach the top of 2 10' holly bushes. The pole trimmer does reach the high points but does not have quite the power I would like. I have to make a number of passes to get it trimmed to my satisfaction. All the other features are fine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: not enough power
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Park Forest, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good trimmer

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I actually bought this hedge trimmer for my 77 year old mother. She has some tall shrubs and some shrubs on a hill which make it hard to use a ladder. She loves the fact that she doesn't have to get out the extension cord to do some trimming. She can trim as little or as much as she wants and then just put it away. It's not too heavy, not any more than a regular trimmer and she can use two hands since she doesn't have to hang on to a ladder. It trims well and so far, the battery seems to hold a charge for a long time. Also, the head swivels from horizontal to vertical.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing is designed for hard-to-reach trimming. It does that well. Reserve it for that purpose.

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Pros: 6.5 feet tall, Can reach out sideways while on a ladder, to that distance from my navel. Can reach 10 feet vertically. Nobody else can beat those numbers that I could find.
Light-weight enough to let a 70-year guy do everything it's designed to do, for 30 minutes minimum, stretchin on an 8-foot ladder.
Cuts 1/4" live branches swath-style. Can cut single branches up to 3/8 or 7/16, depending on which info you look to. Tough, dead stuff would not be as easy.
Cons: Battery. It takes several hours to do a total charge. To work continuously, you would need at least two batteries, but I doubt 2 would be enough. Would be reluctant to use the tool that heavily.
The battery is light, compact, housed in tough plastic. However, it is fairly awkward to manipulate without dropping the battery. Inserting the battery into the charger is easy. It is held there by friction, but that's no problem. Inserting the battery into the tool is similarly easy, and there is an actual catch to hold it in place.
Removal of battery from either connection without dropping the battery is tricky. You just tug it loose from the charger, but there is little to hang onto and it releases abruptly.
To release from the tool, you have to push the stiff catch "up" with your thumb, via a little recess, while simultaneously pulling the battery "out" . I think one could be trained to perform this without dropping the battery, before you managed to kill it. Fortunately the case appears so far to be quite sturdy, and bounceable. You could handle this weakness by first placing the tool on a solid support - like a table or maybe the ground - allowing better usage of both hands.
Check battery temperature limitations for storing, charging and using, esp. in a hot climate.
Stalls if load is too tough. Fairly easy to clear. The tool will admit up to 1/2" diameter, but won't cut that much.
Bottom Line: A tool that will perform it's limited intended job, within limits. It has to be light-weight, and that typically affects any tool's overall strength. Don't abuse it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from indiana
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good for my specific purpose

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the hedge trimmer to cut decorative grasses at ground
level to prepare for the upcoming growing season.
The long handle and rotating head allowed me to use the trimmer much like a string trimmer.
It performed perfectly for this application.
The battery was powerful and the run-time was adequate for this job.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from St. Paul, MN.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for hard to reach areas.

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use. Light weight, but if working over your head for extended period it starts to feel heavier. Worked great for getting to the top of my Arbervities. Does not work for close up trimming.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great overall, a little on the heavy side, but still great

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great overall, a little on the heavy side, but still great
Pros: All In One
Cons: Too Heavy
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Clarkston, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

pole hedge trimmer

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As a female buying and using this product, I found it to be just what I needed to help my 87 year old father
trim the hedges that surround his property on three sides. If I didn't have this product, I don't know if this project would be possible. I was concerned about the weight, but it was lightweight but powerful.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Palm Harbor, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great job, but a bit too heavy

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
As is true with many cordless tools, this is quite heavy on the business end - the blade end - so it becomes cumbersome to handle after a while. Clipper does a good job and head adjustment is easy. Battery life is adequate to complete most jobs. Quality looks good - time will tell about durability.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Powerful, Long-Lasting
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer

Cordless Pole Trimmer

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great, let's me reach as high as I need and cuts large branches easily. The charge lasts longer than I need. I cut all the bushes in my yard on a full charge. I only wish it came apart to use as a regular trimmer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Fernandina Beach, FL 32034, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Does everything I ask and more

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have long, leafy, vine plants on the hill in my backyard. These plants grow very fast, very long, and very high. The pole trimmer makes the job a million times easier. Before I would have to get on a step ladder to get the tall vines. Now I can do it safely on the ground. The trimmer easily powers through the vines. The battery last a long time! Great tool!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for weekend warrior

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great product for the DIY. Has a enough power to do you entire yard and get through tough hedges. I would recommend this to anyone.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Good choice for High/Harder to reach Hedges

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Trimmer worked very well for my property with some higher hedges and some hard to reach. Seems to be a bit less vibration than the last trimmer I had. The only thing I am not crazy about is the battery pack- as I did not see a plug-in model offered. While the battery pack eliminates fumbling with a cord, it only lasts around 2 hours, which meant I had to split up the job. If you had another B&D appliance and had another battery pack to plug in it would probably be best.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Hingham, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality tool for high and low

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Recently purchased a new home with mature bushes and ornamental trees that are about 10 feet tall or planted on a grade that makes accessing them quite difficult. I tried a pole saw and extended handle cutters but the branches were too thin for a pole saw (clogged the blade) and the cutters were just frustrating and tedious. This was just the trick to prune them back and keep them from growing any higher. Cuts well and the battery charge lasted well beyond the point where my arms wore out (about 60-90 minutes). There is some weight to the trimmer, but it's not overly heavy and best of all it's not awkward to hold (there's good balance to both ends). The adjustable head allows you to get just the right angle to reach where you need to get to.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the Job!

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
When I first turned it on the trimmer sounded as though it hardly had any power. I was quite surprised at the cutting power when I began to use it. Great for small jobs that you need that extra reach for. Doesn't have the power for the "big" jobs. Run time on battery is average,picked up an extra battery to have on hand. Only down side is the trimmer does get heavy.
Pros: Cuts Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18 in. 20-Volt Lithium-ion Electric Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer
from Winchester, NH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked fine

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I only used it once. It was fine for what I did. It seems to do the job okay. Batteries don't last very long, maybe twenty minutes. The down side is that it takes 8 hours to fully charge them so if you have a large job, you will need a lot of batteries. Black & Decker sells a battery charger for an additional $40 that charges the batteries in 40 minutes. I know they can provide it with the unit, but they want to make more money so they make you buy it separately. I wish they would offer you the option of paying a little more to buy it with the unit.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
Cons: batteries only last twenty minutes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>