728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mold & Mildew Removers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 0.5-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

0.5-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Wet & Forget .5 Gallon Moss, Mold, Mildew & Algae Stain Remover is the easy, one step solution to removing outdoor moss, mold, mildew and algae. No scrubbing, rinsing or power washing required. This EPA registered product is non-caustic, non-acidic and contains no bleach. Wet & Forget is safe to use on all outdoor surfaces. Simply dilute and apply with a pump up garden sprayer, then sit back and let Mother Nature do the rest. Wet & Forget works gently over time. Safe around plants and landscaping when used as directed.
Overall rating:
3.733 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product11 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product11 of 14reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for 0.5-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Review 1 for 0.5-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Central Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wet and Forget

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have read other reviews and I am truly amazed. It works beautifully in Central Florida on shady concrete with black mold building up. I have pressure washed every year for 16 years which is a tedious chore, spending hours trying to remove the mold. I used this on alternating sections of the sidewalk to give myself the ability to make a side by side comparison in different degrees of sunlight exposure. There was no reaction when it was applied, there was a very slight odor, but there was a little tint of wet look immediately after the application. One week later there was a visible difference. Each day after that resulted in less mold and discoloration. The sidewalk brightened up after about three weeks. I have now applied the product to the other sections that I skipped.
I don't know why other reviews mention chemical reactions. color changes, and odors. I can only assume that there may have been other chemicals already on the sidewalk before trying to use this which resulted in some sort of reaction and maybe is preventing it from working as intended?
So far it even removed the serious mold built up around my AC unit. That was real bad. I highly recommend this but make sure this is not being used after you have already attempted to use other cleaners - just a thought. I know I had not cleaned my walkway since last spring so there was nothing to react with this.
Pros: Easy to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 0.5-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job, am very pleased

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I applied this in the early spring 1-1/2 years ago on a stone patio and steps in a very humid, lakefront area in WV. Within a couple of months the areas were brighter and cleaner. I sprayed in the fall, and again the following spring and the patio area has never looked nicer. Great product, not as environmentally damaging as bleach, although you do have to be patient for results and remember to reapply occasionally in order to keep things looking good.
I also used this on a bluestone patio at our primary residence in PA and have had the same great results.
Pros: Easy to Use, Effective, not caustic
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 0.5-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

So far so great

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product has been great so far. Sprayed concrete patio 3 weeks ago and there hasn't been any sign of new mildew growth. Very pleased.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 0.5-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from James City County, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It Works

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was very surprised, but it really works. It does take about two weeks of wait time to fully eliminate the mold and mildew. I plan to use it again in the Spring.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: pricey
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 0.5-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Fairfax, Va.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

spray and forget questionable results on roof

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I used this product on part of our front roof last fall, but it did not do the job to our level of expectation as some of the black spots/mold remains. We recently had the roof sprayed with a 50/50 clorox solution but that did not work very well either. Earlier last year we used another product with mixed results, so do not get your expectations too high. I will try it one more time next week. I have used the product on our deck and it worked fine. If your roof has high pitch that may be a problem since the product runs off.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 0.5-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Vernon Hills, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

does the job

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
my front porch never gets sun so every year it turns green. The Wet and Forget cleaned the area with one application.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 0.5-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Key West
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not work

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I followed application very carefully and used it on concrete deck in South Florida. Its been about 4 weeks and there is no noticeable improvement in removing the mildew stains. When I applied the product it fizzed and turned orange, and I was encouraged, but that was pretty much the end of story. The unstained areas are a little brighter, but the stained areas are still black. If it takes 4 months to work, then this product has limited use, and really should be renamed as a preventer (if in fact it does that).
I also tried this product on a plastic outdoor lamp and it did nothing. Normally I clean the lamp with bleach, but this needs to been done every few months so I had great hopes that Wet and Forget would keep the lamp cleaner for longer periods. It didn't touch the mildew.
I am going to experiment with the remaining material, increasing the concentration, and first cleaning with bleach and then applying, but I am not very optimistic. Its just not worth the effort to return to Home Depot, and its not their fault, they shouldn't take the hit on this product.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: doesn't work as advertised
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 0.5-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION!!

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was really skeptical that this product would do what it said of "just spray on and wind and rain will do the rest." Believe it or not, IT WORKED!! I had algae on my garage door and had to remove it. I sprayed it on as directed and it is almost all gone in just two weeks!! I would recommend it to anyone with a mold, mildew, algae, etc problem.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, High Quality, Fast Results, Packaging, Long-Lasting, Effective
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 0.5-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Northern NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff really really works

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a family gravestone so full of lichen that it was just about unreadable. I found this and tried it and the lichen and moss just melted away. The stone looks like new. I only wish the local store stocked it but ordering on line was quick.
Pros: Easy to Use, Effective
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 0.5-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Carpentersville
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this product and have been using it for years. Glad to finally see it at Home Depot!

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this product and have been using it for years. Glad to finally see it at Home Depot!
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 0.5-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

It works!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product for many years living in the midwest. We recently had some mildew develop on the house wall behind some shrubs, discovered when pruning. Soaked the wall with "WnF," - a week later, all gone. It just does the job.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 0.5-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not satisfactory

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wet & Forget did not remove discoloration or stop mold growth to my satisfaction. I will try another application in the spring of 2014.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 0.5-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Good stuff for mold on shingle roof

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not bad but may need a second application due to heavy mold accumulation
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 0.5-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from OMAHA, NE
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WET & FORGEt

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very disappointed in this product. There was a terrible smell and the fumes just about over came me.
I don't; think it did what it said it would !! I will use it up because I don't believe in throwing things out. But I will wear a face mask. It was that bad. I had to leave the room after spraying it. I will not recommend it to anyone.
Cons: Too Heavy
-10points
2out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 0.5-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Still waiting

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I liberally sprayed the product and followed the directions to a "T" even using a measuring cup so I got the ratio correct in my pump sprayer. So far, I've not seen any improvement in my siding but we have had little rain here. I don't know if the rain triggers it or not but it's been about 2 weeks so I can't really give this an accurate rating.
-14points
3out of 20found this review helpful.