728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Thinner, Solvents & Cleaners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Wet and Forget 1 gal. Moss, Mold, Mildew and Algae Stain Remover is the easy, 1-step solution to removing outdoor moss, mold, mildew and algae. No scrubbing, rinsing or power washing required. This EPA registered product is non-caustic, non-acidic and contains no bleach. Wet and Forget is safe for all outdoor surfaces. Simply dilute and apply with a pump up garden sprayer, then sit back and let Mother Nature do the rest. Wet and Forget works gently over time. Safe around plants and landscaping when used as directed.
Overall rating:
4.015 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(138 reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product107 of 136reviews
Rating Breakdown 138 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(81)
4
(23)
3
(9)
2
(5)
1
(20)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product107 of 136reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer reviews for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Review 1 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Mechanicsburg,PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMay 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although it's only been about 2 weeks I can see a difference. Based on other reviews I believe over time it will get better and better.
Pros: Easy to Apply
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Boulder, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Highly Impressed

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The directions were easy to follow. You will need a sprayer, recommend a gallon size which Home Depot sells for around $10 to mix the solution and spray. We have an enclosed patio that had algae stains on the stone floor and up along the walls. I applied wet and forget and after the first day wasn't sure if it was working. It is now day 3 and all the stains are gone. Make sure you saturate the area and allow enough time for the product to work before another rainfall. Recommend this product highly.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Treasure Island, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Miracle Cleaner for my Inflatable!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I recently had to perform maintenance on my inflatable that was under a boat cover for over two years. I was aghast to see the mildew that had grown! I convinced myself that it would never look good again.
WAS I WRONG! I followed the manufacturer's directions, after a week the mildew disappeared with very light scrubbing!! A miracle cleaner!!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Glad I decided to try this...

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Had a little trouble figuring how to mix w/water, but once mixed it worked really good. I sprayed it on my deck, left it and the algae was removed from my deck. I sprayed a little on some algae growing on the ground at my deck and it killed it. I had to order this product online. I just wish that Home Depot store where I live would stock it.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Clarkston, MI

What a difference!

PostedMay 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a number of rock walls around our yard. In the past I'd tried powerwashing to remove the mold/algae, but that just ended in disaster because, of course, it would wash out so much of the surrounding soil. Without reading any reviews, I timidly bought this product on a whim. My husband and I walked around the yard, spraying each rock and stepping stone. I had doubts and figured, at best, I'd see some results in a couple of months. I just thought I'd check a week later. I looked and looked again. It had already made an amazing difference! I'm planning on applying it now to my plastic deck. We usually have to powerwash it a couple of times per season. If it works as well as it did on the rocks, I'll be happy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Mechanicsburg, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthwhile purchase

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our home is tucked away in a wooded area under a predominate canopy of oak and hickory trees. The resultant shading of the roof has made it susceptible to intense black mold, algae, and fungus over the years.
Following the instructions to apply Wet N Forget to a dry roof on an overcast day, I sprayed the product in October 2013 to our ranch style home. When the snow had cleared from the roof sometime in March 2014, I observed all of the fungus and algae gone, but only some of the black streaking cleared away. It wasn't until May 2014 that a substantial part of the roof was cleared of the black streaking. By fall of 2014, the roof suprisingly appeared to have been restored to its original color!
I'm very much impressed with the quality and performance of this product and would definitely recommend it. A caveat might be that the practicality of this product's usage is limited to roofs with a lower pitch.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, explicit instructions easy to follow
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Southeast VA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great moss killer

PostedJuly 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
You could see the moss turning yellow within a week. So far it appears to have killed heavy moss in my gravel driveway and on railroad ties. After it dies you can scrape the moss off the railroad ties with a little effort. Easily removed from the gravel driveway. So far so good. It is suppose to keep moss from growing back for a year. Time will tell. Yes, I will buy this product again. I live in the woods and I love having a moss lawn but you have to keep it under control or it will spread everywhere. I will rate it excellent if it keeps the moss from growing back for nearly a year. Will try it on my wood deck next spring to kill mold, etc.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Odessa, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Disappointing Product

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this product to clean algae and mildew off our black pool enclosure. It was mixed as directed and sprayed on with a 1.5 gal. sprayer. Yes, it seemed to kill the algae - it turned it brown. I have big brown blotches all over my screen enclosure and it won't come off. I have tried pressure washing it and scrubbing it. If it takes "Months" to come off, it is a very bad product. I just substituted green for brown. It also killed the grass where it sprayed through the enclosure so be very careful using it around plants and grass. This is not what I expected. I am very disappointed in this product. Chlorine bleach would have done a better job and for less money.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, can't even scrub off
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By Wet & Forget ExpertJuly 16, 2015By Wet & Forget ExpertJuly 16, 2015
We're sorry to hear about your experience with Wet & Forget. When applying Wet & Forget, you may see your surface turn a temporary brownish color, this is actually a good reaction to see between the product and the growth. The temporary brownish color will go away within a few days. Please give our office a call at 888-727-8524 so we can further assist you. WetandForget
Review 9 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Everett, WA
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Second best cleaner

PostedJune 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It works well but didn't clean the deck as well or as quick as 30 second outdoor cleaner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Allentown, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bye, Bye Mildew

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was not convinced by the TV commercials that this would work as easily or quickly as shown- but it did! You simply do as it says- "Wet & Forget". The entire north side of my home was green and black with mold, mildew and algae. It took 3 minutes to mix the Wet & Forget (5 parts water to 1 part W&F) and under 10 minutes to spray. Within 24 hours 50% of the yuck was gone. After 3 days 75% clear. In one week it is 95% clear and it continues to work. My next door neighbors now have a much nicer view and are also using it. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Apply
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Central MN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good mold elimination treatment

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We have used this product in past years with great success. It prevents mold on our Trex deck and north facing vinyl siding.
Pros: Good Protection
Cons: expensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time-saving patio cleaner!

PostedJune 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The solution was easy to apply. Within a week, there was a marked improvement in my patio pavers. The stains are disappearing!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Harwich, Cape Cod, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really works well!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using Wet n’ Forget since conception. I was listening to a garden radio show several years ago when it hit the market and bought it. I started to use it on my deck, my white plastic deck furniture and potted plants. I also use it on my stone walls and the side of my house which is cedar shingles. Works like a charm! I personally should be a sales representative for the product I have introduced it to 3 friends and my sister just this spring. LOVE IT!
Pros: Easy to Use
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Martinsburg,WV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works with patience

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
The product does work. It requires patience for the sun to work with the product to rid brick of mold and or mildew. Easy to use with a small sprayer.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Flagler County, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wet and Forget

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I applied this fantastic product in October 2014 on brick walls, pool screens, and gutters. The great results were wonderful. The mold, moss, and algae are gone! This product is worth every penny. Wet and Forget worked so well I purchased it again this year to apply to the pool deck and roof. Follow the directions and you will not be disappointed. I now have more time for fun and spend less time on seasonal work around the house. In addition, I have recommended this product to several members of my family. Try it!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Fuquay Varina , NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best mold / mildew remover for vinyl siding

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy. Just spray on & go. No rinseing ! All of the stains are gone, disappeared !
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Second time user for this product.

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked like a champ. One good application, following the directions, did the job.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Got the job done

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent product, worked as promised !
2 applications did the trick.
Pros: Easy to Apply
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Kokomo, IN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes jobs so easy!

PostedMay 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This works great. I used on my wood cedar stained deck and the green moss disappeared with no scrubbing. Now I'm ready to do my concrete driveway and can't wait to see the results!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Lakeland, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Product

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had used this product previously at my job and was greatly impressed with the results. We sprayed concrete football stadium bleachers, a playground canopy and we also sprayed the outside of portable buildings that were surrounded with oak trees. As one can imagine here in central Florida mold and mildew are a constant problem. It appeared after sometime that the Wet and Forget was doing the job.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Good Coverage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>