728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Thinner, Solvents & Cleaners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Wet and Forget 1 gal. Moss, Mold, Mildew and Algae Stain Remover is the easy, 1-step solution to removing outdoor moss, mold, mildew and algae. No scrubbing, rinsing or power washing required. This EPA registered product is non-caustic, non-acidic and contains no bleach. Wet and Forget is safe for all outdoor surfaces. Simply dilute and apply with a pump up garden sprayer, then sit back and let Mother Nature do the rest. Wet and Forget works gently over time. Safe around plants and landscaping when used as directed.
Overall rating:
4.017 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(120 reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product92 of 118reviews
Rating Breakdown 120 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(71)
4
(19)
3
(8)
2
(5)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product92 of 118reviews
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer reviews for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Review 1 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Treasure Island, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Miracle Cleaner for my Inflatable!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I recently had to perform maintenance on my inflatable that was under a boat cover for over two years. I was aghast to see the mildew that had grown! I convinced myself that it would never look good again.
WAS I WRONG! I followed the manufacturer's directions, after a week the mildew disappeared with very light scrubbing!! A miracle cleaner!!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Mechanicsburg, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthwhile purchase

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our home is tucked away in a wooded area under a predominate canopy of oak and hickory trees. The resultant shading of the roof has made it susceptible to intense black mold, algae, and fungus over the years.
Following the instructions to apply Wet N Forget to a dry roof on an overcast day, I sprayed the product in October 2013 to our ranch style home. When the snow had cleared from the roof sometime in March 2014, I observed all of the fungus and algae gone, but only some of the black streaking cleared away. It wasn't until May 2014 that a substantial part of the roof was cleared of the black streaking. By fall of 2014, the roof suprisingly appeared to have been restored to its original color!
I'm very much impressed with the quality and performance of this product and would definitely recommend it. A caveat might be that the practicality of this product's usage is limited to roofs with a lower pitch.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, explicit instructions easy to follow
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Clarkston, MI

What a difference!

PostedMay 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a number of rock walls around our yard. In the past I'd tried powerwashing to remove the mold/algae, but that just ended in disaster because, of course, it would wash out so much of the surrounding soil. Without reading any reviews, I timidly bought this product on a whim. My husband and I walked around the yard, spraying each rock and stepping stone. I had doubts and figured, at best, I'd see some results in a couple of months. I just thought I'd check a week later. I looked and looked again. It had already made an amazing difference! I'm planning on applying it now to my plastic deck. We usually have to powerwash it a couple of times per season. If it works as well as it did on the rocks, I'll be happy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Harwich, Cape Cod, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really works well!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using Wet n’ Forget since conception. I was listening to a garden radio show several years ago when it hit the market and bought it. I started to use it on my deck, my white plastic deck furniture and potted plants. I also use it on my stone walls and the side of my house which is cedar shingles. Works like a charm! I personally should be a sales representative for the product I have introduced it to 3 friends and my sister just this spring. LOVE IT!
Pros: Easy to Use
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Connecticut
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Forget " Wet and Forget"

PostedMay 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Forget "Wet and Forget". It had NO results on mold, mildew or algae. Every product I have used in the past was better than this. Every other product requires a lot of scrubbing. Some smell bad or remove too much paint or stain on decks, but ultimately they work. This product doesn't, end of story.
Pros: Easy to Apply
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Kokomo, IN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes jobs so easy!

PostedMay 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This works great. I used on my wood cedar stained deck and the green moss disappeared with no scrubbing. Now I'm ready to do my concrete driveway and can't wait to see the results!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Flagler County, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wet and Forget

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I applied this fantastic product in October 2014 on brick walls, pool screens, and gutters. The great results were wonderful. The mold, moss, and algae are gone! This product is worth every penny. Wet and Forget worked so well I purchased it again this year to apply to the pool deck and roof. Follow the directions and you will not be disappointed. I now have more time for fun and spend less time on seasonal work around the house. In addition, I have recommended this product to several members of my family. Try it!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from near Buffalo, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

does what it sez

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
it killed the moss in between patio pavers..in a few hours..no smell no mess..good stuff..shipped to my door in a few days !
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as Promised

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I applied Wet 'n Forget 2 years ago to the north side of my roof. Unfortunately, my sprayer wasn't powerful enough to reach all the way to the top. The following spring, the entire lower part of the roof was clear of mold. Bought a better sprayer and did the entire roof last fall. Still some dead mold remained this spring, but the spring rains should take care of that. This stuff has worked everywhere I've tried it - roof, concrete, composite deck, aluminum siding. Just need to be patient.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Cons: no instant gratification.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really Works but may take some time

PostedMay 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I treated our walkway one year ago and left some sections as a control test. The comparison is amazing. It takes a few weeks to really see a difference, but it is definitely better than scrubbing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Aiken SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Supprieses with results

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not what I expected looking for a concrete cleaner to remove the black mildew on concrete.
Pros: Dries Quickly
Cons: instructions difficult to understand
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By Wet & Forget ExpertMay 12, 2015By Wet & Forget ExpertMay 12, 2015
Hello, we're sorry to hear you haven't had results with cleaning black mildew from your concrete. Wet & Forget is a very gentle product that requires no rinsing or scrubbing, the tradeoff is that the product needs some time to work to remove darker stains. We would love to help, please contact us at 888-727-8524. WetandForget
Review 12 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from on-the-web-beat
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work great!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Been using this product for years. The more you use it, the better the results. The best time to use it is after a rainfall when surfaces are still damp (no standing water) and humidity is high. This gives the active ingredients more activation time before drying. Patience is required. The more heavily stained an area is, the longer it takes to clean and notice the results. We use this on siding, our rock walls, bluestone walks, etc. it saves me hours/days of pressure washing. There is no damage to surfaces or plants (I try to wash overspray off pretty quickly). As a bonus it kills all the moss in the adjoining lawn area too. Wish it were cheaper, but when I consider my time and the things I now can clean (Belgium block lined planting areas) it's still the way to go for me. As a note, it will clean stains, mold, algae, etc off of your deck, but will not return the surface to new wood condition. This can only be achieved with a pressure washer which removes the very top layer of wood fiber. Nevertheless, the deck still looks clean; gray, but clean.
Pros: Easy to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Farmington hills, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useful product

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product as advertised, delivered timely, application instructions complete.
Will see how it works over time.
Had a week between applications and could see results in that short of time.
Pros: Easy Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Winter Haven,Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really Works!

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't understand why more people do not use this. It really works. We apply it once per year before the rainy season, and all mildew and mold gradually fade away.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product really works well. Wet and Forget is all you have to do,simple as that.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Fair Results for this User

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
After mixing the product with the correct amount water per instruction, I applied the solution using a Chapin sprayer and waited for the advertised results (no more moss). Although it rained the next day, the product had almost a 24 hour period of dryness to work its magic. Several weeks later, I still have moss - some of it is brown, and some of it is still green. I guess I'll need to do another application.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
12out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Northwestern PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

waste of money and time!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have always used an OxyClean-like cleaner to clean the outside of our home when it has mildew/mold on it with some success. When I saw this "new" mildew remover solution that works without scrubbing, I thought I would try it. I do not mind paying a premium price for a product that delivers results, but I do mind paying a premium price for something that does not work at all!! I completely followed the instructions to the "tee" and this stuff has not worked even the littlest bit. I am very, very disappointed and sure wish that their advertising matched up with their product's capabilities. Chalk this one up to another great job of terrific marketing for a poor product (that's better known as BUYER BEWARE!)..
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: does not work!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Sunrise, Fl.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Results

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was told by a friend how great it was. Bought a gallon and sprayed patio border blocks to remove mold and black discoloration. It's been a couple of months and I see no change. Tried it on one panel of the driveway, and same results. Won't recommend to anyone else. Pool chlorine works much better and is almost instantanous. Just have to flush sprayer with water afterwards.
Cons: no results
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Haughton, Louisiana
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as good as described.

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Mixed with 5 parts water makes 6 gallons. Works great with a small sprayer. Follow the instructions and drench the areas sprayed.Only downside is it has to be special ordered as it is not ordered in the store.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from North Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Stuff

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I started using Wet & Forget last Spring (2013) and it has done everything promised. I sprayed the wooden deck, stained portions of my vinyl siding, concrete carport, and stained portions of my metal roof. It works!! It takes only days in some areas, weeks in others, and with my roof required another spritz in the Fall but today (4/29/2014) you can inspect every area I treated and it is clean, no stains, even on the roof portion that's under a Maple tree. I plan to treat again this Summer as a pro-active preventive and plan to do it annually. It's a heck of a lot better and easier keeping it stain, algae, and mildew free pro-actively than to have to use heavier amounts attacking what I originally had to address. It's a little pricey but when you figure mixing your own....Clorox, TSP.....and time to rinse it all off (Wet & Forget requires no rinsing), it is all worth it. I use a battery powered sprayer unit (I need the PSI's to reach roof extremities) but a plain hand-held $15 vegetable sprayer would work as well if you don't need to spray distances more than 5 or six feet.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, works on wood concrete vinyl and metal
Cons: pricey
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>