728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mold & Mildew Removers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Wet & Forget 1 Gallon Moss, Mold, Mildew & Algae Stain Remover is the easy, one step solution to removing outdoor moss, mold, mildew and algae. No scrubbing, rinsing or power washing required. This EPA registered product is non-caustic, non-acidic and contains no bleach. Wet & Forget is safe for all outdoor surfaces. Simply dilute and apply with a pump up garden sprayer, then sit back and let Mother Nature do the rest. Wet & Forget works gently over time. Safe around plants and landscaping when used as directed.
Overall rating:
3.952 / 5
4
 / 
5
(105 reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product79 of 103reviews
Rating Breakdown 105 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(58)
4
(19)
3
(8)
2
(5)
1
(15)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product79 of 103reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Review 1 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Treasure Island, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Miracle Cleaner for my Inflatable!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently had to perform maintenance on my inflatable that was under a boat cover for over two years. I was aghast to see the mildew that had grown! I convinced myself that it would never look good again.
WAS I WRONG! I followed the manufacturer's directions, after a week the mildew disappeared with very light scrubbing!! A miracle cleaner!!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Harwich, Cape Cod, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really works well!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using Wet n’ Forget since conception. I was listening to a garden radio show several years ago when it hit the market and bought it. I started to use it on my deck, my white plastic deck furniture and potted plants. I also use it on my stone walls and the side of my house which is cedar shingles. Works like a charm! I personally should be a sales representative for the product I have introduced it to 3 friends and my sister just this spring. LOVE IT!
Pros: Easy to Use
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for sidewalks and landscape brick

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product takes a few months to really work. But i used it on landscape brick walls and they look new again. The results show up over time, dont expects to see something overnight
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from on-the-web-beat
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work great!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Been using this product for years. The more you use it, the better the results. The best time to use it is after a rainfall when surfaces are still damp (no standing water) and humidity is high. This gives the active ingredients more activation time before drying. Patience is required. The more heavily stained an area is, the longer it takes to clean and notice the results. We use this on siding, our rock walls, bluestone walks, etc. it saves me hours/days of pressure washing. There is no damage to surfaces or plants (I try to wash overspray off pretty quickly). As a bonus it kills all the moss in the adjoining lawn area too. Wish it were cheaper, but when I consider my time and the things I now can clean (Belgium block lined planting areas) it's still the way to go for me. As a note, it will clean stains, mold, algae, etc off of your deck, but will not return the surface to new wood condition. This can only be achieved with a pressure washer which removes the very top layer of wood fiber. Nevertheless, the deck still looks clean; gray, but clean.
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wet&Forget

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used Wet&Forget on concrete sidewalks before with good and long lasting results. Now I tried it on a lakefront cottage roof, bricks, and some heavy walkway moss. After two weeks the roof was gray again, the moss on the bricks was gone, and the thick moss on the walkway as dead. This is a great product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Absolutely Works

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You have to be patient with this product. I was skeptical after two other brands I tried. My trex deck was a mess. Tried this and after 4 months saw some improvement. Applied again and another 2 months mold and mildew completely gone. This after other products didn't remove anything. Great product but have to let it take its time. I don't know how it works but it does.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as Promised

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I applied Wet 'n Forget 2 years ago to the north side of my roof. Unfortunately, my sprayer wasn't powerful enough to reach all the way to the top. The following spring, the entire lower part of the roof was clear of mold. Bought a better sprayer and did the entire roof last fall. Still some dead mold remained this spring, but the spring rains should take care of that. This stuff has worked everywhere I've tried it - roof, concrete, composite deck, aluminum siding. Just need to be patient.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Cons: no instant gratification.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from commerce, mi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THIS STUFF REALLY WORKS. MIX AS DIRECTED, PUT IN SPRAYER AND WET DOWN THE MOSS. AFTER 1-2 WEEKS, MOSS TURNS BROWN AND THE RAIN REMOVES THE MOSS FROM BETWEEN THE PAVERS AND ON THE ROOF.
GREAT PRODUCT AND IT DOES'NT HURT THE GRASS.
Pros: really works
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Sunrise, Fl.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Results

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was told by a friend how great it was. Bought a gallon and sprayed patio border blocks to remove mold and black discoloration. It's been a couple of months and I see no change. Tried it on one panel of the driveway, and same results. Won't recommend to anyone else. Pool chlorine works much better and is almost instantanous. Just have to flush sprayer with water afterwards.
Cons: no results
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Metairie, Louisiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy Application

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Delivered on time. Easy to apply. Takes a while to see results. Applied 5 days ago. First time using the product.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: takes a while to work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Disappointing for roof stains

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took half a day to apply as directed for black streaks/stains on roof and saw no appreciable difference after a month. Went online to find alternative and mixed up water, outdoor bleach and TSP, applied, washed off and immediately saw results (and it was a lot cheaper). Roof is now clean of black streaks/stains. Don't use this product for this purpose.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: doesn't work on roof black streaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from North Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Stuff

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I started using Wet & Forget last Spring (2013) and it has done everything promised. I sprayed the wooden deck, stained portions of my vinyl siding, concrete carport, and stained portions of my metal roof. It works!! It takes only days in some areas, weeks in others, and with my roof required another spritz in the Fall but today (4/29/2014) you can inspect every area I treated and it is clean, no stains, even on the roof portion that's under a Maple tree. I plan to treat again this Summer as a pro-active preventive and plan to do it annually. It's a heck of a lot better and easier keeping it stain, algae, and mildew free pro-actively than to have to use heavier amounts attacking what I originally had to address. It's a little pricey but when you figure mixing your own....Clorox, TSP.....and time to rinse it all off (Wet & Forget requires no rinsing), it is all worth it. I use a battery powered sprayer unit (I need the PSI's to reach roof extremities) but a plain hand-held $15 vegetable sprayer would work as well if you don't need to spray distances more than 5 or six feet.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, works on wood concrete vinyl and metal
Cons: pricey
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Tallahassee, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is worth every penny

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I found this produce easy to use and very effective for getting the green algae off of the side of the house and each day it looks better and better. I even took it up to South Carolina to do the walk ways at my sister's house. Have not heard about the results yet. It does take time.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Bye, Bye mildew and slippery steps!

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Following easy direction resulted in almost immediate removal of the slippery mildew from stepping stones! It took only a few days of dry temps to rid ourselves of black mildew!
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Salem Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

HOME USER

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
is good product easy to use , it do the job well , future will buy it again
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: no con
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Longwood, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Timesaver

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We get a lot of mildew in our pool deck area with a southern exposure due to large trees. After pressure washing I apply this product and it lasts for at least 3 months before I would need to do any cleaning which is much easier following the application. It is also much easier to remove the droppings from all of the lizards that habitat inside the pool foliage.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
Cons: fairly expensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Northwestern PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

waste of money and time!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have always used an OxyClean-like cleaner to clean the outside of our home when it has mildew/mold on it with some success. When I saw this "new" mildew remover solution that works without scrubbing, I thought I would try it. I do not mind paying a premium price for a product that delivers results, but I do mind paying a premium price for something that does not work at all!! I completely followed the instructions to the "tee" and this stuff has not worked even the littlest bit. I am very, very disappointed and sure wish that their advertising matched up with their product's capabilities. Chalk this one up to another great job of terrific marketing for a poor product (that's better known as BUYER BEWARE!)..
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: does not work!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Fair Results for this User

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
After mixing the product with the correct amount water per instruction, I applied the solution using a Chapin sprayer and waited for the advertised results (no more moss). Although it rained the next day, the product had almost a 24 hour period of dryness to work its magic. Several weeks later, I still have moss - some of it is brown, and some of it is still green. I guess I'll need to do another application.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
9out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Massachusetts

Seems to be working.

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this on some wood outdoor furniture. A lot of green and black moss/mildew is gone, but I probably need another application and some more time to eliminate it completely.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Hickory, N. Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Meh.

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product arrived quickly. Applied per instructions, even got a new pump sprayer to be sure of no cross contamination.
Waited and waited and waited. After 10 days saw no improvement at all and the stains on my rain gutters aren't even that bad.
This product does nothing in my opinion.
Home depot gave me my money back without any problem.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: doesn't work
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>