728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mold & Mildew Removers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Wet & Forget 1 Gallon Moss, Mold, Mildew & Algae Stain Remover is the easy, one step solution to removing outdoor moss, mold, mildew and algae. No scrubbing, rinsing or power washing required. This EPA registered product is non-caustic, non-acidic and contains no bleach. Wet & Forget is safe for all outdoor surfaces. Simply dilute and apply with a pump up garden sprayer, then sit back and let Mother Nature do the rest. Wet & Forget works gently over time. Safe around plants and landscaping when used as directed.
Overall rating:
4.023 / 5
4
 / 
5
(88 reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product67 of 86reviews
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(50)
4
(15)
3
(8)
2
(5)
1
(10)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product67 of 86reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Review 1 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Treasure Island, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Miracle Cleaner for my Inflatable!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently had to perform maintenance on my inflatable that was under a boat cover for over two years. I was aghast to see the mildew that had grown! I convinced myself that it would never look good again.
WAS I WRONG! I followed the manufacturer's directions, after a week the mildew disappeared with very light scrubbing!! A miracle cleaner!!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Harwich, Cape Cod, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really works well!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using Wet n’ Forget since conception. I was listening to a garden radio show several years ago when it hit the market and bought it. I started to use it on my deck, my white plastic deck furniture and potted plants. I also use it on my stone walls and the side of my house which is cedar shingles. Works like a charm! I personally should be a sales representative for the product I have introduced it to 3 friends and my sister just this spring. LOVE IT!
Pros: Easy to Use
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from North Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Stuff

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I started using Wet & Forget last Spring (2013) and it has done everything promised. I sprayed the wooden deck, stained portions of my vinyl siding, concrete carport, and stained portions of my metal roof. It works!! It takes only days in some areas, weeks in others, and with my roof required another spritz in the Fall but today (4/29/2014) you can inspect every area I treated and it is clean, no stains, even on the roof portion that's under a Maple tree. I plan to treat again this Summer as a pro-active preventive and plan to do it annually. It's a heck of a lot better and easier keeping it stain, algae, and mildew free pro-actively than to have to use heavier amounts attacking what I originally had to address. It's a little pricey but when you figure mixing your own....Clorox, TSP.....and time to rinse it all off (Wet & Forget requires no rinsing), it is all worth it. I use a battery powered sprayer unit (I need the PSI's to reach roof extremities) but a plain hand-held $15 vegetable sprayer would work as well if you don't need to spray distances more than 5 or six feet.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, works on wood concrete vinyl and metal
Cons: pricey
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as Promised

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I applied Wet 'n Forget 2 years ago to the north side of my roof. Unfortunately, my sprayer wasn't powerful enough to reach all the way to the top. The following spring, the entire lower part of the roof was clear of mold. Bought a better sprayer and did the entire roof last fall. Still some dead mold remained this spring, but the spring rains should take care of that. This stuff has worked everywhere I've tried it - roof, concrete, composite deck, aluminum siding. Just need to be patient.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Cons: no instant gratification.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from on-the-web-beat
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work great!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Been using this product for years. The more you use it, the better the results. The best time to use it is after a rainfall when surfaces are still damp (no standing water) and humidity is high. This gives the active ingredients more activation time before drying. Patience is required. The more heavily stained an area is, the longer it takes to clean and notice the results. We use this on siding, our rock walls, bluestone walks, etc. it saves me hours/days of pressure washing. There is no damage to surfaces or plants (I try to wash overspray off pretty quickly). As a bonus it kills all the moss in the adjoining lawn area too. Wish it were cheaper, but when I consider my time and the things I now can clean (Belgium block lined planting areas) it's still the way to go for me. As a note, it will clean stains, mold, algae, etc off of your deck, but will not return the surface to new wood condition. This can only be achieved with a pressure washer which removes the very top layer of wood fiber. Nevertheless, the deck still looks clean; gray, but clean.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Longwood, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Timesaver

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We get a lot of mildew in our pool deck area with a southern exposure due to large trees. After pressure washing I apply this product and it lasts for at least 3 months before I would need to do any cleaning which is much easier following the application. It is also much easier to remove the droppings from all of the lizards that habitat inside the pool foliage.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
Cons: fairly expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Covington, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hope it works!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I needed to attack some discolorations on my home and workshop caused by dirt, algae, and other outside general contaminants. The stains are predominantly on vinyl coverings, but also some brick and Stucco. I thoroughly sprayed the affected areas about 2 weeks ago and already see some positive results in many areas. The company makes it clear that more time will probably be needed for thorough results; so I'll try to be patient. My garage door was better within a couple of days; however, skylights still full of schmutz. In this Louisiana Summer heat, having a product that needs only spraying is a blessing. The thought of scrubbing eaves and soffits was previously preventing me from starting the cleaning. So, I'm praying this product will eventually do the job.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: delayed results
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Homosassa, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1-Gal Moss Mold Mildrew and Algae Stain Remover

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I didn't have a sprayer like the instructions said so I used an empty Windex window cleaner bottle that sprays high for windows. Not recommended in the instructions. I used a 5 to 1 ratio of product. I sprayed it on my white aluminum pool cage which had mold and algae. It started to work immediately. It has been a month now and I would say the high white aluminum beams are 95% clean. I just used it on my aluminum overhang on the house so I am waiting to see how that works. I am very pleased with the results. I would have had to hire someone to do this, so I saved a lot of money.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Fair Results for this User

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
After mixing the product with the correct amount water per instruction, I applied the solution using a Chapin sprayer and waited for the advertised results (no more moss). Although it rained the next day, the product had almost a 24 hour period of dryness to work its magic. Several weeks later, I still have moss - some of it is brown, and some of it is still green. I guess I'll need to do another application.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Rehoboth Beach, DE
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clearly shows the product

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product was easy to use and effective. Wet and Forget eliminated the moss from my roof.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from NY
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, but patience needed

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This is not an instant satisfaction product. It works very well as mentioned by the manufacturer. Patience is needed since results will take time, but once the stains, mildew and moss are gone, which can take upwards of months, the results are clean surface resistant to regrowth of mildew and moss.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to be working...

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The label says it could take some time to fully work - the coated surfaces appear to be better than before. For a "safe" product I found it to be a bit harsh.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Ray, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

moss & mold remover

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tried several products to remove & kill moss from landscape rocks, only Wet & Forget worked and did a great job.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Rochester NY
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really works!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product really works! Applied as directed to our deck and the green grunge disappeared quicker than expected! Killed fuzzy growth on landscape stones as well. Just sprayed it on and let nature do the rest!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effective easy to use product

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a brick paver pool deck on which mold began to grow in the cracks. I applied this product to control and eliminate the issue. The instructions are clear that the impact is not quick, but I am seeing a big difference already. I have landscaping surrounding the deck which was not impacted at all by the use of the product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Frederick, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

What a mess

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wow. What a mess. If you're planning to so your siding, keep in mind a garden sprayer will only spray like 4 feet. If you spray anything above you, expect to get wet. I did a portion of my house but getting the siding 25 ft off the ground without having to spray over me isn't really an option. Still waiting for results. I got wet and really want to forget about this purchase. I'm paying someone to power wash.
Pros: great marketing
Cons: Difficult to Use, very messy
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Salem, AL 36874, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

a good product for our pontoon boat

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We are using on our pontoon boat seats to control mildew, would love to be able to purchase in store.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Atlanta, GA, USA

If the instructions are followed it works fabulous!!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product actually worked better than expected. After a review of the product we carefully read and followed the directions with a "Wait and see" attitude. Much to our delight and surprise it worked much better than anticipated! Actually, within a few hours we noticed a difference! We applied the product during an overcast early morning. Later in the day the sun came out and the mold and mildew on our stone had greatly diminished! Over the next few weeks and some rain, the appearance improved. Do not hesitate to purchase this product, make sure you follow the instructions and you will be greatly rewarded!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, works better than advertised!
Cons: none!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Great stuff

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product works great if mixed as directed. Also, you will need a good canister type mask when you apply this product, not those cheap paper ones.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: fumes are strong, expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Bedford, NH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed with results

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought this product anticipating it would remove the mildew/algae stains from the roof, as well as the many small "white" molds that were on the roof. Applied the product strictly as instructed, Yet, the appearance after several torrential rains remained the same as before the application. I suspect the product may have killed the mold despite its appearance, and may have stopped the spread of the mildew. Time will tell.
Of critical importance, as indicated by the instructions is to properly maintain the dilution rate when applying this product. This is not a problem if one already has a pressurized sprayer. Fortunately, I did and didn't have to purchase one to apply the Wet & Forget product.
I would recommend this product as a lessor cost alternative to contracting a commercial service, as their product is so much more costly. I chose to purchase the product & hire a local contractor to apply it to my roof as I'm too old (71) to be climbing roofs.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>