728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mold & Mildew Removers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Wet & Forget 1 Gallon Moss, Mold, Mildew & Algae Stain Remover is the easy, one step solution to removing outdoor moss, mold, mildew and algae. No scrubbing, rinsing or power washing required. This EPA registered product is non-caustic, non-acidic and contains no bleach. Wet & Forget is safe for all outdoor surfaces. Simply dilute and apply with a pump up garden sprayer, then sit back and let Mother Nature do the rest. Wet & Forget works gently over time. Safe around plants and landscaping when used as directed.
Overall rating:
4.081 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product48 of 60reviews
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(10)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product48 of 60reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Review 1 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Anonymous

Fair Results for this User

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
After mixing the product with the correct amount water per instruction, I applied the solution using a Chapin sprayer and waited for the advertised results (no more moss). Although it rained the next day, the product had almost a 24 hour period of dryness to work its magic. Several weeks later, I still have moss - some of it is brown, and some of it is still green. I guess I'll need to do another application.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
WFAl1
from Bedford, NH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed with results

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought this product anticipating it would remove the mildew/algae stains from the roof, as well as the many small "white" molds that were on the roof. Applied the product strictly as instructed, Yet, the appearance after several torrential rains remained the same as before the application. I suspect the product may have killed the mold despite its appearance, and may have stopped the spread of the mildew. Time will tell.
Of critical importance, as indicated by the instructions is to properly maintain the dilution rate when applying this product. This is not a problem if one already has a pressurized sprayer. Fortunately, I did and didn't have to purchase one to apply the Wet & Forget product.
I would recommend this product as a lessor cost alternative to contracting a commercial service, as their product is so much more costly. I chose to purchase the product & hire a local contractor to apply it to my roof as I'm too old (71) to be climbing roofs.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Mark
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as Promised

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I applied Wet 'n Forget 2 years ago to the north side of my roof. Unfortunately, my sprayer wasn't powerful enough to reach all the way to the top. The following spring, the entire lower part of the roof was clear of mold. Bought a better sprayer and did the entire roof last fall. Still some dead mold remained this spring, but the spring rains should take care of that. This stuff has worked everywhere I've tried it - roof, concrete, composite deck, aluminum siding. Just need to be patient.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Cons: no instant gratification.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
tuna
from Longwood, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to be working well so far as it has only been on the pool deck for about 10 days.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Will have to observe after one month to make an authentic review. The material doesn't go very far for the cost as I used over half a gallon to do my pool deck. I power washed the deck prior to spraying and so far the surface has remained clear.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: exxpensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
SeniorDIYer
from Southfield, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works unbelievably well!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my second gallon of Wet & Forget. I think it's fantastic and have recommended it to my friends dealing with mold and moss. I first used it on the "green" on my wood fence and deck,and within weeks the green was gone and stayed away (for over 9 mos. now). I also used it on my brick pavers, wooden storage shed, shingle roof, and stone. All became clean. I'm now trying it on my driveway. The best part is it keeps the object clean for a long time (1 year on my storage shed).
Pros: Easy to Use, good preventative maintenance
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
carolina
from Rock Hill, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

south carolina

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Deliverd quickly, price not too bad. No problem putting on wall and fence, read directions.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Kathy3
from Salem, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product delivers what it advertises.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After power washing our brick patio that took over 3 days of work and much water, I used this product 3 months later after the algae started returning. It took 3 hours to apply and the results were visibly improved by the next day. It has been 2 months since application and there is still no visible algae in our typically wet climate. I'll definitely use this product again in the spring.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Cabo
from Mobile
Gender:Male

Great

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Remove mold and mildew with little work, making the job real easy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
sml58
from Salem, AL 36874, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

a good product for our pontoon boat

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We are using on our pontoon boat seats to control mildew, would love to be able to purchase in store.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Mrsdoityourself

Works Great!

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product on bright yellow patio cushions. It worked great in removing the mildew and mold. Just be patient & let it do its job! The cost of the entire bottle was what I had paid for one of the cushions, and I have more than 1/2 the bottle left. Would buy again & would recommend this product to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Miks
from Atlanta, GA, USA

If the instructions are followed it works fabulous!!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product actually worked better than expected. After a review of the product we carefully read and followed the directions with a "Wait and see" attitude. Much to our delight and surprise it worked much better than anticipated! Actually, within a few hours we noticed a difference! We applied the product during an overcast early morning. Later in the day the sun came out and the mold and mildew on our stone had greatly diminished! Over the next few weeks and some rain, the appearance improved. Do not hesitate to purchase this product, make sure you follow the instructions and you will be greatly rewarded!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, works better than advertised!
Cons: none!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
JoeC

It works; stubborn areas will need a second application.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product works as promised but you need to ensure a minimum of 4-5 hours drying/curing time before any substantial rainfall or the effect will be diminished. Moss will brown up in a week or two, and over time the rainfall is supposed to wash it away. For stubborn areas you will need to retreat in 1-2 months. Company support is very good and responsive. They stand behind the product.
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
goldie
from Charleston, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It takes time for this solution to work so each day I see progress made.

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to apply, non toxic, effective, safe for plants,
clear directions that even have a touch of humor!
Pros: Easy to Use, Packaging, Effective
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Nonnie
from Guilford, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than Expected

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ends of our house are always in constant need of cleaning and scrubbing off the mildew. Although we used this product just a couple of weeks ago, there has been a significant reduction in the amount of mildew. So far so good! If the product continues as promised, it will be an even more unexpected benefit.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Rowboat

Easy to use

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this on my deck and also on my vinyl siding. Where the mold originally was on the siding, I had dark spots that easily washed off. This is a great product.
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Kenny
from Lake Gaston, VA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it says - works great.

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Follow the directions and this product works great. Have used it on the roof of my house and boathouse on the lake. Treat once & then treat again in 2 months. Then forget about it - after six months the roof looks new. I see other people spending a fortune to get their roofs cleaned, what a waste of money. Go to Wet & Forget home page and download a $5 mail-in-rebate good till 12/31/2013.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, read instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
RLer
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to apply

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just finished a 2nd application on the north facing roof shingles. The product is easy to apply using a tank sprayer(5 to 1 water to product ratio). It seems to work well on algae build up. My initial evaluation is that it will take several applications and more time to remove the black streaks. It is too early to make a final judgement, but so far this product seems to work fairly well. It certainly is alot cheaper than hiring someone to do the same thing. I gave it 4 stars as it remains to be seen how well it removes all of the black streaks.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
mossfighter12

Cannot not be beat for killing moss on and between pavers

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used to fight green moss on and between pavers, and to fight green mildew on my composite deck. When applied as directed removes this without resorting to pressure washers, Clorox-type bleaches and other cleaners.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Mick
from Punta Gorda, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wet and Forget

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great product when used as directed. The instructions say as much. If you dont intend to follow the very easy directions then use something else. As the name says. You just spay it on and leave it alone. Thats it and it works. I spray my pool deck area about once a month and never see any mold or midew and This is from sub tropical south Florida.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: must follow instructions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
verdantsid

Does the Job

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used this product to treat my deck, fence and chimney. It did the job. The green was gone. I will give it another treatment just to make sure in a couple of weeks. I also headed the warnings about using the proper proportions in mixing the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>