728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mold & Mildew Removers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Wet & Forget 1 Gallon Moss, Mold, Mildew & Algae Stain Remover is the easy, one step solution to removing outdoor moss, mold, mildew and algae. No scrubbing, rinsing or power washing required. This EPA registered product is non-caustic, non-acidic and contains no bleach. Wet & Forget is safe for all outdoor surfaces. Simply dilute and apply with a pump up garden sprayer, then sit back and let Mother Nature do the rest. Wet & Forget works gently over time. Safe around plants and landscaping when used as directed.
Overall rating:
3.973 / 5
4
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product56 of 73reviews
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(42)
4
(12)
3
(7)
2
(5)
1
(9)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product56 of 73reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Review 1 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Harwich, Cape Cod, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really works well!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using Wet n’ Forget since conception. I was listening to a garden radio show several years ago when it hit the market and bought it. I started to use it on my deck, my white plastic deck furniture and potted plants. I also use it on my stone walls and the side of my house which is cedar shingles. Works like a charm! I personally should be a sales representative for the product I have introduced it to 3 friends and my sister just this spring. LOVE IT!
Pros: Easy to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from North Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Stuff

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I started using Wet & Forget last Spring (2013) and it has done everything promised. I sprayed the wooden deck, stained portions of my vinyl siding, concrete carport, and stained portions of my metal roof. It works!! It takes only days in some areas, weeks in others, and with my roof required another spritz in the Fall but today (4/29/2014) you can inspect every area I treated and it is clean, no stains, even on the roof portion that's under a Maple tree. I plan to treat again this Summer as a pro-active preventive and plan to do it annually. It's a heck of a lot better and easier keeping it stain, algae, and mildew free pro-actively than to have to use heavier amounts attacking what I originally had to address. It's a little pricey but when you figure mixing your own....Clorox, TSP.....and time to rinse it all off (Wet & Forget requires no rinsing), it is all worth it. I use a battery powered sprayer unit (I need the PSI's to reach roof extremities) but a plain hand-held $15 vegetable sprayer would work as well if you don't need to spray distances more than 5 or six feet.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, works on wood concrete vinyl and metal
Cons: pricey
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as Promised

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I applied Wet 'n Forget 2 years ago to the north side of my roof. Unfortunately, my sprayer wasn't powerful enough to reach all the way to the top. The following spring, the entire lower part of the roof was clear of mold. Bought a better sprayer and did the entire roof last fall. Still some dead mold remained this spring, but the spring rains should take care of that. This stuff has worked everywhere I've tried it - roof, concrete, composite deck, aluminum siding. Just need to be patient.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Cons: no instant gratification.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Comanche texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not so sure

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It has been 2 weeks since I sprayed and heavily at that because the rocks that have a very slight mold are on a side wall and hi up.
I have not seen any difference as i write and I am thinking of doing another spray , this time with bleach.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Yorktown, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised just Wet & Forget

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wet & Forget works as advertised. I sprayed it on my vinyl siding and brick exterior and it cleaned off most of the green mold with one treatment this took about 2 weeks. I have done an additional spraying for my soffit area but will have to spray it with water to see if I get the same results. Overall I am very pleased with this product, it was easy to mix and apply with a backpack sprayer.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Fair Results for this User

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
After mixing the product with the correct amount water per instruction, I applied the solution using a Chapin sprayer and waited for the advertised results (no more moss). Although it rained the next day, the product had almost a 24 hour period of dryness to work its magic. Several weeks later, I still have moss - some of it is brown, and some of it is still green. I guess I'll need to do another application.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Clinton, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Truly Amazing Product!

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this product for several years now, and as I was outside looking at my roof this morning, I once again realize how truly amazing this product is. My house is heavily shaded, and lichen and moss grows on the asphalt shingles of the roof. Last year I had large areas of growth that were not only unappealing to view, but caused concern about potential shingle damage as the growth began to invade the area under the shingles.
I applied several applications of Wet & Forgot on the shingles over a period of 2 - 3 weeks, but it took several weeks to begin to show signs of working. Looking at the roof shingles again today, there is not one single area of lichen or green mossy growth on my roof. The shingles look as good as new!
I have also used the product on vinyl siding turned light green from plant chlorophyll, and it not only removes the stain, but seems to inhibit subsequent growth. I have also used it on field stone, concrete roof tile, deck surfaces and so on. I have not experienced an instance where this did not completely clean the area.
Results are not immediate, and in some cases I made repeated applications and waited months, but eventually I was rewarded. This is my "go to" product for mold growth removal. It goes on easily, and it doesn't cause the kind of damage that a pressure wash might create.
The only "downside" is that it is very expensive to buy. Were it more reasonably priced, more consumers would be likely to give it a try.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, very effective on a variety of surfaces
Cons: expensive, results take time to achieve
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Salem, AL 36874, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

a good product for our pontoon boat

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We are using on our pontoon boat seats to control mildew, would love to be able to purchase in store.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Bedford, NH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed with results

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought this product anticipating it would remove the mildew/algae stains from the roof, as well as the many small "white" molds that were on the roof. Applied the product strictly as instructed, Yet, the appearance after several torrential rains remained the same as before the application. I suspect the product may have killed the mold despite its appearance, and may have stopped the spread of the mildew. Time will tell.
Of critical importance, as indicated by the instructions is to properly maintain the dilution rate when applying this product. This is not a problem if one already has a pressurized sprayer. Fortunately, I did and didn't have to purchase one to apply the Wet & Forget product.
I would recommend this product as a lessor cost alternative to contracting a commercial service, as their product is so much more costly. I chose to purchase the product & hire a local contractor to apply it to my roof as I'm too old (71) to be climbing roofs.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Lake County, IL

Product So So

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would recommend this product yes and no. Since it was a heavily mildew area could be the reason why it only partially removed. I used straight bleach to get the remainder off.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: not what i expected
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Atlanta, GA, USA

If the instructions are followed it works fabulous!!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product actually worked better than expected. After a review of the product we carefully read and followed the directions with a "Wait and see" attitude. Much to our delight and surprise it worked much better than anticipated! Actually, within a few hours we noticed a difference! We applied the product during an overcast early morning. Later in the day the sun came out and the mold and mildew on our stone had greatly diminished! Over the next few weeks and some rain, the appearance improved. Do not hesitate to purchase this product, make sure you follow the instructions and you will be greatly rewarded!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, works better than advertised!
Cons: none!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

wetnforget

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Already can tell a difference on vinyl siding. Green algae on deck was gone in a day. Concrete not a big change yet.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Southfield, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works unbelievably well!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my second gallon of Wet & Forget. I think it's fantastic and have recommended it to my friends dealing with mold and moss. I first used it on the "green" on my wood fence and deck,and within weeks the green was gone and stayed away (for over 9 mos. now). I also used it on my brick pavers, wooden storage shed, shingle roof, and stone. All became clean. I'm now trying it on my driveway. The best part is it keeps the object clean for a long time (1 year on my storage shed).
Pros: Easy to Use, good preventative maintenance
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from nj
Gender:Female

easy

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I may have to use it a second time on my vinyl siding. First used it about a week ago and the instructions stated that if the mold is bad, it may require a second application. You don't see an immediate effect, but after a week, I do see a big difference. This is by far easier than using the pressure washer. Took all of about 15 mins. The pressure washer takes HOURS.....
My plantings are fine also.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Murfreesboro, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

'Wet and Forget' forgot to work!

PostedMay 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed directions and after 6 weeks later, no change. Application was very easy and I told all my friends about it. Now I have to admit I fell for a "if it's too good to be true, it's probably not" scheme. I trusted Home Depot, now I'm disappointed in them also. How do I get my money back?
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable, no results, waste of money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Fair Oaks Ranch, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product does not deliver.

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband and I were both very disappointed with the results of this product. It did not work on our sidewalk.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: did not do the job
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

It works; stubborn areas will need a second application.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product works as promised but you need to ensure a minimum of 4-5 hours drying/curing time before any substantial rainfall or the effect will be diminished. Moss will brown up in a week or two, and over time the rainfall is supposed to wash it away. For stubborn areas you will need to retreat in 1-2 months. Company support is very good and responsive. They stand behind the product.
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Longwood, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to be working well so far as it has only been on the pool deck for about 10 days.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Will have to observe after one month to make an authentic review. The material doesn't go very far for the cost as I used over half a gallon to do my pool deck. I power washed the deck prior to spraying and so far the surface has remained clear.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: exxpensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Salem, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product delivers what it advertises.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After power washing our brick patio that took over 3 days of work and much water, I used this product 3 months later after the algae started returning. It took 3 hours to apply and the results were visibly improved by the next day. It has been 2 months since application and there is still no visible algae in our typically wet climate. I'll definitely use this product again in the spring.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Charleston, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It takes time for this solution to work so each day I see progress made.

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to apply, non toxic, effective, safe for plants,
clear directions that even have a touch of humor!
Pros: Easy to Use, Packaging, Effective
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>