728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mold & Mildew Removers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Wet & Forget 1 Gallon Moss, Mold, Mildew & Algae Stain Remover is the easy, one step solution to removing outdoor moss, mold, mildew and algae. No scrubbing, rinsing or power washing required. This EPA registered product is non-caustic, non-acidic and contains no bleach. Wet & Forget is safe for all outdoor surfaces. Simply dilute and apply with a pump up garden sprayer, then sit back and let Mother Nature do the rest. Wet & Forget works gently over time. Safe around plants and landscaping when used as directed.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(86 reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product65 of 84reviews
Rating Breakdown 86 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(48)
4
(15)
3
(8)
2
(5)
1
(10)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product65 of 84reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Review 1 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Treasure Island, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Miracle Cleaner for my Inflatable!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently had to perform maintenance on my inflatable that was under a boat cover for over two years. I was aghast to see the mildew that had grown! I convinced myself that it would never look good again.
WAS I WRONG! I followed the manufacturer's directions, after a week the mildew disappeared with very light scrubbing!! A miracle cleaner!!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Harwich, Cape Cod, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really works well!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using Wet n’ Forget since conception. I was listening to a garden radio show several years ago when it hit the market and bought it. I started to use it on my deck, my white plastic deck furniture and potted plants. I also use it on my stone walls and the side of my house which is cedar shingles. Works like a charm! I personally should be a sales representative for the product I have introduced it to 3 friends and my sister just this spring. LOVE IT!
Pros: Easy to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from North Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Stuff

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I started using Wet & Forget last Spring (2013) and it has done everything promised. I sprayed the wooden deck, stained portions of my vinyl siding, concrete carport, and stained portions of my metal roof. It works!! It takes only days in some areas, weeks in others, and with my roof required another spritz in the Fall but today (4/29/2014) you can inspect every area I treated and it is clean, no stains, even on the roof portion that's under a Maple tree. I plan to treat again this Summer as a pro-active preventive and plan to do it annually. It's a heck of a lot better and easier keeping it stain, algae, and mildew free pro-actively than to have to use heavier amounts attacking what I originally had to address. It's a little pricey but when you figure mixing your own....Clorox, TSP.....and time to rinse it all off (Wet & Forget requires no rinsing), it is all worth it. I use a battery powered sprayer unit (I need the PSI's to reach roof extremities) but a plain hand-held $15 vegetable sprayer would work as well if you don't need to spray distances more than 5 or six feet.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, works on wood concrete vinyl and metal
Cons: pricey
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Covington, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hope it works!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I needed to attack some discolorations on my home and workshop caused by dirt, algae, and other outside general contaminants. The stains are predominantly on vinyl coverings, but also some brick and Stucco. I thoroughly sprayed the affected areas about 2 weeks ago and already see some positive results in many areas. The company makes it clear that more time will probably be needed for thorough results; so I'll try to be patient. My garage door was better within a couple of days; however, skylights still full of schmutz. In this Louisiana Summer heat, having a product that needs only spraying is a blessing. The thought of scrubbing eaves and soffits was previously preventing me from starting the cleaning. So, I'm praying this product will eventually do the job.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: delayed results
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Homosassa, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1-Gal Moss Mold Mildrew and Algae Stain Remover

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I didn't have a sprayer like the instructions said so I used an empty Windex window cleaner bottle that sprays high for windows. Not recommended in the instructions. I used a 5 to 1 ratio of product. I sprayed it on my white aluminum pool cage which had mold and algae. It started to work immediately. It has been a month now and I would say the high white aluminum beams are 95% clean. I just used it on my aluminum overhang on the house so I am waiting to see how that works. I am very pleased with the results. I would have had to hire someone to do this, so I saved a lot of money.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as Promised

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I applied Wet 'n Forget 2 years ago to the north side of my roof. Unfortunately, my sprayer wasn't powerful enough to reach all the way to the top. The following spring, the entire lower part of the roof was clear of mold. Bought a better sprayer and did the entire roof last fall. Still some dead mold remained this spring, but the spring rains should take care of that. This stuff has worked everywhere I've tried it - roof, concrete, composite deck, aluminum siding. Just need to be patient.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Cons: no instant gratification.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from NY
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, but patience needed

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This is not an instant satisfaction product. It works very well as mentioned by the manufacturer. Patience is needed since results will take time, but once the stains, mildew and moss are gone, which can take upwards of months, the results are clean surface resistant to regrowth of mildew and moss.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to be working...

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The label says it could take some time to fully work - the coated surfaces appear to be better than before. For a "safe" product I found it to be a bit harsh.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Ray, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

moss & mold remover

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tried several products to remove & kill moss from landscape rocks, only Wet & Forget worked and did a great job.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Rochester NY
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really works!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product really works! Applied as directed to our deck and the green grunge disappeared quicker than expected! Killed fuzzy growth on landscape stones as well. Just sprayed it on and let nature do the rest!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effective easy to use product

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a brick paver pool deck on which mold began to grow in the cracks. I applied this product to control and eliminate the issue. The instructions are clear that the impact is not quick, but I am seeing a big difference already. I have landscaping surrounding the deck which was not impacted at all by the use of the product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Fair Results for this User

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
After mixing the product with the correct amount water per instruction, I applied the solution using a Chapin sprayer and waited for the advertised results (no more moss). Although it rained the next day, the product had almost a 24 hour period of dryness to work its magic. Several weeks later, I still have moss - some of it is brown, and some of it is still green. I guess I'll need to do another application.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Frederick, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

What a mess

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wow. What a mess. If you're planning to so your siding, keep in mind a garden sprayer will only spray like 4 feet. If you spray anything above you, expect to get wet. I did a portion of my house but getting the siding 25 ft off the ground without having to spray over me isn't really an option. Still waiting for results. I got wet and really want to forget about this purchase. I'm paying someone to power wash.
Pros: great marketing
Cons: Difficult to Use, very messy
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from on-the-web-beat
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work great!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Been using this product for years. The more you use it, the better the results. The best time to use it is after a rainfall when surfaces are still damp (no standing water) and humidity is high. This gives the active ingredients more activation time before drying. Patience is required. The more heavily stained an area is, the longer it takes to clean and notice the results. We use this on siding, our rock walls, bluestone walks, etc. it saves me hours/days of pressure washing. There is no damage to surfaces or plants (I try to wash overspray off pretty quickly). As a bonus it kills all the moss in the adjoining lawn area too. Wish it were cheaper, but when I consider my time and the things I now can clean (Belgium block lined planting areas) it's still the way to go for me. As a note, it will clean stains, mold, algae, etc off of your deck, but will not return the surface to new wood condition. This can only be achieved with a pressure washer which removes the very top layer of wood fiber. Nevertheless, the deck still looks clean; gray, but clean.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Great stuff

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product works great if mixed as directed. Also, you will need a good canister type mask when you apply this product, not those cheap paper ones.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: fumes are strong, expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Comanche texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not so sure

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It has been 2 weeks since I sprayed and heavily at that because the rocks that have a very slight mold are on a side wall and hi up.
I have not seen any difference as i write and I am thinking of doing another spray , this time with bleach.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Yorktown, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised just Wet & Forget

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wet & Forget works as advertised. I sprayed it on my vinyl siding and brick exterior and it cleaned off most of the green mold with one treatment this took about 2 weeks. I have done an additional spraying for my soffit area but will have to spray it with water to see if I get the same results. Overall I am very pleased with this product, it was easy to mix and apply with a backpack sprayer.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Salem, AL 36874, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

a good product for our pontoon boat

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We are using on our pontoon boat seats to control mildew, would love to be able to purchase in store.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Clinton, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Truly Amazing Product!

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this product for several years now, and as I was outside looking at my roof this morning, I once again realize how truly amazing this product is. My house is heavily shaded, and lichen and moss grows on the asphalt shingles of the roof. Last year I had large areas of growth that were not only unappealing to view, but caused concern about potential shingle damage as the growth began to invade the area under the shingles.
I applied several applications of Wet & Forgot on the shingles over a period of 2 - 3 weeks, but it took several weeks to begin to show signs of working. Looking at the roof shingles again today, there is not one single area of lichen or green mossy growth on my roof. The shingles look as good as new!
I have also used the product on vinyl siding turned light green from plant chlorophyll, and it not only removes the stain, but seems to inhibit subsequent growth. I have also used it on field stone, concrete roof tile, deck surfaces and so on. I have not experienced an instance where this did not completely clean the area.
Results are not immediate, and in some cases I made repeated applications and waited months, but eventually I was rewarded. This is my "go to" product for mold growth removal. It goes on easily, and it doesn't cause the kind of damage that a pressure wash might create.
The only "downside" is that it is very expensive to buy. Were it more reasonably priced, more consumers would be likely to give it a try.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, very effective on a variety of surfaces
Cons: expensive, results take time to achieve
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Atlanta, GA, USA

If the instructions are followed it works fabulous!!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product actually worked better than expected. After a review of the product we carefully read and followed the directions with a "Wait and see" attitude. Much to our delight and surprise it worked much better than anticipated! Actually, within a few hours we noticed a difference! We applied the product during an overcast early morning. Later in the day the sun came out and the mold and mildew on our stone had greatly diminished! Over the next few weeks and some rain, the appearance improved. Do not hesitate to purchase this product, make sure you follow the instructions and you will be greatly rewarded!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, works better than advertised!
Cons: none!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>