728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Wet and Forget 1 gal. Moss, Mold, Mildew and Algae Stain Remover is the easy, 1-step solution to removing outdoor moss, mold, mildew and algae. No scrubbing, rinsing or power washing required. This EPA registered product is non-caustic, non-acidic and contains no bleach. Wet and Forget is safe for all outdoor surfaces. Simply dilute and apply with a pump up garden sprayer, then sit back and let Mother Nature do the rest. Wet and Forget works gently over time. Safe around plants and landscaping when used as directed.
Overall rating:
3.991 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product83 of 107reviews
Rating Breakdown 109 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(62)
4
(19)
3
(8)
2
(5)
1
(15)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product83 of 107reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer reviews for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Review 1 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Treasure Island, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Miracle Cleaner for my Inflatable!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I recently had to perform maintenance on my inflatable that was under a boat cover for over two years. I was aghast to see the mildew that had grown! I convinced myself that it would never look good again.
WAS I WRONG! I followed the manufacturer's directions, after a week the mildew disappeared with very light scrubbing!! A miracle cleaner!!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Mechanicsburg, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthwhile purchase

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our home is tucked away in a wooded area under a predominate canopy of oak and hickory trees. The resultant shading of the roof has made it susceptible to intense black mold, algae, and fungus over the years.
Following the instructions to apply Wet N Forget to a dry roof on an overcast day, I sprayed the product in October 2013 to our ranch style home. When the snow had cleared from the roof sometime in March 2014, I observed all of the fungus and algae gone, but only some of the black streaking cleared away. It wasn't until May 2014 that a substantial part of the roof was cleared of the black streaking. By fall of 2014, the roof suprisingly appeared to have been restored to its original color!
I'm very much impressed with the quality and performance of this product and would definitely recommend it. A caveat might be that the practicality of this product's usage is limited to roofs with a lower pitch.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, explicit instructions easy to follow
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Harwich, Cape Cod, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really works well!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using Wet n’ Forget since conception. I was listening to a garden radio show several years ago when it hit the market and bought it. I started to use it on my deck, my white plastic deck furniture and potted plants. I also use it on my stone walls and the side of my house which is cedar shingles. Works like a charm! I personally should be a sales representative for the product I have introduced it to 3 friends and my sister just this spring. LOVE IT!
Pros: Easy to Use
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from New Orleans
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product should be stocked at Home depot store

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
II does what it clames what eles can be said. Far exceeded my expectations. Have used for three years.
My Daugater used on old driveway and it cleaned it up in two applications.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as Promised

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I applied Wet 'n Forget 2 years ago to the north side of my roof. Unfortunately, my sprayer wasn't powerful enough to reach all the way to the top. The following spring, the entire lower part of the roof was clear of mold. Bought a better sprayer and did the entire roof last fall. Still some dead mold remained this spring, but the spring rains should take care of that. This stuff has worked everywhere I've tried it - roof, concrete, composite deck, aluminum siding. Just need to be patient.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Cons: no instant gratification.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from on-the-web-beat
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work great!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Been using this product for years. The more you use it, the better the results. The best time to use it is after a rainfall when surfaces are still damp (no standing water) and humidity is high. This gives the active ingredients more activation time before drying. Patience is required. The more heavily stained an area is, the longer it takes to clean and notice the results. We use this on siding, our rock walls, bluestone walks, etc. it saves me hours/days of pressure washing. There is no damage to surfaces or plants (I try to wash overspray off pretty quickly). As a bonus it kills all the moss in the adjoining lawn area too. Wish it were cheaper, but when I consider my time and the things I now can clean (Belgium block lined planting areas) it's still the way to go for me. As a note, it will clean stains, mold, algae, etc off of your deck, but will not return the surface to new wood condition. This can only be achieved with a pressure washer which removes the very top layer of wood fiber. Nevertheless, the deck still looks clean; gray, but clean.
Pros: Easy to Use
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for sidewalks and landscape brick

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product takes a few months to really work. But i used it on landscape brick walls and they look new again. The results show up over time, dont expects to see something overnight
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from North Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Stuff

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I started using Wet & Forget last Spring (2013) and it has done everything promised. I sprayed the wooden deck, stained portions of my vinyl siding, concrete carport, and stained portions of my metal roof. It works!! It takes only days in some areas, weeks in others, and with my roof required another spritz in the Fall but today (4/29/2014) you can inspect every area I treated and it is clean, no stains, even on the roof portion that's under a Maple tree. I plan to treat again this Summer as a pro-active preventive and plan to do it annually. It's a heck of a lot better and easier keeping it stain, algae, and mildew free pro-actively than to have to use heavier amounts attacking what I originally had to address. It's a little pricey but when you figure mixing your own....Clorox, TSP.....and time to rinse it all off (Wet & Forget requires no rinsing), it is all worth it. I use a battery powered sprayer unit (I need the PSI's to reach roof extremities) but a plain hand-held $15 vegetable sprayer would work as well if you don't need to spray distances more than 5 or six feet.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, works on wood concrete vinyl and metal
Cons: pricey
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Fair Results for this User

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
After mixing the product with the correct amount water per instruction, I applied the solution using a Chapin sprayer and waited for the advertised results (no more moss). Although it rained the next day, the product had almost a 24 hour period of dryness to work its magic. Several weeks later, I still have moss - some of it is brown, and some of it is still green. I guess I'll need to do another application.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
10out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wet&Forget

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used Wet&Forget on concrete sidewalks before with good and long lasting results. Now I tried it on a lakefront cottage roof, bricks, and some heavy walkway moss. After two weeks the roof was gray again, the moss on the bricks was gone, and the thick moss on the walkway as dead. This is a great product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Absolutely Works

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
You have to be patient with this product. I was skeptical after two other brands I tried. My trex deck was a mess. Tried this and after 4 months saw some improvement. Applied again and another 2 months mold and mildew completely gone. This after other products didn't remove anything. Great product but have to let it take its time. I don't know how it works but it does.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Bedford, NH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed with results

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Bought this product anticipating it would remove the mildew/algae stains from the roof, as well as the many small "white" molds that were on the roof. Applied the product strictly as instructed, Yet, the appearance after several torrential rains remained the same as before the application. I suspect the product may have killed the mold despite its appearance, and may have stopped the spread of the mildew. Time will tell.
Of critical importance, as indicated by the instructions is to properly maintain the dilution rate when applying this product. This is not a problem if one already has a pressurized sprayer. Fortunately, I did and didn't have to purchase one to apply the Wet & Forget product.
I would recommend this product as a lessor cost alternative to contracting a commercial service, as their product is so much more costly. I chose to purchase the product & hire a local contractor to apply it to my roof as I'm too old (71) to be climbing roofs.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Salem, AL 36874, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

a good product for our pontoon boat

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We are using on our pontoon boat seats to control mildew, would love to be able to purchase in store.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from commerce, mi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
THIS STUFF REALLY WORKS. MIX AS DIRECTED, PUT IN SPRAYER AND WET DOWN THE MOSS. AFTER 1-2 WEEKS, MOSS TURNS BROWN AND THE RAIN REMOVES THE MOSS FROM BETWEEN THE PAVERS AND ON THE ROOF.
GREAT PRODUCT AND IT DOES'NT HURT THE GRASS.
Pros: really works
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Charleston, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It takes time for this solution to work so each day I see progress made.

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
easy to apply, non toxic, effective, safe for plants,
clear directions that even have a touch of humor!
Pros: Easy to Use, Packaging, Effective
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover

Bye, Bye mildew and slippery steps!

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Following easy direction resulted in almost immediate removal of the slippery mildew from stepping stones! It took only a few days of dry temps to rid ourselves of black mildew!
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Atlanta, GA, USA

If the instructions are followed it works fabulous!!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product actually worked better than expected. After a review of the product we carefully read and followed the directions with a "Wait and see" attitude. Much to our delight and surprise it worked much better than anticipated! Actually, within a few hours we noticed a difference! We applied the product during an overcast early morning. Later in the day the sun came out and the mold and mildew on our stone had greatly diminished! Over the next few weeks and some rain, the appearance improved. Do not hesitate to purchase this product, make sure you follow the instructions and you will be greatly rewarded!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, works better than advertised!
Cons: none!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Cary, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

IT WORKS!!!

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although you may not see immediate results, over time this product works in keeping mold and mildew off of exterior items. It did a great job on my exterior front porch posts and gutters.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from Longwood, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Timesaver

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We get a lot of mildew in our pool deck area with a southern exposure due to large trees. After pressure washing I apply this product and it lasts for at least 3 months before I would need to do any cleaning which is much easier following the application. It is also much easier to remove the droppings from all of the lizards that habitat inside the pool foliage.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
Cons: fairly expensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1 gal. Moss Mold Mildew and Algae Stain Remover
from terrytown , la
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best purchase- easy to use

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to mix in a sprayer and use immediately. keeps surface free of dirt and mold buildup.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>