728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED

27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED

This sleek looking all black 9-drawer tool chest and cabinet set is the ultimate in storage! Each drawer is equipped with 50 lb rated ball bearing drawer slides that let the drawers move smoothly under heavy loads. Small, medium and extra-large drawers offer a wide variety of storage solutions. The 9 inch deep drawers in the bottom cabinet are perfect for larger power tools and other bulk items. The clamshell style lid provides easy access to the top till storage area. The reinforced lid is supported by gas struts which assist in opening and closing the lid. Each mobile cabinet is supported with a reinforced base which offers added strength for heavier loads. This set moves around easily with the 600 lb rated 4.5 in. x 1.5 in. casters and tubular push handle.
Overall rating:
3.655 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product24 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(14)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product24 of 28reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED
from Payson, AZ 85541, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks, works good. Recieved dented.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Needed more tool storage. Ordered online. When I opened up packaging, noticed tool boxes were slightly dented. Not enough to return, just not perfect. Assembly was easy and only took about ten minutes. Casters are pretty basic; solid plastic, no bearings. Installed some drawer liner to keep tools from sliding around. Locks work good and same key opens top and bottom.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED
from Spokane, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Grab Your Autobody Tools & Gloss Black Spray Paint

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My toolbox came in a box that had absolutely zero exterior damage. No indication that any defects were the result of shipping - and with there are sharp jagged metal pieces that should have been cut off at the factory still present, I can guarantee you that those were not added during shipping. Upon opening the product, several of the sheet metal corners had been folded in on themselves and "crumpled." The top "hatch-like" door with hydraulic assisted opening would not open because the right-rear sheet metal corner was crushed inward toward the front of the chamber. This same piece also had a jagged piece of metal that never got cut off at the factory still attached which puncture a hole in the sheet metal of the hatch like door among the scrapes that occured when the sheet metal got crushed inward. Also, the inner lip of sheet metal along the top right side of the compartment under the "hatch-like" door was warped/rippled/folded up. That covers the major issues but not all. I have an automotive hobby involving mechanics, restoration, painting & auto-body repair. Therefore, I had plenty of tools to make this right. But, you could probably do a decent job with channel locks, a wide blade flat tip screwdriver, pliers, and a plastic mallet, a rubber dead blow mallet may also be a nice addition, and a hacksaw (I used a thin wheel on an angle grinder). Once all the defects are returned to their intended angles and shapes, you'll need a can of gloss black paint to protect all the bare metal that was exposed before you ever touched the tool box, and the additional bare metal you created when more paint flakes off from re-forming the crushed corners and metal to their original state. I used a can of gloss black paint that I use on cleaned engine blocks sitting around and it did a pretty nice job. Most people would not be forgiving as I, but I did a lot of research and I considered making this tool box "right" an unexpected issue, but it didn't take me more than an hour or so. Therefore, I would buy it again because the price on the similar/equivalent products (at the time I bought this) was at least $50 or so more. So, for $50, an hour or so of my time was worth it to me. I had some photos of the before and after, but I can't seem to find them now.
Pros: Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: manufacturing damage, incomplete manufacturing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED
from Reno, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent Box

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have this Box and it holds a lot of tools...I love the large lower drawers great for holding my circular saw and other odd shaped tools.....I saw people complaining about drawer liners but for a few dollars at the dollar store I got the thick spongy shelve and drawer line that works just the same....It's cheap and easy to replace....And for a buck a roll can't beat the price
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Move, Nice Design
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is a good value for the cost

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was looking for a tool cabinet to organize and store my tools. I wanted a cabinet with multiple shadow drawers, ball bearing slides, good weight capacity, and a cost under $200. This cabinet met all of these requirements. I also made two shallow removable shelves that clip onto the sides of the two bottom drawers to provide additional storage.
The only Con is a dent on the rear panel but since it was a minor dent I did not return the cabinet.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
Cons: shipping damage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED
from Bothell, WA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this online and had it shipped to the store. It had a dent on the bottom corner, but that hasn't affected functionality and I was still able to install the casters. I really like the color scheme of this chest and wish there were more sizes. The one thing I find odd is that the top drawer of each half has to go in a little more than the rest to properly lock.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED

Great Buy

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a first real tool chest. This is certainly not the highest quality box around, but for $250, it is worth the price. If it were any more expensive, it would not be worth the deal, but I would say you would have to spend $100 to $130 more for a nicer set. I do wish it had drawer liners like the other reviewer said. HD does sell some nice inexpensive foam lining for $10 a roll, and you would need around two of those. So that does increase the price.
The wheels are a harder plastic, so they can be a little rough. Their wheel brakes are kinda cheap too. It may be possible to upgrade the wheels later.
The box is nice for light duty tools, great for the home. The specifications are spot on so look to that for size and weight capacity. I think the sheet metal thickness is just right for home duty, it could be thicker but that would put it into a higher price range. The drawer rollers are good quality.
The all black paint will not show most tool dirt (usually dark greasy spots) but it does show prints in the glare, but it is a semi-gloss so it is not too bad.
Overall, it is better than the low quality Sears boxes that cost much more and not quite as nice as the Harbor Freight box that costs $130 more.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice Toobox; Great Value

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice toolbox. It will easily hold up to hobbist use. The value is hard to beat. A good support toolbox for the tools not used as much. For those that are writing negative reviews; it seems they want a top of the line $5000 toolbox for 5% of the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

If you're Ok with mediocre buy these tool chests

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these because I was expecting a standard tool storage system. Unfortunately, both cabinets arrived with significant dents due to poor packaging.
During assembly I found that you cannot put the included spacers on the swivel casters. If you do the casters will not swivel!
I am a licensed contractor with over 30 years experience and this was the the most disappointing purchase I have ever had with Home Depot.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED

beats Craftsmen

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looked at Craftsmen tool cabinets at the same price range and found them to be made from thinner gage steel. The Husky is rated at 50 lb per drawer where the craftsmen is 25lbs. It is easy to see the difference in person as the Husky is made from much heavier gage steel - just look at the weight. I happened to pick up a display model for $98 (had a slight dent) - very good deal.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED

Good bang for the buck.

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good overall construction and performance. Doesn't feel quite as nice as some of the higher end boxes in the HUSKY line, but meets and exceeds expectations for its price point.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED
from West Palm Beach, FL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Meh

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
As with the other reviews I read, this cabinet also came with several dings and dents in it. Assembly was easy, but the cabinet is not put together square, so the top chest wobbles when sitting on top (nothing a small shim won't fix, but still...). The drawers also don't close fully unless you push extra hard to "square" the cabinet so that they can slide all the way in. However, it does hold my tools and roll nicely, so overall not to bad.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED
from Roanoke, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

NEEDS A LITTLE MORE

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great value but to compete with the Kobalt. They need to add drawer liners. There is nothing more frustrating then you placeing your tools neatly and you shut the drawer and they are all over the place.
Also you are going to get what you pay for. The metal is very thin. I expect more from Husky and home depot.
If they got these things done I can see paying about 350 or 400 for this, but thats why its priced the way it is.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, great price, enough room
Cons: Not Durable, thin metal, no drawer liners
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED
from Perry, OH 44081, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AWESOME tool chest!!!

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
AWESOME tool chest!!! Love it!! Easy to set up. Just make sure you put the casters on the correct side. The swivel ones go on the side of the handle. I'm a girl and needed something to put my tools in!! I'm not a mechanic or anthing like that. GREAT!! Highly recommend!!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this was a black friday special....nothing special!

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was a black friday special....but was not a good product marked down to a good price...it was exactly what you paid for maybe....low quality for a husky named product. I also purchased one of the other black friday tool chest at the same time and it was also equally low quality they did not have items displayed. considered returning but boxes were torn up so I kept them. Not the good deal feeling.
Cons: Not Durable
-2points
8out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED

Shoddy

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Paper thin sheet metal. Flaking paint. Upper cabinet cosmetically and functionally damaged from factory. Useless. See "Customer Service & Shipping".
Cons: Not Durable, zero customer support.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unexpected perks

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great box, the bottom has a very large drawer with slides that donʻt fail. The top has hydraulic pistons to raise and hold the cover, and silicone "feet" so it wonʻt slide around. Drawers are all easy to slide, only wish it a partition in the upper drawers forsmall stuff.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works well and sturdy.

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good unit for the price. It came with a slight dent on the side, but that was not a problem for my purposes.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool chest for the price.

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I shopped around for a tool chest for my home shop, this Husky 9 drawer fit the bill ,and price the metal is thin but it will work, it dosen't come with drawer liners, found an easy fix, , non slip shelf liner in a roll, very cheap works great cut to fit and tools stay in there place, I'm very pleased, great product, and the help in the store has great staff found me a flat cart to get it to the truck.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED
from Kerrville, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent quality of construction and functionality especially for discounted price.

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality drawer rollers; Lock system on top, portable, unit is very good; Lock system on bottom is okay but could/should be tighter. Wheels are good for intended purpose. I am happy with this storeage system.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: lock system on large bottom unit could be tighter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 27 in. W 9-Drawer All Black Chest and Cabinet Set-DISCONTINUED

Features are as expected and what I wanted and need.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Am using this for kitchen tool/cooking ware storage. Really seems to be what I needed.
The tool box was delivered within the time frame stated.
The lower back on one corner is slightly bent but up against a wall it is not going to be seen.
Pros: Easy to Move
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>