728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Exterior Stain or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip

2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip

WoodRx ultra transparent wood stain/sealer employs advanced technology that no other competitor is using. It s the only sealer of its kind... It can be applied on all types of wood around your home and/or business. Decks, siding, docks, dense hardwoods, pressure treated lumber, garden furniture, playhouses, log homes, fences, cedar shakes, wood bridges and much, much, more... One sealer for ALL your needs.WoodRx ultra is easy to maintain and apply. Finally, a wood sealer that can be applied with a pump sprayer, Why lay it when you can Spray it.. It is fast, easy, no mess and best of all, it s environmentally friendly. Soap and water clean-up. Last 3-5 times longer than traditional sealers and is durable in all climates. Comes with a 5 year warranty against graying.
Overall rating:
4.262 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product36 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(14)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product36 of 39reviews
Customer reviews for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip
Review 1 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip
from Lexington, KY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WoodRx Ultra Natural Wood Stain a Does the Job

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to apply, covers well, looks good too. Found that opening up sprayer nozzle by turning it counterclockwise just a bit made product apply much better. Did not get quite as much coverage as claimed - got around 400-450 sq ft per 2 gal container. Although product is transparent, it does have a slightly yellowish brown tint. I actually thought this tint was good once applied and dried.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip
from Western PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't expect a miracle on old wood

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Pros: Easy to apply. Beautiful color. Convenient and adequate sprayer.
Cons:I applied this product in the Fall but it didn't hold up well on my deck over winter. But I have to qualify that. My deck is over 25 years old and has never been stained before. I cleaned it twice with a combination of TSP and bleach, but no sanding. And I replaced a few boards. On the new wood the product has held up perfectly over winter. On the older wood there is some peeling especially in the more shaded & horizontal areas. All the vertical surfaces are holding up well though. So don't expect miracles on older wood, especially if it was subject to dampness and shade.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip
from Gulf Coast

Great product for preserving wooden walkways, docks, etc.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our contractor applied this product earlier this year to our walkway to the dock and the dock surface, both are fully exposed to the sun on the Gulf Coast - we are happy with the product, we used the "natural" shade
Pros: Easy Instructions, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice stuff, easy, but wood really soaks it up

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had a new 24 wide by 8 high cedar privacy fence built between me and my neighbor. I usually roll my stains and sealers but since the fence was so tall I decided to try this product because of the spray feature. It went on nicely I have to admit, but I barely got the whole thing stained on just my side. The wood really soaked it up. Clean up was easy. So far, so good. The sprinklers and water haven't affected the wood...yet. We'll see how it holds up through the summer.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful when done

PostedJune 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We just got a new fence, and based on the reviews we decided to try WoodRX. Out of the box the sprayers are problematic: when adding pressure with the pump the nozzles leak or just keep spraying even when the trigger is not held; the spray adjustment on the wand is ineffective; it takes more spray passes to cover thoroughly than advertised; and as a result covers less square footage than advertised. However, working together my wife and I made very quick work of our fence, and we love the rich golden light brown color this product gives the wood. Also, because it's water-based any overspray on our vinyl siding was easily cleaned up with soap and water. So the initial difficulties are manageable and the results look fantastic. Plus it's still faster than using rollers and pans. I'll buy more. No question.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: spray wands defective but functional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip

Goes on very easily.

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was very easy to put down. the sprayer it comes in is very convenient and we were able to cover our 1,000 sq ft. deck in a little more than 4 gallons. There is little odor and cleanup was a breeze. My decking is Ipe (Brazillian Walnut) and I had been re-staining it every two years in our harsh Colorado climate. Now we'll wait to see if WoodRx lives up to its durability claim.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product, So Easy!

PostedMay 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Did my whole deck in about 25 minutes, so easy and it looks great! It was very weathered looking and now it looks much newer. Very happy that it's environmentally friendly. No odor or mess. Going to use it on my front porch now.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, but pricey

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product proforms as advertised, though I cannot say how it holds up long term as I just finished applying this past weekend. Go's on so easy, cleanup is easy, uniform coverage, wood just soaks it up. Took 7 two gallon sprayers to complete just the inside of my cedar fence, so at $80 per two gallons gets expensive in a hurry. Also I wish I could just purchase directly from home depot physical store as opposed to special ordering it (maybe it needs to be made fresh, sold fresh).
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip
from Miami, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product but limited availability at Home Depot

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great product from a local (ft Myers) company. Easy to use, no wait for new fences etc. However, it is in limited supply at Home Depot and there is no 5 gallon size available as with other brands. Coverage is good, and the natural tone is perfect. Dries quickly and immediately repels water and graying. Purchase a bit more than you need as difficult to find again.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Cons: limited availability @home depot
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Spray not as good as the older brush-on version

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
WoodRx goes on very easily with the sprayer, however it appears to be much thinner than the old brush-on version. The worst problem is that the second spray-on coat beads up and does not stick to the first coat, and it is so thin that it puddles even after manually re-brushing it. If you apply a second coat on a hot, dry day, WoodRx will dry fast enough that you can brush out the second coat, so it does not bead up and puddle. But this defeats the labor-saving purpose of the sprayer. I hope they will still make the brush-on cans the next time I need to recoat my deck. I would recommend this spray only for one coat on bare wood.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean
Cons: second coat beads up and puddles
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip

FANTASTIC!!!

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I heard of this product from fellow homeowners and now that i know i can find it at Home Depot its even better! It goes on smooth and easy and there is no odor. Plus the fact that its environmentally safe makes me feel good. I know this is one project that i don't have to deal with for years to come. I love, love this product!
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip
from Del Norte County, Northern California

So far I'm very glad I went with this product.

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in Northern Cali and have two new Douglas Fir Decks on a remodeled home that needed to be stained/sealed. Due to the heavy rains this area receives in the winter, I was looking for both water and UV protection...
I had used Behr Solid Color Deck Stain fairly recently for another deck/home in the area, but wasn't very happy with the chipping durability after less than two years.
Read the reviews on WoodRx and it sounded almost too good to be true...wasn't sure, but purchased the 2-Gal. Sprayer as it shipped free online. (Not in stock in store).
Both Doug Fir decks are approx. 30 x 12 and have hand rails, pickets and stairs.
My handyman started on the back deck. I actually called the company first (their phone number is included in the packing slip and a gentleman answered the phone...wow!) to verify the cleaning/prep procedures..
We started by sanding the parts of the deck that needed it from discoloration or roughness...didn't take long. We then cleaned the new deck with the recommended water/bleach/liq.detergent mixture using a softish bristle scrub brush on long pole. Hosed it off. Not a fan of pressure cleaning unless it's on low. Scrubbing with above mixture and using a strong hose works fine.
Allowed it to dry in the late morning sunshine on a warm day. The nice thing with this product is no need to wait to apply. I think common sense rules. Let the deck dry, but no need to wait more than a couple of hours on a nice warm day..
The pros of the sprayer = fast application. The cons = the obvious: if you don't follow right behind with a paint brush or roller, there can be some splotches or uneven areas that you miss. Again, common sense stuff.
I was pleased overall with this deck, but when it came time to do the second new deck, I ordered the 5-Gal. Bucket of WoodRx because I already had a sprayer that was cleaned out.
When the 5-Gal. Bucket arrived, we ended up just painting the top rails and pickets with large paint brush and using a roller for the body of the deck. It came out much nicer simply because you have a bit more control...
Nothing wrong with the sprayer application, but it's just a bit more messy (covering up the exterior house and lattice, etc.) and you have to be prepared to move fast to avoid splotches...
We did just one coat on the pickets and two coats on the top rails and deck and it came out beautiful. I like that this has color to it (a golden honey, btw) yet you can *still* see the wood grain through it. Ie, it's a natural stain with golden/honey tint for UV protection.
On a new deck, it's going to soak up some product, but I was happy that the 7-gal. total did both large decks with a little left over.
I am also happy there will be NO CHIPPING and/or stripping when it comes time to put more WoodRx on these decks. If I want to apply more product before winter, I can simply roll on another coat. Simple and easy and pretty!
The deck surface is a bit slick when the product is on, so you have to be aware of that, but living in Northern Cali, we have already had some rain after application, and the product does a nice job of repelling the water.
I'm thinking a large squeegee on a long pole would work great/fast to get the puddles or standing water off of the deck after it rains.
Love this product thus far. Have had many compliments on the front deck that the neighbors can see. It's really pretty, and again, the color is a golden/honey on Douglas Fir wood.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip

Good Product, Junk Sprayer

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product looks nice and does what it is supposed to do. The sprayer that it came in started spraying stain out of the connection to the handle halfway though my application. I transferred it to a different sprayer and finished.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip
from Jackson, MS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good product not quite easy to use

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this product on my wood fence. It was quite messy and will definitely stain anything it touches (clothes, hands, concrete) be very careful when using. Some sprayers worked and some did not. Use stain brush to help get more even look for sure. Shake well before using too.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Clean, sprayer may not work
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow!! Can't believe how easy it was to apply.

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did my entire deck and railings in about 30 minutes, approx. 600 square feet. In the past it would take me hours, not to mention the clean-up was horrible. Great product! Awesome way to apply it! Thank you WoodRx.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good!

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Began spraying as instructed but I didn't think it was looking all that even. I took a brush and brushed it after spraying it on. It did take quite a bit longer than I thought it would but it looks awesome so it was time well spent. I gave it 5 stars but really can't tell yet how it will hold up. Crossing my fingers!! It is the nicest my deck has ever looked.
Pros: Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip

Easy to put on

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's only been on for two weeks so I'll see if it lasts the five years it says. I am sure it is a better product than Thompson waterseal which I know lasts about eight months. I used a paint brush to put it on because the sprayer wastes a lot of material like all outdoor sprayers do. Went on easy just make sure to not let puddles or drips go without brushing, will make dark spots where it sits. Looks great on the swing set, too.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: better not sprayed
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip

Weak pump and inconsistent

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading the reviews I was tempted to give it a shot to this an overrated product. I am not happy with the result, bought three, one came with the pump handle broke. I thought I would put it in another sprayer bottle, and it was wicked mess.
Cons: pump delivers unexpected amount and uneven
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product Coverage Overstated-Time Will Tell About Guarantee on

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product was applied on pressure treated pine dock planks approximately 4 months after installation. The product when applied to dry planks did not level, tended to bead when sprayed and required brushing out for a level and even application. Product coverage overstated; failing the minimum stated coverage ratio by 12%. Sprayer worked well
Pros: sprayer worked well
Cons: product coverage overstated
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-gal. Ultra Natural Transparent Wood Stain/Sealer with Pump Sprayer with fan tip
from Melbourne, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought it to seal a set of teak outdoor furniture and after using it, it looks and feels great and works well to repels water. It was easy to put on, did not have a strong smell and was easy to clean off skin and any spills on pool deck. It has only been a couple of weeks so I can't say how it will hold up in the long run, but I'm planning on using it on a picket fence I just replaced in about six months and expect to be just as pleased.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>