728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tile Saws, Cutters & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper

Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper

The QEP Compound Nipper has twice the power of conventional carbide-tipped nippers, but with less effort. Makes irregular cuts on all tile or stone. Ergonomic comfort grip handles. Carbide tips are strong and make cutting easier.
Overall rating:
4.214 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product22 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product22 of 26reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper
Review 1 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper

Solid

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a solid set of nippers. I've used it on ceramic floor tile and it comes in handy to get the right fit on some of the odd shapes you may encounter. (Particularly around the bath tub and toilet flange). It took a little bit to get used to as far as how much you can snip at a time. Best advice is go slow and take a little bit at a time. If you try to do too much at once you likely won't get the cut you wanted.
Pros: Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Compund Ceramic Tile Nippers worked Real well

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
1, Overall Rating - They worked very well - the compound part really helped over the other styles.
2, Appearance - They look strong like they will last.
3. Installation - They helped with trimming tiles I didnt have to get out a grinder.
4. Quality - They are a good solid tool that looks like it will last and wont break.
because of them being compound I could take real small pieces off with better control.
5. Value - They were a bit high priced but I guess that is what you have to pay now a days
for a good solid tool.
Tip - Wear safety goggles or glasses there were tiny chips of tile flying all over.
Pros: Sturdy, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper
from Flagstaff, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Received free product:Yes

Duty Nipper

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have previously commented on this tool. I think it is a must have if anyone tackles a tile job. It is heavy duty and a brand name with a long history for Vise-Grips. The nips teeth are hardened carbide with a small gap upon full clinch, which is a good thing. On my first big floor tile job I used large pliers to shape tiles. It worked, but I broke enough tiles badly to buy real nippers. These Irwin brand nippers are pro-quality. Good shaped grip. Wear eye protection!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Comfortable, Looks Great, Effective
Cons: trial-n-error learning
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper
from Oak Creek, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Now just a tool in my tool box

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Decided I hate tile nippers. Too difficult to get the proper cut on tile. Broke a lot of tiles before I stopped using it. I know a lot of people who use them but I'd rather use a Dremel diamond cutting bit. Wish I didn't try to use this so I could have returned it.
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Cons: No Instructions, very difficult to get a proper cut
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper
from Sugar Land, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tile Nipper

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use for larger pieces of tile. Takes time to learn how to use exactly.
Pros: Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper

Works as advertised

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this to cut the individual stone pieces on a mosaic stone backsplash. It snapped the stone easily. Occasionally, I would have the stone pieces break, but this was due more to the nature and integrity of the stone than the tool. It's time consuming, and repeated use can cause muscle strain in the hand and wrist, so it's best to take your time and/or share the nipping duties with someone. That said, I tried this tool, another "score and snap" style hand tool, and a wet/dry tile cutting saw, and this worked the best of the three - by far.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper
from Clinton, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Not What I Expected

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been using a simple spring-loaded tile nipper for a long time, and thought that a compound nipper would be easier to use since it should reduce the amount of force required to cut tile with a squeeze of the hand. Unfortunately this product does not quite do it for me. The amount of hand pressure needed to cut tile with these nippers is comparable to the non-compound nippers I presently use. The handle has a nice rubber grip, but does not noticeably improve the job of nipping tile.
Pros: Sturdy, Comfortable
Cons: insufficient cutting leverage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper
from Marietta, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So-so

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The nippers have a special hinged handle feature that supposedly magnifies your cutting power. Great concept, however I was not able to make them close far enough half the time to actually grab hold of, or cut, the standard thickness tiles I was installing. Therefore they were not functional for me. I returned the item.
Cons: don't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper
from Elkridge, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No better than my old tile nipper...

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bottom Line: no force improvement and no better than my old tile nipper
Much longer version:
I have a non-compound tile nipper that I have used many times over the past decade. It can be difficult at times to nip with precision, or ease. I assumed that a compound version would be easier to use in terms of force required, and more precise because I could back off on the strength and focus on the angles and precision. Unfortunately, that is NOT the case w/ this compound tile nipper.
First and foremost: I noticed no "ease in use" compared to my non-compound nipper. I expected these to require far less strength to break through tile, but they did not. Note that I did not use any sort of gauge, meter, or force measuring test to determine how much force was actually required for precise comparison. But since I could not notice any difference AT ALL between this nipper and my old one, on the same piece of ceramic tile - multiple cuts, multiple angles - I am left only with the conclusion that there is no increased mechanical advantage with this compound nipper.
Because the force required was exactly the same as my old version, precision was no better. Some cuts / nips were good, some were not.
Finally, the carbide cutting tips are separated by almost twice the distance when closed compared with my old nipper. Maybe this doesn't make a difference as they did still cut through tile, but I felt like it was another contributor to its overall average performance - especially when coupled with its total lack of force improvement.
Other than being fairly sturdy, and looking fancy, these are a disappointment. If you are buying a nipper, save the extra money for something else.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks High End
Cons: no improved force, high priced
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper
from Metrpolitan St. Louis, Missouri
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works As Advertised

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This tile nipper has a comfortable handle and the compound feature makes cutting tile easier on the hand as well. It appears to be made from quality material, and I hope the carbide jaws on this tool will last a long time. It gets only occasional use on projects, but has given good service so far.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Comfortable, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper
from Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Very Nice Tile Nippers

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice pair of tile nippers. I was putting down a ceramic tile floor in the bathroom and needed to cut a partial circle around the toilet flange. This tile nipper was strong enough to nip away at the ceramic tile with ease. This tool is a must have when you need a difficult cut that the wet saw cannot handle.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Effective, comfortable grip
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper

It works

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Great nipper for porcelain ...... Tried using on backsplash glass and it was a failure..... Also hard ceramic it struggled with. Over all worth a few extra bucks over the shorter handle cheaper one....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper
from Cheltenham, PA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for a small, quick job

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We used these tile nippers to install the ceramic tile backsplash in our kitchen. Perfect for small cuts, these nippers allowed us to install the tile in no time at all. If you're looking for a great tool for small projects, this is the one!
Pros: Comfortable, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper

Denny from Ia

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The nippers worked great for the job I was impressed with their durability
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper
from Saint Paul, MN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Durable & Effective

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had never used tile nippers before, but a current DIY project made them necessary - and I am very happy with having chosen this compound nipper by QEP. The grip is very comfortable, and the tips made very quick work of the detailed cuts I needed to make. In my project, I am using porcelain tile that is approximately 3/8" thick, and I believe this tool would effectively handle thicker tiles based on the use I experienced and the end results.
One feature I do like about these nippers is the locking mechanism. I appreciate being able to keep them in a closed position when not in use.
Very sturdy, durable design and ease of use, even for a complete novice!
Pros: Sturdy, Comfortable, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tool that's easy on the hands

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got the QEP nippers for a bathroom floor repair. Had to re-tile the floor after rot got into the wood sub floor. I've used nippers on other jobs and wish I had this pair instead of my old ones. These are much easier to use than non-compound nippers. After nibbling away for a while your fingers feel it and that makes you less accurate. It does take some force to nip at the tiles, but the cushioned handles makes it feel easier on the hands and the compound joint helps, too. My old one was much heavier so the lighter weight is something you might not pick up on until you heft it. The nips open 1/2” max which is plenty. I'm keeping this pair for tile work and the old one for pulling out stubborn nails.
Pros: Sturdy, Comfortable, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper
from Ashburnham, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use nipper

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am glad I got this compound tile nipper, since for most of my tile installations, I had a non-compound nipper. The compound nipper makes taking the small bites out of the edges of the tiles much easier than the straight nippers. I think this is well worth the purchase. It is strong enough for porcelain tiles as well as standard tile. I definitely recommend this nipper. Well built.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Comfortable, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper
from Melbourne, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good strong clipper.

PostedMay 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very strong clipper, cuts tiles pretty easily. Would be a little better if they opened just a little wider.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper
from Kansas City, Mo
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Handy Gadget To Have If You Are Tiling

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've laid a lot of tile over the years, and am getting ready to re-tile my entire house soon. I have a small QEP tile saw that I bought years ago, and it's been a great investment for what little I spent on it. I'm on my second or third blade for it now, and it keeps on slicing tile. This QEP Compound Tile Nipper is a very handy gadget to have. Even with a good wet-saw, there are always weird areas where you need to make oddball cuts or compound cuts that are kind of hard to do, such as around a door frame, etc. These nippers are great for cutting out a small section of a tile where a saw blade is tough to get into. The nippers are well-built, and should last a very long time. Because of their compound design, they provide 3 times the force than your hand is actually producing. The tips of the cutting edge are tungsten carbide steel, so they should last quite awhile. I expect to get lots of use of these nippers over the next few months. All in all, this is a great tool! Thanks QEP and Home Depot!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Compound Porcelain and Ceramic Tile Nipper
from Reston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cuts high fire porcelain easily.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am working on an exterior mosaic project and need to cut lots of curves. These compound nippers make the job possible. I have been using them for weeks, and they still perform like new. Curious regarding country of origin.
Pros: Sturdy, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>