728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Christmas Ornaments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED

Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED

Amazing New Voice Recognition Technology Maestro Mouse really understands you as you control your tree lights and musical light show. Songbook ornament hangs on your tree with Maestro Mouse responding to "Hello Mr. Christmas" and numerous other song requests and interactions. Unit is designed to control your existing tree lights (pre-lit, LED, incandescent, etc.) Includes 24 songs (12 from the songbook and 12 from memory)and multiple settings. Patent pending. UL listed indoor.
Overall rating:
4.575 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product41 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product41 of 44reviews
Customer reviews for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Maestro Mouse with Voice Recognition Technology Makes Me Smile

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an enjoyable holiday item, and fun for whole family at a reasonable price! It has an ornament that you can either hang on the tree or stand on a table. There are 12 Christmas carols (non-vocal) that you can request, and there are 24 carols that auto play during the light show. (See photo for list of songs)
There is a 2-LED light shining down on the Maestro Mouse ornament. On the control box, you have options of Normal or Demo mode and a Volume control. Your setting options are:
(1)Voice Control: Simply say "Hello Mr Christmas" (he will hear you through the tiny microphone in the stand under the mouse) and he will prompt you for your request--Play a carol, Turn tree lights on, or you say "Good night Mr Christmas to turn the lights off.
(2)Musical Light Show: This setting will continuously play carols and your lights will dance to the music.
(3)Motion Activation: The mouse will "wake up" and ask for a request when a person walks within 5 feet of the ornament.
(4)Off
The instructions are easy to understand, and setup is quick. I would have like to have a little longer cord from receptacle to control box, though, it is 18" long. The cord from contol to ornament is a good length at 6 feet. The sound quality is good, and the witty little mouse 'understands' my voice commands easily. I like the idea that it does not have to be put on a tree, and I plan on placing the Maestro Mouse on my mantle connected to strings of lights!
Pros: Easy to Install, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
24out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED
from New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Brings a Smile to EVERYONE'S Face!

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I thought the idea of a talking mouse was a little corny. Until I heard this guy...and his British accent. He is adorable and he understands us (you have to read the instructions but they basically say--wait until he's done speaking until you talk) and THEN...he does a whole music/light show! So I just plugged in a light string to test to see if I really wanted this (it was pretty simple set up) and now I can't wait to set up my tree because the whole family went nuts telling the mouse what song to play and watching the lights flash to the music. I usually set up my tree after Thanksgiving but I might have to just toss the Halloween stuff and go straight to Christmas this year...
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED

Christmas Spirit

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First the grand kids love it. We don't have the tree up yet so I got out our small tree with built-in lights to test it out. It plays songs and blinks the lights to the music. The voice recognition worked great as well. This little mouse will be perfect to enhance holiday activities like wrapping presents. It truly gets you in the Christmas spirit playing all the holiday favorites.
Pros: Looks Great, Lots of Features
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED
from Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decorative Lights Synchronized to Instrumental Music

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This can be connected to pre-lite small or large Christmas tree, any decoration with lights. Warning not to exceed 420 Watts of lights and plug into a GFCI receptacle. It has; Volume Voice Control, Musical Light Show, Motion Activation and OFF button. On the power box side is a Demo & Normal Control Button. The Song Book Ornament can be hung on the tree using the hook attached after adding lights and before adding ornaments; adjust height, tree light plug and location under the tree for the control box as your going to need to reach controls, the Power Cord is only 19 inches long. The Story Book Ornament has a thin wire stand for setting on a table. Wherever it is placed it must be secure as it is fragile encased with motion and sound sensors. The antenna connection is five and half feet long to the Story Book ornament and power box. Instruction manual is important, so don’t loose it, you will need it for the voice command flow chart section. There is a voice recognition song list and extra song list totaling 24 Christmas Carols. This is not a kid’s toy, so place in a secure area. It needs be set-up by an adult with some technical knowledge who can over see its operation during its use and repackaging. It came well packaged and you will need to keep the box for storage. Per the Box it is Designed in New York, but Made in China, with a warranty of only 90 days. I hope it won’t self destruct on or before Christmas. Per the instructions Replacing Fuse: A second fuse is inside the plug but “If the second replacement fuse blows a short circuit may be present and the product should be discarded”. Fun Entertainment for Family and Friends.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Lots of Features, Nice Design, sound good, music good
Cons: Easily Damaged, power cord only 19 inches
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED
from Hoover, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mr. Christmas Rocks!

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is truly the cutest thing ever. The voice recognition is great and the sound quality of the music is good too. This has been such a hit, we may skip the pumpkins this year and get our trees up now! Works pretty good just on an ordinary lamp. Don't wait to buy. These will go fast I am sure.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Lots of Features
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED
from Audubon NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't Wait, This Will Sell Out

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this little mouse. The voice recognition works great if you speak normally. I don't know about you, but I can't resist talking to him in my most ridiculously exaggerated British accent "Helllllooo Mr. Christmaaasss!, Play A Carol, Would you like some Tea and Crumpets?" Even then he usually understands me, and when he doesn't we all just laugh and try again. Can't beat the value. Try the demo in the store and you like it, buy it now. This will likely be sold out pre Black Friday.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED

Hello Mr. Christmas, Maestro Mouse

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a bit skeptical at first when purchasing the Mr. Christmas, Maestro Mouse that it would work as advertised but I have to admit after getting it and setting it up it works very well. It is very easy to set up just requiring to plug it in and away we were on getting it working. The voice commands are simple and easy and the kids love turning the music, lights on and off. One funny little nuance about the product is it doesn't recognize my young daughters voice as well as the other members of our family but overall we really enjoy this new addition to our ornament, light collection.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED
from Hampton Roads, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fun idea, but novelty wears off.

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this a few days ago and have already returned it. It is a REALLY fun idea and I think if they create a 2.0 we'd buy it. We brought the mouse home and realized the mouse gives the instructions each time you say "Hello Mr. Christmas". This just becomes annoying because it is very easy to use. After that we also realized that once the mouse starts to play a song it won't stop so you'd have to shut it off at the switch to get it to stop. Lastly we were not impressed when it kept asking us to repeat ourselves. The one in the store didn't do that, not really sure what that was about. Overall a really cool idea, but I'll wait for a better version to come out.
Pros: very fun!
Cons: Flimsy Quality, Appearance, sticker that has the songs was peeling off
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED

Love it but....

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Love it but.. It hears the TV and anytime someone on TV says Hello it turns on. So have to unplug it at night when watching TV
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED
from New York City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Fun for All Ages

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this little mouse once we got it set up properly. Make sure it's not next to a TV because the talking will activate or take off voice activation. My niece age 10 was fascinated by this item. That the mouse understood to turn on the tree and take her request. It was also entertaining for the adults that came to visit. I'm sure many have purchased since seeing it in action.
The only issue is that the cord on the box to plug into the outlet needs to be longer. We did connect a surge protector with a long cord since the tree is large (diameter) and needed to position the box to reach but also need the song list. Lots of Fun.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: cord that connects to outlet needs to be longer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED
from Wanette, OK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Enjoyable Product

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Over-priced, but I enjoy it. When my item came in, the music worked but the lights didn't. I had to return to the store and get a replacement. Home Depot was very courteous in replacing the item (I live 35 miles from the closest store). The second worked perfectly. My 85-year-old mother-in-law really enjoyed watching the lights dance to the music, but I could only listen to the Christmas music so long, as I had to turn it up really loud for her to hear. All in all, great addition to my Christmas decoration. Looking forward to many years of use (I hope).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED

Enjoyed by everyone!

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had seen "Mr. Christmas" at a friends home and thought my grandchildren would enjoy it. I was correct, the kids really had a good time with it. The songs played are all instrumental but the kids would sit around the tree and sings. In fact, we all did, great way to spend time together. The only negative I found was when it had begun to play randomly, it said that if you wanted to play a certain song you only had to say "main menu". When we tried this we couldn't get it to stop unless we turned it off and restarted it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED
from Mallard Cir NW, Massillon, OH 44646, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cute.. too much interference

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hooked up 1 strand of lights (100 led GE mini ligtts) and there was a buzzing noise coming through speaker. It wasn`t bad while the music was playing but was noticable. With just lights on the noise was annoying. Called manufacture and they told me to return it. If I could get rid of interference this item would get 5 plus stars.
Pros: Looks Great, Functional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED

Such an adorable addition to my Christmas decor

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I saw this at a store at the start of the Christmas season. I loved it, but I did not think that it was worth $40. Now that I have it, I agree: it is not worth $40. I bought it at the end of the season on sale and it was a HUGE value. It does a great job at coordinating the tree lights with the music. The only down sides are that the music box is pretty large, and the voice recognition is not great. You have to make sure to speak clearly. But I still love it.
Pros: Functional
Cons: Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED
from South Bend, IN

Fun item for the Christmas Tree

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The kids enjoyed watching the lights on the Christmas tree flash in step with the carols.
Easy to use.
Pros: Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extremely neat Christmas tree addition!

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My entire family loves this "toy!" My 7 year old loves to talk to it and play music, but my 3 year old gets frustrated when it won't understand him! However, it seems to recognize everyone elses voice, which was a concern of mine, but turned out to be unfounded. This unit is well constructed and lasted the first season with absolutely no degredation. I think it will remain strong for years to come! My only complaint is that it's difficult to connect to a timer--there is no simple "on" setting, so when the timer re-applies power, the unit turns on, can't hear any commands, and subsequently enters a standby mode with no lights. Not a big deal, but I like the lights to turn on and off with a timer, and I can't figure out how to get this unit to do that. Otherwise, I love it! I even bought one for a gift I like it so much, and that one got just as many compliments as mine!
Pros: Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Functional, Well Made
Cons: no "on" setting
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED
from Cooper City, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Delightful New Holiday Addition

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Mr. Mouse is a unique decoration that is voice activated. He has the ability to play 12 Christmas songs which includes both carols and traditional music. You tell him what song to play and he acknowledges the request and begins the song.
In addition, the voice commands allow you to turn tree lights on/off.
This unit can be placed on a tree or in a seperate display. A very different type of decoration that will add fun and animation to your holiday theme.
Pros: Looks Great, Functional, Lots of Features, Nice Design, musical decoration, voice activated
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Presents for next year

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven't tried it yet, but got it on Christmas clearance and all the reviews I read were fantastic. I got these as Christmas gifts for next year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED
from Greenback, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product is the best chrstmas decoration ever

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We really enjoyed the christmas mouse everyone that visited us during the holiday fell in lve with this item. It performed a lot better than I expected. we will use this item year after year. we ordered this on line and we received it on the date that it was promised
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Well Made, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Voice Recognition Christmas Tree Ornament - Lights and Sounds of Christmas - WAS $39.97-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Kids love it...interesting ornament.

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased my first voice recognition ornament about a month before Christmas. Works great, kids love it and the adults are amazed at how accurate it is on commands. Works well with tree lights. Bought more for family members when they went on sale after Christmas. Everyone will have them next year!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>