728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for ProTip Corded Sprayer

ProTip Corded Sprayer

Ryobi presents the ProTip Corded Sprayer, uniquely designed with a reversible spray tip for hassle-free use. The design of the ProTip allows the user to rotate the tip 180 degrees to clear clogs quickly and rotate back to continue spraying, enabling you to achieve the professional results you want at an affordable price. The 1.5 qt. Quick-Lock container easily locks into place to help prevent spills and allow longer time between refills. ProTip is ideal for a wide variety of painting or staining projects including decks, fences, garage doors, cabinets, closet doors, trim, storage sheds or outdoor furniture.
Overall rating:
2.935 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(92 reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
51%of customersrecommend this product44 of 86reviews
Rating Breakdown 92 reviews
2.9 out of 5
5
(22)
4
(24)
3
(5)
2
(8)
1
(33)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
51%of customersrecommend this product44 of 86reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for ProTip Corded Sprayer
Review 1 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Brownsburg, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good sprayer for the price

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just used my new sprayer last weekend. After having a little trouble with dripping, I consulted the manual. The tip was too loose. I tightened and what a difference. The only down side was when the paint got low it would "sputter". I sprayed a semi-gloss poly on a new shelf for above my bar. The finish was consistent and dried very quickly. Twice I had to reverse the tip to clear a clog. Great feature! Overall a good hobby/home sprayer.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: need to keep container at least half full
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+37points
40out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Allentown, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid product

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just used this for the first time to put a coat of clear sealer on my children's playset. It worked exactly as I had hoped. I can't imagine spending more on a sprayer for this application. I recommend this highly for the sort of around-the-house light to medium duty work that most homeowners engage in.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Tavares, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks Good! But Does'nt Work So Good!

PostedMay 31, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I went and purchased 2 of these online special for $59 each. Thought it looked like a good deal and i wanted it to spray a 2 car steel garage door and around my central a/c units after painting my stucco house using a roller and brush. Out of the box the unit looked great! My brother inlaw followed the instructions...oiled the piston and filled it with an exterior latex paint. Worked for about 5 whole minutes and then would'nt spray anymore paint. Upon disassembly i could see that the piston / spring that fits into the plastic paint housing had a slight crack and the piston was already seized inside the plastic. Opened up the other unit, i personally oiled the piston assembly and decided to try and spray water through this one first to test. After all seemed good, i went and reoiled the piston and all looked good until paint when back in it and it did the exact same thing. 2 units.....both broken in less than 10 minutes! The plastic on the paint canister seemingly cannot handle the pressure from the banging piston and as soon as it starts to bind or clog up it cracks the plastic and then it wont prime anymore. Good looking sprayer with a very bad weak link. Needs to have this area redesigned in order to be anywhere near reliable. Will now have to go and return both units! Would not reccomend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from South Carolina, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best thing since sliced bread

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I painted my whole house "two stories" with this thing. The secret is using latex paint conditioner. I had two clogs in ten gallons of paint and cleared them instantly with the reversible tip. The painters wanted $4500 and I did it for $600 with the ultra paint and have a great paint sprayer. Don't forget the conditioner.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+55points
65out of 75found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Boardman Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for all types of small jobs

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sprayer work well and easy to use worked well when needing to apply to fence
Pros: Even Application
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Birmingham, Alabama
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My first paint sprayer

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this sprayer to stain/seal my deck. But before i did that, I decided to practice on the walls in my garage. I was using a latex paint. After filling the container I gave it a try and at first the paint went on without any problems but soon it began to sputter a little at the end of my strokes. I decided to add a little water to the container to thin the paint. That worked very well. As time went on the tip began to sputter paint again, I decided to tighten up on the chrome collar and once again the paint went on perfect. I also noticed that as the paint got low it would also sputter, I guess from air entering the system. I stopped and added more paint and a little water to thin then I stirred it with a paddle to make sure it was mixed well. Again I got a perfect coat. Occasionally I had to use a brush on a few areas where the paint had sputtered on the wall just to blend it in a little. All in all I was very pleased. it is important to keep your hand level when spraying. Try not to tilt especially when the paint is low.
The next morning I started on my deck and had no real problems. I just used the same techniques that I had learned the day before minus the thinning of the paint. Overall I am happy I purchased this product.
Pros: Good Coverage
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Lubbock, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just One Flaw In Design

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The designers should have created a screw on canister or a better way of latching the can to the gun. This design enables one to insert and twist the can onto the gun but while painting, the gun may vibrate the can a bit and it may come apart from the gun, as it did in my case. I was lucky the carpet was bad and was going to be replaced because when that can came aprt from the gun paint went everywhere! This is the only thing I did not like about this gun, the twist on design. It would have been better to have designed it where the can would stay better secured to the gun.
Pros: Easy Instructions
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Wake Forest, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to fill and comfortable to use

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used my new Ryobi ProTip corded sprayer this weekend to paint our shed. Found that large mouth paint container easy to fill, also like that fact that it screws back onto the sprayer completely full without making a mess. Thought that the sprayer might be front heavy when full of paint, but found it to be comfortable and balanced. Took a short break and found that the latex had gummed up a bit...Reversed the tip to clean and was back in business. Clean up of the unit was quick and easy. Very happy with the ease use and the overall quality of the sprayer.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, easy to fill
+50points
50out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from detroit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

work exceptionally well

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I paint cars for a living and baught this to paint stuff in my house to prevent having to drag air lines everywhere. I've used it to spray shellac, latex, urethane, and even cut roofing tar with laquer thinner for the bottom of my tractor. I've never had a problem with it although solvents most likely aren't good for it. Most of the clogging problem is knowing the viscosity you need for your material to spray properly.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: i'd recommend taping the paint cup on
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ProTip Corded Sprayer

Avoid this purchase

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this product to paint cabinets and had two problems from the start: 1) the paint cannister would not stay locked. Twice in less than two hours we were cleaning up spilled paint; 2) the atomizer broke. The atomizer breaking is no big deal, it comes with a second one and can easily be replaced. Luckily the paint cannister landed on the counter the first time and in the cabinet the second time and we didn't end up with paint getting under the plastic we laid out. However, it could easily have been a major disaster.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Melbourne, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ease,good and reliable.

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the protip sprayer last weekend to spray a planter/bench combination, I like the well balanced in your hand and specially the reversible tip, I strained and thin down the paint just a little and I was able to finish the job with only reversing the tip twice, I love how ease it is to clean and to store it away for the next time.
Great unit for the price.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
24out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ProTip Corded Sprayer

Did not work

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Did not work. Pluged it in and nothing happened. Checked the extension cord and outlet. Everything had power but the sprayer. Easy to return. Good cust service at home depot
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Buffalo NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best purchase ever

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The sprayer came fully assembled and was easy to use.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Vegas, baby!!!
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good deal for the price

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this to paint my garage. I was a little hesitant after reading the reviews, but I couldn't justify the extra $$ to get the Wagner. This sprayer did the job without a bunch of problems. I didn't have any leaking problems or have the cup come loose on me. It sprayed the primer perfectly and the latex wasn't too bad after thinning it a bit. The clean up was a little more difficult with the latex but it still wasn't bad. I did have the piston seize up on me the first day using it, I guess it wasn't pre-lubed enough by the manufacturer. I cleaned it & lubed it with the oil that came with it & it worked fine the rest of the time. The only problem I did have was spraying overhead. It will only spray about a third of the cup before losing suction & sputtering. I just had to refill more often. Otherwise it sprayed the walls perfectly. This is a great buy for the price if you don't want to do ceilings.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: not good overhead
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Fort worth
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

so-so

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Had trouble with the sprayer not priming. Finally started working but clogs easily. Can not find parts or repair shop to ask questions.
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not Good

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I want to start by saying I Love Home Depot. Saying that this sprayer was terrible. I was so frustrated with it's performance I walked out and threw the whole thing in the garbage.
Cons: poor performance
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from carpineria, ca.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Unhappy

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not unhappy, ease of use, ease of clean up, price, overall good value. I took 10 year old wicker patio furniture and gave them new life with a coat of white semi-gloss. wife and I are very happy with the results.
Only complaint, draw tube from gun to cup is too short,. Leaving 1/3 of coating in cup, tipping gun to retreive coating only resulted in "spitting" of coating. Need to lengthen "draw tube".
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: draw tube too short
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ProTip Corded Sprayer

Worked great on my fence

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the previous review and fortunately my experience was nothing like that. I used this to spray about a 1/4 mile of board fence around the horse pasture. The paint is a thick latex and linseed fence paint that usually goes on best with a brush. This sprayer powered right through it and I loved the self cleaning nozzle. If you've never used this paint before it tends to clump when it sits for a while, so this feature was a life saver. The finish was at least as good a brush job and it took half the time. I love this sprayer and will definitely use it for more projects!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Use
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked well for 1 job

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
after following all the instructions in owners manual putting 1 drop oil on the piston after cleaning the piston and the spray tip 3 times after each refill of the 1.5 qt. container the piston jammed and I cannot remove the rest of the spring assembly from the piston assembly tried to look up parts on Ryobi.com and coudnt even find the product never mind the parts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Benson, Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

20 Minute Blunder

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sorry folks, but after about 20 minutes, this unit broke down. End of story. Good luck.
Pros: Looks Great, Modern
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>