728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for ProTip Corded Sprayer

ProTip Corded Sprayer

RYOBI presents the ProTip Corded Sprayer, uniquely designed with a reversible spray tip for hassle-free use. The design of the ProTip allows the user to rotate the tip 180 degrees to clear clogs quickly and rotate back to continue spraying, enabling you to achieve the professional results you want at an affordable price. The 1.5 qt. Quick-Lock container easily locks into place to help prevent spills and allow longer time between refills. ProTip is ideal for a wide variety of painting or staining projects including decks, fences, garage doors, cabinets, closet doors, trim, storage sheds or outdoor furniture.
Overall rating:
2.917 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(84 reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
50%of customersrecommend this product39 of 78reviews
Rating Breakdown 84 reviews
2.9 out of 5
5
(20)
4
(21)
3
(5)
2
(8)
1
(30)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
50%of customersrecommend this product39 of 78reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for ProTip Corded Sprayer
Review 1 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Brownsburg, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good sprayer for the price

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just used my new sprayer last weekend. After having a little trouble with dripping, I consulted the manual. The tip was too loose. I tightened and what a difference. The only down side was when the paint got low it would "sputter". I sprayed a semi-gloss poly on a new shelf for above my bar. The finish was consistent and dried very quickly. Twice I had to reverse the tip to clear a clog. Great feature! Overall a good hobby/home sprayer.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: need to keep container at least half full
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+34points
37out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from South Carolina, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best thing since sliced bread

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I painted my whole house "two stories" with this thing. The secret is using latex paint conditioner. I had two clogs in ten gallons of paint and cleared them instantly with the reversible tip. The painters wanted $4500 and I did it for $600 with the ultra paint and have a great paint sprayer. Don't forget the conditioner.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+48points
58out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Lubbock, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just One Flaw In Design

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The designers should have created a screw on canister or a better way of latching the can to the gun. This design enables one to insert and twist the can onto the gun but while painting, the gun may vibrate the can a bit and it may come apart from the gun, as it did in my case. I was lucky the carpet was bad and was going to be replaced because when that can came aprt from the gun paint went everywhere! This is the only thing I did not like about this gun, the twist on design. It would have been better to have designed it where the can would stay better secured to the gun.
Pros: Easy Instructions
+39points
39out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Fort worth
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

so-so

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Had trouble with the sprayer not priming. Finally started working but clogs easily. Can not find parts or repair shop to ask questions.
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from detroit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

work exceptionally well

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I paint cars for a living and baught this to paint stuff in my house to prevent having to drag air lines everywhere. I've used it to spray shellac, latex, urethane, and even cut roofing tar with laquer thinner for the bottom of my tractor. I've never had a problem with it although solvents most likely aren't good for it. Most of the clogging problem is knowing the viscosity you need for your material to spray properly.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: i'd recommend taping the paint cup on
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Wake Forest, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to fill and comfortable to use

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used my new Ryobi ProTip corded sprayer this weekend to paint our shed. Found that large mouth paint container easy to fill, also like that fact that it screws back onto the sprayer completely full without making a mess. Thought that the sprayer might be front heavy when full of paint, but found it to be comfortable and balanced. Took a short break and found that the latex had gummed up a bit...Reversed the tip to clean and was back in business. Clean up of the unit was quick and easy. Very happy with the ease use and the overall quality of the sprayer.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, easy to fill
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not Good

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I want to start by saying I Love Home Depot. Saying that this sprayer was terrible. I was so frustrated with it's performance I walked out and threw the whole thing in the garbage.
Cons: poor performance
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Melbourne, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ease,good and reliable.

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the protip sprayer last weekend to spray a planter/bench combination, I like the well balanced in your hand and specially the reversible tip, I strained and thin down the paint just a little and I was able to finish the job with only reversing the tip twice, I love how ease it is to clean and to store it away for the next time.
Great unit for the price.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
23out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ProTip Corded Sprayer

Avoid this purchase

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this product to paint cabinets and had two problems from the start: 1) the paint cannister would not stay locked. Twice in less than two hours we were cleaning up spilled paint; 2) the atomizer broke. The atomizer breaking is no big deal, it comes with a second one and can easily be replaced. Luckily the paint cannister landed on the counter the first time and in the cabinet the second time and we didn't end up with paint getting under the plastic we laid out. However, it could easily have been a major disaster.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ProTip Corded Sprayer

Worst ever

PostedApril 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered online on sale. When I received it, seemed like it was a returned item (looked used with paint on the parts). I tried to use it but it didn't work. It leaked all over the paint container. I went to the store to return it. The customer service gave me an attitude and said that Home Depot had to open it to check it out before sent out. What???!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ProTip Corded Sprayer

Did not work

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Did not work. Pluged it in and nothing happened. Checked the extension cord and outlet. Everything had power but the sprayer. Easy to return. Good cust service at home depot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Benson, Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

20 Minute Blunder

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sorry folks, but after about 20 minutes, this unit broke down. End of story. Good luck.
Pros: Looks Great, Modern
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Vegas, baby!!!
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good deal for the price

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this to paint my garage. I was a little hesitant after reading the reviews, but I couldn't justify the extra $$ to get the Wagner. This sprayer did the job without a bunch of problems. I didn't have any leaking problems or have the cup come loose on me. It sprayed the primer perfectly and the latex wasn't too bad after thinning it a bit. The clean up was a little more difficult with the latex but it still wasn't bad. I did have the piston seize up on me the first day using it, I guess it wasn't pre-lubed enough by the manufacturer. I cleaned it & lubed it with the oil that came with it & it worked fine the rest of the time. The only problem I did have was spraying overhead. It will only spray about a third of the cup before losing suction & sputtering. I just had to refill more often. Otherwise it sprayed the walls perfectly. This is a great buy for the price if you don't want to do ceilings.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: not good overhead
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ProTip Corded Sprayer

Worked great on my fence

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the previous review and fortunately my experience was nothing like that. I used this to spray about a 1/4 mile of board fence around the horse pasture. The paint is a thick latex and linseed fence paint that usually goes on best with a brush. This sprayer powered right through it and I loved the self cleaning nozzle. If you've never used this paint before it tends to clump when it sits for a while, so this feature was a life saver. The finish was at least as good a brush job and it took half the time. I love this sprayer and will definitely use it for more projects!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Use
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from carpineria, ca.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Unhappy

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not unhappy, ease of use, ease of clean up, price, overall good value. I took 10 year old wicker patio furniture and gave them new life with a coat of white semi-gloss. wife and I are very happy with the results.
Only complaint, draw tube from gun to cup is too short,. Leaving 1/3 of coating in cup, tipping gun to retreive coating only resulted in "spitting" of coating. Need to lengthen "draw tube".
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: draw tube too short
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and quiet

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got this spayer for work. I also purchased the cordless version for for home.
I have spayed deck stain and latex paint. The unit it lightweight and works well. The unit is also quiet. I have a old (other brand) sprayer and that thing sounds like I'm getting electrocuted everytime I use it.
I always thin latex paint when spraying, and sofar i haven't had a clog. The reverse tip is a great change to this unit, from older models. Cleaning is also easy. Empty out the reservoir, clean it and the draw tube and bottom of the gun. Fill it with warm, clean water and spray until clear. It really cleans all internal parts.
I would recommend this and the cordless version.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Dries Quickly
+15points
21out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from phoenix arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

leaks

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
would not recommend this painter. was nothing like a power painter!! I did thin this latex paint and it still leaked out the top of the painter. I'm going to return this to home depot!!
Pros: clogs easy
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Dacula Ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Agreat price and easy too use.

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Its great Spray Gun for doing jobs around home . I was plesed with the looks and the way the spray gun handled.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks High End
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TIME IS MONEY....EVEN IF YOUR NOT A PRO!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this thing today, drove home 20 miles and had 7 wood panel doors painted in about an hour including removing the doors, setting them up and removing the hardware......I associate any errors and spattering to operator error. Just stand by with a brush ready to take care of any spattering...cause its gonna happen....
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Temecula, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best small sprayer I've ever used!!!!

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have had many Wagner sprayers over the years. I use them for the medium size projects. This Ryobi is hands down superior. It's quieter,has half the vibration and is more comfortable . The easy twist paint cup holds just the right amount not making the gun too heavy. The nozzle is top notch and sprays a consistent pattern with minimal over spray.Shot 100 ft of fence with 2 coats non-stop with no issues.
Pros: Easy to Use
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>