728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for ProTip Corded Sprayer

ProTip Corded Sprayer

RYOBI presents the ProTip Corded Sprayer, uniquely designed with a reversible spray tip for hassle-free use. The design of the ProTip allows the user to rotate the tip 180 degrees to clear clogs quickly and rotate back to continue spraying, enabling you to achieve the professional results you want at an affordable price. The 1.5 qt. Quick-Lock container easily locks into place to help prevent spills and allow longer time between refills. ProTip is ideal for a wide variety of painting or staining projects including decks, fences, garage doors, cabinets, closet doors, trim, storage sheds or outdoor furniture.
Overall rating:
2.962 / 5
3.0
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
51%of customersrecommend this product37 of 73reviews
Rating Breakdown 79 reviews
3.0 out of 5
5
(20)
4
(19)
3
(5)
2
(8)
1
(27)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
51%of customersrecommend this product37 of 73reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for ProTip Corded Sprayer
Review 1 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Brownsburg, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good sprayer for the price

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just used my new sprayer last weekend. After having a little trouble with dripping, I consulted the manual. The tip was too loose. I tightened and what a difference. The only down side was when the paint got low it would "sputter". I sprayed a semi-gloss poly on a new shelf for above my bar. The finish was consistent and dried very quickly. Twice I had to reverse the tip to clear a clog. Great feature! Overall a good hobby/home sprayer.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: need to keep container at least half full
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
30out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from South Carolina, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best thing since sliced bread

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I painted my whole house "two stories" with this thing. The secret is using latex paint conditioner. I had two clogs in ten gallons of paint and cleared them instantly with the reversible tip. The painters wanted $4500 and I did it for $600 with the ultra paint and have a great paint sprayer. Don't forget the conditioner.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+42points
52out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Lubbock, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just One Flaw In Design

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The designers should have created a screw on canister or a better way of latching the can to the gun. This design enables one to insert and twist the can onto the gun but while painting, the gun may vibrate the can a bit and it may come apart from the gun, as it did in my case. I was lucky the carpet was bad and was going to be replaced because when that can came aprt from the gun paint went everywhere! This is the only thing I did not like about this gun, the twist on design. It would have been better to have designed it where the can would stay better secured to the gun.
Pros: Easy Instructions
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from detroit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

work exceptionally well

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I paint cars for a living and baught this to paint stuff in my house to prevent having to drag air lines everywhere. I've used it to spray shellac, latex, urethane, and even cut roofing tar with laquer thinner for the bottom of my tractor. I've never had a problem with it although solvents most likely aren't good for it. Most of the clogging problem is knowing the viscosity you need for your material to spray properly.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: i'd recommend taping the paint cup on
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Wake Forest, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to fill and comfortable to use

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used my new Ryobi ProTip corded sprayer this weekend to paint our shed. Found that large mouth paint container easy to fill, also like that fact that it screws back onto the sprayer completely full without making a mess. Thought that the sprayer might be front heavy when full of paint, but found it to be comfortable and balanced. Took a short break and found that the latex had gummed up a bit...Reversed the tip to clean and was back in business. Clean up of the unit was quick and easy. Very happy with the ease use and the overall quality of the sprayer.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, easy to fill
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Benson, Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

20 Minute Blunder

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sorry folks, but after about 20 minutes, this unit broke down. End of story. Good luck.
Pros: Looks Great, Modern
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Melbourne, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ease,good and reliable.

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the protip sprayer last weekend to spray a planter/bench combination, I like the well balanced in your hand and specially the reversible tip, I strained and thin down the paint just a little and I was able to finish the job with only reversing the tip twice, I love how ease it is to clean and to store it away for the next time.
Great unit for the price.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
22out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from carpineria, ca.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Unhappy

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not unhappy, ease of use, ease of clean up, price, overall good value. I took 10 year old wicker patio furniture and gave them new life with a coat of white semi-gloss. wife and I are very happy with the results.
Only complaint, draw tube from gun to cup is too short,. Leaving 1/3 of coating in cup, tipping gun to retreive coating only resulted in "spitting" of coating. Need to lengthen "draw tube".
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: draw tube too short
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from phoenix arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

leaks

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
would not recommend this painter. was nothing like a power painter!! I did thin this latex paint and it still leaked out the top of the painter. I'm going to return this to home depot!!
Pros: clogs easy
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ProTip Corded Sprayer

Avoid this purchase

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this product to paint cabinets and had two problems from the start: 1) the paint cannister would not stay locked. Twice in less than two hours we were cleaning up spilled paint; 2) the atomizer broke. The atomizer breaking is no big deal, it comes with a second one and can easily be replaced. Luckily the paint cannister landed on the counter the first time and in the cabinet the second time and we didn't end up with paint getting under the plastic we laid out. However, it could easily have been a major disaster.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Dacula Ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Agreat price and easy too use.

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Its great Spray Gun for doing jobs around home . I was plesed with the looks and the way the spray gun handled.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks High End
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Littleton, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

ok for what I needed

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this on a home depot deal of the day, price driven. I have a very large deck that I have to stain. The last thing I wanted to do was hand dip a rag or paint brush, plus I had spindles. The sprayer definitely spattered. Was horrible to use as a spray down option, however it did what I needed. I sprayed, then rubbed in. Didn't care about spatter because I blended by hand. It helped on the spindles because I could spray in 1 stroke and get the stain on them, then rub around. It would have taken me a lot longer the old way, but if this was paint I would have been furious. The motor is very quiet, it is light weight easy to use. I did read reviews and some have solved the spatter issue. I would not have paid 1 cent more and still think it is over priced. Could never have used it in doors, or for paint, but okay to do a quick transfer of what you are using to pallet ( walls/floors) but expect to smooth with brush roller or rag.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: spatter spray
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ProTip Corded Sprayer

Worked great on my fence

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the previous review and fortunately my experience was nothing like that. I used this to spray about a 1/4 mile of board fence around the horse pasture. The paint is a thick latex and linseed fence paint that usually goes on best with a brush. This sprayer powered right through it and I loved the self cleaning nozzle. If you've never used this paint before it tends to clump when it sits for a while, so this feature was a life saver. The finish was at least as good a brush job and it took half the time. I love this sprayer and will definitely use it for more projects!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Use
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and quiet

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got this spayer for work. I also purchased the cordless version for for home.
I have spayed deck stain and latex paint. The unit it lightweight and works well. The unit is also quiet. I have a old (other brand) sprayer and that thing sounds like I'm getting electrocuted everytime I use it.
I always thin latex paint when spraying, and sofar i haven't had a clog. The reverse tip is a great change to this unit, from older models. Cleaning is also easy. Empty out the reservoir, clean it and the draw tube and bottom of the gun. Fill it with warm, clean water and spray until clear. It really cleans all internal parts.
I would recommend this and the cordless version.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Dries Quickly
+15points
21out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TIME IS MONEY....EVEN IF YOUR NOT A PRO!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this thing today, drove home 20 miles and had 7 wood panel doors painted in about an hour including removing the doors, setting them up and removing the hardware......I associate any errors and spattering to operator error. Just stand by with a brush ready to take care of any spattering...cause its gonna happen....
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from somewhere in Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of time and paint

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this to paint the entire interior of our house. Product never worked right. It constantly clogged even with thinned paint. Also the paint container slips off the gun. My son was using it on a ladder and the paint container slipped off the gun and hit the ground. I had paint all over my legs, my clothes, my shoes. Also we had to replace the atomizer with the spare after 1 use. With all the clogs and the spills we wasted so much time and so much paint. Plus when you're almost out of paint it sputters paint all over your walls.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Kentucky
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Would not recommend purchasing

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a professional painter. I have a larger Titan paint sprayer but needed a small paint sprayer for a small project (painting half brick walls in a sun room). Liked the reversible tip so I thought I would try this sprayer. Used an interior paint with a Matte finish. It sprayed fine for first ten minutes although I had to reverse the tip after setting it down to move my spray protector pieces of cardboard...not more than a minute of sitting each time. After about 15 mins. of use, I had to set up to spray a larger wall and the sprayer set for about 5 mins. When I went to use it again, it would not spray again, even when I reversed the tip. I kept reversing the tip for a few minutes and could not get it to spray. So, I took the unit apart to clean the spray parts under hot water. After I came back and put everything back together within ten minutes, the piston had become so hot that it locked up and I could not even get the piston out of the unit. I cleaned everything up and returned it to HD for a refund. Would not recommend purchasing this unit even. Not sure what the problem was.
Cons: not well built
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ProTip Corded Sprayer

spray pattern was nice but leaked a lot

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the seal around the top of the paint container does not seem to be tight enough. paint constantly leaked out anytime you tipped the sprayer to spray up even a bit. i was covered in paint dripping and my hands looked like i had bathed in paint.
Cons: Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
from Temecula, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best small sprayer I've ever used!!!!

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have had many Wagner sprayers over the years. I use them for the medium size projects. This Ryobi is hands down superior. It's quieter,has half the vibration and is more comfortable . The easy twist paint cup holds just the right amount not making the gun too heavy. The nozzle is top notch and sprays a consistent pattern with minimal over spray.Shot 100 ft of fence with 2 coats non-stop with no issues.
Pros: Easy to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ProTip Corded Sprayer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not what I expected

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Returned it after the first use. No even spray and the nosel kept leaking. I tried the conditioner and cleaning and tightening it but it operated the same.
After reading many of the reviews I was hoping for better results and that I wouldn't have to paint the outdoor furniture by hand.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>