728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Home Office Furniture or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase

Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase

The Brexley Collection offers carefully tailored furniture of finely bonded leather that sits atop artfully-crafted wooden frames to realize a time-honored style of design. The Brexley Chestnut Bookcase coordinates with the entire Brexley collection and is crafted for lasting durability with solid wood and veneer construction. Ideal for your living room, family room, den or office, this attractive bookcase has a warm and elegant chestnut finish that will complement a wide variety of decor.
Overall rating:
4.441 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(118 reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product108 of 115reviews
Rating Breakdown 118 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(72)
4
(33)
3
(8)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product108 of 115reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
Review 1 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

An excellent bookcase for a great price!

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own a small store and was looking for a bookcase to hold various items. After much searching based on color,durability and price I bought 2 of these bookcases. To my pleasant surprise these are better than I expected. I read the reviews both here and other places and did not find any problems putting them together(eg-mismatched holes etc). Yes it takes about an hour for the first one and 30mins the second one and if you use a cordless screwdriver-much faster. They are sturdy,make a beautiful presentation to hold anything not just books. The 'X' bracing on the sides give it a much more 'restoration' look without adding extra dollars and there are back bars so items can't slide once they hit the back. For the $130 spent on each one well worth the price especially compared to ones twice the price. It is made of mdf w/veneer so caution should be observed for scratching etc but can be fixed w/ Old English dark scratch cover.
Pros: Rich Looking, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional
Cons: can scratch easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
from GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect for my needs

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a 62 female. The box was very heavy but I took a few pieces from the box at a time. I used the instructions from the company website which were much clearer for me. All the holes aligned perfectly and was easy to put together. I did use a 2nd person to put the second side on, otherwise it would have been frustrating to align. I am using it as a shoe rack in my closet to have easy access to each item. My boots are stacked on the top shelf.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: recommend 2 people to assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Excellent quality, good price

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very attractive bookcase: good quality wood, attractive finish, sturdy and well-designed. The color complements the other wood tones in the room. Their simple style works with modern and traditional furniture and has made my studio look more professional and refined. I'm considering getting matching pieces to house all my art supplies. I bought 2 because of the excellent price. My son assembled them both in about 2 hours. As I remember, the delivery was very prompt.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Rich Looking, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Well Made, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
from Essex Jct, VT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the Brexley Chestnut 5-shelf bookcase.

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have one. Really want a second one to put alongside first one. Can't get it. Why not since it is listed as available "in store only"? Williston Home Depot doesn't have it. Very annoyed! And I find the website search for other stores less than easy to use.
This product is a great piece of furniture. When we received it, the first one was shipped, there was damage to the top piece. A phone call was all it took and a replacement came within a few days. The bookcase does need to be put together but patience and perseverance paid off.
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Functional, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
from Eugene, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy and Beautiful

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a quality piece of furniture that looks much more expensive than it was. My husband was also impressed with the way it went together.
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Well Made, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love these!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have three of these! They are very attractive and simple to assemble. They look like I paid a lot more for them. I highly recommend them!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Well Made, Nice Design
Cons: cannot think of any cons!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I came back to buy a second. Enough Said :-)

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the price, the unit is quite beautiful and seems well enough built that it will last many years.
For me, the size is great. Shelves are nicely spaced for larger books; this also provides an openness feeling - I try to mix decor along with the books so the taller shelves don't look cramped.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
from Johnstown, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks very nice!

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like this shelving unit. It is sturdy. It was a little difficult to match all the holes up by myself, but I did it. It was also easier to use my ratch driver than what was provided with the accessories. I think it is a good value for the price.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase

Gorgeous and sturdy

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought five of the five shelf bookcases and two of the two shelf ones for a new office I was moving into that wasn't all that big. These bookcases give a really substantial look to the space but their airy design keeps my office from feeling cramped and claustophobic. Everyone who sees them comments on how beautiful these are.
Although the shelves aren't movable, they accommodated very well my large books, and my smaller ones.
I gave these bookcases four stars instead of five (even though I gave five stars to appearance, comfort, quality, and value) only because the assembly was a bear. In fact, I couldn't manage it myself and had to have someone else put the bookcases together.
Pros: Rich Looking, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful piece!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are very happy with the book shelves we ordered. We bought two but they are larger than we thought so we are only using one in the office. It was relatively easy to put together and the construction is of very high quality.
Pros: Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Functional, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good solid bookcases with a handsome finish but some damages on all

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
nice bookcases for the price. Very solid, will hold all your books. I like the top shelf for beauty and utility -- can be used as a sixth shelf. good value for the price.
The downside: each and every bookcase -- and I purchased 13! --- had flaws of one kind or another, nicks and scratches in the wood finish being the most common. In others, the top shelf didn't quite fit as snugly as they should. However, none of the problems were big enough for me to want to go through the hassle of returning them. In the end, they look fine.
Assembly was a pain and a half, with lots of parts. But understandable given the solidity of the piece.
Pros: Rich Looking, Sturdy, Looks Great, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
from Maine
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy and attractive

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Shipped quick. Assembled easily. This is a sturdy, weighty, good-looking bookcase. I bought two. Thinking now of ordering the matching low piece.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Well Made, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
from Florida, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

...and then the last piece was missing

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got this on sale at Home Depot. It was a great deal. I read some reviews that mentioned a part was missing from the packaging, but I went ahead and bought it. I had the entire thing assembled and just about ready to stand up. Went to put on the 4th "foot" annnd... it was missing. The piece was not lost, as I was assembling the unit in an otherwise empty room. So I just took off the other 3 feet and stood it up. No biggie really. Thing looks great and I want another one (with all the parts of course).
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
from Orange County, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ended up buying the desk, chair, bookstand, and the computer stand. I'm happy with all the pieces I bought and they look great. The desk & chair assembles easily and quickly. The computer stand and Bookcase, takes a little more time, a little more frustration, but I was able to complete by myself. I would suggest using a standard screwdriver versus the in-packaged tool in will go 20x faster and DO NOT use a cordless screwdriver, as it will strip the top of the screw. But they give you more parts than you'll need.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: suggest using a standard screwdriver
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value for the price

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a sturdy unit. It was very heavy and some of the shelves had some slight dings. I have called the company I am waiting for them to see if they respond.
They should have provided wood glue for the dowels as they are loose, if you purchase definitely plan on using wood glue to hold everything together.
Over all its a nice unit for the price, with some minor issues.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: Easily Damaged
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These shelves are very sturdy.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was very pleased at how sturdy and attractive these shelves are. They are very versatile, books and or china pieces. The only thing that I was not pleased with is that there were numerous chips and gouges found when packing was removed. Still I would buy them again.
Pros: Rich Looking, Sturdy, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design, nice wood color
Cons: Easily Damaged, shipping/packing damage, took a long time to assemble, cost more in ohio than in alabama
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase

like the shelf

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
really like the shelf. looks good...nice finish and color. like a review i read before I bought it said, the edges on a couple of the shelves broke off in a couple of places.(half inch pieces) I just used a brown sharpie and colored it. looks fine.
Pros: Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
from Alabama
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Sturdy Bookcase

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Having read most of the negative reviews of the difficulty in putting this bookcase together, I was very concerned about purchasing it. (I weight merely 110 lbs and could not even drag the 70+box along the floor if I had to.) Anyway, I decided to give it a try. It took me 4 hours and the help from a friend, to get the bookcase together. I do not regularly put things together, but I just carefully read the instructions, and slowly but surely figured everything out. The 2nd bookcase was together in about 1 1/2 hours. The one big negative of this bookcase is the chemical odor it emits. So the 2nd bookcase, before putting it together and out of the box, was placed in a breezeway. With the door to the carport open and a fan to blow the smell outside, I was able to get rid of most of the odor. The 2nd bookcase hardly emits an odor now while the 1st bookcase still does. I am pleased with my purchase and myself for having tried this project and succeeded.
Pros: Rich Looking, Sturdy, Looks Great, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: awful chemical odor
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase

Looks great when assembled.

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Comfort 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice looking. Decent quality for price. Blends perfectly with my existing, expensive, office furniture.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Vibrant Color, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Nice Design
Cons: was missing 2 pieces
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
from Statesville, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

heavy duty book shelf

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I saw this online.Read the reviews.Some were not good. But I liked the look So I went to my locale Home Depot and it was on sale for 89.00. Bought it , got it home and had it together in 1/2 hr. Very easy to assemble. I needed something to house my stereo system and my album collection. It it strong and very sturdy. I liked it so much I went back the same day and bought another one.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design, great price for a gooding looking book shelf
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>