728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase

Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase

Keep books and small items organized and off of the floor with this Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase. 5 fixed shelves offer instant storage options in an attractive style. Features warm chestnut finish on solid wood/veneer construction. Sides have X-shape detailing and decorative cap accents. Overall dimensions: 14-1/2 in. D x 31-3/4 in. W x 70 in. H.
Overall rating:
4.436 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(117 reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product107 of 114reviews
Rating Breakdown 117 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(71)
4
(33)
3
(8)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product107 of 114reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
Review 1 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
loveit
from GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect for my needs

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a 62 female. The box was very heavy but I took a few pieces from the box at a time. I used the instructions from the company website which were much clearer for me. All the holes aligned perfectly and was easy to put together. I did use a 2nd person to put the second side on, otherwise it would have been frustrating to align. I am using it as a shoe rack in my closet to have easy access to each item. My boots are stacked on the top shelf.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: recommend 2 people to assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
Seaguystore
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

An excellent bookcase for a great price!

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own a small store and was looking for a bookcase to hold various items. After much searching based on color,durability and price I bought 2 of these bookcases. To my pleasant surprise these are better than I expected. I read the reviews both here and other places and did not find any problems putting them together(eg-mismatched holes etc). Yes it takes about an hour for the first one and 30mins the second one and if you use a cordless screwdriver-much faster. They are sturdy,make a beautiful presentation to hold anything not just books. The 'X' bracing on the sides give it a much more 'restoration' look without adding extra dollars and there are back bars so items can't slide once they hit the back. For the $130 spent on each one well worth the price especially compared to ones twice the price. It is made of mdf w/veneer so caution should be observed for scratching etc but can be fixed w/ Old English dark scratch cover.
Pros: Rich Looking, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional
Cons: can scratch easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
Ozma
from Eugene, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy and Beautiful

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a quality piece of furniture that looks much more expensive than it was. My husband was also impressed with the way it went together.
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Well Made, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
Artist
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Excellent quality, good price

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very attractive bookcase: good quality wood, attractive finish, sturdy and well-designed. The color complements the other wood tones in the room. Their simple style works with modern and traditional furniture and has made my studio look more professional and refined. I'm considering getting matching pieces to house all my art supplies. I bought 2 because of the excellent price. My son assembled them both in about 2 hours. As I remember, the delivery was very prompt.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Rich Looking, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Well Made, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
Sherie
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love these!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have three of these! They are very attractive and simple to assemble. They look like I paid a lot more for them. I highly recommend them!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Well Made, Nice Design
Cons: cannot think of any cons!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
TO13
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I came back to buy a second. Enough Said :-)

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the price, the unit is quite beautiful and seems well enough built that it will last many years.
For me, the size is great. Shelves are nicely spaced for larger books; this also provides an openness feeling - I try to mix decor along with the books so the taller shelves don't look cramped.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
Loki

Gorgeous and sturdy

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought five of the five shelf bookcases and two of the two shelf ones for a new office I was moving into that wasn't all that big. These bookcases give a really substantial look to the space but their airy design keeps my office from feeling cramped and claustophobic. Everyone who sees them comments on how beautiful these are.
Although the shelves aren't movable, they accommodated very well my large books, and my smaller ones.
I gave these bookcases four stars instead of five (even though I gave five stars to appearance, comfort, quality, and value) only because the assembly was a bear. In fact, I couldn't manage it myself and had to have someone else put the bookcases together.
Pros: Rich Looking, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
librarygirl
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good solid bookcases with a handsome finish but some damages on all

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
nice bookcases for the price. Very solid, will hold all your books. I like the top shelf for beauty and utility -- can be used as a sixth shelf. good value for the price.
The downside: each and every bookcase -- and I purchased 13! --- had flaws of one kind or another, nicks and scratches in the wood finish being the most common. In others, the top shelf didn't quite fit as snugly as they should. However, none of the problems were big enough for me to want to go through the hassle of returning them. In the end, they look fine.
Assembly was a pain and a half, with lots of parts. But understandable given the solidity of the piece.
Pros: Rich Looking, Sturdy, Looks Great, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
Roscoe
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful piece!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are very happy with the book shelves we ordered. We bought two but they are larger than we thought so we are only using one in the office. It was relatively easy to put together and the construction is of very high quality.
Pros: Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Functional, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
Blak
from Florida, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

...and then the last piece was missing

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got this on sale at Home Depot. It was a great deal. I read some reviews that mentioned a part was missing from the packaging, but I went ahead and bought it. I had the entire thing assembled and just about ready to stand up. Went to put on the 4th "foot" annnd... it was missing. The piece was not lost, as I was assembling the unit in an otherwise empty room. So I just took off the other 3 feet and stood it up. No biggie really. Thing looks great and I want another one (with all the parts of course).
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
Jim92780
from Orange County, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ended up buying the desk, chair, bookstand, and the computer stand. I'm happy with all the pieces I bought and they look great. The desk & chair assembles easily and quickly. The computer stand and Bookcase, takes a little more time, a little more frustration, but I was able to complete by myself. I would suggest using a standard screwdriver versus the in-packaged tool in will go 20x faster and DO NOT use a cordless screwdriver, as it will strip the top of the screw. But they give you more parts than you'll need.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: suggest using a standard screwdriver
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
Sally
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These shelves are very sturdy.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was very pleased at how sturdy and attractive these shelves are. They are very versatile, books and or china pieces. The only thing that I was not pleased with is that there were numerous chips and gouges found when packing was removed. Still I would buy them again.
Pros: Rich Looking, Sturdy, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design, nice wood color
Cons: Easily Damaged, shipping/packing damage, took a long time to assemble, cost more in ohio than in alabama
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
JDBKLYN
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value for the price

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a sturdy unit. It was very heavy and some of the shelves had some slight dings. I have called the company I am waiting for them to see if they respond.
They should have provided wood glue for the dowels as they are loose, if you purchase definitely plan on using wood glue to hold everything together.
Over all its a nice unit for the price, with some minor issues.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: Easily Damaged
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
MaryLou
from Johnstown, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks very nice!

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like this shelving unit. It is sturdy. It was a little difficult to match all the holes up by myself, but I did it. It was also easier to use my ratch driver than what was provided with the accessories. I think it is a good value for the price.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
beaux

like the shelf

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
really like the shelf. looks good...nice finish and color. like a review i read before I bought it said, the edges on a couple of the shelves broke off in a couple of places.(half inch pieces) I just used a brown sharpie and colored it. looks fine.
Pros: Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
DavidinSC
from Summerville, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product, as advertised.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Reasonably easy to assemble. Good quality wood and finish. Have had two of them loaded with books and the shelves have not warped under the weight, very good!
Pros: Rich Looking, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
SEENC
from NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good, solid and inexpensive bookcase

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Attractive; solid; lots of space for books and other items; one person put it together without difficulty. Slight scratches on edges but hard to see and each order may not have scratches. Great for the price.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: slight imperfections on edges but hard to notice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
DOM23
from Maine
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy and attractive

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Comfort 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Shipped quick. Assembled easily. This is a sturdy, weighty, good-looking bookcase. I bought two. Thinking now of ordering the matching low piece.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Well Made, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
CoCo
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very sturdy. Compliment to any room.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This book shelf is very heavy, went together nicely.
No problems.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Looks Great, Well Made, Nice Design
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brexley Chestnut 5-Shelf Bookcase
Chrepi
from Cedar City, UT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very happy with this product. The picture available when ordering does not do it justice. They look great!!!

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love these shelves. They were darker than the picture, which is great. They look much more expensive than they are. Ordered three shelf units; after assembling the first one, the others were a snap to assemble. One person assembly was fine. Purchasing online was easy; measurements exact; and, home delivery made it the process great!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>