728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent

Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent

Protect your yard from nuisance animals 24/7 with the Havahart Spray Away motion activated sprinkler. Spray Away uses only water and noise to effectively and instantly repel animals that enter your garden, yard and pond area. Spray Away works by detecting an animal’s heat and movement with its infrared sensor. Once the unit senses the animal in its path it releases a short and startling burst of water to scare the animal off your property. This motion activated sprinkler will defend up to 1,900 square feet with no harmful chemicals. The exclusive Adjustable Sensor Eye coupled with nine different sensitivity settings makes Spray Away the most innovative animal repellent sprinkler on the market. Just point the Adjustable Sensor Eye ‘up’ or ‘down’ to sense the animal. Choose from nine sensitivity settings to target your specific animal and distance. Havahart has also made Spray Away easy to place in your yard with its Step-in stake design. Simply, step down into the foot stirrup and easily insert the stake in your desired area. Unlike other motion activated sprinkler that leak water; Spray Away was designed with leak free engineering in mind. Spray Away has only one hose connection directly on the body of the unit to prevent leaking. Its smart warning system, Spray Away’s LED indicator light will flash when it senses movement, and to alert you when batteries are running low so there’s time to replace them and ensure your yard will never be unprotected.
Overall rating:
3.591 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product14 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(3)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product14 of 22reviews
Customer reviews for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
Review 1 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
tresbo
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FUN AND EFFECTIVE

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wish I had known of this product a long time ago! I bought it to keep cats from using my yard as a litter box. It works to keep deer away too. Simple, and good range, with good sensitivity adjustment. Love this product. I would find no need for a more expensive one.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
Doc766
from Magee, MS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Scares 'em away and keeps 'em away!

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great way to keep pesky critters away from sensitive areas around the home! I set my Spray Away unit up to keep the armadillos from digging up my lawn in the back of my house. It was easy to assemble and set up very simply. I left it on and set the sensor to about half way. When the armadillos get within range they start at the sound and scurry as far away as the can in a hurry. The squirting action also keeps the squirrels from getting to my pecan trees. The intermittent action prevents the critters from becoming accustomed to the unit. I like this non-lethal remedy to keeping pesky critters at bay.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, keeps the grass green
Cons: cannot adjust duration of action
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
Saber
from Willis, Mi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Use Care when handling!

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We live on a pond. We get geese and geese are very messy. We started setting this up in our yard to keep the geese out of the yard but while tightening the hose to the machine head, my husband dropped it. And it broke. The machine head is very heavy and the eye sensors very fragile. We called the 800 number and they shipped us out a new one right away and with no hassle. Once we got the new one set up, it works great! It has been keeping the geese out of our yard wonderfully! And it waters the lawn at the same time. No more goose droppings in the yard!
Pros: Functionality, great customer service
Cons: easily broken
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
tvs75
from Costa Mesa, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Tool With Caveats

PostedJune 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This tool is easy to set up and install. I have used it on and off for about a month now. It does not leak (but I don't have mine in direct sunlight either).
I tested it on my neighbor's dog, so I have seen it work. And I have heard the water blasts in the background.
The long spike makes it very sturdy in the ground.
It does however connect to a garden hose to operate. There lies the caveat. Users will have to leave their water on (at minimal water pressure) for it to work over night. If there is a flaw, that is it. I am not comfortable doing that all the time -- only when I know there is an issue going on.
The only other issue, is that it is not all that pleasing on the eye. But if it gets rid of cats and squirrels in my flower bed....so what!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
olddog
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Pest deterrent

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had a neighbor and her dog constantly wanting to use my front lawn as waste area without picking up afterwards. Dog urine turning several spots yellow from constant everyday "dog watering" . After asking the dog owner to please stop this with no positive response---now the spray away truly keeps them moving down the sidewalk to other areas. Seems its really hard to find the "right" spot for marking my yard while constantly being sprayed!!!!!
Recommending it to all my neighbors so we keep the pest and her dog on their side of the neighborhood
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
PBro1966
from Antioch, CA
Gender:Male

Not good for smaller critters like squirrels

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you want to scare away larger animals, my guess is this product will work like a dream. However, for smaller critters like squirrels, this product is not effective. Even at the most sensitive setting, the sensor does not pick up the movement of squirrels very accurately. They sometimes pass by the sensor 2 or 3 times before it actually "sees" them and sprays. I watched a squirrel walk past the sensor, climb a tree, grab a fruit and walk back past the sensor. The sensor only went off as it passed by with fruit in its mouth. It made him run a little faster at that point, but then it was too late.
Pros: Easy to Install, Durable
Cons: not as effective with smaller animals
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
CGoodloe
from Clovis, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Keeps the cats away!

PostedJune 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have neighbor cats who use my flower bed as their personal toilet. I plugged this little baby into a short hose and stuck it right in the middle of the toilet area. Those cats are a little mad at me now.
This was easy to set up. Instructions were simple. Works as stated on the paperwork. Need to purchase a hose long enough to reach a faucet to this unit. Because of this, it works best where a hose can be hidden behind bushes or something unless you don't mind having a hose on the ground out in the open. I use it in the front yard and I have roses hiding the hose part.
This unit has different sensitivity settings, spray levels, and distances. Can be adjusted to set wide area or narrow area spray.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
IDJP
from Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great features, poor engineering of water supply connection

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installation has been a serious challenge and I have every tool know to man. Two calls to the Havahart service team resulted in install recommendations and assistance but not a satisfactory outcome. Bought two units. The hose connection to both unites leaks significantly even with significant effort to reconnect and tighten the connection, replacement of connection washers and various approaches. Very time consuming, frustrating and clearly poorly engineered connection. Giving up and returning both units to our friendly local Home Depot
Cons: very poorly designed water supply connection
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
JoeFromOH
from Warren, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to work well

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live in a wooded area and have all kinds of creatures around. I wanted to keep them away from my house and flower beds. It was easy to set up and I tested it myself by walking in front of it. It seems to work well. I haven't actually seen it work on an animal yet but that's because I haven't seen any around that part of the house since it's been set up so I'm assuming that it has indeed scared them off at some point. My only concern is having to leave the garden hose turned on 24/7. I just worry about something breaking or leaking but so far there has not been an issue.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
jamie
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

sprinkler head

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
worked fine for a couple of weeks then came home and the sprinkler head popped out and will not stay in will have to send back
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
Patrick
from Seabeck, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Spray away works!

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
so far the spray Away works better than any product I have used to keep deer from dinning on our lace leaf maple! That is if I don't forget to turn on the water!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
JeffH
from CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Motion Sprinkler

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this for our pond to keep the cranes out that eat our Koi fish. Easy to install. Have had no more problems with cranes again... Yippee!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
bonron
from La Verne, Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The item will work as advertised,,,keeps those pesky critters out of the back yard.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
Nate
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Chases away just about anything

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have problems with deer eating our cherry tree.
This sprinkler will chase away just about anything. I tested it up to 30 feet away.
This also makes a good toy for the kidos and would probably keep people from cutting across your yard.
There is an adjustable knob on the back for range.
See video for to see how it works. Sorry, I wasn't actually able to get a video of it chasing the deer away.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
Gowe
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Doesn't Work

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like another reviewer, we have armadillos tearing up the yard.It was easy to set up.However, for us, the product doesn't repel them at all.However, even on a low sensitivity setting(5) it turns on when cars drive down the street at a distance of over 25 feet. Also, because it is made of plastic, I doubt that it will last long in the Texas heat.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
061939
from hayward ca 94541
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The motion actived sprinkler is GREAT. I had a cat problem, and I do not own a cat..The first sprinkler went of 35 times.

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like I said,I had a cat problem,after I Installed the sprinkler no more cats in my yard. the first night It went of 35 times..End of cat problem. It's a great to get rid of unwanted cats...
Pros: Functionality, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
Brian

Poor quality renders product worthless

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had 2 problems with the motion activated sprinkler. First: The sprinkler head sometimes popped out of the sprinkler body due to water pressure. The manufacturer sent me an unsolicited replacement sprinkler; this must be a known defect. Second: The motion detector false detected too often. I tried several locations and several sensitivity settings. I suspect it was tripping on shadows or sunlight filtering through the trees. I could not use the product because of all the false triggers; even with the sensitivity turned way down.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
LKLESVll
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works great keeping the deer away!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have tried many approaches to deer repellant including spray repellants and fencing trying to have a small vegtable garden. All failed eventually. Once we installed the first unit we got protection not just for the garden area but our entire back yard. This is the second unit and it stands guard over our front yard plants. The water spray doesn't have to actually hit the deer, the sound of it starting up spooks them away when they trip the sprinkler from 50 or 60 feet away.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, performs as advertised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
Enginerd
from Flowery Branch, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better entertainment for the kids than at keeping rabbits away

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My experience with this product was that in order to keep it close enough to the ground to be set off by varmints, it became less sensitive to deer. If I raised it up to ward off deer and stray goats, the rabbits would have a field day. The neighborhood kids loved playing games with it though.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
HostaLady
from Snohomish, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great idea, but drips constantly

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit leaks water constantly. Havahart sent a new sprinkler head and that didn't help. We are still using it to try to discourage deer from eating my flowers and hostas. Good sensitivity and range, just wish it didn't drip!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: leaks constantly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>