728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent

Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent

Protect your yard from nuisance animals 24/7 with the Havahart Spray Away motion activated sprinkler. Spray Away uses only water and noise to effectively and instantly repel animals that enter your garden, yard and pond area. Spray Away works by detecting an animal’s heat and movement with its infrared sensor. Once the unit senses the animal in its path it releases a short and startling burst of water to scare the animal off your property. This motion activated sprinkler will defend up to 1,900 square feet with no harmful chemicals. The exclusive Adjustable Sensor Eye coupled with nine different sensitivity settings makes Spray Away the most innovative animal repellent sprinkler on the market. Just point the Adjustable Sensor Eye ‘up’ or ‘down’ to sense the animal. Choose from nine sensitivity settings to target your specific animal and distance. Havahart has also made Spray Away easy to place in your yard with its Step-in stake design. Simply, step down into the foot stirrup and easily insert the stake in your desired area. Unlike other motion activated sprinkler that leak water; Spray Away was designed with leak free engineering in mind. Spray Away has only one hose connection directly on the body of the unit to prevent leaking. Its smart warning system, Spray Away’s LED indicator light will flash when it senses movement, and to alert you when batteries are running low so there’s time to replace them and ensure your yard will never be unprotected.
Overall rating:
3.63 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
63%of customersrecommend this product17 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(3)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
63%of customersrecommend this product17 of 27reviews
Customer reviews for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
Review 1 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FUN AND EFFECTIVE

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wish I had known of this product a long time ago! I bought it to keep cats from using my yard as a litter box. It works to keep deer away too. Simple, and good range, with good sensitivity adjustment. Love this product. I would find no need for a more expensive one.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from Kingston, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works but as other reviewer stated "with caveats"

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you don't mind frustration, this is the product for you. Fitting to hose is a weak point. After tightening with a wrench, have walked away and watched it blow the hose right off the fitting. We have blown out two hoses and we have decided our water pressure is too high. So we have turned the spigot as low as possible. So far, so good but if you are on public water, be aware of the pressure issue. Now, I have sat and watched these (we purchased two) go off for no reason whatsoever......weird. Another reviewer had outlined a plan to connect these directly to PVC pipe - I think that is the way to go. Plus your hoses are not being used by the sprayer. Pain in the butt to disconnect if you want to use your hose for something else.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from Magee, MS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Scares 'em away and keeps 'em away!

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great way to keep pesky critters away from sensitive areas around the home! I set my Spray Away unit up to keep the armadillos from digging up my lawn in the back of my house. It was easy to assemble and set up very simply. I left it on and set the sensor to about half way. When the armadillos get within range they start at the sound and scurry as far away as the can in a hurry. The squirting action also keeps the squirrels from getting to my pecan trees. The intermittent action prevents the critters from becoming accustomed to the unit. I like this non-lethal remedy to keeping pesky critters at bay.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, keeps the grass green
Cons: cannot adjust duration of action
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from Placerville, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not happy with this!

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It would come on during the day numerous times with NO animal (deer) in sight.(also night time) I believe there is something wrong with the electronics in this unit as I tried two different ones and had the same problem with both. Returning it and will try another brand. Don't buy!!! VERY UNHAPPY with this product. Deer are consuming my roses and I really needed some help!!!
Cons: did not function correctly!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from Willis, Mi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Use Care when handling!

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We live on a pond. We get geese and geese are very messy. We started setting this up in our yard to keep the geese out of the yard but while tightening the hose to the machine head, my husband dropped it. And it broke. The machine head is very heavy and the eye sensors very fragile. We called the 800 number and they shipped us out a new one right away and with no hassle. Once we got the new one set up, it works great! It has been keeping the geese out of our yard wonderfully! And it waters the lawn at the same time. No more goose droppings in the yard!
Pros: Functionality, great customer service
Cons: easily broken
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from Costa Mesa, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Tool With Caveats

PostedJune 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This tool is easy to set up and install. I have used it on and off for about a month now. It does not leak (but I don't have mine in direct sunlight either).
I tested it on my neighbor's dog, so I have seen it work. And I have heard the water blasts in the background.
The long spike makes it very sturdy in the ground.
It does however connect to a garden hose to operate. There lies the caveat. Users will have to leave their water on (at minimal water pressure) for it to work over night. If there is a flaw, that is it. I am not comfortable doing that all the time -- only when I know there is an issue going on.
The only other issue, is that it is not all that pleasing on the eye. But if it gets rid of cats and squirrels in my flower bed....so what!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Pest deterrent

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had a neighbor and her dog constantly wanting to use my front lawn as waste area without picking up afterwards. Dog urine turning several spots yellow from constant everyday "dog watering" . After asking the dog owner to please stop this with no positive response---now the spray away truly keeps them moving down the sidewalk to other areas. Seems its really hard to find the "right" spot for marking my yard while constantly being sprayed!!!!!
Recommending it to all my neighbors so we keep the pest and her dog on their side of the neighborhood
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from Antioch, CA
Gender:Male

Not good for smaller critters like squirrels

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you want to scare away larger animals, my guess is this product will work like a dream. However, for smaller critters like squirrels, this product is not effective. Even at the most sensitive setting, the sensor does not pick up the movement of squirrels very accurately. They sometimes pass by the sensor 2 or 3 times before it actually "sees" them and sprays. I watched a squirrel walk past the sensor, climb a tree, grab a fruit and walk back past the sensor. The sensor only went off as it passed by with fruit in its mouth. It made him run a little faster at that point, but then it was too late.
Pros: Easy to Install, Durable
Cons: not as effective with smaller animals
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from Portola, CA 96122, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An inexpensive animal controller

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this sprinkler instead of going to the expense and trouble of building a deer fence around my wife's garden. So far, there has been no damage to the plants from deer or other herbivores. I opted to run a PVC pipe to the location to prevent possible hose rupture. The pipe comes vertically up under the sprinkler and attaches to it using a PVC hose bib adapter that I also picked up at Home Depot. There was one issue with the sprinkler. About 2 days after installation, the sprinkler head popped out of the fitting that mounts it to the sensor unit. Fortunately, the "o-ring" and plastic lock retainer were still in the unit. I removed threaded fitting and snapped the parts back together. I have not had an issue since. I had a little fun paying a neighbor kid to try to sneak through the protected area, she never made it. Couldn't even get close to plants without setting off the sprinkler. When set off, the sprinkler runs for only a few seconds so it does not effect watering schedule of garden. I recommend this unit to protect your garden and will be purchasing another when we expand.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have several deer in our area and do not want to hurt or injure them. We use the activated sprinkler to keep them away from our garden. Does a great job. Best thing about this is that it does double duty by watering our garden at the same time. It's also a lot cheaper than putting up a fence.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from Clovis, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Keeps the cats away!

PostedJune 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have neighbor cats who use my flower bed as their personal toilet. I plugged this little baby into a short hose and stuck it right in the middle of the toilet area. Those cats are a little mad at me now.
This was easy to set up. Instructions were simple. Works as stated on the paperwork. Need to purchase a hose long enough to reach a faucet to this unit. Because of this, it works best where a hose can be hidden behind bushes or something unless you don't mind having a hose on the ground out in the open. I use it in the front yard and I have roses hiding the hose part.
This unit has different sensitivity settings, spray levels, and distances. Can be adjusted to set wide area or narrow area spray.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from Ojai, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Product solved problem

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I appreciate the adjustments for large, medium, or small animals. This enables me to stop cats, squirrels, & crows from killing or harassing the birds visiting feeders & water in my yard.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great features, poor engineering of water supply connection

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installation has been a serious challenge and I have every tool know to man. Two calls to the Havahart service team resulted in install recommendations and assistance but not a satisfactory outcome. Bought two units. The hose connection to both unites leaks significantly even with significant effort to reconnect and tighten the connection, replacement of connection washers and various approaches. Very time consuming, frustrating and clearly poorly engineered connection. Giving up and returning both units to our friendly local Home Depot
Cons: very poorly designed water supply connection
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

sprinkler head

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
worked fine for a couple of weeks then came home and the sprinkler head popped out and will not stay in will have to send back
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from Seabeck, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Spray away works!

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
so far the spray Away works better than any product I have used to keep deer from dinning on our lace leaf maple! That is if I don't forget to turn on the water!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from La Verne, Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The item will work as advertised,,,keeps those pesky critters out of the back yard.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent

Poor quality renders product worthless

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had 2 problems with the motion activated sprinkler. First: The sprinkler head sometimes popped out of the sprinkler body due to water pressure. The manufacturer sent me an unsolicited replacement sprinkler; this must be a known defect. Second: The motion detector false detected too often. I tried several locations and several sensitivity settings. I suspect it was tripping on shadows or sunlight filtering through the trees. I could not use the product because of all the false triggers; even with the sensitivity turned way down.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from Warren, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to work well

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live in a wooded area and have all kinds of creatures around. I wanted to keep them away from my house and flower beds. It was easy to set up and I tested it myself by walking in front of it. It seems to work well. I haven't actually seen it work on an animal yet but that's because I haven't seen any around that part of the house since it's been set up so I'm assuming that it has indeed scared them off at some point. My only concern is having to leave the garden hose turned on 24/7. I just worry about something breaking or leaking but so far there has not been an issue.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Chases away just about anything

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have problems with deer eating our cherry tree.
This sprinkler will chase away just about anything. I tested it up to 30 feet away.
This also makes a good toy for the kidos and would probably keep people from cutting across your yard.
There is an adjustable knob on the back for range.
See video for to see how it works. Sorry, I wasn't actually able to get a video of it chasing the deer away.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Spray Away Motion Activated Sprinkler Animal Repellent
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Doesn't Work

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like another reviewer, we have armadillos tearing up the yard.It was easy to set up.However, for us, the product doesn't repel them at all.However, even on a low sensitivity setting(5) it turns on when cars drive down the street at a distance of over 25 feet. Also, because it is made of plastic, I doubt that it will last long in the Texas heat.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>