728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop French Door Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design

30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design

With three doors and an impressive 30.5 cu. ft. capacity, you get style and features you want in a refrigerator that's the size you need. This refrigerator helps to keep food fresher longer with the Smart Cooling Plus system designed to maintain optimal humidity and temperature. From post-workout protein shakes to after-school snacks, LG's Door-in-Door design keeps all your favorites at your fingertips while reducing cold air loss to help keep foods, fresher longer and a 3-Tier Organization in the freezer that makes it easy to keep everything accessible and organized. And all in a package so stylish, it upgrades the look of any kitchen.
Overall rating:
4.596 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(317 reviews) 311
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product286 of 311reviews
Rating Breakdown 317 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(253)
4
(40)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(18)
Features 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product286 of 311reviews
Customer questions and answers:
44 Questions | 152 Answers
Customer reviews for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design
Review 1 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design
from Johns Creek, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

LG French Door in Door Refrigerator

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far, I am happy with my LG refrigerator. I love the door space within the door. The bottom freezer has pullout shelves within the freezer.
The fridge comes with a built in Smart Diagnosis feature, which allows customer service to read the data of the refrigerator to diagnose and fix some problem over the phone.
Pros: Lots of Features, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Impressive!

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are very impressed with our new refrigerator and it's looks. It is very sleek & the door-in-door feature is wonderful. I like the fact that you are able to set the ice dispenser to cubed or crushed ice & that the setting for the amount of ice can be adjusted for lets say summer use or if you are expecting company. In both cases where more ice is needed. The three tier freezer compartment is larger than I expected but a great surprise. Wonderful fridge for an exceptional price.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none so far
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+22points
31out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design

A worthwhile investment

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this refrigerator to replace a GE 24cf side by side model that was included in the options when we built our new home...in 1993. The GE model, which we paid $2,000 for and still works well, has a small door on the outside that flips down to a shelf, providing access to a bin large enough for a gallon of milk, a carton of half and half, and orange juice. We thought it was the greatest thing since sliced bread! When looking for a new refrigerator, we didn't want to give up the door-in-door convenience and researched models that had this feature. We settled on the LG model and have been very pleased with the purchase so far. My husband (ever so slightly) misses the shelf that the GE had, but the LG more than makes up for it with the ability to access so much with the door-in-door feature. We love the spaciousness of the layout, which will be much appreciated when we have 30+ people for Christmas dinner. Other features we like - a filter on the water line (never had that on the GE), crushed ice, LED lighting, the Glide 'N Server drawer, and the fresh air filter. We are looking forward to the savings on our electric bill :)
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replaced a 17 year old Kenmore side-by-side with door in door

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I spent the last 6 months researching options since refrigerators have so many choices. I loved my old Kenmore and wanted the convenience of the door in door feature. Not having to open the complete door to get out items I use every morning like half and half cream. I love all the features that the LG French door-in-door offers. And the stainless steel looks incredible with my granite countertops. I am glad I did my research and read the reviews. It really did determine my choice in the end.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+51points
60out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design
from slo,ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

nice fridge

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this fridge is a replacement for our faulty 10 year old kitchen aide.
ability to customize it inside is nice. double doors plus small door is good. need to get used to it.
seems quiet but the ice maker is small.
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design
from Spring, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Buy

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Replaced previous builder grade refrigerator that was 18.2 cf top freezer. Also, had an additional upright freezer in our garage for extra storage. When we started loading our new LG refrigerator, not only were we able to move everything from the old refrigerator but also had enough room in the LG freezer drawer to empty our 15 cf freezer. Capacity is great!!! The drawers and dividers in the freezer drawer are great at allowing organization. The spill proof shelves are great, especially the one that can be reduced by half by simply sliding it back (great for the tall bottles of wine. Finally, one of the greatest features is the door-in-door access. We have a toddler, so access to snacks, juices, condiments, and milk (two gallon jugs side by side), is great! Overall, very happy with the purchase, especially the great savings during black Friday week!!!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+72points
86out of 100found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design
from West Windsor NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ice maker is bad

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ice maker and its fan broke after first 4 months of operation. Thankfully it is under warranty and I am waiting for service person to come and fix it. Ice maker size does not seem to be sufficient for high demand in summer.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

LOVE the new Frig, especially the 3rd door

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just bought this refrigerator a month ago, but we're already very happy with it.
We love the lighting, the good air flow (consistent temperature) throughout the refrigerator, the air filter which eliminates the need for other odor removing packets, and,especially, the third door. This last feature is especially convenient for getting to the oft used stuff without opening the whole door and wasting energy.
We also like the larger capacity compared to our previous frig which provided 25 cubic feet.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design
from Decatur, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Amazing design and feature set!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We replaced a 12 year old side-by-side refrigerator/freezer with this model and I am simply blown away by the amount of space in the same form factor. I wan't sure if the door-in-door would be helpful, but it is now used more than either door.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design
from Boise, Idaho
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kid Friendly Fridge and Mom Approved

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this fridge!! My daugter loves this fridge! She calls the door-in-door the "Magic Door" and uses it for all of her items. It is so nice to store all of her items that she would frequently go to the fridge for and other frequently used items in the "magic door" because she can access them quick and easily without standing there with the entire fridge open trying to find what she needs. It is such a great feature! I also love the layout of the fridge and freezer. I would reccommend this fridge to anyone who has kids.
Pros: Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design
from Flemington, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Refrigerator, Great Delivery, LG Support Exemplary!!!!!

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Old fridg was going and went to Home Depot to find a frig to replace it. Saw the LG and it seemed to match our needs well. After reading several reviews of the LG and its competitors, we decided to try the LG. We could not be more pleased. The frig is well sized and the features are very nice. The door-in-door is a great and convenient feature. The ice maker for our family is fine even though others found it too small in the reviews. It makes the ice fast enough for a NJ hot spell for a family of 4. The ice water comes out much faster than our old frig and is actually used many times a day whereas the old one was bypassed in the old frig. It is quiet and seems extremely efficient. Temps hold well and food seems to stay fresh longer than old frig. Lighting in the frig is very good and the LED white light is soothing and makes everything visible easily. When the frig was delivered, there was a small dent on the front door. Not sure if that dent came from the factory or during delivery. The guys were extremely careful getting the frig into the house so not sure where the dent came from. The frig is very big but they got it in fairly easily with their special lifting belt mechanism. Regardless, the door did have a dent and we contacted Home Depot about the dent and they gave us the LG number to call. We called it and LG was terrific. They were responsive and understanding. They gave us the site to submit the claim, we uploaded photos and provided the serial numbers. LG called us and acknowledged the claim and approved it instantly. They arranged for a tech to come out and replace the door, no charge, and it was made right in 20 minutes. This repair process was done within 3 weeks end to end since the door part needed ordering. Everyone was outstanding during this process and the frig remains working properly. It beats the old one one hands down. If you are thinking about this frig, it will not disappoint. We are very happy.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design
from West Jordan, Utah
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

May want to choose a different brand

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have had this refrigerator for 14 months and it is broken. I thought that maybe since this unit costs twice as much as some of the comprable units, LG would help us; they will not. The control panel has gone out so we cannot change the temperature, get ice/water, etc. I will not buy another LG appliance again because I think it should last longer than 1 year!!
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, cheap!
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design
from Oak Harbor, Wa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

new fridge gone bad

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought an LG fridge (Model LFX31945ST) from Home Depot 8 months ago and is not working properly already. It is making a loud buzzing noise and not cooling down properly. The only authorized service tech in the region does not work weekends. So Home Depot sold me a bad product and LG can't give me customer service on a weekend so now I have to try to use ice bags to keep my food cold until sometime next week.
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design

don't buy lg fridge

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very poorly designed door closing system. When it breaks-the service from LG is beyond horrible-no US company would treat people this way. Avoid at all cost.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design
from Lewisville, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great appliance for every kitchen

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I bought this fridge a couple weeks ago; I had my eye on this thing since it came out. My wife wanted the SAMSUNG french door fridge her mom got, but I wanted this one because of the double door feature. It looked really cool. After my wife doing some research and getting a great deal at Home Depot we purchased this one and have had fun with it ever since it was delivered. My wife and mother inlaw cook dinner at our house every Friday and my mother inlaw talks about how much she loves our fridge more than hers because of the layout, space, design and features. Its quiet, efficient, and looks great. If I had the space, I would have two of these things....
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+67points
71out of 75found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not extremely impressed with the storage area. Too compartmentalized.

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'm sure this is a very good refrigerator, but everything is so compartmentalized. I have trouble fitting wine bottles and milk in it, even with the fold back shelf. It has a drawer for deli trays and 3 for fruit and vegetables, but they are small. I like the freezer though. I'm finding it difficult to fit everyday things in the top.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, awkward configuration on top
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design

Clever Fridge

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fridge is a good buy. The "snack door" is great! I stock everything we use the most in there and it saves from letting out all the cold air when grabbing drinks and snacks. Genius idea, especially with kids and husbands around.
The freezer has three storage areas which makes organizing easier.
There is also a handy shelf in the fridge that shortens so you can store tall essentials like wine.
The reason I didn't give it more stars is because the built in water dispenser and ice maker take up a bit of room in the door and I lost storage space because of it. So I have less room than I did before. Also the water comes out in a small stream and takes quite a while to fill up larger items like water bottles.
Pros: High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This refrigerator has made shopping easy!

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
With a house with two teenage boys, we were looking for a refrigerator that could accommodate a lot of snack food, but stay energy efficient at the same time. The feature of the small "pop" out door on the right side is perfect for quick snack items and drinks like milk and soda. Without having to open the door the entire way, our boys can easily reach in for a soda and an after school snack.
The freezer has three compartments and the handle has extra spring action to help open the bottom fridge, which in some fridges can become very heavy and difficult to open when full.
The ice make seems to make plenty of ice, and the extra bin in the freezer is great when we are having guest over to prepare for an increase in need of ice. And the "quick ice" feature is great when you suddenly run out.
The only flaw we see with the water dispenser is that there is essentially nothing under the dispenser to catch the water that drips after you get your drink. We have a hard wood floor and I was concerned that it would drip on the floor and create a spot. I have purchased a floor mat to decrease the puddle issue, but we are perplexed as to why there is a water catcher when it doesn't catch the water. (flaw in design). Also, the water from the dispenser is not cold. It is room temperature and so you have to use the ice to get cold water. Not something I was expecting.
Also, there seems to be some condensation on flap between the doors, but it doesn't seem to be hindering the operation of the fridge or temperature. I may call LG just to make sure that it is okay to see some condensation.
Overall we are extremely happy with the fridge. We can shop at Sam's Club or Costco and know that we are going to have room for every item that we purchase.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, High Quality, Digital, Reliable, Good Use of Space, Nice Design
Cons: water dispenser drips on floor
+77points
77out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow! Love it!

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This frig is beautiful, convenient, spacious and easy to use. Lots of area that is nicely laid out. The freezer is huge and so easy to open, put things in, find things. Design is ergonomic....easy on the back. Love the freezer drawer design. The ice and water dispensers are just magical. And the secret door is handy and fun. The interior has the most beautiful lighting. We are very pleased!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel Door-In-Door Design
from Anniston, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great refrigerator

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my new LG refrigerator. It keeps my fruits and vegetables fresher than my old refrigerator. I especially love the alarm that alerts me when the door is not closed .
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>