728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)

LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)

Stop the slam with this soft close adapter that quietly and smoothly closes cabinet doors. It can be adjusted by the turn of a screw to the desired closing speed and is the perfect retrofit solution. This damper is easy to mount in the upper corner of your cabinet.
Overall rating:
4.258 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product52 of 60reviews
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(39)
4
(17)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product52 of 60reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 64 Answers
Customer reviews for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
Review 1 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
from Hoosick Falls
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Say Goodbye To Loud Closing Cabinet Doors!

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Liberty Soft Close Dampers are small units measuring only 1-7/8" long by 11/16" wide by 1-13/16" high, two screw holes for either left or right door installation, chrome finish, brim goes around the entire front, adjustment screw in back.
Installs in a matter of minutes by holding the damper in place, drilling a 1/4" pilot hole with a 3/32 drill, fasten with screw. Brims on the damper help keep the unit from moving when the door closes. Turn the adjustment screw to your desired closure, you're done.
The before and after difference is remarkable, from a loud banging, to barely a whimper when the door closes. Highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
from One hour north of NYC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Flawlessly

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about these cabinet door soft close devices, but I have to admit they work great. They are easy to install with only one small screw; I put all ten in in less than 10 minutes. And they work instantly just like the high priced soft close cabinets everyone wants now. I didn't have to adjust any of them, but I played with the adjustment screw as a test and it works well, too. The instructions say to use two for heavy doors, but my doors are pretty heavy (42" uppers) and they are way strong enough for them. This is a really cool thing someone could put in and surprise a loved one with; you know, for extra credit. They seem to be built strongly, but I'll update this review in a month or so. They don't take up much space, but they are visible and obvious when the door is open. No problem for me.
I highly recommend them.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality, Nice Design, Light Weight, clever design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Change OK cabinet doors to something fantastic!

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These cabinet door soft close dampers do exactly what they should and are so easy to install. I installed the dampers on some inexpensive cabinetry in our laundry room. The doors banged when we shut them. I was just waiting for something to break. Now, no more stress and we didn't have to change our behavior. Our family still does the slamming action, but the doors close gently...and all the way!
The damper casing is all metal so I expect that it will last for the life of the cabinets!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, High Quality of Material, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
from Las Vegas, Nevada
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great product*****No more annoying slamming doors in the kitchen*****Very , very nice soft close.*****Easy installation...One screw in the upper corner and job done*****Took about 15 minutes to install all ten units*****A lot cheaper than replacing all the hinges with soft close type hinges*****Going back for more...*****
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Nice Design, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
from Gaithersburg, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not for older cabinet hindges

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These closers did not work with my older cabinets with their original hinges. They did not close the cabinet doors but kept them open 1/2 to 1 inch, even at max adjustment. Product quality varied: ONE closer did work well but it had a different mfg. date on the bottom from the others. Where a door did not close using a closer, I replaced the closer with the ONE that worked and all was fine. 1 out of 10 worked --- hmmm, not good.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not sufficiently adjustable, expensive experiment
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)

Good investment!

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
They are easy to install and work as expected.
I was looking at replacing all the hinges on my kitchen cabinets but those damplers appeared to perform better than the soft close hinges at the demo at the HD store.
The door will close fast until it hits the dampler and close without banging the cabinet. With the soft close hinges, the door takes forever to close.
If not unstalled properly or if the hinges are to old/weak, the door will not close all the way by itself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
from UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not What I Expected

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These installed easy enough as it was only a single pilot hole and then the screw. it took about 10 minutes to install the set.
First off, these dampeners will not close the door of your cabinet for you like others will. The spring is too stiff, even if you move the tension knob all the way out. I actually removed one of the knobs and it made no difference. as the tension knob only changes the length of the contact point and doesn't actually change the tension. For me, to close the cabinet door, I had to push the cabinet door to get it to fully close. Not that it was difficult to do so, it just go annoying after awhile. However, once closed, they will stay closed. I have medium to light weight cabinet doors.
The only thing these do is prevent the cabinet door from banging shut, but you can accomplish the same thing with felt pads. So we ended up taking them out, which only took 5 minutes to remove 10.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: to stiff, not enough adjustment
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-4points
7out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
from ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works well!

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Now all my kids can be careless in closing the kitchen cabinet doors. Everyone in my household is very happy with this product. As far as price it's so-so..could be cheaper ...though it really works well...I've had it for almost a month and I adjusted the tension after a couple of weeks.
Pros: good product!
Cons: none!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
from Schenectady, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good at first

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These dampers worked great at first but after 9 months they fail to close completely. Its happening one cabinet at a time. I guess you get what you pay for.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
from Canton, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love these things.

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Inexpensive and very easy to install. Pre-install I realized they are plastic and the dampener mechanism will seem too rigid to allow the doors to close. Install takes about a minute per dampener. You will want to put them on every cabinet in your house. I am buying another pack today.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
from Brentwood TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased these last week. We had new cabinets installed a couple of years ago and opted out of soft close doors and drawers. We regretted it ever since. Last weekend i was woken up with my wife making breakfast downstairs and slamming the doors. The very same day we saw these at the Depot.
I installed them today and they are great. Very easy to install. Just make sure you follow instructions and pre-drill with 3/32 drill. 4 stars because of plastic construction and i'm not sure how long they will hold up.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, good value
Cons: plastic construction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
from Sebastian FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not the best quality....

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got these for my new kitchen. First off the packages I got were opened and the 10 packs only had 9 in them - and didn't notice until I got home - but I only needed 18 anyway. So I installed them, started to test them and they worked OK on about 50% of the doors, the rest needed to be MAXED out and still were not as good as I expected. I searched the web and found a maker Blumm, got a few for the SAME PRICE and they are 100x better. Replaced them already, these only stayed on my cabinets for 4 days!
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
from Schenectady, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works OK - but overpriced

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Light weight plastic construction - purchased the same exact product about 1 year ago at about half the price currently charged.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
from Tinley Park, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I am a believer!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was SO skeptical, how could a 3-4 dollar item stop the banging!? At teh store there was no way to buy 1-2 only the 10 pack. I wanted to try it though and after seeing them and appreciating what looked like a quality product, I spent the $$..... Now I need MORE!! Yes they work -- larger door MAY require two, but try one as one worked fine for many of my cabinets.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good on all but heavier doors

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had new cabinets installed about 4 years ago and at the time soft close hinges weren't available on the cabinets we ordered. I installed these on all 18 cabinets and they work really well on all but the heavier doors. We have a door with a spice rack on it and the weight still makes it bang a little. I tried installing 2 as suggested in the instructions and it really didn't help much. Overall very pleased with this very cost effective solution. Ordering new hinges from the manufacture was over $20 per cabinet.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)

What a difference!

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had been looking for these but I had only found them online elsewhere with excessive shipping tacked on. When I saw them at my local Home Depot I bought them right away.
They were really easy to install in my kitchen cabinets. Just drill a pilot hole and attach to the cabinet frame with a single screw. Takes but a minute or two per door.
They work excellent! No more slamming cabinet doors. At only $3.50 a dampner/door this was a cheap and effective upgrade. I'm going to buy more for around the house (bathrooms, laundry room etc).
Pros: Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
from Central Connecticut
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Okay for my needs

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The biggest drawback to this product is the adjustment knob does not control the damping strength, it only moves the contact point in or out. For some of my 30+ year old doors, there simply wasn't enough gravity to allow the door to close on its own with these dampers installed. Even with the adjustment screw backed all the way out, the door would not close without a manual push. By design, these dampers offer no closing assistance, only resistance. There are other products on the market that do both.
For the doors that did close, yes, it's nice to be able to swing the door shut from afar and let the damper do the work. To me, it reminds me of the convenience of a soft-close toilet seat.
I'd recommend this for folks that have straight and true cabinet doors that currently reach their fully-closed state without hesitation.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
from Chandler Az
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

These are PLASTIC

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought some of these because of the price. When I got them out to install them....very disappointed. These things are Plastic, but look to be chrome plated metal.
Pros: good price
Cons: cheap cheep cheap
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
from Destin, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

A Breeze To Install

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These dampers are so easy to install, wish I had retro-fitted my cabinet doors years ago. It might have taken all of 15 minutes to install all ten dampers.The price is right to at about $3.58 a piece they are the least expensive soft close dampers I have found.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LH Cab Door Soft Close Damper (10-Pack)
from Vista, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AWESOME!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installs relatively easy as long as you drill the pilot hole correctly. I have 'bumpers' on my cabinet doors but that only changed the noise when shutting them.
I cannot believe the difference! I have trained myself to close my cabinets so they wouldn't slam but there was always some noise and bounce back. Now I have to learn how to close my cabinet doors with more force or they stay partially open. I prefer this than the slamming noise. The weight of my doors are not all the same and this works great regardless; though some doors require more force to close because of the weight difference.
There are two things I do not like about this product, 1) the material is plastic and I am unsure how durable it is, and 2) the adjustment knob required a screwdriver on 8 out of 10 from the package. According to my understanding, the adjustment can be easily made with your fingers. I learned this the hard way after I installed the first one and tried to adjust the tension. I then checked the rest of the package prior to installation to 'loosen' the adjustment tension so I could make necessary adjustments after installation. Please note, this IS necessary because even if you have doors that are exactly identical (ex:. weight and size) the tension is not necessarily identical.
I updated my cabinets by refinishing and installing hardware (handles) myself and the damper completes the package. Now my cabinets look and sound (silence instead of slamming) high-end.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>