728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Shop Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light

3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light

The 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Shop Light from Lithonia Lighting provides energy-efficient task lighting or general purpose lighting for utility applications like workshops, garages and basements. The stylish diamond plate pattern matches the design of many workbenches. Included suspension chains and a built-in power cord make installing this heavy-duty fluorescent light extremely easy.
Overall rating:
3.947 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product15 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product15 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light
Review 1 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light
from Marion, IA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good looking, lots of light, but.....

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought two of these today from my local Home Depot. They looked great in the store display. I had originally planned on getting the 4-light Lithonia heavy duty work light but these had the nice reflective chrome finish vs. the grey finish on the 4-light. The 3 light actually looks brighter than the 4-light due the reflective chrome finish.
Be advised, you cannot surface mount these lights. The reflector shroud is screwed AND riveted to the base. Also, the build quality is horrible. I'd almost call it a heavy gauge aluminum foil. The unit is so light that it won't hang level without lights because the weight of the cord will pull down on one side canting the whole unit up. With the bulbs in and the cord twist tied up, I could get the light fairly level.
I also found it impossible to insert the bulbs with the light hanging up. Believe it or not the bulbs will not fit without pushing the ends out a bit. On the positive side, the bulbs seem to "lock" into the sockets - better than any of my old T12 utility lights. With the bulbs in their sockets and "locked" in, the unit seemed much more solid and stiff like the bulbs were designed to structurally stiffen the unit.
Build quality aside, once the light was up, it looked great. Turns on instantly with no flickering and puts out lots of light.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light
from OKC,OK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not working out of the box

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 4 fixtures and a box of 6500K lights after reading reviews. Installed two @ 12' and turned them on and they were very dim. The middle of every bulb was not bright at all and flickering. Pulled them down and and put 6 more bulbs it and checked to make sure that I had twisted them in the proper direction. Same thing. pulled out the other 2 fixtures and installed different new bulbs and they did the same thing. Must have been a batch of bad ballasts.Taking them back and looking something different. I have some of their 2 light fixtures and they work great.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: no light
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light
from PLAINWELL <MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

JUNK !!

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
so cheaply built it is flexible like it's made out of tin foil . BUT THE WORST PART IS it does not work at all !!! THE BULBS WILL NOT SNAP IN TIGHT AND SO FAR NO ONE HAS BEEN ABLE TO GET IT TO LIGHT AT ALL !!!!!!!! AND TO MAKE IT WORSE I CAN'T FIND THE RECEIPT ( MY FAULT FOR NOT INSTALLING IT FOR 45 DAYS and for trusting Home Depot). I now have to run out to MENARDS and get a replacement !
Pros: Unique
Cons: doesn't work at all!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid Shop lights

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to hang, easy to plug in, and they put out a great deal of light. Great choice for a shop light. I now own six of them and am happy with all.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light
from Fairfax, Virginia

Excellent for our work area in the basement

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I put this light up together with ease. It gives a lot of light in our basement. So much light in fact that we only put two bulbs in it, instead of three. The black casing looks really nice as well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light
from AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These lights are nice and bright, I bought 5 of them 1 did not work. difficult only because I had to uninstall it and that was difficult because it was on 14 foot ceiling.
Pros: Functional, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light
from San Diego, CA

Great light for task area

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This provides excellent light compared to a two tube unit. This is great in my garage for the key area I work.
The unit is very thin and the tubes should be put in before it is mounted.
Lights come on quickly and burn bright.
Even though this unit must have the build costs cut to the bone, once it is up, you would not know the difference from one that cost 3x.
Looks great and functions perfect.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: very thin/lowest cost material
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light

It works as advertised, but its flimsy

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The description sounds like a wonderful shop light, but upon opening the box I found that it was made of very flimsy thin metal (translation it is "cheap"). Considering how flimsy the metal is, the price is a bit over the top. The box also states "2 Year Limited Warranty", but the instruction sheet inside the box (and also this website) states the warranty is only 1 year.
Pros: Functional
Cons: flimsy construction
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light
from Madera
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Killer Lights!!!! Now I Need Sunglasses

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought (8) of these to take the place of the (8) T12 lights that would not start in the cold. I intended to surface mount them but found that the fixtures were rivited and screwed together and were intended to be hung from a chain (supplied). That didn't stop me. I removed the screws, drilled the rivits and surface mounted them. I even shortened as needed the power chord to eliminate the excess. Rather than install new pop rivits I used screws. It took a little longer but the finished product looks good and with (3) bulbs per fixture produces more light than before. Now I need sunglasses!
I only gave 4 stars due th the inability to surface mount them. Otherwise I would have given 5 stars.
Hey Lithonia , save some money by eliminating the hook and chain and make them surface mountable. It is also easier to change the bulbs when they are not hanging from a chain.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for the money

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Compared several fixtures this one had more light output for the money
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Realy Lights Up My Shop

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased two units. Cast excellent light in my small shop. The interior surface of the fixture is polished metal and reflects the light from the three florescent bulbs down to the work surface. The only drawback is that the metal construction of the fixture is extremely light weight, and must be suspended from the ceiling, not attached directly on the ceiling. Left alone, one should not have any problems. Florescent Bulbs sold separately.
Pros: Functional, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light

Excellent product, cost effective for shop

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was easy to hang, and the three light bulbs throw off ample light for the work area.
Pros: Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light
from Richmond, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product is excellent!

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
purchased this shop light due to the diamond plate to match my garage cabinets. i installed and hung from my ceiling and it was very easy to do.. the hardest thing probably was installing the lights and that went very well also. i would recommend that anyone purchase this light because not only is it easy to install but its looks great and gives off great light.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light
from paradise ca
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

don't waist your money

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this light because of the diamond plate look all it is is sheet metal that is very flimsy and bends easy. got it all set up and the dang thing wouldn't light up im so mad im taking it back and getting a better one. don't waists your money on this peace of junk
Pros: no pros
Cons: Appearance, didn't work
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light
from Ponce, Puerto Rico
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy installation.. no brains required...

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good quality, great for the value... Just plug in and there light.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light
from Richmond, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good light for the price

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light is easy to install
Good product for the price
With the right light bulbs it is very bright
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light
from Deltona, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome !!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put this light up in like ten minutes works great had a two bulb fixture before this one is way brighter love it !!!!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light

A worthy shop light

PostedMay 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great light. The black diamond plate is a nice look, and the fact that it holds 3 bulbs in a compact size is a bonus for lumen output! It even has a 4 foot cord that can reach an outlet without an extension cord.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3-Light Suspended Black Diamond Plate Fluorescent Shop Light
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice looking lighting system

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This lighting system looks very nice in the garage. Only negative I have is how the power cable is set up.
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.