728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Security Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight

270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight

Enhance your home security with the Defiant 270 degree floodlight. Three LED powered heads and 270 degrees of protection. Doppler motion sensing technology provides lateral plus to-and-away motion detection.
Overall rating:
3.767 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product21 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product21 of 29reviews
Customer reviews for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight
Review 1 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight
from Pittsburgh
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome light with great motion detector *SUPER BRIGHT*

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered these online, since my local Home Depot does not stock them, after returning the identical cheaper model.(Store SKU # 625218)
I am so excited that these lights work perfectly they are just as bright as the other model but the motion detector has a sensitivity adjustment, day/night sensor, timer, and just looks to be made alot better than the other model. The motion detector and motion detector arm are really the only plastic parts on the light.
I do not know what to say other than this thing functions correctly and is a great replacement to my old floodlights. The led lights are at least twice as bright with a wonderful clear light as opposed to the yellowish light I had prior.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: plastic arm on motion detector
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight
from OK
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great LED fixture

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This light works great over the BBQ to light the patio at the same time. The motion detector was easy to remove for switch only use.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight

READ THIS!!!!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This light works awesome!! Lights up my whole back yard. The installation instructions are a little misleading. The light is a 5 inch base but the mounting plate is for a 4 inch box, which means it's not entirely watertight. Up under an eave like my mounting it's fine, but if you're concerned about waterproofing it will take a little doing. Really nice light tho, I removed the motion sensor on mine and put it on a different light.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was way brighter than I expected it to be!

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I currently have a 3-head halogen spot light on one side of my garage. The 100-watt bulbs are definitely bright enough, but they are spot lights so the light is only in 3 spots.
I wanted to add more of a "flood" light to the other side of my garage (the porch side) to help fill all the dark spots in. But then I realized this would be a perfect spot for a motion detector light, being nearly in the center of the front of the house, right by the sidewalk and porch and driveway. So, the power-hungry halogens were out of the question... going with an LED unit to save 1/10th the electricity was the way to go.
I compared this unit to the older/more popular Lithonia units because the Defiant mounts better to the eve/ceiling overhang, because it has a more "white" color (less blue than the Lithonia according to the CCT) the Defiant is 5000k. The Defiant is also brighter (more lumens) for approximately the same wattage (32 vs 30). All the details are on the boxes, making it easy to compare in the store.
So I bought this unit. It was super easy to install! It came all 100% assembled, that was a nice surprise. The light was up in one minute after I installed the box & wiring. This light also comes with it's own gasket (unlike the Lithonia). I like the more traditional rectangle shape of the lights as well.
And WOW it is bright! I really can't believe how much light this thing puts out, with only 6 LEDs total (2per light head). And the light is completely even and uniform. It really does light up my entire driveway, porch, sidewalk, front yard. I still have my 3-bulb halogen fixture installed, and in comparison, the halogen is still a bit brighter in each of the 3 spots, but of course it doesn't do anything outside of the 3 spots, whereas the LED lights up EVERYTHING. I was originally planning to replace the halogen with another LED unit, but I think I like the spot light in combination with the flood light. The LED flood is more than enough light to see and work in, but the halogen spots are good for when I work on my car or something.
The color of the LEDs is kinda "white", but I would not say it is blue. I prefer warm white on the house, but I do like this 5000k color enough. It is NOT blue at all, but really a perfectly white color. It does glare, but that's because it is a flood light. I have it aimed so that it doesn't shine in the neighbor's windows.
Oh, and by the way, the lenses on the heads are CLEAR... not frosted white like shown in the picture. This makes it easier to direct the brightest light where you want it, rather than scattering it even more.
Now, the motion detector. As expected, the detector does leave a little to be desired, at least in it's range. It does not detect 70 feet, maybe half of that. However, it does have a good 180 degree range (it advertises 270, but I have it on the side of the house, not a corner). The detector seems to work well enough for me though, sure more range would be desirable, but it does cover the area very well. I currently have the sensitivity all the way down, and it eliminated random turn-ons. The range is still the same, but it definitely has less sensitivity right under the light itself.
I think that's about it, I definitely recommend this unit as the best one HD currently sells. I've only had it up a few days now, but it will only be on a few minutes per day, so it should last forever. We'll see. This was the first LED light I've ever used, but I had the biggest smile on when it first lit up... did I mention it was way brighter than I expected lol.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Follow up to my first review....... still awesome!

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed (and reviewed) this light back in October 2012. You can see my review at the top of the list. Well I just wanted to say that the light is still functioning 100% perfectly without a single hassle. Every now and then, the light will come on for "no reason", but of course it should with all the wind, trees, and fountain I have. The detection is still just right for me, comes on every time I'm around. Still just as shockingly bright! I definitely recommend this light. I'd have more of them if I could think of where to put them lol.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight

Bright. Alternative weather sealing needed for my situation.

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this product last week and installed on an existing junction box that sticks out 1.5 inches from the side of the house. This product needs to be flushed mounted against a flat surface in order to get a proper seal against weather intrusion because the cover plate is wider than the junction box (the last light fixture I had mounted there was designed to fit the junction box perfectly). My solution? Plummer's putty! I applied liberal amounts around the back of the fixture between the gap between the junction box and the cover plate. Problem solved!
Oh, and the light is nice and bright! It does seem to come on on its own though. Haven't found that sweet spot between sensitivity and range. Timing adjustment knob seems a bit fickle too.
Pros: Very Bright
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight
from La Crosse, KS
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AWESOME!!!

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This guy is incredible. It lights up the area in front of my house with about the same light level as noon on an overcast day...... out about 70 ft anyway. The 270 degree sensor must have about a 90 degree vertical acquisition as even a cat coming out of the front door will light it up. Mine does not have a sensitivity setting (from other reviews it seems some do) which I would have liked to have as it does seem to come on more than it should but the other plusses more than offset that, for me anyway. It also gives a nice, even flood with no apparent light or dark areas all for under 50 watts of power. My old unit was using two 175 watt halogens totaling 2700 lumens which provided two very bright areas with distinct dark areas between them.
Hardest part of the installation was trying to figure out how to unfold the thing into an acceptable under mount configuration.
Pros: Functional, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: no sensitivity setting.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent coverage

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This light works great. The motion sensor is adjustable and works really well. The LED is bright with excellent coverage. Construction is a part metal and part plastic. Care needed during installation because of the plastic parts. All in all still thinking about getting a couple more. Would be nice if they sold a unit without the sensor. Cost is somewhat high, but should last longer than the Halogen it replaced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight

Very disappoining

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was a replacement for the first one I purchased. One week in, it started malfunctioning, comimg on at night without any movement around and staying on. The only way to to turn it off was to interupt the power supply. After a few days it finally quit working altogether. Now this one is doing the same thing in about the same time frame. Very disappointed in this product.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight

Great light, bright, simple install.

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Given this for a house gift awhile ago, just got around to hooking up the electric for it. I am pleased with this light. It has a great spread and lights up my entire backyard. The directions for this light were pretty bad though, when it comes to explaining the function. There's one turn knob with a + and - that determines how long the light stays on. You just have to figure out the timing, trial and error.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight
from Plaistow, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It is a light.

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was not to easy to install but I have not been able to make it work the way I would like. I would like to leave it on all the time and have it turn on and off on its own. I also have not been able to get the motion detector working 100%. It just a light for now.
Pros: Functional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight
from Oregon

Once Adjusted = A Great Product

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A Great Bright Light is what you get while consuming only 33 W. This does, however, take a few days of tweaking the adjustments and several power on/off/on cycles. The only complaint that I have is: when running dusk to dawn, the amount of light required to turn it off seems a bit high, and it must be bright outside for around a half hour or so before the light turns off for the day. The other point is that I live in Oregon; it rains here. The light is 5 inch diameter; outdoor boxes are 4 inch diameter. Plugging leaks is a challenge; 5 inch round outdoor boxes are rare.
Pros: Looks Great, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
Cons: 5 in. mounting too big.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight
from MA

Works well so far. Very bright.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I picked this up to provide lighting for my back yard. I had it professionally installed as part of a kitchen remodel so that part was easy. It definitely gets the job done and is very bright. I needed it to see if there are critters in the yard before letting the dog out at night. But overall it has worked well so far and being LED, it uses very little electricity. If you're looking for subtle lighting, this is not it, but if you want to really light things up, this is definitely it. Also, it's a white colored light rather than yellowish.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight

too many problems

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the sensor is faulty. Light does on erratically --when no motion is there or when the motion is there the light doesn't come on!
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: sensor is faulty
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lighting but doesn't shut off

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install. Good coverage. Bright lights However, either the motion sensor or the timer doesn't function correctly. I have tried adjusting timer, sensor and positions of lights and sensor but the light goes on and stays on all night.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: doesn't go on and off
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed with this light

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited to put this light up as it had the furthest range of detection of all the lights at HD. When installing, the light required a 5-in box while most (including the one I had up for my old light) are 4-inch. I worked around this with plumber putty and caulking and hoped for the best.
I also noticed, DESPITE what HD website claims and the instructions that come with the light and Defiance's website, the is NO SENSITIVITY SETTING!!! There is only a time adjustment. What this results in is that the light comes on for any slight movement whatsoever. This is when it was working for about the first week. After the first week, the light never turns off, not even during the day. Flip swith on/off twice in 3 seconds, leave light off for 90 seconds to reset, etc, etc does NOT work and this is no longer a motion light. It's coming down after a few weeks of use and going back to HD.
Buyers should also beware that the light housings are not water proof and will allow water to seep into the non gasketed seam between the plastic lens and light housing. So buy a tube of caulking and plumber putty if you wind up buying this non motion light for well over $100.
On the positive side, this light with three lights is bright and can illuminate the area well.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, no sensitivity setting, not weather resistant, motion sensor doesn't work
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very happy with these lights. These are high quality fixtures with a great modern look and bought 2 of these. They work well and give enough light to illuminate the driveway and half of my front yard. I was excited to try the LEDs so that we wouldn't have to replace costly bulbs and use as much electricity. I would recommend these and think the price is good for the quality, saves electricty and saves from having to buy bulbs for a long time.
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight

great product

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we were looking for a bright motion censored light that would allow us to view our backyard and we found it with this product
Pros: Functional, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight
from Manchester, CT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

I want to like these lights

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ill start by saying that, for a fixture which costs more than many others, the level of quality should be a bit higher. For instance, no gaskets on lights -- when it rains, water gets inside light. Arm piece for sensor, cheap plastic. Sure the light bulbs may last for 30 yrs but the plastic housing sure won't. The sensor is also huge & hard to get out of it's own way.
I would say, if you live in a dry community, like Southwest, Cali, etc… these would be perfect lights. Northeast, not so much.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright
Cons: cheap plastic sensor, no rubber sealing on lights
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 270 Degree Outdoor White Doppler Motion Activated LED Security Floodlight
from Woodstock, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Make sure you install it properly!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The light works great, very, very bright which is good for us because we have a long driveway. It has a timer so you can set it to stay on as long as you want; it's also a motion light. But be careful how you install it -- it got moisture underneath it (don't ask me how as it was under an eave) and quit working so had to return it and order another one. So far, so good and we love it! We don't have street lights in our neighborhood so it's extra nice.
Pros: Functional, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Very Bright
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>