728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chipper Shredders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Chipper Joe Plus CJ601E makes quick work out of brush, leaves and branches. Turn your yard rubbish into garden mulch doing your part to reduce, reuse and recycle. The CJ601E can handle sticks and wood limbs up to 1.5 in. in diameter. The minimized wood chips make a great mulch for around trees and flower beds. Its lightweight design makes the Chipper Joe Plus easy to move around the yard. A key feature of the unit is a safety hopper lock that prevents the motor from operating when opened. The chippers powerful 14 -Amp motor runs at speeds up to 4,300/min making your cleanup chores fast.
Overall rating:
3.914 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(152 reviews) 152
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product119 of 142reviews
Rating Breakdown 152 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(67)
4
(49)
3
(10)
2
(8)
1
(18)
Features 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product119 of 142reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
Review 1 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Traverse City area, Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

14 Amp Wood Chipper

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product works as described. You have to feed things basically one-at-a-time. Thicker stock has to be guided in. Keep a hand on what you feed because it could be spun around. I used it to mulch up dead branches from red pine. They were dry and slightly rotted, though some were resinous. You will want a running shear and a hatchet or machete.
My photo shows the product, the mulch pile, the branches that ere too thick to mulch and in the background both cleared and yet to do areas.
Pros: Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: feeds one branch at a time
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Thumbs up for Chipper Joe

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had a landscaper quote the clean up and haul away behind our garage at $350. The Chipper Joe was under $200 and did the job behind our garage as well as the branches and leaves from our trimmed bushes and the branches and leaves that were removed hanging on our roof. The only time Chipper Joe clogged up is when I put too many leaves in it and even that was easy to open and unclog. Branches, leaves, weeds, vines and small trees are no problem for this product. No more yard waste bags and stickers. If you are a do-it-yourself person and want to save money, this is the greatest thing since sliced bread.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from State College, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Flimsy product--Broken after 2 hrs.

PostedApril 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Sun Joe worked fine for the first 15 minutes (sucked branches in as described), then needed pushing and shoving, and finally broke down after 2 hrs: all blades dull, one blade broken (!), feeder (plastic) broken. A shoddily built, flimsy product.
Do not use for: Branches over 0.75 in, branches under 1/4 in, sycamore and other hardwood species, pine branches, old and dry branches, young and fresh branches, branches that are not completely straight, anything other than branches.
Honestly, I don't know what this product is good for. Waste of money, better get a heavy duty shredder right away.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Anchorage, AK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great little unit at a great price

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was realistic and did not expect an industrial chipper at this price point. That said this little thing works like a charm. Easy to use and makes quick work of a pile of limbs. It has only jammed on me one time when I tried to chip a limb with too many side twigs. BUT it cleared in a snap and I was back in business. It does not do well with the really tiny twigs, but they are easy to pick out if you plan to use the chips for decorative cover. And if you just plan to bag them for disposal, sure makes it easy. This was definitely a smart purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
Cons: smaller twigs do not get mulched
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+46points
47out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effective light duty chipper for Harry Homeowner

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
A couple of weeks ago my wife and I went crazy in our back yard. We spent the entire weekend pruning, trimming and thinning our entire landscape. Wound up with a four foot high pile of trimmings that covered over half the yard. Wasn't about to manually cut that stuff up so it could be bagged and hauled out. So I went on line looking for a light duty chipper and settled on this one. It gets mixed reviews, but they all do.
During two 2 hour sessions I turned that huge pile of cuttings into two bags of chips. No jams or overloads. By the end of each session the motor housing was quite warm but not too hot to touch with a bare hand.
Don't try to rush things. Feed it one or two branches at a time. Don't push. Let them feed at their own pace and guide them in. I chipped branches up to an inch thick and four feet long.
The only problem I have is that there is no effective way to attach a catch bag to the output chute. I solved that by sitting it on top of a 32 gallon trash can lined with a lawn and leaf bag, with a couple of 12 inch pavers in the bottom (under the bag) to give it some stability. It sits there on an angle with the chute aimed right into the bag (see photos). I doubt that either the manufacturer or Home Depot would endorse that. But it worked well and was quite stable.
There's a crab apple tree back there in desperate need of a good pruning. I've been putting it off because I just don't want deal with the cuttings. I'm going after that tree next weekend. If I don't come back to amend this review you can assume it also handled that stuff as well.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Mulches Well, Light Weight
Cons: no chip catcher
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+51points
59out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Los Angeles
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not for Hardwood

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This machine is probably fine for very green and very light trimmings, but I was using it for semi dried hardwood from an orchard after Spring pruning. I only fed smaller diameter material within the limits of the machine as advertised and the machine violently thrashed as it tried to chew up the larger diameter material. Finally the motor locked up. It wouldn't reset even after the jam was cleared. The jam turned out to be the light aluminum casting above the cutting wheel had somehow fractured and then locked up the blades. I only used the machine for about two hours before it failed. NOT for hardwoods in my opinion. Very disappointed with the performance of this machine.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Lakeside, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great deal for the money.

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It took about 1/2 to put together, and it works great. I was trimming hedges for 2 solid 8hr days. After the blades went dull, I took the blades out and turned them over, and chipped more. I bought a 6in grinder and just sharpened the blades again, this little chipper is well worth the money. Here's my advise for anyone learning as I just did, shred the branches the same or next day that you do your trimming. Older and dried out branches will dull the blade, but the fresh green branches will go down like a cube of butter on a hot skillet. This is not a professional chipper, but it is great for the weekend warriors.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

It works fine for the price

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This model is quite a bit cheaper than the gas models I compared it to. I am happy with this purchase. You can't go crazy with what you shove into the chute, just cut things up to removed nodules off the sides (so they fit cleanly through the throat) and take it slow. This chipper worked nicely for me.
I did open up the machine before using it, to inspect how the blades worked. I tightened the allen bolts on the blades another 1/4 turn before I turned it on. I was a bit surprised to find them so loose. This might have been to manufacture spec but I am comfortable with them a bit more snug.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

super light duty

PostedApril 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
looked good on line, and looked good out of the box,,, BUT, it JAMMED UP if you tried to chip ANYTHING over 1/2" in dia.or it had any twist or was crooked, had to take the covers off, PRY WHATEVER LITTLE CHUNK OUT, . managed to get a small wheel barrow full of chips after about 2 hours. Should have listened to my wife and just spent the afternoon dragging the stuff down to the local drop off..
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Redlands, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Machine

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just purchased a home with 2 overgrown fruitless Mulberry trees that were in desperate need of pruning. Once cut, the tree branches covered my entire yard to a height of 3 feet in some places. I bought the machine with the hopes that I could turn my trash into treasure by making chips to use for landscape mulch. I was dubious that this machine, at such a low price, was up to the task. I was going to return it if it was not. However, the job got finished, I never had to stop and clean out the insides as some people were saying they had to do (although was mindful not to overload it), and the chips I made have beautified my property. Despite the huge pile of branches I had to chip, the machine runs just as good as when I first got it so it's definitely a keeper.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: i'm not going to criticize this machine!
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

I should have listened to the bad reviews

PostedMay 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Despite the warnings I bought it anyway. It worked for 2 hours then quit. Awful product. Please learn from me. Also the plastic paddle for pushing small matter in broke in short order. Does not perform well either
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Annapolis, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Chipper works even cooler when you get your grown kids to use it for you!!!! :)

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It only took a few seconds to put together. Chipped up the branch like a breeze! It was so fun to use that my daughter decided to chipped my two garbage cans full of branches while her daughter watched! I only wish it did branches bigger than 2"
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Hoquiam, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dont overload it.

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had this for a couple of months now and purchased it to chip trees and bushes around my property to use as mulch,compost and save on landfill fees.So far i have run Red Maple,Japanese Maple,Redwood and Boxwood threw this thing and I only jammed it when I got over aggressive.
A couple nice things about this chipper is the motor runs without getting hot and just keeps going,the other is if your mechanically minded the blades are tempered and are very easy to resharpen when needed.
I really like this chipper and would replace it in a heartbeat if it died.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, resharpenable blade.
+31points
34out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

grinder

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
good grinding capability. infeed is difficult & jams w/ softer wood
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Saint Albans, WV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Machine

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It was easy to assemble and use. Shredded cornstalks but the leaves tended to clog it up. Chipped up some tree limbs and did a good job but hung up on some 1" dead branches from a beech tree.
Did a good job for most of the small stuff I have.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from San Marcos, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Decent wood chipper for average homeowner

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great little wood chipper for small jobs. It can handle branches up to 1.5" in diameter, and it works great on those as long as they are relatively straight and do not have a lot of smaller twigs shooting off of them. That means it takes a good amount of prep work to get your branches ready for wood-chipping since you have to cut off all small twigs, and chop crooked branches into smaller, straighter pieces. The reason it gets clogged is that the opening on the top is pretty small, so you have to kind of fight to get bushy/twiggy pieces through. That is a bit frustrating, BUT I recognize that the smaller opening also means it's harder for me to accidentally chop my fingers off, so I appreciate that. All-in-all, I am happy with this purchase and am excited to be able to turn pruned branches into good mulch for the garden.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Tacoma, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes nice chips

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The chipper is a basic model. For occasional use around your yard, it makes very nice chips, about 1/16" thick by 1/8" wide, by 1/2" long. It can only handle branches about 1 1/4" diameter & nothing else will fit through the opening. If you try to force it, it will jam, but if you mostly let it feed itself, it does fine. It is fairly time consuming, but I wanted a simple electric one & next step up are more expensive gas models.
Pros: Easy to Use, Mulches Well
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Holden Beach, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice for price

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The chipper is good for the homeowner. Just don"t expect it to perform like a huge grinder. I've used it three times and got my money out of it. Just go slow and easy and it will perform.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Hawaii
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great!

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great for light home use if you read and follow directions.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1.5 in. 14-Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Little Chipper

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect little chipper for regular yard maintenance. Do not force large branches or it will jam (unjamming is as easy as pulling the branch back out). Make sure needles and leaves have wilted/dried a little before chipping. I chipped some fresh pine branches (sticky needles) and the discharged chute clogged. Nice sized chips. Look good for mulch. Its pretty quiet too. No louder than a lawn mower. Very pleased with the performance of this chipper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Light Weight
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>