728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chipper Shredders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Chipper Joe Plus CJ601E makes quick work out of brush, leaves and branches. Turn your yard rubbish into garden mulch doing your part to reduce, reuse and recycle. The CJ601E can handle sticks and wood limbs up to 1.5 in. in Dia. The minimized wood chips make a great mulch for around trees and flower beds. Its lightweight design makes the Chipper Joe Plus easy to move around the yard. A key feature of the unit is a safety hopper lock that prevents the motor from operating when opened. The chippers powerful 14 Amp motor runs at speeds up to 4,300/min making your cleanup chores fast.
Overall rating:
3.889 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(162 reviews) 162
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product126 of 152reviews
Rating Breakdown 162 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(70)
4
(53)
3
(10)
2
(9)
1
(20)
Features 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product126 of 152reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
Review 1 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Traverse City area, Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

14 Amp Wood Chipper

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product works as described. You have to feed things basically one-at-a-time. Thicker stock has to be guided in. Keep a hand on what you feed because it could be spun around. I used it to mulch up dead branches from red pine. They were dry and slightly rotted, though some were resinous. You will want a running shear and a hatchet or machete.
My photo shows the product, the mulch pile, the branches that ere too thick to mulch and in the background both cleared and yet to do areas.
Pros: Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: feeds one branch at a time
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Thumbs up for Chipper Joe

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had a landscaper quote the clean up and haul away behind our garage at $350. The Chipper Joe was under $200 and did the job behind our garage as well as the branches and leaves from our trimmed bushes and the branches and leaves that were removed hanging on our roof. The only time Chipper Joe clogged up is when I put too many leaves in it and even that was easy to open and unclog. Branches, leaves, weeds, vines and small trees are no problem for this product. No more yard waste bags and stickers. If you are a do-it-yourself person and want to save money, this is the greatest thing since sliced bread.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Anchorage, AK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great little unit at a great price

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was realistic and did not expect an industrial chipper at this price point. That said this little thing works like a charm. Easy to use and makes quick work of a pile of limbs. It has only jammed on me one time when I tried to chip a limb with too many side twigs. BUT it cleared in a snap and I was back in business. It does not do well with the really tiny twigs, but they are easy to pick out if you plan to use the chips for decorative cover. And if you just plan to bag them for disposal, sure makes it easy. This was definitely a smart purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
Cons: smaller twigs do not get mulched
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+53points
54out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from State College, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Flimsy product--Broken after 2 hrs.

PostedApril 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Sun Joe worked fine for the first 15 minutes (sucked branches in as described), then needed pushing and shoving, and finally broke down after 2 hrs: all blades dull, one blade broken (!), feeder (plastic) broken. A shoddily built, flimsy product.
Do not use for: Branches over 0.75 in, branches under 1/4 in, sycamore and other hardwood species, pine branches, old and dry branches, young and fresh branches, branches that are not completely straight, anything other than branches.
Honestly, I don't know what this product is good for. Waste of money, better get a heavy duty shredder right away.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effective light duty chipper for Harry Homeowner

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
A couple of weeks ago my wife and I went crazy in our back yard. We spent the entire weekend pruning, trimming and thinning our entire landscape. Wound up with a four foot high pile of trimmings that covered over half the yard. Wasn't about to manually cut that stuff up so it could be bagged and hauled out. So I went on line looking for a light duty chipper and settled on this one. It gets mixed reviews, but they all do.
During two 2 hour sessions I turned that huge pile of cuttings into two bags of chips. No jams or overloads. By the end of each session the motor housing was quite warm but not too hot to touch with a bare hand.
Don't try to rush things. Feed it one or two branches at a time. Don't push. Let them feed at their own pace and guide them in. I chipped branches up to an inch thick and four feet long.
The only problem I have is that there is no effective way to attach a catch bag to the output chute. I solved that by sitting it on top of a 32 gallon trash can lined with a lawn and leaf bag, with a couple of 12 inch pavers in the bottom (under the bag) to give it some stability. It sits there on an angle with the chute aimed right into the bag (see photos). I doubt that either the manufacturer or Home Depot would endorse that. But it worked well and was quite stable.
There's a crab apple tree back there in desperate need of a good pruning. I've been putting it off because I just don't want deal with the cuttings. I'm going after that tree next weekend. If I don't come back to amend this review you can assume it also handled that stuff as well.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Mulches Well, Light Weight
Cons: no chip catcher
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+60points
68out of 76found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Lakeside, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great deal for the money.

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It took about 1/2 to put together, and it works great. I was trimming hedges for 2 solid 8hr days. After the blades went dull, I took the blades out and turned them over, and chipped more. I bought a 6in grinder and just sharpened the blades again, this little chipper is well worth the money. Here's my advise for anyone learning as I just did, shred the branches the same or next day that you do your trimming. Older and dried out branches will dull the blade, but the fresh green branches will go down like a cube of butter on a hot skillet. This is not a professional chipper, but it is great for the weekend warriors.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Louisville,Ky.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I call it Chipper Joe

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This chipper works great. I used it all day Saturday, I took breaks turning it off to rest and it worked fine. I put in a branch that was close to the max and I could tell it bogged down but it did not jam up. The mulch it produces saves me from having to buy the mulch. It will pay for itself in savings if you use a lot of mulch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Seguin, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What a great product; Very easy to put together as only the stand and wheel assembly was required;
It is easy to operate and if you follow the guidelines about the size of limbs it can handle, you should
be happy with this product. A great value for the money. Truly happy with this purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Madison Twp, PA USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well

PostedJune 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to assemble. The 1 1/2" diameter is really pushing it, the unit tends to jam and shut off with anything approaching that size. And be careful with badly curved or forked pieces as they will also cause a jam. Overall it does a decent job of shredding limbs and twigs up. It's not commercial grade and isn't meant to be. For the occasional spring or fall clean up in the yard it's great. And it's easy to roll about and compared to a gas unit not anywhere as noisy. And you get the added bonus of not having to buy gas or oil to run it and because it is electric you can store it anywhere between uses. For the price it's a nice addition to your outdoor power equipment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight, Easy to Store, shreds and chips well
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

It works fine for the price

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This model is quite a bit cheaper than the gas models I compared it to. I am happy with this purchase. You can't go crazy with what you shove into the chute, just cut things up to removed nodules off the sides (so they fit cleanly through the throat) and take it slow. This chipper worked nicely for me.
I did open up the machine before using it, to inspect how the blades worked. I tightened the allen bolts on the blades another 1/4 turn before I turned it on. I was a bit surprised to find them so loose. This might have been to manufacture spec but I am comfortable with them a bit more snug.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Everything I ever dreamed of

PostedSeptember 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't know why everyone doesn't have one of these. It turns all that yard waste that probably goes to the landfill otherwise into fresh mulch or compostable scraps. It does best with long, straight, thickish branches. I'd recommend also investing in a good branch lopper too, so you can trim the side branches and feed them in separately. Trying to feed the whole thing in will either trigger the safety fuse, or just physically jam up the hopper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Redlands, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Machine

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just purchased a home with 2 overgrown fruitless Mulberry trees that were in desperate need of pruning. Once cut, the tree branches covered my entire yard to a height of 3 feet in some places. I bought the machine with the hopes that I could turn my trash into treasure by making chips to use for landscape mulch. I was dubious that this machine, at such a low price, was up to the task. I was going to return it if it was not. However, the job got finished, I never had to stop and clean out the insides as some people were saying they had to do (although was mindful not to overload it), and the chips I made have beautified my property. Despite the huge pile of branches I had to chip, the machine runs just as good as when I first got it so it's definitely a keeper.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: i'm not going to criticize this machine!
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the price

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is easy to set up and operate. Most effective for straight dry tree limbs and branches less than 1".
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

OK and then it stops working

PostedAugust 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is only good for the smallest twigs I had it for a week and then it stopped working. the motor burnt out.
It works hard chipping a stick the size of your finger
I bought it because I was able to afford something like this save your money for something good you get what you pay for
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from spokane, wa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far! So good!

PostedJune 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The chipper does a good job. The only compliant I have is the opening to the blades is to small for leafy plants. It is diffecult to push the plants thru. Otherwise there is enough power to handle most small backyards. We are satisfied with the machine.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
Cons: small opening
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Honolulu
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Bad

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The screws for the footing do not line up, hence 2 were stripped during assembly. The feeder is small, but I guess it's so you can't get oversized branches in. It does not shred leaves well, but it does shred small branches.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Hoquiam, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dont overload it.

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had this for a couple of months now and purchased it to chip trees and bushes around my property to use as mulch,compost and save on landfill fees.So far i have run Red Maple,Japanese Maple,Redwood and Boxwood threw this thing and I only jammed it when I got over aggressive.
A couple nice things about this chipper is the motor runs without getting hot and just keeps going,the other is if your mechanically minded the blades are tempered and are very easy to resharpen when needed.
I really like this chipper and would replace it in a heartbeat if it died.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, resharpenable blade.
+34points
37out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Boulder, Colorado - zone 5
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good garden clean up helper

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I left my teenage son to put it together, and that seemed to go well. I had to finish the stand and again although the holes were a small challenge to line up for the screws nothing I couldn't manage. Overall very pleased I purchased this machine. I had one when I lived in the UK about 20 yrs ago and frankly I was put off from buying another because of my experiences with that one!
You have to be careful to keep the amount of greens light or mix with woody materials to keep it running smoothly. Its been a great boon for shredding all of the trimmings from the "over" summer flowering plants. Ordinarily I would have had to store some of the plants somewhere before I could load up another 96 gallon compost container for collection by the city but this time I managed a complete makeover of the garden with everything in the compost container.
I placed a piece of cardboard over the receiving bucket to minimize the amount of dust borne (seeds) contaminants while shredding. Be careful to wear leather gloves it you are chipping as the machine tends to grab the wood out of your hand so over time you could blister or injure your hands.
Pros: Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Light Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from San Marcos, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Decent wood chipper for average homeowner

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great little wood chipper for small jobs. It can handle branches up to 1.5" in diameter, and it works great on those as long as they are relatively straight and do not have a lot of smaller twigs shooting off of them. That means it takes a good amount of prep work to get your branches ready for wood-chipping since you have to cut off all small twigs, and chop crooked branches into smaller, straighter pieces. The reason it gets clogged is that the opening on the top is pretty small, so you have to kind of fight to get bushy/twiggy pieces through. That is a bit frustrating, BUT I recognize that the smaller opening also means it's harder for me to accidentally chop my fingers off, so I appreciate that. All-in-all, I am happy with this purchase and am excited to be able to turn pruned branches into good mulch for the garden.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Tacoma, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes nice chips

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The chipper is a basic model. For occasional use around your yard, it makes very nice chips, about 1/16" thick by 1/8" wide, by 1/2" long. It can only handle branches about 1 1/4" diameter & nothing else will fit through the opening. If you try to force it, it will jam, but if you mostly let it feed itself, it does fine. It is fairly time consuming, but I wanted a simple electric one & next step up are more expensive gas models.
Pros: Easy to Use, Mulches Well
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>