728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chipper Shredders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Chipper Joe Plus CJ601E makes quick work out of brush, leaves and branches. Turn your yard rubbish into garden mulch doing your part to reduce, reuse and recycle. The CJ601E can handle sticks and wood limbs up to 1.5 in. in diameter. The minimized wood chips make a great mulch for around trees and flower beds. Its lightweight design makes the Chipper Joe Plus easy to move around the yard. A key feature of the unit is a safety hopper lock that prevents the motor from operating when opened. The chippers powerful 14 amp motor runs at speeds up to 4,300/min making your cleanup chores fast.
Overall rating:
4.017 / 5
4
 / 
5
(117 reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product96 of 111reviews
Rating Breakdown 117 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(55)
4
(37)
3
(8)
2
(6)
1
(11)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product96 of 111reviews
Customer reviews for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
Review 1 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Anchorage, AK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great little unit at a great price

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was realistic and did not expect an industrial chipper at this price point. That said this little thing works like a charm. Easy to use and makes quick work of a pile of limbs. It has only jammed on me one time when I tried to chip a limb with too many side twigs. BUT it cleared in a snap and I was back in business. It does not do well with the really tiny twigs, but they are easy to pick out if you plan to use the chips for decorative cover. And if you just plan to bag them for disposal, sure makes it easy. This was definitely a smart purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
Cons: smaller twigs do not get mulched
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+33points
34out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Thumbs up for Chipper Joe

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a landscaper quote the clean up and haul away behind our garage at $350. The Chipper Joe was under $200 and did the job behind our garage as well as the branches and leaves from our trimmed bushes and the branches and leaves that were removed hanging on our roof. The only time Chipper Joe clogged up is when I put too many leaves in it and even that was easy to open and unclog. Branches, leaves, weeds, vines and small trees are no problem for this product. No more yard waste bags and stickers. If you are a do-it-yourself person and want to save money, this is the greatest thing since sliced bread.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Lakeside, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great deal for the money.

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took about 1/2 to put together, and it works great. I was trimming hedges for 2 solid 8hr days. After the blades went dull, I took the blades out and turned them over, and chipped more. I bought a 6in grinder and just sharpened the blades again, this little chipper is well worth the money. Here's my advise for anyone learning as I just did, shred the branches the same or next day that you do your trimming. Older and dried out branches will dull the blade, but the fresh green branches will go down like a cube of butter on a hot skillet. This is not a professional chipper, but it is great for the weekend warriors.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

It works fine for the price

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This model is quite a bit cheaper than the gas models I compared it to. I am happy with this purchase. You can't go crazy with what you shove into the chute, just cut things up to removed nodules off the sides (so they fit cleanly through the throat) and take it slow. This chipper worked nicely for me.
I did open up the machine before using it, to inspect how the blades worked. I tightened the allen bolts on the blades another 1/4 turn before I turned it on. I was a bit surprised to find them so loose. This might have been to manufacture spec but I am comfortable with them a bit more snug.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effective light duty chipper for Harry Homeowner

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A couple of weeks ago my wife and I went crazy in our back yard. We spent the entire weekend pruning, trimming and thinning our entire landscape. Wound up with a four foot high pile of trimmings that covered over half the yard. Wasn't about to manually cut that stuff up so it could be bagged and hauled out. So I went on line looking for a light duty chipper and settled on this one. It gets mixed reviews, but they all do.
During two 2 hour sessions I turned that huge pile of cuttings into two bags of chips. No jams or overloads. By the end of each session the motor housing was quite warm but not too hot to touch with a bare hand.
Don't try to rush things. Feed it one or two branches at a time. Don't push. Let them feed at their own pace and guide them in. I chipped branches up to an inch thick and four feet long.
The only problem I have is that there is no effective way to attach a catch bag to the output chute. I solved that by sitting it on top of a 32 gallon trash can lined with a lawn and leaf bag, with a couple of 12 inch pavers in the bottom (under the bag) to give it some stability. It sits there on an angle with the chute aimed right into the bag (see photos). I doubt that either the manufacturer or Home Depot would endorse that. But it worked well and was quite stable.
There's a crab apple tree back there in desperate need of a good pruning. I've been putting it off because I just don't want deal with the cuttings. I'm going after that tree next weekend. If I don't come back to amend this review you can assume it also handled that stuff as well.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Mulches Well, Light Weight
Cons: no chip catcher
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+42points
50out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from San Marcos, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Decent wood chipper for average homeowner

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great little wood chipper for small jobs. It can handle branches up to 1.5" in diameter, and it works great on those as long as they are relatively straight and do not have a lot of smaller twigs shooting off of them. That means it takes a good amount of prep work to get your branches ready for wood-chipping since you have to cut off all small twigs, and chop crooked branches into smaller, straighter pieces. The reason it gets clogged is that the opening on the top is pretty small, so you have to kind of fight to get bushy/twiggy pieces through. That is a bit frustrating, BUT I recognize that the smaller opening also means it's harder for me to accidentally chop my fingers off, so I appreciate that. All-in-all, I am happy with this purchase and am excited to be able to turn pruned branches into good mulch for the garden.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Redlands, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Machine

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just purchased a home with 2 overgrown fruitless Mulberry trees that were in desperate need of pruning. Once cut, the tree branches covered my entire yard to a height of 3 feet in some places. I bought the machine with the hopes that I could turn my trash into treasure by making chips to use for landscape mulch. I was dubious that this machine, at such a low price, was up to the task. I was going to return it if it was not. However, the job got finished, I never had to stop and clean out the insides as some people were saying they had to do (although was mindful not to overload it), and the chips I made have beautified my property. Despite the huge pile of branches I had to chip, the machine runs just as good as when I first got it so it's definitely a keeper.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: i'm not going to criticize this machine!
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Hoquiam, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dont overload it.

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this for a couple of months now and purchased it to chip trees and bushes around my property to use as mulch,compost and save on landfill fees.So far i have run Red Maple,Japanese Maple,Redwood and Boxwood threw this thing and I only jammed it when I got over aggressive.
A couple nice things about this chipper is the motor runs without getting hot and just keeps going,the other is if your mechanically minded the blades are tempered and are very easy to resharpen when needed.
I really like this chipper and would replace it in a heartbeat if it died.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, resharpenable blade.
+29points
32out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Austin Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A lot of Value for a little machine

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
WOW- What a little workhorse!! I have a big yard and 50 Rose bushes that I have to prune every year. It used to take myself and a neighbor boy 3 days and I would fill 10 to 12 paper recycle bags of thorney branches. I finished the job in a 1 1/2 days and only filled 3 bags. It made the job so easy we even went and trimmed all the "knockout" border roses. With me pruning and him feeding we kept it running for an hour at a time and it never overheated. I did use a 10/3 cord but we were at times 75 to 100feet from my different power sources. My only complaint was that the hopper hole is sized for 1 3/8 sized branches so you can't insert large pieces but it would be nice to be able to "bundle" a handful of small branches at a time. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Helpful Yard Tool

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had my eye on this chipper for a while and finally bought it when it was on sale. I wanted to be able to turn the numerous dead branches that fall off my birch trees into chips to add back to the mulch around them. This works very well. It does get jammed occasionally. I've noticed that some of the older twigs that are drier go through it easier than some of the newer ones. You do have to spend some time reducing the branches to fit into the small opening, but it's worth it to add the organic matter back to my yard.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Ogden, UT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this based on customer reviews and price. I had a large pile of branches (willow, birch) that had accumulated over winter and it devoured them. It was about a 3 hour job and the power was on almost continuously.
It has a relatively quiet motor, is lightweight, and simple to use. It jammed on me a couple of times when I fed in large diameter, angled branches but unjamming it was easy.
I looked at a similar product at Harbor Freight that was about the same price, but have had issues with the quality of their cutting tools, so I opted for this one.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Amazing Product and fits into a small space!

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have to admit that when this product showed up at the front door that I was thinking that it would be pretty bad at breaking branches into mulch. Boy was I wrong! This machine is easy to build, easy to use, and fits into the smallest space in the shed. I was out using the device and the next thing I knew the neighbors were over visiting as they were shocked by how much of the wood pile disappeared into mulch in such a short amount of time with very little effort.
There were a couple of times that the machine clogged as sometimes the branches were right at the 1.5 inches in diameter, but the machine was easy to open and clear the blockage to try again.
All in all, this is one great product for a great price. I am recommending it to everyone in my neighborhood and friends if they are looking at wood chippers.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, easy to clear if blocked
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Peabody, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This is a great light duty shredder. I would limit the diameter of branches to 1 inch unless you are shredding soft wood like pine. I shredded two burning bushes very nicely. The shredder is fairly quiet also.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
Cons: jams when fed 1 1/2" branches
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Prairie Village, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy/lightweight

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to use and lightweight (but strong!) so you can move around in the yard easily to take someplace else. I love that because I can throw it in my pickup and take to use at my rental houses.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

A real workhorse chipper

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews before I bought this wood chipper and so was not surprised at its limitations. It does a great job on branches up to an inch thick. Small twigs seem to slide through. The mulch it makes is well chopped. Not sawdust and not long shreds. Don't feed it too much at once or feed branches with too many bends or small side shoots. Unclogging is pretty quick and you soon learn what not to feed it. It is heavy enough to do its job but easy to wheel around. I am very happy with its performance and with the mulch it makes from my pruning.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Hickory, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great little workhorse

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to chip as I cut the bushes. It works great, chips the branches with leaves like butter and makes multi-colored chips! Easy to assemble and use.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Anchorage, AK (Alaska)
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good light chipping machine

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This item was easy to assemble and use.
Following the caution instructions the chipper operates well.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great for brush

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is great for chipping up brush and very small branches. What I like best is that when something gets stuck it is very easy to take apart and fix. It is light so I can move it around easily.
Pros: Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Great Value

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a small electric wood chipper and did a fair amount of comparison shopping.
I selected the Chipper Joe for the value it offered. It is easy to use and does a good job on the small branches that end up in my yard from our trees.
I used it for a couple of hours straight and it worked as advertised. I only had it jam one time due to a large branch but I am able to turn off the chipper and free the branch with minimal effort.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

might be good for branches, but that is it

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this because the description said it was good for shredding leaves.... problem: the opening is only a couple inches.... needs some kind of chute so you can feed leaves into it... even at that it would take FOREVER. This machine may be good for small branches/twigs, but that is not what I bought it for... should not state good for shredding leaves!
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, very small branches only
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>