728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chipper Shredders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Chipper Joe Plus CJ601E makes quick work out of brush, leaves and branches. Turn your yard rubbish into garden mulch doing your part to reduce, reuse and recycle. The CJ601E can handle sticks and wood limbs up to 1.5 in. in diameter. The minimized wood chips make a great mulch for around trees and flower beds. Its lightweight design makes the Chipper Joe Plus easy to move around the yard. A key feature of the unit is a safety hopper lock that prevents the motor from operating when opened. The chippers powerful 14 amp motor runs at speeds up to 4,300/min making your cleanup chores fast.
Overall rating:
4.054 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(129 reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product105 of 121reviews
Rating Breakdown 129 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(62)
4
(41)
3
(8)
2
(7)
1
(11)
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product105 of 121reviews
Customer reviews for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
Review 1 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Thumbs up for Chipper Joe

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a landscaper quote the clean up and haul away behind our garage at $350. The Chipper Joe was under $200 and did the job behind our garage as well as the branches and leaves from our trimmed bushes and the branches and leaves that were removed hanging on our roof. The only time Chipper Joe clogged up is when I put too many leaves in it and even that was easy to open and unclog. Branches, leaves, weeds, vines and small trees are no problem for this product. No more yard waste bags and stickers. If you are a do-it-yourself person and want to save money, this is the greatest thing since sliced bread.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Anchorage, AK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great little unit at a great price

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was realistic and did not expect an industrial chipper at this price point. That said this little thing works like a charm. Easy to use and makes quick work of a pile of limbs. It has only jammed on me one time when I tried to chip a limb with too many side twigs. BUT it cleared in a snap and I was back in business. It does not do well with the really tiny twigs, but they are easy to pick out if you plan to use the chips for decorative cover. And if you just plan to bag them for disposal, sure makes it easy. This was definitely a smart purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
Cons: smaller twigs do not get mulched
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+39points
40out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Lakeside, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great deal for the money.

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took about 1/2 to put together, and it works great. I was trimming hedges for 2 solid 8hr days. After the blades went dull, I took the blades out and turned them over, and chipped more. I bought a 6in grinder and just sharpened the blades again, this little chipper is well worth the money. Here's my advise for anyone learning as I just did, shred the branches the same or next day that you do your trimming. Older and dried out branches will dull the blade, but the fresh green branches will go down like a cube of butter on a hot skillet. This is not a professional chipper, but it is great for the weekend warriors.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effective light duty chipper for Harry Homeowner

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A couple of weeks ago my wife and I went crazy in our back yard. We spent the entire weekend pruning, trimming and thinning our entire landscape. Wound up with a four foot high pile of trimmings that covered over half the yard. Wasn't about to manually cut that stuff up so it could be bagged and hauled out. So I went on line looking for a light duty chipper and settled on this one. It gets mixed reviews, but they all do.
During two 2 hour sessions I turned that huge pile of cuttings into two bags of chips. No jams or overloads. By the end of each session the motor housing was quite warm but not too hot to touch with a bare hand.
Don't try to rush things. Feed it one or two branches at a time. Don't push. Let them feed at their own pace and guide them in. I chipped branches up to an inch thick and four feet long.
The only problem I have is that there is no effective way to attach a catch bag to the output chute. I solved that by sitting it on top of a 32 gallon trash can lined with a lawn and leaf bag, with a couple of 12 inch pavers in the bottom (under the bag) to give it some stability. It sits there on an angle with the chute aimed right into the bag (see photos). I doubt that either the manufacturer or Home Depot would endorse that. But it worked well and was quite stable.
There's a crab apple tree back there in desperate need of a good pruning. I've been putting it off because I just don't want deal with the cuttings. I'm going after that tree next weekend. If I don't come back to amend this review you can assume it also handled that stuff as well.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Mulches Well, Light Weight
Cons: no chip catcher
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+45points
53out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

It works fine for the price

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This model is quite a bit cheaper than the gas models I compared it to. I am happy with this purchase. You can't go crazy with what you shove into the chute, just cut things up to removed nodules off the sides (so they fit cleanly through the throat) and take it slow. This chipper worked nicely for me.
I did open up the machine before using it, to inspect how the blades worked. I tightened the allen bolts on the blades another 1/4 turn before I turned it on. I was a bit surprised to find them so loose. This might have been to manufacture spec but I am comfortable with them a bit more snug.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Canon City, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Impressive little chipper

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The chipper/shredder works well for chipping branches and brush around the yard. I haven't pushed it to accept branches thicker than 1 inch in diameter but that's fine. I use the thicker branches for firewood or kindling anyway. It jammed only once after quite a bit of use, but clearing the jam was a breeze. The only negative: it's electrical cord is very short and hangs in such a way that vibrations from the machine when it's running loosens or unplugs the machine cord from the extension cord. I resorted to taping the plug to an extension cord when using. Overall a good product.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: needs longer electric cord.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Saint Albans, WV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Machine

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It was easy to assemble and use. Shredded cornstalks but the leaves tended to clog it up. Chipped up some tree limbs and did a good job but hung up on some 1" dead branches from a beech tree.
Did a good job for most of the small stuff I have.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Shawnee Mission, KS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great, Breaks easily

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works exactly as it should but it does break easily. If you put , lets say, a 6" long 3/4 diameter piece of wood that is dry not green, it can bounce around in the hopper and damage the machine.
On the up side...if you know this and you put in some other longer smaller diameter sticks along with my 6"example, you'll probably be fine.
Also, my machine has a 3 year warranty and companies customer service is great. They have replaced my machine two times. No charge to me!
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Boston
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

More like Chipper Shmoe

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this 1.5 inch chipper which the hopes of cleaning up some fallen branches in my backyard. After my first use I realized it wasn't going to be as easy as I thought. Any branch over 1 inch would become lodged in the blades causing me to take a few minutes to free the branch and reset the motor. Also, sticks were not chipped so my mulch was filled with long sticks that I had to pick out by hand. After about two weeks of chipping the metal branch guide on the inside of the chipper developed a whole causing the blades to no longer be able to turn. Luckily I was with in my 90 day return policy. I highly recommend spending the money for a better product.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Mead, Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent chipper and mulcher

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This chipper reduces vegetable garden refuse to a fine mulch, perfect for composting. It is easy to set up and use. It mulches green refuse quickly, and woody stems up to a half inch thick quickly, too. Thicker woody stems take a bit longer to reduce to fine chips. Overall, this is a superb garden mulcher.
Pros: Easy to Use, Mulches Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Redlands, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Machine

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just purchased a home with 2 overgrown fruitless Mulberry trees that were in desperate need of pruning. Once cut, the tree branches covered my entire yard to a height of 3 feet in some places. I bought the machine with the hopes that I could turn my trash into treasure by making chips to use for landscape mulch. I was dubious that this machine, at such a low price, was up to the task. I was going to return it if it was not. However, the job got finished, I never had to stop and clean out the insides as some people were saying they had to do (although was mindful not to overload it), and the chips I made have beautified my property. Despite the huge pile of branches I had to chip, the machine runs just as good as when I first got it so it's definitely a keeper.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: i'm not going to criticize this machine!
+40points
40out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from San Marcos, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Decent wood chipper for average homeowner

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great little wood chipper for small jobs. It can handle branches up to 1.5" in diameter, and it works great on those as long as they are relatively straight and do not have a lot of smaller twigs shooting off of them. That means it takes a good amount of prep work to get your branches ready for wood-chipping since you have to cut off all small twigs, and chop crooked branches into smaller, straighter pieces. The reason it gets clogged is that the opening on the top is pretty small, so you have to kind of fight to get bushy/twiggy pieces through. That is a bit frustrating, BUT I recognize that the smaller opening also means it's harder for me to accidentally chop my fingers off, so I appreciate that. All-in-all, I am happy with this purchase and am excited to be able to turn pruned branches into good mulch for the garden.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Hopkinton, IA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garden Waste

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took care of the garden waste in reasonable time. Really easy to operate.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the price!

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great for smaller branches and has lots of power. Chips are small.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Ogden, UT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this based on customer reviews and price. I had a large pile of branches (willow, birch) that had accumulated over winter and it devoured them. It was about a 3 hour job and the power was on almost continuously.
It has a relatively quiet motor, is lightweight, and simple to use. It jammed on me a couple of times when I fed in large diameter, angled branches but unjamming it was easy.
I looked at a similar product at Harbor Freight that was about the same price, but have had issues with the quality of their cutting tools, so I opted for this one.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Much better than expected

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Because of the price and plastic casing, I expected this little machine to not hold up well, or possibly not do a very good job. I was very wrong. I had a lot of green viney material that was the result of storm damage, and this machine handled it very well. One problem is when shredding green material it does tend to wind around a nut inside, and should be cleaned out often. It handled one to 1 1/2 inch branches easily, and it even shredded some bamboo that I tried just to see how well it would work. I am very impressed with this little workhorse. Cleaning it out is most important and fairly easy but if this is done regularly it looks like it will last for a long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Hoquiam, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dont overload it.

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this for a couple of months now and purchased it to chip trees and bushes around my property to use as mulch,compost and save on landfill fees.So far i have run Red Maple,Japanese Maple,Redwood and Boxwood threw this thing and I only jammed it when I got over aggressive.
A couple nice things about this chipper is the motor runs without getting hot and just keeps going,the other is if your mechanically minded the blades are tempered and are very easy to resharpen when needed.
I really like this chipper and would replace it in a heartbeat if it died.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, resharpenable blade.
+31points
34out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Austin Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A lot of Value for a little machine

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
WOW- What a little workhorse!! I have a big yard and 50 Rose bushes that I have to prune every year. It used to take myself and a neighbor boy 3 days and I would fill 10 to 12 paper recycle bags of thorney branches. I finished the job in a 1 1/2 days and only filled 3 bags. It made the job so easy we even went and trimmed all the "knockout" border roses. With me pruning and him feeding we kept it running for an hour at a time and it never overheated. I did use a 10/3 cord but we were at times 75 to 100feet from my different power sources. My only complaint was that the hopper hole is sized for 1 3/8 sized branches so you can't insert large pieces but it would be nice to be able to "bundle" a handful of small branches at a time. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

A real workhorse chipper

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews before I bought this wood chipper and so was not surprised at its limitations. It does a great job on branches up to an inch thick. Small twigs seem to slide through. The mulch it makes is well chopped. Not sawdust and not long shreds. Don't feed it too much at once or feed branches with too many bends or small side shoots. Unclogging is pretty quick and you soon learn what not to feed it. It is heavy enough to do its job but easy to wheel around. I am very happy with its performance and with the mulch it makes from my pruning.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Chipper Joe 1.5 in. 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
from Sparks, NV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did the Job Perfectly

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm glad I read the reviews--they encouraged me to buy this chipper. It got rid of a huge pile of trimmings. Earlier reviewers were right: follow the directions, don't force things. If something gets stuck, the motor stops before it overheats; it's easy to remove the cover to clear it out, and I liked the safety features built in. It had a two-year warranty, which was important to me.
And wear your safety goggles! Chips occasionally fly.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>