728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chipper Shredders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Chipper Joe Plus CJ601E makes quick work out of brush, leaves and branches. Turn your yard rubbish into garden mulch doing your part to reduce, reuse and recycle. The CJ601E can handle sticks and wood limbs up to 1.5 in. in diameter. The minimized wood chips make a great mulch for around trees and flower beds. Its lightweight design makes the Chipper Joe Plus easy to move around the yard. A key feature of the unit is a safety hopper lock that prevents the motor from operating when opened. The chippers powerful 14 amp motor runs at speeds up to 4,300/min making your cleanup chores fast.
Overall rating:
4.033 / 5
4
 / 
5
(92 reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product77 of 89reviews
Rating Breakdown 92 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(44)
4
(28)
3
(7)
2
(5)
1
(8)
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product77 of 89reviews
Customer reviews for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
Review 1 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
cjf613
from Anchorage, AK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great little unit at a great price

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was realistic and did not expect an industrial chipper at this price point. That said this little thing works like a charm. Easy to use and makes quick work of a pile of limbs. It has only jammed on me one time when I tried to chip a limb with too many side twigs. BUT it cleared in a snap and I was back in business. It does not do well with the really tiny twigs, but they are easy to pick out if you plan to use the chips for decorative cover. And if you just plan to bag them for disposal, sure makes it easy. This was definitely a smart purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
Cons: smaller twigs do not get mulched
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
Michael

It works fine for the price

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This model is quite a bit cheaper than the gas models I compared it to. I am happy with this purchase. You can't go crazy with what you shove into the chute, just cut things up to removed nodules off the sides (so they fit cleanly through the throat) and take it slow. This chipper worked nicely for me.
I did open up the machine before using it, to inspect how the blades worked. I tightened the allen bolts on the blades another 1/4 turn before I turned it on. I was a bit surprised to find them so loose. This might have been to manufacture spec but I am comfortable with them a bit more snug.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
BogDog811
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effective light duty chipper for Harry Homeowner

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A couple of weeks ago my wife and I went crazy in our back yard. We spent the entire weekend pruning, trimming and thinning our entire landscape. Wound up with a four foot high pile of trimmings that covered over half the yard. Wasn't about to manually cut that stuff up so it could be bagged and hauled out. So I went on line looking for a light duty chipper and settled on this one. It gets mixed reviews, but they all do.
During two 2 hour sessions I turned that huge pile of cuttings into two bags of chips. No jams or overloads. By the end of each session the motor housing was quite warm but not too hot to touch with a bare hand.
Don't try to rush things. Feed it one or two branches at a time. Don't push. Let them feed at their own pace and guide them in. I chipped branches up to an inch thick and four feet long.
The only problem I have is that there is no effective way to attach a catch bag to the output chute. I solved that by sitting it on top of a 32 gallon trash can lined with a lawn and leaf bag, with a couple of 12 inch pavers in the bottom (under the bag) to give it some stability. It sits there on an angle with the chute aimed right into the bag (see photos). I doubt that either the manufacturer or Home Depot would endorse that. But it worked well and was quite stable.
There's a crab apple tree back there in desperate need of a good pruning. I've been putting it off because I just don't want deal with the cuttings. I'm going after that tree next weekend. If I don't come back to amend this review you can assume it also handled that stuff as well.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Mulches Well, Light Weight
Cons: no chip catcher
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+29points
33out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
Pepsieholik
from Lakeside, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great deal for the money.

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took about 1/2 to put together, and it works great. I was trimming hedges for 2 solid 8hr days. After the blades went dull, I took the blades out and turned them over, and chipped more. I bought a 6in grinder and just sharpened the blades again, this little chipper is well worth the money. Here's my advise for anyone learning as I just did, shred the branches the same or next day that you do your trimming. Older and dried out branches will dull the blade, but the fresh green branches will go down like a cube of butter on a hot skillet. This is not a professional chipper, but it is great for the weekend warriors.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
Joe3275
from Redlands, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Machine

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just purchased a home with 2 overgrown fruitless Mulberry trees that were in desperate need of pruning. Once cut, the tree branches covered my entire yard to a height of 3 feet in some places. I bought the machine with the hopes that I could turn my trash into treasure by making chips to use for landscape mulch. I was dubious that this machine, at such a low price, was up to the task. I was going to return it if it was not. However, the job got finished, I never had to stop and clean out the insides as some people were saying they had to do (although was mindful not to overload it), and the chips I made have beautified my property. Despite the huge pile of branches I had to chip, the machine runs just as good as when I first got it so it's definitely a keeper.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: i'm not going to criticize this machine!
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
megdawg517
from San Marcos, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Decent wood chipper for average homeowner

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great little wood chipper for small jobs. It can handle branches up to 1.5" in diameter, and it works great on those as long as they are relatively straight and do not have a lot of smaller twigs shooting off of them. That means it takes a good amount of prep work to get your branches ready for wood-chipping since you have to cut off all small twigs, and chop crooked branches into smaller, straighter pieces. The reason it gets clogged is that the opening on the top is pretty small, so you have to kind of fight to get bushy/twiggy pieces through. That is a bit frustrating, BUT I recognize that the smaller opening also means it's harder for me to accidentally chop my fingers off, so I appreciate that. All-in-all, I am happy with this purchase and am excited to be able to turn pruned branches into good mulch for the garden.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
mcknzy
from Hoquiam, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dont overload it.

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this for a couple of months now and purchased it to chip trees and bushes around my property to use as mulch,compost and save on landfill fees.So far i have run Red Maple,Japanese Maple,Redwood and Boxwood threw this thing and I only jammed it when I got over aggressive.
A couple nice things about this chipper is the motor runs without getting hot and just keeps going,the other is if your mechanically minded the blades are tempered and are very easy to resharpen when needed.
I really like this chipper and would replace it in a heartbeat if it died.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, resharpenable blade.
+27points
29out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
JimR
from Austin Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A lot of Value for a little machine

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
WOW- What a little workhorse!! I have a big yard and 50 Rose bushes that I have to prune every year. It used to take myself and a neighbor boy 3 days and I would fill 10 to 12 paper recycle bags of thorney branches. I finished the job in a 1 1/2 days and only filled 3 bags. It made the job so easy we even went and trimmed all the "knockout" border roses. With me pruning and him feeding we kept it running for an hour at a time and it never overheated. I did use a 10/3 cord but we were at times 75 to 100feet from my different power sources. My only complaint was that the hopper hole is sized for 1 3/8 sized branches so you can't insert large pieces but it would be nice to be able to "bundle" a handful of small branches at a time. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
cla427
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

might be good for branches, but that is it

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this because the description said it was good for shredding leaves.... problem: the opening is only a couple inches.... needs some kind of chute so you can feed leaves into it... even at that it would take FOREVER. This machine may be good for small branches/twigs, but that is not what I bought it for... should not state good for shredding leaves!
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, very small branches only
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
TuckerNme
from Davis, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for chipping small limbs

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is easy to use & does the task for which I bought it. However, it doesn't do very small twigs, they just go right thru, without being chipped/shredded. Otherwise, it is just fine for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: doesn't chip small twigs
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
DixieMrs
from Birmingham, AL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use, good quality, not too heavy and well made.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Delighted with this purchase. The chipper is easy to use and very safe. Opening to insert branches and limbs is a bit small but it does the job as advertised. It is easy to move around and does a great job on chipping according to suggested limb/branch size. I am 100% satisfied and have no hesitation is recommending this excellent chipper.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Limited Features, leaf disposal to be determined
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
vinnycl
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Little Chipper

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect little chipper for regular yard maintenance. Do not force large branches or it will jam (unjamming is as easy as pulling the branch back out). Make sure needles and leaves have wilted/dried a little before chipping. I chipped some fresh pine branches (sticky needles) and the discharged chute clogged. Nice sized chips. Look good for mulch. Its pretty quiet too. No louder than a lawn mower. Very pleased with the performance of this chipper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Light Weight
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
Gaaren
from Tacoma, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes nice chips

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The chipper is a basic model. For occasional use around your yard, it makes very nice chips, about 1/16" thick by 1/8" wide, by 1/2" long. It can only handle branches about 1 1/4" diameter & nothing else will fit through the opening. If you try to force it, it will jam, but if you mostly let it feed itself, it does fine. It is fairly time consuming, but I wanted a simple electric one & next step up are more expensive gas models.
Pros: Easy to Use, Mulches Well
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
JudiL
from Hockessin, DE, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great machine for the price

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pleasant surprise: this little chipper works as well or better than represented. It "eats" branches up to about 1 1/4" in diameter, also bunches of smaller twigs fed into it. It has jammed only a couple of times when it needed to be opened (easily done with a turn screw). Usually it can be unjammed by simply pulling back on the branch. It works best on straight branches, has a bit of trouble with curves and bends.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
Cons: doesn't handle curved branches well
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
visualizepeas

Works for making compost

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this based on other reviews of this product. I am a home gardener and have had some small branches and yard clippings that needed breaking down for the compost pile. After using the chipper joe my compost is producing in 2 weeks!!! Just as other reviewers stated don't put too large branches in the chipper. Cut crooked branches straight. It has a knob that unscrews to take out any branches that jam. If you try to feed it more while it's jammed it will shut off on it's own. You can un-jam it and then wait for about 30 min. and hit the reset button. It worked great after some practice- I learned just to not over-stuff it and take my time. If you had a really big project or large branches-this might not be the chipper for you. For my home gardening-it's perfect.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
humboldthoney
from Northern California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Description was accurate, fast shipping. So far, so good. I've used it once to do minor yard clean up after pruning and trimming. It shreds into perfect mulch. I used to have to send all my little branches off to the 'green recycling yard' and now I can have that brown gold myself. A great product, easy to use, lightweight and sturdy enough. I also like that it's not gas powered. It's a pleasure to use this tool.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
DAVE
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The greatest

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did not get a chance to try out the chipper until today. It has been raining and everything was too wet. Went to work and did just scrap green branches than started on the 1 /12 inch branches, great. In Indiana I had a very large chipper as i had several acres of timber. I can not say how good this chipper is it is great, would recommend it to any homeowner who has smaller branches. I live in Florida and if a hurricane hits i will call a professional.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
MapleWindow
from Chapel Hill
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product does what it is supposed to do.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I researched products like this and picked this one. It works great for fresh cut limbs up to about an inch and a half. It is relatively quiet compared to gasoline powered models. There is no set up time. I just plug it in, and it works every time. The motor has stamina to keep going as long as I can bring branches to it. I would chose this product again if I were shopping for one.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
TimInSantaCruz
from Santa Cruz, CA

Great for small jobs

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this because my home is on a hill side and I don't want to carry trimmings up the hill to dispose of. The reviews I read said it doesn't work well on freshly cut branches so I waited 2-3 weeks to chip them. That was too long. I am going to try fresh cut next time. It works satisfactorily, but it is still a lot of work to cut individual branches then have to force each one into the machine separately. Over all for the money it is good, guess I need to spend alot more to be more productive, faster!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Chipper Joe 14 Amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
SouthsideFan
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Power and perfect size

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a steep and narrow back yard with several trees and bushes that need trimming back every year. Trying to get a gas chipper into the yard and down the hill is just about impossible. This was the perfect solution to our problem. It's light and easy to move around, so you can put the chip piles where you want them. And it chewed through 4 piles of branches and bush trimmings without stopping.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Easy to Assemble
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>