728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White

Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White

This Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White is beautifully designed for easy installation, maximum flush and water savings; Delta toilets are the smart choice. All Delta toilets feature the exclusive SmartFit tank-to-bowl connection. This technology eliminates potential leak points and the fear of over-tightening bolts. All while adding stability to the tank and making for an easier installation process. The Prelude elongated bowl and chair height allow for greater comfort in a classic design with maximum flushing performance. At 1.28 gpf, this WaterSense-approved model makes for an excellent choice for any decor and budget. No additional tools are required to assemble and install this complete toilet.
Overall rating:
3.966 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product69 of 88reviews
Rating Breakdown 89 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(48)
4
(19)
3
(4)
2
(7)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product69 of 88reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer reviews for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
Review 1 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Naples Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice Toilet + Good value + Easy Install

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a nice looking comfortable toilet with a great price point and good value. I purchased an XL wax ring. The one that comes in the box would have been to thin to work on my tiled bathroom floor. I also purchased a 20" connection line as recommended by other reviewers but my 16" worked just fine. The install is pretty simple. My only complaint is how they made the plastic cover system for the bolts that hold the toilet to the floor and the snap on caps. Really Chintzy design... we'll see how it works out over time. I purchased a Bemis Whisper close seat model 1201slow (40 bucks!) Over all I'm happy with this purchase. This is a strong flushing toilet with good looks and good comfort.
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Solid, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buy

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Flushes very well a lot better than the one it replaced. Also has a safety built into the valve in case the flapper would stick open. Came with everything to install.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Depth
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Southern, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over

This is the Perfect toilet for comfort & quality.

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We are getting older & live in a moble home with low seat toilets so it was hard getting up from them. These toilets are chair high with long seats also. One great feature is the little amount of water they need to flush them so we are sure that our water bill will go way down.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Depth, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+44points
48out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Ft Myers Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Toilet Value!

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wanted to get higher toilets for our vacation condo! Recently built a new house and used Champion 4 (supposedly top rated) toilets in the new house for $239 each! We intended to get the champions again until we saw the delta. Decided to save some $$ and bought just one to try it. Wow I'm very impressed with the Delta unit! In fact I like that the screws to hold the tank on don't go through the tank into the water in the tank! The screws are in a ceramic slot under the tank so they will never rust! Flush is great with 1.2 gallons! Our champion units are 1.6. Only comment is the handle to flush is on the side and tucked towards the rear a little, its nice that it's not in your face but can be a little hard to find at first. Elongated worth the extra $40 but guess if you were on a tight budget he round bowl would be fine too.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White

Great toilet! No need to look further!

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After installing 2 of the higher-priced Kohler Highline toilets within the last year, I decided to try my luck with the Delta Prelude. Not only was I extremely impressed with the ease of installation (no tools required), I also thought it was brilliant how Delta casted the tank bolts inside the porcelain tank to eliminate potential leak points. Then as I was getting ready to cut down the base bolts for the caps, I realized the caps are cone-shaped to go over the bolts, thus eliminating the need to cut the boltds down. As for the flush, it's quick and quiet (Kohler sounds like a mack truck) and the refill is extremely quick/quiet as well. YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!!
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Install, Strong Water Pressure, Looks Great, Stylish, Solid, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Depth, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Des Moines, Iowa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First time installer

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Never installed a toilet before so this was something to learn on the fly. Everything about it was easy. Instructions were easy to read and understand(though they needed to include pre prep after you remove the old toilet). The best part and the one that makes installing simple was the included all-in-one tool that is for the tank, seat and main toilet piece. It made the install fast. After all said and done it took about 45 min and 30 if that cleaning off the old wax ring.
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Strong Water Pressure, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Solid, Great Value, Depth, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Fort Wayne Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great toilet easy install

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought an inexpensive toilet at another store. The tank wobbled after install and when I tried to tighten it I cracked the tank. After some research I chose this Delta toilet. Great look, perfect size, incredibly easy install. Love it. Purchased a second one and would have bought two more if they would have been in stock! I used a wax less ring for install but used the bolts that came with. Highly recommend this set up.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Blacksburg, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Quality at a good value

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I made the mistake of building a house and having cheap Briggs toilets installed. Last month I decided to replace my 3 Briggs toilets with 2 elongated and one round toilet. I've been very pleased with Delta faucets and after reading the reviews about their new line of toilets I took a chance on the Prelude. Installation was a breeze. Height is is chair height which will be nice for my older in laws. Two modes of flush, work nicely and are both strong. Quality is impressive for this price and styling looks nice. I've installed American Standard toilets and the quality of the Prelude matches and in my opinion even exceeds anything American Standard puts out. When you couple that with price these toilets are well worth it and my hunch is Delta is not going any place anytime soon.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Stylish, Solid, Great Value, Comfortable, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Nice toilet, but don't expect miracles

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Having installed plumbing for 25+ years, I didn't notice anything new or earth shattering with this toilet, design or installation. Everything is included in the box which is nice for the DIY'er. We also noticed a low bowl water level, but it is remedied by increasing the water level in the tank. As the tank fills so does the bowl. Increased tank fill time= increased bowl water level. They made this adjustment tricky though. The instructions detail 2 methods. My suggestion: Turn off the water, empty the tank, take out the clip, rotate and wiggle the float shaft until it moves up, then reinstall the clip, Also, I would suggest using a socket with an extension and 1/2" deep well socket for the tank bolt install. Its much easier to use, especially with the rear tank bolt. Just don't overtighten! After the toilet is set on the wax ring, sit on it for a few minutes to smush the ring. Then install the nuts. Go back after a week and re-tourqe the nuts. Loose toilets will rock and leak.
Pros: everything in box
Cons: hard to get at tank bolt, hard to adjust tank water level, cheap flimsy seat
+40points
41out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

difficult to adjust water level

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If ever the need arrives to increase or to decrease the water level Hello nightmare!! You will not be able to have access to the slide switch.This switch allows you to raise or lower the float-cap assembly, but to get to it , you will win the Lotto first. I'm dead serious and cannot believe the people who has given reviews are not aware of this. Oh, Delta is familiar but they will not talk to you.I'm talking about the Delta Model # C43901 Prelude elongated white. Other than that, yes very easy to install.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Comfortable, Good Use of Space
Cons: Maintenance
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from az
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy to install, all the tools needed are in the box.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Brilliant

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No question, Delta is a leader in plumming and toilet technology and this toilet is no exception. No tools required. The kit comes with a hand tool to automatically torque and tighten both tanks and bowl bolts. The supply is a continuous braded line (included) right into the tank. In this way, Delta has reduced the number of potential leak points. This design concept is employed in the design of the tank to bowl mount as well, again, eliminating three leak points. The unit is chair height for added comfort and ease of use. The soft close, removable seat is the crowning touch on this brilliant design. Quality is top shelf!
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Solid, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+24points
32out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Albany NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Install

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Did another brand toilet 6 months earlier, this was a breeze compared to that. Attaching top section was nightmare in other, this was easy and quick. The included hand friendly wrench made it ever so easy. After two months use, the "cleaning action" was excellent as well.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White

Works great

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very happy, height is good and flushes completely 99% of time on first flush.
Pros: Performs Well, Strong Water Pressure, Modern, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White

Easy Installation

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this toilet over the weekend and was able to remove my old unit and install this one in less than an hour. I have installed 4 different toilets over the last few years at a DIYer for myself and family and this unit easily takes the cake as the most user friendly. I was amazed at how easy the instructions were and logical the installation was. The quality seems really great for the price and the functionality has been great so far. If you are concerned that you may not be able to update your toilet on your own, give this one a long, hard look.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Solid
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White

Great product

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm very happy. It's sleek & simple. It flushes well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Massena, NY 13662, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT OVERLOOK THIS ONE

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Compared to American Standard Champion 4 Max, and Kohler Cimmeron, the Delta Prelude is equal or in my opinion superior to them. The Delta Flush is POWERFUL, it also doubles as a dual flush. If you flush and hold the handle down for an extra 10 sec. you get and extra water flush if you think you may need it :-). The quality was very good, completely glazed, even under the rim, this is important if you want a clean bowl, plus its glazed into the waste outlet. The american standard I first purchased was not, so back it went. I'm very happy with this product, plus is was $60+ less expensive, and I got a much better product. The installation was very easy. The tank is taller than normal, but not as wide as other models, this however gives it a nice look, plus it gives you a little extra room on the sides so it fits well into small bathroom spaces. Thank you DELTA
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Strong Water Pressure, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Solid, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Depth, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your $$

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Let's just say the "stuff" doesn't flush. Should your "stuff" touch the sides, you have to get a brush to get it down. There is no power to take down all materials if they stick to the side.
Cons: Performance
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Pittston, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Satisfied

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The Prelude was selected because it is slightly slimmer than other toilets in its price range. After reading the install instructions the installation was simple. The only questionable part were the plastic washers which were suppose to hold the Johnny bolts in place. They didn't do a very good job. I improvised by using rope caulk to hold the bolts in place, works every time. The operation of the Prelude is excellent. The One-Touch, dual flush mode is awesome. Overall, I'm happy with the new toilet.
Pros: Sleek, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from So. Fla.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only had it a few days but works fine so far.

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Straightforward installation; Good value for the money.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Depth, Comfortable
Cons: Maintenance
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>