728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White

Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White

This Prelude 2-Piece Elongated Toilet in White is beautifully designed for easy installation, maximum flush and water savings; Delta toilets are the smart choice. All Delta toilets feature the exclusive SmartFit tank-to-bowl connection. This technology eliminates potential leak points and the fear of over-tightening bolts. All while adding stability to the tank and making for an easier installation process. The Prelude elongated bowl and chair height allow for greater comfort in a classic design with maximum flushing performance. At 1.28 gpf, this WaterSense-approved model makes for an excellent choice for any decor and budget. No additional tools are required to assemble and install this complete toilet.
Overall rating:
3.876 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product61 of 80reviews
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(41)
4
(18)
3
(4)
2
(7)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product61 of 80reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer reviews for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
Review 1 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Naples Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice Toilet + Good value + Easy Install

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a nice looking comfortable toilet with a great price point and good value. I purchased an XL wax ring. The one that comes in the box would have been to thin to work on my tiled bathroom floor. I also purchased a 20" connection line as recommended by other reviewers but my 16" worked just fine. The install is pretty simple. My only complaint is how they made the plastic cover system for the bolts that hold the toilet to the floor and the snap on caps. Really Chintzy design... we'll see how it works out over time. I purchased a Bemis Whisper close seat model 1201slow (40 bucks!) Over all I'm happy with this purchase. This is a strong flushing toilet with good looks and good comfort.
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Solid, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Ft Myers Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Toilet Value!

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wanted to get higher toilets for our vacation condo! Recently built a new house and used Champion 4 (supposedly top rated) toilets in the new house for $239 each! We intended to get the champions again until we saw the delta. Decided to save some $$ and bought just one to try it. Wow I'm very impressed with the Delta unit! In fact I like that the screws to hold the tank on don't go through the tank into the water in the tank! The screws are in a ceramic slot under the tank so they will never rust! Flush is great with 1.2 gallons! Our champion units are 1.6. Only comment is the handle to flush is on the side and tucked towards the rear a little, its nice that it's not in your face but can be a little hard to find at first. Elongated worth the extra $40 but guess if you were on a tight budget he round bowl would be fine too.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Southern, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over

This is the Perfect toilet for comfort & quality.

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We are getting older & live in a moble home with low seat toilets so it was hard getting up from them. These toilets are chair high with long seats also. One great feature is the little amount of water they need to flush them so we are sure that our water bill will go way down.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Depth, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+43points
47out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White

Great toilet! No need to look further!

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After installing 2 of the higher-priced Kohler Highline toilets within the last year, I decided to try my luck with the Delta Prelude. Not only was I extremely impressed with the ease of installation (no tools required), I also thought it was brilliant how Delta casted the tank bolts inside the porcelain tank to eliminate potential leak points. Then as I was getting ready to cut down the base bolts for the caps, I realized the caps are cone-shaped to go over the bolts, thus eliminating the need to cut the boltds down. As for the flush, it's quick and quiet (Kohler sounds like a mack truck) and the refill is extremely quick/quiet as well. YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!!
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Install, Strong Water Pressure, Looks Great, Stylish, Solid, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Depth, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White

Works great

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very happy, height is good and flushes completely 99% of time on first flush.
Pros: Performs Well, Strong Water Pressure, Modern, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Albany NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Install

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Did another brand toilet 6 months earlier, this was a breeze compared to that. Attaching top section was nightmare in other, this was easy and quick. The included hand friendly wrench made it ever so easy. After two months use, the "cleaning action" was excellent as well.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

difficult to adjust water level

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If ever the need arrives to increase or to decrease the water level Hello nightmare!! You will not be able to have access to the slide switch.This switch allows you to raise or lower the float-cap assembly, but to get to it , you will win the Lotto first. I'm dead serious and cannot believe the people who has given reviews are not aware of this. Oh, Delta is familiar but they will not talk to you.I'm talking about the Delta Model # C43901 Prelude elongated white. Other than that, yes very easy to install.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Comfortable, Good Use of Space
Cons: Maintenance
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Blacksburg, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Quality at a good value

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I made the mistake of building a house and having cheap Briggs toilets installed. Last month I decided to replace my 3 Briggs toilets with 2 elongated and one round toilet. I've been very pleased with Delta faucets and after reading the reviews about their new line of toilets I took a chance on the Prelude. Installation was a breeze. Height is is chair height which will be nice for my older in laws. Two modes of flush, work nicely and are both strong. Quality is impressive for this price and styling looks nice. I've installed American Standard toilets and the quality of the Prelude matches and in my opinion even exceeds anything American Standard puts out. When you couple that with price these toilets are well worth it and my hunch is Delta is not going any place anytime soon.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Stylish, Solid, Great Value, Comfortable, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Nice toilet, but don't expect miracles

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Having installed plumbing for 25+ years, I didn't notice anything new or earth shattering with this toilet, design or installation. Everything is included in the box which is nice for the DIY'er. We also noticed a low bowl water level, but it is remedied by increasing the water level in the tank. As the tank fills so does the bowl. Increased tank fill time= increased bowl water level. They made this adjustment tricky though. The instructions detail 2 methods. My suggestion: Turn off the water, empty the tank, take out the clip, rotate and wiggle the float shaft until it moves up, then reinstall the clip, Also, I would suggest using a socket with an extension and 1/2" deep well socket for the tank bolt install. Its much easier to use, especially with the rear tank bolt. Just don't overtighten! After the toilet is set on the wax ring, sit on it for a few minutes to smush the ring. Then install the nuts. Go back after a week and re-tourqe the nuts. Loose toilets will rock and leak.
Pros: everything in box
Cons: hard to get at tank bolt, hard to adjust tank water level, cheap flimsy seat
+40points
41out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White

Great product

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm very happy. It's sleek & simple. It flushes well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Brilliant

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No question, Delta is a leader in plumming and toilet technology and this toilet is no exception. No tools required. The kit comes with a hand tool to automatically torque and tighten both tanks and bowl bolts. The supply is a continuous braded line (included) right into the tank. In this way, Delta has reduced the number of potential leak points. This design concept is employed in the design of the tank to bowl mount as well, again, eliminating three leak points. The unit is chair height for added comfort and ease of use. The soft close, removable seat is the crowning touch on this brilliant design. Quality is top shelf!
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Solid, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+24points
32out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White

Easy Installation

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this toilet over the weekend and was able to remove my old unit and install this one in less than an hour. I have installed 4 different toilets over the last few years at a DIYer for myself and family and this unit easily takes the cake as the most user friendly. I was amazed at how easy the instructions were and logical the installation was. The quality seems really great for the price and the functionality has been great so far. If you are concerned that you may not be able to update your toilet on your own, give this one a long, hard look.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Solid
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from So. Fla.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only had it a few days but works fine so far.

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Straightforward installation; Good value for the money.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Depth, Comfortable
Cons: Maintenance
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your $$

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Let's just say the "stuff" doesn't flush. Should your "stuff" touch the sides, you have to get a brush to get it down. There is no power to take down all materials if they stick to the side.
Cons: Performance
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Pittston, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Satisfied

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The Prelude was selected because it is slightly slimmer than other toilets in its price range. After reading the install instructions the installation was simple. The only questionable part were the plastic washers which were suppose to hold the Johnny bolts in place. They didn't do a very good job. I improvised by using rope caulk to hold the bolts in place, works every time. The operation of the Prelude is excellent. The One-Touch, dual flush mode is awesome. Overall, I'm happy with the new toilet.
Pros: Sleek, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Massena, NY 13662, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT OVERLOOK THIS ONE

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Compared to American Standard Champion 4 Max, and Kohler Cimmeron, the Delta Prelude is equal or in my opinion superior to them. The Delta Flush is POWERFUL, it also doubles as a dual flush. If you flush and hold the handle down for an extra 10 sec. you get and extra water flush if you think you may need it :-). The quality was very good, completely glazed, even under the rim, this is important if you want a clean bowl, plus its glazed into the waste outlet. The american standard I first purchased was not, so back it went. I'm very happy with this product, plus is was $60+ less expensive, and I got a much better product. The installation was very easy. The tank is taller than normal, but not as wide as other models, this however gives it a nice look, plus it gives you a little extra room on the sides so it fits well into small bathroom spaces. Thank you DELTA
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Strong Water Pressure, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Solid, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Depth, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from austin tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish it would have worked out, maybe ok for a rarely used half bath...

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The nice things about this toilet are how it easily goes together with the tanks external fittings, the sleek shape, fairly light to lug around during install, and seemed to be manufactured nicely (no weird chunks of broken porcelain or missing finish).
But my 7 year old plugged it up every single time. Worked OK for me and my partner in the two weeks we tried it, but 7 year old? Caused a few panic attacks as he had to run out of the bathroom to tell me the water was about to overflow! It fills fast if it doesn't push past the neck.
The well at the bottom doesn't seem as deep and oval as some of the others (perhaps less collection area) and the total amount of water that the bowl will hold is concerning since one plugged toilet causes the water level to end up within an inch of the bottom of the lip.
The other things that I personally didn't like: the water level in the bowl is very low, and for men from a standing position there is not much of a sweet spot in the bowl for preventing splatter out of the bowl.
We decided it was a failed money saving experiment and returned. Went with AS Optum Vormax to replace. Need to get the 7 year old on it a few more times before we retire the plunger though.
Note: The Wax Ring w/ the Delta was really stringy to remove and left a length of wax on my cork tile that was hard to clean up. I didn't know that Mineral Spirits is the miracle answer to cleaning up wax ring residue. Worked great.
Pros: Sleek, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Comfortable, Good Use of Space
Cons: Quality, Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Berkeley CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice price & bowl ADA height

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy install, ADA compliant. Nice height and low flow water 1.28 GPF.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Mars Hill N.C.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad design , Bad customer service from Delta

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased the Delta Prelude elongated bowl with a recommendation from sales person.
Installed very easy, problem arose with the flushing.
The flapper drops as soon as you let go of the flush handle.
Called Delta, they told me to adjust the chain, and see if it works.
I have done work on toilets before and know how to make adjustments.
The fix they recommended did not work .
Called Delta again and the customer service agent put me on hold to speak to a product engineer
and told me that the engineer said that because of the low flow design if the flapper did not stay up with adjusting it that you needed to hold the flush lever until the tank had emptied.
I know that is not how a toilet is supposed to work and told them that and she told me she was sorry for any inconvenience that may cause and that was all she could recommend.
I'm sorry, that is not the answer i am looking for with a new product.
Good luck getting any support from Delta.
Cons: Quality, Performance, no customer service help from delta
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD-Customer ServiceOctober 30, 2014
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer,

We reached out to the MFG for more information and below is their response.

"Essentially flappers in water efficient toilets (like Delta toilets) use specific flappers that only allow 1.28gpf. So the flapper will close quickly. The length of time it takes for the flapper to close is a relationship of buoyancy of the flapper to the water in the tank. If you look closely at a flapper, there is a hole drilled in the top and side of it. This is to allow water to quickly pass through the flapper which allows it to close. If you like the toilet, but want the flapper to stay open longer, there are other 3’’ adjustable flappers on the market that will allow for some modification and adjustment."
Review 20 for Prelude 2-piece 1.28 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Austin Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Purchase Ever!

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought two of these toilets by accident...I was pointing to another brand and the salesperson thought that I meant this Delta Prelude...I didn't have the heart to change this after these heavy boxes were loaded on a cart for me...we brought them home and opened the boxes outside to bring the pieces in one by one. We installed them ourselves with ease. My husband and I are both arthritic so the easy installation was wonderful for us. I am very pleased with this purchase. They are tall, stay clean and are water saving. Great! Great! Great!
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Solid, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Depth, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>