728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White

Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White

This Prelude 2-Piece Elongated Toilet in White is beautifully designed for easy installation, maximum flush and water savings; Delta toilets are the smart choice. All Delta toilets feature the exclusive SmartFit tank-to-bowl connection. This technology eliminates potential leak points and the fear of over-tightening bolts. All while adding stability to the tank and making for an easier installation process. The Prelude elongated bowl and chair height allow for greater comfort in a classic design with maximum flushing performance. At 1.28 gpf, this WaterSense-approved model makes for an excellent choice for any decor and budget. No additional tools are required to assemble and install this complete toilet.
Overall rating:
3.864 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product49 of 65reviews
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(13)
3
(4)
2
(6)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product49 of 65reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer reviews for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
Review 1 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
from Naples Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice Toilet + Good value + Easy Install

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a nice looking comfortable toilet with a great price point and good value. I purchased an XL wax ring. The one that comes in the box would have been to thin to work on my tiled bathroom floor. I also purchased a 20" connection line as recommended by other reviewers but my 16" worked just fine. The install is pretty simple. My only complaint is how they made the plastic cover system for the bolts that hold the toilet to the floor and the snap on caps. Really Chintzy design... we'll see how it works out over time. I purchased a Bemis Whisper close seat model 1201slow (40 bucks!) Over all I'm happy with this purchase. This is a strong flushing toilet with good looks and good comfort.
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Solid, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
from Southern, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over

This is the Perfect toilet for comfort & quality.

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are getting older & live in a moble home with low seat toilets so it was hard getting up from them. These toilets are chair high with long seats also. One great feature is the little amount of water they need to flush them so we are sure that our water bill will go way down.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Depth, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+35points
39out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White

Great toilet! No need to look further!

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After installing 2 of the higher-priced Kohler Highline toilets within the last year, I decided to try my luck with the Delta Prelude. Not only was I extremely impressed with the ease of installation (no tools required), I also thought it was brilliant how Delta casted the tank bolts inside the porcelain tank to eliminate potential leak points. Then as I was getting ready to cut down the base bolts for the caps, I realized the caps are cone-shaped to go over the bolts, thus eliminating the need to cut the boltds down. As for the flush, it's quick and quiet (Kohler sounds like a mack truck) and the refill is extremely quick/quiet as well. YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!!
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Install, Strong Water Pressure, Looks Great, Stylish, Solid, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Depth, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

difficult to adjust water level

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If ever the need arrives to increase or to decrease the water level Hello nightmare!! You will not be able to have access to the slide switch.This switch allows you to raise or lower the float-cap assembly, but to get to it , you will win the Lotto first. I'm dead serious and cannot believe the people who has given reviews are not aware of this. Oh, Delta is familiar but they will not talk to you.I'm talking about the Delta Model # C43901 Prelude elongated white. Other than that, yes very easy to install.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Comfortable, Good Use of Space
Cons: Maintenance
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your $$

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Let's just say the "stuff" doesn't flush. Should your "stuff" touch the sides, you have to get a brush to get it down. There is no power to take down all materials if they stick to the side.
Cons: Performance
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
from Near Atlantic City, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Won't Take Care of Business

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this toilet Aug. 3rd. Installed the next day. I did not read reviews before purchasing. Removed it two weeks later and returned to store. The product failed to take care of it's only job 4 times in that 2 weeks. Replaced with an A&S. After just 1 week that toilet seems to be working well. Amazed at the number of very positive reviews for this Delta toilet but look closely at the negatives, there are quite a number of those too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
from Blacksburg, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Quality at a good value

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I made the mistake of building a house and having cheap Briggs toilets installed. Last month I decided to replace my 3 Briggs toilets with 2 elongated and one round toilet. I've been very pleased with Delta faucets and after reading the reviews about their new line of toilets I took a chance on the Prelude. Installation was a breeze. Height is is chair height which will be nice for my older in laws. Two modes of flush, work nicely and are both strong. Quality is impressive for this price and styling looks nice. I've installed American Standard toilets and the quality of the Prelude matches and in my opinion even exceeds anything American Standard puts out. When you couple that with price these toilets are well worth it and my hunch is Delta is not going any place anytime soon.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Stylish, Solid, Great Value, Comfortable, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Nice toilet, but don't expect miracles

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Having installed plumbing for 25+ years, I didn't notice anything new or earth shattering with this toilet, design or installation. Everything is included in the box which is nice for the DIY'er. We also noticed a low bowl water level, but it is remedied by increasing the water level in the tank. As the tank fills so does the bowl. Increased tank fill time= increased bowl water level. They made this adjustment tricky though. The instructions detail 2 methods. My suggestion: Turn off the water, empty the tank, take out the clip, rotate and wiggle the float shaft until it moves up, then reinstall the clip, Also, I would suggest using a socket with an extension and 1/2" deep well socket for the tank bolt install. Its much easier to use, especially with the rear tank bolt. Just don't overtighten! After the toilet is set on the wax ring, sit on it for a few minutes to smush the ring. Then install the nuts. Go back after a week and re-tourqe the nuts. Loose toilets will rock and leak.
Pros: everything in box
Cons: hard to get at tank bolt, hard to adjust tank water level, cheap flimsy seat
+33points
34out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
from Mars Hill N.C.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad design , Bad customer service from Delta

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased the Delta Prelude elongated bowl with a recommendation from sales person.
Installed very easy, problem arose with the flushing.
The flapper drops as soon as you let go of the flush handle.
Called Delta, they told me to adjust the chain, and see if it works.
I have done work on toilets before and know how to make adjustments.
The fix they recommended did not work .
Called Delta again and the customer service agent put me on hold to speak to a product engineer
and told me that the engineer said that because of the low flow design if the flapper did not stay up with adjusting it that you needed to hold the flush lever until the tank had emptied.
I know that is not how a toilet is supposed to work and told them that and she told me she was sorry for any inconvenience that may cause and that was all she could recommend.
I'm sorry, that is not the answer i am looking for with a new product.
Good luck getting any support from Delta.
Cons: Quality, Performance, no customer service help from delta
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White

Easy Installation

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this toilet over the weekend and was able to remove my old unit and install this one in less than an hour. I have installed 4 different toilets over the last few years at a DIYer for myself and family and this unit easily takes the cake as the most user friendly. I was amazed at how easy the instructions were and logical the installation was. The quality seems really great for the price and the functionality has been great so far. If you are concerned that you may not be able to update your toilet on your own, give this one a long, hard look.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Solid
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Brilliant

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No question, Delta is a leader in plumming and toilet technology and this toilet is no exception. No tools required. The kit comes with a hand tool to automatically torque and tighten both tanks and bowl bolts. The supply is a continuous braded line (included) right into the tank. In this way, Delta has reduced the number of potential leak points. This design concept is employed in the design of the tank to bowl mount as well, again, eliminating three leak points. The unit is chair height for added comfort and ease of use. The soft close, removable seat is the crowning touch on this brilliant design. Quality is top shelf!
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Solid, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+23points
31out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
from Vermont

Have to replace this

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The toilet is not designed right. Not enough water to flush everything down. So having to flush three times does not make this a water saver. My 99$ toilet from another manufacturer in my 1/2 bath works wonderfully. I bought this one on looks. However it takes multiple flushes to get everything down and then you are stuck having to clean the bowl with brush. Glad its in my private bath or it would be embarrassing. I can't live with it so it goes. Delta was contacted and won't stand behind replacing it with another model.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Use, Performance
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
from Austin Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Purchase Ever!

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought two of these toilets by accident...I was pointing to another brand and the salesperson thought that I meant this Delta Prelude...I didn't have the heart to change this after these heavy boxes were loaded on a cart for me...we brought them home and opened the boxes outside to bring the pieces in one by one. We installed them ourselves with ease. My husband and I are both arthritic so the easy installation was wonderful for us. I am very pleased with this purchase. They are tall, stay clean and are water saving. Great! Great! Great!
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Solid, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Depth, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White

Decent, weak flush, needed adjustment out of the box

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall decent. Easy install, but what toilet isn't? Yes it came with everything to install and has water saving features but that's the norm now days. Flush is weak and requires you to hold down the handle for a second. Not a problem for me but is inconvenient and hard for my little kids to understand. I threw in small amount of paper after install to test it out. Clogged first time. I didn't like that it needed adjustments directly out of box. Handle chain was extremely loose which made the handle floppy. The water level needed adjusted which is quite difficult on this model.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
from Massena, NY 13662, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT OVERLOOK THIS ONE

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Compared to American Standard Champion 4 Max, and Kohler Cimmeron, the Delta Prelude is equal or in my opinion superior to them. The Delta Flush is POWERFUL, it also doubles as a dual flush. If you flush and hold the handle down for an extra 10 sec. you get and extra water flush if you think you may need it :-). The quality was very good, completely glazed, even under the rim, this is important if you want a clean bowl, plus its glazed into the waste outlet. The american standard I first purchased was not, so back it went. I'm very happy with this product, plus is was $60+ less expensive, and I got a much better product. The installation was very easy. The tank is taller than normal, but not as wide as other models, this however gives it a nice look, plus it gives you a little extra room on the sides so it fits well into small bathroom spaces. Thank you DELTA
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Strong Water Pressure, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Solid, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Depth, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
from Mesa, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product does not flush very well

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not enough water is flushed to clear bowl, also there is a delay in refilling tank, so you simply can't hold lever down to get extra water to clear bowl. Very disappointed in product and will not purchase another.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Difficult to Use, Performance
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
from Schaumburg, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Do not recommend to buy

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One of the worst. Not powerful, not swirling flush, not self cleaner. Embarrassing product. Would like to replace
Cons: Quality, Performance, not self cleaner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
from Jacksonville, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice for the price

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Don't get me wrong, this is a nice toilet. Good strong flush, great comfort height, looks fine. The only problem I have with it is that is is VERY noisy when it is filling. Luckily it fills quickly so the noise is soon over. I didn't install it myself, but it was quickly done.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
Cons: noisy when filling
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
from Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A fair product for the money

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased two of these toilets. After one week one of the toilets was constantly running a small amount of water. Had to replace the water control system in the tank. The other one is still working ok. The two piece structure is good, its the water control system that lacks quality.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Modern
Cons: Leaks, Maintenance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
from Titusville, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love my new toilet. The water saving is fantastic. Can't wait to get another one for our second bathroom.
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Stylish, Modern, Solid, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Depth, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>