728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White

Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White

This Prelude 2-Piece Elongated Toilet in White is beautifully designed for easy installation, maximum flush and water savings; Delta toilets are the smart choice. All Delta toilets feature the exclusive SmartFit tank-to-bowl connection. This technology eliminates potential leak points and the fear of over-tightening bolts. All while adding stability to the tank and making for an easier installation process. The Prelude elongated bowl and chair height allow for greater comfort in a classic design with maximum flushing performance. At 1.28 gpf, this WaterSense-approved model makes for an excellent choice for any decor and budget. No additional tools are required to assemble and install this complete toilet.
Overall rating:
3.964 / 5
4
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product43 of 55reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(6)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product43 of 55reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer reviews for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
Review 1 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
RockDrummer
from Naples Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice Toilet + Good value + Easy Install

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a nice looking comfortable toilet with a great price point and good value. I purchased an XL wax ring. The one that comes in the box would have been to thin to work on my tiled bathroom floor. I also purchased a 20" connection line as recommended by other reviewers but my 16" worked just fine. The install is pretty simple. My only complaint is how they made the plastic cover system for the bolts that hold the toilet to the floor and the snap on caps. Really Chintzy design... we'll see how it works out over time. I purchased a Bemis Whisper close seat model 1201slow (40 bucks!) Over all I'm happy with this purchase. This is a strong flushing toilet with good looks and good comfort.
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Solid, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
dandir2
from Southern, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over

This is the Perfect toilet for comfort & quality.

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are getting older & live in a moble home with low seat toilets so it was hard getting up from them. These toilets are chair high with long seats also. One great feature is the little amount of water they need to flush them so we are sure that our water bill will go way down.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Depth, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+29points
33out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
Ray96

Great toilet! No need to look further!

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After installing 2 of the higher-priced Kohler Highline toilets within the last year, I decided to try my luck with the Delta Prelude. Not only was I extremely impressed with the ease of installation (no tools required), I also thought it was brilliant how Delta casted the tank bolts inside the porcelain tank to eliminate potential leak points. Then as I was getting ready to cut down the base bolts for the caps, I realized the caps are cone-shaped to go over the bolts, thus eliminating the need to cut the boltds down. As for the flush, it's quick and quiet (Kohler sounds like a mack truck) and the refill is extremely quick/quiet as well. YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!!
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Install, Strong Water Pressure, Looks Great, Stylish, Solid, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Depth, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
PlumberMatt
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Nice toilet, but don't expect miracles

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Having installed plumbing for 25+ years, I didn't notice anything new or earth shattering with this toilet, design or installation. Everything is included in the box which is nice for the DIY'er. We also noticed a low bowl water level, but it is remedied by increasing the water level in the tank. As the tank fills so does the bowl. Increased tank fill time= increased bowl water level. They made this adjustment tricky though. The instructions detail 2 methods. My suggestion: Turn off the water, empty the tank, take out the clip, rotate and wiggle the float shaft until it moves up, then reinstall the clip, Also, I would suggest using a socket with an extension and 1/2" deep well socket for the tank bolt install. Its much easier to use, especially with the rear tank bolt. Just don't overtighten! After the toilet is set on the wax ring, sit on it for a few minutes to smush the ring. Then install the nuts. Go back after a week and re-tourqe the nuts. Loose toilets will rock and leak.
Pros: everything in box
Cons: hard to get at tank bolt, hard to adjust tank water level, cheap flimsy seat
+31points
32out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
brombacher
from Blacksburg, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Quality at a good value

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I made the mistake of building a house and having cheap Briggs toilets installed. Last month I decided to replace my 3 Briggs toilets with 2 elongated and one round toilet. I've been very pleased with Delta faucets and after reading the reviews about their new line of toilets I took a chance on the Prelude. Installation was a breeze. Height is is chair height which will be nice for my older in laws. Two modes of flush, work nicely and are both strong. Quality is impressive for this price and styling looks nice. I've installed American Standard toilets and the quality of the Prelude matches and in my opinion even exceeds anything American Standard puts out. When you couple that with price these toilets are well worth it and my hunch is Delta is not going any place anytime soon.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Stylish, Solid, Great Value, Comfortable, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
homeremodel85
from Broomfield Co
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Looks good works bad

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought and installed multiple delta prelude toilets, after a couple weeks found from both my own personal exp. and customers that the toilet will not completely flush feces, it will leave remnants of the feces below the water line stuck to the bowl, no amount of flushing will get rid of it, the only solution is to clean the toilet every time which is no feasible unless you want to have an embarrassing "dirty" toilet all the time. Spoke with Delta customer service on this issue they told me that they will do nothing about it and the toilet is working correctly. Save your self the time and effort and stick with Kohler or American standard, Delta will not stand behind there products.
Cons: Performance, leaves feces behind
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
ptbiker

Easy Installation

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this toilet over the weekend and was able to remove my old unit and install this one in less than an hour. I have installed 4 different toilets over the last few years at a DIYer for myself and family and this unit easily takes the cake as the most user friendly. I was amazed at how easy the instructions were and logical the installation was. The quality seems really great for the price and the functionality has been great so far. If you are concerned that you may not be able to update your toilet on your own, give this one a long, hard look.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Solid
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
Mike

Decent, weak flush, needed adjustment out of the box

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall decent. Easy install, but what toilet isn't? Yes it came with everything to install and has water saving features but that's the norm now days. Flush is weak and requires you to hold down the handle for a second. Not a problem for me but is inconvenient and hard for my little kids to understand. I threw in small amount of paper after install to test it out. Clogged first time. I didn't like that it needed adjustments directly out of box. Handle chain was extremely loose which made the handle floppy. The water level needed adjusted which is quite difficult on this model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
bill123
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Brilliant

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No question, Delta is a leader in plumming and toilet technology and this toilet is no exception. No tools required. The kit comes with a hand tool to automatically torque and tighten both tanks and bowl bolts. The supply is a continuous braded line (included) right into the tank. In this way, Delta has reduced the number of potential leak points. This design concept is employed in the design of the tank to bowl mount as well, again, eliminating three leak points. The unit is chair height for added comfort and ease of use. The soft close, removable seat is the crowning touch on this brilliant design. Quality is top shelf!
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Solid, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+23points
31out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
MrDIY
from Massena, NY 13662, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT OVERLOOK THIS ONE

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Compared to American Standard Champion 4 Max, and Kohler Cimmeron, the Delta Prelude is equal or in my opinion superior to them. The Delta Flush is POWERFUL, it also doubles as a dual flush. If you flush and hold the handle down for an extra 10 sec. you get and extra water flush if you think you may need it :-). The quality was very good, completely glazed, even under the rim, this is important if you want a clean bowl, plus its glazed into the waste outlet. The american standard I first purchased was not, so back it went. I'm very happy with this product, plus is was $60+ less expensive, and I got a much better product. The installation was very easy. The tank is taller than normal, but not as wide as other models, this however gives it a nice look, plus it gives you a little extra room on the sides so it fits well into small bathroom spaces. Thank you DELTA
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Strong Water Pressure, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Solid, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Depth, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
Asiaken
from Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A fair product for the money

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased two of these toilets. After one week one of the toilets was constantly running a small amount of water. Had to replace the water control system in the tank. The other one is still working ok. The two piece structure is good, its the water control system that lacks quality.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Modern
Cons: Leaks, Maintenance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
OWJAH
from Corea, Gouldsboro, ME 04624, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very complete package, well packed, works well.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The toilet was a very complete package. Everything I needed to install was included. The box was well packed, Excellent working unit when installed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Solid, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
skiwindjunkie
from Vermont

Have to replace this

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The toilet is not designed right. Not enough water to flush everything down. So having to flush three times does not make this a water saver. My 99$ toilet from another manufacturer in my 1/2 bath works wonderfully. I bought this one on looks. However it takes multiple flushes to get everything down and then you are stuck having to clean the bowl with brush. Glad its in my private bath or it would be embarrassing. I can't live with it so it goes. Delta was contacted and won't stand behind replacing it with another model.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Use, Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
Petey
from Perkinsville, VT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is just what my husband needed.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The elongated feature of this toilet is what my husband has wanted for some time. It was easy to install where the old one was removed.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
Jpbeen
from Winter Park FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great Value

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these and have had them for over a year with no problems. I installed both myself with ease and I am no handyman.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Strong Water Pressure, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
Susie
from Texarkana area
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to install

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My plumber was impressed! He says it was easy to install and loved the water saving feature. I like that it sits high for us senior citizens. I have two of these and am going back for a third and last soon. I recommend the Prelude for its features and reasonable price.
Pros: Sleek, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, Stylish, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Good Use of Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
Nickname
from Aiken, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Terrific toilet

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful toilet. The old one needed replacing, then I broke my hip and needed a higher one, so it was time. I was a bit skeptical of its flushing capabilities but found that not only were my concerns not realized but that this is practically a self-cleaning toilet. I am also pleased with the built-in seat, which is quite sturdy. An excellent buy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
jonjul816
from Mesa, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product does not flush very well

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not enough water is flushed to clear bowl, also there is a delay in refilling tank, so you simply can't hold lever down to get extra water to clear bowl. Very disappointed in product and will not purchase another.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Difficult to Use, Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
homer

Flushes with little water. No water to sides : ( so may leave residue.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Moves material down with little water. May leave material on the sides of the bowl above the water line as there is no flow like on older stools with more water usage.
Cons: not fully self cleaning
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Prelude 2-piece Elongated Toilet in White
Junior
from Wilson,nc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice toilet, good price, easy to install.

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this toilet 2 weeks ago. Very easy to install. Everything in the box except the water line. Installed in less than 1 hour. So far very pleased. Water saver but still produces enough water to clean the bowl during flushes. Purchased to replace one of my older model toilets. Pleased with purchase.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Strong Water Pressure, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>