728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb

65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb

The Philips energy-saving 13-Watt BR30 LED Flood Light is ideal for indoor residential use in kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms, as well as commercial use in offices and retail spaces. It provides a soft, white glow and a wide beam of light, perfect for general room lighting or highlighting and accenting decor. Fully dimmable and ENERGY STAR certified, this medium base flood light replaces your current 65-watt incandescent BR30, saving you up to $143 in energy costs over the life of the bulb. This flood light can be used in recessed cans and track light fixtures.
Overall rating:
4.792 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(77 reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product72 of 72reviews
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
4.8 out of 5
5
(64)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product72 of 72reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer reviews for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb
Review 1 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb

Best LED lighting to date

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought these for the kitchen and they have not disappointed. I also have them on a dimmer without any problems. I previously used a dimming halogen bulb but that had a short delay upon power on and the light refracted on certain objects with a rainbow type effect. It also takes a minute or two reach full brightness. Needless to say, I wasn't that happy.
This LED does not have any of the issues mentioned above. I applaud Phillips on these bulbs. It dims without an issue, has no delay upon power on and is instantly bright. I would like to mention only one small con. If you plan on using this bulb for dimming(like in a movie room), the lowest setting is still pretty bright. This is because the LED runs on such low power that even the lowest dim setting will still be significantly brighter than an incandescents light output. With all of that said though, I am very happy with my purchase and would recommend this with the information provided.
Pros: Easy to Use, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: not the best dimming at low setting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Northfield, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great LED flood lamps

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These are Philips flood lamps. Philips is the leader in LED bulb technology and these are terrific flood lamps. They are long shafted so they'll fit in any fixture. They come with a good reflector lens that truly makes it a flood lamp unlike some LED floods that provide a narrow, distinct beam. These bulbs dim well have a nice color light. We are very pleased with the product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Very Bright, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Rocky River, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

13-WATT (65-WATT) BR30 SOFT WHITE (2700K) INDOOR DIMMABLE LED FLOOD LIGHT BULB (4-PACK) (E)*

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These LEDs perform excellent ! Get a Lutron LED/CFL dimmer that can be adjusted with the turn of a dial to adjust to a lower level or stop blinking. The dial is on the dimmer itself and is covered when the face plate is on. Good bye to compact fluorescents.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Conway, AR

Best LED on the market

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased 3 cases of the Philips 13-Watt BR30 indoor soft white light bulbs. Installed them in my kitchen and bedroom. Originally purchased a different LED brand, but the bulbs "hummed" when they were dimmed, took awhile before they turned on, and didn't dim down to a sufficiently low level. These bulbs don't hum, dim beautifully, provide a pleasant hue of light, and turn on imediately. I am purchasing two more cases today.
By the way, Amazon has this same light individually priced at $66.16 per bulb!
The only negative I have read, and I agree with is the packaging is difficult to open. Watch the sharp plastic.
If you are looking for LED for your canned indoor lights, this is the one to get!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Nice Design, pleasant light
Cons: packaging
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

100% Replacement for 65W Indoor Floods!

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchased one to test in our kitchen for color, brightness, etc. No significant difference noted when compared to the other bulbs in the room, other than a very short (maybe half second or less) delay when initial turned on. Passed the wife test, which is very demanding, and purchased a 4 pack to replace existing bulbs as they burn out. Then will buy another pack to finish the room. Packaging is difficult to open as noted by some other reviewers. Only reason not 5 star on value is LED still pricey and will only prove worth it if they last as long as they claim.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Indialantic, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great LED bulb

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installed 4 of these in recessed light cans in my kitchen. The brightness, color rendering and wide-angle are excellent. The light quality is better than many of the incandescent bulbs in my house. I will use these to replace other BR30s in my house as lightbulbs burn out or when the price drops further.
These replaced a set of CFLs installed 4 years ago. The CFLs took minutes to reach full brightness and the light output degraded over time.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb
from 60423
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Pleased

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used these bulbs in out new kitchen can lights, nice looking and good output. Standard 8' ceilings and we spaced them out at about 42".
Pros: Eco-Friendly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb
from PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These are great LEDs. I think we have about 60 of the BR30-type lights in our house and so far I have replaced about half of them with LEDs -- most with these Philips. They have a pleasant color temperature -- about 2700K -- so not glaringly white. They start almost instantly and are fully dimmable. The longest use so far is about a year, and that's in our kitchen (9 bulbs), which has lights on more and longer than anywhere else in the house, with no failures. If they last as long as advertised, they will be a terrific bargain.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Stylish, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Replacement
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb

LED bulbs that are ready for primetime

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I replaced 5 65w incandescent flood lights with these. The short delay that exists when you turn them on isn't noticeable if all of the lights are the same. It is noticeable if you have a mixed group of bulbs.
In a recessed can housing, you'd have to be looking for it to notice that the bulb is not an incandescent, and can probably only tell if it is turned off.
It puts out noticeably more light than a 65w incandescent bulb. I plan on adding a dimmer to these lights.
As soon as they can drive down the price, these are a game changer for the lighting market. Right now they're more of a novelty than a practical purchase.
Cons: price
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Camarillo, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to install, no heat or flickering

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am thrilled with the Philips LED flood bulbs. I replaced 8 bulbs in my bonus room with a vaulted ceiling. The previous standard flood lights generated a tremendous amount of heat and would flicker after being on for some time, I suspect due to the heat. Because of this, I rarely had the flood lights on. I relied on natural light during the day, and back lighting from my wall art, bar and big TV for light in the evening. The new LED’s were on for over an hour. They didn’t flicker or generate any noticeable heat. This made me very happy! They look good, are a slight bit brighter than the standard lights, but I like the extra light, especially when I need to clean. It’s a little too bright to look directly at them and with a vaulted ceiling, it can be difficult to avoid from looking directly into the light. Although they don’t have that warm glow when dimmed, they do dim just fine, which makes it easy to adjust the brightness. Overall I am very pleased.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb

Perfect

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Finally, a LED bulb I can use in my recessed fixtures. The light it provides is virtually identical to a regular soft-white reflector bulb (maybe a tad brighter) and it turns on within a second of me flipping the switch. I can also dim them with my good old turn knob dimmer.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb
from southeastern US

As expected

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Soft white output, dimmable... fits 7 inch ceiling can perfectly.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming
Cons: price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great lights - good value for money

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a lot of recessed lighting, I've installed 16 of these lights and love them. I'm picky about light color temperature and these are great for task lighting in the kitchen and throughout the house. A noticeable drop in the electric bill and no icicles this winter as we're not pumping all the heat into the attic as we did with incandescent lights. These are much superior to CFLs, no warm up time, better light light color and no mercury hazard. You'll be happy with these lights.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, color temperature
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb

OK bulbs, but delay is annoying

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
The light is warm and matches incandescent bulbs well. The only complaint I have is that the packaging says the bulbs are instant on, but there is a small but noticeable delay when turning them on. This delay can be very annoying. Philips should not label these bulbs instant on.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb

excellent alternative to incandescent

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very happy with these bulbs so far. The light is very comparable to the incandescents they replace. It's also nice that they dim. I took away one star because they don't dim as far down as normal bulbs, remaining quite bright at the lowest setting. Since the up-front cost is large, I'm depending on them lasting the full warranty period to gain the savings in electrical power usage, but will be holding on to the receipt and proof-of-purchase, just in case!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Las Vegas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not great for dimming.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These BR30 lights work well for non-dimming purposes. If you want to dim your lights, I highly recommend the Philips lights with DIMTONE. They work great for dimming.
Pros: Very Bright, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: not great for dimming.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Nashville, TN

Exactly the same as incandescent

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My search for a replacement led floodlight is finally over. The color temperature is indistinguishable from the traditional floodlights in my kitchen.
Pros: color
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb

Excellent LED bulb

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I researched heavily all the led bulbs in the market. Bought a few different brands and kinds. This is by far the best bulb of its type on the market.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb
from NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome BR30 LED Bulb!!

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked up a two pack at my local Home Depot for 27 bucks including tax. I have 10 cans in the downstairs family room where we currently use CFL BR30's. The CFL's really take a long time to get to full brightness. I replaced two with these bad boys and the light is like night and day.(Pun intended) The light that these emit are...dare I say it....."light years" ahead of the junky CFL's. All kidding aside these lights are fantastic! They come on instantly and the color is very pleasing without being harsh. I will be buying 8 more tomorrow. My wife loves them also.
On a side note...other reviewers say there is a slight delay after flipping the switch to turn them on, I have not experienced that at all. They act like the old fashioned incandescent bulbs. Good luck if you purchase these....you won't go wrong.
Pros: Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, excellent color rendition.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 65W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) BR30 LED Flood Light Bulb
from Cape Coral, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great upgrade from CFL

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These bulbs were sold as an internet promotion, at a very competitive price, for that they were a great deal. After installing then I was pleasantly surprised as I was replacing CFL bulbs that were taking too long to warm up in cold winter months. These instant on bulbs occasionally flash once before turning full on, but are instantly bright and dimmable to an acceptable level, based on their technology. Just a dimmer note. The lowest setting will occasionally cause a bulb to turn off, so you'll have to find the sweet spot if you find yours are off and bump up a tiny bit. I bought 8, ask were flawless..
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>