728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater

5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater

EcoSmart Electric Tankless Water Heaters, also called Instantaneous or On Demand Water Heaters, provide endless hot water only as it is needed. This electric tankless water heater is a true Point of Use Model because it is specifically designed for under the sink, single applications with a maximum flow rate of 0.5 GPM and include a 0.5 GPM sink aerator. Their compact size allows for under the sink installations.
Overall rating:
3.312 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product12 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
3.3 out of 5
5
(5)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product12 of 16reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
Review 1 for 5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Cold kitchen hot water

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The kitchen faucet is the furthest point from the hot water heater. Now, instead of taking long minutes to get warm water. It only takes seconds. A few more seconds and it is hot. Very pleasing efficiency upgrade.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, fits in tight spots
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Grand Rapids, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hot water for an outdoor shower

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this to heat an outdoor shower near our beach. I didn't need something to shower a family of four or take long steamy showers, I just needed enough hot water to get the kids cleaned off and it has worked great for that purpose.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, warm showers
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Lumberton, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good unit for hand sink

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed this unit on a hand sink in my shop. Very good unit for a hand sink, Plenty of hot water.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This was the perfect solution, and so affordable!

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing was reasonably priced and takes up barely any space. It was the perfect solution for hot water in a commercial space where no baths or showers are taken.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Longview, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is what you are looking for

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a business in a retail space that doesn't have a water heater. We provide bathrooms for our customers, and we have a sink where we wash things for at least a continuous hour a day. These things provide consistently hot water, even with running it continuously for an hour. At another location, we have a 10 gallon hot water heater that runs out within about 10 minutes doing the same activity.
I didn't put anything for "Ease of Installation" because we had an electrician and plumber install them. These costs were fairly inexpensive (especially compared to installing a full sized hot water heater). Our electrician wanted to have the unit on hand for the installation to make sure he wired it up correctly. You could most likely do the plumbing part of it yourself -- you just need to T off of your cold water supply.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from cleveland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

not hot

PostedApril 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
super easy install, thats where the satisfaction ends. water gets a little hot if you turn it down to a low trickle, piece of junk,dont do it!!! may be better off installing a candle under your hot water line.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: Too Slow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Arroyo Grande, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It's always nice when a product does what it says it will.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This water heater performs as advertised. It is a relatively straight forward installation that most competent handymen can do without a problem.
But be forewarned, as is true in all of life, "There is no free lunch." If you are looking for a lot of hot water get a bigger water heater. It will raise the water temperature 35-40 degrees at 1/2 gpm, nothing more.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Rhode Island
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It's OK

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The product is OK . It's not immediately hot but the water comes out warm within a
few seconds and within a few more seconds it starts to come out warmer and
then it gets hot. You have to remember it's tank less.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: a little slow getting hot.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Watsonville, CA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This item is not meant for taking showers

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This item is not meant for taking showers. It's meant to be installed under your kitchen sink or alike. A very good product and easy to install.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater

Junk!!

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Bought had installed. Heated water for a few seconds then went off. adjusted flow little better same thing off again. Returned same returned again got one more didnt even work smoke came out. Got a can of smoke put smoke back in no luck. Go with name brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

No temperature control.

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The only temperature control is the water volume. To increase the water temperature, you have to turn the water volume down. The lower the water volume, the hotter the water temperature. Probably a minor problem for most users.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product and great customer service at the Chardon Store to help me order on line

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
good product and great customer service a the Chardon Store, working with me to order on line
Pros: Good Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater

great product

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product was easy to install, works great, I just hope it will last for years.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater

Buyer Beware

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this to heat a shower in a shed. After buying special wiring and breaker required to direct wire this unit, it displayed "Off", meaning it had power, but did not work. Technical support won't work with you unless you are a licensed electrician, so for DIYers, buy something else.
Cons: poor instructions, expensive installation, no technical support
-1point
6out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I returned the item

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It didn't work so i returned it to the store . Poor made pay more to get something better
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5.5 kW 1.17 GPM Point-of-Use Electric Tankless Water Heater
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Wrong power rating

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The header says 55kw, the specifications say 6 kw.
Cons: Too Slow, one gallon a minute will not run a shower
-57points
9out of 75found this review helpful.