728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)

50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)

Philips LED Energy Saving 6-Watt MR16 flood light is ideal for use in kitchens, dining rooms and living rooms. It provides a bright, white light and is perfect for general light or accent lighting to highlight your decor. Fully dimmable, this GU10, twist and lock base flood light replaces your current 50-Watt halogen MR16.
Overall rating:
4.278 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product15 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product15 of 18reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
Review 1 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
Amadamia
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just Love it!

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Replacing our extremely hot bulbs with these LED made a world of a difference!
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
deadshift
from Forest Hill
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice, a little blue

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
A little pricier than I'd like. And I think Philips is overstating it a little when they say it's a 50w equivalent. But it's nearly as bright, only slightly narrower beam. It's not as pretty as the halogen bulbs as there is no backlight to illuminate the frosted glass shrouds. They dim nicely, but the blue becomes stark blue compared to halogen when dimmed, as the halogen turns almost orange, the LED remains "bright white." I may be using LED in the summer and Halogen in the winter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
kcseattle
from seattle
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buyer beware. Lasted about a year.

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointing to pay nearly $30 for a bulb that is supposed to last over 20 years and only lasts one. I bought 3 for use in a walk-in closet (used significantly less than 3 hours a day). Two are still working but one burned out. These are too expensive to take the chance. Won't be repurchasing until there is some sort of guarantee against defective bulbs.
If you buy these SAVE YOUR RECEIPT.
Pros: Eco-Friendly
Cons: Burns Out
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
PeekabooChu
from Carrollton, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product was recommend by the person in the lights dept

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Even thought it was expensive it was well worth it and the sales person assured me if I did not like it I could return it. I have 7 more lights to change I wish they came at a discount if you purchased 4 or more. Thanks. Gillian Glengarry
Pros: Very Bright, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
danthedad
from Hillsboro, OR, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Let there be light!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love these bulbs. I was replacing some halogen bulbs that were quite expensive AND used a lot of energy so I made the leap to LED. I'm glad I did. These bulbs have a very nice color, not too cool, but not warm and yellow. They are silent (no buzz) which is something I was worried about. I installed them with a Lutron LED dimmer and the range from barely visible in the dark room to very bright is smooth and allows for many lighting moods. If you are considering a bulb in this socket type, you will not be disappointed by these.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
Zach

Exactly what I wanted and needed

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought one of these bulbs to replace a 50 watt halogen bulb in a track light, and I must say that I am quite pleased. There are many reasons I like this bulb, so I'll just list them off. 1: The light is the EXACT same color as a halogen bulb. 2: It only pulls 6 watts instead of 50. 3: The brightness is right on par with the bulb I replaced. 4: The beam spread floods light all around, very similar to halogen bulbs (instead of having a definite circle where ther is no light cast outside of). 5: They don't heat up my room. That being said, they do still generate heat on the bulb itself, but the light beam has no heat to it. 6: The size is the same as a standard halogen bulb, so there is no worry as to how the bulb will fit inside the fixtures.
After calculating the savings on just the bulbs themselves, the money savings are tremendous. Here's the break-down: This LED lasts a total hour life of 25000 hours. An average halogen bulb costs 5 dollars and lasts 3000 hours. To make the halogen bulb last the LED's 25000 hours, you need to buy 9 bulbs. So, to get the same bulb life, you need to spend 45 bucks on halogen bulbs. This doesn't even include the savings on electricity, either. It's a win-win! Savings on bulbs and utilities!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Very Bright, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
scott
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's a great light. I bought a set of led lights from China and they were rated for 50,000 hours. They lasted 6 months. Then I bought these lights. Much more natural in color than the China ones (yellowish instead of blue) and they dim down to a lower brightness. The China ones were still fairly bright on the lowest level. I haven't had them 6 months yet. But they have a 6 year warranty from a reputable company.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
randi512
from Huntington, WV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

flat out awesome

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
They are bright, cool, consume very little energy and were a surprisingly good value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
bibio
from Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The bulb is way too expensive for 300 lumens.It DOES NOT replace 50w halogen,since the halogen 50w is app
430-500 lumens,depends on the manufacturer.Second the beam angle is only like 15-20 degree,and the halogen is app
40 degree.Lumens are measured by meter,so if the led was
40 degree it will give out no more than 200 lumens per meter,which is less than half of the halogen bulb.The color of the led is also like 3300k,and the halogen is like 2800k,which also makes a BIG difference.The higher color temperature gives more brightness.For example same wattage bulb in 6500k is 30% brighter than 2800k.
SIMPLE MATT
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
Robert
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expensive and not a very wide beam

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
the hardest part in installing these was getting them out of the packaging.
The color is whiter, and slightly bluer than the halogens - I can live with that.
The beam spread is hardly a flood. Maybe a medium flood.
They don't seem to get the same intensity of light where I need it.
These are in a track, on the ceiling, and aimed at a reading chair, they don't deliver the same intensity.
I realize, LED is the way things are going, and that's OK, I suppose it's like comparing incandescent bulbs to Gas Light, it's just different.
It wouldn't both me as much if they weren't $30 a pop.
Yes, the quality seems good for what they are (we'll know better in 22.8 years).
but, compared to halogens, the value isn't there.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Easy Replacement
Cons: price, packaging
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
Barney

Expensive

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I think it will take about 20 years to earn the savings back due to the high up front cost of the LED
Pros: Very Bright, cooler
Cons: expensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
Bruce
from Portland, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Harsh light -- bright white

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bright white is much cooler tone than the soft whites I'm used to -- harsh, stark, cold, and generally unacceptable in a home. Cool white is even colder -- suitable for a garage or a business. Until LED manufacturers can bring more soft whites to the market, I will have to stay away. I bought this one because it was about the only dimmable GU10 I could find. Expensive lesson.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly
Cons: too harsh light a for a home
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
William

6 will get you 50

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have to quibble with Zach -- the light is distinctly bluer than the halogens I'm replacing, and the beam is more narrowly focused. But I'm very pleased with the overall quality and amount of light it puts out. It really does effectively replace a 50W halogen.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
StGeorge
from Oakland, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A good replacement for conventional halogen bulbs

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
In my opinion, this is a good replacement for a halogen bulb. It is obviously much more expensive, but is expected to last much longer as well. The light is much whiter than that of a halogen bulb and stays white even when dimmed all the way down to its lowest power setting. Dimming works well without any flickering (used with a Lutron dimmer).
The bulb is cool to the touch so that when it is housed in a glass or metal adjustable shade, it can easily be adjusted without burning one's fingers.
The light only comes out of the end of the bulb, so if you have a glass fitting for your light that is decorative in some way (i.e. would be lit up by a halogen bulb, which emits light out of the side in some way), this bulb will not illuminate the fitting.
The bulb is exactly the same size as the halogen bulb it replaces - there is no additional room taken up by LED circuits.
Overall, I think it is a very good bulb.
Pros: Compact, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
Route66Art
from Williams, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent, dependable quality

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
You get what you pay for! American-made LED lights last longer and are more dependable.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation, Long-Lasting
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
lifesaver1
from San Diego

The Proof Will be in the Long Life

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It will take years to know if the cost is justified by the long life, but the quality of the product seems excellent and, like other LED's, the heat output is so minimal that you can touch the bulb with your hand after it has been on for hours. The light is a virtual perfect replacement for traditional bulbs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
NiceProduct

Very good light

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If this lasts as long as it states it should, then the product is worth its cost and providing excellent light (very bright) and value.
Pros: Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 50W Equivalent Bright White (3000K) MR16 GU10 Base LED Flood Light Bulb (E*)
Dave

I really love this product :-)

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have heard that some leds have a 'halo' of light, but this is an exact replacement for the halogen bulbs that died. These run a lot cooler, using less power with the same brightness. As to the warmth, it is the lovely yellow warm color that you would expect from incandescent bulbs. Great purchase. Have been using them for 2 weeks now.
Pros: Very Bright, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.