728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

The Mauicast 5 ft. Soaking Tub helps you soak away the day's cares with its integral 35° lumbar support and composite backing that offers great heat retention to help keep your water warmer longer. The Mauicast is over 2 in. deeper than other steel tub in the market. The porcelain finish is non porous and easy to clean and the built-in leveling support pad to help make installation easy. Mauicast offers the qualities of cast iron, without the cost and weight.
Overall rating:
3.939 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product26 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(17)
4
(9)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product26 of 33reviews
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
Review 1 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Citrus Heights, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect size, excellent shipping and price, but manufacturer defects

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My plumber recommended Mauicast by Bootz or Americast by American Standard for ease of installation and tub insulation. American Standard tubs were more like foot soakers to me and/or came in sizes that would not fit in my alcove. My hopes for the top-of-the-line Bootz product offered by HD were dashed when I opened the box and found three manufacturer defects: an obvious pitting enameled over, a bolt-like protrusion enameled over near the drain, and an area where the enamel did not adequately cover the underlayment. Granted, there are no chips, but I am going to return the tub and start over for my remodel.
Pros: Great Value, Nice Design
Cons: Build Quality, Appearance
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Anchorage, Alaska
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

chipped out of the box, twice

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the tub, got it home, my guy took it out of the box, and it was chipped. We exchanged it, opened the top at the store to try to make sure it wasn't chipped, took it home, opened the box more, and it was chipped under the stryofoam where we couldn't see, in the exact same spot as the chip on the first tub. I will not be using this manufacturer again and this time will return and not exchange it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Tulsa, Ok
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The right choice.

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The tub arrived in excellent condition. It was a replacement tub for a bathroom remodel. It fit perfect and I am told the install was fairly simple. I love the fact it is made in the USA. I have already enjoyed it numerous times. I also love the fact it is insulated and holds the water temperature well. I get out when I am ready. Instead of, when water gets cold and I had to get out in previous tubs. The depth of the is good but you can make it great by getting an overflow cover to get a few more inches of water. I have no regrets and I made the decision to purchase this Bootz tub.
Pros: Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Quiet, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Central New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I love, love my new bathtub!!

PostedAugust 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
First off, I did not install this tub. My contractors did. They seemed to have a difficult time at first, for some reason, but after a lot of effort, they got it in. Apparently it was a really tight fit. With that said, I have had this tub for four months now and I absolutely love it!! It is nice and deep, and very comfortable when taking a bath. The tub is a nice bright white and cleans up beautifully. There is plenty of space to keep shampoo bottles and the like in the corners of the tub. Also, it seems to be very sturdy and well made. I can't say enough nice things about it. As for some other reviews that have complained that the tub is scratchy on the bottom and uncomfortable to bathe in, I do not agree. Yes, I can feel a slight roughness, but that is needed so I don't slip and slide when standing in the tub to take a shower. However, that roughness is not abrasive at all. I take a bath all the time with not even noticing it. All in all, I am very happy that I took the chance and spent the extra money on the Mauicast. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Quiet, Great Value, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Kenmore, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent value, no regrets, will buy again.

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product shipped to us and no apparent damage. One small chip, probably from factory, not enough for me to return tub. The anti-slip is not uncomfortable if bathing. The finish, beautiful. When pushing tub in my alcove was very tight, so the apron did flex. I wish it had braces to prevent this.
The only real downer was the insulation/foam also covers the mounting surface (not just tub part). It was not flush with the ledge. This has affected the leveling, so I have the apron side shimmed. The shimming and gap show on the apron side. Now when filled with water the gap between the styrofoam and underside of metal ledge is compressed and the grout between tile and tub is cracked and visible when filled. Otherwise looks great.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from cleveland ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice tub

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Had a special installation with limited space. This tub fit in perfect for a 30 inch with a right hand drain. Not easy to find. The best tub you will get for this configuration if you want a nice deep soaker tub. Everything else is a low profile tub. Nice slope on the back as well so it's really comfortable. Only issue thus far, 2 slight very light marks on the exterior. Not enough to stop the install and get a replacement. Once in, could hardly notice.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Looks Great, Quiet, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from North Aurora, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

POOR QUALITY, I Should have listened!!!!

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So I read the reviews and this tub and thought, meh, worth a gamble. First one came with a big chunk out of the side and the white porcelain was so think on the top you could see the black coating underneath. So I returned it, second tub came, same issue. Plus the bottom felt like sandpaper. So my bathroom project is now 3 weeks behind. I should have listened to the reviews. NOT AGAIN. The tub is garbage and there must be zero quality control when they make these cause I am baffled as to how something so poorly made gets boxed. (face palm). Learn from my mistake, buy something else.
Cons: Build Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Chicago
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Poor Quailty Control

PostedJune 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Big disappointment. We love the depth of this tub...but the QC for this company is apparently non-existent. My contractor's crew exchanged the first tub (which had a chip in the center of the tub) ...for a second which had a sizable chip on the exterior (they only checked the interior for defects). When they took the second tub back to exchange it...they looked at every Mauicast the store had..EVERY tub had similar defects. They went to a 2nd HD store...same story w/ their tubs.
Cons: Build Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

Great tub! Not sure why the stores don't stock it..

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is the same tub as the Maui, but in the Bootzcast insulated version. Not sure why the stores sell the maui plain steel tub, when this would be a much better seller. Because we have an older house with unlevel floors and walls, I was forced to set the tub in a bed of mortar, to make up the difference. I did the stringer height as suggesed, but the outside of the tub had to be lifted about 7/8" to get it level. A bag of mortar mixed up and put under the set pad worked great to get everything level and solid.
Pros: Quiet, Great Value
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

Standard tub

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Reasonably priced and good quality for price. Light weight made upstairs transport and installation easy. Insulation keeps hollow sounds from shower to a minimum. It is a couple of inches deeper than the original tub it replaced. I'd recommend it to any one looking for a standard tub.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

Not really a soaking tub

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This tub is a good inexpensive option, but it's not a tub that anyone will hang out in for a long soak; the back is far too upright. Also, the finish isn't super smooth; it has a bit of an orange peel appearance. But if you must have a metal tub, it's not a terrible way to go.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
ease of installation,,,love the style and comfort while soaking in this tub!
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Brandon Fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product well worth the few dollars more

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Solid design and manufacturer did a fine job insulating the back side. Best value for the money.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

Bootz 5' Soaking Tub

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The tub fit into the space but we had to use fillers, I am convinced that older homes (built 1960's) have irregular dimensions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tub - Feels Strong - Looks Great - Well Insulated

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was a great replacement for my old cast iron tub. It was shipped to me, and arrived in great shape. I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of insulation on the bottom side of the tub. Overall, the look, feel, and design of the tub is exactly what I wanted. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bath tub.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Too early to tell and over all it's not bad, I don't know how long it will last about the quality of the product.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Alexandria, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

nice bathtub

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The bathtub looks nice and is easy to maintain. It's a couple inches higher than what we had before but that's exactly what we wanted.
The bathtub is nice but purchasing experience was not - we had some issues with ordering/delivery.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Quiet, Great Value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

Very nice tub for the money!

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very nice tub for the money. You are limited with 30" tub options and this one is taller than the others out there. I only wish local stores carried it.
Pros: Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Nice bathtub

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We received the bathtubs very quickly. (Bought two) They came in perfect condition. I like that they are nice and deep and the exposed aprons are nice looking. They fit perfectly into the 5 ft. space allowed by our builder. I am very pleased with my purchase.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

So far so good

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
tub was easy to install and it looks great, all nice and shiny. only time will tell if it holds up.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>