728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Soaking Tubs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

The Mauicast 5 ft. Soaking Tub helps you soak away the day's cares with its integral 35-degree lumbar support and composite backing that offers great heat retention to help keep your water warmer longer. The Mauicast is over 2 in. deeper than other steel tub in the market. The porcelain finish is non porous and easy to clean and the built-in leveling support pad to help make installation easy. Mauicast offers the qualities of cast iron, without the cost and weight.
Overall rating:
4.1 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product17 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(7)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product17 of 20reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
Review 1 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Kenmore, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent value, no regrets, will buy again.

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product shipped to us and no apparent damage. One small chip, probably from factory, not enough for me to return tub. The anti-slip is not uncomfortable if bathing. The finish, beautiful. When pushing tub in my alcove was very tight, so the apron did flex. I wish it had braces to prevent this.
The only real downer was the insulation/foam also covers the mounting surface (not just tub part). It was not flush with the ledge. This has affected the leveling, so I have the apron side shimmed. The shimming and gap show on the apron side. Now when filled with water the gap between the styrofoam and underside of metal ledge is compressed and the grout between tile and tub is cracked and visible when filled. Otherwise looks great.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from cleveland ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice tub

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had a special installation with limited space. This tub fit in perfect for a 30 inch with a right hand drain. Not easy to find. The best tub you will get for this configuration if you want a nice deep soaker tub. Everything else is a low profile tub. Nice slope on the back as well so it's really comfortable. Only issue thus far, 2 slight very light marks on the exterior. Not enough to stop the install and get a replacement. Once in, could hardly notice.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Looks Great, Quiet, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bath tub.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Too early to tell and over all it's not bad, I don't know how long it will last about the quality of the product.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

Great tub! Not sure why the stores don't stock it..

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is the same tub as the Maui, but in the Bootzcast insulated version. Not sure why the stores sell the maui plain steel tub, when this would be a much better seller. Because we have an older house with unlevel floors and walls, I was forced to set the tub in a bed of mortar, to make up the difference. I did the stringer height as suggesed, but the outside of the tub had to be lifted about 7/8" to get it level. A bag of mortar mixed up and put under the set pad worked great to get everything level and solid.
Pros: Quiet, Great Value
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

So far so good

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
tub was easy to install and it looks great, all nice and shiny. only time will tell if it holds up.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Alexandria, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

nice bathtub

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The bathtub looks nice and is easy to maintain. It's a couple inches higher than what we had before but that's exactly what we wanted.
The bathtub is nice but purchasing experience was not - we had some issues with ordering/delivery.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Quiet, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
ease of installation,,,love the style and comfort while soaking in this tub!
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Brandon Fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product well worth the few dollars more

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Solid design and manufacturer did a fine job insulating the back side. Best value for the money.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tub - Feels Strong - Looks Great - Well Insulated

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a great replacement for my old cast iron tub. It was shipped to me, and arrived in great shape. I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of insulation on the bottom side of the tub. Overall, the look, feel, and design of the tub is exactly what I wanted. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Nice bathtub

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We received the bathtubs very quickly. (Bought two) They came in perfect condition. I like that they are nice and deep and the exposed aprons are nice looking. They fit perfectly into the 5 ft. space allowed by our builder. I am very pleased with my purchase.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

Very nice tub for the money!

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice tub for the money. You are limited with 30" tub options and this one is taller than the others out there. I only wish local stores carried it.
Pros: Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Wallingford, CT.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't buy this tub!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Mauicast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
We loved this tub when we bought it. It arrived chipped on the top and there were black stains coming through the front that even the store personnel couldn't get out. He said it seemed to possibly be the black insulation material coming through....a defect in the construction process. We got a replacement tub that also arrived chipped.
After these 2 situations, we bought the Maui tub by Bootz Industries, instead of the Mauicast. This was basically the same tub but without the insulation, although we really wanted the insulated tub. This tub was not chipped or stained. Our installer said he followed the installation instructions but the tub makes a loud noise when you step in the slanted side. He tried many things to prevent it but was unsuccessful. Looking online, other people with the same tub had the same experience.
It is too late for us now that our noisy tub is installed.
I would never buy this tub.
Cons: Noisy, Build Quality, Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Bothell, WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gorgeous Tub!!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Mauicast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
This is a beautiful bathtub. Very solid! Looks like it cost far more than we spent. My only complaint is that the corner of the tub was chipped pretty bad. Luckily it was the lip of the flange and will be hidden by our tub enclosure but the quality control department for this manufacturer should've noticed this right away. Overall great tub!! Nice and wide and deep!!
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

Nice tub, deeper and not too heavy

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Mauicast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
The only option was to have this tub shipped to our home instead of the usual free shipping option to our local HD. The box looked in really bad shape but the tub was fine. No chips or dings. We installed and like it so far. No issues with rust or chips. Bootz recommends mild cleaners and Barkeeper's Friend for the tough stuff. I've seen others have concerns over the rough floor of this tub. It's not an issue when bathing and very nice and grippy when showering. Depth of this tub is nice and it feels much more solid that the regular Maui tub in our local HD. It's worth the extra price.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Mukilteo, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Tub Installer Beware

PostedApril 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Mauicast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
The tub must be ordered online and delivered to your home. Ours was delivered to our home on time and undamaged.
Overall, the materials and finish on the tub are very good. It went in easily with just one helper. The tub is an excellent value for the price paid.
However, Installer Beware: The tub is mounted on a dense foam pad which works great, but it is the pad that is slightly sloped (3/8" overall) instead of (or in additiion to) the bottom of the tub. If installed flat on the pad, this could translate to an un-level tub rim and therefore un-level finish wall tile (assuming you want the same reveal of tile all around the tub rim). Lucklily I caught this and installed the ledgers level and then poured some floor-levelling compound under the high-side of the pad once the tub was installed on the ledgers to make up the 1/4" to 3/8" difference between the pad and floor (drain side of pad in full contact with the floor, the gap was on the opposite end and only slightly off the floor).
Also, be careful installing your ledgers as there is only about 1 1/4" maximum clearance between the tub body and the flange. If you use 1 1/2" material for ledgers (like a 2X4 for example) you'll find the tub won't seat fully against the framed wall. I ripped 2X4s down to 1 1/4" to address this.
Pros: Looks Great, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

Nice tub

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Mauicast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Really nice tub. Easy to move and navigate making the install pretty easy. I am still remodeling the bathroom so I haven't really used it yet. I can say that the installation into my bathroom was simple. It looks really great! You can definitely tell there is a special surface on the bottom but I don't anticipate it being irritating while bathing.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for the price

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Mauicast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Recently used this tub for a guest bath remodel. Original plan was to keep the tub but due to chips in the finish etc. from the previous owners we elected to replace it. The original tub was the same brand which made installing/plumbing/etc. relatively seamless. Although we've only showered in it, the insulated tub is a nice feature. Also the added depth of the tub is well worth it especially at this price point.
The non-slip surface in the bottom of the tub is not overly abrasive. I do not see it being an issue during bathing and the kids certainly have not complained about it. It's grippy enough that we have not needed a non-slip mat, but not so abrasive as to be uncomfortable.
Keep in mind that you're looking at a porcelain enameled steel tub. This is not a fancy acrylic drop in. There's a reason why it's priced where it is. However, for that price this tub brings a lot to the table.
Pros: Looks Great, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

depth of tub and 35 degree backrest are great features

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Mauicast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
ordering and shipping was very fast, no damage on delivery.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Along the river
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finish is hard to keep clean.

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Mauicast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Nice size tub, keeps the bath water very warm and it came very quick. The finish on the inside of the tub is not very glossy like the description said....it is a matte finish and has to be cleaned every day and is hard to clean. Don`t like the non slip material on the bottom and guessing it will look pretty bad at some point. I would not purchase this tub again.
Pros: keeps water warm
Cons: Appearance, hard to clean, dull finish
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mauicast 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White

Never got to install it. 2 tubs came damaged

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Mauicast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Seems nice. Wish I could have gotten one that was not damaged.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.