728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Solar Power or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED

100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED

The Grape Solar 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel uses high efficiency solar cells (aprox. 18%) made from quality silicon material for high module conversion efficiency and long term output stability and reliability. Virtually maintenance free. High transmittance, low iron tempered glass for durability and enhanced impact resistance.
Overall rating:
4.756 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product42 of 42reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(35)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product42 of 42reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
from Cheyenne, WY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent panel

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed two of these panels in parallel with a flat mount on the roof of my travel trailer. I live at N41 degrees latitude. In this configuration I've seen almost 9 amps output through the Coleman 30 amp digital charge controller. I just finished a week long camping trip and even with running the furnace up to three hours per day, never had to run a generator.
I plan on adding a third panel for a bit of extra capacity. These panels are well made, stout, and put out the power. I shopped around and for the warranty(Make sure the brand panel you get does not exclude mounting on vehicles or boats.), price and value, these panels from Home Depot are hard to beat.
Pros: Clear Instructions, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
from Norht of Denver, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than expected!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First of all I am no electrical expert and know even less about solar. This started out as a trial project with a small kit from an ultra discount tool store. Like the old saying goes I wish I knew then what I know now. Discovering these solar panels from Home Depot quickly turned this into a serious hobby. I bought one of these to try it out and am so happy with it I cannot wait to buy a second and eventually a third one. As you can see from the photos I framed this to easily accommodate another two of these. FYI, these do not come with mounting hardware. However, Home Depot sells hooks that have a squared bend as opposed to a rounded bend which work great for mounting these to wood or a similar material other than steel. For those just starting out I would make a few recommendations. If this project has any intentions of becoming a serious endeavor get a pure sine wave power inverter. I got a modified wave and wish I had known the difference basically "clean" current without a lot of electrical noise. Also, go with these panels as opposed to the "small" kits and at least a 30 amp solar controller. Also for batteries you want the deep cycle batteries as opposed to standard car batteries. You can learn a lot from Youtube as well, I did. Hope this helps!
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
Cons: no mounting hardware
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
from Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm very pleased with it

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have wanted to do something with solar energy for a long time and this panel is my start. I built a stand for it from PVC tubing (also from Home Depot!) and put it on my deck. The wires go into my house where the batteries are. I made room on the stand for another panel to be added in the future. I am charging two 50 Ah deep-cycle batteries with it using a Morningstar MPPT controller. BTW, the documentation that comes with this panel recommends use of a MPPT controller. I also have a modified sinewave inverter and I am determining what will run on it. My microware oven likes it, my clothes washer does not.
This setup is to learn about solar energy and have some emergency backup power. I have a generator, but after the recent hurricane that hit the East coast gasoline was hard to get. I would at least have some LED lights, be able to recharge some things and do a little cooking.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
from Rochester Hills, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Seems to work

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Michigan winter isn't the best time to evaluate this panel, but it does give out electricity when the sun shines. I haven't been able to get 5.4 amps but I have received 4.5 amps when the sun shines directly on it. On cloudy days I get perhaps 1 to 3 amps, and if it's really cloudy, less than 1 amp, to zero. Very well built, and I'm satisfied enough to purchase more. I bought three so far. I don't have enough panels, or room for them to significantly reduce my electric bill, but maybe the summer Sun will produce better results. It's more for fun then economy.
I'm not putting them on my roof, I'm placing them in my windows. If I move to a warmer climate they'll come with me.
But the price of these panels are better than any others I've seen out there.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED

Worth more than the cheapo versions

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After looking at PV panels at a discount tool store chain, I decided to go with this one. Glad I did. Good solid construction and quality cables with MC-4 connectors are very much above the quality I perceived in the other panels.
I drilled into the frame to mount a half a bed frame with wing nuts. This served as an easy ground mount that is adjustable and stable on the sand of Assateague, MD where we do much of our dry camping with my RV. Worked great. I used a cheaper Sunforce 10amp charge controller rather than the type Grape recommended. Just had to attach MC-4 connectors to the controller to make it an easy hookup.
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED

a couple of these can go a long way

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
granted 100watts or 2 or 400 may not be enough to power a whole house,and it would take a long time for them to pay off compared to an electric bill, and that it's not always sunny, these are the best panels out there. i use these to power my full-time living camper/rv, flat mounted, i have 2 of these panels and would like another 2. a full day of sunlight in the northern states near winter will still give me around 35Ah, which is plenty to run my laptop all day. i've seen charging up to 7.2amps running in parallel. cloudy/rainy day 5-10Ah. i recommend these panels to anyone.
Pros: Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, free power
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED

This solar panel is well built

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Lightweight and designed with mounting in mind, this panel is easy to get where you want it. It doesn't weigh any more than 20 lbs max and has a frame with pre-drilled holes for easy mounting. Made from high quality material, I feel proud to put this somewhere everyone can see. Of course, living in the Northeast US, it does not put out 100 Watts of electricity from our sunlight, but it is definitely better than the cheap Chinese amorphous panels I previously used.
Pros: Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
from Thousand Islands, Orleans, NY 13640, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does what it says it will do

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been using this panel for about 2 weeks now and it works quite well. It arrived in a reasonable amount of time, was packaged well, appears to be well made. I'm using it to charge batteries for an RV while boondocking and I highly recommend it for that.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
from Crawford, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great panel at a great price

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I spent about six months shopping around for a good 100 W panel, and this was the one I chose. After that, I shopped around multiple retailers, and Home Depot has the best price, sometimes by a few dollars, such as compared to CostCo, and sometimes by quite a bit. The frame is very sturdy, and the glass over the panel has already sustained several impacts, and there's not a scratch on it.
It takes almost nothing to get this panel to actually send a charge to your battery - my initial setup was at dusk, after work, and even though it was getting dark, and I was in an orchard, I still got a charge. Testing in full light, without trying to aim it directly at the sun, delivers 21.9 V @ 5 amps, or actually just over 100W. I couldn't be happier. These results, with this warranty, at this price just can't be beat at this time.
Cons: Uses MC4 connectors - be prepared with some to wire the panel into your array, or do what I did; cut them off, and use something else. Comes with no mounting hardware, so have a plan for that, too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED

Works as expected

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just got this one in and tested it in full sunlight facing directly south at 11:49 AM in Michigan in April. It was giving me 20.7 volts and 4.5 amps. It definitely performs as it should since it was not completely direct sunlight. It has a solid aluminum structure. Everything appears to be glued down to the frame really well.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED

This product is great

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This panel works the way it is supposed to and was easy to install and connect. It has charged my battery bank better then expected.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good panel PLUS no shipping!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The panel output is excellent. But, the amazing thing was NO SHIPPING charges. That saves huge. You just go try to find another outlet that does it for free. You'll find charges sometimes $150-200 to get panels shipped.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
from KY

Panel works as expected

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I hooked the panel up to a 30 amp Coleman charge controller and to a deep cycle battery. Everything seems to work great. The charge controller was sending 5.2amps to the battery and the open circuit voltage of the panel was 20.5 volts. This was at about 11a.m. in late October in KY. I am planning on buying several more panels, batteries, and a true sine wave inverter when I can. My main goal is to be able to power my chest freezer and fridge if and when the power goes out. If the panel holds up over time, which it should, this is really a 5 star product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
from Lakeland Florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These panels are excellent, I now have 5 panels added to my current 6 SUN solar panels. They are small easy to work with and produce a good 6 amps each. With free shipping from Home Depot, you are getting an excellent deal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Clear Instructions
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value great product

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 1 to try .
Its works better than expected.
Just bought another today.
I will end up buying 12 total.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
from Melbourne, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works great

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Added this panel to my solar system to gain more power. It produces exactly rated power. Good price with free shipping!
Pros: Clear Instructions, Easy Installation, price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Solar Panels

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed two of these panels on an RV. Wired in parallel I was able to get 19.4 volts and 11.3 amps. I made my own combiner box so i cut off the supplied mc4 connectors. I used 6ga. wire to a Coleman charge controller.(mod#68032) This combo keeps my three 100ah agm batterys charged. Panels do not come with mounting brackets. Great product
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
 
Products related to my review
 
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
from West Virginia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Quality and Value

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed two panels on the roof of my travel trailer. I ran them parallel to a combiner box. I finished the installation and tested the numbers. I was getting 19.7 volts at my charge controller and 9.6 amps. I found these numbers to be on par with the companies claims. I ran #10 wire for both panels and found it to be more than enough. I had a wire run of approx 15-17 feet. I would recommend this product due to its voltage and its claim of 18% efficiency. I was not able to find a better deal anywhere for a similar product. I also got free shipping to my house. This is the only way to go and I might add another in the future. Only time will tell if they are durable, but so far I have no problems to speak of. I have to add that I contacted Grape Solar and they helped me design my system. Great product and customer service.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
from St Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it's a good value product

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the solar panel does what it's advertised it will do.
it's priceing is affordable for all bugets.
another will be purchased in the future
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED

Good solar panel, but

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only complaint I had was the panel didn't come with the wire connectors you will need to hook it up, It's not a connector you can just run down to the store and get. I had to order them online. They were only $5, but they should have said this in the ad or added them in the box.
Pros: provides a quick charge
Cons: didn't come with connectors
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>