728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Solar Power or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED

100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED

The Grape Solar 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel uses high efficiency solar cells (aprox. 18%) made from quality silicon material for high module conversion efficiency and long term output stability and reliability. Virtually maintenance free. High transmittance, low iron tempered glass for durability and enhanced impact resistance.
Overall rating:
4.756 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product42 of 42reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(35)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product42 of 42reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
Review 21 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
Camper
from West Virginia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Quality and Value

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed two panels on the roof of my travel trailer. I ran them parallel to a combiner box. I finished the installation and tested the numbers. I was getting 19.7 volts at my charge controller and 9.6 amps. I found these numbers to be on par with the companies claims. I ran #10 wire for both panels and found it to be more than enough. I had a wire run of approx 15-17 feet. I would recommend this product due to its voltage and its claim of 18% efficiency. I was not able to find a better deal anywhere for a similar product. I also got free shipping to my house. This is the only way to go and I might add another in the future. Only time will tell if they are durable, but so far I have no problems to speak of. I have to add that I contacted Grape Solar and they helped me design my system. Great product and customer service.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
jguest
from Rutherfordton, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works great!

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second 100 Watt panel and it works just fine!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
Bill
from St Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it's a good value product

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the solar panel does what it's advertised it will do.
it's priceing is affordable for all bugets.
another will be purchased in the future
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
RckyMntnSlr
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value solar

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This GS 100 watt solar panel provides good performance and quality at a good price: overall good value. Although intended for use primarily in fixed solar settings, this panel is potentially versatile enough to be used in a wide range of uses--including portable applications. And because the panel is manufactured in China, its dimensions are a bit more compact than many manufactured elsewhere (for whatever the reason that is true). The smaller size may be a benefit in some applications. This panel, unlike a companion 100 watt panel from Grape, has a standard negative ground--which gives one a much larger selection of potential solar controllers to choose from (and makes purchase of the controller simpler and faster). As a "high voltage" panel, this one might benefit from a MPPT controller for a bit higher output (albeit at a higher cost for the controller). Construction quality seems to be quite good. And the panel delivers the "unloaded" and uncontrolled specs as far power output goes. This panel should serve well in many services.
+8points
17out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
Camper
from WV
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a third solar panel for my travel trailer. The item arrived on schedule and was packaged well. I had purchased two previously, so I knew what to expect. Please see my previous review. I found the item to be well made and straight forward. Anyone who purchases this item needs to purchased MC4 cables from a different company. Home Depot should sell the cables to make this a one stop shop deal. The aluminum frame is well made and I used structural rivets to secure crossbars to the frame.
The installation is easy and anyone with basic wiring knowledge will have no trouble with this project. I am using a Morningstar Tristar 45 controller and a combiner box from AM Solar. I have two 6 volt batteries to charge, and have found two panels to work well. I added the third panel because I live in West Virginia and this state is NOT known for excellent solar output. I had to add more panels simply because of location. I get a approx 10 amps from two panels, so three will be approx. 15 amps. I use these panels to camp "off grid" and use all the self contained aspects of my camper. I am very happy with Grape Solar and would recommend them to anyone. The price is excellent considering what other companies charge for similar panels. This entire project has been a learning experience for me and I would encourage anyone to try solar. I never have to worry about power for my travel trailer again. The only item I cannot use from solar is my AC. I have stayed for three days EASILY, and hope to try a week soon. The panels provide approx 75% of my nightly energy use back the next day. Those numbers obviously are effected by weather conditions and other factors of course. I suggest that anyone who wants to try solar, should leave room to expand for more panels if necessary. Thanks for reading.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: mc4 cables not sold at home depot
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
Dane
from Central California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looking good but is it really a 100 Watt panel?

PostedJune 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I will be using my panels in an off grid setup in a small mountain cabin, upon receipt I connected one of the panels to my charge controller/battery bank/inverter, the panel right off the bat produced 12.6 volt and 5.3 amp I confirmed this reading with a volt meter and got the same numbers, this to me means apprx 67 watt?? Anyway I did purchase a few and since the cabin is only used on weekends I hope the batteries will be fully charged when I get there.
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
RobW
from Mississippi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Power as Advertised

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Working well. Seeing amps on par with the Imp. Good construction. Satisfied. Will order another soon.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
Keyboard

Good product, great price

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've installed the panel on my sailboat. So far, it seems to work just fine and keeps 4 golf cart batteries charged.
Pros: Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
StevenWR
from KY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

does what it says

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
able to get 5.4amp out of this panel with good direct sunlight (clear day) suppose to be 8.3amp but thats where the efficiency comes in to play so for every 100watt you get becomes a true 65watt panel . One thing though able to get the voltage but very low amps from it on a complete cloudy day. overall Im happy with the panel and will buy more of them but not the ones from harbor freight which are a complete dissapointment. Be prepaired for it to take 5 to 7 business days for this to arrive it took 7 for me here in KY.
+3points
10out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
dosbobbyfrvw1
from Riverview, FL, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This panels are easy to mount, very well built, very good output, i use them to charge a 12 v battery bank to power part o the 120v in my house. Would use more of this to expand my system
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
Howie
from Calhoun, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good panel for the price

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is well built and puts out the amount of power
specified. It is hard to beat the price and quality.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
bigmac72956
from Van Buren, AR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

100 Watt Solar Panel

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great, looks good, I just tested it with a volt meter and all reading seem good.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
CaptDave
from League City, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product - charges my RV Battery Bank quickly

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this online and talked to a rep. Ordering was easy and I got my Military discount on line ! Excellent !
The panel is connected to a Sunsaver Charge controller and is hooked to 2 Deep cycle RV batteries. 18 V at almost 6 amps charges and maintains these easily. Very satified
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
nick
from albuquerque
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality solar panel

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The solar panel works as expected. It would be better if mounting hardware was available from Home depot.
Pros: Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: had to fabricate my mounting hardware
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
RVing4Life
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Panels

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Don't get me wrong, these panels do work as advertised. I have two mounted on my RV wired in parallel. I have seen up to 9 amps out of them.
The downside is they are a little overpriced. I also have three windynation 100 Watt solar panels that perform just as well and cost me about 17% less money! Before you purchase, shop around!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
Einstein13th
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great item does what I need it to do.

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I built a 100 watts solar panel system and use it as a display to run my laptop. The panel provides enough to run the laptop for over 6 hours a day so I am happy with it.
The MC4 connectors are a good choice but since Home Depot doesn't supply the connectors the accessibility of connectors is a con. I had to cut the MC4 connectors off because the devices I used in building the system didn't have MC4 connectors.
Pros: Easy to Use, Battery Length, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation, i like the mc4 connectors, the connectors are weatherproof
Cons: home depot doesn't sell the mc4 connectors, have to specially order the mc4 connectors, had to cut the connectors off
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
Steve
from Natick, MA.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is my second panel i purchased, both works great.

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Frame mounting holes nice feature for securing panel to external supports.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
treetop

great product

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works well in low light.good for off grid applications.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
Snowsail

Best Panel for all applications

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You can use it with any charge controller and get excellant results. I have 12V and 24Y applications in Alaska and Arizona. Excellant product support from their Oregon operation!
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 100-Watt Monocrystalline PV Solar Panel for RV's, Cabins and 12-Volt Systems-DISCONTINUED
Anonymous
from Kenlake Marina Ln, Hardin, KY 42048, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

New installation is meeting specs.

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent price, meeting specs, I have full monitoring meters and will be logging performance aboard my boat.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>