728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower

LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower

The Cub Cadet 42 in. 19 HP Kohler Automatic Riding Mower features a cruise control feature for consistent speeds. The mower uses a 19 HP Kohler single-cylinder OHV engine for ample power and comes with headlights, allowing for use in the early morning and the evening. It has a 12 in. turning radius for superior maneuverability around obstacles, and its 3.3 gal. fuel tank helps minimize the need for refueling. 12 cutting heights allow for different cuts for a variety of mowing conditions. The Cub Cadet Signature Cut smooth arc blades, cut overlap and deep dome deck provide flawless results.
Overall rating:
3.649 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(77 reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product50 of 73reviews
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(18)
3
(4)
2
(6)
1
(15)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product50 of 73reviews
Customer questions and answers:
46 Questions | 125 Answers
Customer reviews for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
Review 1 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Wilmington, North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This tractor is powerful, great on fuel!!!!

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great buy, I bought a John Deere at first, used it 2 times and I immedeiately brought it back and bought my Cub Cadet. WOW!!!! what a difference in tractors!!!!! The mower deck on the Cub has 4 wheels and maintains a smooth, level cut in uneaven areas. Very comfortable to ride. My daughter came home from Military leave and hoped right on my new Cub and started using it, I thought she would have just relaxed, but she mowed our lawn!!!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+32points
35out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
from mid central Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First Brand New Lawn Tractor

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my first brand new lawn tractor purchase, and so far I am very pleased with the performance handling and turning capabilities.
I only gave quality an average rating because I just do not have enough history with the mower yet to know how well it is made and or how durable it is.
The automatic transmission is awesome feels just like driving a small vehicle around the yard !!
Overall so far it is a great mower and I would recommend the Cub Cadet brand and Home Depot to anyone.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Small Turn Radius
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this model in the spring of 2011 and it performed great the first season . My second season had to replace 3 PTO belts and finally after 3 $40. belts was informed there was an upgrade for the idler system on the mower deck $185. later that took care of the belt issue . My third season the second cut of the year there was an engine issue with the Kohler Courage a cracked block and by this time was out of warranty. The cost to replace the engine was $999. so instead of throwing good money after bad I sold it on Craigs List for $300. Before you buy go on line and read the blogs on the Kohler Courage engine . It is a dog.
I will purchase another mower from Home Depot this year but it won't be a Cub Cadet
Cons: Not Durable
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Louisville, KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A PIECE OF JUNK

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought another Cub Cadet since my 2 previous Cub Cadets were excellent. My last CC worked great for 19 years with very few problems. This new CC has been nothing but trouble. Seems to have a lot of assembly problems. Loose bolts everywhere & parts eventually fall off. Mower only has 100 hours on it & I've had 5 parts fall off or come loose. Some of these repairs are quite involved, often taking 2 hours to fix. When mower was new PTO belt kept coming off. Authorized repair facility picked mower up for repair but could find nothing wrong. When they returned it I started mower with their driver still present. PTO belt came off immediately & he agreed that something was wrong. They fixed the problem (I'm not sure what they actually did) & the problem is much better. Sometimes PTO belt still gives me problems. I can only assume that since MTD took over Cub Cadet that quality has suffered. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND CUB CADET.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable, poor assembly at factory
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Lavernia, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good Mower

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mower had everything we searched for and seems comfortable and sturdy. The Kohler engine starts fast and does not bog down in higher grass cutting.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Cadet lawn mower

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best product I have gotten online it cut the grass perfect with no problem I could even get to tight areas with eas. I recommend this cadet lawn mower to everyone
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
from huntsville alabama
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

worst riding mower ever manufactured

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i bought the cub cadet ltx 1040 1 1/2 years ago in that time ive replaced the blades because the ones the manufacturer put on were so thin they were cracking up the length of the blades I have already replaced both deck spindles because the bearings went bad and now the deck engage cable has broken everything on this mower is very cheaply made I have kept good maintenance on the mower so I should not have had this many problems with the mower and if that's not bad enough its very hard to find replacement parts for the mower so please do not buy this mower it is nothing but junk
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Questioning my 1st purchase and exchange

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm on my 2nd Cub Cadet LTX1040. The first one with little over two hours on it was blowing white, engine backfired a lot, and the parking/cruise control lever wouldn't work sometimes. I was more concerned with the engine blowing white smoke on startup because that usually means bad news with the rings, head gasket, or engine block. I returned it within the 30 day return period and got another one figuring it was a fluke.
I did like the tight turning and the nice even cuts I should add this at least otherwise I would have not chosen to exchange it for another. Believe me the Cub Cadet do have some nice features I should also add the Home Depot store manager was very good with the return.
The 2nd LTX 1040 seems to smokes a little on a cold startup, but the clink noise from the shifting gears has me worried. I going to lift on my tractor lift and see if there is a loose pulley bearing or just what is going on in there. I suspect the belt drive pulley is defective though, but I hope it's only something I can adjust I hope?
Cub Cadet isn't the riding lawn mower they used to be is what I'm starting to believe and what a shame..... I expected better reliabilty from a $1500 tractor.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Small Turn Radius
Cons: Not Durable, quality control?
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Williamstown, nj
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Junk

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointed....only 75 hours. Belts continually jumps off pulley. The turning radius is a joke. It pushes through like a bulldozer straight forward and rips up your lawn. All plastic behind dash cracked by pulling on steering wheel to get off the mower. Now the trans is shot. Doesn't engage...it can be in reverse and the mower still goes forward. Nothing but issues with this mower. The best feature it had was the large gas tank that leaks and brown spots your lawn. Soooooooo disappointed!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Pacific Northwest
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better out there

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mulch attachment kept falling off, mulch blade much thinner material than original blades, bent easily. Had to wiggle shift knob to get it to shift into forward, burnt rubber smell when driving in reverse. Seat kept tipping forward when adjusted in full forward position. Forward pedal very stiff and uncomfortable after mowing awhile.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Gautier, MS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

nice and efficient

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to maintain, operate, and overall great product for my whole family
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent easy to run,

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to drive, fun to operate, cut is close and easy to do.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Small Turn Radius
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Stone Mountain,Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Engine busted after 2.9 hours and drive belt broke

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After the first hour of cutting, I turned off the engine to empty the bags and the engine blew up a loud back fire noise and it happened again and again 5 out of 6 times when I turned off the engine. The last time when I disengaged the cutting blades the burnt rubbers smoke oozed out from underneath the mower and the belt broke. There must be a defect in the blades engaging mechanism. Returned to a Home Depot store and I bought a D125 JD instead. So far I have 3.5 hours on this JD mower. Crossing my fingers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower

Seems to be a good product, not top of the line

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's performance seems to be ok, although I am not thrilled about the short turn radius this is suppose to have. Going at normal speed, tears your grass up.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
from manchester ct
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tractor

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this tractor. It has a lot of great features. The variable speed gas pedal makes it so much easier to go around obstacles. The gas fill is tilted so you dont spill gas. There is nipple on the mower deck where you can attach a hose for cleaning. It doesnt clean it completely, but it gets the majority of the grass. There is an hour of operation dial so you know when to change the oil. It also seemed to be built sturdier than the other mowers in the same price rang.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Turn 12" Radius

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall a good lawn tractor, nice turn radius. Not too impressed with the automatic shifting and speed pedal makes it really hard to get a consistent speed unless you use the cruise control. The Kohler engine is powerful enough but a little noisy in my view and its seems like the ignition starts and offs are rough I even got a backfire probably just engine break in, I hope.
In hindsight if they had the upgraded 42" version with the Kawasaki engine and better transmission I would have bought it.
But overall a decent riding mower with the best turn radius in its class that you can buy at one of the big box stores.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Small Turn Radius
Cons: transmission not remarkable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Alexander
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

really BAD BUY

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1st day motor rattled like crazy, 3rd cutting drive belt jumped off and twisted. Been in and out of repair shop 4x and mower is only about 1year old. Repair shop runs the trash more than I do an I'am paying the notes. Cub cadet rep. had a really ugly attitude when I tried to explain the problem.
Cons: just really not good buy
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Astoria/Knappa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great mower

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow.............now we know what a real mower is suppose to do.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
from Castle Rock, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only because "NO" stars is not an option- blown engine- 11 hrs run time

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
11.2 hrs of running time, the engine EXPLODES (yes that's right, less than 5 weeks old). Ruins a big section of my lawn as oil sprayed everywhere. Giant 4 inch crack down the engine block. It's covered by warranty, but we get to pay $100 to have it transported to the authorized repair shop and it's been out of commission for 3 weeks already. Cub cadet's customer service is horrible. NEVER AGAIN!
Cons: Not Durable, blows up!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
from ankeny ,ia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

best purchased ever love home dept

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the mower is wonderful. it has a lot of options the other may not have.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>