728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower

LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower

The Cub Cadet 42 in. 19 HP Kohler Automatic Riding Mower features a cruise control feature for consistent speeds. The mower uses a 19 HP Kohler single-cylinder OHV engine for ample power and comes with headlights, allowing for use in the early morning and
Overall rating:
3.898 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product34 of 46reviews
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(12)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(6)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product34 of 46reviews
Customer questions and answers:
38 Questions | 94 Answers
Customer reviews for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
Review 1 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
CoastieDad
from Wilmington, North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This tractor is powerful, great on fuel!!!!

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great buy, I bought a John Deere at first, used it 2 times and I immedeiately brought it back and bought my Cub Cadet. WOW!!!! what a difference in tractors!!!!! The mower deck on the Cub has 4 wheels and maintains a smooth, level cut in uneaven areas. Very comfortable to ride. My daughter came home from Military leave and hoped right on my new Cub and started using it, I thought she would have just relaxed, but she mowed our lawn!!!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
J2014
from Lavernia, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good Mower

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mower had everything we searched for and seems comfortable and sturdy. The Kohler engine starts fast and does not bog down in higher grass cutting.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
Seniram

Seems to be a good product, not top of the line

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's performance seems to be ok, although I am not thrilled about the short turn radius this is suppose to have. Going at normal speed, tears your grass up.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
Tommy
from Gautier, MS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

nice and efficient

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to maintain, operate, and overall great product for my whole family
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
Ted718
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Cadet lawn mower

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best product I have gotten online it cut the grass perfect with no problem I could even get to tight areas with eas. I recommend this cadet lawn mower to everyone
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
Wrangler
from Pacific Northwest
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better out there

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mulch attachment kept falling off, mulch blade much thinner material than original blades, bent easily. Had to wiggle shift knob to get it to shift into forward, burnt rubber smell when driving in reverse. Seat kept tipping forward when adjusted in full forward position. Forward pedal very stiff and uncomfortable after mowing awhile.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
James
from Driftwood, TX 78619, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is my second Cub Cadet. The performance is excellent

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have bought 2 Cub Cadets and I would not think about buying any other mower. In fact the sub-division I live in has more Cub Cadets than any other mower, but a lot. The level cut and easy clean up is just part of the reason we have this mower.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
Pete
from Ashtabula county, Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great mower!

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use, Runs great, Very good mower! Great job cub cadet.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
Rob37
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great mower

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After putting 5 hrs use on the mower i have nothing but good things to say.
Great cut
Perfect size
Easy to use
Not much more you could ask for in a entry level riding mower.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Small Turn Radius
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
Kiutkat
from Pittsburg, TX 75686, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I love it!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought it for my husband to replace the old one and he loves it. It's easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
Jess
from wv
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good lawn mower

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had my cub for ten years.my wife has done most of the mowing the better part of that time, she really likes her cub.I have changed the oil,changed the drive belt,put new blades on, greased it .most of the repairs that I have done are common mantinance.It is easy to use and understand the only problem I have had with it is the brake pedal on my model was way to high!!!! I think the company has fixed this problem. so far so good knock on wood!! my model is a LT 1018 with a 17.5 H.P B&S engine.
Pros: Durable, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: brake pedal way to high!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
Doug
from Lake Brownwood, Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product has great turning radius.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only used it on small piece of the yard to try it out, can't wait to be able to mow the entire yard.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
charles
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

sorry i bought

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
2 hours had to replace belt, moderate slope kicks off seat to sensative, lights on all time stupid feature,jerky in front wheels come of ground when forward ingaged on slope etc
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
Bawb
from Winchester, NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One full Year

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to get used to a "go pedal" but this is a very nice machine. Fast, good cut, great cornering, always starts. Overall a great first year learning curve on a nice machine. If in doubt this is the pick at Home depot.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
KRae
from Shelley, ID
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Purchase

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Move over men, this is a great lawn tractor for women!! It is easy to run and fun to make your male neighbors jealous. I used it through the summer and loved it. I just changed the mowing deck for the snow blade with minimal help from a neighbor. I love the tight turn capability and the ease of maintenance. The duel bagger fills both sides and it's easy to empty. Great job Cub Cadet!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
Pappy
from Ohio
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish i had bought it sooner.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like everything about it. Easy to use and very powerful.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
lcamcb
from Millbrook , Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Cub Cadet 42" LTX1049 mower love it.

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have had our Cub for three years. We love the way it handles and how good the grass looks when we're finished . Lots of power for hills and thick grass. I don't think you will go wrong ' Great mower! love the water hose clean out on the deck, and oil changes are so easy.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for LTX1040 42 in. 19 HP Automatic Drive Front-Engine Riding Mower
Based on the average of (32) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
22 out of 32 recommend this product