728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower

LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower

The Cub Cadet 42 in. 19-HP KOHLER Automatic Riding Mower features a cruise control feature for consistent speeds. The mower uses a 19 HP KOHLER single-cylinder OHV engine for ample power and comes with headlights, allowing for use in the early morning and the evening. It has a 12 in. turning radius for superior maneuverability around obstacles, and its 3.3 gal. fuel tank helps minimize the need for refueling. 12 cutting heights allow for different cuts for a variety of mowing conditions. The Cub Cadet Signature Cut smooth arc blades, cut overlap and deep dome deck provide flawless results.
Overall rating:
3.495 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(93 reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
66%of customersrecommend this product58 of 88reviews
Rating Breakdown 93 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(23)
3
(4)
2
(7)
1
(22)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
66%of customersrecommend this product58 of 88reviews
Customer questions and answers:
49 Questions | 132 Answers
Customer reviews for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
Review 1 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
from Wilmington, North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This tractor is powerful, great on fuel!!!!

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great buy, I bought a John Deere at first, used it 2 times and I immedeiately brought it back and bought my Cub Cadet. WOW!!!! what a difference in tractors!!!!! The mower deck on the Cub has 4 wheels and maintains a smooth, level cut in uneaven areas. Very comfortable to ride. My daughter came home from Military leave and hoped right on my new Cub and started using it, I thought she would have just relaxed, but she mowed our lawn!!!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+40points
45out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
from mid central Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First Brand New Lawn Tractor

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my first brand new lawn tractor purchase, and so far I am very pleased with the performance handling and turning capabilities.
I only gave quality an average rating because I just do not have enough history with the mower yet to know how well it is made and or how durable it is.
The automatic transmission is awesome feels just like driving a small vehicle around the yard !!
Overall so far it is a great mower and I would recommend the Cub Cadet brand and Home Depot to anyone.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Small Turn Radius
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
from Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this model in the spring of 2011 and it performed great the first season . My second season had to replace 3 PTO belts and finally after 3 $40. belts was informed there was an upgrade for the idler system on the mower deck $185. later that took care of the belt issue . My third season the second cut of the year there was an engine issue with the Kohler Courage a cracked block and by this time was out of warranty. The cost to replace the engine was $999. so instead of throwing good money after bad I sold it on Craigs List for $300. Before you buy go on line and read the blogs on the Kohler Courage engine . It is a dog.
I will purchase another mower from Home Depot this year but it won't be a Cub Cadet
Cons: Not Durable
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
from Louisville, KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A PIECE OF JUNK

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought another Cub Cadet since my 2 previous Cub Cadets were excellent. My last CC worked great for 19 years with very few problems. This new CC has been nothing but trouble. Seems to have a lot of assembly problems. Loose bolts everywhere & parts eventually fall off. Mower only has 100 hours on it & I've had 5 parts fall off or come loose. Some of these repairs are quite involved, often taking 2 hours to fix. When mower was new PTO belt kept coming off. Authorized repair facility picked mower up for repair but could find nothing wrong. When they returned it I started mower with their driver still present. PTO belt came off immediately & he agreed that something was wrong. They fixed the problem (I'm not sure what they actually did) & the problem is much better. Sometimes PTO belt still gives me problems. I can only assume that since MTD took over Cub Cadet that quality has suffered. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND CUB CADET.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable, poor assembly at factory
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
from Williamstown, nj
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Junk

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointed....only 75 hours. Belts continually jumps off pulley. The turning radius is a joke. It pushes through like a bulldozer straight forward and rips up your lawn. All plastic behind dash cracked by pulling on steering wheel to get off the mower. Now the trans is shot. Doesn't engage...it can be in reverse and the mower still goes forward. Nothing but issues with this mower. The best feature it had was the large gas tank that leaks and brown spots your lawn. Soooooooo disappointed!
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Questioning my 1st purchase and exchange

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm on my 2nd Cub Cadet LTX1040. The first one with little over two hours on it was blowing white, engine backfired a lot, and the parking/cruise control lever wouldn't work sometimes. I was more concerned with the engine blowing white smoke on startup because that usually means bad news with the rings, head gasket, or engine block. I returned it within the 30 day return period and got another one figuring it was a fluke.
I did like the tight turning and the nice even cuts I should add this at least otherwise I would have not chosen to exchange it for another. Believe me the Cub Cadet do have some nice features I should also add the Home Depot store manager was very good with the return.
The 2nd LTX 1040 seems to smokes a little on a cold startup, but the clink noise from the shifting gears has me worried. I going to lift on my tractor lift and see if there is a loose pulley bearing or just what is going on in there. I suspect the belt drive pulley is defective though, but I hope it's only something I can adjust I hope?
Cub Cadet isn't the riding lawn mower they used to be is what I'm starting to believe and what a shame..... I expected better reliabilty from a $1500 tractor.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Small Turn Radius
Cons: Not Durable, quality control?
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
from Oklahoma City, OK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

buyer beware

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had this mower for 2 years. One spindle blew out and the other is going bad. Expect the idler to go out soon. Also had to replace deck belt. I've got 2 other brand mowers that NEVER had spindles or idlers replaced. So every 2 years you need to rebuild the mowing deck. Kit cost about $300 to $400. You buy the mower again every 6 years. Learned my lesson and going back to a snapper. Bought an MTD from walmart that lasted 10 years with no repairs. This must be the worst riding mower on the market. Replacement blades are the most expensive too.
Pros: Small Turn Radius
Cons: Not Durable, expensive blades, bad spindles, bad idlers
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
from Poplar Bluff, Mo.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not what I expected!

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was not what I was expecting at all. It has been a lemon from the beginning. The steering is out on it now. Finding parts is a nightmare. If you have a choice between a cub cadet or two goats, take the goats. At least you'll get fresh milk and your yard fertilized.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
from huntsville alabama
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

worst riding mower ever manufactured

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i bought the cub cadet ltx 1040 1 1/2 years ago in that time ive replaced the blades because the ones the manufacturer put on were so thin they were cracking up the length of the blades I have already replaced both deck spindles because the bearings went bad and now the deck engage cable has broken everything on this mower is very cheaply made I have kept good maintenance on the mower so I should not have had this many problems with the mower and if that's not bad enough its very hard to find replacement parts for the mower so please do not buy this mower it is nothing but junk
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
from Knox,Pa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy a cub cadet from Home Depot. They are made by junk MTD

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't buy a mower from Home Depot they are made by junk MTD. Mine is junk with 50 hrs on it. It is currently in the shop for a broken spring and cable on the deck. This is the 2nd time it has had to have warranty work done. The first time the head gasket was leaking oil on to the muffler and it only had 25 hours. The 19 horse Kohler is powerless.. I have to cut on the highest setting in my back yard or else it bogs down. i cut it every week sometimes more. I was told buy the shop that my mower is at now, that MTD makes the mowers at the big box stores and puts cub cadets name on them. I will never buy another Cub Cadet mower again.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
from NEW FREEDOM PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I have never written a review, on anything until now!! DO NOT BUY ANY CUB CADET!!!!

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
AFTER 1ST YEAR TRANSMISSION AND ALL PULLEYS WERE REPLACED. IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY- BUT , REALLY? BELTS WILL NOT STAY ON AND HAVE TO BE PUT AROUND PULLEY EVERY CUT- MANUALLY IN 3 YEARS I HAVE BEEN THROUGH APPROX 6 BELTS. .THEY FALL OFF AND THEN ARE CHEWED UP. NOW BLADE WILL NOT ENGAGE, SO I PUY A ZIP TIE TO HOLD THE BUTTON BEHIND THE DECK ENGAGEMENT BUTTON-
READ ALL REVIEWS - CUB CADET IS NOT THE OLD CUB CADETS- THEY ARE RIDING OFF AND OLD NAME THESE TRACTORS ARE JUNK- PLEASE REVIEW YOUTUBE- AND GOOGLE THE MOWERS -YOU WILL NEVER BUY ONE OF THESE OR ANY CUB CADET PRODUCT!!!
Cons: junk!!!!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower

Junk Junk Junk

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Great accessories! Broken deck gear made of plastic. $500 more dollars. Deck bolts break. $250. Destroyed lawn from constant banging of synchable blades. Who knows. Ultimately selling it for $400 because the blade bolts stripped trying to fix previously destroyed blades? A relief.
Piece of junk.
Cons: Not Durable, save time after purchase haul it in for scrap $.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
from Lavernia, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good Mower

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mower had everything we searched for and seems comfortable and sturdy. The Kohler engine starts fast and does not bog down in higher grass cutting.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
from OKC. OK
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Riding Lawn Mower is great!

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like that it has a feature that keeps me from going back unless that I select that particular option.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Cadet lawn mower

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best product I have gotten online it cut the grass perfect with no problem I could even get to tight areas with eas. I recommend this cadet lawn mower to everyone
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
from Lees Summit, MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Mower for the price

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the LTX 1040 from Home Depot last year (2013). I didn't get a full mowing season by the time winter came. I immediately purchased the mulching blades and plug kit after mowing my yard just 1 time. It mulches very well if you take your time and the grass is not too high. The mulching plug discharge cover is very prone to popping off and then getting cut up in the blades. I had to modify it with tie wraps like others have noted. After season 1, I removed the entire mowing deck which is very easy to do. There was dried grass covering the entire underside except where the 2 blades constantly go. I had used the deck cleaning hose port and I saw grass come out it but just didn't always get it all. I already purchased a new plug for this year as the 1st one was pretty torn up. The mower does turn sharp but the back end will sometimes allow the front end to lift in a sharp turn esp. on a hill and the deck will gouge the ground. My yard is hilly which is why I purchased the automatic transmission. I wish the deck would raise up about 1" more. I have it set at the max and it still cuts the grass just a little too low. The headlights are cheap as others stated and when hosing it off water gets in the lens. Overall its a good mower, starts up fast, turns sharp and the deck is easy to remove.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius
Cons: mulching plug, cutting height should be higher
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
from Little Rock, Arkansas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice mower until the engine blows.

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Three months after warranty expires the engine has blown. If you want a Tractor that is dependable this is not it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
from Pacific Northwest
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better out there

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mulch attachment kept falling off, mulch blade much thinner material than original blades, bent easily. Had to wiggle shift knob to get it to shift into forward, burnt rubber smell when driving in reverse. Seat kept tipping forward when adjusted in full forward position. Forward pedal very stiff and uncomfortable after mowing awhile.
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
from Ballwin, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice lawn tractor

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This tractor was ready to go the minute I brought it home. I have used it 4 times so far and it meets my needs completely. I purchased the bagging system for the tractor and it does a great job of cleaning up my yard which is a flat .75 acre yard.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LTX1040 42 in. 19-HP Front-Engine Automatic Drive Riding Mower
from midd.,ct.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nothing but trouble

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
own less than a year and had motor problems after warranty of course
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>