728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Surge Protectors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6-Outlet Wall Mount Surge Protector

6-Outlet Wall Mount Surge Protector

This product provides surge protection to all your electrical devices. The surge protection indicator lets you know your equipment is secure and protected Grounded indicator warns you when your outlet is not properly grounded.
Overall rating:
2.692 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
46%of customersrecommend this product6 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
2.7 out of 5
5
(2)
4
(2)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
46%of customersrecommend this product6 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for 6-Outlet Wall Mount Surge Protector
Review 1 for 6-Outlet Wall Mount Surge Protector
from Jacksonville, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great to expand outlets in a structured wiring panel (On-Q)

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I came online to repurchase this exact thing, since I have one already installed in a 42" structured wiring panel. It works just fine, and is perfect for that application because it is two outlets wide by three tall, instead of 3x2 like most others, so it is thin enough to work in a roughly 3.5-4" space (recessed in wall). I have installed another 42" panel (man these things fill up quickly!) so I needed another outlet multiplier.
I have a whole house surge protector, so people that are complaining about these failing - they may be doing their job. Mine has worked fine for about a year. Its main purpose was to split a duplex outlet to six receptacles; it was inexpensive, and added another layer of protection to boot.
I have the duplex outlet panel power via a UPS, so I doubt a surge will ever reach it.
I am pretty handy; a vast majority of the complaints are people who apparently don't know how to use a screwdriver.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
Cons: doesn't install itself, requires ~90 sec and a screwdriver to install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6-Outlet Wall Mount Surge Protector
from Voorheesville, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

6 OUTLET WALL MOUNT SURGE PROTECTOR (MODEL YLCT-30)

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The normal condition tor the 6 outlet surge protector (Model YLCT-30) is for the protected LED to be red when lit and for the grounded LED to be green when lit. When the surge protector takes a voltage spike and the red LED goes out it becomes a regular power strip with no voltage spike suppression. The packaging needs to be clarified in noting such. The unit itself works very well. In regards to mounting the unit, remove the outlet faceplate screw leaving the faceplate cover in place, and then install the surge protector by turning the Phillips screw of the unit into the faceplate. If the outlet was not installed properly originally there may be some looseness or movement of the unit.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: poor instructions
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6-Outlet Wall Mount Surge Protector
from St. Louis
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lousy direections

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mounting was an issue having to remove screw in cover plate, then install. No instructions! Went on line. No idea if is working: "protected" light is red, "grounded" is green. Says can be switched off. How?
Cons: poor instructions
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6-Outlet Wall Mount Surge Protector

Still not sure

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have 3, two have red light on protected 1 has green light protected, all 3 have green light on for grounded, which surge is working properly?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6-Outlet Wall Mount Surge Protector

Power surge

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The surge protector did it's job, but got completely fried in the process of the power coming back on. Worked fine up until that point
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6-Outlet Wall Mount Surge Protector

You get what you pay for... Useless

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Really poor design, makes something that was suppose to be a quick fix unnecessarily difficult. The middle screw won't come loose from the device. Returning ASAP!!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6-Outlet Wall Mount Surge Protector

Works after...

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No directions and the ground screw wouldn't come out/only would spin. I had to tap it with a hammer and then everything seems to be working well now. Tight fit with outlet plate left on so no complaints there. Just way too much work initially for a simple adapter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6-Outlet Wall Mount Surge Protector
from 92544

Taking back

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While this MAY be a good product, the design is poor. Surge unit does not cover wall plate completely and renders other two outlets useless, which they would be with a 6 outlet adapter. Packaging does not state what is the joules rating, poor marketing Home Depot. While the price IS GOOD, we opted for a strip, also would be nice for rotating outlets........
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6-Outlet Wall Mount Surge Protector
from South Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No longer work after a month

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The item worked okay despite having to remove the screw in order to mount it on a non-traditional outlet. This surge protector quit working after a month. Waste of money.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: unrelliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6-Outlet Wall Mount Surge Protector

No Directions

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
For those of us that are not Mr Handyman, it would be nice to have some simple directions. Solution; returning it!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6-Outlet Wall Mount Surge Protector
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Initial review - Defiant 6 Outlet wall mount surge protector

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Has 1200 joule rating vs. only 700 joules on comparative Belkin device (Model # F9H601aCW-DP, Internet # 100654574, Home Depot Store SKU # 187860), and that should be a plus. Has two green status LEDs: one for Protected and other for Grounded. However, these LEDs are quite large and extremely bright (giving off as much or more light than many night lights); I may affix some white electrical tape over each LED so only a small sliver remains visible to try and reduce this annoying effect. 3 Year warranty is a minus vs. Lifetime warranty on Belkin product. It's also necessary to carefully remove the screw in the middle of the Defiant surge protector in order to plug it in to LEVITON 'Decora' style electrical receptacles, because Decora and similar outlets do not have any screw hole in the middle for attaching their wall cover plates. The Defiant surge protector's metal prongs fit into the TOP outlet on the receptacle and its single round plastic pin below that fits into the ground prong hole on the Bottom receptacle. This may provide a reasonably secure mounting provided the receptacle has 'tight' fitting contacts, such as are found in either a new outlet or in 'Specification' grade receptacles. In other words, if your outlets are old and have loose contacts you will want to revert back to the old style duplex outlet and use the center screw on the Defiant to hold the surge protector in place. However, having removed the center screw (as I did) does require one to remember to hold the Defiant in-place against the wall with one hand while pulling out the plugs for any equipment that's plugged in to it. Therefore, the Defiant surge protector may not be a good idea for youngsters or oldsters or in any application where device plugs are going to be frequently plugged in and pulled out, or if the device plugs fit tightly into the outlets on the face of the Defiant.
Pros: Compact, 1200 joule rating
Cons: may not be secure in wall w decora style outlets, leds are extremely bright, 3 year warranty (vs lifetime for belkin)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6-Outlet Wall Mount Surge Protector
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

does not cover the outlet

PostedApril 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do you want a device like this that is built to leave the tab at the top of the outlet exposed? Three other choices are to put the switch plate back on and tighten the supplied screw as tight as possible which leaves the switch plate loose, or remove the screw in the surge protector and leave the connection to chance, or my selection return it and buy something that was designed with minimal thought.
I would also prefer that if there were lights they could be switched off, or make them visible only when looking directly at the surge protector, or better yet leave them off.
Cons: poor design, lights are too bright for bedroom
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6-Outlet Wall Mount Surge Protector

best surge protector

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had this for about a year now and it works great, im using it on my aquarium to protect all of the pumps and filters. it is just great because i dont have to worry about all the cords and it shows me if my equipment is being protected or not. I recommend this product for the qulity and price!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.