728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Leaf Blowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40-Volt Cordless Blower

40-Volt Cordless Blower

Ryobi takes Cordless to the next level with the 40-Volt Lithium-Ion Blower. With a 40-Volt battery pack, this blower delivers longer runtime, fade-free power, and easy handling. Specially engineered for hard surfaces and small yards, this blower features a variable speed trigger for adjustable power. With this blower, you are just a few minutes away perfectly tidy outdoor living space. All backed by a 3 year warranty, there’s never been a better time to consider cordless.
Overall rating:
3.181 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product52 of 78reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(24)
3
(28)
2
(9)
1
(11)
Features 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product52 of 78reviews
Customer reviews for 40-Volt Cordless Blower
Review 1 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower
from Streator
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Skip this if you have the 18V blower already.

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have the 40V trimmer, hedge clippers, and lawn mower, and was expecting a lot more from the 40V blower than it provides based on the other tools. I have almost all of the 18V tools, and even though this is supposed to have 25% more CFM and MPH than the 18V, side by side the only difference is the 40V is quieter. If you already own the 18V version of even have 18V tools, save yourself some money and just get the 18V blower. Run time is much better, but it better be since you'll be blowing a lot longer. You'll never use it to move leaves on grass, only good for cleaning flat surfaces. I would like to see at least 180MPH and 200CFM, which should be possible with these batteries, and also as a backpack blower. I would gladly sacrifice battery life for a usable blower with some real power. It does look more impressive than the 18V version, but I don't foresee using it since it seems redundant already having the same power as the blower I have. They should have put in a higher amperage motor or higher pitch impeller, this blower looks impressive in person and on paper, but was poorly executed.
+38points
39out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally, exactly what I have been looking for!

PostedApril 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I gave up on gas powered equipment long ago and since then have been looking for :
1) a cordless blower that actually holds a charge longer than 15 minutes, and batteries that have a life span of longer than 6 months
2) Just as important to me is the ability to control the blower speed! I want to be able to sweep with the machine and not blow dust into the atmosphere and all over my house.
I have used this blower for 2 weeks now, about 5 days a week and just recharged it today (still showing 1/4 charge!) This blower is very good for everyday sweeping duties...if you want to move large piles buy a rake and keep the dust on the ground! This tool is great, lithium batteries are great...buy it!
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower
from Long Island
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

no good without a battery charger, which will quickly fail

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would avoid this product because you will need to recharge the battery (of course) and the battery charger (not the battery) is a load of junk: it will quickly fail - check the battery charger reviews.
Cons: charger fails
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very good blower, but don't expect it to outdo gas blowers

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have three of Ryobi's 40 volt line of yard products, and this is the least impressive compared to the string trimmer and chainsaw. It is identical to Ryobi's now discontinued 22 volt blower, but adapted to accept the 40 volt battery. It does take longer to blow off the driveway compared to my old gas blower, but the ease of use, lack of needing to mix gas and oil, and build quality more than make up for the total hassle the old blower gave me. Add in the fact that it uses the same battery as the chain saw and trimmer, and the purchase was a no brainer. The best way to get the best value from the 40 volt system is to buy the trimmer with the battery and charger then buy other tools without the battery. The trimmer has the smallest markup on the version that includes the battery.
Pros: All In One, Accurate, Easy to Store
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I like the ability to use anywhere

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this a month ago now I dont have to use it as my wife has taken possesion of it.She uses it on the driveway,sidewalks,and even drys my truck after she washes it.I recomend every married man to get one.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower

Adequate

PostedJune 23, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
If you already have a 40 volt battery (perhaps from buying the awesome 40 volt string trimmer), this is a good way to make further use of the battery. This doesn't have anywhere near the power of a typical 2-stroke blower, but it is also more quiet and there is no messy oil and gas to worry about. For casual lawn work, such as blowing clippings from lawn edging and mowing, it works, but be prepared to bring the nozzle within 2 feet of the clippings for the clippings to really blow away.
On the bright side, this device further proves how awesome the 40V battery is - I trimmed and edged my lawn with the string trimmer, blew away the clippings with this blower, and trimmed some hedges with the hedge trimmer. And I still had 3 bars out of 4 on the battery reserve indicator.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower

Great Tool for the Suburban Homeowner

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this leaf blower just in time for Fall but waited a few months to write up a review so I could properly evaluate the performance and quality. I use this tool for everything; blowing lawn clippings off the driveway and sidewalk, blowing leaves, and even cleaning out the garage of leaves, grass, sawdust, or anything else that ends up in those hard to sweep corners of the garage. It fits perfect in my hand and is well balanced at the grip handle. As for the battery, I still can't find its limit. I love that I can interchange the battery with my 40V trimmer too. As for the quality, it looks great and runs without missing a beat. No complaints. The 40V system is an awesome alternative to the old stinky 2 cycle gas trimmer that can be heard throughout the neighborhood. In summary, this leaf blower is a versatile tool, has great ergonomics, good performance, and meets all my needs as a suburban homeowner.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower
from Birmingham, AL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works but could be more powerful

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As others have mentioned, this blower works as a blower but it could be stronger. I don't believe it's a limitation of the battery so I don't know why Ryobi made this blower so "weak". Compared to a corded blower, this cordless blower is very weak. But that still didn't make me return it. The trade off I get for "no more cords" and the quick convenience of just popping a battery in it are worth the decreased power. It just means that it'll take a little longer since it doesn't blow as strong, but as many have attested, these new 40volt batteries last a LONG time!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: could be more powerful
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower
from Toledo, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

NOT MUCH BLOW POWER but adequate!!

PostedJune 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
it isn't real powerful like the trimmer but does a good job cleaning drive & walks after mowing. just takes a little longer.
i really like the variable speed when cleaning the garage! I think the battery weights more that the blower but is nicely balanced
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good, not great

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Loved the weed wacker's performance,so I ordered the blower hoping to be as impressed.It seems well made and the balance is fine. However the power and air volume are not what I was hoping for from a 40 volt system.. A trigger lock would be nice also.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: low power
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A waste of money

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this item because I owned the 40v trimmer that uses the same battery and I was buying the 40v lawn mower at the same time. I should have saved my money.
You would think that if the very expensive 40v battery (that this does not come with) could run a lawn mower it should be able to put out a decent amount of air, you would think. My wife has hair dryers that blow harder than this blower. I
It seems well built, looks nice, but just does not have enough power to blow much more than an very light amount of grass clippings.
I would not buy this again nor would I recommend it to a friend.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: No Instructions, not powerful, no battery
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice product but needs to blow with more force.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The battery lasts a long time. I did not time it but I would guess over a half an hour, and the varible speed switch was great. I would rather change the battery more often and have it blow harder though.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, battery has charge indicater
Cons: not enough power
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great versability

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
love the battery option, no cords,no gas to buy, starts every time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower
from Hartford, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Useless

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the 40v string trimmer. It works very well. I also purchased the companion 40v blower. A disaster. Money wasted. It is terrible. It doesn't have enough strength to blow the dust from a gnat's behind!! Surely they could have designed a more effective impeller and/or more RPMs. Don't even consider buying it.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for purpose intended

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
If you need power, then this is not the blower you want. I rated it above average as I knew what I was getting and what I wanted it for. Essentially to blow debris from solid areas and places in the yard that had clumps of freshly mowed grass. In the fall, I will likely use my electric Toro for leaves, vacuuming and such as that. But for my current needs this does the job quicker, is easy to use, quiet, and has a long battery life.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store, no cords or gas
Cons: lack of power, does not vacuum
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for clearing the walks

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought the 40V trimmer last year and wanted to put that massive battery to more use. Had to order the blower online, it wasn't at the store. Blower is light and easy to use. Wife loves it. Not a powerhouse and it may take longer to clear the driveway but it is great. Trimmer and blower are plastic, hope they last. Same goes for the battery, hope it lasts a long time. Love the convenience of battery tools.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: reliability? we'll see
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower
from Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for small areas & hard surfaces only

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The Ryobi 40v blower is a compact and easy to use tool. I especially like that the 40v battery is interchangeable with my Ryobi 40v string trimmer. The trimmer works better than the blower. The blower is a good substitute for a broom on the back deck--but not large areas or debris on my crushed stone walks. I'll keep it for small jobs and light debris.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: limited capacity to move debris
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good blower

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good blower, like that I can use the same battery for all - mower, weed eater and mower/it is mostly for the walk and deck - wish it had a tad more power but strong enough for what I need it for
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower

Lightweight and capable, not powerful

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good for light blowing of leaves and debris on concrete. I use around the pool to blow leaves and mulch off the deck so they don't get in the pool. Not as powerful as the trimmer/edger that also uses the same 40V battery.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: not very powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40-Volt Cordless Blower
from houston
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good but not great

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Much like most of the reviews this is not a powerful tool. This is about convenience and not substance. If you are using for light work on a flat surface it works well. If you are looking for a yard tool, keep looking.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>