728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)

Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)

The Philips 12-Watt Ambient LED A19 Soft-White Light Bulb LED alternative to a standard 60-Watt light bulb and provides a soft white light. This bulb is ideal for table lamps and ceiling fixtures. For added safety, the LED contains no lead or mercury.
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product19 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product19 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)
Review 1 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Virginia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best incandescent replacements out there currently

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These bulbs look weird, but they are the most accurate incandescent replacements I've found so far. I've tried about 8 other types of LEDs as I replace the bulbs in our new house with energy efficient ones, and these are definitely the best for every room but the kitchen. I do like the whiter (3000k) bulbs for the kitchen. My other LEDs have been relegated to the garage door opener, outdoor lights, etc as I exclusively buy these Philips bulbs now.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent lamp useful for dimming and motion sensors

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have installed these in outdoor motion sensor lights and in dimmers. These are the only energy star lamps I have found that work in cold Minnesota temperatures and with motion sensors (CFLs lose life too quickly on a motion sensor and there aren't many cold weather ballasted screw in CFL lamps).
The other application I have found is that dimmable CFLs have a very limited range as well. These lamps have a much larger range than dimmable CFLs so again if you want energy star lamps that dim and provide useable ambient light.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Cedar Rapids, IA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Causing noise in radio

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this lamp in order to remove the CFL from my Sons room which removes the mercury that is in the lamp. This lamp was installed and it works wonderfully as a light source. No flicker and on immediately.
Tonight I was listening on a radio in the basement with the antenna in the attic up over the location of the light and there was no way to hear any of the out of the area radio stations. I finally asked the wife to turn the light off and the radio is clear as ever! We turned the light back on and the noise returned. This noise was all over the VHF band from one end to the other.
Use caution if you have radios that you use in your home or business. I will be trouble shooting this one or I will be returning it because it is unsuitable for use with radios in the vacinity.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Fairfax, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good warm light

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have tried lot's of different dimmable led bulbs and this is the first that has a pleasing soft warm glow both at full brightness and dimmed. I think most of the other had a color temperature of 3000k. This Ambient LED has a color temperature of 2700k making it much warmer (orange-yellow). The 3000k bulbs all looked very cold (bluish) and harsh even when dimmed. I use the 40W in the living room recessed fixtures and the 60W bulbs in the kitchen. Sometimes at some very low dimmed levels all of the bulbs will flicker slightly until I adjust the brightness up a bit. My dimmer is very old and I probably need a newer type of dimmer but it's not really an big issue.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Bright Lights

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got these bulbs for a new lamp. They are bright and mercury free. I look forward to enjoying lower energy bills along with soft bright lights. I liked them so well I ordered more.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Very Bright, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Mrs

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These bulbs are at least as good as their incandescent counterparts. Comparing these LCD's to CFL (fluorescent) shows CFL has no future. While a 60 watt equivalent costs $25, it is to be remembered that these bulbs will last many, many years. I am gradually switching all my incandescents to LED which I can see is the future of light bulbs.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)

The LED light bulbs you have been waiting for!

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In a lamp, the light produced by these bulbs can not be distinguished from a good incandescent bulb. Hold your hand over the shade, though, and you can tell what is up because they produce so very little waste heat. They are bright for a 60W equivalent, and 5 months after installing the first one seem just as bright as ever. This is all I buy now for replacement buls, and I figure once I have replaced every incandescent and halogen I have, I'll never buy another bulb.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)

Good light

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great for light fixtures where you can't see the lightbulb. These things last forever, so I won't have to deal with burnt-out lightbulbs again. Small delay in turning on, but only noticeable if you have an incandescent bulb in the same fixture.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)

Best LED bulbs for the home.

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are the best LED lights I've found for the home. The light is a warm color like regular light bulbs. I've tried many LED lights before but the light was always a harsh bright white. Not so with these LED's. I bought two of them to test them out. Now that I know how nice the light is I'm going to order more to replace all of the other old light bulbs in the house. These are the ones!
Pros: Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: can't be used in enclosed fixtures.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

limited dimmable

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
with a regular incandescent dimmer the light flickered brighter and dimmer at every position other than full power. with a cfl/led dimmer the light remained steady only at the lowest and highest settings (the lowest setting was basically the lowest 'on' setting for leds which is significantly brighter than incandescent barely above off on the incandescent dimmer).
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Northville, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good light, good value for the long haul

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These bulbs appear odd at first glance, but plug them in and the light they give off is bright and appealing. We will be replacing many of the bulbs in the house with these as the need arises.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from 47906
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Good value

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
LED bulbs dont have mercury like the CFL bulbs do. That is why i am switching to them.
At this time the cost of the bulbs at about $26 is good but not wonderful, so I am only trying different brands.
The light quality is very good as is the brightness. My wife likes the color balance -- a big plus.
I look forward to the prices coming down.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)

Excellent LED bulb, works well with dimmers

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two of these bulbs to replace bulbs in my dining room pendant light. I originally looked at dimmable CFLs, but the reviews are mixed. This bulb is very bright at maximum brightness, but it has an excellent range and can be very dim as well. Color temperature is also excellent. Pricey, but if you're looking for a way to replace your incandescent bulbs on a dimmer switch, this is the way to go!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Scott Depot, WV 25560, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

excellent product and excellent service

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
While I have only been using this product for a short amount of time so I am not able to respond on the savings that this product may or may not produce I can say that as far as the stataed performance of this product , it is performing just as advertised. Many thanks to Home Depot and your employees for your assistance in helping me obtain this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)

Excellent product

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Completely fulfills the promise of LED lighting, in brightness, angular coverage, and the color of the light. I only wish I'd been able to buy these when I was an early adopter of an earlier design, as even those older bulbs will last probably decades! Particularly excellent for table and torchiere Tiffany lamps, for their even illumination of the whole glass shade.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)

So far, so good

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Snatched these up on a (mistakenly?) ridiculous half-price sale. Great dimming range and CRI with expectedly silent operation. What's not to love? Incandescent holdouts, you're throwing money away.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Glendevey, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Return purchaser

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Still loving the first set we purchased. We're looking around the house for other fixtures which burn for a long time each day. Pleased to return to Home Depot and find the price had dropped significantly.
As the price comes down the economic payback is getting shorter and shorter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Clifton n.j
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

philips 12.5 (60w) dimming led

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The instant on works well,also the dimmable is very good.
Philips states the light produced is soft white, to me its a soft yellow.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Easy Installation
Cons: not white light more yellow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement!

PostedApril 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this bulb, it put out light exactly like a normal incandescent bulb while saving energy. I think this is the new way to go. I put this in a covered recessed shower light fixture and the light output is perfect. Very happy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ambient 12-Watt (60W) A19 Soft White (2700K) LED Light Bulb (2-Pack)
from Corry, PA 16407, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Phillips LED Light Bulbs work great!

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I are very satisfied with the Phillips LED lamp lights that we purchased. As advertised you really can't tell the difference between these and other regular or CFL lightbulbs and these don't make that weird sound that CFL lightbulbs do. We are 100% satisfied with our purchase, thank you!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>