728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Flooring Repair Kit

Flooring Repair Kit

The picobello Flooring Repair Kit contains everything necessary to easily repair damage to your wood or laminate floors. Scratches, holes and gouges will disappear within minutes. Achieve a perfect color match every time with the simple color blending system. Kit contains 10 assorted colors for blending to match your finish, clear sealing pen, battery operated melting tool, leveling tool, and a sanding/polishing pad to adjust the shine of your repair to match your finish. Easy to use tools for quick repairs that you will be proud of.
Overall rating:
4.471 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product16 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product16 of 17reviews
Customer reviews for Flooring Repair Kit
Review 1 for Flooring Repair Kit
from Arizona, USA

Excellent Product!

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a Merbau color/grain laminate floor which received a 2-foot long scratch when a heavy cabinet was moved across the grain - although the scratch was not real deep it was very noticeable. I tried the manufacture's repair kit - but it was a single tone and looked terrible. Of course it was in the middle of the floor and to replace the planks would have required removal of about 250sqft of floor. I saw this video on YouTube and ordered immediately - I AM IMPRESSED!!
It took a little time to get used to the product, but I found a few tips that may help others along: first, as my scratches didn't penetrate below the laminate top, I used a tiny chisel to create a trough down to the subsurface. This allowed a good amount of working depth for blending the colors. ALWAYS start with the lightest color and scrape away excess wax after each application. When you have it right (TAKE YOUR TIME!) then use the degreasing pad GENTLY WITH the GRAIN and only over the wax area (otherwise it dulls the floor too). Continue with sealant as directed.
It took me about 4-hours to repair this scratch - but it was totally worth it (AND the $70) because it is 99% invisible! I mean you REALLY have to look to find it - even when you KNOW where it is! Highly recommend!
Pros: Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Flooring Repair Kit
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product very easy to use. I would buy it again!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was easier than i thought to apply. After a couple of tries I was able to get the hang of it and away i went repairing everything in sight! I applied to a heavy traffic area in my kitchen, so hopefully it will last a while. Trial and error is the only key to matching the colors, so cant knock this product for that and you will have to be creative and have some patience while you work at your repair and matching the colors. The product does provide enough colors to allow good mixes to match mainly browns and tones of brown (white, black and a clear is also provided). The finish of the repair does blend in very well with the tile, however not completely perfect, but for a repair job, you cant beat the quality of repair this product provides you (sure beats grinding out and replacing the tile!!!). What i like about this product is the fact that if you dont like what you just did, simply melt it away by applying the tip to the repair and wipe away with a towel - then you can start over. The plastic box is very secure and will last a while and protect the pieces inside nicely. The tip of melter does get very hot so must becareful!!! I am a DIY'r and overall a good buy on my part with this product since there are many different applications that i think i can use this to make some repairs.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Flooring Repair Kit

Good product

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use and the results are undetectable. It does take time and practice to be perfect, but it definitely works.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: takes time to learn how to make it perfect
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Flooring Repair Kit

Worth the money

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used to buy the cheap $10 laminate repair kits that just had some filler and a colored pen. When I couldn't find the right color kit for my floor at the local store I came online to search for it and found this kit instead. I was wary about the price but I knew I could return it if it didn't work so I decided to take a chance on it. I'm glad I did. It is way better than the cheaper kits I have used. It does require some patience and practice, but the results are very good. It's worth the money and I would definitely buy it again.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Flooring Repair Kit
from East Boston, Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this product! I used it on my ceramic tile floor and it blended all the chips so that they were practically invisible to the naked eye. Would highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Flooring Repair Kit
from TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK for small scratches not great for bigger ones

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The kit is adequate for small scratches. It is not easy to repair larger ones due to the very small iron tool. The wax filler is very uneven in larger areas. I used a steam iron and wax paper to try and smooth the area over.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Flooring Repair Kit
from Tallahassee, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

What a great find!!!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The kit worked perfectly. Easy to use! very clever! I used a palm sander instead of the smoother they give you, it worked better. Highly recommend this kit. great value!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Flooring Repair Kit
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product worked great until after 15 minutes the melter tip fell off!

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product worked well for small scratches. After 15 minutes of use the melter tip fell off. I attempted to replace tip but then the heat did not work on the tip and tip fell off again anyway. The melter was an inferior product! Please replace melter or tip!
Cons: melter broke after 15 minutes of use!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Flooring Repair Kit

Excellent for small repairs!

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a slate/laminate floor and with some effort we were able to match color and variances in color and repair larger damaged areas. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Flooring Repair Kit

Awesome product

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very unique technique for fixing scratches and dings in wood flooring. If you take your time and blend the colors you can get and excellent match. The fix is almost undetectable especially if you don't know where the original mark was.
Pros: Looks Great
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Flooring Repair Kit
from Homer, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product fills scratches and gouges in laminate flooring very well.
Pros: Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Flooring Repair Kit

Very Good Product

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was able to cover some deep scratches on laminate floors.
The colors included matched perfectly the installed floor. After repairing the scratches they were only noticeable by getting too close to the repaired area. I was quite impressed.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Instructions, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Flooring Repair Kit

Best Tool for Wood Laminate Floor repair

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked amazing.
I needed a little practice at it, but after 2 times using it, I repaired a large 1/4 " hole in my flooring. You can't even tell it's there without purposefully looking for it.
Much MUCH better than the cheap one color fill-in stuff.
HIGHLY recommended if you have wood laminate flooring.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Looks Great
Cons: can take some practice to perfect
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Flooring Repair Kit

It works

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this along with my floor, underlayment, and installation kit and it works, but it is tough to get it right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Flooring Repair Kit
from Naples, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product for the price

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don' t used the product yet but I think it will give the same result as other repair kits that cost much more money
Pros: Looks Great, Effective
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Flooring Repair Kit
from Albany, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent kit at a good price point.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
With a little practice, this kit can be used to fill small chips and dents in laminate and wood flooring. A steady hand, good knees, and a bit of patience and creativity will let you make repairs that are nearly invisible. In fact you may have trouble finding them again as you work on them! Great for the professional, or even a capable homeowner. May be too challenging for some.
Pros: Effective
Cons: not always best for the novice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Flooring Repair Kit

Excellent repair results.

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The online video was very helpful. Takes a little practice but its worth it. Can't even see where repair was made.
Pros: Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.