728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Flooring Repair Kit

Flooring Repair Kit

The picobello Flooring Repair Kit contains everything necessary to easily repair damage to your wood or laminate floors. Scratches, holes and gouges will disappear within minutes. Achieve a perfect color match every time with the simple color blending system. Kit contains 10 assorted colors for blending to match your finish, clear sealing pen, battery operated melting tool, leveling tool, and a sanding/polishing pad to adjust the shine of your repair to match your finish. Easy to use tools for quick repairs that you will be proud of.
Overall rating:
4.609 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product22 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(16)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product22 of 23reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Flooring Repair Kit
Review 1 for Flooring Repair Kit
from Michigan
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed...

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Had a few spots of damage from workers in my kitchen..chips in the ceramic floor even 2" pieces, so I decided to try this. It works great. You can hardly tell where the repairs were made. It was a little expensive. If you are only doing 1 or 2 tiles, cheaper to replace them, but I had about 10 spots that needed to be touched up. Little expensive and I had to order it first and have it shipped because Home Depot didn't carry it in the store. You can see how it works on youtube.com too which is why I bought it. You get everything you need to finish the job in the box.
Pros: Effective
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Flooring Repair Kit
from Arizona, USA

Excellent Product!

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a Merbau color/grain laminate floor which received a 2-foot long scratch when a heavy cabinet was moved across the grain - although the scratch was not real deep it was very noticeable. I tried the manufacture's repair kit - but it was a single tone and looked terrible. Of course it was in the middle of the floor and to replace the planks would have required removal of about 250sqft of floor. I saw this video on YouTube and ordered immediately - I AM IMPRESSED!!
It took a little time to get used to the product, but I found a few tips that may help others along: first, as my scratches didn't penetrate below the laminate top, I used a tiny chisel to create a trough down to the subsurface. This allowed a good amount of working depth for blending the colors. ALWAYS start with the lightest color and scrape away excess wax after each application. When you have it right (TAKE YOUR TIME!) then use the degreasing pad GENTLY WITH the GRAIN and only over the wax area (otherwise it dulls the floor too). Continue with sealant as directed.
It took me about 4-hours to repair this scratch - but it was totally worth it (AND the $70) because it is 99% invisible! I mean you REALLY have to look to find it - even when you KNOW where it is! Highly recommend!
Pros: Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Flooring Repair Kit
from Apopka, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Miracle!

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have ceramic tile throughout my house. The floor in my kitchen was badly chipped and I had resolved myself to either living with it or replacing the flooring throughout the house. I saw this product on line and thought, what the heck. It's expensive, but if it does the job, it's worth it. I watched the video on you tube and decided to give it a try. As many of the other reviews stated, it takes some practice to get it right. My biggest struggle was getting the right color match. I ended up using a paper plate to mix my colors. Once I figutred out the right color combination it was a breeze! The floor looks AWESOME! I wish I had taken a before picture. You can't find the spots I fixed at all. Super excited. The price is well worth it!
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: takes practice
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Flooring Repair Kit

Unbelievable!!! Excellent investment!

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was skeptical, but gave it a shot. Literally could not find the repair to show the wife. Took my time and blended with wood grain. Tried it on a piece of antique furniture...same results. Cannot tell where repair was made. Pricey, but very well worth the cost.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Flooring Repair Kit
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more hole in floor

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a hole that appeared in our Pergo floor after we had some remodeling done. I watched this kit being used on YouTube and decided to buy one. I received the kit very fast from Home Depot. I found the kit very easy to use. My wife was very pleased with the job I had done. So that alone makes it well worth the money.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: wish it would have come with a color chart
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Flooring Repair Kit
from Cherry Hill, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The only repair kit to use on a laminate floor is the Picobello Flooring Repair Kit

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the Picobello Flooring Repair Kit. In short, it is a wax-based/sealant product that allows a laminate floor owner to restore to near-perfection the look of their wood-laminate flooring. The kit comes with a variety of small wax "bricks," each in a different color or shade. In addition, a battery-operated melting iron is provided so that a variety of shades or colors can be melted onto its tip and then placed into and over the defective marring of the laminate floor. A few extremely easy to use and very clever tools are included in order to permit leveling and finishing the defective area. Finally, an acrylic sealant pen is provided so that, once the area is set and dry, it can be sealed over the wax. (This actually provides two levels of moisture protection; the first being the wax-based coloring, since the wax will repel liquids, and the second being the acrylic seal). The kit provides a very easy, four step process for repair: (1) choose a minimum of three shades or colors of wax; (2) melt a little bit of each color onto the edge of the melting tool; (3) place the unmixed conglomeration of waxes into the the damaged area - and continue until you are happy and the previously damaged area now blends with the surrounding undamaged laminate (natural wood looks like this - a relatively unmixed conglomerate of shades and colors, each blending to the next); and (4) once you are satisfied with the look, use the finishing tools to level it off, clean off excess surrounding materials and then seal it with the acrylic! I am no artist and frankly, I prefer hard wood to laminate flooring. Laminate merely provides a "picture" of actual wood on a highly compressed non-wood substrate. Unfortunately, where my laminate is installed, hard wood is not feasible. (It is over a concrete slab, which would have required building a sub-floor structure first and then installing the real wood over that. This would have raised the floor by several inches and we couldn't do it given the expense, not to mention that architecturally, that area of my house makes building a sub-floor next to impossible. But every one should already know that with real wood, a dent or divit can be fixed by sanding and refinishing. With laminate, once it suffers a divit, all that can be seen is an otherwise pristine picture of the original "wood" and an ugly white gash - which is really the substrate exposed to the eye. To make matters worse, that substrate is nothing more than highly compressed saw dust. Some call it MDF. The point? That's the part of a laminate floor that, when exposed to moisture, badly warps the floor! And that is why I dislike laminate. That said, laminate can last for years and years, if it is properly taken care of. And that is why Picobello Flooring Repair Kit wins out over the rest of the kits on the market. There are many repair solutions. If interested, you can find samples of the repair processing for most of these kits on YouTube videos. Picobello is available for viewing there, too. Here is Picobello's defining characteristic: it enables you to use multiple colors and shades of colors instead of a one-color-fits-all filler. Picobello even has a more expensive kit that has an even wider variety of colors and shades to use. There are cheaper fixes that are not made by Picobello. But why use them? You will see the repair with those lesser products. As for me, my laminate floor was laid only weeks prior to someone falling backwards in their chair onto the laminate flooring. The contact between the chair and the laminate surface tore right through the laminate surface. Boy, did that feel like a nightmare! I'd best believe that I spent an inordinate amount of time searching for a repair kit before deciding on the Picobello. I am no artisan and the last thing I wanted was to choose a repair method that was too difficult for me or perhaps worse, would look terrible and couldn't be undone without further damage to laminate. I wish that I had my own video of the before damage, the process of repair, and the final product: a whopping twenty to thirty minute episode, and that was my first experience with the product. Find the Picobello website and view their repair video. My repair truly looks as flawless as that. Better yet, no one can tell the floor was ever damaged. In fact, I cannot see it myself unless I am really looking for it. Buy this kit if you are looking to repair your expensive laminate flooring. You will be very happy with the result and your laminate floors will last for years more to come.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Flooring Repair Kit
from Nashville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

On a budget...this works best!!!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was the best fix for the floor without replacing the section of flooring which would of cost a lot more.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Flooring Repair Kit
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product very easy to use. I would buy it again!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was easier than i thought to apply. After a couple of tries I was able to get the hang of it and away i went repairing everything in sight! I applied to a heavy traffic area in my kitchen, so hopefully it will last a while. Trial and error is the only key to matching the colors, so cant knock this product for that and you will have to be creative and have some patience while you work at your repair and matching the colors. The product does provide enough colors to allow good mixes to match mainly browns and tones of brown (white, black and a clear is also provided). The finish of the repair does blend in very well with the tile, however not completely perfect, but for a repair job, you cant beat the quality of repair this product provides you (sure beats grinding out and replacing the tile!!!). What i like about this product is the fact that if you dont like what you just did, simply melt it away by applying the tip to the repair and wipe away with a towel - then you can start over. The plastic box is very secure and will last a while and protect the pieces inside nicely. The tip of melter does get very hot so must becareful!!! I am a DIY'r and overall a good buy on my part with this product since there are many different applications that i think i can use this to make some repairs.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Flooring Repair Kit

Worth the money

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used to buy the cheap $10 laminate repair kits that just had some filler and a colored pen. When I couldn't find the right color kit for my floor at the local store I came online to search for it and found this kit instead. I was wary about the price but I knew I could return it if it didn't work so I decided to take a chance on it. I'm glad I did. It is way better than the cheaper kits I have used. It does require some patience and practice, but the results are very good. It's worth the money and I would definitely buy it again.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Flooring Repair Kit
from TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK for small scratches not great for bigger ones

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The kit is adequate for small scratches. It is not easy to repair larger ones due to the very small iron tool. The wax filler is very uneven in larger areas. I used a steam iron and wax paper to try and smooth the area over.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Flooring Repair Kit
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product worked great until after 15 minutes the melter tip fell off!

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product worked well for small scratches. After 15 minutes of use the melter tip fell off. I attempted to replace tip but then the heat did not work on the tip and tip fell off again anyway. The melter was an inferior product! Please replace melter or tip!
Cons: melter broke after 15 minutes of use!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Flooring Repair Kit

Awesome product

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very unique technique for fixing scratches and dings in wood flooring. If you take your time and blend the colors you can get and excellent match. The fix is almost undetectable especially if you don't know where the original mark was.
Pros: Looks Great
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Flooring Repair Kit
from Homer, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product fills scratches and gouges in laminate flooring very well.
Pros: Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Flooring Repair Kit

Excellent for small repairs!

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a slate/laminate floor and with some effort we were able to match color and variances in color and repair larger damaged areas. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Flooring Repair Kit

Good product

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use and the results are undetectable. It does take time and practice to be perfect, but it definitely works.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: takes time to learn how to make it perfect
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Flooring Repair Kit

Very Good Product

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was able to cover some deep scratches on laminate floors.
The colors included matched perfectly the installed floor. After repairing the scratches they were only noticeable by getting too close to the repaired area. I was quite impressed.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Instructions, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Flooring Repair Kit

Best Tool for Wood Laminate Floor repair

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked amazing.
I needed a little practice at it, but after 2 times using it, I repaired a large 1/4 " hole in my flooring. You can't even tell it's there without purposefully looking for it.
Much MUCH better than the cheap one color fill-in stuff.
HIGHLY recommended if you have wood laminate flooring.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Looks Great
Cons: can take some practice to perfect
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Flooring Repair Kit
from East Boston, Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this product! I used it on my ceramic tile floor and it blended all the chips so that they were practically invisible to the naked eye. Would highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Flooring Repair Kit
from Tallahassee, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

What a great find!!!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The kit worked perfectly. Easy to use! very clever! I used a palm sander instead of the smoother they give you, it worked better. Highly recommend this kit. great value!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Flooring Repair Kit
from Albany, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent kit at a good price point.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
With a little practice, this kit can be used to fill small chips and dents in laminate and wood flooring. A steady hand, good knees, and a bit of patience and creativity will let you make repairs that are nearly invisible. In fact you may have trouble finding them again as you work on them! Great for the professional, or even a capable homeowner. May be too challenging for some.
Pros: Effective
Cons: not always best for the novice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>