728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Wall Mounted Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern

Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern

The Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern from Hampton Bay is designed with and includes a low wattage LED light source that produces the same light as a regular bulb using a fraction of the electricity and never needs replacing. Featuring a contemporary design that complements the exterior decor of a variety of home styles, this lantern features a brushed nickel finish and clear seedy glass shade. Durable and built-to-last with weather-resistant construction and a waterproof seal, this lantern is easy to install and maintain and delivers welcoming, safe and reliable exterior lighting affordably. Install in multiples and coordinate with other Essex Collection pieces for a polished outdoor lighting scheme. Uses LED technology - no light bulbs to replace.
Overall rating:
4.68 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product21 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(20)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product21 of 22reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern
Review 1 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great LED Fixture

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought these for my daughter's new house. She loved the style and the brushed nickel finish. The LED lighting is nice and bright and make a lovely pattern when it shines through the globe.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern
from Mt Helix, El Cajon, CA 92020
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Attractive and energy efficient

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the way they look in my entryway and that they are easy on my electric bill.
Pros: Unique, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern
from OKC, OK
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Product

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased two other lights that were 3 times the cost of this one. This light is by far a more attraction light. It looks so much better and bigger in person too.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern
from Addison, NY 14801, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great outdoor light

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just installed 5 of these at my house. The light is very crisp and appropriate brightness. The bubbles in the glass create a nice shadow pattern on the front steps. Installation was simple (Red, Black, Ground wire) and quality seems to be pretty good.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: somewhat fragile shades
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern
from McLean, VA, USA

the light pattern and cutoff eliminating light spill is great. hard to install.

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I thought the light fixture illuminates excellently and for only 5watts! The fixture is quite cumbersome to install because the glass is heavy and the set screws are awkward. However the finished product is beautiful. I am thinking of buying more fixtures.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern

Awesome looking light for a great price. Super easy to install.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am really happy with this light overall. I ordered 3 and one came with a broken glass shade and had to return. Out of the 4 total they all seem to come with little scuffs on the brushes nickel material. Kind of annoying but nothing major. Look great overall for only $50 each. Light is really bright and casts a cool texture of light since the glass has bubbles. I would order again and recommend.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: scratches on brushed nickel
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern
from New Mexico

Contemporary Design with Energy Efficiency

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is a great alternative if you want a contemporary design. Because the lights are LCD, they don't cost much to operate and you can leave the lights on in the evening. They cast a fair amount of light but aren't as bright as motion sensor lights that only stay on for a short time. Installation was tricky because there is a ring that screws in which holds the glass to the fixture. Your really need three hands to do this which makes it a challenge for one person to do. It can be done but there is a real risk of dropping the glass if you don't have help.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern
from New Castle, DE
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Modern and Beautiful

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a really modern and beautiful light fixture. It's bigger than I thought, but that's a good thing. It's much prettier than how it looks online. We installed one next to our back door and one next to the sliding glass door leading to our deck.. It could be a little brighter, but it does the job. It's unique and I love it!
Pros: Unique, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern
from Seattle

Love these sconces

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought two of these to replace out-dated scones, while upgrading to a more energy efficient LED. We saw all the good reviews on Home Depot, and decided to try them, and have been extremely pleased. They have a very good and neutral light, are much brighter than expected, and cast a wonderful light with slightly speckled shadow from the air bubbles in the glass. Installation was super easy, and quality and packaging of the item was very good, especially considering the price. One thing we love about these is that they have very nicely directed light that stays against the house and doesn't glare outward, so when you are approaching the house (or driving by), there's not extra glare. Very, very nice. We've recommended these to a friend.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern
from Southlake, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Attach Glass Before Mounting

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Really cool light where you don't see any lightbulb when turned off, the LED's are in the chassis of the fixture.
One BIG suggestion. Attach the glass "shade" to the fixture and then the complete fixture to the mounting bracket on the wall. I know this is different than what instructions state and adds a little weight to the fixture but you will be glad you did. Attaching glass shade to the fixture when already mounted is next to impossible.
Pros: Functional, Unique, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern
from Marietta OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice Light

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very good light and is easy to install as long as you have a smooth surface to mount to. The LED lighting is awesome and gives a nice clean white light. I've installed 8 of these and as long as you can still get them I will use them again on my next project.
Pros: Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: chipped glass
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern
from Cleveland, OH

Great looks and Great Value

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Outstanding value for an outdoor LED light. Installation was simple. It casts a fairly bright light that is accented by the bubbles in the glass. The only problem I had was 1 out of the 3 I ordered arrived broken. Sent it back and got replacement without problem. Make sure you check you order when it arrives. Definitely worth the money!
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern
from Powder Springs, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Contemporary Beauty

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had been scouring the internet for a few weeks looking for contemporary/modern looking lights to flank my new Home Depot Custom order entry door and sidelights. My home is a 2-story contemporary home...painted silver gray (main), black shutters and white trim. Contemporary colors. When I saw these online I wasn't 100% sold so I made a special trip to the store to check it out in person. WOW!!! Thses are simply beautiful....the glass is very thick and of substantial weight. The 'seedy'/'bubble' texture in the glass gives the fixture character. The silver finish is a nice polished. Very simple, elegant, sleek. No one in my subdivision has these!! Can't beat the price. I havent pu them up yet--waiting for my handyman to do it over the weekend. But I already know...I will be the talk of the neighborhod. I purchased an extra pair to flank the double garage doors. I've never had outdoor LED lights, but the display at HD appeared to provide adequate, ambient entry-way lighting....its not going to lighten your front yard---just the entryway--which is what I wanted. I'll update this section when they finally get mounted. VERY HAPPY!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern
from Louisville, Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really nice wall light, but bubbles in the shade can cause dark areas

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a very nice, very modern looking light that throws off a good amount of light (about the same as a 40w incandescent) all while only using six watts of power!
I really like the way the design looks modern but not ultra-modern, so you don't need a vertical slab-sided concrete home for it to look appropriate.
The bubbles in the shade add an element of interest though they can darken the light the farther you get from the fixture, with the net effect that my sidewalk looks mottled, as if it has rained, but the area immediately below the light is well lit.
Installation is tricky as installing the shade after the fact can be a bit tricky; if you have a helper it would be easier to attach the shade to the light, then wire the entire fixture to the wall.
At six watts I can now afford to leave my porch light on all night, improving the security of my home for pennies per month.
Do note that on one fixture I installed, the shade shattered on its own the first night it was installed, but I've since installed three others and haven't had the problem recur, so it was likely just a sample defect.
The real question is why Home Depot makes this fixture so hard to find; of several locations in my area, only two within a 35 mile radius carried this light; I wonder why?
Also, there appears to be about a .25 second delay between when the fixture is given power and when the light illuminates, likely due to the circuitry that drives the LEDs.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: bubbles in shade can darken lighted area
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful lumination

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical at first at buying this light without seeing it in real time, I read the reviews and I felt ok making the purchase. Wow, what a beautiful looking light not only is it L.E.D that will save tons of money.. The glass has little bubbles in it that the light actually shines through when it is lit. I will buy more of these. I wish I had pictures to show the finished product. Amazing look
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern

Great modern look

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These lights are very modern and clean looking. The LEDs (which you don't see) emit a clear, downward-focused light, which makes them more suitable as accent lights (which I prefer) than for lighting up a broad area.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great light, great value

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice look, hard to find light though, it is only available at certain Home Depots, I passed 5 Home Depots to get to the one that carried this light. But it was well worth it. The light looks great! Stylish, plus it is LED, a big energy saver. A great deal all around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern

Product came well packaged, in good shape. Glass is beautiful.

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Be careful when tightening the glass to the housing with the metal disc and make sure you do so evenly so as not to break glass. This is a gorgeous globe and well priced for an LED which is a requirement for our new construction. Not sure why they are discontinuing this as an online item. I am in complete adoration of this item. Bright, beautiful, clean lines.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Unique, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern

Great light!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great stylish bright light. Shipped fast. Looks great and puts off a lot of light.
Pros: Unique, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Essex Collection Wall Mounted Outdoor Brushed Nickel LED Powered Lantern

Great light!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this light! It is very modern looking and was easy to install.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>