728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw

Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw

Perform laser-guided one-handed cuts with the lightweight VersaCut from Rockwell and leave the bulky circ saw on the bench. This 4 amp mini circular saw has enough oomph to cut through steel tubing, concrete, tile, hardwood, metal, laminate, siding and more. Get up to 3500 RPM in this handheld tool and relish the ease and quickness with which you are able to plough through cuts. This device is well-balanced and its ergonomically designed handle empowers users to saw with confidence.
Overall rating:
4.353 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product85 of 98reviews
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(68)
4
(19)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product85 of 98reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
Review 1 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
from NY, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Yes!

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Does the job in a compact, lightweight package. Wish it could cut 2x4s.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
from Silver Spring, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good size, ez to handle

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a 4 x 6 piece of plywood to be used as a table top for my sewing room. Four by six was a bit too big for the room so I had to cut it down to 4 x 5. My sister has a circular saw, but it was too big for this project, and I wasn't lugging the top outside. I purchased the versacut mini saw for this project, and I will use it for many more projects. The directions are easy to understand; setup was a breeze. it cut thru 3/4" plywood easily. My only concern is that it's not quite as ergonomic as it could be: the handle position is a bit awkward. Other than that, great! The clamp-on guide included is the best--combined with the laser light, I finally have a straight cut and a nice table for my sewing projects.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, very clear directions
Cons: needs to be a bit more ergonomic
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
from North Bend OR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for small home projects

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this saw for cutting around windows I was replacing. Didn't work very well for that project but has turned out to be very useful for other small projects around the house. There is only one negative thing about this product. The safety switch is in an awkward place and hard to reach. If this was redesigned to be easier to use it would be a great product.
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
from k2c ok
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool

PostedAugust 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great tool, Snap a line and follow it. The saw goes at right depth and is light enough an old man can control it and still keep cut straight.
\
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
from Albany, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Versacut is Versatile

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although I purchased this for overhead cutting on a home renovation project -- it quickly became one of my favorite and most used tools.
The Pros: Versatile tool, powerful, easy cuts, comfortable to use.
The Cons: The safety trigger is a little awkward (but manageable) and the downward pressure needed for plunge cuts seems excessive (especially when working with flexible material).
Overall: Great addition to a DIYer's tool chest.
+36points
38out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
from SE Wisconsin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great company!

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Cuts fast and true. Great customer service! Tool snagged and broke when cutting metal. A very rare circumstance. Rockwell immediately sent return shipping label and I got the replacement before I even shipped the broken tool back. OUTSTANDING!
Pros: Powerful, All In One, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw

love it.

PostedJuly 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
used It to put a bathroom floor in with tile. small work area, no problem. this is an amazing tool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw

Depth guide slips

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Be careful when using this to make, say, a cut of precise depth, as the depth guide will slip without warning, causing a perhaps deeper cut than desired.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
from Woodbridge, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too many drawbacks

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, the thing is a brute. Very heavy. The safety switch as others have noted is a real pain. If I was more talented I'd take the thing apart and disable it. Plung cuts are awkward because you can't see the surface well. For the money I'd have thought the thing would be able to do mitre cuts, but it has a fixed guide so that's out. Overall, OK for average use but definitely not a great value.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy
Cons: Too Heavy, safety switch no mitre capability
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
from Arroyo Grande, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is versatile and easy to use.

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product performs in every way as described by the manufacturer and various product testers. For me, the angle of the handle is a little awkward until I get more used to it. It is different than a standard circular saw handle to grip and push through the material. Otherwise, it is a tool that I will carry with me whenever I expect to be cutting through sheet material.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
from RI

Very satisfied so far.

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I originally rated this a "1" (see "Disappointment") because the laser did not work. That was unfair to Rockwell; my eyesight did not correctly read the battery symbols so one was inserted incorrectly. I ordered a replacement which came in three days. I have just used it for a 3-foot overhead plunge cut and was very pleased with the weight and balance. The laser was spot on. If I have one complaint, I think the instruction booklet could be made much clearer. How much is an extra page or two going to cost?
Pros: Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: instructions could be better written.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Totally Useless tool

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I can't begin to describe how disappointed I was with this tool when I first went to use it. I took the trouble to buy it, then take it in my luggage over to Spain to do work on the teak decks on our boat..... only to find out the first time I go to use it to make a precise surface cut that there are so many idiot-proof metal shields that I can't see the wood and blade at the same time in order to make an accurate cut. The laser is also a dumb add-on giving you the impression that it's for accuracy. This thing can't make a cut accurate to within 1/4 inch let alone the millimeter accuracy my work requires. I'm a professional woodworker... this tool is rubbish.
It's immigrating back to the USA and returning to it's Home Depot.
Pros: none
Cons: Difficult to Use
+15points
27out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best thing about this tool is the photo....

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The very thing I wanted this tool for was the depth control. The one thing that absolutely does not seem to work IS THE DEPTH CONTROL! This is essentially a plunge saw with small diameter blade. You would think that they would spend some time and get a well designed, robust and accurate blade depth system designed for the saw. Mine will simply not hold anything close to an accurate depth. I would return it but I can't.
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy, Difficult to Use
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this tool rocks

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this is the only tool i have owned that cuts through anything with no problems and were talking like plung cutting hard concrete it handles it with no no problems what so ever
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Long-Lasting
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
from Rhode Island
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointment

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Right out of the box the laser guide on this saw did not work whether with the batteries included or a new batteries that I purchased separately, so I have returned it. The saw itself looks fine and feels great in the hand with good weight distribution, but I didn't even go so far as to insert a blade. I've returned the saw to HD and plan to order another. Hopefully I'll be able to upgrade this review in the future.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By Worx Product ExpertMay 2, 2015By Worx Product ExpertMay 2, 2015
I'm very sorry you had this problem. If you should need assistance in the future please call me, Dennis, at Rockwell tools 1-888-599-3711 ext. 185. CVACCARINO
Review 16 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
from Minn
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

shopman

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Lazer is off, and not adjustable, as is other brands of this tool. Rockwell are good tools, but this tool needs to be made better. It doesn't preform as advertised. Its a waste of money. I have other Rockwell tools, and am satisified with them, but not this tool. I would give all other Rockwell tools I own at least 4 stars.
Pros: Powerful
Cons: Too Heavy, Difficult to Use, lazer is off
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
from chicago area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

versacut

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It'll probably take some getting used to plunging the blade when cutting but the power is there when cutting 3/4 plywood.
Pros: Durable, All In One, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
from Berkshires Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Light saw

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The small saw took on big tasks and came out very well. Having the non-wood blades help with a foundation crack.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
from Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GOOD SAW, LIGHT & EASY TO USE

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this Model for the laser light, it s very dim and runs on batteries, would have bought the RK 3441 Model that will cut 2X material. I have cut strips of sheet rock with the diamond tile blade. Work very well for cutting on vertical plane. Light easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, laser light
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Versacut 4-Amp Mini Circular Saw
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very helpful tool

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great saw so far. It took me a little while to get use to the switch that allows you to plunge and turns on the saw. I thought at first it was because I am left handed. However, after closer examination, I think it is just me. It was a handy tool to use on a ladder working on end cuts while installing fascia. It is lite enough to handle and powerful enough to make the job easy enough to complete. The only problem I have encountered is the ease of switching on the laser. I turned off the laser guide before putting the saw away. The next day the batteries were dead. The position of the on/off switch is too accessible. Laying another item next to the saw in the bag can accidentally turn on the laser if the bag shifts. This is just a minor problem. This is a great tool
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>