728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Versacut Mini Circular Saw

Versacut Mini Circular Saw

The Rockwell RK3440K VersaCut is a powerful, multi-functional ultra-compact circular saw which can cut different materials such as wood, flooring, plastic, ceramic tiles, slate, aluminum and even sheet metal. The VersaCut features a lightweight, compact, balanced design perfect for everyday cuts. A lot of jobs go quicker without having to drag out the big heavy circular saw. With the exception of framing houses, most cuts made with circular saws are on materials less than 1 thick. With the VersaCut, you can tackle the job with ease, comfort, and control with just one hand. The slim grip handle improves comfort and enhances grip and control allowing you to guide the saw with just one hand. Quick, easy, and versatile.
Overall rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product12 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product12 of 17reviews
Customer reviews for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
Review 1 for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
CookieA
from Silver Spring, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good size, ez to handle

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a 4 x 6 piece of plywood to be used as a table top for my sewing room. Four by six was a bit too big for the room so I had to cut it down to 4 x 5. My sister has a circular saw, but it was too big for this project, and I wasn't lugging the top outside. I purchased the versacut mini saw for this project, and I will use it for many more projects. The directions are easy to understand; setup was a breeze. it cut thru 3/4" plywood easily. My only concern is that it's not quite as ergonomic as it could be: the handle position is a bit awkward. Other than that, great! The clamp-on guide included is the best--combined with the laser light, I finally have a straight cut and a nice table for my sewing projects.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, very clear directions
Cons: needs to be a bit more ergonomic
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
JimH193
from Woodbridge, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too many drawbacks

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, the thing is a brute. Very heavy. The safety switch as others have noted is a real pain. If I was more talented I'd take the thing apart and disable it. Plung cuts are awkward because you can't see the surface well. For the money I'd have thought the thing would be able to do mitre cuts, but it has a fixed guide so that's out. Overall, OK for average use but definitely not a great value.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy
Cons: Too Heavy, safety switch no mitre capability
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
DGS1
from North Bend OR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for small home projects

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this saw for cutting around windows I was replacing. Didn't work very well for that project but has turned out to be very useful for other small projects around the house. There is only one negative thing about this product. The safety switch is in an awkward place and hard to reach. If this was redesigned to be easier to use it would be a great product.
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
Pete

Depth guide slips

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Be careful when using this to make, say, a cut of precise depth, as the depth guide will slip without warning, causing a perhaps deeper cut than desired.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
JustaDIYer
from Albany, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Versacut is Versatile

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although I purchased this for overhead cutting on a home renovation project -- it quickly became one of my favorite and most used tools.
The Pros: Versatile tool, powerful, easy cuts, comfortable to use.
The Cons: The safety trigger is a little awkward (but manageable) and the downward pressure needed for plunge cuts seems excessive (especially when working with flexible material).
Overall: Great addition to a DIYer's tool chest.
+33points
35out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
Keno
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Totally Useless tool

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I can't begin to describe how disappointed I was with this tool when I first went to use it. I took the trouble to buy it, then take it in my luggage over to Spain to do work on the teak decks on our boat..... only to find out the first time I go to use it to make a precise surface cut that there are so many idiot-proof metal shields that I can't see the wood and blade at the same time in order to make an accurate cut. The laser is also a dumb add-on giving you the impression that it's for accuracy. This thing can't make a cut accurate to within 1/4 inch let alone the millimeter accuracy my work requires. I'm a professional woodworker... this tool is rubbish.
It's immigrating back to the USA and returning to it's Home Depot.
Pros: none
Cons: Difficult to Use
+11points
20out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
OldJeepGuy
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best thing about this tool is the photo....

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The very thing I wanted this tool for was the depth control. The one thing that absolutely does not seem to work IS THE DEPTH CONTROL! This is essentially a plunge saw with small diameter blade. You would think that they would spend some time and get a well designed, robust and accurate blade depth system designed for the saw. Mine will simply not hold anything close to an accurate depth. I would return it but I can't.
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy, Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
AndySon
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value for the money

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is very easy to use for small jobs, main purpose for which it was purchased. Easy to handle and the laser option is great when making cuts on sheet of plywood. The Rockwell Versacut is definitely worth the price for the performance it provides.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
homeowner
from Shelter Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well, clean cuts

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
All works as advertised, makes clean cuts, easy to control.
Wish there was a fine adjustment for laser guide, but for the price and versatility, a very good buy.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
olblu92
from Arroyo Grande, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is versatile and easy to use.

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product performs in every way as described by the manufacturer and various product testers. For me, the angle of the handle is a little awkward until I get more used to it. It is different than a standard circular saw handle to grip and push through the material. Otherwise, it is a tool that I will carry with me whenever I expect to be cutting through sheet material.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
Narrowrails
from Belton, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good design and does a good job.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A good tool for when a regular circular saw is just tool big. As with all tools, use it for what it was intended for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
nightavenger
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this tool rocks

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is the only tool i have owned that cuts through anything with no problems and were talking like plung cutting hard concrete it handles it with no no problems what so ever
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Long-Lasting
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
Rick
from Amarillo, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product performed better than expected! It had all the power I need to do the job I bought it to do.
Pros: Durable, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
Vince

Great Features

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really Like this tool it is great I reccommend this to everyone.
Pros: Accurate
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
handydan

too complicated

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought I was getting a fancy new tech model of the original #314, but nooo, this thing is way too complicated and too safe for me. I cannot see the line and watch the blade as I cut. Instead, they want me to rely on a lazer? as I cut. NOT!
-16points
19out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
Believe2012
from Huntsville, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It was THE gift of the year! Everyone loved it and went immediately to find something to "CUT"!!!!

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The people on my list who received the versacut saw were ecstatic-the others have already placed it on next year's list!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
dlucid

Exactly as advertised.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like the Rockwell drill I purchased last year this tool does not disappoint. I am very surprised by the professional quality of what some may consider novelty tools.
this thing went through tile like it was butter.
the only issue I had is that the vacuum attachment didn't seem to fit either of two vacuums that I had. Once I dealt with that issue however it works perfect.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use
Cons: vacume attachmrnt
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Versacut Mini Circular Saw
Katz
from Hoquiam
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Purchased for my husband

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I asked my husband how he liked it and he said it works great, so another tool that he is satisfied with using.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.