728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outlets & Receptacles or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White

15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White

Leviton’s USB Charger/Tamper-Resistant Receptacle offers a ground-breaking 2.1 Amp of charging power and a 15 Amp/125 Volt Tamper-Resistant Receptacle. This state-of-the-art device has the ability to charge up to three electronic devices at once utilizing the USB ports and the receptacle. The USB ports are type A, 2.0/3.0 and are controlled by a smart chip which recognizes and optimizes the charging power of your device. This means you can spend less time charging your device and more time enjoying it! Leviton’s USB Charger/Tamper-Resistant Receptacle is ideal for charging tablets, smart and mobile phones, e-readers and much more.
Overall rating:
4.075 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product50 of 62reviews
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(41)
4
(12)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product50 of 62reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White
Review 21 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White
from Fairfax, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good idea, but money wasted so far

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product seemed to be worked for around 6 months, then failed, with the USB ports actually seeming to push into into the unit, and no longer working at all. Judging from other reviews, our experience is not unique. So I contacted the number one of the other reviews, and they want me to mail it to them at my own expense, which I am not inclined to do - why throw good money after bad? It will be cheaper to just replace it either with a normal outlet or a to put the money to try a competitive product that maybe has better quality. At a $20 price point and not lasting a year, I think Home Depot should consider pulling the product. An outlet should last indefinitely, and even if the USB ports were to wear out and no long make contact in a few years that I could understand, but to not last a year, because of poor construction - that is not really acceptable. I'll try exchanging or returning to Home Depot, but given it is past 90 days, I expect it won't be possible.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White
from San Francisco
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

USB outlets stopped working after a week

PostedApril 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was no problem installing the outlet and it worked like a charm for about 7 days. But then the USB outlets stopped working. The 3-prong outlet was still hot, but nothing from the USBs.
Cons: Burns Out
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White
from Houston Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worthy buy

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install, good quality and very useful, no more
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Always losing your charger?

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
At first I flinched at the cost, but when I consider how often I leave my charger somewhere- it's worth it. I put one in each of my kids room and in the family room. It allows us all to charge our devices without man hunting for our chargers. Good investment if you hate the chargers bulking up. It was not hard to install. You definitely need an electric tester and make sure your main breaker is off. I you tubed it. First one was obviously harder since I have never installed myself. I did the other 4 just fine.
Pros: Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White
from Honolulu, HI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Both USB ports died

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Both USB ports died after 30 days in service. Don't waste your money on this. It's a total fail.
Cons: Burns Out
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White
from Chickasha, OK
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little wide, but fit.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this in a older home where the wall sockets are not as large as a new home. It fit, but was very tight and I worry about tolerances. That being said, it is functioning great, has two outlets, one low amperage for phones and the like, one for tablets to get a little higher speed charge. We have used it to charge two ipads (air and original), iPhones, ASUS Android tablet, and others. No complaints except for the tight fit, but that's probably my old house, you might not expect the same.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White
from chico, ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked for a Week then died

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed the unit and it worked well for a week, Then it died.....back to a standard outlet and plug in chargers
Pros: Easy Installation
Cons: short life
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White
from alexandria, va
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good purchase

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
installation was easy works with all my devices...
Pros: Clear Instructions, Stylish, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White
from California
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product.....beware of lemons

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
SO I bought 2 of these usb outlets about 3 weeks ago, One has failed the other is still going strong. hopefully home depot will exchange my lemon for another one. But my overall point is: don't let the negative reviews scare you off there will always be some lemons in a batch of products. Still love the simplicity and design of these outlets
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: Burns Out, lack of quality control
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White
from Plano, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It will eventually stop working

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like the clean look over the adapters. However, it only worked fine for a few months before both USB outlets stopped working. Seems to be a common issue. Going to see if I can get a replacement. If that dies, then I give up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Easy Installation
Cons: Burns Out, short life
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White
from Southern California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can only charge one iPhone 5 at a time

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As everyone else did, I got tired of constantly looking for a charging adapter and installed this outlet. Having 2 USB outlets does me no good as I can only use one at a time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: doesn't work as advertised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White
from OP KS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great addition to kitchen & bar

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and not having to search for the adapters for the USB to the standard outlet plug in is worth every penny. Installed two in ten minutes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation, eliminates adapters
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White

Works well

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This works as advertised, it will charge almost any smaller USB powered device. I can't speak to the longevity, but so far it has worked flawlessly. It is physically pretty large, so getting it into a standard box if you have several other wires in it is a bit fiddly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White
from Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best available

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After lots of research I decided to go with the trusted name of Levitron, and they did not disappoint. It charges my iPad just as quickly as dedicated adaptor (use right side usb for ipad) while also charging my iPhone 4. It is a tight fit, but once you get the wiring folded correctly it does go in. Other USB outlets available just don't have enough power. It looks very classy in my kitchen.
Pros: Stylish, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White
from Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome and Seamless

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good product Leviton is known for good quality and durability, you cannot go wrong with this. Plugs right up just as a normal socket would. I have mutiple of these throughout my house to allow me to charge my electronics without the needs of buy multiple charging adapters which are equal to or more in value that this.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White
from Toa Alta, 00953, Puerto Rico
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect solution

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is exactly what I was looking for, convince and smart outlet.
Pros: Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White

Exactly what I needed

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been wanting to install this combo outlet/USB charger to lessen the clutter when all sorts of electronic devices are being recharged. This works very well, allowing an iPad 2 and a Droid Razr to be charged at the same time. The installation instructions do say that only the right side USB is for larger devices - it has an H label beside it. All in all, very happy with the product. Now just have to organize the assortment of cables.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White
from Cleveland Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

USB outlet with electric

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I liked this product from the charging of IPADS, Phones, etc..... The apple products seem to be variant on whether or not they work with this plug. IPAD 2 works, IPAD 1 does not. Iphone does. I haven't seen any other device other than the IPAD 1 that does not work so far, so I was glad I got the combo plug and usb version of this outlet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White

Neat idea!

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy installation. Consumes about 25mW of power when off.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Stylish, Easy Replacement, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 15 Amp Tamper-Resistant Combo Outlet/USB Charger - White

Even works with Apple products!!!!!!!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works with Apple products as well most others. Charges all USB devices we use/operate.
Pros: Easy Replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>