728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Security Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light

600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light

This Motion Activated Solar Powered LED Security is the most cost-effective way to illuminate and protect your home, business, and recreational areas. With its easy setup and lightweight design, this light conforms to most of your lighting needs and is especially useful where an electrical outlet is not accessible. This solar security light converts sunlight to electricity, so lighting is available wherever and whenever you desire. Simply install the solar charging panel in an area where sun exposure is prevalent (the attached 15 ft. cable provides sufficient length for easy placement). In AUTO mode (normal operation setting), the light illuminates at night only when motion is detected, then automatically resets. The sun will charge its internal high-efficiency rechargeable lithium battery that produces zero emissions and give you continuous illumination. This features two 5-watt super bright LEDs (equal to 60 Watt incandescent bulb), and lamp head are made of cast aluminum to act as heat sinks for the LEDs, to assure durability and ensure maximum brightness.
Overall rating:
3.952 / 5
4
 / 
5
(104 reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product79 of 96reviews
Rating Breakdown 104 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(48)
4
(33)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(13)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product79 of 96reviews
Customer reviews for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
Review 1 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Duarte, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performs well.

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The pros: easy install; looks great; easy to adjust; the dual light is a great feature since both lights are equally bright.
The cons: light is a blue hue, not a bright white light; illuminates about 15 ft of the driveway; sensor does not detect movement up to 50 ft as touted by the product.
Overall, this product works as described. I wish it were brighter or carried further, but it does a good job. I think it would work better to illuminate alley ways as opposed to the front driveway (which is where I put it). I would recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a motion sensor light.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Port Charlotte, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good LED lighting

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought two for my backyard where there is no lighting whatsoever. The brightness and coverage are very good for LEDs, especially in this price range. Installation was pretty easy using the templates included. They stay on for only about a minute or so, and will not reset until the end of the 'on' cycle. So, it will 'blink' as you walk around. The test position helps set the light to the environment and should be used once the unit is installed. I found putting the switch to 'test' at night works the best. Return the switch to 'on' though, after the test cycle is finished. It's s good security light but the 'on' time and reset mode limit their use.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, good brightness
Cons: 'on' time
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Massachusetts

Just what we wanted. Good product.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We feel this is a very good product. We mounted it, about four feet high, under our second story deck, on one of the vertical support beams. We aimed the spotlights left and right so that they light up 20 feet to one side and 20 feet to the other, illuminating the basement door and one window and under the deck and a second window. The illumination for each spotlight is equivalent, approximately, to a 25 watt incandescent bulb. The light is sufficient for our needs. It responds instantly to motion. The only drawback is that it doesn't stay on more than two minutes. However, if there is constant movement, the light stays on.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Nice Design, moderately bright
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Nassau, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for the money. Very easy to install. Bright.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Priced right when on sale. Battery recharge does need good sunny days to work correctly. 15ft recharge cord plenty long enough for my 3 applications. 2 separate very adjustable lights give wide and bright illumination pattern capability. Motion sensor sensitive and must be positioned properly. Only additional suggestion: Swap mounting screws supplied (6) with outside resistant versions when possible.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: battery life between recharges somewhat short
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Brook Park OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sad disappointment

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very easy to install and worked well.. for about a month. Now it no longer works and I do not know if the issue is the solar collector OR if it is the battery. Expected better from the online reviews of this product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright
Cons: stopped working after 1 month
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from La Crosse, KS
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not quite up to snuff

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Looks good, easy to install, underdesigned. Had this thing installed for about 2 weeks before I took it back. I believe my installation site did not receive enough direct sunlight. It only got about 2 hours of direct sun every morning. and indirect the rest of the day. result was I don't think the battery ever got fully charged. It would come on about once for a minute or two when triggered after dark and then it was done the rest of the night. I didn't want to move the solar collector out where it would be susceptible to hail so I returned it and went for a wired unit. A little more hassle to install but ended up with a brighter, more robust unit for $10 more. I suspect either the battery pack or solar collector is to small, maybe both.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor battery capacity, limited capability
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from NC

Very functional product

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
LED spotlights provide very useful lighting. I decided to purchase two more but the Home Depot price increase from $79.99 to $94.99 made this purchase cost-prohibitive. The light is not worth $95.00 to me.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: pricey
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light

great product and feel safe

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This solar security definitely make me feel secure and extremely bright, much better than the one I had in my front walk way (already replaced with these wonderful product). I am amazed that the light can put out such bright light even though powered by the sun. It worked right out of the box, simple set up, lights up the walk way nicely. My husband loved my choice. Only concern about it is that the light is too bright which can shine over the yard to my neighbor.. no kidding, the light is that super bright!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Asheville, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not perform nearly as good as advertised

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After full sun charging for 4 days, Light is not bright, even in the darkest of the night! Motion detector WILL NOT pick up unless you are within 3-4 feet of the unit. VERY poor quality and certainly not as advertised. I purchased this light for Security, a small flash light provides more light than this does and the motion detector is a joke!!
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: does not perform as advertised, motion detector does not pick up motion, light is not bright
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Unique product.

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Model PS01W Solar powered motion activated light. Home Depot # 203404521.
I purchased two of these lights to place under the eves along a walkway to the entrance of my house. This area is not well lighted at night, and I was looking for a simple way to light this area as needed. These don’t require a electrical connection, just the solar panel.
Initial impression of the PSO1 lights: The light kit consists of a light unit, and a solar array unit with a fifteen foot long connection cord. The light unit consists of a battery / circuit housing, with two LED light housings, and a motion sensor housing attached to it with adjustable “links”.
The light housings are adjustable in two axis, as is the motion sensor housing. The motion sensor has no sensitivity adjustments other than how you “aim” it. Each LED “spot” light housing can be adjusted in two axis relative to the battery housing. The battery housing provides the mount base for the unit. The battery housing also has the connection port for the power cable from the Solar array panel. There is also a sealed slide switch that has three functions; OFF, Auto and Test.
The battery housing contains two Lithium cells rated at 2.2 Amp hours and ~3.4 Volts each, and the sensor and charging control circuits. The batteries should be replaceable when they wear out. The battery housing has a “O” ring seal around the rear panel opening to keep moisture out. There are two closed, recessed slots on the back of the rear panel to use for mountain screws (blind mounting). These slots do not open into the housing to prevent moisture from intruding. If the unit is mounted vertically, this will probably work fine. In my application, I mounted these at about a 30 degree angle, so I made wood base plates and fastened these to the battery housing using four longer, screws that lined up with the four screw holes for the rear panel attachment. This provided a more secure attachment. The screws used to fasten the housing to the light and sensor links are not stainless steel, all screws are just chrome plated. I would expect these to rust in time. The backs of LED light housings appear to be aluminum, probably for cooling of the LEDs. The position of each light and the motion sensor is secured with “thumb” screw adjustments. These seem to be fairly sturdy and easy to adjust.
The solar array panel is a plastic housing, with a “ball” style clamp that mates to the short plastic mounting base. The base has holes for four screws to fasten it to the surface that it will be installed on. The ball clamp is held in place with two screws, and a plastic ball clamp cover witch provides tension on the ball end of the base.These parts are made of plastic. Although this seems to work to support the solar array panel, I question how well it will hold the position of the panel over time, and under windy conditions. The panel had some clear sealant around the bezel edge of the panel where the solar array was. Since this panel is exposed to the elements all the time, it will be interesting to see how well it holds up to the rain and UV radiation.
General comments: The sensitivity of the motion detector worked well in my application. Small animals, cats for instance, would easily turn on the lights at night. The lights are quite bright, but have a limited coverage area. The manual says they are equal to 60 watt incandescent bulb. I would agree with this. The color is a bright white, ~6500 K color temp. They do not come on during the day when it’s light out, but will activate when the outside light level is low. They are easy to install, and the solar panel seems to provide sufficient charging during the day to keep them operational at night. I did not attempt to see how long they would operate on a full charge.
For a application where it would be difficult to provide a power connection, these are a easy solution. As to how well they will hold up, only time will tell. They seem to perform well, but are somewhat expensive. Considering the technology, features and easy of installation, for specific applications they seem like a good product.
Pros: Functional, Unique
+50points
51out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:25 to 34

Doesn't Work

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this because we have no light in the front of our house as our porch is on the side and we didn't want to have to rewire everything. We put it up and we thought it worked the first night. As the days went by we noticed that it was only working once or twice every night around 8pm. When I say "worked" I actually meant it turned on. No one was walking by or anything it would just turn on around 8 when it got dark and stay on for a couple of minutes then turn off. then a minute or so later it would turn on again and stay on for a couple of minutes then it was dead and even when we would go out there and walk around and wave our hands it wouldn't turn on. We've left it up for over a week now and it still hasn't worked right and there's been plenty of sun. Now we'll have to see if we can return it back to the store.
Cons: doesn't work, someone can easly steal it
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from West Milford New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Money well spent.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These light are truly amazing for solar lights. I bought these in hope that they would be strong enough to light up the area that I needed. I can say that they did better then expected. I liked them so much I went and bought another set.
If you are on the fence on whether to buy these or not, trust me, they are worth it.
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design, super bright
Cons: nothing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Lafayette CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice light with a couple of small faults

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this light to illuminate the area around my garage, which can get really dark at night. The 600 lumens do everything that I need such a light to do. There are two ways in which the product could be bettter. (1) If I walk straight toward the light, I have to get pretty close (like 6 feet) in order for the motion sensor to detect me. This behavior is described in the instructions. (2) When not off or in test mode, the light turns itself off after 1 minute. It would be nice to at least have a 5-minute option, or even better a continuously variable dial so that the timeout could be set to anywhere from 0 to say 15 minutes.
Overall I am pleased and am considering getting another to illuminate the back end of my "tandem" garage space.
Pros: Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product is great!

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Even on the stucco, installation was super easy. The 600-lumen, 160-degree outdoor, motion-activated solar-powered flood llight is lightweight so a quick pilot-hole drill and the light was up and charging. Especially great is that it is solar powered; the power is free. The motion sensor is sensitive enough to pick up the movement of the dogs and the LED security lights are bright enough to light up the driveway and front yard.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light

It's Great!!! Nice product

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's very bright.
Easy to put it on and it's a good value.
My wife really likes it, she always takes our dog to outside at night. The light is very useful and feel safe!
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Virginia

Ok for a low light application

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Only gives off about 60 watts of light but good to light up back of house where steps and patio area are just walk down steps and light comes on no need to turn on flood lights or porch light
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light

Easy and instant lighting Solution

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For a solar powered lighting fixture, its pretty bright.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from vermont
Age Range:35 to 44

Good Security Light

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is our second time buying this light. The first one was a victim of hurricane force wind gusts when the pole it was on was blown over.
Overall this is a great light and the ability to point the lights into two different directions is great. The charge time is tricky, it took our light a few solid days to get up to charge. The adjusting of the timing and sensitivity are tricky but after some fiddling it has been good.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from West Springfield, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is fantastic

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is fantastic. Put in on the side of my shed so when I was out with the dog at night I could be warned if any critters were roaming around. She got skunked once and that was once to many. The light is very bright and shines in a very large area. The thing I liked best about it was it only took 2 minutes to install
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Waco, Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase, still working with same strength a year later..

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This came with easy to follow instructions. It shines very brightly and has a long distance of brightness going about 20 feet before fading. This light has helped greatly for lighting up my home's walkway to the porch.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>