728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Security Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light

600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light

This Motion Activated Solar Powered LED Security is the most cost-effective way to illuminate and protect your home, business, and recreational areas. With its easy setup and lightweight design, this light conforms to most of your lighting needs and is especially useful where an electrical outlet is not accessible. This solar security light converts sunlight to electricity, so lighting is available wherever and whenever you desire. Simply install the solar charging panel in an area where sun exposure is prevalent (the attached 15 ft. cable provides sufficient length for easy placement). In AUTO mode (normal operation setting), the light illuminates at night only when motion is detected, then automatically resets. The sun will charge its internal high-efficiency rechargeable lithium battery that produces zero emissions and give you continuous illumination. This features two 5-watt super bright LEDs (equal to 60 Watt incandescent bulb), and lamp head are made of cast aluminum to act as heat sinks for the LEDs, to assure durability and ensure maximum brightness.
Overall rating:
3.798 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(119 reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product85 of 110reviews
Rating Breakdown 119 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(52)
4
(35)
3
(7)
2
(6)
1
(19)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product85 of 110reviews
Customer reviews for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
Review 1 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Duarte, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performs well.

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The pros: easy install; looks great; easy to adjust; the dual light is a great feature since both lights are equally bright.
The cons: light is a blue hue, not a bright white light; illuminates about 15 ft of the driveway; sensor does not detect movement up to 50 ft as touted by the product.
Overall, this product works as described. I wish it were brighter or carried further, but it does a good job. I think it would work better to illuminate alley ways as opposed to the front driveway (which is where I put it). I would recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a motion sensor light.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light

Not as bright as advertised

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
PROS:
- Long lasting lithium battery
- Charged in one day of full sun
- Light weight
- Easy to install
CONS:
- Advertised Lumen Output 600 - Actual Lumen Output 423
- Important moving parts are plastic
To discover actual brightness. We tested this item in our photometric globe after charging for 3 days in clear Florida sun. It received an average of 6.2 hours of direct sun per day before test was initiated.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks water and fails

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When it worked it was very bright. The sensor was not a very wide angle though. Installed it in January and sometimes it would stop working and then when I got around to taking it down to look it would work again. I thought it may have been because of the cold. When it got warm out it still happened so I took it down and could hear water in it. I opened it and it had a rubber seal but I siliconed the gasket around the main case, let it dry out and it worked fine for a few weeks. Now when I opened it the switch was rusted and wouldn't move, don't know where the water comes in but after 6 months it no longer works.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: poor quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Nassau, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for the money. Very easy to install. Bright.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Priced right when on sale. Battery recharge does need good sunny days to work correctly. 15ft recharge cord plenty long enough for my 3 applications. 2 separate very adjustable lights give wide and bright illumination pattern capability. Motion sensor sensitive and must be positioned properly. Only additional suggestion: Swap mounting screws supplied (6) with outside resistant versions when possible.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: battery life between recharges somewhat short
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Port Charlotte, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good LED lighting

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought two for my backyard where there is no lighting whatsoever. The brightness and coverage are very good for LEDs, especially in this price range. Installation was pretty easy using the templates included. They stay on for only about a minute or so, and will not reset until the end of the 'on' cycle. So, it will 'blink' as you walk around. The test position helps set the light to the environment and should be used once the unit is installed. I found putting the switch to 'test' at night works the best. Return the switch to 'on' though, after the test cycle is finished. It's s good security light but the 'on' time and reset mode limit their use.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, good brightness
Cons: 'on' time
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Massachusetts

Just what we wanted. Good product.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We feel this is a very good product. We mounted it, about four feet high, under our second story deck, on one of the vertical support beams. We aimed the spotlights left and right so that they light up 20 feet to one side and 20 feet to the other, illuminating the basement door and one window and under the deck and a second window. The illumination for each spotlight is equivalent, approximately, to a 25 watt incandescent bulb. The light is sufficient for our needs. It responds instantly to motion. The only drawback is that it doesn't stay on more than two minutes. However, if there is constant movement, the light stays on.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Nice Design, moderately bright
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from San Francisco, CA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Was good while lasted, lasted only 1 month - SAD!

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm so disappointed. Liked the idea of solar because there's no electrical wiring and being green. It was working great, very bright for about 1 month. Then it just died -- although it was fully charged, the lights stopped working, so annoying because now I have to dismantle and take everything down. I would NOT recommend this product.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: poor quality, didn't last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Cocoa Beach, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does Great Job

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had problems with the first two lights that were ordered and returned them. The third time this one works great. Have dogs and totally illuminates the back yard at night. I installed on my gutter and the panel on the roof so gets plenty of direct sun. As soon as I open the door, it automatically goes on. Will order another one for another location. The only drawback is that there is no timer to set on it. Would be more efficient if it had a 1 to 5 minute shutoff. The motion sensor definitely picks up a great distance. The first two were returned directly to a Home Depot store where there was no hassle for me to ship them back, they took care of it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: no timer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Northeast, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Great light for the price!

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install. This light will not provide the illumination of an electric powered floodlight but it does the job. While the description states 160 degree outdoor motion the box and literature state 180 degrees.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light

great product and feel safe

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This solar security definitely make me feel secure and extremely bright, much better than the one I had in my front walk way (already replaced with these wonderful product). I am amazed that the light can put out such bright light even though powered by the sun. It worked right out of the box, simple set up, lights up the walk way nicely. My husband loved my choice. Only concern about it is that the light is too bright which can shine over the yard to my neighbor.. no kidding, the light is that super bright!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Unique product.

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Model PS01W Solar powered motion activated light. Home Depot # 203404521.
I purchased two of these lights to place under the eves along a walkway to the entrance of my house. This area is not well lighted at night, and I was looking for a simple way to light this area as needed. These don’t require a electrical connection, just the solar panel.
Initial impression of the PSO1 lights: The light kit consists of a light unit, and a solar array unit with a fifteen foot long connection cord. The light unit consists of a battery / circuit housing, with two LED light housings, and a motion sensor housing attached to it with adjustable “links”.
The light housings are adjustable in two axis, as is the motion sensor housing. The motion sensor has no sensitivity adjustments other than how you “aim” it. Each LED “spot” light housing can be adjusted in two axis relative to the battery housing. The battery housing provides the mount base for the unit. The battery housing also has the connection port for the power cable from the Solar array panel. There is also a sealed slide switch that has three functions; OFF, Auto and Test.
The battery housing contains two Lithium cells rated at 2.2 Amp hours and ~3.4 Volts each, and the sensor and charging control circuits. The batteries should be replaceable when they wear out. The battery housing has a “O” ring seal around the rear panel opening to keep moisture out. There are two closed, recessed slots on the back of the rear panel to use for mountain screws (blind mounting). These slots do not open into the housing to prevent moisture from intruding. If the unit is mounted vertically, this will probably work fine. In my application, I mounted these at about a 30 degree angle, so I made wood base plates and fastened these to the battery housing using four longer, screws that lined up with the four screw holes for the rear panel attachment. This provided a more secure attachment. The screws used to fasten the housing to the light and sensor links are not stainless steel, all screws are just chrome plated. I would expect these to rust in time. The backs of LED light housings appear to be aluminum, probably for cooling of the LEDs. The position of each light and the motion sensor is secured with “thumb” screw adjustments. These seem to be fairly sturdy and easy to adjust.
The solar array panel is a plastic housing, with a “ball” style clamp that mates to the short plastic mounting base. The base has holes for four screws to fasten it to the surface that it will be installed on. The ball clamp is held in place with two screws, and a plastic ball clamp cover witch provides tension on the ball end of the base.These parts are made of plastic. Although this seems to work to support the solar array panel, I question how well it will hold the position of the panel over time, and under windy conditions. The panel had some clear sealant around the bezel edge of the panel where the solar array was. Since this panel is exposed to the elements all the time, it will be interesting to see how well it holds up to the rain and UV radiation.
General comments: The sensitivity of the motion detector worked well in my application. Small animals, cats for instance, would easily turn on the lights at night. The lights are quite bright, but have a limited coverage area. The manual says they are equal to 60 watt incandescent bulb. I would agree with this. The color is a bright white, ~6500 K color temp. They do not come on during the day when it’s light out, but will activate when the outside light level is low. They are easy to install, and the solar panel seems to provide sufficient charging during the day to keep them operational at night. I did not attempt to see how long they would operate on a full charge.
For a application where it would be difficult to provide a power connection, these are a easy solution. As to how well they will hold up, only time will tell. They seem to perform well, but are somewhat expensive. Considering the technology, features and easy of installation, for specific applications they seem like a good product.
Pros: Functional, Unique
+50points
51out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from NC

Very functional product

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
LED spotlights provide very useful lighting. I decided to purchase two more but the Home Depot price increase from $79.99 to $94.99 made this purchase cost-prohibitive. The light is not worth $95.00 to me.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: pricey
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Long Island, NY

Product works well

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product looks good. The assembly was straightforward. I like how it works. I plan to relocate the solar panel to another spot that gets more sun. I am finding that as the fall progresses the sun's path goes behind more trees, so the panel is not getting full sun as long as it should. That causes the light to only kick on a time or two most days. But that is not the product's problem. That should not be a problem once I move the panel so it gets more sun.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Asheville, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not perform nearly as good as advertised

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After full sun charging for 4 days, Light is not bright, even in the darkest of the night! Motion detector WILL NOT pick up unless you are within 3-4 feet of the unit. VERY poor quality and certainly not as advertised. I purchased this light for Security, a small flash light provides more light than this does and the motion detector is a joke!!
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: does not perform as advertised, motion detector does not pick up motion, light is not bright
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light

Aweful, only 3 month lifetime

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Normally, I am not the guy who write review, but at this time I have to do. Never, ever buy it!!!!
I bought 3 of them 4 months ago. But All of them died. 2 of them were dead after 3 months later since I bought, and the last one was gone today, in the 4 month, as well.
Not 1, not 2, but ALL 3 of them! This indicates I am not just lucky, but this product is way too far from being in the market.
If you are okay to spend $100 for only using 3 or 4 month, purchase it.
If not, never consider it!! Believe me, I shall regret like me after 3 month if you buy it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered LED Light

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unit used for night security light by the pool to alert for uninvited guests, animal or human.. This the second unit in ten years. Reasonably durable since used outdoors in all weather conditions.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from Las Cruces, NM
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These lights only seem to last a couple months

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this light in April, 2014. It was quite easy to install and although the sensor seemed to have a narrow range for sensing motion, the light was bright. But, after 2 months, the light no longer produced enough lumens to see anything. The company, Xepa Technologies was very responsive and sent a replacement quickly. Now it is the end of September and while the sensor indicates the light should go on, it doesn't. I am trying to get a second replacement, but it would seem these lights only work for a couple months before failing. Too bad because it is very convenient, easy to install, gave good light and I would have purchased a few more for areas around my home where putting in a flood light was not workable. I would have to recommend potential customers find some other solar floodlight solution.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
Cons: doesn't last more than 3 months
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from NH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

only last 5 months

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked great for a few months, then started turning off and on by itself. Now it is so dim it doesn't even light a foot in front of it. tried cleaning it, but now its too late to return and not usable. Very disappointed.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: only lasts 4-5 months
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light

It's Great!!! Nice product

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's very bright.
Easy to put it on and it's a good value.
My wife really likes it, she always takes our dog to outside at night. The light is very useful and feel safe!
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
from La Crosse, KS
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not quite up to snuff

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Looks good, easy to install, underdesigned. Had this thing installed for about 2 weeks before I took it back. I believe my installation site did not receive enough direct sunlight. It only got about 2 hours of direct sun every morning. and indirect the rest of the day. result was I don't think the battery ever got fully charged. It would come on about once for a minute or two when triggered after dark and then it was done the rest of the night. I didn't want to move the solar collector out where it would be susceptible to hail so I returned it and went for a wired unit. A little more hassle to install but ended up with a brighter, more robust unit for $10 more. I suspect either the battery pack or solar collector is to small, maybe both.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor battery capacity, limited capability
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>