728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Security Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light

600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light

This Motion Activated Solar Powered LED Security is the most cost-effective way to illuminate and protect your home, business, and recreational areas. With its easy setup and lightweight design, this light conforms to most of your lighting needs and is especially useful where an electrical outlet is not accessible. This solar security light converts sunlight to electricity, so lighting is available wherever and whenever you desire. Simply install the solar charging panel in an area where sun exposure is prevalent (the attached 15 ft. cable provides sufficient length for easy placement). In AUTO mode (normal operation setting), the light illuminates at night only when motion is detected, then automatically resets. The sun will charge its internal high-efficiency rechargeable lithium battery that produces zero emissions and give you continuous illumination. This features two 5-watt super bright LEDs (equal to 60 Watt incandescent bulb), and lamp head are made of cast aluminum to act as heat sinks for the LEDs, to assure durability and ensure maximum brightness.
Overall rating:
3.969 / 5
4
 / 
5
(97 reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product74 of 90reviews
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(46)
4
(30)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(12)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product74 of 90reviews
Customer reviews for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
Review 1 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
randyhs
from Port Charlotte, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good LED lighting

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought two for my backyard where there is no lighting whatsoever. The brightness and coverage are very good for LEDs, especially in this price range. Installation was pretty easy using the templates included. They stay on for only about a minute or so, and will not reset until the end of the 'on' cycle. So, it will 'blink' as you walk around. The test position helps set the light to the environment and should be used once the unit is installed. I found putting the switch to 'test' at night works the best. Return the switch to 'on' though, after the test cycle is finished. It's s good security light but the 'on' time and reset mode limit their use.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, good brightness
Cons: 'on' time
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
Muffin
from Massachusetts

Just what we wanted. Good product.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We feel this is a very good product. We mounted it, about four feet high, under our second story deck, on one of the vertical support beams. We aimed the spotlights left and right so that they light up 20 feet to one side and 20 feet to the other, illuminating the basement door and one window and under the deck and a second window. The illumination for each spotlight is equivalent, approximately, to a 25 watt incandescent bulb. The light is sufficient for our needs. It responds instantly to motion. The only drawback is that it doesn't stay on more than two minutes. However, if there is constant movement, the light stays on.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Nice Design, moderately bright
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
TomS
from Nassau, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for the money. Very easy to install. Bright.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Priced right when on sale. Battery recharge does need good sunny days to work correctly. 15ft recharge cord plenty long enough for my 3 applications. 2 separate very adjustable lights give wide and bright illumination pattern capability. Motion sensor sensitive and must be positioned properly. Only additional suggestion: Swap mounting screws supplied (6) with outside resistant versions when possible.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: battery life between recharges somewhat short
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
John
from La Crosse, KS
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not quite up to snuff

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Looks good, easy to install, underdesigned. Had this thing installed for about 2 weeks before I took it back. I believe my installation site did not receive enough direct sunlight. It only got about 2 hours of direct sun every morning. and indirect the rest of the day. result was I don't think the battery ever got fully charged. It would come on about once for a minute or two when triggered after dark and then it was done the rest of the night. I didn't want to move the solar collector out where it would be susceptible to hail so I returned it and went for a wired unit. A little more hassle to install but ended up with a brighter, more robust unit for $10 more. I suspect either the battery pack or solar collector is to small, maybe both.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor battery capacity, limited capability
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
rockync
from NC

Very functional product

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
LED spotlights provide very useful lighting. I decided to purchase two more but the Home Depot price increase from $79.99 to $94.99 made this purchase cost-prohibitive. The light is not worth $95.00 to me.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: pricey
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
Patricia
from Asheville, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not perform nearly as good as advertised

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After full sun charging for 4 days, Light is not bright, even in the darkest of the night! Motion detector WILL NOT pick up unless you are within 3-4 feet of the unit. VERY poor quality and certainly not as advertised. I purchased this light for Security, a small flash light provides more light than this does and the motion detector is a joke!!
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: does not perform as advertised, motion detector does not pick up motion, light is not bright
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
AdeT
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:25 to 34

Doesn't Work

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this because we have no light in the front of our house as our porch is on the side and we didn't want to have to rewire everything. We put it up and we thought it worked the first night. As the days went by we noticed that it was only working once or twice every night around 8pm. When I say "worked" I actually meant it turned on. No one was walking by or anything it would just turn on around 8 when it got dark and stay on for a couple of minutes then turn off. then a minute or so later it would turn on again and stay on for a couple of minutes then it was dead and even when we would go out there and walk around and wave our hands it wouldn't turn on. We've left it up for over a week now and it still hasn't worked right and there's been plenty of sun. Now we'll have to see if we can return it back to the store.
Cons: doesn't work, someone can easly steal it
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
Lizzie
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product is great!

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Even on the stucco, installation was super easy. The 600-lumen, 160-degree outdoor, motion-activated solar-powered flood llight is lightweight so a quick pilot-hole drill and the light was up and charging. Especially great is that it is solar powered; the power is free. The motion sensor is sensitive enough to pick up the movement of the dogs and the LED security lights are bright enough to light up the driveway and front yard.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
Susan

great product and feel safe

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This solar security definitely make me feel secure and extremely bright, much better than the one I had in my front walk way (already replaced with these wonderful product). I am amazed that the light can put out such bright light even though powered by the sun. It worked right out of the box, simple set up, lights up the walk way nicely. My husband loved my choice. Only concern about it is that the light is too bright which can shine over the yard to my neighbor.. no kidding, the light is that super bright!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
BobC
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Unique product.

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Model PS01W Solar powered motion activated light. Home Depot # 203404521.
I purchased two of these lights to place under the eves along a walkway to the entrance of my house. This area is not well lighted at night, and I was looking for a simple way to light this area as needed. These don’t require a electrical connection, just the solar panel.
Initial impression of the PSO1 lights: The light kit consists of a light unit, and a solar array unit with a fifteen foot long connection cord. The light unit consists of a battery / circuit housing, with two LED light housings, and a motion sensor housing attached to it with adjustable “links”.
The light housings are adjustable in two axis, as is the motion sensor housing. The motion sensor has no sensitivity adjustments other than how you “aim” it. Each LED “spot” light housing can be adjusted in two axis relative to the battery housing. The battery housing provides the mount base for the unit. The battery housing also has the connection port for the power cable from the Solar array panel. There is also a sealed slide switch that has three functions; OFF, Auto and Test.
The battery housing contains two Lithium cells rated at 2.2 Amp hours and ~3.4 Volts each, and the sensor and charging control circuits. The batteries should be replaceable when they wear out. The battery housing has a “O” ring seal around the rear panel opening to keep moisture out. There are two closed, recessed slots on the back of the rear panel to use for mountain screws (blind mounting). These slots do not open into the housing to prevent moisture from intruding. If the unit is mounted vertically, this will probably work fine. In my application, I mounted these at about a 30 degree angle, so I made wood base plates and fastened these to the battery housing using four longer, screws that lined up with the four screw holes for the rear panel attachment. This provided a more secure attachment. The screws used to fasten the housing to the light and sensor links are not stainless steel, all screws are just chrome plated. I would expect these to rust in time. The backs of LED light housings appear to be aluminum, probably for cooling of the LEDs. The position of each light and the motion sensor is secured with “thumb” screw adjustments. These seem to be fairly sturdy and easy to adjust.
The solar array panel is a plastic housing, with a “ball” style clamp that mates to the short plastic mounting base. The base has holes for four screws to fasten it to the surface that it will be installed on. The ball clamp is held in place with two screws, and a plastic ball clamp cover witch provides tension on the ball end of the base.These parts are made of plastic. Although this seems to work to support the solar array panel, I question how well it will hold the position of the panel over time, and under windy conditions. The panel had some clear sealant around the bezel edge of the panel where the solar array was. Since this panel is exposed to the elements all the time, it will be interesting to see how well it holds up to the rain and UV radiation.
General comments: The sensitivity of the motion detector worked well in my application. Small animals, cats for instance, would easily turn on the lights at night. The lights are quite bright, but have a limited coverage area. The manual says they are equal to 60 watt incandescent bulb. I would agree with this. The color is a bright white, ~6500 K color temp. They do not come on during the day when it’s light out, but will activate when the outside light level is low. They are easy to install, and the solar panel seems to provide sufficient charging during the day to keep them operational at night. I did not attempt to see how long they would operate on a full charge.
For a application where it would be difficult to provide a power connection, these are a easy solution. As to how well they will hold up, only time will tell. They seem to perform well, but are somewhat expensive. Considering the technology, features and easy of installation, for specific applications they seem like a good product.
Pros: Functional, Unique
+50points
51out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
goodman

Defect out of the box

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I must've been the unlucky one to get a defect. Like another reviewer, purchased when it was 50% off and received the item in a brown unmarked box. Charged up fine with the solar, and the light came on at dusk, but never turned off. I'm sure it's good when it works.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
Newhomeowner

Easy and instant lighting Solution

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For a solar powered lighting fixture, its pretty bright.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
Douger
from West Springfield, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is fantastic

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is fantastic. Put in on the side of my shed so when I was out with the dog at night I could be warned if any critters were roaming around. She got skunked once and that was once to many. The light is very bright and shines in a very large area. The thing I liked best about it was it only took 2 minutes to install
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
Steve

It's Great!!! Nice product

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's very bright.
Easy to put it on and it's a good value.
My wife really likes it, she always takes our dog to outside at night. The light is very useful and feel safe!
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
overcast
from Seattle
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perhaps I was overly optimistic about solar lighting in Seattle

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really wanted to love these solar powered LED motion sensor lights.
I mounted the panel facing south but even after two weeks of our typical January overcast weather the lights have yet to charge sufficiently to actually work.
Super easy installation but they aren't working yet - and yes - I've checked the switch is set to "Auto"
These may be amazing in a sunny area but not in Seattle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
Anonymous

Easy to set up and install.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works great as a security light for my back yard. I have 2 dogs. When I leave them out to do their duty at night, the whole yard lights up because I have the motion sensor facing the end of the stair case. Once they reach that point the lights go on.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: could use a timer so it stays on longer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
sfbs
from NM
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had to get a motion light for dark corner of lot. Does the job just fine.
Pros: Functional, Eco-Friendly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
tigger

Died

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Died after 2 weeks. Not a fan and I still got climb up again in the hot sun to take it down.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
Phyllis
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Was what I needed for my back yard.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was ordered and received in a timely manner. I am happy with the solar panel.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 600 Lumen 160 Degree Outdoor Motion Activated Solar Powered White LED Security Light
Monumentdon
from Berthoud, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The motion sensor is extremely sensitive and effective

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Last night the wind blew from an usual direction and it rattled the screens in the master bedroom for the first time in our new home. It woke me so I finally decided to remove the screens from inside the room about 4:00 am. The unit was mounted approximately two feet above and to the left of the screen. And although the sensor was pointed toward the back yard, it picked up the motion of me inside reaching outside to remove the screens. I'm VERY impressed!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, very effective unit!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>