728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Power Tool Combo Kits or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)

18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)

Ryobi 18-Volt ONE+ introduces lithium-ion performance at Ni-Cd prices. This kit is powered by new and improved lithium-ion batteries. They hold a charge four times longer, offer up to 20% more run time and are 45% lighter weight than Ni-Cd batteries. Batteries stored on the IntelliPort charger are conditioned for peak performance. The drill includes a 1/2 in. heavy-duty single sleeve, keyless chuck with 24 position clutch to match your drilling and driving needs. The impact driver has a variable speed trigger and 1500 in.-lbs. of torque provide control and power when driving long and large screwed or bolts. They both feature the exclusive MagTray and on-board bit storage, which allow convenient placement of bits and screws.
Overall rating:
4.658 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(796 reviews) 796
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product746 of 773reviews
Rating Breakdown 796 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(606)
4
(144)
3
(25)
2
(6)
1
(15)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product746 of 773reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 84 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
Review 1 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
from Columbia, MO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Combo Ever!

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I couldn't be happier with this purchase. It was a Black Friday steal at $100 and it still is at $130. Regular cordless drills are a dime a dozen (the hammer drill is what you want) so I discount it from the value of this kit. The impact driver is my favorite tool of all time. I won't drive a screw without it anymore and I can often fasten or remove nuts and bolts without a backup wrench. I have yet to see it (or any of their tools) under perform DeWalt.
Two lithium ion batteries and a charger? Awesome! Li-ion batteries hold more juice than NiCads and keep their charge much longer. You can leave one on the shelf for months without losing its charge. NiCads lose strength (voltage) as they are drained (of current) but Li-ions maintain full power right up until they die. I prefer the full size batteries with the charge indicator but these are still way better than NiCads.
The Ryobi lithium ion packs are also affordable. Some other brands cost three times as much. They are so expensive that people stick to the NiCads, and in turn, stores don't even bother to stock the lithiums.
I think Ryobi got a bad reputation because of their NiCad battery packs. There was nothing wrong with them; they work as well as any other NiCad, but, Ryobi doesn't break their batteries in before they ship. The first few times you use them, the charge won't last very long, and I'm sure many people see that as the right time to take the tools back to the store. But, if you own Ryobi tools, you can afford the lithium ion batteries. NiCads are only relevant if you own a brand that still doesn't have affordable Li-ions.
Ryobis have plastic gears. Metal gears are not necessarily better than modern plastics (in some respects worse). Also, only a FEW DeWalt tools use metal gears so gears aren't really a good basis of brand selection. I've worked DeWalt tools pretty hard and have destroyed four of them over the years. It was never the gears (plastic or metal) that went. Motors burn up, trigger switches short out, and casings get torqued and tore up. Give me a new cordless tool of any brand and I can burn the motor up within a week if I want to.
I really believe that Ryobi is the 18V tool brand to buy. If somehow you have reached the limits of what the Ryobi tools can do, then the thing to do is to switch to a higher voltage or a corded tool. The same is true of any brand of 18V tool. Also, if you max out the torque, having 5% more isn't really enough to justify not going to the corded tool.
*Take the manufacturer's words with a grain of salt, but I just checked and Ryobi claims 1,600 in/lbs of torque where the other brand only claims 1,330 in/lbs. I wasn't expecting that.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent buy

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I started my ryobi toolset this christmas with a 3/8" drill and circular saw and two batteries. I bought the jobmate and I was using the tools constantly! I will review those later. I could not keep batteries charged fast enough so I needed a few more batteries. I also really wanted an impact as well. Saw this set and said well its a better deal than just the impact, I probably won't use the drill much but whatever. I was wrong. I have had this set for three days. Firstly the impact has plenty of power. The 1500 lb of torque is INCHES people, not FEET. the guy that "tested" the torque using the torque wrench on this impact is wrong. the torque wrench was measuring feet not inches. One inch pneumatic impact guns put out 1500 pound feet of torque. the ones they use on semi trucks. lol. This impact at 1500 lb INCHES of torque is powerful. As in 3/8" x 5" lags burried in 2x4s powerful Battery life is great on this tool no complaints.
The drill! the drill i said i'd never use. I had a hole I needed to mix concrete to fill, but given the application i was mixing the concrete in 5 gal. buckets and then crawling under the double wide to pour it. I said i need to do this fast. Bought a paint mixer and used the drill to mix the concrete. As far as i'm concerned thats beating up a drill. The motor got warm and stayed warm as I mixed bucket after bucket of concrete (a total of 1200 pounds of the stuff). My 4 lithium batteries and 2 chargers could not keep up. I honestly was expecting to burn the motor out and replace the drill under warranty. It had SO MUCH POWER it almost twisted my hand off several times and the concrete never stopped the motor... except when the batteries died. Handled the job beautifully. As i was using the drill that hard I was thinking of some of my friends that have other products (which I know are amazing) that would not have even dared do what I was doing with my ryobi. The only reason I give this combo a 4 star is because there is always room for improvement. However, I cannot think of anytihng specifically. I will continue using this product as well as my other ryobi tools on a semi pro level and I am very satisfied with them.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Sturdy, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)

Best Value in the Industry

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A relative of mine bought a $40 Ryobi drill set on Black Friday several years ago, and we were both impressed with the quality and price, especially for a Lithium kit. So obviously I wanted to get a kit of my own. I've had this set for a couple of months after buying it on sale for only $100, and I could definitely recommend it to anyone who needs a cheap yet capable drill.
First off, you'd be hard-pressed to find a kit with good lithium batteries as cheap as this one. They hold a charge for a pretty long time in storage (only had to charge each battery twice so far after fairly frequent use), and they have pretty decent runtime too. They do fade somewhat as they lose power, but nowhere near the same rate as a Ni-Cd battery.
The drill is fairly basic in its features, but I don't care because its performance is top-notch. It's light and balanced in hand, and drills fairly quickly through wood and metal even at slower speeds. (A lot of people have been saying that the drill chuck is junk. For the smallest bits in a set this is true, but anything 1/8" or larger stays in just fine.) The only real problem I've found is that the clutch won't turn all the way to high-speed drilling. I'm debating as to whether I should exchange it seeing that my receipt is still good, but it's never got in the way of performance, and keeping the clutch one notch lower doesn't really matter.
The impact driver is of the same good quality as the drill. Its torque output is actually quite good, and it also drives just as fast. In fact, I built a 6-foot workbench recently, and I used this driver to screw everything in place, all on the same charge. Like the drill, its light, easy to use, and well-built, and certainly feels like it should've cost more.
Bottom line, if you're looking for a great kit for DIY use (and maybe even moderate contractor work), then you can't find a kit with the same quality and value as this one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
from RTP, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi P882 Kit: A Great Deal!

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The P882 kit is a good deal, and at the Black Friday price it was an incredible deal!
The P271 drill is comfortable in the hand and very powerful. I suspect that the P271 and the P204 are actually the same drill with the plastic exterior molded is different colors.
The P234G Impact Driver is not Ryobi's latest model, but it is a tool that's perfect for driving decking screws. It has no trouble driving even 3" decking screws and it's lightweight so you can carry it all day.
The P118 charger is a great addition to the Ryobi line of chargers. It's a 1-hour charger, it's got the IntelliPort design so it won't overcharge your batteries, it's a dual chemistry design so it'll charge all Ryobi batteries past and present, it's Energy Star compliant, and it's smaller than all of it's 1-hour dual chemistry predecessors (P113, P114, P117).
The P102 Li-Ion batteries are a welcome change from the P100 NiCd batteries that usually come with a kit in this price range. They have less power than the P100 and a little less power than Ryobi's other compact Li-Ion batteries (P103 and P107) but they still deliver great performance. The lightweight, compact design is a big plus when using the drill, and the newer Li-Ion chemistry means they'll sit on the shelf for a long time between uses without going dead (like the P100 NiCD). The P118 charger can fully charge a depleted P102 battery in about a half an hour. I find that this is fast enough that when I've drained one battery the other is already charged and ready to go.
I really like the green bag too, it's convenient that everything fits neatly in here for transport.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
from Atlanta, Ga
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big and heavy. Cheap feeling. Drill made grinding noise

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this kit as a gift and later returned it for a more expensive model from another manufacturer. If you're buying a drill and impact driver set, it's probably because you do enough work to need an impact driver. If you're a casual user and just need a drill, skip the impact driver and get a quality drill elsewhere. I've seen this kit on sale for $100 before, and at that price, for a casual user, it would probably be a good fit. Side note: HD's return process was flawless as always.
Negatives:
The drill made a grinding noise when the speed switch was on 2.
Both the drill and impact driver are very large compared to other models, very tough to get into tight spaces.
The chuck on the drill is very cheap and bits come loose easily.
The torque setting collar is also very cheap feeling.
The chuck on the impact driver requires 2 hands on it (collar and bit) to load and unload, while other mfrs only need one to load and unload.
The included bag is nice when sitting on a counter, but when you pick it up it has no structure on the bottom. It's just a sack.
No belt hooks on either tool.
Positives:
It had a lot of power and the batteries were nice and light.
Impact driver felt very sturdy and was powerful.
Plastic and rubber on the grips felt nice and grippy
The magnetic screw holder is a great idea and good use of otherwise wasted space on the tool.
Despite the size and weight of the tools, they were balanced very well.
Pros: Powerful, All In One, Long-Lasting
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy, bad chuck, huge
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
from hercules
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best first power tool set

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i have had this drill for 2 days so far once you feel how great the impact driver is you will not really use the other drill or at least i haven't both drills pack a punch but the impact drill is ultamately faster the impact drill is not good for philips head niether is the other drill i switched to t-25 heads the deckmate #10 3 inch screws are great for framing and will not strip and the bit will not climb out the #8 1-5/8 inch deckmate t-25 are great for sheathing both of those deckmate screws come with free t-25 screw bitsbut you will have to get seperate bits for the impact driver i would not reccomend the dewalt t-25 maxfit magnitic lock they don't work well at all i am returning them and buying the more durable well built Milwaukee Model # 48-32-4685T25 Torx Shockwave 2 in. Power Bit (5-Pack) which are way more durable i highly recomend switching to t-25 type screws being a person who has stripped more screws useless than anyone my age that i know i highly recomend the t-25 screws i went through 2
1 pound packs of these screws above and i didn't strip a single one i went back and bought 2 more 5 pound packs
i hope i helped you decide and guided you toward buying this it is the best purchase of my life being a 14 year old who used to have to use my dads old tools this is my personal first power tool and i hope you add this to your aresenal as well-nathan
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
from Java, Banister, VA 24565, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Happy Owner

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife bought me this set last father's day on sale . What a bargain! I am happy with the quality of the product for that price point. Even at this price it is still a great value considering you get 2 batts and a charger...You can't get that with the other hi-profile brands. I use my Ryobi's a lot. I've built sheds, picnic tables, dog houses, repaired decks, made rabbit traps... you name it, I'll build it. And the first tools in my hands are my Ryobi drill/driver set. The drill has 2 power settings that are very helpful on the job: "1" - for screwing/unscrewing and "2"- for drilling . It also has 0-SCREW torque settings that allow you to control how deep or shallow you need that screw to be. The Impact Driver is my favorite. The sheer power and versatility of it makes this my go to power tool, from putting screws in to driving bolts and super - securing nuts in place. I use the 1/4" adapter to connect up to 1/2" drive sockets so, I'm basically not limited in what I can build with it. I'm very happy with the product and I recommend it to anyone who builds or repairs things. While I am very happy with the Lithium Battery technology (beats Ni-Cad by a mile), the only negative thing is, IMHO, the batteries that come with it don't last as long as I'd like so, I'm gonna add the hi-capacity batteries. Until then I keep my charger close.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+22points
26out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
from Syracuse, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Right for the price

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this on sale for $100 which makes this a perfect buy. I use Ryobi tools around the house and also the P236 newer impact for work (carpenter). This set was purchased as a second set, so I didn't have to haul my tools home for the weekend. The drill is the same bulky drill you find in all combo packs, so I wont talk about that. The impact is the older version, which I assume they're trying to get rid of since this set was on sale for such a good price. It does not have an auto chuck feature, meaning you have to hold the black knuckle part to insert and release bits. It also does not have a built in light like the P236. You can also tell it doesn't have the power as the newer model has. It strikes slower and the torque numbers are a bit lower than the P236.
Comes with a charger and two compact batteries. All for $100? Yup. That's why I bought this. A big bang for your buck if you intend to use Ryobi tools around your house. If your job site is filled with Yellow competitors, well... the price is right too - if you enjoy the bulky pistol grip. I guess the battery is the biggest drawback since it has to be inserted into the grip end instead of just sliding it onto the bottom. For the price of these items, I can get over it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
Cons: large pistol grip vs competitors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
from Chandler AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great tools batteries last forever.

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had these tools for about a month now. I work as a maintenance technician at an apartment complex so these tools get a lot of use. I don't know how long the batteries can go but since I always seem to be late leaving work I have only take the time to recharge the batteries about every 2 weeks and they were still going strong when I did. My previous cordless drill would go 2 or 3 days on a charge so it is great to just grab the drill or impact driver and know the battery is ready to go. I have had to learn to take easy with the impact, it will strip threads in an instant if you aren't careful. That's not a problem with the impact, it is just powerful and fast. as an example, before I got the impact driver I would sometimes find a garbage disposal that I would have a hard time unjamming with this I turn the screw driver bit backwards and the disposal is unjammed instantly. My old drill was only a 9.6 volt and cleaning dryer vents with it took all the power it had, the Ryobi drill acts like it isn't even working, I have to be careful on the trigger or it will twist the cleaning tool in half.
I bought these partly because one of the guys I work with got the same kit about a year ago and he is always bragging about them.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
from woodstock ct
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great drills

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a remodeler who uses drills on a daily basis. The Ryobi tools i own have never let me down, the only tool that failed was a reciprecating saw that had a heavy beam fall on it which damaged the speed controls,even with the damage it continued to work at max speed only for a few months and i use this saw very hard core cutting beams,steel rebar and general demolition on a very frequent basis. To say the least i bought another one gladly, the investment lasts years on the jobsite. The drills of which i own several have also lasted years on the jobsite with heavy use, I suggest buying the lithium batteries as the standard one lasted about a year of heavy use before the batteries were shot. The lithium ones i bought are still going strong and charge super quick. I also have one of the electric drills it works great small and light enough to use for hours installing decking and it has never let me down even after thousands of square feet of decking being screwed down. I have been using Ryobi for years and love the value and durability on a daily basis of use on the construction site.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+45points
61out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
from Massachusetts
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool set at a great price!

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this drill & driver set at a Black Friday sale to replace my old 12v ni-cad battery powered Ryobi drill that served me great for around 5 years! I thought my old Ryobi was great but this new 18v Lithium Ion powered drill is killer right out of the box! And the impact driver is outstanding!
I'm a homeowner and landlord and just finished rebuilding 2nd story staircase and the impack driver drove hundreds of 3" screws never failing or slowing down! And the best part is the IntelliPort battery charger! After depleting the battery driving dozens of 3" screws into green PT lumber a quick battery swap allowed me to continue but the other battery was fully re-charged in just over 30 minutes! This impact driver assembled two sets of PT outdoor staircases without one nail, completely screwed construction using my new Ryobi drill & impact driver!
I got lucky getting the drill, driver, charger and 2 Lithium Ion batteries all in a great HD case for $99 bucks! Maybe you won't get this deal but at whatever price buy this set as you will not be disappointed!!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, belive it or not i like the lime green color!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
19out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
from minnesota
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

timely purchase

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a air impact wrench but wanted one that was more portable for situations around the farm and other places that did not have electricity handy. I purchased the 18-VOLT ONE+ LITHIUM-ION DRILL AND IMPACT DRIVER COMBO KIT even though I wondered about the power the impact wrench would have. Two days after my combo kit arrived I had the opportunity to find out,
I was clearing a large wooded area of debris when a front tire of my tractor hit an object and blew the tire. I lifted the tractor front with the hydraulic bucket and realized this would be a great opportunity to check out this light little tool on a very difficult task because this wheel had not been removed for fifteen to twenty years. I walked home grabbed the little impact wrench put on a newly charged battery and the proper size socket, jumped on my ATV and was quickly by my tractor .... and to my amazement, zip,zip,zip the wheel was off and soon repaired with a new tube and using my new little handy impact wrench back on my tractor. Having one of these is one of the handiest tools I have.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
from Winston, OR, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a great bang for your buck

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Being on a am a budget for tools I have to watch out for great deals constantly. I had just lost my cheap drill and was a little fed up with throwing my money away at the $35 tools, not being able to go out and spend an arm and a leg on the big name brands I had to find a good alternative, I have a couple of ryobi tools, and they work like a dream, so I thought why not get a drill and driver from a brand that I know will work well and is within my budget. The tools both work great unlike any drills I have had in the past, they hold their charge well, in fact I have not had to charge them since I got them, though this might be a little misleading, since I have not yet been giving them a workout, I find it wonderful that even though I have not been able to go to my shop at all for almost a month that my tools are still fully charged. They have the power to get the job done well, from what I have seen sofar they have not failed me yet. So if you want a tool that allows you to do your job without breaking the bank, than these might fit your bill
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
from Wisconsin
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Quality for a Great Price

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Prior to getting this I had a Ryobi Tool kit and had upgraded to Lithium batteries. I have never had an Impact driver and have been wanting to add one to my tool set. The addition of another drill is a huge bonus. For $99 super price for a great pair of tools. I got this set for the primary intent of being used with my Kreg Pocket Hole joinery system. After using the impact driver on some standard 3" deck screws I was in Awe. I have always used either drill or VPX driver to drive screws. After using impact drive I will never drive another screw with anything but impact driver. This makes driving screw effortless. I tried a test with a couple of pieces of wood drove a couple of screws old way with drill and I slipped a half a dozen or so times on the screw head for 3" deck screw. I then drove in a couple of 3" deck screws with the Impact driver. Never slipped once and took about half the time to drive the screws in. Great upgrade addition to my tool set. Ryobi tools never cease to amaze me with the quality and power of budget priced tools.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
from Billings, MT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good deal

PostedApril 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I like to get new batteries by buying package deals, this comes with 2 P102 LIONs and an inteliport charger, I timed initial recommended charge at 30 minutes per batt.
The impact P234G had no problem removing fasteners from my Gold Wing and was easy to use (compact size) based on that experience I'm confident it will drive lag bolts and long screws easily. I wouldn't use it on a Freightliner or Peterbilt but for small import cars and motorcycles I reckon it's plenty strong.
Haven't tried the P271 driver yet but I'm sure it's strong also, the one hand chuck, mag tray and integral level are welcome features.
I was gifted a blue Ryobi Jobmaster 18v driver as a rep for a company that had contracted to perform merchandising work for Ryobi way back in 2002 and have been a fan of Ryobi tools ever since. And the driver works just great still.
Ryobi's continued passion to produce new and better tools, batts and chargers at a good price point is just too cool.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
from Arkansas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, but not the best latest version of any of it

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Be aware that this kit has the older drill with no light, and the older driver which doesn't have the nice new one-handed automatic bit chuck, and also has no lights. Both are also larger/longer versions that I think don't feel as good in the hand.
This kit also has the one hour charger instead of the better 30 minute charger.
That said, as long as you know what you are getting, the tools are still good, and still a decent value for the money, especially if you don't care about the missing features. Just be aware of why it is cheaper and why it is on sale.
The new Roybi drill is more compact than this one, with the chuck much closer to the grip, and has a light on the base to shine where you are drilling. This one has no light at all. The new driver has a one-handed chuck that spits out the bit when you pull it, and stays released until you insert the next bit. it also has 3 lights around the front, where this one has none.
Pros: Powerful, good reliable basic versions, 1 hour charger is better than an overnight one
Cons: Limited Features, no light on tools, slower charger
+123points
140out of 157found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
from Council Bluffs
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powerful drill!

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have now purchased two separate drill driver combos. one for me about 6 months ago and one for Christmas for my father, so he wouldn't have to keep borrowing mine. I like the drill and driver but have discovered a couple down sides:
First down side discovered
The driver breaks the heads off of many of the screws I have. You must use top notch screw to keep them intact. Even Kreg Joint screw have been torking off.
Second down side
I really miss the light that would shine on the head of the drill bit from my craftsman drill that this drill replaced. I have week eyes and now have trouble seeing where my bit is going.
Over all I love it and do recommend this drill and driver. I built a deck and above ground pool with them and have done many projects with them and they are every bit as good today as when I bought them 6 months ago. Dad gives them two thumbs up as well. Best gift he has gotten in many years he says.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no light for work area
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)

shopping online with Home Depot.

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had never ordered online three days before Christmas. I'm 75 yrs old,a active school nurse and thought " I'll get these drills after the holiday, no way they'll arrived sooner" I'm usually a positive thinker.
WELL, next day's email brought a pleasant surprise from you folks. Come get your order.
After taking care of sick middle-school students all day,off I went to Home Depot.
A fellow customer showed me the " online pickup area". Had the nicest cashier wait on me!!. Thus I was a"VERY HAPPY CAMPER"!!
NO I DID NOT LEAVE HOME DEPOT!! Instead I talked to a wonderful lady concerning VINYL PLANK FLOORING.Even explained installation, warranty, and classes. Again I was a HAPPY CAMPER.
I guess I'll save my money and purchase
FLOORING,!!!!
Thanks to those Home Depot folks that helped a tired school nurse with her purchases. The drills are wonderful. Next FLOORING CLASS !!!
HAPPY, HEALTHY 2015. I'LL BE BACK!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lots of torque

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had many Ryobi One (18 volt) tools in the past and just recently purchased this drill and impact driver kit. Wow does this impact driver have some serious torque for it's size. Be careful what you use it on. I took it out to work on my car and foolishly looking at a metal bolt and nut, set to remove the nuts. Faster than I could release the trigger and pull the driver away, it had snapped the head loose from it's PLASTIC mount. Duh! I hadn't realized the bolt was molded into the plastic shroud which was hidden by the part I was trying to remove. Now where is my epoxy? Just beware, this tool has some serious torque for those stuck on nuts, and long lag screws driving into pressure treated wood. On non hardened screws you might even snap off the heads! This tool sure makes fast work on tedious jobs and the Lithium batteries last a long time while weighing less than those clunky old NiCd's. Enjoy!
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Long-Lasting
Cons: be careful of it's power
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt ONE+ Lithium-Ion Drill/Driver and Impact Driver Kit (2-Tool)
from Bristol, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A No-Brainer Deal

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Having enjoyed most of my previously purchased One+ tools. and having plans to buy the bare-bones impact driver, I was pleasantly surprised when I saw this great deal. Knowing that the purchase of two batteries alone could put me back $89, I felt it was a super deal to get the 1/2" Li Ion drill, impact drive, two batteries, two phillips bits, 3/8" socket adapter, charger, and carrying bag for $99.
I like the self-locking single sleeve chuck on the drill, so I don't need three hands to juggle the chuck and bit (Craftsman). The quick change chuck on the impact driver is easy to use as well. I find the built -in bubble level to be unnecessary and not too accurate. The magnetic tool tray is a nice addition, which I found handy recently while setting joist hangars for a deck. I didn't have to keep digging in my nail apron for the few screws I needed, and they were right at hand.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, terrific deal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 40 >>