728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Drywall and Panel Hoist

Drywall and Panel Hoist

The PRO-SERIES Drywall and Panel Hoist is a heavy-duty drywall tool with construction-grade cables and a welded steel frame. With a 150 lb. weight capacity, it supports sheets up to 16 ft. long. Built-in rolling casters allow you to easily move sheets of drywall into position, and one person can easily load and operate the heavy-duty unit on their own. No-tool assembly enables you to be up and running in no time, and you can also attach the 6 ft. extension (model DWHE6, sold separately) to reach higher areas.
Overall rating:
4.597 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product58 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(46)
4
(12)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product58 of 61reviews
Customer reviews for Drywall and Panel Hoist
Review 1 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Wrens, Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Drywall Hoist Saves Us Time, Money, and Aching Backs!

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a historical home that we are restoring with 11' ceilings. This drywall hoist is absolutely PERFECT!! Not only does it save my husband's back, but it also makes installation go 100 times faster than setting up ladders and extra workers. He is able to install the ceilings alone and in a fraction of the time it used to take. I am so pleased that we purchased this-- it is a wonderful investment!
We ordered the hoist online, and it arrived in just days. It only took a few minutes to assemble...very easy. It works smoothly--not at all bumpy--the hoist is quiet too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from South Slocan, BC, CDA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

great product

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
An excellent design. Quick and easy to use for one person. Holds the drywall sheets in position well with absolutely no stress nor strain. Very solidly built. Breaks down quickly into 3 pieces for ease of movement from room to room and for economy of space for storage.
Pros: Performs Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Clinton, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Should have gotten one years ago

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I contemplated ever getting this, only because I did not hang that much drywall overhead... So my last job I said, "Why not see if it makes my job easier. It did !!!!!!!!!"
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Northern plains
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

What a lift it gives me.

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My brother put this thing together with almost no help from me. It was missing, unfortunately, the crankup handle, but I was able to use it easily without that and when I called and reported the missing pieces she got them in the mail pronto. The hoist is well made and easily handled the 8' drywall I was putting on the ceiling.
Pros: Performs Well, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Pottsville, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product has great features that enable the installation of drywall easier nad faster.

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product features arms and arm extenders that gave us the opportunity for just one person to hang drywall easier than having many individuals help. Having the mobility to move the hoist around to different areas of the room was a great help.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Drywall and Panel Hoist

Great

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble and easy to disassemble. Maneuvers around incredibly easy. Very well built. I dry walled a 16x25 9' ceiling by myself with little to no problem with this lift
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Columbia, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

100% successful project

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Weekend warriors with home restoration projects, we took on a 225 sheet drywall job. We did reviews on this hoist, and extensive searches. Dollar for dollar this is a professional grade product, well made and for someone who does drywall on side jobs PERFECT with its application. I would definitely recommend this for DIY projects and one person drywall jobs. Having this hoist will save a costly back injury.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

DRYWALL AND PANEL HOIST

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
DRYWALL AND PANEL HOIST: it works What else is there to say?
Pros: Performs Well, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Drywall and Panel Hoist

Great time saver

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble and works as advertised. Putting up 4' X 8' sheets, by myself, on the ceiling is easy with this hoist. I would recommend this to anyone doing work like this.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Detroit, Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Solid Purchase - No Regrets

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I did a moderate amount of research on the numerous drywall hoists that are out there, before deciding on this one. From checking other websites and other users reviews, I settled on this one, given that it was on sale at Home Depot when I was looking to buy. The product arrived, and unfortunately it had taken one heck of a beating during shipping, so the paint was scuffed and all of the plastic end caps were broken. Between Home Depot and the manufacturer they advised that they will fix this problem and get me the replacement parts I require. The products itself was easy to set up, and even though I have not done it yet, I assume it will be just as easy to break down for easy storage. The product does just what it says it does, making drywall installation a one person job whether it be on the walls or on the ceilings. The product seems sturdy and well put together, so I don't expect to have any problems with it in the future.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Berwick, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Should have bought this 20 years ago.

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble and use. Used to install 8' drywall on ceiling by myself. Super helpful to set drywall sheets in place and mark them for cutting/trimming without killing yourself. Unit, as promised, held the drywall in place while I drove in screws to secure it. Recommendation: either spend the money for a good hoist or spend no money at all - do not spend money on a cheap hoist as you will regret it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
Cons: plastic pulley
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Staten Island, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Surprisingly well built, works well

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Let me start by saying that I was more than pleasantly surprised at the quality of this lift. I had already bought one of those cheap two hundred dollar lifts a while back and had nothing but issues, cables jumping off of the crooked pulley, terrible welds, you get the picture. In fairness, it did do the job but not as well as it could and I was never confident using it. I ended up getting rid of it for a number of reasons.
Of course I found myself needing to do more sheet rocking and decided to look for a better, but still cheaper version. I came across this unit and at that time HD had it for sixty dollars less. Since it was online I wasn’t sure how this would be but the reviews were decent.
Once I took this out for the box I could instantly tell this was a much more solid item. The overall build quality was night and day. Right off the bat I could see that all of the pulleys were welded straight, the wheel that lifts the unit is about double the thickness as is the support beam. There are nice locking knobs for the legs and the outriggers. And the cable is much thicker on this unit which gave me a much greater level of confidence. Now this isn’t a Telpro, but it is pretty darn close. The casters look a bit cheap but honestly work fine, so take that for what it’s worth.
There is no building involved and the unit is shipped complete. You assemble it just like you would one of the ones you rent. The main mast slides into the tripod legs, the outriggers slide into place on the mast and you are ready to go in just a few minutes.
Just a few last thoughts, If you only have a room or two to do, renting is probably the best bet since you can do that with a single day rental. But any more than that and you can recoup your money by taking your time and dong it at your own pace. Honestly this is one of the better quality purchases for the price.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
Gender:Male

Very handy

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The only reason I took a point off is after some heavy use a little plate that holds the little hanger arms you set the sheet on (sorry I don't know the exact name they're called) had snapped right in half making it really awkward to put sheets on it. However judging by the break it looked like it was probably just bad tempering on that one piece and home depot replaced the entire unit with no fuss.
Other than that, if you're drywalling decent size projects by yourself and especially ceilings, then this thing is a must have that is easily worth every penny. Especially when you factor in what a buddy might cost in beer alone to replace it. :)
Anyhow, glad I bought it, have already used it on one big project and soon to use it on another, just a real handy thing to have even though it is pretty big, heavy, and clunky, but worth it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Broomall, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Drywall and Panel Hoist

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this for my son. He said the lift was a great help when putting up drywall on the ceiling. The bolt on the side broke, but it was a simple call to get the bolt replaced. It was sent immediately and other family members are now borrowing it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Joplin, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Daily

Product not as described!

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this particular lift because in the specifications it listed it as being 240 in max lift. I received it in in a timely manner in good shape, but on the box it stated that it was an 11 ft. lift. If I had known I could have found a different one or had ordered the $90 extinction with my first order. Now I am out 3 to 5 days of use waiting on the extinction. On a safety note the up and down stickers are on backwards. Knowing what I know now I would have found a different lift more suitable to my needs. The quality of the welds and joints are not the best fit for ease of use. R.Wilson, MO
Cons: product not as described!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-9points
3out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very safe, easy to operate, and worth the price

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have been able to install the ceiling in a sixteen by twelve foot room without any help in about three hours. I am 67 years old and was able to assemble the hoist without using the instructions which were poorly made and incomplete(china). The hoist is able to lift a 4 x 8 sheet without the feeling that it will tip over or slide off. Very good at what it does..
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Lots of Features, Economical
Cons: poor instructions
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Awesome product

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This worked really well the price was a little on the high side but overall decent no problems comes ready to work just assamble on the jobsite
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Drywall and Panel Hoist

met expectations

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A bit rough at the edges but meets the need for volunteers hanging ceiling drywall in Habitat homes, at the price a good value. 5 days rental of an identical lift pays for it. Would recommend for light duty use.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Oklahoma

A sheetrock hanging machine.

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have put up over 70 sheets so far and most by my self. So U say, I'm 64 years young and have had 2 knee operations. Would highly recommend this product. It takes the dread away. The ceiling is as easy as the wall.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

I would need 4 guys with out it.

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't know what people ever did to hang dry wall on ceilings before this product was made. For 9 foot ceilings, I would have had to have latters and two people to hold the dry wall up and then two to screw it into place and then switch when they got tired. This makes everything a breeze even if you just have one person!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>