728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Drywall and Panel Hoist

Drywall and Panel Hoist

The PRO-SERIES Drywall and Panel Hoist is a heavy-duty drywall tool with construction-grade cables and a welded steel frame. With a 150 lb. weight capacity, it supports sheets up to 16 ft. long. Built-in rolling casters allow you to easily move sheets of drywall into position, and one person can easily load and operate the heavy-duty unit on their own. No-tool assembly enables you to be up and running in no time, and you can also attach the 6 ft. extension (model DWHE6, sold separately) to reach higher areas.
Overall rating:
4.554 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product52 of 55reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(40)
4
(12)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product52 of 55reviews
Customer reviews for Drywall and Panel Hoist
Review 1 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Clinton, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Should have gotten one years ago

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I contemplated ever getting this, only because I did not hang that much drywall overhead... So my last job I said, "Why not see if it makes my job easier. It did !!!!!!!!!"
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Drywall and Panel Hoist

Great

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble and easy to disassemble. Maneuvers around incredibly easy. Very well built. I dry walled a 16x25 9' ceiling by myself with little to no problem with this lift
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Detroit, Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Solid Purchase - No Regrets

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I did a moderate amount of research on the numerous drywall hoists that are out there, before deciding on this one. From checking other websites and other users reviews, I settled on this one, given that it was on sale at Home Depot when I was looking to buy. The product arrived, and unfortunately it had taken one heck of a beating during shipping, so the paint was scuffed and all of the plastic end caps were broken. Between Home Depot and the manufacturer they advised that they will fix this problem and get me the replacement parts I require. The products itself was easy to set up, and even though I have not done it yet, I assume it will be just as easy to break down for easy storage. The product does just what it says it does, making drywall installation a one person job whether it be on the walls or on the ceilings. The product seems sturdy and well put together, so I don't expect to have any problems with it in the future.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Pottsville, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product has great features that enable the installation of drywall easier nad faster.

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product features arms and arm extenders that gave us the opportunity for just one person to hang drywall easier than having many individuals help. Having the mobility to move the hoist around to different areas of the room was a great help.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Berwick, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Should have bought this 20 years ago.

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble and use. Used to install 8' drywall on ceiling by myself. Super helpful to set drywall sheets in place and mark them for cutting/trimming without killing yourself. Unit, as promised, held the drywall in place while I drove in screws to secure it. Recommendation: either spend the money for a good hoist or spend no money at all - do not spend money on a cheap hoist as you will regret it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
Cons: plastic pulley
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
Gender:Male

Very handy

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The only reason I took a point off is after some heavy use a little plate that holds the little hanger arms you set the sheet on (sorry I don't know the exact name they're called) had snapped right in half making it really awkward to put sheets on it. However judging by the break it looked like it was probably just bad tempering on that one piece and home depot replaced the entire unit with no fuss.
Other than that, if you're drywalling decent size projects by yourself and especially ceilings, then this thing is a must have that is easily worth every penny. Especially when you factor in what a buddy might cost in beer alone to replace it. :)
Anyhow, glad I bought it, have already used it on one big project and soon to use it on another, just a real handy thing to have even though it is pretty big, heavy, and clunky, but worth it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Broomall, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Drywall and Panel Hoist

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this for my son. He said the lift was a great help when putting up drywall on the ceiling. The bolt on the side broke, but it was a simple call to get the bolt replaced. It was sent immediately and other family members are now borrowing it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Staten Island, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Surprisingly well built, works well

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Let me start by saying that I was more than pleasantly surprised at the quality of this lift. I had already bought one of those cheap two hundred dollar lifts a while back and had nothing but issues, cables jumping off of the crooked pulley, terrible welds, you get the picture. In fairness, it did do the job but not as well as it could and I was never confident using it. I ended up getting rid of it for a number of reasons.
Of course I found myself needing to do more sheet rocking and decided to look for a better, but still cheaper version. I came across this unit and at that time HD had it for sixty dollars less. Since it was online I wasn’t sure how this would be but the reviews were decent.
Once I took this out for the box I could instantly tell this was a much more solid item. The overall build quality was night and day. Right off the bat I could see that all of the pulleys were welded straight, the wheel that lifts the unit is about double the thickness as is the support beam. There are nice locking knobs for the legs and the outriggers. And the cable is much thicker on this unit which gave me a much greater level of confidence. Now this isn’t a Telpro, but it is pretty darn close. The casters look a bit cheap but honestly work fine, so take that for what it’s worth.
There is no building involved and the unit is shipped complete. You assemble it just like you would one of the ones you rent. The main mast slides into the tripod legs, the outriggers slide into place on the mast and you are ready to go in just a few minutes.
Just a few last thoughts, If you only have a room or two to do, renting is probably the best bet since you can do that with a single day rental. But any more than that and you can recoup your money by taking your time and dong it at your own pace. Honestly this is one of the better quality purchases for the price.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Joplin, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Daily

Product not as described!

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this particular lift because in the specifications it listed it as being 240 in max lift. I received it in in a timely manner in good shape, but on the box it stated that it was an 11 ft. lift. If I had known I could have found a different one or had ordered the $90 extinction with my first order. Now I am out 3 to 5 days of use waiting on the extinction. On a safety note the up and down stickers are on backwards. Knowing what I know now I would have found a different lift more suitable to my needs. The quality of the welds and joints are not the best fit for ease of use. R.Wilson, MO
Cons: product not as described!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-9points
3out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very safe, easy to operate, and worth the price

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have been able to install the ceiling in a sixteen by twelve foot room without any help in about three hours. I am 67 years old and was able to assemble the hoist without using the instructions which were poorly made and incomplete(china). The hoist is able to lift a 4 x 8 sheet without the feeling that it will tip over or slide off. Very good at what it does..
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Lots of Features, Economical
Cons: poor instructions
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Awesome product

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This worked really well the price was a little on the high side but overall decent no problems comes ready to work just assamble on the jobsite
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Drywall and Panel Hoist

met expectations

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A bit rough at the edges but meets the need for volunteers hanging ceiling drywall in Habitat homes, at the price a good value. 5 days rental of an identical lift pays for it. Would recommend for light duty use.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Oklahoma

A sheetrock hanging machine.

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have put up over 70 sheets so far and most by my self. So U say, I'm 64 years young and have had 2 knee operations. Would highly recommend this product. It takes the dread away. The ceiling is as easy as the wall.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Houghton Lake, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to assemble and use.

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great lift. Easy to assemble and use. Allowed one man installation of 10 ft. ceiling.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

I would need 4 guys with out it.

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't know what people ever did to hang dry wall on ceilings before this product was made. For 9 foot ceilings, I would have had to have latters and two people to hold the dry wall up and then two to screw it into place and then switch when they got tired. This makes everything a breeze even if you just have one person!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This lift is inexpensive, well built and easy to use.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a similar lift ordered from another company and it was on back order when I realized that Home Depot had a better one for 1/3 the price. It shipped immediately and its been saving me time and labor since the ceiling panels that I was installing can be done with 2 instead of 4 people.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Virginia

Drywall Panel Hoist

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked as advertised and as other reviewers said. Worth every penny just for the ceiling alone. Made it a one man job; easy to use. Good for jobs big and small. Saves back aches, head aches, the wife can go shopping while you work, gets the job done in one third the time, less sweat and you don't have to go to church for all the cussin' afterwards.
Easy to assemble, a little on the heavy side but tears down easily and manageable to transport in the truck, SUV, van or even a station wagon.
BUY IT, YOU WON'T BE SORRY - rent to friends later on, get some of your money back.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very handy DIY drywall tool.

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A drywall lift is a very handy tool to have, if you don't have a few people to help you get a ceiling up, and may save your marriage if your expecting your wife to help you out. This lift works well, but only after I figured out how to keep the cable from binding on a ring that's poorly welded to the side of the take-up reel. The ring has a split that the metal cable catches on that would destroy the cable and make operation scary at best if not corrected. I found a thick tapered rubber ring from an old sink basin that I cut and placed onto the take-up reel to keep the cable from catching on that poorly installed ring. Some day I'll find a better solution, but for now it seems to work well. Other than that the lift is easy to load and makes hanging ceiling drywall a one person job. If you have enough drywall to hang or future projects, owning one of these will pay for itself in short order.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With
Cons: some poorly manufactured / engineered parts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Drywall and Panel Hoist

Buy it - it's worth the cost

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Like many, I imagine, I was wavering on spending a chunk for this thing (should I rent, should I buy, ...). As we have a 3-story house to get through, decided to buy it. Have only put up about 5 panels so far, but I can't imagine doing it without this lift (11' ceilings). Was convinced after the first panel that I made the right choice.
I was a bit disappointed with the add-on extension though - it replaces the existing one and raises the minimum height of the arm -- enough to force a few grunts when raising the ceiling panel to the arms. Oh, well...
The lift itself is great, though! Buy it - you'll be glad you did.
Can you use this by yourself? Maybe.. Still takes some finer adjustments which is a lot easier with a guide above.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Drywall and Panel Hoist
from Southern New Jersey shore

Heavy duty drywall and panel lift

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I found this to be exactly as I had hoped. I will soon be 78 years old yet I was able to apply 5/8 fire code drywall in 10 foot sheets to a 700 sq.ft ceiling by myself with ease. I also used it to apply the same to 9 ft high walls and also to apply 5/8" sheathing to side wall and lift sheathing to to roof edge with ease.I should have had one years ago..
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>