728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tires & Tire Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black

12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black

A powerful 12-Volt, 250 psi compressor and an accurate gauge make this inflator an efficient and excellent machine. This car tire inflator easily plugs into the 12-volt accessory outlets to operate. The gauge is easy to read to help you in determining the amount of air inside the car tire. A bright LED warning light is very helpful for night use.
Overall rating:
3.679 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product39 of 54reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(15)
3
(7)
2
(3)
1
(9)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product39 of 54reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
Review 1 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
from Middleton, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Terrible Product

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The HDX Multi-Function 12V Air Inflator is terrible. I plugged it into my car's cigarette lighter, turned it on, and then tried to inflate my bike's tires. After nearly 5 minutes of "inflating," the tire had barely more air in it than before I started. After a few more minutes, the whole thing stopped working because it blew the fuse in my car's electrical system (the auto mechanic who replaced the fuse suggested not using the product again).
The plastic that the unit is made out of feels cheap and brittle, so I'm worried that it will break in my trunk just from being tossed around a little bit.
Also, with the red warning light cover on, it's very hard to see the light shining through, which really defeats the purpose of the thing.
All in all, I highly recommend staying AWAY from this product.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, weak inflation power
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Good inflator, bad gauge

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The inflator works well. It inflated my tires that were about 6 psi low in a few minutes. Much faster than my old one. I liked that it had a on/off switch so it wasn't running when plugged in. The gauge was very inaccurate and basically worthless. The light and flasher is a nice touch, though.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
from Pontiac, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Received free product:Yes

Not a very good inflator

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried to put 1 pound of air in my truck tire and it took 10 minutes to put in 1/2 pound.. It just doesn't have much output. Maybe on a beach ball or bike tire it would be ok. Have a pressure gauge ready as the gauge is way off. (see pics). I have had better inflators.
Cons: Not Durable, no power
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Pack one in your car

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This inflator performs adequately as long as you don't need a precise gauge. The small gauge is only about 1 1/2" in diameter with marks very close together in 5 lb increments. When I checked my car tire results to two separate good quality gauges, there was about 5 lbs less air than the inflator had indicated. The flasher light is fairly dim and is suitable only for night use. Remove the red lense cover and flip the switch to "light" and you have a flashlight, albeit not a very bright one. The power cord plugged into the dash outlet is long enough to reach all four tires. Even with these limitations, I think you'd be glad you had it in a roadside emergency.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: so-so gauge
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
from santa clarita, ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Lightweight and Compact

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Lightweight and compact, easy to use - got a nice little gauge - got a nice long extension cord to reach back tire of car. Personally, this saves me time and a trip to fill tire pressure up at the local gas station, although it is going to take time to fill the tire if it is low on air. My only concern is the tiny compressor inside, I just don't have a feel for the life of this product. This replaces one that I once had years ago. My former air compressor unit was much heavier and it finally died due to an electrical short.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: unknown product life
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
from Charlotte, NC, USA

So Far So Good

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this about a month ago. I've only used it once so as far as durability I'm not 100% sure yet. But so far it has served its purpose well. I had a low tire pressure light come up and instead of paying $1.50 at the gas station or making my way to the tire shop I just got this and it served its purpose well. Takes a while for the pressure to reach the desired amount but that is to be expected from a $9 unit. Its very handy though, especially with the other attachments as well...filled my neighbors basketballs and pool inflatables with ease!!! Only drawback is that I wish it had an AC plug too so that I can use it in home as well...but that's nothing major. Its main purpose is for use when you're out on the road so it still gets top nods from me!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: need an ac plug for in home use
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
from NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and easy

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have used this product a couple of times, and I it does a pretty good job. The plastic it is built out of does not look very sturdy, but it actually is pretty solid. It is well organized and perfect for my SUV. In terms of functionality - it is very good. I am OBSESSIVE with the PSI in my tires, and I always hate going to the gas station to pump them up. I've used it to re-inflate the tires 3-5 PSI at a time and it does a quick job of it. It is not too loud and it is easy to use and stays on the tires during inflation which is a big plus for me. Overall a very good product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black

12v inflator

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I underestimated this thing completely. Dont let the cheap design and feeling of this thing get to you. it filled up my jeep tires and I watched it as the rim raised up from the ground. Took about ten minutes, but can you really expect more from these little inflators especially under 10 bucks! Must have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
from Jackson,MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extremely pleased

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used the inflator this morning for the first time and was extremely pleased with proformence.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
from Asheville, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Useful & Handy

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Multi-Function 12V air inflator is great for carrying in your truck or car. Easy to use, just plug into car power outlet with 10ft cord, put on the right adapter and turn on. Large easy to read pressure screen and handy LED flashlight with emergency strobe mode. Hoses and adapters are stored in the body of the Inflator. Great for blowing up tires, basketballs, floats or inflatable mattress.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
from MS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Received free product:Yes

Nice small tool

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The good part about this inflator is its small size and light weight. It is a nice size for behind the seat in the pickup truck or in a wheel well of a car. Very compact. It works with a cigarette lighter connection so there is no battery to keep charged or to go out when you need it most. It also has a small pressure gauge right on the unit to watch so you don't under or over inflate the tires. Over all a useful compact tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
from Vancouver, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value. Fine to keep in trunk for emergencies.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a small compressor for occasional use to top off car tires and lawn equipment tires. It works fine for a really inexpensive unit. The built in work light with flasher is a nice extra, but just better than none. These type of units have tiny compressors, so expect it to take several minutes to fill up a low car tire. Unit comes with attachments for inflating balls and other inflatables. I found the pressure guage to be off by 5 psi reading 40 when actual pressure was 35. For $7.99 you can't expect a lot. Good value for occasional light use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, inexpensive
Cons: occasional use only, loud and slow operation
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not bad for the price paid, but could be better.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product does what its supposed to do, the two problems I have with it is that 1) Its pretty loud, not a deal breaker, but 2) the nozzle where you attach it to the tire is really hard to take off.
I needed just a few PSI for my tire but when tried to release the nozzle, it let out a ton of air. I had to refill my tire three or four times trying different ways to pull the nozzle off without letting so much air out.
It was super cheap but I would get one where the hose would be nicer.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: lets out a ton of air if not removed specifically
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
from Savannah, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

compact and easy to run

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I keep it in the car, lightweight and easy to use. cord and hose store in the machine
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
from Middletown, NY 10940, USA

works, for the price can't be beat

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a flat tire. Good thing I park at Home Depot to catch my van pool. So I walked in and got this. I was surprised how easy to operate and quick to pump. It's hard to tell it's working -- if not attached to the tire very little air comes out. But slowly but surely, tire got inflated. Took way less than 5 mins. Gauge is accurate, too. I pumped only up to 22 psi (because unsure how much battery is drained) enough to get to gas station. Sure enough, gauge at gas station says 22 psi. Really happy as it saved the day. Recommend to have this -- it's cheap! -- in your car.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: cheap plastic body
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broken upon opening

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this as a backup to put in the car, price was great, got to use it after a couple weeks, BUT the compressor would not turn on, while the lights were flashing. Had a different one in another car, tried both to rule out connection possibility, had to return it to the Home Depot. Right, there was no instruction in the box.
Cons: Not Durable, No Instructions, broken upon opening
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
from Folsom, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is a piece of junk.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is a piece of junk. Takes 20 minutes to inflate one tire and that too when filled only 2 psi. Not sure on the reliability as well. Mostly will return it back.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black

ok for what it cost

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My low tire pressure light came on. I used this pump to inflate all 4 tires. What I found was that the gauge reads about 4 or 5 lbs too high. Showed 40 but was actually maybe 35 or so. Pump does work though.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
from Florida

Good for the price

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Takes a little bit to put some air in a tire but for its size and being plugged into the car it works good for what it is
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12-Volt Inflator with Warning Light in Black
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Garbage, DO NOT BUY.

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First use was on a tire that was low. After 15 minutes of use the pressure gauge still hadn't registered. 15 more minutes and it finally started to get the tire to a readable level (20 PSI). After that I just went to the gas station and filled it. Next time I went to use it a week later it wouldn't even turn on.
Cons: Not Durable, no power
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>