728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outlets & Receptacles or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 15 Amp AC Standard Duplex Wall Outlet - White with Built-in USB Charger Ports

15 Amp AC Standard Duplex Wall Outlet - White with Built-in USB Charger Ports

Modernize your home and office, U-Socket is an AC receptacle with built-in USB ports that can power ANY device that is capable of being charged via USB, including iPods, iPhones and iPads. Designed to replace a traditional 3-prong AC wall outlet, U-Socket eliminates the clutter of AC Adapters that stick out and take up space. Enjoy the convenience of USB ports built right into the wall. In addition to keeping things neat and organized, U-Socket reduces your energy costs thanks to its 5-star energy efficient design that auto senses the required wattage and only outputs full power if something is connected to it. Designed and made in USA, U-Socket is 100% safe and listed to multiple UL, NEC and IEC (International Electrical Commission) standards.
Overall rating:
4.467 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product14 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product14 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for 15 Amp AC Standard Duplex Wall Outlet - White with Built-in USB Charger Ports
Review 1 for 15 Amp AC Standard Duplex Wall Outlet - White with Built-in USB Charger Ports

Works exactly as advertised

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as advertised - charges my usb devices (including iPad). Fits in my existing outlet box, and cover is the same size as before. Installation was just like installing a normal outlet - just connected up the 3 wires and was good to go.
My only comment is that I wish HD sold this in the stores instead of just online so that I didn't need to wait for it to be shipped, but oh well, was worth the wait.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 15 Amp AC Standard Duplex Wall Outlet - White with Built-in USB Charger Ports

Great idea!

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've only just recently installed these so they haven't survived the test of time yet. So far, so good. These would not fit in a shallow box as the charging apparatus is pretty deep and it took some effort to stuff this and the wires in a standard box. In the end, it fit... barely, it works and I am happy.
NOTE: this DOES support iPad charging. I didn't even think to look that up before purchasing.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 15 Amp AC Standard Duplex Wall Outlet - White with Built-in USB Charger Ports
from Omaha, NE, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, charges my USB powered devices

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Cons - charges phone slower than plug-in (USB mode), USB slots covered by power plugs that aren't standard size
Pros - fits into existing outlet box, wiring was easy as directions were very clear
I would buy this product again. Now I can have my lamp, alarm, and phone charger without needing a power strip. Pretty cool product!
Pros: Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 15 Amp AC Standard Duplex Wall Outlet - White with Built-in USB Charger Ports
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Check your devices first

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Other similar products replace one of the power outlets with two side by side USB ports. I like this one since it provides two outlets AND two USB ports. Easy install. Total power provided by the USB port may NOT be sufficient to charge your device. My Blackberry 9930 will not charge using these ports. My Galaxy S3 charges just fine. Older Kindle tablet will not charge, but an iPad seems OK. Bottom line - check the power requirements for the device(s) that you want to charge using this outlet.
Pros: Stylish
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 15 Amp AC Standard Duplex Wall Outlet - White with Built-in USB Charger Ports

Wish all my outlets were USB!

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy installation, sleek lovely appearance, works wonderfully!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 15 Amp AC Standard Duplex Wall Outlet - White with Built-in USB Charger Ports
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Pretty convenient

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Free up your outlets and charge your devices using the usb charger. Fairly quick install. No problems so far. This is a great idea for you or for a unique gift.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 15 Amp AC Standard Duplex Wall Outlet - White with Built-in USB Charger Ports
from Lagrangeville, NY 12540, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation was easy and works perfectly for Apple and Android phones.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation was easy and works perfectly for Apple and Android phones.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 15 Amp AC Standard Duplex Wall Outlet - White with Built-in USB Charger Ports

Really convenient being able to charge two phones and still have two sockets available

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm still stunned that no one stocks this combination electrical socket and USB charging port in the stores. It's no more complicated to install than any other electrical socket, and it's incredibly convenient. We have one kitchen location where we charge phones, plug in the waffle iron or hand blender, etc. -- and this unit has been great. Very glad we ordered it.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 15 Amp AC Standard Duplex Wall Outlet - White with Built-in USB Charger Ports
from Baltimore
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Frustrated

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product, excited that it would solve my outlet issues. I cannot get it to fit in the existing box no matter what I do. Can someone tell me what size box they were able to fit it into???
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 15 Amp AC Standard Duplex Wall Outlet - White with Built-in USB Charger Ports
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

excellent - purchasing 2 more

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
just as advertised - works great - highly recommend
Pros: Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 15 Amp AC Standard Duplex Wall Outlet - White with Built-in USB Charger Ports
from Madison, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, easy to install

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Obviously these are a bit pricier than standard outlets, but they work great and I think the novelty alone is worth the price. The hardest part of the installation was actually un-installing the previous one; once I did that this once went in quite easily. It charges my phone and still leaves outlets left over. Would highly recommend.
Pros: Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 15 Amp AC Standard Duplex Wall Outlet - White with Built-in USB Charger Ports
from Novi, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Idea

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install -- and now all those USB devices no longer have to charge off the computer or take up a bulky plug. Really glad to have found this!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 15 Amp AC Standard Duplex Wall Outlet - White with Built-in USB Charger Ports
from Massachusetts, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

excellent product

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
will not fit older outlet boxes, easy to install in correct
size boxes
Pros: Clear Instructions, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 15 Amp AC Standard Duplex Wall Outlet - White with Built-in USB Charger Ports
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome Product for Phone and iPad Users

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love having USB ports in my receptacles. No more fussing with power supplies. Just plug the USB into the provided ports and I'm all set.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 15 Amp AC Standard Duplex Wall Outlet - White with Built-in USB Charger Ports
from Detroit, mi
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It works great but a little snug in the outlet box
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.