728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fireplaces or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry

Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry

Created with a focus on modern ideologies, the Hampton Bay Grand Haven Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry brings contemporary style to the heart of your living room. Side cabinets offer ample storage space with two adjustable shelves, and feature framed tempered glass doors close using concealed Euro hinges. The bow front design adds curves that complement the contemporary style of this multi-function media mantel. A curved 25 in. electric fireplace insert sits in the middle of the media mantel providing seasonal enjoyment with or without heat.
Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(266 reviews) 266
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product245 of 259reviews
Rating Breakdown 266 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(192)
4
(55)
3
(8)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product245 of 259reviews
Customer questions and answers:
36 Questions | 63 Answers
Customer reviews for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
Review 21 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
from Edison, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Beautiful Electric Fireplace and TV Stand

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Black
My husband and I had been shopping around for over a year for an item like this, and this stand was the best quality at a reasonable cost. The delivery weight of the materials is 180 pounds, so we had to unpack it where the delivery person left it. It took one person to assemble it in an hour and a half. Once assembled, it is easy to move. The fireplace heats our entire great room and kitchen area. Additionally, the fireplace looks realistic and not cheap like other products, and the quality of the wood is beautiful. We ordered the stand in brown. When we ordered our unit we found out that it was the last one in stock in the warehouse. Also, the customer service representative at our local Home Depot said this item was a clearance item. Hopefully, Home Depot will reconsider and keep this electric fireplace/TV stand in stock.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
from Nebraska
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Ordered sight unseen, nice unit.

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Black
I've been looking at similar ec/fp combos for several years and the price on this one really caught my attention. Ordered online, was backoreded for a month+, but received a shipping conformation not even two weeks after the order, so that was nice. Got it put together yesterday, the instructions say one hour assembly, I don't think so for one person. Looks great, although im somewhat suspect of the heat/fan power so far. I got a $60 Vornado on the same order, in heats my small living room in no time, I watch a digi thermometer rise. After using the fireplace twice, it is slower to heat the same space, although more trials needed to be sure.
Only nitpics are: 1) the "grain" on the wood is not as pronounced as that of my black Ashley beast that was $300 5 or so years ago (no fireplace). 2) the skinny screws to attach the long/narrow back piece are around 1.5" too short. 3) very minor, they should put a small sticker on back of remote w/instructions, I turned it over expecting one. You could discard it when you get the hang of it (instead of paging through the manual for the first week of use). 4) half of the wood dowel plugs were not even close to snug in the holes, no problem, just add Gorilla Glue (for the short screws too).
Remote is tiny, Im going to put velcro or a magnet on the back. Otherwise I would recommend the unit, it is 3.5" taller than my old Asley, so my 55" Sony looks even better (partly trying to avoid wall mount).
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
from St Francis, MN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Bang for your buck and beautiful!

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Black
Very nicely packaged so that nothing got damaged. A lot of the hardware already on the cabinet.
The assembly went very smoothly and it is beautiful.
Fire is much more realistic then I thought it would be.
Quality is great for the price. Something like this at Hom furniture would go for double the price.
Pros: Stylish, Great Value, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
from MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

A key piece was/is broken Hampton bay unwilling to respond

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
never even got a chance to try it out, it has been 3 weeks and I am still waiting for someone to respond or help me with a key broken part, product to large to return without a truck. buyer be careful, they are not helpful when you are not giving them money.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install, un-returnable pièces
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Gorgeous and elegant

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had special ordered the fire place for my significant other. First off the assembly is very easy! I was shocked that I could put it together by myself. The flames look realistic and the heat that the this fireplace gives off is perfect for a small home.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product is great!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is perfect for what I needed. It looks beautiful an is a quality piece of furniture. The heat is great too and heats my living room more than I expected. I highly recommend !
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

I highly recommend this product.

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is beautiful. It took some assembly but went together well. It looks very expensive but was very reaonably priced and I shopped around a lot.
Pros: Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
from New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Love the look of this product.

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It looks better than the pictures. It was easy to put together. I did not need any power tools just a screwdriver. It took me about 20 minutes to figure out how the first peice went together but after that it was a breeze. It is worth the price and more!
Pros: Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Just what I was looking for!

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love it! Let's out a great amount of heat which can be adjusted for your comfort. Looks beautiful and I have had so many compliments on it.
Also, has alot of storage areas for cd's or what ever you'd like to put in it.
Very pleased!
Pros: Easy to Install, Lots of Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
from home
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

My son is very happy with this purchase..it was a Christmas gift for him and his family

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I personally am not using this product but have seen it in my son's home..Its classy and warming...they are pleased!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry

Missing Part

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One of the foot pieces was missing when we opened the item. Have been trying to get a replacement part from the manufacturer however the apathy they show in customer service is appalling. I have requested to speak to a supervisor for 2 days and am always told they are in a meeting. No one has returned my calls and no part forthcoming. If you purchase this item, hope all the parts are in the box.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
from Mercer, NJ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Awesome Stand

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Black
after waiting 3+ months for my stand after it being on back order... it was worth the wait. I love this stand i got it in black and i thought it wasnt going to look nice. Once we got it together and turned the fire place on it looks awesome. I live in a 2 bedroom condo and it warms up my living room and kitchen and it makes my place feel cozier! The only complaint I have is trying to get it together. It took us more than an hour to do and the remote control doesnt have a button to change the temperture. Other than that this is def. worth the money and wait!! im in love with it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Great Value, Reliable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Daily

Better than expected and cheaper than competition!

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I first saw one of these fireplace/media stands at a non-Home Depot store. It seemed to be overpriced and cheaply made. Then the following week I saw the product I am reviewing at the Home Depot. It seemed to be a much higher quality piece at a MUCH lower price compared to the other item I had seen. My wife and I purchased it.
The box was much larger than expected. In my friend's pickup truck, it was hanging about 2 feet off the edge of the shut tailgate and was sliding around since I didn't have any straps. I didn't feel very secure getting it home. Take that into consideration. Not a negative about a product, a negative about me. Be prepared or have it delivered.
Most of the pieces had substantial weight to them (in this case indicating quality). While flimsy at first, once it was properly together, the stand felt very sturdy. It holds our 52 inch tv, playstation, and cable box with no issues, and we've filled the cabinets. The heater made some funny smells the first 2 or 3 days, but that has gone away. We did see a small increase in our power bill when we were running the heat a lot, so now we use that feature less.
Installation took a while but was easy. There is nothing difficult about the installation. A word about installation time: Moving the tv, all the wires, taking apart the old tv stand, then taking my time to put together this tv stand/fireplace, putting everything back, and making everything as close to perfect as possible took me just under 4 hours. Again, I am a perfectionist when it comes to this kind of stuff and had some issues with cable box and modem wires. If I did it again, I could probably cut 60-90 minutes off my time.
We are very happy with this product and would buy again. Highly recommend it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Stylish, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Reliable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
from Lafayette, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

What a gorgeous piece of furniture!

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Black
When the box arrived, I was worried about having to put this piece together. I have to admit, it was time consuming but very well marked and went together very easily. The instructions were clear and all the pieces were marked including the top and bottom of the piece. We ordered the unit in black and I have to say it is beautiful! It was certainly worth the effort.
Pros: Performs Well, Stylish, Good Shape, Great Value, Economical
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Instructions

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Black
It took about 2 1/2 hours to build but the instructions were great and all of the parts were labeled. Once together the over all quality was good and it did not look cheap.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: a lot of parts
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
from Tacoma, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice addition to my living room ...

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Black
If ordering this unit on-line ... have it delivered to your closest Home Depot for pickup, carefully check for damages before accepting delivery. UPS delivered my 140 lbs package to my home all beat to heck. Fortunately the damages were minor and in the back side of the unit ... after waiting thee months of waiting for the unit, I was not about to complain.
Anyway, the unit looked nice when assembled ... Took me a little longer than an hour to assemble, a couple of sections didn't exactly fit and I had to take an creative approach ... The stove works fine, the fire doesn't really look real, but it's not bad ... the heat output is steady, but the blower speed is not that high, so it takes awhile to heat up the room. ... All-in-all, we're using and enjoying it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
from Florida, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

looks great

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Black
Took about two and a half hours to put together with breaks, nice quality, big piece. Saw it in the store and decided to get one. When I went back to get one they were all out. So I ordered online. About a month on backorder though.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical
Cons: Noisy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry

love the look

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Black
I received this unit on Wed after ordering Fri evening. Hour and half to assemble with a couple of misaligned holes. Absolutely love the look. The heater keeps my great room and toasty. The quick shipping was great too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
from Ossining, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

I love this!

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my new fireplace media console. It's a very nice looking piece of furniture and the fire place feature has a nice flame that isn't cheesy. The heater works as expected and states it warms a 400 sq ft area. I think it is a nice extra heat source. The instructions are fairly clear so if you take your time and follow directions there should be no problems. I am a women and was able to put it together myself. It took several hours but was fairly easy. The packing of the product took an hour to get out of the box. I appreciated that it was well packed and arrived with no damage. It is a big box and a lot of packing material so be prepared. My only negative is that I had to re-order this product several times because Home Depot's on-line website says the product is available and I would order it than days later I would get a notice it was out of stock. This happened 3 times. I had to do a lot of phone calling etc... now that I have it and it's assembled, it was worth the trouble. I am enjoying it.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Stylish, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
Cons: ordering problems
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Dark Cherry
from IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Daily

WE LOVE THE LOOK

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Grand Haven 59 in. Media Console Electric Fireplace in Black
My husband and I put it together with no arguments...We love the look and the quality of the product. Excellent all the way around. Thank you~
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>