728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Series garbage disposals are the world’s most advanced food garbage disposals . From the powerful induction motors with cutting edge grind technologies to the top-of-the-line sound reducing technologies, the Evolution Select Continuous Feed garbage Disposal delivers exceptional performance– a perfect solution for smaller households or kitchens with restricted cabinet space.
Overall rating:
4.685 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(254 reviews) 254
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product238 of 247reviews
Rating Breakdown 254 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(193)
4
(51)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Features 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product238 of 247reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer reviews for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Burlington, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great disposat

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our 20 year old Insinkerator was loud, and only partially effective: forget potato peels... It finally quit and started to smoke last week, so I bought this one at The Home Depot along with some Plumbers Putty. I had already turned off the power at the breaker and tested using an indicator for safety.
First, I removed the old flange and disposal, using the same plumbing and electrical cable to connect the new one. The new drain flap design is better than the old one, the rubber insert can be removed from the top, compared to the previous design which required removing the disposal to change. It took an hour for the entire switch out.
The kit includes a new sink flange, and a couple of different plastic out spouts, one straight and the other a down angled one. I didn't have to use either of them. I like the spring clamp to grasp the out spout at the disposal. I had to trim the plastic drain tubes under the sink. The height of the out spout is the same as the old disposal. The new disposal is fatter at the upper portion, but not so large that I had to trim anything under the sink. Well worth it for the extra silence you get.
After checking for leaks, and electrical integrity, I tried the disposal. It's so quiet compared to the old Insinkerator, you hardly know it's running. There is much less vibration as well. The new disposal has a 4 year warrantee. Here's hoping it lasts as long or longer than the old one.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Dunwoody, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Thanksgiving Killed Our Old Garbage Disposal

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just replaced our Insinkerator garbage disposal for the second time in 31 years in this house. Our old one started leaking after Thanksgiving. Since this was a replacement, the install only took about 30 minutes, because I could use the previous sink fitting. This installation is straightforward with simple tools. The only challenge is holding the unit up to the drain opening, keeping it square while locking all three lugs with a wrench in your other hand.
The new disposal is a good bit quieter than our old one. Best of all . . . Made in the U.S.A.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Stylish, Nice Design, made in the usa
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from San Diego
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Well worth the money Easy to install

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have installed hundreds of disposals in my 35 years of maintaining houses and apartments. If you are considering Badger, these are a much better unit hands down.
Badger units were cheaper so I thought they were the best solution for rental units, but after replacing so many of them, wearing out in as little as 3 years, I started installing Evolution disposals.
These Evolution disposals have an all stainless grinding zone, upgraded bearings and seals, and create half the noise and vibration compared to the Badger disposals. They are smaller than the stainless Waste King units I have, which also have proven to be good units.
So far every Evolution unit (at least 10), that I have installed are performing really well, really quiet, and I think will last a dozen years or more.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: more expensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Love this disposal

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this disposal to replace another Insinkerator 5/8 HP disposal which started leaking after 8 years. The prices was right, it was easy to install for someone who isn't the biggest DIYer on the planet, and it's quiet. It's chewed up everything we've put down it, including pits, chunks of pineapple rind and lime wedges with no issues.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from CdA Idaho
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent replacement!

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had an existing in-sink-erator badger model installed and it finally gave up the ghost. I have never dealt with replacing one of these and figured I'd be at it all day. After some quick research I decided on this model and talked to an associate at the store and was dismayed at how easy I was told it was going to be to replace. 30 minutes and my new QUIET sink disposal was grinding away!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GARBAGE DISPOSAL

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very quiet and tough, also easy to install. With two small kids, this garbage disposal get puts to good use. So far so good, I like my purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation a snap.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This disposal opperates much quiter than my previous garbage disposal. It was very easy to install. My wife loves it and that's what counts.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Arvada, Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very quiet!

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This garbage disposal is so quiet, you almost can't hear it running. It's very powerful too. My only dislike is the rubber gasket that goes in the drain. It's so big and stiff, it makes the space for water drainage very small. The sink backs up even when there's nothing stuck in there, just because it takes a long time for the water to go through the small hole. I keep a utensil handy to push on the rubber gasket when it gets backed up, just so the water can go down quicker. I supposed I could modify the gasket, maybe cut it back to make the whole bigger, but I'd hoped that it would be perfect right out of the box.
Pros: Easy to Install, High Quality
Cons: too tight gasket
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Palatine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

quiet disposal that takes care of all food waste

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This disposal in not light in weight. After installing it I tested it and it is very quiet. I used bones,cucumber skin, potato skin and more. It is not as fast as the old one however it has a extra blade to chop into fine pieces and not clog the pipes. The noise is quiet and it doesn't soundl like a plane taking off. I would recommend this disposal. It was not cheap but well worth the extra price. I replaced the pipes while I was doing this. It makes sense to save yourself some cleanup if the seals fail in the plastic pipes , the kit was 15.00.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Flowery Brach, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So quiet, my wife thought I installed it wrong

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After installing it, I went to turn the breaker on. When I did, my wife turned the unit. It was so quiet, she thought I had installed it wrong.
I was amazed - I thought all disposers shook the cabinets loose and vibrated the sink like an agitator on a washing machine.
This is awesome. I'd write more, but I gotta go find stuff to grind up!
Pros: Durable, Nice Design
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Cleveland, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Grinder is a Keeper

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My purchase was based on necessity so I didn't spend a lot of time shopping and comparing alternatives. I wanted a slightly larger unit than the one which failed, and it seemed to be a good compromise between the base models and the upper end. Installation was basic and straightforward until I discovered this unit was larger in diameter than the one being replaced, which meant the existing plumbing didn't fit, and it had to be re-plumbed - but that isn't the fault of the unit, just me for not recognizing it before trying to install. The end result is the unit is quieter than expected and it grinds up whatever I've jammed down into it (at least so far)
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Fleming Island Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Might have to take this product back.

PostedApril 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Might have to take this product back to store. I cant tell if it's running or not. Just kiddin. It really is way quieter and has almost no vibration compared to the old builder grade disposal that came with the house when new. Very easy to install. Tested it with a hard pizza crust which isn't much of a test but it sure was gone quick.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Love this quiet disposal

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
my husband is in maintenance and is not a fan of garbage disposals, but myself and the three kids finally wore him down and we put the disposal in about a month ago. we love it! Even the husband. it is extremely quiet which is my favorite part
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Quiet

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
quiet operation and nice looking, I would recommend this product
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Pearland, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product...

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this unit to replace the Insikerator Badger model disposal that came with our home. So far it has proven to be an excellent purchase. It is ten times quieter than our original disposal. So quiet I was worried there was something wrong with it when I first turned it on. I had to put something in it to chew up just to make sure. Very easy to install. Took about 30 to 45 minutes. Only took that long because I had to cut about an inch and a half off the pvc drain tube to account for its larger size. And don't forget to punch out the plug for the dishwasher drain inlet before you install it. Very pleased with this product.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Roseville, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet and Powerful

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is one of the few purchases lately that have really pleased me. First lets start out with the installation. This was replacing an existing insinkerator so the installation for me was a breeze, in fact it took me longer to clean out the cupboard to be able to get in there and work than it did to remove the old disposal and install the new one. (Because the insinkerator flange was already installed, all I had to do was disconnect the drain, the dishwasher drain, and the electrical cord, and then just untwist the whole thing from the flange. Then I just had to reverse that process. The whole removal and install maybe took me 15-20 minutes. Now on to the performance. First let me say this thing is very quiet, you can carry on a normal conversation with this disposal running, if you're more than about 10-15 feet away you wouldn't know it was running. As for the performance, this is very powerful. Nothing I have put in there has been a problem. The other day I had a strip steak for dinner and there was a line of very tough gristle along one side, it was so tough it was difficult to cut with a very sharp knife. Now normally I don't put meat into the disposal but I thought I would try to see if this disposal would chew up this gristle (I really thought I was going to have to retrieve it from within and throw it away) but it just chewed it up and down the drain it went. Overall I would highly recommend this disposal. For the price it is very quiet and powerful.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
+44points
44out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Self Install - Surprising Quality

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Upon buying a new home, I discovered that I had inherited a severely neglected disposal unit. I suspect that the device was installed when the home was built (2006) and had been installed improperly at that time. It was missing the three tightening screws on the mount collar, so it had been leaking and rusting from pretty much every possible point. (Don't forget to use plumber's putty when installing!)
The Insinkerator Evolution Select 5/8 HP disposer was in the middle of the price range for available models. At the store, I could not determine if it included a Quick Lock mount (which it does) so I purchased one.
Note: The disposal does include a Quick Lock mount, gasket, and stopper.
Note: The disposal does NOT include a power cable, or strain relief parts. If you need one you must purchase an optional cable kit.
In my case, power was supplied from the wall / switch so the cable kit was not needed. However, since ALL disposals must be powered, I recommend to Insinkerator that they include the strain relief parts with the disposal.
Installation: A breeze. I had a much harder time removing the old rust-siezed mount. Almost all necessary parts are supplied. I had to re-use a PVC fitting from the old pipe, but I elected to use the new (provided) pipe and cut it to size. I purchased the recommended plumber's putty, and had no issues following directions. For electrical, I used some wire connectors I had available.
Noise: What Noise? There might be a problem if you do food prep in a library. The unit is specifically designed to reduce vibration. Sure you can tell it's running, which is important for not losing a spoon or perhaps a finger. There are models that are quieter, but after using this I can't see a reason to upgrade.
Appearance: It is maroon. Yep, just like on the package. Every time you reach under the sink for a cleaner, you'll probably find yourself admiring it. It also has a large interior chamber for relatively easy cleaning.
Made in USA! I'm glad to see that. Five stars; I didn't see anything that I felt was poor quality.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: some additional parts required.
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Great Install

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Install was fast, product works great, very quiet compared to unit it replaced
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Houston, TX
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Surprised how quiet it is.

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install. Always had the Badger series and thought I'd upgrade this time. I turned it on as was shocked how quite it really is. I had to modify the rubber drain cover/filter because it blocked the sink a little too much and water did not drain as fast as I like. I just cut away a little of the rubber to enlarge the hole and it's working great now.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Love it

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install, extremely quiet, works great ....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>