728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Series garbage disposals are the world’s most advanced food garbage disposals . From the powerful induction motors with cutting edge grind technologies to the top-of-the-line sound reducing technologies, the Evolution Select Continuous Feed garbage Disposal delivers exceptional performance– a perfect solution for smaller households or kitchens with restricted cabinet space.
Overall rating:
4.71 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(155 reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product145 of 150reviews
Rating Breakdown 155 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(119)
4
(31)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Features 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product145 of 150reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 73 Answers
Customer reviews for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Dunwoody, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Thanksgiving Killed Our Old Garbage Disposal

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just replaced our Insinkerator garbage disposal for the second time in 31 years in this house. Our old one started leaking after Thanksgiving. Since this was a replacement, the install only took about 30 minutes, because I could use the previous sink fitting. This installation is straightforward with simple tools. The only challenge is holding the unit up to the drain opening, keeping it square while locking all three lugs with a wrench in your other hand.
The new disposal is a good bit quieter than our old one. Best of all . . . Made in the U.S.A.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Stylish, Nice Design, made in the usa
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Burlington, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great disposat

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our 20 year old Insinkerator was loud, and only partially effective: forget potato peels... It finally quit and started to smoke last week, so I bought this one at The Home Depot along with some Plumbers Putty. I had already turned off the power at the breaker and tested using an indicator for safety.
First, I removed the old flange and disposal, using the same plumbing and electrical cable to connect the new one. The new drain flap design is better than the old one, the rubber insert can be removed from the top, compared to the previous design which required removing the disposal to change. It took an hour for the entire switch out.
The kit includes a new sink flange, and a couple of different plastic out spouts, one straight and the other a down angled one. I didn't have to use either of them. I like the spring clamp to grasp the out spout at the disposal. I had to trim the plastic drain tubes under the sink. The height of the out spout is the same as the old disposal. The new disposal is fatter at the upper portion, but not so large that I had to trim anything under the sink. Well worth it for the extra silence you get.
After checking for leaks, and electrical integrity, I tried the disposal. It's so quiet compared to the old Insinkerator, you hardly know it's running. There is much less vibration as well. The new disposal has a 4 year warrantee. Here's hoping it lasts as long or longer than the old one.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Love this disposal

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this disposal to replace another Insinkerator 5/8 HP disposal which started leaking after 8 years. The prices was right, it was easy to install for someone who isn't the biggest DIYer on the planet, and it's quiet. It's chewed up everything we've put down it, including pits, chunks of pineapple rind and lime wedges with no issues.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GARBAGE DISPOSAL

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very quiet and tough, also easy to install. With two small kids, this garbage disposal get puts to good use. So far so good, I like my purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from CdA Idaho
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent replacement!

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had an existing in-sink-erator badger model installed and it finally gave up the ghost. I have never dealt with replacing one of these and figured I'd be at it all day. After some quick research I decided on this model and talked to an associate at the store and was dismayed at how easy I was told it was going to be to replace. 30 minutes and my new QUIET sink disposal was grinding away!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation a snap.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This disposal opperates much quiter than my previous garbage disposal. It was very easy to install. My wife loves it and that's what counts.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Flowery Brach, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So quiet, my wife thought I installed it wrong

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After installing it, I went to turn the breaker on. When I did, my wife turned the unit. It was so quiet, she thought I had installed it wrong.
I was amazed - I thought all disposers shook the cabinets loose and vibrated the sink like an agitator on a washing machine.
This is awesome. I'd write more, but I gotta go find stuff to grind up!
Pros: Durable, Nice Design
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Palatine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

quiet disposal that takes care of all food waste

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This disposal in not light in weight. After installing it I tested it and it is very quiet. I used bones,cucumber skin, potato skin and more. It is not as fast as the old one however it has a extra blade to chop into fine pieces and not clog the pipes. The noise is quiet and it doesn't soundl like a plane taking off. I would recommend this disposal. It was not cheap but well worth the extra price. I replaced the pipes while I was doing this. It makes sense to save yourself some cleanup if the seals fail in the plastic pipes , the kit was 15.00.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Evolution 5/8 Hp Disposal

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am happy with this purchase, I think this is a good quality disposal and it was pretty easy to install. It is much quieter the previous disposal we had.
To make the installation easier, I set the disposal on a scissor jack which allowed me to raise it up in just the right position to engage the lock ring. I left the lock collar only partially engaged while hooking up the drain connections. Then when I was satisfied that it was all aligned properly, I locked the collar completely, ran water and checked for leaks.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Gilbert Az
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage Disposal

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have had this disposal for about a month. So far it is working very well. It runs fairly quietly.Previously I've had other brands that deteriorated and leaked about every 3 to 4 years. I'm hoping to get a longer life span from this one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Quincy, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Job well done

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Unit installed easily (after adding flexibility to old pipes that should have been built-in). Instructions were good. Performance is very good and sound level is low as advertised.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Oregon City
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wonderful disposal.

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wonderful disposal. So far works fantastic. SO QUIET! Did much research before buying this...one of my BEST decisions. Installer was prompt, fast and efficient. Extremely courteous.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Garbage Disposal

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Selected this disposal for household of two, steady users. Liked its mid-range capacity and eco-features
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worth the money

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It does a great job grinder the food up and it quiet. love the capacity it can hold at one time
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Lombard, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Second time buyer

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The best feature about this disposal is: you can barely hear it. Honestly, my dad helped me install this and he wasn't sure why I was replacing the old one, since it still worked. Once it was in, he was more than convinced about my decision.
On top of the quiet advantage, the actual disposal action is incredibly powerful and effective. You will not regret purchasing this unit. I have installed two, and they are easy to put in and I'd buy another anytime.
Spend the money on the better product. It's well worth it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Pearland, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product...

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this unit to replace the Insikerator Badger model disposal that came with our home. So far it has proven to be an excellent purchase. It is ten times quieter than our original disposal. So quiet I was worried there was something wrong with it when I first turned it on. I had to put something in it to chew up just to make sure. Very easy to install. Took about 30 to 45 minutes. Only took that long because I had to cut about an inch and a half off the pvc drain tube to account for its larger size. And don't forget to punch out the plug for the dishwasher drain inlet before you install it. Very pleased with this product.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Sterling, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Machine!

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing is so powerful yet so quiet. Very easy to install too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Schertz, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Purchase of Garbage Disposal.

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The garbage disposal was easy to install and very quiet. The dishwasher drain connected to the garbage disposal and did not fully read the instructions and forgot to remove the drain plug on the garbage disposal Recommend having a RED sticker with instructions to remove on the disposal.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, excellent unit.
Cons: add a tag on the disposal for drain hookup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Greenfield, Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product! Best one yet!

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This disposal was easy to install, especially since I replaced a model that was twenty-one years old. It is quiet.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Roseville, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet and Powerful

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is one of the few purchases lately that have really pleased me. First lets start out with the installation. This was replacing an existing insinkerator so the installation for me was a breeze, in fact it took me longer to clean out the cupboard to be able to get in there and work than it did to remove the old disposal and install the new one. (Because the insinkerator flange was already installed, all I had to do was disconnect the drain, the dishwasher drain, and the electrical cord, and then just untwist the whole thing from the flange. Then I just had to reverse that process. The whole removal and install maybe took me 15-20 minutes. Now on to the performance. First let me say this thing is very quiet, you can carry on a normal conversation with this disposal running, if you're more than about 10-15 feet away you wouldn't know it was running. As for the performance, this is very powerful. Nothing I have put in there has been a problem. The other day I had a strip steak for dinner and there was a line of very tough gristle along one side, it was so tough it was difficult to cut with a very sharp knife. Now normally I don't put meat into the disposal but I thought I would try to see if this disposal would chew up this gristle (I really thought I was going to have to retrieve it from within and throw it away) but it just chewed it up and down the drain it went. Overall I would highly recommend this disposal. For the price it is very quiet and powerful.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>