728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Series garbage disposals are the world’s most advanced food garbage disposals . From the powerful induction motors with cutting edge grind technologies to the top-of-the-line sound reducing technologies, the Evolution Select Continuous Feed garbage Disposal delivers exceptional performance– a perfect solution for smaller households or kitchens with restricted cabinet space.
Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(168 reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product157 of 162reviews
Rating Breakdown 168 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(129)
4
(34)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Features 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product157 of 162reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer reviews for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Burlington, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great disposat

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our 20 year old Insinkerator was loud, and only partially effective: forget potato peels... It finally quit and started to smoke last week, so I bought this one at The Home Depot along with some Plumbers Putty. I had already turned off the power at the breaker and tested using an indicator for safety.
First, I removed the old flange and disposal, using the same plumbing and electrical cable to connect the new one. The new drain flap design is better than the old one, the rubber insert can be removed from the top, compared to the previous design which required removing the disposal to change. It took an hour for the entire switch out.
The kit includes a new sink flange, and a couple of different plastic out spouts, one straight and the other a down angled one. I didn't have to use either of them. I like the spring clamp to grasp the out spout at the disposal. I had to trim the plastic drain tubes under the sink. The height of the out spout is the same as the old disposal. The new disposal is fatter at the upper portion, but not so large that I had to trim anything under the sink. Well worth it for the extra silence you get.
After checking for leaks, and electrical integrity, I tried the disposal. It's so quiet compared to the old Insinkerator, you hardly know it's running. There is much less vibration as well. The new disposal has a 4 year warrantee. Here's hoping it lasts as long or longer than the old one.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Dunwoody, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Thanksgiving Killed Our Old Garbage Disposal

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just replaced our Insinkerator garbage disposal for the second time in 31 years in this house. Our old one started leaking after Thanksgiving. Since this was a replacement, the install only took about 30 minutes, because I could use the previous sink fitting. This installation is straightforward with simple tools. The only challenge is holding the unit up to the drain opening, keeping it square while locking all three lugs with a wrench in your other hand.
The new disposal is a good bit quieter than our old one. Best of all . . . Made in the U.S.A.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Stylish, Nice Design, made in the usa
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Love this disposal

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this disposal to replace another Insinkerator 5/8 HP disposal which started leaking after 8 years. The prices was right, it was easy to install for someone who isn't the biggest DIYer on the planet, and it's quiet. It's chewed up everything we've put down it, including pits, chunks of pineapple rind and lime wedges with no issues.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from San Diego
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Well worth the money Easy to install

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have installed hundreds of disposals in my 35 years of maintaining houses and apartments. If you are considering Badger, these are a much better unit hands down.
Badger units were cheaper so I thought they were the best solution for rental units, but after replacing so many of them, wearing out in as little as 3 years, I started installing Evolution disposals.
These Evolution disposals have an all stainless grinding zone, upgraded bearings and seals, and create half the noise and vibration compared to the Badger disposals. They are smaller than the stainless Waste King units I have, which also have proven to be good units.
So far every Evolution unit (at least 10), that I have installed are performing really well, really quiet, and I think will last a dozen years or more.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: more expensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from CdA Idaho
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent replacement!

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had an existing in-sink-erator badger model installed and it finally gave up the ghost. I have never dealt with replacing one of these and figured I'd be at it all day. After some quick research I decided on this model and talked to an associate at the store and was dismayed at how easy I was told it was going to be to replace. 30 minutes and my new QUIET sink disposal was grinding away!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GARBAGE DISPOSAL

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very quiet and tough, also easy to install. With two small kids, this garbage disposal get puts to good use. So far so good, I like my purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Palatine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

quiet disposal that takes care of all food waste

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This disposal in not light in weight. After installing it I tested it and it is very quiet. I used bones,cucumber skin, potato skin and more. It is not as fast as the old one however it has a extra blade to chop into fine pieces and not clog the pipes. The noise is quiet and it doesn't soundl like a plane taking off. I would recommend this disposal. It was not cheap but well worth the extra price. I replaced the pipes while I was doing this. It makes sense to save yourself some cleanup if the seals fail in the plastic pipes , the kit was 15.00.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation a snap.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This disposal opperates much quiter than my previous garbage disposal. It was very easy to install. My wife loves it and that's what counts.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Flowery Brach, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So quiet, my wife thought I installed it wrong

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After installing it, I went to turn the breaker on. When I did, my wife turned the unit. It was so quiet, she thought I had installed it wrong.
I was amazed - I thought all disposers shook the cabinets loose and vibrated the sink like an agitator on a washing machine.
This is awesome. I'd write more, but I gotta go find stuff to grind up!
Pros: Durable, Nice Design
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install, very quiet

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Literally took 30 minutes to install (using the old disposals existing bracket and my trucks tire jack to hold it firmly in place). When in operation it's hard to hear over the sound of the running water. Note that it does not come with a power cord, but I was able to reuse the one from the old disposal. Here's to it lasting longer than I'll be in this house!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Quiet!

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had this disposal for about 8 months now and love it. The reason? It Is so quiet. The first time I used it I didn't think it was actually on. It does a great job at handling the waste as well - which utilimately is the primary purpose.
Pros: Quiet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Westchester County, NY

Good Product

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very happy with this disposal. Not too expensive, grinds food remains efficiently and is not too noisy. Only complaint, which is minor, is that the covering cap is very cheap looking. A stainless steel one can be purchased but I think it could have been part of the purchase package.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: cheap looking cap
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Good Disposal Unit

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Compared to my old one which was a Badger that was put in by the builders this is a far superior product. The unit is very quiet as advertised and can barely hear it run over the running water that is turned on to use it. I had it professionally installed so I cant comment on ease of installation but seems to be a very good unit thus far. Not really sure on energy efficiency hasn't really noticeable in that regard as far billing reduction. The unit was a little pricey, but appears to be worth the investment.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Hyattsville MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shhhh...so quiet we thought it wasn't running.

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our plumber was in my daughter's house doing other work anyway, so I asked him to switch out the old builder's quality (there's an oxymoron!) disposal for this one. When he finished (about 20 minutes, which means it would have taken me an hour) he flipped the switch and said, "there, it's running." The sound I heard was the same sound as the old one made when the machine was jammed and the motor was humming but not engaging the gears. I didn't believe him and made him wait while I filled the sink with water, removed the stopper to see how it drained unassisted by the disposal, then flipped the switch to turn it on. There was an immediate removal of all the water in the sink. Later that evening, after rinsing off the dishes, my daughter (who didn't witness the installation) flipped the switch and said "it's not running." I repeated my fill- the-sink routine to show her that indeed it was running. This is the stealth bomber of disposals. I'm ordering a second one for my own kitchen.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, silent operation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Pearland, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product...

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this unit to replace the Insikerator Badger model disposal that came with our home. So far it has proven to be an excellent purchase. It is ten times quieter than our original disposal. So quiet I was worried there was something wrong with it when I first turned it on. I had to put something in it to chew up just to make sure. Very easy to install. Took about 30 to 45 minutes. Only took that long because I had to cut about an inch and a half off the pvc drain tube to account for its larger size. And don't forget to punch out the plug for the dishwasher drain inlet before you install it. Very pleased with this product.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from manchester,tn
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

just another diy

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The disposal is easy to install but I had to get a carjack to lift it so I could lock it in..
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Good disposal

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So far so good. Very quiet and quick for a garbage disposal.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from glen mills, pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

IT's ok. Not as good as my 20 yr old one

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
so far it's worked and is quiet but i dont think its very strong
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Roseville, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet and Powerful

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is one of the few purchases lately that have really pleased me. First lets start out with the installation. This was replacing an existing insinkerator so the installation for me was a breeze, in fact it took me longer to clean out the cupboard to be able to get in there and work than it did to remove the old disposal and install the new one. (Because the insinkerator flange was already installed, all I had to do was disconnect the drain, the dishwasher drain, and the electrical cord, and then just untwist the whole thing from the flange. Then I just had to reverse that process. The whole removal and install maybe took me 15-20 minutes. Now on to the performance. First let me say this thing is very quiet, you can carry on a normal conversation with this disposal running, if you're more than about 10-15 feet away you wouldn't know it was running. As for the performance, this is very powerful. Nothing I have put in there has been a problem. The other day I had a strip steak for dinner and there was a line of very tough gristle along one side, it was so tough it was difficult to cut with a very sharp knife. Now normally I don't put meat into the disposal but I thought I would try to see if this disposal would chew up this gristle (I really thought I was going to have to retrieve it from within and throw it away) but it just chewed it up and down the drain it went. Overall I would highly recommend this disposal. For the price it is very quiet and powerful.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
+44points
44out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Bartonville, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very quiet disposal

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product appears to be more efficient and durable than my last disposal. The installation was a a little harder than the previous disposal.due to this unit is heavier. My previous unit only lasted a few years compared to my original insatlled unit lasted almost 15 years.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>