728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Series garbage disposals are the world’s most advanced food garbage disposals . From the powerful induction motors with cutting edge grind technologies to the top-of-the-line sound reducing technologies, the Evolution Select Continuous Feed garbage Disposal delivers exceptional performance– a perfect solution for smaller households or kitchens with restricted cabinet space.
Overall rating:
4.689 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(119 reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product110 of 115reviews
Rating Breakdown 119 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(91)
4
(23)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product110 of 115reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer reviews for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Dunwoody, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Thanksgiving Killed Our Old Garbage Disposal

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just replaced our Insinkerator garbage disposal for the second time in 31 years in this house. Our old one started leaking after Thanksgiving. Since this was a replacement, the install only took about 30 minutes, because I could use the previous sink fitting. This installation is straightforward with simple tools. The only challenge is holding the unit up to the drain opening, keeping it square while locking all three lugs with a wrench in your other hand.
The new disposal is a good bit quieter than our old one. Best of all . . . Made in the U.S.A.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Stylish, Nice Design, made in the usa
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Love this disposal

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this disposal to replace another Insinkerator 5/8 HP disposal which started leaking after 8 years. The prices was right, it was easy to install for someone who isn't the biggest DIYer on the planet, and it's quiet. It's chewed up everything we've put down it, including pits, chunks of pineapple rind and lime wedges with no issues.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GARBAGE DISPOSAL

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very quiet and tough, also easy to install. With two small kids, this garbage disposal get puts to good use. So far so good, I like my purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from CdA Idaho
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent replacement!

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had an existing in-sink-erator badger model installed and it finally gave up the ghost. I have never dealt with replacing one of these and figured I'd be at it all day. After some quick research I decided on this model and talked to an associate at the store and was dismayed at how easy I was told it was going to be to replace. 30 minutes and my new QUIET sink disposal was grinding away!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation a snap.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This disposal opperates much quiter than my previous garbage disposal. It was very easy to install. My wife loves it and that's what counts.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Flowery Brach, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So quiet, my wife thought I installed it wrong

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After installing it, I went to turn the breaker on. When I did, my wife turned the unit. It was so quiet, she thought I had installed it wrong.
I was amazed - I thought all disposers shook the cabinets loose and vibrated the sink like an agitator on a washing machine.
This is awesome. I'd write more, but I gotta go find stuff to grind up!
Pros: Durable, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Pearland, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product...

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit to replace the Insikerator Badger model disposal that came with our home. So far it has proven to be an excellent purchase. It is ten times quieter than our original disposal. So quiet I was worried there was something wrong with it when I first turned it on. I had to put something in it to chew up just to make sure. Very easy to install. Took about 30 to 45 minutes. Only took that long because I had to cut about an inch and a half off the pvc drain tube to account for its larger size. And don't forget to punch out the plug for the dishwasher drain inlet before you install it. Very pleased with this product.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from state of hockey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice upgrade!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Much quieter than the old one. Easy to install. Seems solid.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Roseville, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet and Powerful

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one of the few purchases lately that have really pleased me. First lets start out with the installation. This was replacing an existing insinkerator so the installation for me was a breeze, in fact it took me longer to clean out the cupboard to be able to get in there and work than it did to remove the old disposal and install the new one. (Because the insinkerator flange was already installed, all I had to do was disconnect the drain, the dishwasher drain, and the electrical cord, and then just untwist the whole thing from the flange. Then I just had to reverse that process. The whole removal and install maybe took me 15-20 minutes. Now on to the performance. First let me say this thing is very quiet, you can carry on a normal conversation with this disposal running, if you're more than about 10-15 feet away you wouldn't know it was running. As for the performance, this is very powerful. Nothing I have put in there has been a problem. The other day I had a strip steak for dinner and there was a line of very tough gristle along one side, it was so tough it was difficult to cut with a very sharp knife. Now normally I don't put meat into the disposal but I thought I would try to see if this disposal would chew up this gristle (I really thought I was going to have to retrieve it from within and throw it away) but it just chewed it up and down the drain it went. Overall I would highly recommend this disposal. For the price it is very quiet and powerful.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Self Install - Surprising Quality

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Upon buying a new home, I discovered that I had inherited a severely neglected disposal unit. I suspect that the device was installed when the home was built (2006) and had been installed improperly at that time. It was missing the three tightening screws on the mount collar, so it had been leaking and rusting from pretty much every possible point. (Don't forget to use plumber's putty when installing!)
The Insinkerator Evolution Select 5/8 HP disposer was in the middle of the price range for available models. At the store, I could not determine if it included a Quick Lock mount (which it does) so I purchased one.
Note: The disposal does include a Quick Lock mount, gasket, and stopper.
Note: The disposal does NOT include a power cable, or strain relief parts. If you need one you must purchase an optional cable kit.
In my case, power was supplied from the wall / switch so the cable kit was not needed. However, since ALL disposals must be powered, I recommend to Insinkerator that they include the strain relief parts with the disposal.
Installation: A breeze. I had a much harder time removing the old rust-siezed mount. Almost all necessary parts are supplied. I had to re-use a PVC fitting from the old pipe, but I elected to use the new (provided) pipe and cut it to size. I purchased the recommended plumber's putty, and had no issues following directions. For electrical, I used some wire connectors I had available.
Noise: What Noise? There might be a problem if you do food prep in a library. The unit is specifically designed to reduce vibration. Sure you can tell it's running, which is important for not losing a spoon or perhaps a finger. There are models that are quieter, but after using this I can't see a reason to upgrade.
Appearance: It is maroon. Yep, just like on the package. Every time you reach under the sink for a cleaner, you'll probably find yourself admiring it. It also has a large interior chamber for relatively easy cleaning.
Made in USA! I'm glad to see that. Five stars; I didn't see anything that I felt was poor quality.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: some additional parts required.
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Cottonwood Heights, UT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage disposal is excellent and was easy to install.

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The garbage disposal I purchased was high quality and very easy to install.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Very Quite

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We wanted a garbage disposal that is quite. InSinkErator delivered.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Best

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I never thought I would be so excited about a disposal but this one is excellent. It is the most quiet operating one I have ever had.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Suberb!!

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After much research i decided to purchase the evolution select. I had it profrssionally installed and it didnt take long. As previously mentioned in another review, the sound of the water is louder than the disposal!! I have been using it for a month now and i still marvel over its power and quietness. Also deciding factors of all stainless grinding chamber and blades were important to me for durability/longterm use.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Rochster, MN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet and efficient

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This disposal is extremely quiet and works very well. The Insinkerator mounting system makes removal and replacement very easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Durable, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Extremely quite

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy install, after watching a video on it, took about an hour and a half.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Houghton Lake, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Glad we paid the extra!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are so glad we paid a little extra to purchase this. It is a lot less noisy than our previous model and has more baldes for grinding.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, High Quality, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from alpharetta
Age Range:35 to 44

Fantastinc Product so Far

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super quiet. Wifer thought it was nopt on. Super easy to install. 20 mintes with old sink fittings. Just got it going so not sure how well it grinds, but I love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

MAN, THAT'S QUIET

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one quiet garbage disposal. Installation was fast and easy. Took old one out and installed the new one in less than an hour. Not that I do this often, but that's got to be some kind of record.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Cartersville, G
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product, these are the best buy for the money spent on the market. Quiet, last forever and works well with septic systems.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>