728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Series garbage disposals are the world’s most advanced food garbage disposals . From the powerful induction motors with cutting edge grind technologies to the top-of-the-line sound reducing technologies, the Evolution Select Continuous Feed garbage Disposal delivers exceptional performance– a perfect solution for smaller households or kitchens with restricted cabinet space.
Overall rating:
4.702 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(124 reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product115 of 120reviews
Rating Breakdown 124 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(96)
4
(23)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product115 of 120reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 61 Answers
Customer reviews for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Dunwoody, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Thanksgiving Killed Our Old Garbage Disposal

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just replaced our Insinkerator garbage disposal for the second time in 31 years in this house. Our old one started leaking after Thanksgiving. Since this was a replacement, the install only took about 30 minutes, because I could use the previous sink fitting. This installation is straightforward with simple tools. The only challenge is holding the unit up to the drain opening, keeping it square while locking all three lugs with a wrench in your other hand.
The new disposal is a good bit quieter than our old one. Best of all . . . Made in the U.S.A.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Stylish, Nice Design, made in the usa
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Love this disposal

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this disposal to replace another Insinkerator 5/8 HP disposal which started leaking after 8 years. The prices was right, it was easy to install for someone who isn't the biggest DIYer on the planet, and it's quiet. It's chewed up everything we've put down it, including pits, chunks of pineapple rind and lime wedges with no issues.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GARBAGE DISPOSAL

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very quiet and tough, also easy to install. With two small kids, this garbage disposal get puts to good use. So far so good, I like my purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from CdA Idaho
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent replacement!

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had an existing in-sink-erator badger model installed and it finally gave up the ghost. I have never dealt with replacing one of these and figured I'd be at it all day. After some quick research I decided on this model and talked to an associate at the store and was dismayed at how easy I was told it was going to be to replace. 30 minutes and my new QUIET sink disposal was grinding away!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation a snap.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This disposal opperates much quiter than my previous garbage disposal. It was very easy to install. My wife loves it and that's what counts.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Flowery Brach, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So quiet, my wife thought I installed it wrong

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After installing it, I went to turn the breaker on. When I did, my wife turned the unit. It was so quiet, she thought I had installed it wrong.
I was amazed - I thought all disposers shook the cabinets loose and vibrated the sink like an agitator on a washing machine.
This is awesome. I'd write more, but I gotta go find stuff to grind up!
Pros: Durable, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Pearland, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product...

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit to replace the Insikerator Badger model disposal that came with our home. So far it has proven to be an excellent purchase. It is ten times quieter than our original disposal. So quiet I was worried there was something wrong with it when I first turned it on. I had to put something in it to chew up just to make sure. Very easy to install. Took about 30 to 45 minutes. Only took that long because I had to cut about an inch and a half off the pvc drain tube to account for its larger size. And don't forget to punch out the plug for the dishwasher drain inlet before you install it. Very pleased with this product.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Montgomery, Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highly rated by my plumber!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I realized I needed a new disposal for my kitchen reno, I immediately went to Home Depot online and began to shop. I read reviews and chose this model for both price, features and customer comments. I decided on the store pick up option and collected it on my way home from work. So convenient and simple!
When my plumber came to install it he was very positive about the model and that reinforced my choice. Thanks for making the entire process make sense.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Albuquerque, NM
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our 12 year old badger started leaking and i decided to do some research on some new disposals. This one has not been a disappointment . I was able to install it myself (house wife) and did not have any problems. I used the old power cord from the last one and I didn't need the putty because I used the mount that was there. Everything fit perfectly. I'm very happy with this unit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Dunedin, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Disposal

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the best disposal we have ever had. It is so quiet that you don't even know it's on. The cost is a little much, but worth it. It is a bit large and it does take a lot of room under our sink, but all the others are larger too. I would buy it again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Frisco, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super quiet and easy to install!

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our other contractor-grade disposal, an InSinkerator, started leaking after four years, so I was nervous to buy another one, especially after reading some of the bad reviews. After installing this one and turning it on, I smiled big time. It was very quiet to the point that it was hard to hear it running. Yes, the baffle drains slowly, but the disposal unit that is below the baffle works wonderfully! As far as "ill fitting" parts, I had to remove the old baffle along with the sink flange, fiber gasket, & mounting ring because the old baffle was of a thicker design & would not allow the installation of the new disposal with the old baffle installed. That was easy to fix! After cutting the pvc drain pipe to length, in order to fit the new "larger diameter" disposal, then all the parts fit together just fine. So, I am scratching my head as to why people are complaining about the installation of this product and its' operation. Also, one can use a hydraulic jack or something else to help hold the unit up while twisting the lower mounting ring onto the upper mounting ring. Hope this helps. Best wishes and you will not be disappointed with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design, super quiet!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Boca Raton, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage disposal

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We replaced one that was not working. This one works really well and is much quieter than the one we had. The old one sounded like a plane taking off and this is so quiet sometimes it is hard to tell it is on. Love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Roseville, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet and Powerful

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one of the few purchases lately that have really pleased me. First lets start out with the installation. This was replacing an existing insinkerator so the installation for me was a breeze, in fact it took me longer to clean out the cupboard to be able to get in there and work than it did to remove the old disposal and install the new one. (Because the insinkerator flange was already installed, all I had to do was disconnect the drain, the dishwasher drain, and the electrical cord, and then just untwist the whole thing from the flange. Then I just had to reverse that process. The whole removal and install maybe took me 15-20 minutes. Now on to the performance. First let me say this thing is very quiet, you can carry on a normal conversation with this disposal running, if you're more than about 10-15 feet away you wouldn't know it was running. As for the performance, this is very powerful. Nothing I have put in there has been a problem. The other day I had a strip steak for dinner and there was a line of very tough gristle along one side, it was so tough it was difficult to cut with a very sharp knife. Now normally I don't put meat into the disposal but I thought I would try to see if this disposal would chew up this gristle (I really thought I was going to have to retrieve it from within and throw it away) but it just chewed it up and down the drain it went. Overall I would highly recommend this disposal. For the price it is very quiet and powerful.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Self Install - Surprising Quality

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Upon buying a new home, I discovered that I had inherited a severely neglected disposal unit. I suspect that the device was installed when the home was built (2006) and had been installed improperly at that time. It was missing the three tightening screws on the mount collar, so it had been leaking and rusting from pretty much every possible point. (Don't forget to use plumber's putty when installing!)
The Insinkerator Evolution Select 5/8 HP disposer was in the middle of the price range for available models. At the store, I could not determine if it included a Quick Lock mount (which it does) so I purchased one.
Note: The disposal does include a Quick Lock mount, gasket, and stopper.
Note: The disposal does NOT include a power cable, or strain relief parts. If you need one you must purchase an optional cable kit.
In my case, power was supplied from the wall / switch so the cable kit was not needed. However, since ALL disposals must be powered, I recommend to Insinkerator that they include the strain relief parts with the disposal.
Installation: A breeze. I had a much harder time removing the old rust-siezed mount. Almost all necessary parts are supplied. I had to re-use a PVC fitting from the old pipe, but I elected to use the new (provided) pipe and cut it to size. I purchased the recommended plumber's putty, and had no issues following directions. For electrical, I used some wire connectors I had available.
Noise: What Noise? There might be a problem if you do food prep in a library. The unit is specifically designed to reduce vibration. Sure you can tell it's running, which is important for not losing a spoon or perhaps a finger. There are models that are quieter, but after using this I can't see a reason to upgrade.
Appearance: It is maroon. Yep, just like on the package. Every time you reach under the sink for a cleaner, you'll probably find yourself admiring it. It also has a large interior chamber for relatively easy cleaning.
Made in USA! I'm glad to see that. Five stars; I didn't see anything that I felt was poor quality.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: some additional parts required.
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from state of hockey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice upgrade!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Much quieter than the old one. Easy to install. Seems solid.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Cottonwood Heights, UT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage disposal is excellent and was easy to install.

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The garbage disposal I purchased was high quality and very easy to install.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Very Quite

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We wanted a garbage disposal that is quite. InSinkErator delivered.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Suberb!!

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After much research i decided to purchase the evolution select. I had it profrssionally installed and it didnt take long. As previously mentioned in another review, the sound of the water is louder than the disposal!! I have been using it for a month now and i still marvel over its power and quietness. Also deciding factors of all stainless grinding chamber and blades were important to me for durability/longterm use.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Best

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I never thought I would be so excited about a disposal but this one is excellent. It is the most quiet operating one I have ever had.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Select 5/8 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Rochster, MN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet and efficient

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This disposal is extremely quiet and works very well. The Insinkerator mounting system makes removal and replacement very easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Durable, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>