728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Series garbage disposals are the world s most advanced food garbage disposals . From the powerful induction motors with cutting edge grind technologies to the top-of-the-line sound reducing technologies, the Evolution SelectPlus Continuous Feed garbage Disposal delivers exceptional performance where it matters most to you a perfect solution for smaller households or kitchens with restricted cabinet space, providing more performance in a compact size.
Overall rating:
4.638 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(105 reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product97 of 101reviews
Rating Breakdown 105 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(85)
4
(12)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product97 of 101reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer reviews for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product/Easy Install

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this to replace a Badger 5 3/4 hp disposal that just stopped working. The instructions were very clear on the order of the steps that need to be taken to install. Remember you will need to purchase separately the Wire connector and some plumbers puddy. Easy install, a little heavier than the old one, but it's manageable to install. Very Quiet! Love the removable rubber drain seal in the new models..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Redmond, OR 97756, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Quiet!!

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this unit to replace a Badger 5 that developed a leak after 8 years of service.
This is so quiet that the house must be nearly silent in order to hear it when feeding it in the sink.
While I am not a novice for DIY, I am not a professional and this unit was a breeze to install, the most difficult part had to do with the snap ring. I used a screw driver, and pliers to make it snap into place. I also used a car jack to lift it so that I did not have to hold it up and fasten it into place.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Simpsonville, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is quiet as advertised! Great value for the money!

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced the original Badger with the Select Plus which greatly exceeded my expectations. Very quiet and able to easily gobble up the usual stuff that goes into the disposer. Due to tight space constraints in a townhome cabinet, I had to reroute the drain lines but installing the Select Plus unit itself was easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design, quiet!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Quiet, easy install, 6yr in home warranty

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this To replace a cracked and leaking Badger 5/8hp. I'll post an update after a few months to talk about performance but as far as installing goes this is what my review will mainly consist of. I'm no handy man but I watched a YouTube video on how to install an Insinkerator and it was really easy. The hardest thing for me was to snap the ring on the mount because it was pushing the flange up despite having a weight on it and the plumber's putty on. But I got it on in about 20 minutes and after that it was very simple. I had to saw one of the pipes because it was a little long. Total install time took me about an hour and a half. I'm a novice and found it fairly simple. I called some plumbers around town and they were charging between $150-200 for an install so I'm glad I was able to do it myself and save $$$ and also learn a valuable DIY lesson as well. So far it's really quiet. I haven't really had a chance to put much food down it yet but again, I'll update my review after a few solid months of good use.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Nice Addition to the Kitchen

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the Evolution Select Plus to replace my Insinkerator Badger 1, which had stopped operating after ~14 years. I purchased the Select Plus because I wanted a quiet model that could handle a large amount of vegetable matter (I'm a vegetarian who juices a lot). Additionally, I chose Insinkerator because of good reviews and because it required less work for the installation - as much of the hardware is compatible across their residential lines.
Installation was relatively easy. I watched an Insinkerator YouTube video and had the job completed in about 25 minutes. This is definitely a DYI project as long as your plumbing is up to date and you can physically lift it.
Performance is very good. I've put various fruit and veggie rinds down it and it eats them up quickly. The noise made is only slightly louder than the water running; I have to look at the disposal switch to make sure it's turned off while the water is running. So far no back ups, which I had with my Badger 1. One note is that the rubber baffle which sits in the sink drain opening seals fairly well, so I do have to physically push some of the food down otherwise the sink fills. That is a bit of a minus, however because it helps dampen the sound, it's a trade off.
Size: It's a good size unit and takes up a notable amount of cabinet space. Not a plus or minus, just a note.
Summary: It's a nice addition to my kitchen and I'm happy with my purchase. All things considered, I probably would have been happy with the Select, which is a bit less expensive, however this one is supposedly quieter and I'm very OK with that.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design, Quiet
Cons: baffle is tight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from KILGORE TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

a quality product!

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THE EVOLUTION GARBAGE DISPOSAL HAS PROVEN TO BE A QUALITY PRODUCT. IT RUNS VERY QUIIET AND ITS CONTINUOUS FEED ABILITIES ARE OUTSTANDING.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from SD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You get what you pay for

PostedMay 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The Kenmore unit I replaced was constantly jamming and plugging. I decided to invest a little more and get a higher end unit. The two main features of this product were noise reduction and two stage grinding. If you ever plug your pipes with a disposer, it isn't a pleasant task to get it cleared. Install was relatively easy and took about 1/2 hour. The other reviews mentioned difficulty installing the retaining ring. I had no problem. I started it on one end and worked it around. I have a couple of tips. Nowhere in the instructions did it say when or where to install the rubber component that you push the food through. I ended up snapping it on the part that connects to the sink, before I connected the motor to it. Also, you need to purchase a cord and clamp. If you want to use a cord you already have, you still need a clamp. Take one of the cord kits by the disposers ($12) to the electrical department (by the conduit and boxes and stuff). There you will find a clamp identical to the one in the kit for less than $1. As far as performance, it is very quiet and I haven't been able to clog it yet. I tried shoving a large amount of potato peels through it all at once and it handled them no problem.
Cons: problem with install instructions
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from denver
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More expensive but worth it..

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The disposal was easy to install. I did not have a disposal before this purchase. I picked the right one!!!
the 3/4hp does not come with a cord so make sure to get on. I also purchase the push button to fit on the sink. Also if you are putting in a disposal for the first time purchase a disposal drain kit also...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Lexington, KY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Replacement Disposal

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Old disposal, a lesser InSinkErator model installed by our builder 9 years ago, failed. Felt this model was a good compromise between that original unit and the significantly higher priced more top of the line model. It installed fairly easily (do it yourself manner). It was a bit larger in diameter than the previous model so had to slightly reconfigure the drain pipes but even that was easy.
It is MUCH quieter than our old model and does a better job of grinding food as well. We've had it about a month I guess and are, thus far, very pleased with it. Can't really evaluate energy efficiency since we use it only seconds at a time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Baltimore
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Home Depot Brand

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This is the home depot brand insinkerator. It is identical to the Insinkerator Evolution Compact except that isn't stocked in stores. There is a $45 difference for convenience. That being said, this thing is awesome. I had a Badger 5 which broke. It was loud, constantly would be outmatched by food, and it wouldn't completely grind things. Basically the badgers are terrible in comparison.
This is a quiet, quick, and thorough garbage disposal. It is significantly quieter, and thanks to the rubber hookup doesn't shake the sink the way the badger did. I love the thing. It is a serious step up. It is slightly wider than the badger, and I did installation myself. The hardest part was attaching the cord, and screwing the thing into the old insinkerator screw thing in the sink. That is much easier with two people, or people have said they used books or a car jack.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Bradenton, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super quiet!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very quiet and the rubber drain insert is removal for cleaning! The insert in our old InSinkErator could not be removed and was a constant irritation because I could not get it clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Philadelphia, PA
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Purchase For Me

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This garbage disposal is very quiet, even when grinding bones. My first Insinkerater lasted 25 years and I hope this last just as long. I would highly recommend this product.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Longmont
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Power Cord Not Included . . . really?

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This review nothing to do with the disposals quality, but more about quality control. Bought a new Evolution Plus-1 disposal to replace the old insinkerator after it burned out at 3 yrs. Could not find our receipt and HD and the HD credit card could only search back 2 yrs. Without a receipt Insinkerator could only guarantee the 4 yr warranty by date of manufacture, which was 2006 . . . we bought it in 2011 for around $175. Decided to go the next step up at $219. Tossed the old one and went to put the new one in and . . . NO POWER CORD! Nothing marked on the box stating it did not come with a power cord. My husband was however able to remove and recycle the old power cord. it should be posted on the box somewhere - " POWER CORD NOT INCLUDED". Checked the HD web site and it states that it comes with or without power cord - $12 for a new insinkerator cord. Home Depot should post a sign for us DIYers. Very inconvenient and just annoying!
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has been a problem since day one.It throws the garbage under the rim of disposal.I kept smelling a foul odor tried everything I knew to stop it. I ran my hand around rim and pulled out old garbage. I'm not using it anymore it is just there. disappointing.First time without disposal in 40 years.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from McDonough
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Recently Installed and Happy - IMPORTANT TIPS

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't think I would have believed someone a year ago if they told me that I'd one day write a review about a garbage disposal. Nevertheless, here I sit doing just that, because you guys deserve to know a couple things we discovered.
Lesson #1 - This thing is quiet. REALLY quiet. It's so quiet, in fact, that I forgot it was on while rinsing a sink full of dishes. It apparently overheated and shut off after about 10 minutes of continuous operation in lukewarm water. Once I discovered the problem, attempts to activate it were unsuccessful and the underside of the disposal housing had become VERY HOT. After allowing us both to cool down overnight, I discovered a solution the following morning. You'll find a blue button on the underside (near the power cord) called the overload protector. Regardless of whether or not you think it's popped out, push it in. If you hear a little click, you just fixed the problem. This advice is also given on the manufacturer's website if you search for "Resetting the Overload Protector."
Lesson #2 - DO NOT (under any circumstances) use this disposal to chop up gummy bears or any of their gummy friends (i.e. worms, savers, etc.). They will bounce all over and have a party while your disposal announces it to the neighborhood. The cutting edges are NO MATCH for them.
All in all, this gadget is worth every penny. We also purchased and recommend the optional air switch, which is far safer than a traditional wall switch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was replacing an older insinkerator model that just died. The install was super easy, especially for someone that has never installed a garbage disposal before. Since it was the same brand I was able to use to old hook up. It only took me about an hour to install it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Bartlett,IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

insinkerator garbage disposal

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit replaced a ten year old insinkerator garbage disposal which had a leak on the bottom of the unit.It was easy to install.and is much better than the old one.It is really really quiet.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Great buy

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced a 15 year old InSinkErator unit with this one. What a difference... Super quite and the whole counter doesn't shake anymore!!! Love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Cottonwood Heights, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Evolution 3/4 HP Garbage Disposal for Condo

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the quietest GB I had yet tried. It works efficiently and looks like it was built to last.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Powder Springs. GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Very Quiet

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a model up from the previous disposal I had. It is much quieter than the one before. It is also quieter than I expected from listening to the sample in the store. Definitely worth the extra money. No need to purchase the more expensive model if your concerned about noise.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>