728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Series garbage disposals are the world s most advanced food garbage disposals . From the powerful induction motors with cutting edge grind technologies to the top-of-the-line sound reducing technologies, the Evolution SelectPlus Continuous Feed garbage Disposal delivers exceptional performance where it matters most to you a perfect solution for smaller households or kitchens with restricted cabinet space, providing more performance in a compact size.
Overall rating:
4.68 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(231 reviews) 231
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product215 of 224reviews
Rating Breakdown 231 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(182)
4
(37)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Features 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product215 of 224reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer reviews for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be Queit cleaner

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I thought I would have a difficult time installing the garbage disposal because a few months back I helped a friend install one in his kitchen. We had a time trying to make it all fit properly. I was not looking forward to installing mine. I decided to go ahead and do the job and figured if I needed help, I would have it in a few hours. I removed the old unit and after reading the very clear instructions, I felt confident about doing the job myself, which is what I did. It was simple and quick. Following the instructions made the job pretty quick and clean. The unit operates very quietly and efficiently. Glad I did it!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product/Easy Install

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this to replace a Badger 5 3/4 hp disposal that just stopped working. The instructions were very clear on the order of the steps that need to be taken to install. Remember you will need to purchase separately the Wire connector and some plumbers puddy. Easy install, a little heavier than the old one, but it's manageable to install. Very Quiet! Love the removable rubber drain seal in the new models..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Redmond, OR 97756, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Quiet!!

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got this unit to replace a Badger 5 that developed a leak after 8 years of service.
This is so quiet that the house must be nearly silent in order to hear it when feeding it in the sink.
While I am not a novice for DIY, I am not a professional and this unit was a breeze to install, the most difficult part had to do with the snap ring. I used a screw driver, and pliers to make it snap into place. I also used a car jack to lift it so that I did not have to hold it up and fasten it into place.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Longmont, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a 66 year-old woman, and this disposal was very easy for me to install. The only tricky part was identifying the correct black and white wires in my old power cord which got reconnected to the new disposal. The noise reducing flexible connector that attaches the PVC pipe to the disposal was pretty handy although you need some channel lock pliers or something to open the spring wide enough to slide on. Also, the disposal was too heavy for me to be able to hold with one arm while trying to rotate it onto the tabs. However, I simply used my car jack which not only held it but kept it perfectly level as well so that I didn't miss one of the 3 tabs. I used the existing parts that attached to the sink as they were the same as the new ones and did not need replacement. That really sped up the install process which was less than 30 minutes.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, High Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Simpsonville, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is quiet as advertised! Great value for the money!

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Replaced the original Badger with the Select Plus which greatly exceeded my expectations. Very quiet and able to easily gobble up the usual stuff that goes into the disposer. Due to tight space constraints in a townhome cabinet, I had to reroute the drain lines but installing the Select Plus unit itself was easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design, quiet!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Quiet, easy install, 6yr in home warranty

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this To replace a cracked and leaking Badger 5/8hp. I'll post an update after a few months to talk about performance but as far as installing goes this is what my review will mainly consist of. I'm no handy man but I watched a YouTube video on how to install an Insinkerator and it was really easy. The hardest thing for me was to snap the ring on the mount because it was pushing the flange up despite having a weight on it and the plumber's putty on. But I got it on in about 20 minutes and after that it was very simple. I had to saw one of the pipes because it was a little long. Total install time took me about an hour and a half. I'm a novice and found it fairly simple. I called some plumbers around town and they were charging between $150-200 for an install so I'm glad I was able to do it myself and save $$$ and also learn a valuable DIY lesson as well. So far it's really quiet. I haven't really had a chance to put much food down it yet but again, I'll update my review after a few solid months of good use.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Nice Addition to the Kitchen

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased the Evolution Select Plus to replace my Insinkerator Badger 1, which had stopped operating after ~14 years. I purchased the Select Plus because I wanted a quiet model that could handle a large amount of vegetable matter (I'm a vegetarian who juices a lot). Additionally, I chose Insinkerator because of good reviews and because it required less work for the installation - as much of the hardware is compatible across their residential lines.
Installation was relatively easy. I watched an Insinkerator YouTube video and had the job completed in about 25 minutes. This is definitely a DYI project as long as your plumbing is up to date and you can physically lift it.
Performance is very good. I've put various fruit and veggie rinds down it and it eats them up quickly. The noise made is only slightly louder than the water running; I have to look at the disposal switch to make sure it's turned off while the water is running. So far no back ups, which I had with my Badger 1. One note is that the rubber baffle which sits in the sink drain opening seals fairly well, so I do have to physically push some of the food down otherwise the sink fills. That is a bit of a minus, however because it helps dampen the sound, it's a trade off.
Size: It's a good size unit and takes up a notable amount of cabinet space. Not a plus or minus, just a note.
Summary: It's a nice addition to my kitchen and I'm happy with my purchase. All things considered, I probably would have been happy with the Select, which is a bit less expensive, however this one is supposedly quieter and I'm very OK with that.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design, Quiet
Cons: baffle is tight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Great Product

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did research on different disposals and the cost. I went to a few stores just getting a general idea of the brands available. I talked to a few people and they recommended another brand, but it sounded like the Tasmanian devil so I decided against that one. I am very happy with this insinkerator. It is so quiet and was easy to install. I would recommend this product to anyone who needs a new disposal or even installing one for the first time.novice to pro.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from fairfield, oh
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good garbage disposal - very quiet

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Replaced a 10+ year old Badger that did not handle a couple of aluminum measuring spoons that mistakenly slipped down the drain...
The new unit is incredibly quiet and grinds food much faster
The only problem I see at this point is that the rubber stopper is much stiffer, and you have to push everything down the drain. At least this will keep us from attempting to grind any more spoons...
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Salt Lake City, UT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

extremely quiet and easy to install

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The purchase was seamless as I ordered on line with instore pickup. When I arrived it was at the desk and was ready so I was in and out in 2 minutes or less. the install was pretty seamless. the only semi difficult part was knocking the plastic plug out for the dishwasher. It took a few whacks to get the plug removed. Otherwise it was installed in about 30-40 minutes with 10 minutes of reading prior to the install.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from rogers Arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Quiet

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed it about 30 minutes and I see others had the same experience. You may want to watch the video on YouTube just makes the job more predictable . Runs very smooth and quiet.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Super garbage disposal

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This garbage disposal is so quiet we aren't even sure it's working! It seems to be an excellent product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from SD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You get what you pay for

PostedMay 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The Kenmore unit I replaced was constantly jamming and plugging. I decided to invest a little more and get a higher end unit. The two main features of this product were noise reduction and two stage grinding. If you ever plug your pipes with a disposer, it isn't a pleasant task to get it cleared. Install was relatively easy and took about 1/2 hour. The other reviews mentioned difficulty installing the retaining ring. I had no problem. I started it on one end and worked it around. I have a couple of tips. Nowhere in the instructions did it say when or where to install the rubber component that you push the food through. I ended up snapping it on the part that connects to the sink, before I connected the motor to it. Also, you need to purchase a cord and clamp. If you want to use a cord you already have, you still need a clamp. Take one of the cord kits by the disposers ($12) to the electrical department (by the conduit and boxes and stuff). There you will find a clamp identical to the one in the kit for less than $1. As far as performance, it is very quiet and I haven't been able to clog it yet. I tried shoving a large amount of potato peels through it all at once and it handled them no problem.
Cons: problem with install instructions
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Jacksonville, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet and efficient

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our previous garbage disposal seemed fine, but after installing this unit we realized how noisy the old one was. This unit is so quiet we were not sure we turned it on the first time we used it. Easy to install and works great. I was so impressed with the unit that I bought and installed one in my daughter's house.
Pros: Quiet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Naples, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy install and so quiet

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Decided to spring for the super quiet model and it is living up to its reputation. Installation was easy especially with the tip from a review by hotdoxy to use a car jack to hold it in place while tightening the connecting ring. The unit weighs 20 lbs; I would never have been able to hold it in place (much less get it in place) while tightening the ring. Unit looks great, works great, and is super quiet.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Unit, but One Major Flaw...

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
On my disposal replacement, I opted to spend more on the Evolution Select Plus 3/4-hp unit from InSinkErator. While the unit is solid, performs well, installed easily, and has a great noise level -- the unit is a complete failure due to the $0.50 rubber baffle design. The "baffle" is the rubber drain cover that you see when looking into the sink that the food flows through to enter the disposal. The aperature on the baffle is so small, that water will not drain into it effectively -- causing the sink to fill up. It doesn't matter if the unit is on or off, water will not effectively drain through the aperature. If you google this issue, you'll see many others complaining of it. I just sent a message to the recommended email address of InSinkEratorFeedback@Emerson.com to ask if there is resolution to the problem.
Very discouraging that I have to either reach in and hold the aperature open to drain the sink or remove the baffle in full to use the unit, thus leaving the sink drain completely open to the disposal until (serious safety hazard).
In summary, good unit -- but the $0.50 rubber drain cover makes it painful to use. I'm back to the cheaper Badger next time. Amazing this baffle design could ever make it to the market.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, good noise reduction
Cons: poor design of baffle
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from McDonough
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Recently Installed and Happy - IMPORTANT TIPS

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't think I would have believed someone a year ago if they told me that I'd one day write a review about a garbage disposal. Nevertheless, here I sit doing just that, because you guys deserve to know a couple things we discovered.
Lesson #1 - This thing is quiet. REALLY quiet. It's so quiet, in fact, that I forgot it was on while rinsing a sink full of dishes. It apparently overheated and shut off after about 10 minutes of continuous operation in lukewarm water. Once I discovered the problem, attempts to activate it were unsuccessful and the underside of the disposal housing had become VERY HOT. After allowing us both to cool down overnight, I discovered a solution the following morning. You'll find a blue button on the underside (near the power cord) called the overload protector. Regardless of whether or not you think it's popped out, push it in. If you hear a little click, you just fixed the problem. This advice is also given on the manufacturer's website if you search for "Resetting the Overload Protector."
Lesson #2 - DO NOT (under any circumstances) use this disposal to chop up gummy bears or any of their gummy friends (i.e. worms, savers, etc.). They will bounce all over and have a party while your disposal announces it to the neighborhood. The cutting edges are NO MATCH for them.
All in all, this gadget is worth every penny. We also purchased and recommend the optional air switch, which is far safer than a traditional wall switch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Largo, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The disposal was relatively easy to install and it runs very smoothly.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Essex, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Disposal Unit for Homeowner

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Whisper quiet, easy to install, compact, well constructed stainless steel sink connection, inlet chute, and grinder. Only one issue - local Home Depot listed 10 in stock, I made trip there, and they had none! Went to another home center to buy same unit in different color and different model name - but identical in all other respects. Evidently, Insinkerator supplies special colors and model names to certain store chains, but they are all the same. In fact, Insinkerator also makes the internals for another major kitchen appliance brand. I have no resason to think the Home Depot version will perform any differently than the one I bought and my review is based upon that assumption.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, critical components are stainless not plastic
Cons: none
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Select Plus 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Poor hose clamp

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
this Garbage disposal is a good product. Installation went well. The 5 cent spring hose clam is a joke! I would have rated this product a 5 if they were not so cheep on the hose clam. I am sure that this clam will cause a leak.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: poor hose clamp
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>