728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mosaic Tile or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Paradise Bay 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Stone Metal Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile

Paradise Bay 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Stone Metal Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile

With the M S International Inc 12 in. x 12 in. Paradise Bay Glass, Metal and Stone Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Wall Tile, it's easy to add a splash of contemporary styling to your decor. This tile is constructed from durable, frost-resistant glass, metal and honed marble that is suitable for installation on walls. The attractive combination of an unglazed, smooth finish, with a mixture of high/low sheen and subtle variations in tone makes a perfect complement for a wide variety of design schemes.
Overall rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product10 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product10 of 11reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Paradise Bay 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Stone Metal Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
Review 1 for Paradise Bay 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Stone Metal Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from North Mankato, MN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fantastic Tile!

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I absolutely love my new wall tile! I was at Home Depot looking for backsplash tile for my kitchen when I saw this Paradise Bay tile. (it didn't match the coloring I wanted for the kitchen- I chose a different tile for that, also at Home Depot). But, I fell in love with this tile and HAD to use it somewhere. I decided it would work in our little powder room bathroom, which was kind of bland. I chose to use the tile on the full wall behind the pedestal sink -the entire wall, top to bottom. I am so pleased with how it looks. We used Light Smoke grout color. The pricing was reasonable too. It looks more expensive than it is.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Paradise Bay 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Stone Metal Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from Omaha
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality tile

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Just put in about 30 sheets on my back splash in kitchen. The mesh backing is very sturdy and held up very well in the wet saw. An occasional sheet would have a crooked tile on it, and would need to be pulled off and re-set. Depending on how it layed, I either pulled the piece off and taped it back in place. If the backing mesh became stretched, I would cut the mesh out, and then tape it in place. The little silver tiles are what looks like aluminum pieces glued over a piece of stone. When cutting, the silver pieces can come off and need to be re-glued. This only happened a couple times. The toughest part of the install was grouting. The stone tiles suck up moisture while the glass not at all. The stone tiles would have the grout dry over the top of them very quickly and were difficult to clean when taking off the excess grout with a damp sponge. Might make sense to seal the tiles, or using a grout release before tiling. Not overly difficult, I spread grout, while the wife came back 15-20 minutes later and was sponging up. I waffled between white and grey grout and chose and am happy with white. I ordered this for same day pickup and was concerned I might find broken tile pieces, but I only found a couple blemishes or issues as described above. Tile was cut with a pretty basic wet tile saw, with average diamond blade.
Pros: High Quality of Material
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Paradise Bay 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Stone Metal Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Created a point of interest in the bathroom

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The end result was great. I ended up having to contact the manufacturer for clearer instructions, i.e. can you hang on drywall (no - requires backer board). Their customer service was responsive and timely. So I ripped out the drywall and installed Hardy board I bought at Depot. Then I laid out the tiles dry on the floor to ensure how they would be installed on my wall. Make sure you use white thinset that is compatible with glass tiles. Using a ledger board I started at the second row and worked my way to the ceiling. I used 1/8" spacers from Depot to maintain spacing. Then the next morning I removed the ledger board and installed the bottom row. This absolutely prevents sagging or shifting of the tiles.
I had to cut tiles to finish both at the ceiling and the floor. Remember, the tiles are staggered. So I used a Dremel tool with a Dremel 545 Diamond Wheel I bought at Depot. These tiles are small and this worked really well trimming the 1/4" I needed to make them fit perfectly (Ceilings and floors aren't perfect). Run the tool at full speed and go slow! You need safety glasses, too!
I used the Mushroom colored NONSANDED grout. I ordered online from Depot on a Sunday and had it by Friday. I used almost all of the ten pounds to cover the wall which is 3'x8'.
I also had to exchange about 8 tiles for ones not damaged, but fine, they get manhandled at the stores, not really a big deal. And Depot processed my exchange with no problem.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Paradise Bay 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Stone Metal Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from Olympia Fields, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful tile easy to install does have some flaws in tile work but not really noticiable once install.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product installs very easy and looks beautiful. The colors reflect beautifully in natural lighting.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Great Accent, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Paradise Bay 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Stone Metal Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from Holland, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used in a master bathroom shower/backsplash - warning!

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This looked fabulous when we finished the installation... here we are after just 3 weeks of use and the metal in these tiles is showing signs of RUST and it is dripping down and staining my complementing tile below it!! This is a huge issue. Looking at the packaging, it says in big letters "adds contemporary elegance to kitchens, backsplashes, tub and shower surrounds, pools and spas..." however, in very small print at the bottom it contradicts this statement. I, for one, never saw that it says "... mosaics with metal are not recommended for use around heavy water including tubs, shower surrounds, ..." So be warned. It is beautiful, but after paying a professional to install it, I am wondering now if I have to take it all out! Even the tile on the walls outside the shower surround are showing rust signs. So buyer, beware for sure!!
Pros: Looks High End
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Paradise Bay 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Stone Metal Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from Houston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Among all the mesh tile

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unique mesh tile design has worked to create one of the most dynamic kitchen back splash designs I have seen lately. So many homes are being flipped in the market using the same tile designs, I immediately attracted to this pattern.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Great Accent, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Paradise Bay 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Stone Metal Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from Norristown, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

it is great looks custom made looks more expensive than it is

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
looks absolutely gorgeous in my kitchen. was installed by my contactor as my backsplash. i picked it out. it really made my kitchen pop. brings the colors of my kitchen together. love it love it.
Pros: Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Paradise Bay 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Stone Metal Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Color and Material Combination

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I first bought a sample piece to see how it work out for my bathroom remodel. Great look for a contemporary design. The cool glass tiles make a great combination with the warm browns from the marble tiles and the cold steel of the aluminum accents. Plus, the tile layout is different pattern.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Great Accent, Looks High End
Cons: one glass tile arrived chipped
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Paradise Bay 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Stone Metal Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from Frisco, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect color palette, mix of textures and price!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used this mixed media mosaic as the accent in our custom shower and LOVE it! We went to many high-end tile shops and didn't find anything we liked as well as this. The color palette is so soothing and can be taken in so many directions. Additionally, the blend of glass, stone and metal make for a really sophisticated accent. We recently purchased more to install as a back splash around our vanities. Can't really speak to ease of installation since it was installed by someone else. LOVE this tile!
Pros: Great Accent, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Paradise Bay 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Stone Metal Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from New Mexico
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very classy look

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We are using this tile for our new shower walls. It looks great...very classy and high end. It is a jack and jill bathroom for kids(boy and girl) but looks more masculine. Don't think my daughter will notice that. We are using this tile for our new shower walls. It looks very classy and high end.Only problem I had was finding a store that had it in stock. The online service does not update quick enough. We were two tiles short of finishing our project and had to drive 2.5 hours(spend the night) to get to a store that claimed to have it in stock. The online store said our chosen store had 12 in stock ready for pick up. I know we should have called first but didn't. I checked again early in the morning and it said '12'. I got to the store and they had 2. I only needed 2 so I got lucky. You would think the store and its online computer services would be linked. When someone buys a tile, it gets deleted...seems simple to me. All worked out in the end...shower looks great. Only other complaint would be if Home Depot carries a tile such as the one I bought, maybe have complementary tiles in the same color family or suggestions that may go well with it. I bought the floor and ceiling from Lowe's.
Pros: Looks Great, Modern, Looks High End
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Paradise Bay 12 in. x 12 in. x 8 mm Glass Stone Metal Mesh-Mounted Mosaic Tile
from San Juan, Puerto Rico
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very good

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this ítem was a good prices and very easy to instal,
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.