728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Umbrellas & Bases or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Get the best of both day and night using this Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella. It's generously sized 11 ft. diameter canopy blocks the sun's rays throughout the day. Come nighttime, out comes it's LED lights to add a gentle ambiance to your evening gathering. Easy tilt operation is more user-friendly than ever. 9-1/4 ft. height. Umbrella must be stored in dry place during inclement weather.
Overall rating:
2.032 / 5
2
 / 
5
(185 reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
25%of customersrecommend this product45 of 180reviews
Rating Breakdown 185 reviews
2.0 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(14)
3
(11)
2
(15)
1
(117)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
25%of customersrecommend this product45 of 180reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer reviews for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Review 21 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Great Umbrella!

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't believe all the bad reviews for this product. I have had this for two years with no issues. The umbrella does its job giving shade and protecting us from the sun on a hot day. At night, the LED lights are a very nice touch as they provide more than ample light for any occasion. Yes the umbrella does have some plastic parts; however, I feel the overall construction is solid. No patio umbrella is designed to with stand hurricane force winds or severe weather of any kind. If the wind kicks up we crank the umbrella down until it subsides. If the weather is going to be poor for longer periods of time we take the umbrella out of the base and store it away. It takes about 30 seconds to remove it from the stand and can be moved with little difficulty. Perhaps i have been fortunate so far but i do live in a very windy area and again have zero complaints.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: higher price.
+7points
16out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased 6/12 and its been falling apart ever since. Was missing part of the base, I made my own. Lever to open & close broke like everyone else's. just tried the led lights & now they don't work. 90 day warranty ? I'm going to call Home Depot customer service & see if they'll step up. If not, I'll never make another major purchase from anybody but Costco.
Cons: Cheap Material, Difficult to Assemble, Not Durable
+49points
51out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Brick,NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great investment

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hi End beautiful umbrella. I Bolted this 11 ft. umbrella to my upper deck and did not use stand. I live on water and always have winds . I have had to put my other 2 umbrellas down but not this one! I recommend taking bottom pole with 4 holes to H D and getting bolts and washers to fit it. It is well worth it to do so! Great in the heat of day and beautiful to sit under at night with solar lights!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Ohio

Great umbrella so far

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Some of the other reviews gave this umbrella a bad rating. Realize that this is a very large umbrella and it has to be weighted down (200+# of sand) and the tether strap that holds the umbrella to the canteliever arm needs to be used at all times, even when it is not windy. It is expensive but not as much as some that I have seen elsewhere that were smaller and didn't seem to have as good a base. I don't know how long it will last but with care it should be good.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Ottawa, ontario
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Expensive price of junk!

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a couple months LED lights stopped working. Was sent a replacement solar panel. Put it on brand new the next summer and lasted 2 uses before LED lights started to go. Now it doesn't work at all. Customer service won't do a thing because I am past my yr warren toy by 1 month even though they know the umbrella hasn't worked properly since purchase.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Ft. Worth, TX

Looks great, but I recommend you don't purchase

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First couple of uses, this thing was awesome, and we loved it. After about 60 days, the connector at the top of the umbrella broke, and we couldn't open it anymore. We finagled it, and got it open, only to find one of the arms snapped, and about five of the LED bulbs not working. No windstorm exposure, no abuse. As I was disassembling to take this thing back, I found cracks in the plastic connector where you secure the swinging mechanism. This could be a fantastic umbrella, but it is too cheaply assembled. Stay away.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from rancho cucamonga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great shade tree

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very easy to set up and the quality was great looks good when set up and the solar lites at night are awsome
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

A waste of money. Broke in less than 2 weeks.

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Crank handle broke in less than 2 weeks. Plastic housing inside needs to be made better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Okeechobee, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looked good in the store. It impressed me with it's sturdy look. This is a complete waste of money. Piece of junk.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I let the umbrella down any time there was excess wind. A slight gust of wind came up one day while we were sitting under it and there was a loud pop. The swivel at the top of the umbrella snapped and left the canopy dangling on the cord. Upon investigation I found out how cheaply this thing is made. Should be taken off the market or sold for indoor use only.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful Umbrella but did not last a Month!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The parts that hold the umbrella down is plastic so cracked in less than a month, I was so upset because is a beautiful umbrella and the solar light looks beautiful at night, Don't understand why they will do the pole on strong aluminum but the arms that hold & gets the heavy weight of the umbrella is cheap plastic which give up in less than a month. Even the handle did not open the umbrella 3 weeks later....2 things that went wrong..:( I read the bad reviews but I purchased anyway I should of not purchased. But Home Depot stands behind their product and I got full Refund. On the other hand, I wish the engineer department redesign those parts that are the problem..because it really look beautiful but last less than a month. I was so upset because I was really in love with the looks of the umbrella!
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap Umbrella, Poor Quality...

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought approx March 2012. Agreed with most complaints. To the company that manufactured this product, this product is 'Low Quality'. So many cheap components that do not work (had to modify to keep it working). The spindle which locks the umbrella from rotation never locked the umbrella. The Solar Lights quit working after 8 months. I added a few items to the product to make it better. To all those who do buy this product. Purchase an umbrella cover, if not, the sun will destroy the product in a short time. 2nd, use a rope or tie down to keep the umbrella from sailing.
The only reason I gave this product 2 stars and not 1 star is I modified the product and I am still using it. If without the mods, I give it 1 star.
To home depot, find a new manufacture, hurts your company...
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, cheap harware
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Worst Purchase Ever

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Solar lights stopped working. Now cheap plastic handle broke. All just after 1 year warranty. DO NOT BUY!!
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Marietta, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hampton Bay 11 ft. Umbrella also known as JUNK!

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cheap, Cheap, Cheap! The crank that opens and closes the Umbrella is a joke. When this crank fails there is NO WAY to get inside the support arm to fix it. It turns your $300 umbrella into a boat anchor. Do NOT buy this Hampton Bay junk!!!!!!
Pros: no pros at all
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, bad engineering
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Terrible!

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ok, so we thought we were getting a great deal when we compared it to other products that cost 3 times as much. Clearly, you get what you pay for. We bought the umbrella in June and by July bye- bye solar lights. They just stopped working! the mechanism that this umbrella has to keep it from swinging from side to side does not work. I constantly have to get up from my seat to go adjust the umbrella so that I can get some shade. The construction of the actual umbrella is so shotty that my puppy got a hold of it and tore the whole fabric off its frame. I can go on and on with the problems, but I think you get the idea. If you really like this type of umbrella do yourself a favor and spend the extra money for a real good one. This product looks nice in the store, but believe me it's not worth the money.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Brookhaven, PA

Tear in Canopy

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
So we loved this umbrella in the store. We were attracted to the sturdy base. Put it together, cranked it open and there is a small tear in the fabric. I called the customer service number as instructed and told I would be sent a replacement arm/fabric because you cannot change the fabric. 2 weeks later, I received a COVER for the umbrella. The instructions for fabric replacement were emailed to me twice but they were for the wrong umbrella. A different customer service rep called me and indicated that the cover was the only replacement part available at this time. Really? Now, I have a tear in my fabric and a cover I will probably never use. I love this umbrella, don't get me wrong. It has withstood some high winds and rain and is easy to operate. What I don't love is the hassle I'm going through.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Umbrella

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this Umbrella.... It was very easy to assemble, very sturdy and looks great. We received an awesome deal on this as it was on sale for the end of the season. Costco had similar Umbrella (it didn't have solar lights and wasn't as sturdy) and it was about $500.00 more. We would definitely recommend this Umbrella!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight
Cons: can't be up if too windy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Coral Springs, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not worth buying

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one summer of 2013 looked great in the store. first big wind two spokes broke, well OK I should have put it down and didn't. Bought a second one February 2014 by mid August the rope pulley assembly inside broke and you can no longer open the umbrella. A real shame it looks great.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Conway, AR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed in this product

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall, I am disappointed with this product. The fabric didn't last even 2 full summers before it began to rip and fray. I haven't had any trouble with the base - I filled the base with 200 lbs of play sand, and the base is very solid - but the arm sways from side to side, making it difficult to stay in the shade of the umbrella. This product is way to expensive to only last one season. I would not recommend that you buy this.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, not stable in light breeze
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

same as everyone else

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this umbrella last summer and went to put it out and use it a month ago and it would open. The crank just spins and spins! Listen to the reviews! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Medical Lake, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst experience EVER!!!

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Words cannot express the disappointment in this product! It does not hold up to any type of wind blowing at all! At the top of the umbrella it has a poorly constructed very thin molded plastic piece at the hinge. When the wind blows the umbrella tilts and the hinge breaks ! The first time when it happened I had only owned it for 2 weeks. I needed to disassemble it to pack it all up to return it and bring it back to the store. The manufacturer has a One Year warranty on the umbrella and told us that it was a "rarity " that it would snap like that. I waited 2 weeks for them to ship me another one.... Reassembled it, only for it to happen again 10 days later! This is definitely poorly manufactured and designed... I would not recommend this item to be purchased until they change this construction!
Cons: Cheap Material, Difficult to Assemble, Not Durable, thin plastic parts cheaply made!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>