728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Umbrellas & Bases or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Get the best of both day and night using this Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella. It's generously sized 11 ft. diameter canopy blocks the sun's rays throughout the day. Come nighttime, out comes it's LED lights to add a gentle ambiance to your evening gathering. Easy tilt operation is more user-friendly than ever. 9-1/4 ft. height. Umbrella must be stored in dry place during inclement weather.
Overall rating:
2.047 / 5
2
 / 
5
(193 reviews) 193
Open Ratings Snapshot
26%of customersrecommend this product48 of 188reviews
Rating Breakdown 193 reviews
2.0 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(15)
3
(11)
2
(15)
1
(122)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
26%of customersrecommend this product48 of 188reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer reviews for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Review 21 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased 6/12 and its been falling apart ever since. Was missing part of the base, I made my own. Lever to open & close broke like everyone else's. just tried the led lights & now they don't work. 90 day warranty ? I'm going to call Home Depot customer service & see if they'll step up. If not, I'll never make another major purchase from anybody but Costco.
Cons: Cheap Material, Difficult to Assemble, Not Durable
+50points
52out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Birmingham, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cool umbrella

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this umbrella as a season-end close-out, at a very good price. Wasn't quite certain what to expect, but it's better than anticipated...good quality. heavy, works as intended, and provides great shade. Downside: set-up took a bit of effort, filling base bags with sand and placing them in the base. After 10 minutes, however, all was finished, solid, and good-to-go. It's a good deal.
Pros: Energy Efficient, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: base sand bags are awkward to maneuver
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Waste Your Money

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you leave this umbrella open during a windy day/night it's very likely to get broken. The product is not durable and won't last even one season. I would not buy this product again.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Great Umbrella!

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't believe all the bad reviews for this product. I have had this for two years with no issues. The umbrella does its job giving shade and protecting us from the sun on a hot day. At night, the LED lights are a very nice touch as they provide more than ample light for any occasion. Yes the umbrella does have some plastic parts; however, I feel the overall construction is solid. No patio umbrella is designed to with stand hurricane force winds or severe weather of any kind. If the wind kicks up we crank the umbrella down until it subsides. If the weather is going to be poor for longer periods of time we take the umbrella out of the base and store it away. It takes about 30 seconds to remove it from the stand and can be moved with little difficulty. Perhaps i have been fortunate so far but i do live in a very windy area and again have zero complaints.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: higher price.
+7points
16out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

very good value

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to use. works great. well worth the money spent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap Umbrella, Poor Quality...

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought approx March 2012. Agreed with most complaints. To the company that manufactured this product, this product is 'Low Quality'. So many cheap components that do not work (had to modify to keep it working). The spindle which locks the umbrella from rotation never locked the umbrella. The Solar Lights quit working after 8 months. I added a few items to the product to make it better. To all those who do buy this product. Purchase an umbrella cover, if not, the sun will destroy the product in a short time. 2nd, use a rope or tie down to keep the umbrella from sailing.
The only reason I gave this product 2 stars and not 1 star is I modified the product and I am still using it. If without the mods, I give it 1 star.
To home depot, find a new manufacture, hurts your company...
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, cheap harware
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Brick,NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great investment

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hi End beautiful umbrella. I Bolted this 11 ft. umbrella to my upper deck and did not use stand. I live on water and always have winds . I have had to put my other 2 umbrellas down but not this one! I recommend taking bottom pole with 4 holes to H D and getting bolts and washers to fit it. It is well worth it to do so! Great in the heat of day and beautiful to sit under at night with solar lights!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Conway, AR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed in this product

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall, I am disappointed with this product. The fabric didn't last even 2 full summers before it began to rip and fray. I haven't had any trouble with the base - I filled the base with 200 lbs of play sand, and the base is very solid - but the arm sways from side to side, making it difficult to stay in the shade of the umbrella. This product is way to expensive to only last one season. I would not recommend that you buy this.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, not stable in light breeze
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from iowa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

umbrell replacement

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This umbrella was purchased to replace another umbrella where the string that puts it up broke. this one lit up when i put it together, but since then it does not light up only when the sun is shining, so i do not know if the solar panel is not charging correctly. other wise the umbrella shades my deck and allows me to use it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Enfield NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Does Not Last!!

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this for 3 years and lights stopped working after the first year. The umbrella does not stay in place even in a small wind. Now the fabric is ripping and we only put it up when it rains to sit outdoors. A very cheap product at a high price. Do not buy this item or you will be disappointed. Home Depot should not carry this terrible product.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, does not last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

What a waste!!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wow!! Doesn't that umbrella look great in the store!! Wow!! It looks great in the backyard!! fast forward one year later and IT LOOKS GREAT ON MY DRIVEWAY WAITING FOR GARBAGE PICK UP!!!
WHAT A HUNK OF JUNK- THE CRANK IS BROKEN THE POLE IS CRACKED.I Should have read the reviews before purchasing!!
Pros: Looks Great, looks great for a month
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Not Durable, junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from West Palm Beach, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It lasted two days.

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After installing the umbrella I opened it fully and positioned the pole to it's fully extended mode. Everything was locked and ready. A 2 to 4 mph wind made one of the struts break loose at the top. They are held together with a hard wire at the upper hub which is a very weak retainer piece. It's very poor design.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, poor design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Okeechobee, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looked good in the store. It impressed me with it's sturdy look. This is a complete waste of money. Piece of junk.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I let the umbrella down any time there was excess wind. A slight gust of wind came up one day while we were sitting under it and there was a loud pop. The swivel at the top of the umbrella snapped and left the canopy dangling on the cord. Upon investigation I found out how cheaply this thing is made. Should be taken off the market or sold for indoor use only.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't be fooled by its beauty.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Same problem as everyone else reviewing this umbrella.
Biggest problem is that a slight wind broke the base of the crank. No way to repair.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Ohio

Great umbrella so far

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Some of the other reviews gave this umbrella a bad rating. Realize that this is a very large umbrella and it has to be weighted down (200+# of sand) and the tether strap that holds the umbrella to the canteliever arm needs to be used at all times, even when it is not windy. It is expensive but not as much as some that I have seen elsewhere that were smaller and didn't seem to have as good a base. I don't know how long it will last but with care it should be good.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Ottawa, ontario
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Expensive price of junk!

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a couple months LED lights stopped working. Was sent a replacement solar panel. Put it on brand new the next summer and lasted 2 uses before LED lights started to go. Now it doesn't work at all. Customer service won't do a thing because I am past my yr warren toy by 1 month even though they know the umbrella hasn't worked properly since purchase.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Terrible!

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ok, so we thought we were getting a great deal when we compared it to other products that cost 3 times as much. Clearly, you get what you pay for. We bought the umbrella in June and by July bye- bye solar lights. They just stopped working! the mechanism that this umbrella has to keep it from swinging from side to side does not work. I constantly have to get up from my seat to go adjust the umbrella so that I can get some shade. The construction of the actual umbrella is so shotty that my puppy got a hold of it and tore the whole fabric off its frame. I can go on and on with the problems, but I think you get the idea. If you really like this type of umbrella do yourself a favor and spend the extra money for a real good one. This product looks nice in the store, but believe me it's not worth the money.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful Umbrella but did not last a Month!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The parts that hold the umbrella down is plastic so cracked in less than a month, I was so upset because is a beautiful umbrella and the solar light looks beautiful at night, Don't understand why they will do the pole on strong aluminum but the arms that hold & gets the heavy weight of the umbrella is cheap plastic which give up in less than a month. Even the handle did not open the umbrella 3 weeks later....2 things that went wrong..:( I read the bad reviews but I purchased anyway I should of not purchased. But Home Depot stands behind their product and I got full Refund. On the other hand, I wish the engineer department redesign those parts that are the problem..because it really look beautiful but last less than a month. I was so upset because I was really in love with the looks of the umbrella!
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Ft. Worth, TX

Looks great, but I recommend you don't purchase

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First couple of uses, this thing was awesome, and we loved it. After about 60 days, the connector at the top of the umbrella broke, and we couldn't open it anymore. We finagled it, and got it open, only to find one of the arms snapped, and about five of the LED bulbs not working. No windstorm exposure, no abuse. As I was disassembling to take this thing back, I found cracks in the plastic connector where you secure the swinging mechanism. This could be a fantastic umbrella, but it is too cheaply assembled. Stay away.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Brookhaven, PA

Tear in Canopy

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
So we loved this umbrella in the store. We were attracted to the sturdy base. Put it together, cranked it open and there is a small tear in the fabric. I called the customer service number as instructed and told I would be sent a replacement arm/fabric because you cannot change the fabric. 2 weeks later, I received a COVER for the umbrella. The instructions for fabric replacement were emailed to me twice but they were for the wrong umbrella. A different customer service rep called me and indicated that the cover was the only replacement part available at this time. Really? Now, I have a tear in my fabric and a cover I will probably never use. I love this umbrella, don't get me wrong. It has withstood some high winds and rain and is easy to operate. What I don't love is the hassle I'm going through.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>