728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Umbrellas & Bases or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Get the best of both day and night using this Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella. It's generously sized 11 ft. diameter canopy blocks the sun's rays throughout the day. Come nighttime, out comes it's LED lights to add a gentle ambiance to your evening gathering. Easy tilt operation is more user-friendly than ever. 9-1/4 ft. height. Umbrella must be stored in dry place during inclement weather.
Overall rating:
1.988 / 5
2
 / 
5
(165 reviews) 165
Open Ratings Snapshot
23%of customersrecommend this product37 of 160reviews
Rating Breakdown 165 reviews
2.0 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(10)
3
(11)
2
(15)
1
(105)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
23%of customersrecommend this product37 of 160reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer reviews for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Review 21 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A waste of money

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only was able to get three summers out of this umbrella!!!! Material ripped, even though I put it away for the winter. Mechanism that raises and lowers broke also. Even the slightest wind had the umbrella all over the place. Never could use it during any wind. Also, came with bolts missing. Had to go to store and get what was needed. They were provided free.
+74points
76out of 78found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful Umbrella but did not last a Month!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The parts that hold the umbrella down is plastic so cracked in less than a month, I was so upset because is a beautiful umbrella and the solar light looks beautiful at night, Don't understand why they will do the pole on strong aluminum but the arms that hold & gets the heavy weight of the umbrella is cheap plastic which give up in less than a month. Even the handle did not open the umbrella 3 weeks later....2 things that went wrong..:( I read the bad reviews but I purchased anyway I should of not purchased. But Home Depot stands behind their product and I got full Refund. On the other hand, I wish the engineer department redesign those parts that are the problem..because it really look beautiful but last less than a month. I was so upset because I was really in love with the looks of the umbrella!
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Brookhaven, PA

Tear in Canopy

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
So we loved this umbrella in the store. We were attracted to the sturdy base. Put it together, cranked it open and there is a small tear in the fabric. I called the customer service number as instructed and told I would be sent a replacement arm/fabric because you cannot change the fabric. 2 weeks later, I received a COVER for the umbrella. The instructions for fabric replacement were emailed to me twice but they were for the wrong umbrella. A different customer service rep called me and indicated that the cover was the only replacement part available at this time. Really? Now, I have a tear in my fabric and a cover I will probably never use. I love this umbrella, don't get me wrong. It has withstood some high winds and rain and is easy to operate. What I don't love is the hassle I'm going through.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from nc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst product I ever purchased.

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mechanism to raise/lower unbrella broke within a month. HD directed me to contact manufacturer YoTrio, have been waiting since Sept 2012 for a replacement. Whenever I call I get the same story...' you will have a replacement in 2 months' no replacement and have been told I would recieve it every month since, It's now close to 6 months and STILL NO REPLACEMENT.
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT, IT HAS FAULTY PARTS AND MANUFACUTURE IS UNABLE, OR UNWILLING, TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+121points
129out of 137found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

same as everyone else

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this umbrella last summer and went to put it out and use it a month ago and it would open. The crank just spins and spins! Listen to the reviews! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Terrible!

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ok, so we thought we were getting a great deal when we compared it to other products that cost 3 times as much. Clearly, you get what you pay for. We bought the umbrella in June and by July bye- bye solar lights. They just stopped working! the mechanism that this umbrella has to keep it from swinging from side to side does not work. I constantly have to get up from my seat to go adjust the umbrella so that I can get some shade. The construction of the actual umbrella is so shotty that my puppy got a hold of it and tore the whole fabric off its frame. I can go on and on with the problems, but I think you get the idea. If you really like this type of umbrella do yourself a favor and spend the extra money for a real good one. This product looks nice in the store, but believe me it's not worth the money.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Okeechobee, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looked good in the store. It impressed me with it's sturdy look. This is a complete waste of money. Piece of junk.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I let the umbrella down any time there was excess wind. A slight gust of wind came up one day while we were sitting under it and there was a loud pop. The swivel at the top of the umbrella snapped and left the canopy dangling on the cord. Upon investigation I found out how cheaply this thing is made. Should be taken off the market or sold for indoor use only.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased 6/12 and its been falling apart ever since. Was missing part of the base, I made my own. Lever to open & close broke like everyone else's. just tried the led lights & now they don't work. 90 day warranty ? I'm going to call Home Depot customer service & see if they'll step up. If not, I'll never make another major purchase from anybody but Costco.
Cons: Cheap Material, Difficult to Assemble, Not Durable
+49points
51out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

pasadena

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
handle striped out on both of mine ,yotrio said there is no fix available , guess a have to design a repair myself, what a piece of junk, surprised home depot would sell such junk
Cons: junk design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Austin Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Dont Buy

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Enjoyed the umbrella and until wind blew and broke the black plastic handle you use to raise and lower the umbrella, thought I could call and order just that part, NO you have to order the whole upper umbrella assembly which makes no sense. I will not buy another Hampton Bay Product
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Westminster Co
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Junk

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pivot snap in the wind, umbrella flipped over broke three ribbs, Second time up
that stinks. this is pure junk.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Appomattox, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broken after 2 hours

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited to put this umbrella up since I needed the shade. I put it up following the instructions carefully. I added the required 250 pounds of sand, then marveled at the wonderful shade it provided. I couldn't wait to have a cocktail under the awesome LED lights that were under the canopy. I went inside for an hour and came out to find the umbrella skewed to the side. Granted, there was a mild breeze, so I figured it just pushed over. I could not have been more wrong. The plastic hub that attaches the canopy to the top bar had sheared in two. I was very disappointed, since I really loved the design of the umbrella. I called Home Depot, and they said they would exchange or refund. The Lynchburg, Va Home Depot was extremely gracious and gave me a great discount on a pergola I had been eyeing. Don't buy this umbrella, you will be disappointed. Home Depot should stop selling it, and force Hampton Bay to change the plastic hub into steel.
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Jacksonville, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Horrible don't waste your time

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The umbrella is stunning without a doubt, but the product has no durability. One light wind broke the top off. I should mention that the lights had gone out prior to the final calamity. All together the umbrella lasted 5 months. The company should honor a refund to all those who bought it.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, flimsy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Santa Rosa CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broke on first use

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy this terrible product. Just had company over for Memorial Day BBQ and a light wind came up and umbrella broke at the metal crank. Taking it back for a refund today.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not last!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One small gust of wind and it was all over. We had just put it together and was up only 2 seconds when a small gust of wind came through and it literally snapped.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Rochester, NY

Annoyed

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
2nd season in and the solar lights stopped working. Replaced batteries still not working. For $300 you'd think it would be good for longer than that before something stops working.
Cons: solar not working
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Rancho Palos Verdes, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I loved this product until it broke!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was nice enjoyed the lights. Worked great until one day a gentle breeze broke the main swivel joint. rendering it useless. Also four of the light bulbs stopped working. All of this after only two months in operation. The one good thing about the experience was Home Depot took it back with no hassle! Shipping money included.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Lyman, South Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Broken piece.. can we get replacement parts?

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The part at the top of the umbrella which enabled the umbrella to be raised and lowered, snapped while we were sitting under it. It is apparently plastic. Where can we get a replacement part for it? If there is none, the umbrella is worthless.. Sorry, but $300 is too much to pay for a $300 umbrella that hasn't lasted thru a whole summer season yet!...
Before the part broke... we loved it!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, if parts can't be replaced.. it's worthless
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Poway, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Handle poor quality

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this umbrella last year and the handle broke. Material is poor quality!
Cons: Cheap Material
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Dayton, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DISAPPOINTING QUALITY

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was happy when I purchased this umbrella June 2013 and throughout the year. The LED lighting was great to have at night; however, this year, I discovered that the extension and locking handle has completely split open. Very poor materials have been used for these parts. Called 800# of the company only to be told that there are no replacement parts and since the warranty was not up, I would have to pay $130.00 to replace the entire umbrella mechanism; they were currently out of these and would probably not have any more available this season.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>