728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Umbrellas & Bases or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Get the best of both day and night using this Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella. It's generously sized 11 ft. diameter canopy blocks the sun's rays throughout the day. Come nighttime, out comes it's LED lights to add a gentle ambiance to your evening gathering. Easy tilt operation is more user-friendly than ever. 9-1/4 ft. height. Umbrella must be stored in dry place during inclement weather.
Overall rating:
2.051 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(197 reviews) 197
Open Ratings Snapshot
26%of customersrecommend this product49 of 192reviews
Rating Breakdown 197 reviews
2.1 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(15)
3
(11)
2
(16)
1
(124)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
26%of customersrecommend this product49 of 192reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer reviews for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Review 21 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Buckeye, AZ.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

OOPS...........

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The crank handle mechanism is made of composite plastic and cannot hold up to any regular use. A light wind moved the entire umbrella away from the position that was originally set and destroyed the part that is the basis of all operation. There is no replacement part for this and it is necessary that you purchase the entire top assembly at a cost of $120.00, plus $80.00 shipping. I loved the umbrella when deployed, the solar lighting was very nice, but the overall durability is pathetic.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, plastic parts are cheap
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from NEW JERSEY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BUYER BEWARE!!!!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THE POLES ARE MADE OF STEEL TUBING BUT THE MOST IMPORTANT PART OF THE WHOLE PRODUCT(THE CRANKING MECHANISM) IS PLASTIC. AFTER SITTING IN SUN IT HAS CRACKED.
REPLACEMENT PARTS ARE NOT AVAILABLE. THE UMBRELLAS IS USELESS!!!!
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Waste Your Money

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you leave this umbrella open during a windy day/night it's very likely to get broken. The product is not durable and won't last even one season. I would not buy this product again.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Glendale Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of garbage

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these last year and thought it was a great find. Wrong. The lights quit working after the first use. Then about a month later they decided to work again but only intermittently. The fabric is poor quality and began to fray and tear after a few months. And finally about a week ago the entire handle assembly with the crank just broke. What a piece of garbage. I wish I would have taken it back after the lights went out. This weekend I will go buy an umbrella from Lowes that has excellent reviews.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap Umbrella, Poor Quality...

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought approx March 2012. Agreed with most complaints. To the company that manufactured this product, this product is 'Low Quality'. So many cheap components that do not work (had to modify to keep it working). The spindle which locks the umbrella from rotation never locked the umbrella. The Solar Lights quit working after 8 months. I added a few items to the product to make it better. To all those who do buy this product. Purchase an umbrella cover, if not, the sun will destroy the product in a short time. 2nd, use a rope or tie down to keep the umbrella from sailing.
The only reason I gave this product 2 stars and not 1 star is I modified the product and I am still using it. If without the mods, I give it 1 star.
To home depot, find a new manufacture, hurts your company...
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, cheap harware
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Great Umbrella!

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't believe all the bad reviews for this product. I have had this for two years with no issues. The umbrella does its job giving shade and protecting us from the sun on a hot day. At night, the LED lights are a very nice touch as they provide more than ample light for any occasion. Yes the umbrella does have some plastic parts; however, I feel the overall construction is solid. No patio umbrella is designed to with stand hurricane force winds or severe weather of any kind. If the wind kicks up we crank the umbrella down until it subsides. If the weather is going to be poor for longer periods of time we take the umbrella out of the base and store it away. It takes about 30 seconds to remove it from the stand and can be moved with little difficulty. Perhaps i have been fortunate so far but i do live in a very windy area and again have zero complaints.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: higher price.
+7points
16out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

a great buy

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works well. You do have to fully assemble it and make sure you use the recommended amount of weight or more to secure it from falling. The unit will not last long if it blows over it will get damaged. It worked great for us.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Conway, AR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed in this product

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall, I am disappointed with this product. The fabric didn't last even 2 full summers before it began to rip and fray. I haven't had any trouble with the base - I filled the base with 200 lbs of play sand, and the base is very solid - but the arm sways from side to side, making it difficult to stay in the shade of the umbrella. This product is way to expensive to only last one season. I would not recommend that you buy this.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, not stable in light breeze
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Rochester, ny
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy this

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this was a great deal but this is the second summer we have had this and the crank stripped. Out of warranty and over $100 for the part and $100 for shipping. Crank receiver is plastic and junk. Temporary fix with duct tape around the male part that inserts into the crank.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Birmingham, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cool umbrella

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this umbrella as a season-end close-out, at a very good price. Wasn't quite certain what to expect, but it's better than anticipated...good quality. heavy, works as intended, and provides great shade. Downside: set-up took a bit of effort, filling base bags with sand and placing them in the base. After 10 minutes, however, all was finished, solid, and good-to-go. It's a good deal.
Pros: Energy Efficient, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: base sand bags are awkward to maneuver
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Okeechobee, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looked good in the store. It impressed me with it's sturdy look. This is a complete waste of money. Piece of junk.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I let the umbrella down any time there was excess wind. A slight gust of wind came up one day while we were sitting under it and there was a loud pop. The swivel at the top of the umbrella snapped and left the canopy dangling on the cord. Upon investigation I found out how cheaply this thing is made. Should be taken off the market or sold for indoor use only.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Brick,NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great investment

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hi End beautiful umbrella. I Bolted this 11 ft. umbrella to my upper deck and did not use stand. I live on water and always have winds . I have had to put my other 2 umbrellas down but not this one! I recommend taking bottom pole with 4 holes to H D and getting bolts and washers to fit it. It is well worth it to do so! Great in the heat of day and beautiful to sit under at night with solar lights!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Pearl River, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hampton bay outdoor umbrella

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My Hampton Bay outdoor umbrella is only 1 year old and has been stored inside when not in use. When I got it out for a party and opened it up I found that it had dry rotted and had tears in it from 6" to 2' and the crank was stripped out. I could understand this if I left it up and open year round but not when it has spent most of its life on my screen room. And worst of all I work for The Home Depot as a garden manager..
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

very good value

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to use. works great. well worth the money spent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Terrible!

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ok, so we thought we were getting a great deal when we compared it to other products that cost 3 times as much. Clearly, you get what you pay for. We bought the umbrella in June and by July bye- bye solar lights. They just stopped working! the mechanism that this umbrella has to keep it from swinging from side to side does not work. I constantly have to get up from my seat to go adjust the umbrella so that I can get some shade. The construction of the actual umbrella is so shotty that my puppy got a hold of it and tore the whole fabric off its frame. I can go on and on with the problems, but I think you get the idea. If you really like this type of umbrella do yourself a favor and spend the extra money for a real good one. This product looks nice in the store, but believe me it's not worth the money.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from iowa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

umbrell replacement

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This umbrella was purchased to replace another umbrella where the string that puts it up broke. this one lit up when i put it together, but since then it does not light up only when the sun is shining, so i do not know if the solar panel is not charging correctly. other wise the umbrella shades my deck and allows me to use it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from NJ

Shoddy construction

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Didn't even last 2 months before the hand crank stopped working. Umbrella goes 90% of the way up and then stops.
Solar lights are hit or miss, mostly miss. Very disappointed for the price paid.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful Umbrella but did not last a Month!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The parts that hold the umbrella down is plastic so cracked in less than a month, I was so upset because is a beautiful umbrella and the solar light looks beautiful at night, Don't understand why they will do the pole on strong aluminum but the arms that hold & gets the heavy weight of the umbrella is cheap plastic which give up in less than a month. Even the handle did not open the umbrella 3 weeks later....2 things that went wrong..:( I read the bad reviews but I purchased anyway I should of not purchased. But Home Depot stands behind their product and I got full Refund. On the other hand, I wish the engineer department redesign those parts that are the problem..because it really look beautiful but last less than a month. I was so upset because I was really in love with the looks of the umbrella!
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Enfield NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Does Not Last!!

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this for 3 years and lights stopped working after the first year. The umbrella does not stay in place even in a small wind. Now the fabric is ripping and we only put it up when it rains to sit outdoors. A very cheap product at a high price. Do not buy this item or you will be disappointed. Home Depot should not carry this terrible product.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, does not last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

What a waste!!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wow!! Doesn't that umbrella look great in the store!! Wow!! It looks great in the backyard!! fast forward one year later and IT LOOKS GREAT ON MY DRIVEWAY WAITING FOR GARBAGE PICK UP!!!
WHAT A HUNK OF JUNK- THE CRANK IS BROKEN THE POLE IS CRACKED.I Should have read the reviews before purchasing!!
Pros: Looks Great, looks great for a month
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Not Durable, junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>