728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Umbrellas & Bases or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Get the best of both day and night using this Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella. It's generously sized 11 ft. diameter canopy blocks the sun's rays throughout the day. Come nighttime, out comes it's LED lights to add a gentle ambiance to your evening gathering. Easy tilt operation is more user-friendly than ever. 9-1/4 ft. height. Umbrella must be stored in dry place during inclement weather.
Overall rating:
1.97 / 5
2
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
22%of customersrecommend this product21 of 96reviews
Rating Breakdown 100 reviews
2.0 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(9)
3
(6)
2
(10)
1
(63)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
22%of customersrecommend this product21 of 96reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Review 21 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
mcintexas
from Cedar Park, Texas

Umbrella will not with stand any amount of breeze

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved the look of this umbrella including the solar lights which are very pretty. At the time of purchase, I was okay with the price and thought it was a good value. It was not too difficult to assemble and looked beautiful in my yard. We enjoyed this for about 3 breezeless days before one strong gust of wind completely broke the arm that holds the umbrella. Clearly this was not designed for outdoor use but for show in the store. Very dissatisfied and wish there was a way to return it and get my money back.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Nina
from Florida

I wanted something to shade a very large outdoor table and not have the pole obstructing the view. This umbrella is terrific

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The umbrella really does the job. It seems very sturdy and provides lots of shade. It swivels around so as the sun moves you can adjust the umbrella. I'm pretty strong, but the box was heavy and my husband and I needed to carry it to the back yard. It was also a necessity to have a second person to set it up. Open the box carefully as we chiped off a piece of the plastic base. It was not that difficult to put together, it took us about 30 minutes. Well worth it! Don't forget to purchase or get sand for the base.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Comfortable, Looks Great
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
MKMIA
from Miami
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simply AWESOME!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this right after the holidays and went home and read the reviews. I thought about returning it immediately! They delivered it and the solar portion did not work. I called Yotrio on the phone. They sent me a new solar piece. When that did not work they replaced the umbrella portion. They were VERY helpful over the phone. I keep it in a patio area which is walled in. If you are using it in an open area you need to close it every time you use it. It will be fine. I would also bring it down. I LOVE it and we use it in the mornings and evenings. BEST money I spent! I keep mine open all the time but will probably lower and close it if we get any storms!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Energy Efficient, High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Cush
from NJ

Shoddy construction

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Didn't even last 2 months before the hand crank stopped working. Umbrella goes 90% of the way up and then stops.
Solar lights are hit or miss, mostly miss. Very disappointed for the price paid.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
John
from Marietta, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

11 ft Solar Umbrella by Hampton EXCLUSIVE HomeDepot item Junk

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This $299.00 item has 91 negative reviews. These negative review summary i.e. 2 stars, should be on the Umbrella price tag at the retail Home Depot store which would help customers make an educated decision. The opening crank failed in less than 1 1/2 years. Home Depot Customer care did make good and did exchange the entire arm and umbrella. But we never would have purchased this umbrella if we had seen the reviews at retail store level.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
kmeeker
from Allentown PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

BUYER BEWARE!! AWFUL CONSTRUCTION

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the first product review I have ever written. Do not buy this umbrella. The solar lights rarely worked and the top broke within 6 months. After that, the pole completely sheered off ( not even in inclement weather). Awful construction and the company does not stand behind their product. Do not buy this umbrella!!!
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
kajin1
from Pearl River, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hampton bay outdoor umbrella

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My Hampton Bay outdoor umbrella is only 1 year old and has been stored inside when not in use. When I got it out for a party and opened it up I found that it had dry rotted and had tears in it from 6" to 2' and the crank was stripped out. I could understand this if I left it up and open year round but not when it has spent most of its life on my screen room. And worst of all I work for The Home Depot as a garden manager..
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Tony
from Clifton Park, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cheap

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had the umbrella 1 week and only opened it twice and the silver handle broke off and the guts where stripped. The green bag that they give you to put the sand in is horrible to put sand in. I do not recommend this product, I am returning it to The Home Depot today. Will keep you updated.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
docg55
from Okeechobee, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looked good in the store. It impressed me with it's sturdy look. This is a complete waste of money. Piece of junk.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I let the umbrella down any time there was excess wind. A slight gust of wind came up one day while we were sitting under it and there was a loud pop. The swivel at the top of the umbrella snapped and left the canopy dangling on the cord. Upon investigation I found out how cheaply this thing is made. Should be taken off the market or sold for indoor use only.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
KWTinT
from Wauwatosa, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far we are happy with this umbrella

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We've had this for about 4 months now and are happy with the performance of this umbrella. First off I did away with the cumbersome base that comes with it. Instead I dug a hole 4' deep and poured it full of concrete with the ends of 4 pieces of 24" long stainless steel threaded rod sticking out of it about 2" in the pattern of the mounting base. Nuts and washers both below and above the mounting plate allows you adjustment for plumbing the lower post to perfectly vertical in all directions. The lights are a nice added feature that are probably appreciated mostly in a totally dark environment. They definitely weren't a the deal maker since we have light "spillage" from other sources. Time will tell about the reliability of the crank mechanism and rope to haul the canopy to the raised position. There is only one way to turn the crank to open the umbrella. Same with closing it. An arrow indicates which way is correct. In our case, only my wife or I are doing it. I expect overtime the rope inside will fail but I have examined the umbrella and I'm quite sure that it can be replaced when that time comes. The clamping mechanism for rotation at first wasn't very effective because of the newness of the surface the clamp was working on. But after a few weeks of use, the clamp be came more effective as the shininess wore off. I also have come to the conclusion that one can really tighten the lock knob. The size of the canopy has a lot of area that the wind can work on, so one has to be cautious when the winds pick up. We always lower the umbrella when we aren't using it or when high winds are expected. Our first experience with this type of single pole umbrella was while on vacation in Florida. They had a heavier duty one and they had to be careful with it just like the one we have. The price of that one was more than 5 times the price of this one. This one performs on a equal basis as that heavy duty one and is just as big. I consider this unbrella as good value for the money.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
BurlingameCA

better hardware would make it a great umbrella

PostedApril 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First off, I question any of the 5-star reviews here... an Apple product gets a 5-star review, but a $300 HD umbrella???
Second, I discount the complaints about it blowing in the wind as that's the simple tradeoff for A) such a large umbrella and B) a design that hangs over your deck/table vs. standing right in the middle. It's true that it blows easily in the wind but that's b/c it's a big sail that's not really anchored. I solved this by tying a rope to the umbrella and tying it down to my deck rail when it's windy... not elegant but problem solved.
All that said in defense of the umbrella I agree 100% with the complaints about the poor quality of the crank. I've had mine for one summer and the gears inside are completely stripped therefore the crank to raise the umbrella is useless. To get it up and open now takes two people: one to turn the crank (and therefore pull the interior cord) and one to stand under the umbrella and push it up.
If I had written a review a month after purchase I would have given it 4 stars but now I'd say 2 stars is being generous.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Denny
from Shakopee, MN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

One day and it's toast

PostedMay 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought my umbrella yesterday and forgot to crank it down. It pulled out of the base and broke beyond repair. I know it was my fault for not putting it down but I think it shouldn't be that fragile either. Don't know if I would recomend it or not as one day of use is not a long enough to base an opinion. If you are buying one don't foget to crank it down every time after use.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
JM1959
from Villa Park, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overpriced

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really like this umbrella but I have a couple of complaints. The fabric on the umbrella was dirty and looked used. The strap to keep the umbrella in place is frayed after only 2 uses. A slight breeze and the umbrella moves from side to side no matter how tight you have it. I like the design and the coverage on my deck and over my table. I do think this umbrella is overpriced.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: moves in the slightest breeze, material looked used
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
swens1977

Horrible, don't buy

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this last summer. Worked for the first few months, then it stopped opening fully. Now the solar doesn't work, tried different batteries, still doesn't work. Too expansive for too poorly designed a product.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Shugerbabe3
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mine also broke the first year I had it.

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The top of the umbrella where it closes and opens broke the 1st year we had it. We tried calling the company to see if we could get a replacement and couldn't get anyone to answer. We have to keep it open cause if we close it, it will fall apart. I want to get my $300.00 worth out of it before I toss it. We keep it stable with bungees and has lived through one winter and is on it's 2nd summer. I love the concept of the umbrella with the lights and it's huge. Its mechanics are made with cheap material. We're just gonna build a roof over the patio.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
teenie
from Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

11 foot offset Solar Lighted umbrella : Not at all impressed with this product!..

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not at all impressed with this product!.. Even though treating it with love, didn't helped it any. Within 3 months the very top of the canopy .. became torn, and hard to repair. The solar panel worked great, but the lights quit working. Wind was not the factor, because it was put down and tied per instruction. Handel mechanism to put umbrella up and down is ready to break. This umbrella was not use daily. Or all day!. In rain, or wind. Repairing is vey costly! Too large of a product to dis-assemble and re-pack to return to the store. Calling C.S.,is my next step to solving this problem. Buyer Beware!!!!
Cons: Cheap Material
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
MMOM
from West Virginia, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor Quality

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Broke after one season...Handle wouldn't crank after a few uses. It seemed that the handle of the crank was stripped. It also was very difficult to get all of the required sand into the base and very difficult to remove after it broke.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Jimmy
from San jose ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great umbrella!!!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
works great and the solar light are amazing at night
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
BOSS
from St. Peters, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very cheap umbrella material

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is third summer we have it and the umbrella material rip appart like pepper. Half of The Solar Lights quit working even we use it only a few times. No problems with the poll. Give it one more shot if i knew were to replace the umbrella material.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Comfortable, Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 11 ft. dia. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
unhappy

Not worth $300

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this in summer 2012, LEDs started going bad within 6 weeks. Stored it indoors over the winter and just got it out, mechanism that raises and lowers it broke first time trying to raise it. $300 bucks wasted.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>