728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Umbrellas & Bases or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Get the best of both day and night using this Solar-Powered patio Umbrella. It's generously sized 11 ft. Dia canopy blocks the sun's rays throughout the day. Come nighttime, out comes it's LED lights to add a gentle ambiance to your evening gathering. Easy tilt operation is more user-friendly than ever. 9-1/4 ft. H. Umbrella must be stored in dry place during inclement weather.
Overall rating:
2.005 / 5
2.0
 / 
5
(206 reviews) 206
Open Ratings Snapshot
24%of customersrecommend this product49 of 201reviews
Rating Breakdown 206 reviews
2.0 out of 5
5
(31)
4
(15)
3
(11)
2
(16)
1
(133)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
24%of customersrecommend this product49 of 201reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer reviews for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Review 21 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Big waste of money

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After less than 1 season of barely any use every plastic piece for the handle and slide assembly broke. CHEAP!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap Umbrella, Poor Quality...

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought approx March 2012. Agreed with most complaints. To the company that manufactured this product, this product is 'Low Quality'. So many cheap components that do not work (had to modify to keep it working). The spindle which locks the umbrella from rotation never locked the umbrella. The Solar Lights quit working after 8 months. I added a few items to the product to make it better. To all those who do buy this product. Purchase an umbrella cover, if not, the sun will destroy the product in a short time. 2nd, use a rope or tie down to keep the umbrella from sailing.
The only reason I gave this product 2 stars and not 1 star is I modified the product and I am still using it. If without the mods, I give it 1 star.
To home depot, find a new manufacture, hurts your company...
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, cheap harware
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Conway, AR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed in this product

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall, I am disappointed with this product. The fabric didn't last even 2 full summers before it began to rip and fray. I haven't had any trouble with the base - I filled the base with 200 lbs of play sand, and the base is very solid - but the arm sways from side to side, making it difficult to stay in the shade of the umbrella. This product is way to expensive to only last one season. I would not recommend that you buy this.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, not stable in light breeze
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from San Diego
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

CHEAP, CHEAP, CHEAP

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
EASY TO ASSEMBLE BUT EVEN EASIER TO BREAK. Wish I had seen the reviews before buying this cheap umbrella.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Magnolia, texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor Design

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The connection from the mast to the arm is a very weak, plastic nut connection. It has come apart several times and I finally had it welded together. The string has pulled out of the crank already and the crank now slips when it gets close to full opening. Just a poor design. I really like the lighting and that's the only reason I keep it.
Pros: led lighting
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Providence, Rhode Island
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broke at the crank

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just like the other reviews. Put it together. Absolutely beautiful. The very next day I was outside enjoying the shade. Along comes a gust of wind and the crank split in half causing the umbrella to collapse. I returned it for a refund.
I bought this in the summer of 2013. I was so shocked that Home Depot is selling it again in 2014 that I had to give a review to help people to NOT go through getting it home, setting the whole thing up, just to have to take it all apart and bring it back once it snaps in two at the crank. And it will!!!
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Joppatowne, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

JUNK,

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After about 2 months the lights stopped working. I changed the rechargeable batteries and they still didn't work! At the beginning of this summer the crank that raises and lowers the umbrella just spins but the umbrella doesn't raise. After removing the crank i found that it was stripped because it was made of plastic..I purchased a cover for this umbrella thinking it would help it last for years, that was a waste of money since it really only worked for 1 summer! WASTE OF MONEY!!
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, junk!, junk
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Jasper
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Problems with the umbrella

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had to return the umbrella because the handle clamp slanting the umbrella profile would not screw tight enough to hold.
I appreciate Home Depot for refunding my money, but I did lose out on the 4 bags of sand that was lost and could not be put back in the bag.
I am sorry I did not read others' comments about the umbrella before I bought it.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Upstate NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best umbrella out there

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This will be our third summer with this umbrella, and it still looks/works as good as the day we purchased it. It comes with a base which you will need to fill with 200lbs of sand (so don't plan on moving it around often). I see reviews complaining about this umbrella not holding up in the wind, but what umbrella does? On a typical breezy day, the umbrella works fine, and you don't need to worry about it tipping over the whole table (would take hurricane winds to move the base). The best part is the ease of putting the umbrella up and down, which takes only seconds to do. 11' makes plenty of shade so there is no need to work your way around the table as the day goes on. I couldn't be happier with this umbrella.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Sturdy
+30points
43out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Pearl River, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hampton bay outdoor umbrella

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My Hampton Bay outdoor umbrella is only 1 year old and has been stored inside when not in use. When I got it out for a party and opened it up I found that it had dry rotted and had tears in it from 6" to 2' and the crank was stripped out. I could understand this if I left it up and open year round but not when it has spent most of its life on my screen room. And worst of all I work for The Home Depot as a garden manager..
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from NJ

Shoddy construction

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Didn't even last 2 months before the hand crank stopped working. Umbrella goes 90% of the way up and then stops.
Solar lights are hit or miss, mostly miss. Very disappointed for the price paid.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Hannibal, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worst purchase

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worthless, Handle completely broke in less than a year and I always put the umbrella down when the wind blew and still broke. Would not buy again.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Waste Your Money

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you leave this umbrella open during a windy day/night it's very likely to get broken. The product is not durable and won't last even one season. I would not buy this product again.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Clifton Park, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cheap

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had the umbrella 1 week and only opened it twice and the silver handle broke off and the guts where stripped. The green bag that they give you to put the sand in is horrible to put sand in. I do not recommend this product, I am returning it to The Home Depot today. Will keep you updated.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Great Umbrella!

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I can't believe all the bad reviews for this product. I have had this for two years with no issues. The umbrella does its job giving shade and protecting us from the sun on a hot day. At night, the LED lights are a very nice touch as they provide more than ample light for any occasion. Yes the umbrella does have some plastic parts; however, I feel the overall construction is solid. No patio umbrella is designed to with stand hurricane force winds or severe weather of any kind. If the wind kicks up we crank the umbrella down until it subsides. If the weather is going to be poor for longer periods of time we take the umbrella out of the base and store it away. It takes about 30 seconds to remove it from the stand and can be moved with little difficulty. Perhaps i have been fortunate so far but i do live in a very windy area and again have zero complaints.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: higher price.
+8points
17out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from West Virginia, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor Quality

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Broke after one season...Handle wouldn't crank after a few uses. It seemed that the handle of the crank was stripped. It also was very difficult to get all of the required sand into the base and very difficult to remove after it broke.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Okeechobee, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looked good in the store. It impressed me with it's sturdy look. This is a complete waste of money. Piece of junk.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I let the umbrella down any time there was excess wind. A slight gust of wind came up one day while we were sitting under it and there was a loud pop. The swivel at the top of the umbrella snapped and left the canopy dangling on the cord. Upon investigation I found out how cheaply this thing is made. Should be taken off the market or sold for indoor use only.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

better hardware would make it a great umbrella

PostedApril 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First off, I question any of the 5-star reviews here... an Apple product gets a 5-star review, but a $300 HD umbrella???
Second, I discount the complaints about it blowing in the wind as that's the simple tradeoff for A) such a large umbrella and B) a design that hangs over your deck/table vs. standing right in the middle. It's true that it blows easily in the wind but that's b/c it's a big sail that's not really anchored. I solved this by tying a rope to the umbrella and tying it down to my deck rail when it's windy... not elegant but problem solved.
All that said in defense of the umbrella I agree 100% with the complaints about the poor quality of the crank. I've had mine for one summer and the gears inside are completely stripped therefore the crank to raise the umbrella is useless. To get it up and open now takes two people: one to turn the crank (and therefore pull the interior cord) and one to stand under the umbrella and push it up.
If I had written a review a month after purchase I would have given it 4 stars but now I'd say 2 stars is being generous.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Shakopee, MN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

One day and it's toast

PostedMay 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought my umbrella yesterday and forgot to crank it down. It pulled out of the base and broke beyond repair. I know it was my fault for not putting it down but I think it shouldn't be that fragile either. Don't know if I would recomend it or not as one day of use is not a long enough to base an opinion. If you are buying one don't foget to crank it down every time after use.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mine also broke the first year I had it.

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The top of the umbrella where it closes and opens broke the 1st year we had it. We tried calling the company to see if we could get a replacement and couldn't get anyone to answer. We have to keep it open cause if we close it, it will fall apart. I want to get my $300.00 worth out of it before I toss it. We keep it stable with bungees and has lived through one winter and is on it's 2nd summer. I love the concept of the umbrella with the lights and it's huge. Its mechanics are made with cheap material. We're just gonna build a roof over the patio.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>