728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Get the best of both day and night using this solar-powered patio umbrella. Its generously sized 11 ft. diameter canopy blocks the sun's rays throughout the day. Come nighttime, out come its LED lights to add a gentle ambiance to your evening gathering. Easy tilt operation is more user-friendly than ever. The 9-1/4 ft. H. umbrella must be stored in a dry place during inclement weather.
Overall rating:
1.995 / 5
2.0
 / 
5
(215 reviews) 215
Open Ratings Snapshot
24%of customersrecommend this product50 of 210reviews
Rating Breakdown 215 reviews
2.0 out of 5
5
(32)
4
(16)
3
(11)
2
(16)
1
(140)
Quality 
1.9 out of 5
1.9 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
24%of customersrecommend this product50 of 210reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer reviews for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Review 21 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Customer service

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Excellent umbrella, the LED lighting is a nice touch. Have had zero complaints with this product. Have had for over a year in some very harsh weather with no problems. Had to call Home Depot customer service for Hampton Bay prouducts to order a new sand bag that I had dropped during a move to a new location. While unloading one of the two bags ( filled with 100lbs of sand), out of my truck, it slipped out of my hands and when it hit the ground, split the seam wide open. So I called the support number 1-877-527-0313 to order a new bag. I explained to the gentleman (Richard), what had happend. He asked if I mined being put on hold while he called the manufacturer to see if a replacement bag was available. After a few minutes he returned saying a new full set of bags would be shipped to my door within 2 or 3 days at no charge. I wanted to pay for the bags and he said it was not necessary. He wanted to be sure I was a satisfied customer. Thank You Home Depot and Richard too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Poor quality

PostedApril 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The handle mechanism is garbage! Put it up and down twice and it was stripped out. Inside is made of plastic!! Don't waste your Money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased 6/12 and its been falling apart ever since. Was missing part of the base, I made my own. Lever to open & close broke like everyone else's. just tried the led lights & now they don't work. 90 day warranty ? I'm going to call Home Depot customer service & see if they'll step up. If not, I'll never make another major purchase from anybody but Costco.
Cons: Cheap Material, Difficult to Assemble, Not Durable
+50points
52out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from las vegas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bad Choice

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Looks nice, but, within 3 months half of the lights stopped working and after a little more that a year the cord to raise the umbrella broke making it useless...
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Cincinnati ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't do it!!!

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased one year and used less than 6 times. Stored in basement, in a dry, no ultra violet... Took out this year to enjoy a perfect 80 degree low wind day. I find my expensive umbrella laying on my patio table with a broken cast piece which connects umbrella to arched arm. Of course it's out of store warranty. I loved the look. It appeared to be made well.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

On Our Second

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We foolishly bought a second one after the first broke, figuring it was just a simple glitch on the one. With this second umbrella, the sand bases have cracked after one season. Furthermore, NEITHER of the umbrellas came with the lights. After contacting the company about the lighting, we were told they were out and that WE should check back with them. When we can do so, we will buy from another company or hang shade sails.
Pros: Looks High End
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, lights not included (twice), umbrella system stops working completely (twice), not weather friendly, poor customer service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap Umbrella, Poor Quality...

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought approx March 2012. Agreed with most complaints. To the company that manufactured this product, this product is 'Low Quality'. So many cheap components that do not work (had to modify to keep it working). The spindle which locks the umbrella from rotation never locked the umbrella. The Solar Lights quit working after 8 months. I added a few items to the product to make it better. To all those who do buy this product. Purchase an umbrella cover, if not, the sun will destroy the product in a short time. 2nd, use a rope or tie down to keep the umbrella from sailing.
The only reason I gave this product 2 stars and not 1 star is I modified the product and I am still using it. If without the mods, I give it 1 star.
To home depot, find a new manufacture, hurts your company...
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, cheap harware
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Flawed design and or manufacturing- buyer beware

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This umbrella set looks great however it has broken in the same place on two occasions. There wasn't poor weather or high wind at work. Instead when locked the handle has simply snapped from a slight waft of wind- maybe a light breeze. With this part broken the umbrella is useless. It can not be opened or closed. The Home Depot staff was excellent in their effort to help me. However this set is flawed.
Pros: was in stock
Cons: Not Durable, breaks easily
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from DeSoto, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad buy

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A slight unexpected gust of wind broke this umbrella where it connects to the pole. The company informed us that they do not provide replacement parts. They would gladly send another umbrella and pole unit for about $200.00
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, no replacement parts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Conway, AR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed in this product

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall, I am disappointed with this product. The fabric didn't last even 2 full summers before it began to rip and fray. I haven't had any trouble with the base - I filled the base with 200 lbs of play sand, and the base is very solid - but the arm sways from side to side, making it difficult to stay in the shade of the umbrella. This product is way to expensive to only last one season. I would not recommend that you buy this.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, not stable in light breeze
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from bainbridge g
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

11 ft solar powered JUNK

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My first review. Had this product for summer. By next spring handle started spinning and the umbrella would not go up. Should have read the reviews before buying. As others have said, stay away from this product. Expensive JUNK.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Big waste of money

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After less than 1 season of barely any use every plastic piece for the handle and slide assembly broke. CHEAP!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Pearl River, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hampton bay outdoor umbrella

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My Hampton Bay outdoor umbrella is only 1 year old and has been stored inside when not in use. When I got it out for a party and opened it up I found that it had dry rotted and had tears in it from 6" to 2' and the crank was stripped out. I could understand this if I left it up and open year round but not when it has spent most of its life on my screen room. And worst of all I work for The Home Depot as a garden manager..
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from NJ

Shoddy construction

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Didn't even last 2 months before the hand crank stopped working. Umbrella goes 90% of the way up and then stops.
Solar lights are hit or miss, mostly miss. Very disappointed for the price paid.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Providence, Rhode Island
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broke at the crank

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just like the other reviews. Put it together. Absolutely beautiful. The very next day I was outside enjoying the shade. Along comes a gust of wind and the crank split in half causing the umbrella to collapse. I returned it for a refund.
I bought this in the summer of 2013. I was so shocked that Home Depot is selling it again in 2014 that I had to give a review to help people to NOT go through getting it home, setting the whole thing up, just to have to take it all apart and bring it back once it snaps in two at the crank. And it will!!!
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from San Diego
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

CHEAP, CHEAP, CHEAP

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
EASY TO ASSEMBLE BUT EVEN EASIER TO BREAK. Wish I had seen the reviews before buying this cheap umbrella.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Upstate NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best umbrella out there

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This will be our third summer with this umbrella, and it still looks/works as good as the day we purchased it. It comes with a base which you will need to fill with 200lbs of sand (so don't plan on moving it around often). I see reviews complaining about this umbrella not holding up in the wind, but what umbrella does? On a typical breezy day, the umbrella works fine, and you don't need to worry about it tipping over the whole table (would take hurricane winds to move the base). The best part is the ease of putting the umbrella up and down, which takes only seconds to do. 11' makes plenty of shade so there is no need to work your way around the table as the day goes on. I couldn't be happier with this umbrella.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Sturdy
+30points
43out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Joppatowne, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

JUNK,

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After about 2 months the lights stopped working. I changed the rechargeable batteries and they still didn't work! At the beginning of this summer the crank that raises and lowers the umbrella just spins but the umbrella doesn't raise. After removing the crank i found that it was stripped because it was made of plastic..I purchased a cover for this umbrella thinking it would help it last for years, that was a waste of money since it really only worked for 1 summer! WASTE OF MONEY!!
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, junk!, junk
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Magnolia, texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor Design

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The connection from the mast to the arm is a very weak, plastic nut connection. It has come apart several times and I finally had it welded together. The string has pulled out of the crank already and the crank now slips when it gets close to full opening. Just a poor design. I really like the lighting and that's the only reason I keep it.
Pros: led lighting
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Jasper
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Problems with the umbrella

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had to return the umbrella because the handle clamp slanting the umbrella profile would not screw tight enough to hold.
I appreciate Home Depot for refunding my money, but I did lose out on the 4 bags of sand that was lost and could not be put back in the bag.
I am sorry I did not read others' comments about the umbrella before I bought it.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>