728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Umbrellas & Bases or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Get the best of both day and night with the Hampton Bay Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella. Its generously sized 11 ft. diameter canopy blocks the sun's rays throughout the day, and come nighttime, its LED lights add a gentle ambiance to your evening gatherings. Easy tilt operation is more user-friendly than ever. The 9-1/4 ft. H umbrella must be stored in a dry place during inclement weather.
Overall rating:
2.02 / 5
2.0
 / 
5
(248 reviews) 248
Open Ratings Snapshot
25%of customersrecommend this product60 of 242reviews
Rating Breakdown 248 reviews
2.0 out of 5
5
(39)
4
(18)
3
(12)
2
(19)
1
(160)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
25%of customersrecommend this product60 of 242reviews
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 71 Answers
Customer reviews for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Review 21 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Poor quality

PostedApril 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The handle mechanism is garbage! Put it up and down twice and it was stripped out. Inside is made of plastic!! Don't waste your Money!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Tamarac, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst Umbrella on the Market

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this umbrella thinking that it was durable and would make a nice addition to the patio. Within two weeks, we had to bring it back to get another one when the crank broke. We thought that maybe it was just a defective umbrella. We kept it closed and used it sparingly on the weekends. Four months later, the umbrella itself broke with just a slight wind. We had to throw it in the garbage as it was just beyond the 90 day return limit.
DO NOT BUY THIS UMBRELLA. IT IS NOT WORTH THE MONEY.
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable, poorly constructed, poor design
+36points
37out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Very Disappointed

PostedJune 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish all of these reviews were written when I got this. Although it was a gift to me it was a very expensive gift that I loved at first. All of the pictures prove right. The plastic breaks and you can't use it again..
If the company would do something or had parts to send out that would make all of the difference....
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from new jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worst ever

PostedJuly 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got three summers out of this first model, ,it was taken down and stored in winter, this summer the gear just quit, the handle just spun around, materials are defective, the gear stripped and cannot be replaced, one has to buy a complete upper arm with the fabric for $120 plus $80 shipping, Cheap, cheap Chinese import. it looks great but doesnt function, so why buy? This Chinese failed product was a replacement for an American made product in our garden that lasted for 15-20 years before it failed. that company actually sent me a new fabric when I called them regarding a slight tear in the fabric for no charge. But just try to find anything American made now. Beware do not buy this newer version , the product it will eventually fail, the company is not behind its product. Do not buy
Cons: Cheap Material, Difficult to Assemble, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Ontario, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A poor design and over priced

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased in June 2012, look great inside Home Depot store but a terrible design for outside, especially if there is any wind. The umbrella because a sail and turns with the wind. The handle that you turn to hold the umbrella in place does not work with even a breeze the umbrella turns will not stay in place. It needs a handle that is made out of metal and screws into the stand so the umbrella can't turn. It likes one great big sail. Way over priced. I had the umbrella out on a very hot and dry day when a gust of wind came out of no were and the umbrella sailed up and the part that at the top is connected to the umbrella snapped. There is no part to replace this so now I have a very expensive umbrella that I cannot use.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+111points
119out of 127found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from nc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst product I ever purchased.

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mechanism to raise/lower unbrella broke within a month. HD directed me to contact manufacturer YoTrio, have been waiting since Sept 2012 for a replacement. Whenever I call I get the same story...' you will have a replacement in 2 months' no replacement and have been told I would recieve it every month since, It's now close to 6 months and STILL NO REPLACEMENT.
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT, IT HAS FAULTY PARTS AND MANUFACUTURE IS UNABLE, OR UNWILLING, TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+125points
133out of 141found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A waste of money

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only was able to get three summers out of this umbrella!!!! Material ripped, even though I put it away for the winter. Mechanism that raises and lowers broke also. Even the slightest wind had the umbrella all over the place. Never could use it during any wind. Also, came with bolts missing. Had to go to store and get what was needed. They were provided free.
+75points
77out of 79found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from New Hampshire
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't Buy!

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband and I purchased this umbrella for our deck last summer (2012). As with other reviews, it looked great in the store and we thought it was perfect for the deck. The second time we used it, a gust of wind came along and all of a sudden the umbrella was twirling like crazy. We could not even get the umbrella down and didn't realize the plastic at the top had snapped off until we pulled the umbrella out of the base (which was a pain) so we could try and collapse the umbrella.
For the price, I expected much better quality and would return if I could. I am very disappointed with this purchase and would not recommend to anyone.
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Cincinnati ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't do it!!!

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased one year and used less than 6 times. Stored in basement, in a dry, no ultra violet... Took out this year to enjoy a perfect 80 degree low wind day. I find my expensive umbrella laying on my patio table with a broken cast piece which connects umbrella to arched arm. Of course it's out of store warranty. I loved the look. It appeared to be made well.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased 6/12 and its been falling apart ever since. Was missing part of the base, I made my own. Lever to open & close broke like everyone else's. just tried the led lights & now they don't work. 90 day warranty ? I'm going to call Home Depot customer service & see if they'll step up. If not, I'll never make another major purchase from anybody but Costco.
Cons: Cheap Material, Difficult to Assemble, Not Durable
+52points
54out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesomely HUGE umbrella !

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Considering we live in Arizona where shade (any type of shade) is highly valued. This umbrella covers a lot of real estate.
Be aware that it comes with everything you need EXCEPT the 110 pounds of sand required to fill the sandbags to hold it all down. But, Home Depot sells playground sand for less than $3 for a 60 pound bag.
Excellent purchase !
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Calgary
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing is a joke.

PostedJune 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In the past, I've bought other Hampton Bay stuff from Home Depot - a light, a fan - all complete garbage. So why I ever thought that they could make an umbrella is a mystery.
The base is great and the overall product appearance is nice. The problems start, however, when the umbrella is opened. On a very calm day, with almost no breeze at all, the crank assembly cracked. The umbrella immediately falls over, luckily not on top of anyone, and is completely inoperable now. The metal that is in the crank that broke is brittle, incredibly cheap and should never have been used in a part that is critical to the stability of a big umbrella.
So now, I get to spend another 20 bucks to take this pile of junk to the dump. Do NOT buy this thing, and for that matter, if you're tempted to buy anything from Hampton Bay, just save yourself the trouble and burn the money.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Auburn, IN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Umbrella

PostedJune 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor cranking system never able to crank the umbrella up fully without help from another person holding up on the center of the umbrella. The lights quit working the first season we used it. I'm trying to find parts for the crank handle in order to repair it as we can only crank the umbrella up 3/4 of the way now as the handle slips inside.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, cheap parts in crank
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap Umbrella, Poor Quality...

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought approx March 2012. Agreed with most complaints. To the company that manufactured this product, this product is 'Low Quality'. So many cheap components that do not work (had to modify to keep it working). The spindle which locks the umbrella from rotation never locked the umbrella. The Solar Lights quit working after 8 months. I added a few items to the product to make it better. To all those who do buy this product. Purchase an umbrella cover, if not, the sun will destroy the product in a short time. 2nd, use a rope or tie down to keep the umbrella from sailing.
The only reason I gave this product 2 stars and not 1 star is I modified the product and I am still using it. If without the mods, I give it 1 star.
To home depot, find a new manufacture, hurts your company...
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, cheap harware
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Conway, AR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed in this product

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall, I am disappointed with this product. The fabric didn't last even 2 full summers before it began to rip and fray. I haven't had any trouble with the base - I filled the base with 200 lbs of play sand, and the base is very solid - but the arm sways from side to side, making it difficult to stay in the shade of the umbrella. This product is way to expensive to only last one season. I would not recommend that you buy this.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, not stable in light breeze
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not very durable

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Umbrella looks nice but the first light breeze almost flipped it over despite the 200 pounds of sand I put in the base. When it started to tip the umbrella hit my deck railing and snapped one of the umbrella supports.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from phila pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Umbrella

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We love this umbrella. My only con would to to use a Pin Type lock to hold it in place rather than a plastic tighten down holder. It does move around in the breeze.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: better tie down function.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Flawed design and or manufacturing- buyer beware

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This umbrella set looks great however it has broken in the same place on two occasions. There wasn't poor weather or high wind at work. Instead when locked the handle has simply snapped from a slight waft of wind- maybe a light breeze. With this part broken the umbrella is useless. It can not be opened or closed. The Home Depot staff was excellent in their effort to help me. However this set is flawed.
Pros: was in stock
Cons: Not Durable, breaks easily
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from League City Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Can't hold up to even a small amount of wind / Broke and worthless

PostedMay 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to serve as a place for me and my wife to get out of the sun during her illness and after Chemotherapy instead of being locked away inside. Out the box it was ok. I put it up and we enjoyed it for a few weeks. One day the wind picked up ever so slightly and the piece that has the handle on it that you slide it up and over cracked. Again not a very high wind. Maybe 8-10 mph. I think that the sun weakened the plastics strength and when the wind moved it or put some pressure on the handle it just broke. Looks nice and I do like the lights but now with no way to get parts for this item it's worthless and will hit the street for the trash.
Sorry piece of equipment for my money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, plastic cracks easy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from New Orleans, LA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My second umbrella!!

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is my second Hampton Bay solar umbrella for my backyard patio. My first one is 3 years old and still in good shape. I read the negative articles when deciding on ordering another and couldn't believe the comments. My first had the plastic sliding tilt and I have not had any trouble. I pride myself on "taking care of my stuff" and take the umbrella down during windy conditions or storms. The 200 pounds of sand keeps the umbrella solid in slightly windy conditions. I also store it during the winter months. I am satisfied with the product for my purposes.
Pros: good features for the price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>