728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Umbrellas & Bases or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Get the best of both day and night with the Hampton Bay Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella. Its generously sized 11 ft. diameter canopy blocks the sun's rays throughout the day, and come nighttime, its LED lights add a gentle ambiance to your evening gatherings. Easy tilt operation is more user-friendly than ever. The 9-1/4 ft. H umbrella must be stored in a dry place during inclement weather.
Overall rating:
2.017 / 5
2.0
 / 
5
(233 reviews) 233
Open Ratings Snapshot
25%of customersrecommend this product57 of 228reviews
Rating Breakdown 233 reviews
2.0 out of 5
5
(36)
4
(18)
3
(11)
2
(17)
1
(151)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
25%of customersrecommend this product57 of 228reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer reviews for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Review 21 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Ontario, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A poor design and over priced

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased in June 2012, look great inside Home Depot store but a terrible design for outside, especially if there is any wind. The umbrella because a sail and turns with the wind. The handle that you turn to hold the umbrella in place does not work with even a breeze the umbrella turns will not stay in place. It needs a handle that is made out of metal and screws into the stand so the umbrella can't turn. It likes one great big sail. Way over priced. I had the umbrella out on a very hot and dry day when a gust of wind came out of no were and the umbrella sailed up and the part that at the top is connected to the umbrella snapped. There is no part to replace this so now I have a very expensive umbrella that I cannot use.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+110points
118out of 126found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Cincinnati ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't do it!!!

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased one year and used less than 6 times. Stored in basement, in a dry, no ultra violet... Took out this year to enjoy a perfect 80 degree low wind day. I find my expensive umbrella laying on my patio table with a broken cast piece which connects umbrella to arched arm. Of course it's out of store warranty. I loved the look. It appeared to be made well.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Hacienda Heights, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not to happy.....

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product online. I was super excited, because I got a great deal on it. I saved 50% off of original price. The day it arrived I began to put it together, well, to my surprise there were parts missing. I called customer service and I was told it was out of stock, but they can order parts for me. I took inventory in order to find out what parts were missing. To my dismay, there were just to many parts missing and I found broken parts as well. I was so disappointed, so I returned the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

On Our Second

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We foolishly bought a second one after the first broke, figuring it was just a simple glitch on the one. With this second umbrella, the sand bases have cracked after one season. Furthermore, NEITHER of the umbrellas came with the lights. After contacting the company about the lighting, we were told they were out and that WE should check back with them. When we can do so, we will buy from another company or hang shade sails.
Pros: Looks High End
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, lights not included (twice), umbrella system stops working completely (twice), not weather friendly, poor customer service
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesomely HUGE umbrella !

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Considering we live in Arizona where shade (any type of shade) is highly valued. This umbrella covers a lot of real estate.
Be aware that it comes with everything you need EXCEPT the 110 pounds of sand required to fill the sandbags to hold it all down. But, Home Depot sells playground sand for less than $3 for a 60 pound bag.
Excellent purchase !
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from New Hampshire
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't Buy!

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband and I purchased this umbrella for our deck last summer (2012). As with other reviews, it looked great in the store and we thought it was perfect for the deck. The second time we used it, a gust of wind came along and all of a sudden the umbrella was twirling like crazy. We could not even get the umbrella down and didn't realize the plastic at the top had snapped off until we pulled the umbrella out of the base (which was a pain) so we could try and collapse the umbrella.
For the price, I expected much better quality and would return if I could. I am very disappointed with this purchase and would not recommend to anyone.
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from nc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst product I ever purchased.

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mechanism to raise/lower unbrella broke within a month. HD directed me to contact manufacturer YoTrio, have been waiting since Sept 2012 for a replacement. Whenever I call I get the same story...' you will have a replacement in 2 months' no replacement and have been told I would recieve it every month since, It's now close to 6 months and STILL NO REPLACEMENT.
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT, IT HAS FAULTY PARTS AND MANUFACUTURE IS UNABLE, OR UNWILLING, TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+124points
132out of 140found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Robbinsdale, MN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Happy with the purchase.

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble and reasonably stable given the size of the canopy. It's not rainproof but then I guess I wouldn't be sitting outside in a storm anyway.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A waste of money

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only was able to get three summers out of this umbrella!!!! Material ripped, even though I put it away for the winter. Mechanism that raises and lowers broke also. Even the slightest wind had the umbrella all over the place. Never could use it during any wind. Also, came with bolts missing. Had to go to store and get what was needed. They were provided free.
+74points
76out of 78found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from DeSoto, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad buy

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A slight unexpected gust of wind broke this umbrella where it connects to the pole. The company informed us that they do not provide replacement parts. They would gladly send another umbrella and pole unit for about $200.00
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, no replacement parts
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Maple Grove

Patio Umbrella with solar lights!

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased one of these in 2014 and now bought another one. So now I have one on my deck and one for my front sitting area. This a a great umbrella and would recommend to anyone that is looking for a quality unit.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from bainbridge g
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

11 ft solar powered JUNK

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My first review. Had this product for summer. By next spring handle started spinning and the umbrella would not go up. Should have read the reviews before buying. As others have said, stay away from this product. Expensive JUNK.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Wi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WAS BROKEN

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The umbrella is good but it came broken. I got very good service from Home Depot.
to har to get replacement parts.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Phoenix, Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for intended use - Needed shade by my pool

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
REMEMBER TO CLOSE UMBRELLA WHEN NOT IN USE. DO NOT LEAVE IT OPEN IN HIGH WIND!
I really like the fact the fact that the slider to raise the umbrella bar and extend it (versus to open/close the umbrella) is manual on this unit. Other umbrellas I've seen use one crank for the umbrella, and another to raise and extend the arm. Those tend to break at that inner pivot / gear / crank rendering the entire unit unusable.
This unit is extremely well made, assembles easily, and should last a long time.
Make sure to measure where you want the umbrella. Once you put the sand in it, it's extremely hard to move. Unless it's on a flat surface and you're quite strong, you'll have to remove the sand bags and or partially disassemble it, to move it.
Remember to adjust for the difference in angle between morning and evening sunrise / sunset. I've set mine up where I can pivot it to adjust for that. Well ... now that I've moved it.
Did I mention that it's heavy and hard to move once you put the sand in it?
Also, the leds are perfect for dining even on a moonless night. And they run a long time on a solar charge. I'm actually not sure how long they'll stay on with a full charge. I have yet to run it out of battery.
Very, VERY happy with this unit!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from North Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!!!

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is so easy to assemble and looks Perfect!!! I love it!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased 6/12 and its been falling apart ever since. Was missing part of the base, I made my own. Lever to open & close broke like everyone else's. just tried the led lights & now they don't work. 90 day warranty ? I'm going to call Home Depot customer service & see if they'll step up. If not, I'll never make another major purchase from anybody but Costco.
Cons: Cheap Material, Difficult to Assemble, Not Durable
+52points
54out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Olathe, KS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

worst purchase ever!

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
mechanism broke down just over a year after purchase. Home Depot and manufacturer refused to help because of the trim frame. And if there is a wind over 3mph it won't hold position but flies around on its base axis. Too much money to spend on a nearly useless product.
Cons: Not Durable, worthless in wind
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Big waste of money

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After less than 1 season of barely any use every plastic piece for the handle and slide assembly broke. CHEAP!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Junk

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plastic handle broke after two seasons! It was stored during winter time! Unusable now with no replacement parts! 300$ bucks! Never again!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Concept - TERRIBLE PRODUCT!!!!!

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this for $200 on sale during Home Depot's end of season sale. The LED lights worked for 1 season and after having it stored indoors for the winter, got it back out and the lights no longer work. Tried a new rechargeable battery in the solar unit, tried a regular battery too but no lights.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>