728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Umbrellas & Bases or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Get the best of both day and night with the Hampton Bay Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella. Its generously sized 11 ft. diameter canopy blocks the sun's rays throughout the day, and come nighttime, its LED lights add a gentle ambiance to your evening gatherings. Easy tilt operation is more user-friendly than ever. The 9-1/4 ft. H umbrella must be stored in a dry place during inclement weather.
Overall rating:
2.029 / 5
2.0
 / 
5
(246 reviews) 246
Open Ratings Snapshot
25%of customersrecommend this product60 of 240reviews
Rating Breakdown 246 reviews
2.0 out of 5
5
(39)
4
(18)
3
(12)
2
(19)
1
(158)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
25%of customersrecommend this product60 of 240reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 70 Answers
Customer reviews for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Review 21 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Poor quality

PostedApril 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The handle mechanism is garbage! Put it up and down twice and it was stripped out. Inside is made of plastic!! Don't waste your Money!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Ontario, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A poor design and over priced

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased in June 2012, look great inside Home Depot store but a terrible design for outside, especially if there is any wind. The umbrella because a sail and turns with the wind. The handle that you turn to hold the umbrella in place does not work with even a breeze the umbrella turns will not stay in place. It needs a handle that is made out of metal and screws into the stand so the umbrella can't turn. It likes one great big sail. Way over priced. I had the umbrella out on a very hot and dry day when a gust of wind came out of no were and the umbrella sailed up and the part that at the top is connected to the umbrella snapped. There is no part to replace this so now I have a very expensive umbrella that I cannot use.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+110points
118out of 126found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Calgary
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing is a joke.

PostedJune 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In the past, I've bought other Hampton Bay stuff from Home Depot - a light, a fan - all complete garbage. So why I ever thought that they could make an umbrella is a mystery.
The base is great and the overall product appearance is nice. The problems start, however, when the umbrella is opened. On a very calm day, with almost no breeze at all, the crank assembly cracked. The umbrella immediately falls over, luckily not on top of anyone, and is completely inoperable now. The metal that is in the crank that broke is brittle, incredibly cheap and should never have been used in a part that is critical to the stability of a big umbrella.
So now, I get to spend another 20 bucks to take this pile of junk to the dump. Do NOT buy this thing, and for that matter, if you're tempted to buy anything from Hampton Bay, just save yourself the trouble and burn the money.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Auburn, IN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Umbrella

PostedJune 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor cranking system never able to crank the umbrella up fully without help from another person holding up on the center of the umbrella. The lights quit working the first season we used it. I'm trying to find parts for the crank handle in order to repair it as we can only crank the umbrella up 3/4 of the way now as the handle slips inside.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, cheap parts in crank
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Cincinnati ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't do it!!!

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased one year and used less than 6 times. Stored in basement, in a dry, no ultra violet... Took out this year to enjoy a perfect 80 degree low wind day. I find my expensive umbrella laying on my patio table with a broken cast piece which connects umbrella to arched arm. Of course it's out of store warranty. I loved the look. It appeared to be made well.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from nc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst product I ever purchased.

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mechanism to raise/lower unbrella broke within a month. HD directed me to contact manufacturer YoTrio, have been waiting since Sept 2012 for a replacement. Whenever I call I get the same story...' you will have a replacement in 2 months' no replacement and have been told I would recieve it every month since, It's now close to 6 months and STILL NO REPLACEMENT.
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT, IT HAS FAULTY PARTS AND MANUFACUTURE IS UNABLE, OR UNWILLING, TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+124points
132out of 140found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from New Hampshire
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't Buy!

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband and I purchased this umbrella for our deck last summer (2012). As with other reviews, it looked great in the store and we thought it was perfect for the deck. The second time we used it, a gust of wind came along and all of a sudden the umbrella was twirling like crazy. We could not even get the umbrella down and didn't realize the plastic at the top had snapped off until we pulled the umbrella out of the base (which was a pain) so we could try and collapse the umbrella.
For the price, I expected much better quality and would return if I could. I am very disappointed with this purchase and would not recommend to anyone.
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A waste of money

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only was able to get three summers out of this umbrella!!!! Material ripped, even though I put it away for the winter. Mechanism that raises and lowers broke also. Even the slightest wind had the umbrella all over the place. Never could use it during any wind. Also, came with bolts missing. Had to go to store and get what was needed. They were provided free.
+74points
76out of 78found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesomely HUGE umbrella !

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Considering we live in Arizona where shade (any type of shade) is highly valued. This umbrella covers a lot of real estate.
Be aware that it comes with everything you need EXCEPT the 110 pounds of sand required to fill the sandbags to hold it all down. But, Home Depot sells playground sand for less than $3 for a 60 pound bag.
Excellent purchase !
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased 6/12 and its been falling apart ever since. Was missing part of the base, I made my own. Lever to open & close broke like everyone else's. just tried the led lights & now they don't work. 90 day warranty ? I'm going to call Home Depot customer service & see if they'll step up. If not, I'll never make another major purchase from anybody but Costco.
Cons: Cheap Material, Difficult to Assemble, Not Durable
+52points
54out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not very durable

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Umbrella looks nice but the first light breeze almost flipped it over despite the 200 pounds of sand I put in the base. When it started to tip the umbrella hit my deck railing and snapped one of the umbrella supports.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from phila pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Umbrella

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We love this umbrella. My only con would to to use a Pin Type lock to hold it in place rather than a plastic tighten down holder. It does move around in the breeze.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: better tie down function.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from League City Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Can't hold up to even a small amount of wind / Broke and worthless

PostedMay 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to serve as a place for me and my wife to get out of the sun during her illness and after Chemotherapy instead of being locked away inside. Out the box it was ok. I put it up and we enjoyed it for a few weeks. One day the wind picked up ever so slightly and the piece that has the handle on it that you slide it up and over cracked. Again not a very high wind. Maybe 8-10 mph. I think that the sun weakened the plastics strength and when the wind moved it or put some pressure on the handle it just broke. Looks nice and I do like the lights but now with no way to get parts for this item it's worthless and will hit the street for the trash.
Sorry piece of equipment for my money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, plastic cracks easy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Very Disappointed

PostedJune 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish all of these reviews were written when I got this. Although it was a gift to me it was a very expensive gift that I loved at first. All of the pictures prove right. The plastic breaks and you can't use it again..
If the company would do something or had parts to send out that would make all of the difference....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from New Orleans, LA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My second umbrella!!

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is my second Hampton Bay solar umbrella for my backyard patio. My first one is 3 years old and still in good shape. I read the negative articles when deciding on ordering another and couldn't believe the comments. My first had the plastic sliding tilt and I have not had any trouble. I pride myself on "taking care of my stuff" and take the umbrella down during windy conditions or storms. The 200 pounds of sand keeps the umbrella solid in slightly windy conditions. I also store it during the winter months. I am satisfied with the product for my purposes.
Pros: good features for the price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap Umbrella, Poor Quality...

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought approx March 2012. Agreed with most complaints. To the company that manufactured this product, this product is 'Low Quality'. So many cheap components that do not work (had to modify to keep it working). The spindle which locks the umbrella from rotation never locked the umbrella. The Solar Lights quit working after 8 months. I added a few items to the product to make it better. To all those who do buy this product. Purchase an umbrella cover, if not, the sun will destroy the product in a short time. 2nd, use a rope or tie down to keep the umbrella from sailing.
The only reason I gave this product 2 stars and not 1 star is I modified the product and I am still using it. If without the mods, I give it 1 star.
To home depot, find a new manufacture, hurts your company...
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, cheap harware
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Huntington, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible

PostedJune 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Barely a year after purchase the fabric literally disintegrated into nothing. Now we can't find a replacement for it anywhere. Don't waste your money!
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor, Cheap Quality

PostedJune 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We live in Chicago, IL where the weather is very unpredictable. We always close our umbrella. We use a bungee cord to secure it safely since the strap on the umbrella is cheaply made and does not secure the umbrella very well. The actual section where the umbrella curves snapped in under one month!!! It was not a windy day when the snap-ation occurred. Fortunately, we kept the receipt, and returned it to Home Depot. We got a full refund after arguing back and forth with the Manager. The umbrella has a 1-year warranty. DO NOT waste your hard earned $$$ as this product is poorly made with low-quality material. If I am going to pay over $150 for a patio umbrella I expect it to last for several years (not break in one month). I DO NOT recommend this product. Period. Finally, we will NEVER, NEVER, NEVER purchase any products made by this manufacturer. My only gripe is that I wished I would have read the reviews first, because I do go by what reviews state regarding a product. As a consumer, reviews help me make an informed decision as to whether or not I WILL or will NOT make a purchase regarding a product.
Cons: Cheap Material, poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Albany Ga.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleased Customer

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This solar umbrella is the ideal item for my patio. My patio is only a 10x12 and it covers the entire area. The solar lights are an added bonus. I love it. Friends and family love it. I will recommend this umbrella to everyone. Very easy to assemble.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

On Our Second

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We foolishly bought a second one after the first broke, figuring it was just a simple glitch on the one. With this second umbrella, the sand bases have cracked after one season. Furthermore, NEITHER of the umbrellas came with the lights. After contacting the company about the lighting, we were told they were out and that WE should check back with them. When we can do so, we will buy from another company or hang shade sails.
Pros: Looks High End
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, lights not included (twice), umbrella system stops working completely (twice), not weather friendly, poor customer service
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>