728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Get the best of both day and night with the Hampton Bay Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella. Its generously sized 11 ft. diameter canopy blocks the sun's rays throughout the day, and come nighttime, its LED lights add a gentle ambiance to your evening gatherings. Easy tilt operation is more user-friendly than ever. The 9-1/4 ft. H umbrella must be stored in a dry place during inclement weather.
Overall rating:
1.995 / 5
2.0
 / 
5
(220 reviews) 220
Open Ratings Snapshot
24%of customersrecommend this product51 of 215reviews
Rating Breakdown 220 reviews
2.0 out of 5
5
(33)
4
(16)
3
(11)
2
(17)
1
(143)
Quality 
1.9 out of 5
1.9 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
24%of customersrecommend this product51 of 215reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer reviews for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Review 21 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesomely HUGE umbrella !

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Considering we live in Arizona where shade (any type of shade) is highly valued. This umbrella covers a lot of real estate.
Be aware that it comes with everything you need EXCEPT the 110 pounds of sand required to fill the sandbags to hold it all down. But, Home Depot sells playground sand for less than $3 for a 60 pound bag.
Excellent purchase !
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Ontario, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A poor design and over priced

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased in June 2012, look great inside Home Depot store but a terrible design for outside, especially if there is any wind. The umbrella because a sail and turns with the wind. The handle that you turn to hold the umbrella in place does not work with even a breeze the umbrella turns will not stay in place. It needs a handle that is made out of metal and screws into the stand so the umbrella can't turn. It likes one great big sail. Way over priced. I had the umbrella out on a very hot and dry day when a gust of wind came out of no were and the umbrella sailed up and the part that at the top is connected to the umbrella snapped. There is no part to replace this so now I have a very expensive umbrella that I cannot use.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+110points
118out of 126found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Big waste of money

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After less than 1 season of barely any use every plastic piece for the handle and slide assembly broke. CHEAP!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from New Hampshire
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't Buy!

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband and I purchased this umbrella for our deck last summer (2012). As with other reviews, it looked great in the store and we thought it was perfect for the deck. The second time we used it, a gust of wind came along and all of a sudden the umbrella was twirling like crazy. We could not even get the umbrella down and didn't realize the plastic at the top had snapped off until we pulled the umbrella out of the base (which was a pain) so we could try and collapse the umbrella.
For the price, I expected much better quality and would return if I could. I am very disappointed with this purchase and would not recommend to anyone.
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from las vegas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bad Choice

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Looks nice, but, within 3 months half of the lights stopped working and after a little more that a year the cord to raise the umbrella broke making it useless...
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from nc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst product I ever purchased.

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mechanism to raise/lower unbrella broke within a month. HD directed me to contact manufacturer YoTrio, have been waiting since Sept 2012 for a replacement. Whenever I call I get the same story...' you will have a replacement in 2 months' no replacement and have been told I would recieve it every month since, It's now close to 6 months and STILL NO REPLACEMENT.
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT, IT HAS FAULTY PARTS AND MANUFACUTURE IS UNABLE, OR UNWILLING, TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+124points
132out of 140found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Great Value

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have purchased two of them. Easy to install, Everybody compliments our patio addition. Especially beautiful at night. Size makes our patio usable for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Energy Efficient, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A waste of money

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only was able to get three summers out of this umbrella!!!! Material ripped, even though I put it away for the winter. Mechanism that raises and lowers broke also. Even the slightest wind had the umbrella all over the place. Never could use it during any wind. Also, came with bolts missing. Had to go to store and get what was needed. They were provided free.
+74points
76out of 78found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Reno, NV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not play well with the wind.

PostedApril 19, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While not designed for more than a 5 mph breeze, it is built tough enough not to be destroyed by much stronger winds. It has a tendency to blow over even with the 240 lbs of sand in the base and I have to tie it down with guy wires to keep it for spinning.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: falls over, changes rotation position
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from California

Just stay away from this..

PostedApril 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this on sale for $250, thought a good deal and can't go bad.
This is just not a steady umbrella, either it keeps moving w/ small winds and not sturdy enough.
Finally it is broke down at the lever (noticed all plastic parts inside!!!) No wonder if broke down in 2months.
Just save yourself the hassle of buying, installing and returning.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, filmsy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased 6/12 and its been falling apart ever since. Was missing part of the base, I made my own. Lever to open & close broke like everyone else's. just tried the led lights & now they don't work. 90 day warranty ? I'm going to call Home Depot customer service & see if they'll step up. If not, I'll never make another major purchase from anybody but Costco.
Cons: Cheap Material, Difficult to Assemble, Not Durable
+52points
54out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

solar lighted umbrella

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Despite all the bad reviews this is a great umbrella easy to install and very nice in every
Patio or deck no problems
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Fountain Valley, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Purchase ever

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this umbrella because good price and beautiful.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
6out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Customer service

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Excellent umbrella, the LED lighting is a nice touch. Have had zero complaints with this product. Have had for over a year in some very harsh weather with no problems. Had to call Home Depot customer service for Hampton Bay prouducts to order a new sand bag that I had dropped during a move to a new location. While unloading one of the two bags ( filled with 100lbs of sand), out of my truck, it slipped out of my hands and when it hit the ground, split the seam wide open. So I called the support number 1-877-527-0313 to order a new bag. I explained to the gentleman (Richard), what had happend. He asked if I mined being put on hold while he called the manufacturer to see if a replacement bag was available. After a few minutes he returned saying a new full set of bags would be shipped to my door within 2 or 3 days at no charge. I wanted to pay for the bags and he said it was not necessary. He wanted to be sure I was a satisfied customer. Thank You Home Depot and Richard too!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan

Flawed design and or manufacturing- buyer beware

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This umbrella set looks great however it has broken in the same place on two occasions. There wasn't poor weather or high wind at work. Instead when locked the handle has simply snapped from a slight waft of wind- maybe a light breeze. With this part broken the umbrella is useless. It can not be opened or closed. The Home Depot staff was excellent in their effort to help me. However this set is flawed.
Pros: was in stock
Cons: Not Durable, breaks easily
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap Umbrella, Poor Quality...

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought approx March 2012. Agreed with most complaints. To the company that manufactured this product, this product is 'Low Quality'. So many cheap components that do not work (had to modify to keep it working). The spindle which locks the umbrella from rotation never locked the umbrella. The Solar Lights quit working after 8 months. I added a few items to the product to make it better. To all those who do buy this product. Purchase an umbrella cover, if not, the sun will destroy the product in a short time. 2nd, use a rope or tie down to keep the umbrella from sailing.
The only reason I gave this product 2 stars and not 1 star is I modified the product and I am still using it. If without the mods, I give it 1 star.
To home depot, find a new manufacture, hurts your company...
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, cheap harware
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Conway, AR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed in this product

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall, I am disappointed with this product. The fabric didn't last even 2 full summers before it began to rip and fray. I haven't had any trouble with the base - I filled the base with 200 lbs of play sand, and the base is very solid - but the arm sways from side to side, making it difficult to stay in the shade of the umbrella. This product is way to expensive to only last one season. I would not recommend that you buy this.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable, not stable in light breeze
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Pearl River, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hampton bay outdoor umbrella

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My Hampton Bay outdoor umbrella is only 1 year old and has been stored inside when not in use. When I got it out for a party and opened it up I found that it had dry rotted and had tears in it from 6" to 2' and the crank was stripped out. I could understand this if I left it up and open year round but not when it has spent most of its life on my screen room. And worst of all I work for The Home Depot as a garden manager..
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from NJ

Shoddy construction

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Didn't even last 2 months before the hand crank stopped working. Umbrella goes 90% of the way up and then stops.
Solar lights are hit or miss, mostly miss. Very disappointed for the price paid.
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 11 ft. Solar-Powered Patio Umbrella in Tan
from Upstate NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best umbrella out there

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This will be our third summer with this umbrella, and it still looks/works as good as the day we purchased it. It comes with a base which you will need to fill with 200lbs of sand (so don't plan on moving it around often). I see reviews complaining about this umbrella not holding up in the wind, but what umbrella does? On a typical breezy day, the umbrella works fine, and you don't need to worry about it tipping over the whole table (would take hurricane winds to move the base). The best part is the ease of putting the umbrella up and down, which takes only seconds to do. 11' makes plenty of shade so there is no need to work your way around the table as the day goes on. I couldn't be happier with this umbrella.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Sturdy
+30points
43out of 56found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>