728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ice Makers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 26 lb. Freestanding Ice Maker in Silver

26 lb. Freestanding Ice Maker in Silver

You can make ice cubes for parties or hot summer days within a few minutes with the Igloo Ice 102 Portable Ice Maker. Its compact and contemporary design makes it easy to transport and stylish to display. With 2.0 lbs capacity of ice cube basket, this Igloo ice maker saves space in your freezer for other food. It features a 3.1L capacity water reservoir that can make up to 26lbs of ice in 24 hours. You need not drain the melted ice as it drains back to the reservoir. This countertop ice machine features the compressor cooling system and operates at low noise. The modern design and adjustable cube size add to the unique functionality of this Countertop Ice Machine.
Overall rating:
3.692 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product10 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product10 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for 26 lb. Freestanding Ice Maker in Silver
Review 1 for 26 lb. Freestanding Ice Maker in Silver
from MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Drinks can now stay cold!

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to use, just followed directions. clean, plug in add water and 10 -15 mins later ICE!!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 26 lb. Freestanding Ice Maker in Silver
from Covington Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ICE102C-SILVER Bought 1 year ago on-line.

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought from Home Depot on-line. Probably shouldn't be used continuously. 6 months after purchase, the ice dump would have to be forced up occasionally. After 1-2 years the 'Ice full' light would stay on even though the sensors were not blocked by ice. Checked connections internally. No Go.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 26 lb. Freestanding Ice Maker in Silver
from Uxbridge, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A decent ice maker for the money

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So I recently purchased an ice tea maker and found myself constantly making ice. I'm drinking ice tea faster than I can make the ice, so I decided to purchase this unit rather than a new refrigerator.
Overall, this is a good choice for a small ice maker. It seems to crank out ice cubes fairly quickly and fills the basket in about an hour or so.
I found that if I start with ice cold water and allow the basket to sit in the freezer for a few minutes, it prevents the ice from melting quickly. However, once the basket is full, I dump the ice into an ice storage tray in the freezer and periodically chop it up with the scoop until it is completely hardened. This is only a little extra work and I can also dump the basket of ice directly into a container in the fridge for the next batch of tea.
My only complaint is that it needs a timer. A timer would have been a nice addition. Also, getting the drain plug out of the bottom is tricky.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 26 lb. Freestanding Ice Maker in Silver
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

We love the way the ice maker works so fast to produce ice.

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a previous ice maker by another company and when the basket was full and we emptied it, it took a good 5 minutes for it to start making ice again. This one by Igloo immediately starts as soon as you lift the basket out. We love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 26 lb. Freestanding Ice Maker in Silver
from Central Point, OR
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product makes ice cubes faster than my previous brand.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found this easy to use and easy to clean. I use it very frequently and enjoy the fact that it is quiet. I also enjoyed the fact that I received this in a timely manner, less than a week without paying extra for speedy delivery.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 26 lb. Freestanding Ice Maker in Silver
from Shelbyville,KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It serves the purpose

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We needed this as the icemaker on our refrigerator broke. It does what it says and we are happy with it. The only improvement I can see is to make the storage tank to keep the ice more frozen. The ice is wet and soft, and needs to be put in a regular freezer ASAP. Then you need to break it up when completely frozen. It keeps us in ice and that was the purpose. I'll next investigate an undercounter unit as we use a lot of ice.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 26 lb. Freestanding Ice Maker in Silver
from Oxford, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for what it cost.

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Makes ice very quickly. Good for 'on demand ice'. It will not keep ice frozen. If you want to have it keep ice frozen you will need to check out the more expensive units.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 26 lb. Freestanding Ice Maker in Silver
from Hawaii
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does what it is suppose to do.

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Showed up and I couldn't wait to make some ice.
I figured out that the first ice is really wet. If you put some ice in the water to cool it down it helps to get the ice working faster. Once it gets going and everything cools down it does great.
The only complaint is the ice tastes a little like plastic. I tried cleaning with vinegar but it didn't seem to make too much difference. Seems to work well. Have to see how it works in 3 or 4 months. Hard to say how much energy it is using? Sure makes a lot of noise and seems to be working hard.
All in all it seems good for the money.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 26 lb. Freestanding Ice Maker in Silver
from Waynesville, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought to use in my rv does good job makes ice quickly for Saturday night s with friends for drinks . Fills gallon freezer bag in two hours . Do have to take out and put in freezer though to keep ice but no problem with that fiils the bin in half hour or less. I use filtered water to fill it . Wipe clean and dry till next use .
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 26 lb. Freestanding Ice Maker in Silver
from Hot springs
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this ice maker it is just perfect

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I plugged it in and had ice in 10 minutes. Perfect for afternoon drinks. I love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 26 lb. Freestanding Ice Maker in Silver
from Dover Plains, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Igloo 26lb freestanding ice maker

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am returning the unit to the store today. After 3 days, it still doesn't make ice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 26 lb. Freestanding Ice Maker in Silver
from Decatur, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Overall it is a good product and I would recommend it to others.

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product, it is very easy to use and a great for the small office environment.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 26 lb. Freestanding Ice Maker in Silver
from Galveston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Not what I'd hoped for

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It makes wet ice because it does not get cold enough. Therefore, when I put this ice in my freezer it freezes into a solid block. When I put the ice into a drink, it waters the drink down immediately.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.